(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hazel, but how u know whether it is stomachache or contractions? i keep getting stomachache these 2 days. today alone, gone to toilet at least 3xs to bomb liao. very painful leh... but once i let go, it's ok again but after a few hrs, it comes back again

Stephanie,
My friend who just given birth a week ago, she regretted using the powder shampoo... It's worse for her, I think... She's gotta tolerated sticky and dirty hair now..

Angeline,
The massage cannot be done immediately after birth for our case... I think gotta be at least 2 weeks later.
I think the nurses at the hospital will teach us how to latch on baby for breast feeding
. I dun think we will be able to bath baby on our own, cos we will get cramp at the wound area if we carry heavy things. And we will not be able to pick up things from the floor too.
Oh yes, get an abdominal binder. It helps a lot in reducing the pain when we walk. I swear by it
I already packed that into my hospital bag

hmm.... Now I think of another advantage of C-section is we can avoid episiotomy wound. Episiotomy wound will be down there, where we gotta really take good care of the hygiene... For C-section, it's on top, so not much concern of infection...

hahaha... I also like you... after decided on C-section, I go on my food splurge... No need to worry the head too big or baby too big. hahaha...
I am not having CL. I am prepared that if cannot cope with cooking, I will order tingkat. If my hubby cannot cope with housework, I will call for the home delivery laundry service to get the washing and ironing done
So it will not be that bad afterall

Hazel,
I think I will still shower with warm water or with herbs. I think even the TCM doctors will recommend us to shower for hygience, cos we dun have 4 seasons here... It's not cold here like in China. If I did not remember wrongly, I saw on a TV show on TCM doc saying that we can shower in this hot climate.

tinklebell,

Think i will see u tomorrow, mine at 6.15pm but usually i be there by 6pm.
U going with yr hubby? I'll be alone as my hubby can't make it.

Ya rite, i have more windows also means more panes to clean n wash! I guess hard to find a hse that is perfect in layout n design.

I think u had to let adrian know that u go toilet a few times each day...u r at yr 36th week now yah?

Tinklebell,

I heard pple say, if u run toilet often, most likely going to pop liao heeeee...

Lyn,

I agree with u on caesarian. Imagine if i had episiotomy, i dunno able to deal with the hygiene cleaning part or not. Mine is caesarian, so maintenance not so bad. I managed to wipe myself for 13 days. After stitches removed, back to normal bathing with herbal warm water. Ocassionally will secretly bathe with normal warm water heeee.. cannot tahan hot weather. I washed my hair also 13 days later. WOW horrible. Felt my hair oily everyday until i washed it.

But for caesarian, now i know why pple say recovery process is terrible. Yesterday i went shopping for around 5 hours already buey tahan. Can feel some pain coming back and stamina definitely not that good liao

missk,

thanks..hmm,can consider.maybe tt will be our last options.

lyn,

i didnt get any binder leh.where to get har?coz nv expect c-sect.how much is it?

hi mummies to be
those over Wk 38+, do you feel that ur appetitie is getting smaller? me cant really eat much liao. keep burping lei

angeline,

If possible get from outside pharmacy. Where are u deliverying? i delivered at TMC and everything there is expensive. I bought two binders there and each cost $56. Comes in different length so do note when u buy.

It is very helpful when ur wound is in healing process. 2-3 days after my stitches removed, i remove binder too cos it can be troublesome when u visit the toilet, etc. For me, i find it restricting my movement. And i became too dependent on it for walking and getting out and in to bed. But of course, it is always advisable to wear it as long as possible. It has slimming down effect too.

Dor,

When i was in my 36th week or so, i found that i can't eat too much already. Whenever halfway through my meals, will feel nauseous. Like MS back again.

kk
yalor.. now even if u offer me abalone, sharkfin or watever expensive stuff... i see liao also full. n at night i cant eat too.. haven been eatin dinner for the last 2 days cos really feel bloated like in the 1st tri.

Tinklebell,
What I have heard is that if you start to lose your appetite, then you are about to pop liao. Ask Adrain tmr lah.

My check-up also tmr but nurse gave me the timing from 6pm to 8:30pm. I asked her why she told me no point giving me a time as the clinic will be super crowded tmr. So just q when I get there. Will most likely be there around 6:45 to 7pm coz work in Tiong Bahru till 6pm.

Dor,

Haha confinement so bored.. got chance of course go out chiong liao :p

Oh, although i can't eat much a few weeks before due date, i dun mind abalone, sharksfin and others hahahaaa... Yoo, then ur case more serious than me. I still enjoyed dinner, though didn't eat much.

sianz...me down with fever & flu. Doc gave me 3 days MC till thurs. Hopefully i can recover before i pop. Me now 37w 4d.
427155.gif

i am bck... i gave birth to my loverly princess at 23/05/06 at 4am..natural/without epi.my gal weight 3430g...
here is my birth story,will post photo when i have download.

11pm to 1130pm rch TMC delivery suit to clear bowel, shave a bit, strap on CTG was told by the nurse got no contraction.

1145pm transfer to delivery suit and wait for Gyna to cum and induce...

1220am gyna came and burst water bag...start the drip and was told that my cervix open 2 to 3 cm..

so i wait and wait...midwife keep cummin in to increase the dosage for the drip..frm 3 mg to 36 mg...and keep askin weather i wan epi a not...then i told her no...

2.30am midwife cum again and i saw her increase the dosage to 36mg...then i told her i wan laughin gas...scare i cannot tahan mah...

3.00am midwife came again to check...ask me got the urge to push a not..i told her no...actually got a bit aready lah...but i too high aready...

3.30am hubby saw me in groaning pain when breath in the gas so ask me want to call nurse a not then i say yes..midwife came and check then she say oh no stop pushing then she went out to call gyna..

3.50am gyna finally came ...after 2 push my little darling is out...

Serene..i did tell my hb that i wanted to shift my master bed closer to the toilet so that i can squeeze the cot between my bed and sliding wardrobe...but my hb no space to walk to the toilet liao..haiz..

panda..do take care of yourself yah...have more rest...

moap...wow...congrats to you and i salute your bravery...natural without epidural...pain is bearable?..so lucky you have such a smooth delivery...

serene, o
ic... so see u tomorrow... i wont be going with hubby... he'll be working in the evening. I'll let u know what i'm wearing tomorrow.

Celeste,
u seeing him tomorrow evening too?

kk/ starfish,
aiyo, dont scare me leh
i really have bad stomachache these few days. 4x today already. But my appetite hasnt been good for more than a week already... still got a lot of things i havent settled at work... sigh... just now my boss just had new plans for our cash management system ... gotta rush out the documentations before 1st June **faint** aiyo... panic panic... can feel my tummy contract more
hope it's just braxton hicks! Gynae assumed i wont pop so fast leh. not ready yet ... still thinking of going to watch Hi-5 or Over the Edge with my son this weekend and going to karaoke cum dinner with my family to celebrate my ah-gong's 82nd bday.

moap,
u also back so fast? wow! no epi? u brave girl! quite fast hor. your girl is quite big... must be quite cute :p

ipanda,
take a good rest these few days.

hi moap,

i'm on Maternity leave this wk liao.. this is my 38th wk. gynae gave me MC for this wk cos he said i'm hvg very regular contractions so better rest at home cos i may b in labour anytime. but my office take this wk's MC as maternity leave cos they said once it's 1 mth before my edd, any MC is considered as ML... what to do.. no choice lor.

ya hvg contractions.. was timing last nite.. about 5mins interval.. but it lasted for 2-3 hours then stopped so didn't rush to hospital.

sigh.. now at home so aimless.. waiting for the bb's arrival.. and dunno when he will pop?

duffybuff

ya lor, my coy also like dat. they say mc before maternity leave is considered maternity leave, if it has anything to do with pregnancy...unless mc is issued by normal GP. i was still thinking of asking my gynae for some mc ....hehe.

kk,
I think I will shower after one week... kekeke...

Angeline,
I got the binder from my gynae. I think I paid about $40 for the binder. I was taught to use the soft part to cover the wound... kekeke... can shape our tummy to be slimmer too... When I bind, I also cover very tight hoping to slim down fast and I did...
So, it's not that bad afterall

hi steffi,
ya lor but no choice for me.. my contractions is so regular that it's so normal for me now that even my gynae said that i may just go into labour without me realising it. and bcos of the contractions, i even hv difficulty walking cos it's always pulling so that's why even my boss asked me to rest at home.

but feel so aimless waiting at home and doing nothing.. sigh.. so just hope my bb will 'pop' soon.

MOAP,
Congrats to you...wow within 22 & 23 so many ppl have popped liao
Getting all excited... Well, do take good care !!

Lyn,

I was paranoid about my wound so i did not bathe.. waited till stitches removed then bathe :p

Tinklebell,

Heee, dun worry lah.. when i say fast, it may not mean that fast also lah.. perhaps u still get to enjoy this coming weekend

MOAP,

Congrats!! Wow, u gave birth pretty fast too

Hi duffybuff

Are u alone at home now or is there someone else with you? just thinking what if your bb decides to pop suddenly.....

Wah, but you are still quite early from your EDD rite?

hi steffi,
oh.. my whole family at home..i'm staying with my parents in law and my hb works fm home so all will be around for sure when my bb pops.. keke

my edd is 8 jun.. in fact i was hvg regular contractions during my 36th wks already and gynae told me then that i may due anytime with the next 1 wk but false alarm.. no signs. last wk i went for ctg again.. and again gynae said my contractions is so regular and i may due anythime this 1 wk.. so sigh.. wk after wk... think my bb is so comfortable inside and reluctant to come out.

duffybuff,
sometimes the waiting game is v sian too... can imagine how u feel when u wait and wait and bb still doesnt pop... anyway, hope u rest well at home... conserve the energy for your big day... am sure will be pretty soon

Hi Duffybuff

Ya lor, really hated this waiting game..made us all so exciting and nervous and at the same time, keep us in suspense. It's precisely becos of this that one of my colleague actually opted for C-Sec.

hi tinkle,
ya lor.. quite sian so sitting in front of pc surfing net lor.. and realised my contractions usually occurs quite strong only in the evening and nite time.. day time bb not much actions

yours oso pretty soon right?

<font size="+2"><center>June 2005 Mommies' Club</center></font>

<center><table border=1><tr><td>Mommies</TD><TD>DOB</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Weight(kg)</TD><TD>Name</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>21/04/06</TD><TD>21/04/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>3.19</TD><TD>Yu Jun</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pebbles</TD><TD>13/04/06</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>1.63</TD><TD>Chanz</TD><TD>MtA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>15/05/06</TD><TD>20/05/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.91</TD><TD>Jared Hee</TD><TD>TMC(Natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>carebear29</TD><TD>19/05/06</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>TMC(C-section) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poohy</TD><TD>22/05/06</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>2.9</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>TMC(Natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>MOAP</TD><TD>23/05/06</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>3.43</TD><TD>Ginelle Tok Jin Wen</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celeste</TD><TD>23/05/06</TD><TD>06/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>steffi</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amy</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>22/05/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>Raffles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dor</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>02/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>MtA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Paula</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>AngelineGoh</TD><TD>26/05/06(?)</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect)</td></tr></table></center>

so busy today!

Most prob might not be online much...next week going to site to do some testing...*sigh*

tinklebell,
me prob seeing Adrian tomorrow morning, hehe, getting MC from him to do packing for my hse..otherwise when movers come on friday everything not finished packing yet...haha

hi cookie,
yes at times can be quite painful.. the last 2 visits, my gynae did VE.. and realise that bb's head is getting lower and my last check, gyane said it went even lower but cervix not open yet lor. so with the so-regular contractions reading from CTG and the VE checks, he said i may be due soon.. but soon...?! ahh!! then i hv to wait again.

duffybuff,

sigh.. i'm also eagerly waiting for my bb to pop, but no signs yet. think bb is very comfy inside. shall see wat my gynae says tonight after VE...

duffy,
dont scare me leh... my EDD is still more than 3 weeks away... how do labour contractions feel like? though i had i kid already i still donno how it feels like cos first one was induced.

K ong...my gynae pokes his fingers into my vagina to test for dilation..how many fingers he use i dun know cos i cannot see..

Duffybuff...do take care yah...let us know as soon as you have given birth...

Me too hate this feeling of uncertainty cos dun know when bb decides to come out...actually did consider to go for c-section...but then again the side effects of c-section made me hang on to natural delivery...

Found this QnA in Baby Centre website. May be useful for mummies tired of waiting.. :p

I'm 10 days overdue and getting desperate! Are there any ways to bring on labour naturally?

Sally Sago answers:
Bearing in mind that we still don't fully understand how labour starts, there are some 'natural' methods that you can try to bring on labour if you and your baby are in good health. However, before considering any action seek the advice of your doctor or midwife, especially if you have any medical condition or your consultant is considering inducing you for medical reasons.

Love-making Sexual intercourse is thought to work in two ways. It may trigger the release of a hormone called oxytocin -- the 'contraction' hormone -- and this may increase the frequency of Braxton-Hicks, or practice, contractions. Semen also contains substances called prostaglandins. These can help to ripen, or soften, the neck of the womb (cervix) ready for it to dilate when labour contractions start.

If you think your waters may have broken, don't make love as this may increase the risk of infection, but do seek advice from your midwife or your local maternity unit.

Nipple stimulation This will release the hormone oxytocin and may help start labour. It's only likely to be successful if your cervix is 'ripe' and ready to dilate, otherwise it seems to help with the ripening process. There is no agreement on how much nipple stimulation you need, or how often, to stimulate contractions.

Walking This is also a common suggestion. The explanation appears to be that the pressure of your baby's head pressing down on the cervix from the inside stimulates the release of oxytocin, hopefully bringing on labour. If your baby has not 'dropped' or is still high in the pelvis, walking will also encourage your baby into a better position so that labour is more likely to start on its own.

Complementary therapies Some women find complementary therapies, such as acupuncture or reflexology, helpful for getting things moving. Always take advice from a qualified practitioner who is aware of your medical history and has experience of working with pregnant women.

You should ignore suggestions that you take laxatives, such as castor oil or enemas, which stimulate bowel action. These can lead to discomfort, sometimes pain and possibly complications, such as infections or dehydration.

hi tinkle,
contractions is something like menses cramp.. but can be quite severe pain at times - this is BH contractions.. but oso hard to differentiate between rue &amp; false contractions. so really depends on individual lor..

found info abt contractions at this website
www.drspock.com/article/0,1510,4566,00.html

hi steffi,
what you are 10 days overdue?! then what did yr gynae say?

kekeke steffi.. u scared me..

hi K Ong,
for VE, gynae just insert his fingers and the other hand he will feel the head of bb.. i thk thru their experience they'll know if cervix is open or not and how low is the head