(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Stephanie,

Yep, tightening of stomach is known as contraction. I read that real labor contraction will be very painful...

Miz Hopeful,

No, I doubt it's necessary to bring your own pyjamas. I'll be staying at A1 and I was told that I don't have to bring anything. But I noticed most of the patients are given a pink color grown to wear...

Serene,
Haha! if our first mth is ard the same weekend and u getting fr Choz, maybe we can combine our purchase hor...:p got more discount.
same here lor! i think my relatives esp those old aunties will freak out if i give them items fr Sweet Surprise! initially i thought of giving colleagues Bengawan Voucher ... but a bit boring leh cos everyone in the office gives Bengawan voucher. But for convenience, maybe can consider that.

Hazel,
Old generation says must bathe with Da Feng Cao or cannot even bathe... but in our weather how to? i think i will go mad if i follow these strictly. But i personally dont think there is any logic why we cannot bathe with warm water lor. maybe the traditions came fr China? China cold mah whereas here is tropical.

Full mth cake and celebration will depend on your elders... see what they say esp since this is your first child. Previously i distributed cakes and had a buffet but only for my side bec my hub's grandma had passed away b4 my son's first mth so mil say no need to give cake or invite their side.

Gillian, ya lor i agree Sweet Surprise is nice but not exactly worth the price for the contents. The chocolate not nice ar? i thought it looked like kit-kat... so it's not?

Puala,

I like Choz too.. but i dont like their heart shape cake. i thought it tastes a bit funny. should be able to replace the tart with something else right?

Is the box personalised with your bb's name?

thanks paula

I've also booked the A1 ward so I guess really no need to bring anything other than baby vests + mittens + booties as specified in the website rite?

I'm in the midst of preparing my hospital bag la.. How abt you? All set to go I guess? Must be exciting.. I really hope my gynae will tell me that I'll be able to see my litle boy soon tmr during my checkup...

miz_hopeful,

i'm only bringing a set of pyjamas, in case i feel like wearing them. my fren told me that there's no need to bring pyjamas coz we can change the pink gown as and when they get dirty and no need to bring few sets of pyjamas juz to change. besides baby's clothings, i'm not packing anything else coz can get hubby to buy from the shops at KKH if i need them... hehe.. lazy me.

i'm also seeing my gynae tomolo evening, hope he got good news for me
can't wait to pop!

am back from my checkup. luckily everything's alright, amnomic fluid still sufficient and bloodflow from placenta is normal. Did CTG also, baby is also very healthy. Thank God.

Now I have to go for weekly checkup to monitor the condition. Gynae said will sure deliver before EDD. Now I'm 35+2 days, hope that baby will deliver after full term.

Baby's estimated weight now is abt 2.8 kg.

congras poohy and moap for your new bundle of joy.. so good.. finally can give birth..

ms piggy, glad to hear that ur bb n u r ok now..jiayou...

me too oso switch on aircon every nite ever since i am pregnant.. but err.. my bill is abt $80, i think.. Serene, i oso hack 2 rooms into 1 masterbed room, but cos i close my door for the build-in wardrobe, so i only switch on 1 aircon everynite. maybe that's y mine is cheaper..

but think during our confinement, bill shd shoot up since we will be staying at home 24hrs..

lyn, me too oso not in the list, can update mine.. edd is 15/06/06, tmc, gynae caroline khi, boy..

hey Angel

I have not delivered yet. I just asked for a CL from Pem.

They are rather professional. They even arranged a home visit to do the neccessary paperwork. They claimed that their CLs are exclusive to them. That means the CLs do not work for other agencies except Pem.

I hope the info is useful for you.

tinklebell,

That's not a bad idea...but the choz's box not so nice hor?

mspiggy

Your baby bigger than mine. Mine was 2.8kg at 36th week.

peng,

Your utility bill so cheap! Same like yrs, i also have walk in wardrobe and i close up the door too...maybe i'm too used to the comfort and coolness of 2 aircon...hee. But tonite, i'm going to try turn on only 1 aircon, but lower the temp to 19 degrees and i'm wearing spegetti strap top and short...see if it's cooling enuff for me...

peng,

Your EDD is my hubby's birthday and my EDD is 12 June. We may end up seeing each other in TMC...if deliver around same time.
How many bedder u book? I've taken 4 bedder hoping for upgrade to 2 bedder.

ladies, thanx for all your well wishes!

we are discharged today even though we paid for 3d2n at TMC... guess it would be better for samuel to be in the home env rather than in the hospital ... so far we are doing quite well.. being a 2nd time mummy helps really a lot... can feed and change my girl myself... unlike the helpless state with samuel last time

the bill was abt $1118 cash after medisave... quite ok for single bed ...pity din spend much time at the delivery suite.. my hb din even get to sit down.. he was inside for like 15min only

i just finish my girl's nite feed... so just pop by... will post the birth story and pic when my hb upload the photo for me

samuel's being a dear so far... and he seems so joyful and happy these 2 days... when he sees the bb, he will even say meimei

tinklebell,

samuel was with me at the shopping centre whole morning while i was trying to time my contractions... strange i still dunno why they are so irregular even though i am already 5cm... my hb said maybe i din notice the smaller contractions... when we reached tmc monitoring, samuel waited in the waiting lounge with my mum cos only hb allowed... i was so worried he will need to wait long ... thank God it was short and sweet.... he stayed with us in the hospital yesterday night though as planned

moap,

congrats.... must tell us your birth story!!

morning ladies

Re: Baby Full Mth
Most of u gers distributing cakes? Me holding a full-mth buffet, but wondering if shld invite colleagues or juz distribute cakes to colleagues? Cos I am only planning to distribute to those in my dept and its a small dept...haha

spicegal,
since urs is instant heater should not consume tat much electricity, cos i know storage heater consumes much more electricity. Maybe its ur aircon or wat bah.

Hazel,
my mom also bought rice wine for me. She said juz use that and warm water to bathe can liowz

I'm thinking of bathing like 3-4 days after delivery. Haha, cos i wonder how i can stand the sweating blah blah.

mspiggy,
great to hear tat everything is fine
U will be able to "dong" until full-term one...dont worry too much

poohy,
wow, u already discharged and at home....rest well okies?

poohy,

Nice to hear from you. Your son so sweet to mei mei...Your labour was such a short n fast one, so good. U take good care and i look fw to seeing the pics of yr daughter. Once again, congrats!

Poohy, you r discharged so fast? U'r discharged in less than 24 hrs! i wish my lab will be as fast as yours too. Why does tmc charge u for 3d2n? standard thing to do? ur milk flow started already?

Serene, wow 19deg! usually when i am not preg, the temp will be set at 26deg. nowdays, it's down to 24 deg... and my hub and son feel so cold already... so i cant imagine if i switch the temp to 19deg.
I also dont think the choz packaging is nice... but it's not big and bulky so it can be easily stored in the fridge. only thing is that i dont like their mini heart shaped cakes.

ms piggy, glad to hear that u r ok.

tinklebell,

No, last nite, it was set at 18 degrees, cold enough so means I will just turn on 1 aircon today onwards.
Won't 24 degrees be very stuffy/warm?

serene, 24 deg is just nice for me...sometimes if i am hot, i'll switch on the fan directly at myself as well... below that will be too cold for hub and son.

tinklebell,

I agreed that if you have your son sleeping with u in the same room, u have a concern for him...hehe, for my hubby, he feels cold i supposed but our feather/down blanket is definitely warm enough for him too. No choice, if the temp is not cold enough, i will wake up middle of nite sweating! Then it be diff for me to go back to sleep.

Morning ladies !!

Poohy,
Wow u are discharged so soon ?? I thot they should rebate u the balance since u didnt stay for 3d2n. Anyway, Samuel is really sweet at least he is able to accept "mei mei" to join the family
Well, do take good care

Re: aircon
My aircon I only set at 20degree but so far we try not to rely on the aircon... mostly using fan.

Dor,
Happy Birthday
Enjoy !!

serene,
i think it's bec my room is v small so maybe that's why 24 deg is still ok
Hiaz so small that i wonder where got space to put my bb playpen
at least u knocked down the wall. we didnt want to do that cos initially dont intend to stay in senja for long... so save on reno costs.

tinklebell,
me too will hv difficulties to put my bb playpen... can only shift alittle bit of my bed when bb is out. initially also consider of hacking the wall to the next room but decided not too also.

Serene,

Tell you something very cute:
Your EDD on 12 June, that is my hubby's birthday. My EDD on 15 June, that is your hubby's birthday!! I will also be delivering in TMC and has chosen 4 bedder. Maybe we will meet in TMC and celebrate birthdays together!! haha

tinklebell,

Actually for my house, i love the layout and living room space very much but the only minus pt is the master bedroom. Even for EA, the master is small, rectangular shape, not squarish so quite narrow. If i dun knock down another room, i won't even have space for a 4-door wardrobe .... even with knock down, the space is not squarish, is longish....hard to display our furniture... looks like i have 2 areas, 1 area for the bed only, the other empty area, can use for TV/play/study area.... I can't put my babycot besides by bed too becos i dun have the width.....now the baby cot is temporilary put in another common bedroom, thought easier for the confinement lady to look after at nite.

starfish,

Wow so coincidence ah!!!!
I was wondering if my bb will be slightly late and end up same birthday with his daddy!
Yes, we prob bump into each other in TMC and we can congrats each other and share the joy of the arrival of our babies.

So far, has your gynae estimate when u will deliver? My gynae says i will expect to deliver near my EDD.....not sure if it's true...

Serene,

My gynae also says I will deliver close to EDD. So hope to deliver on my hubby's birthday. I told my hubby it will be long term saving coz every year they will share 1 cake

hi serene so chiao ah.. i will be staying in 1-bedded room at TMC.

err.. i actually lower my aircon to 16 deg.. even that i oso need fan sometimes.. haha. but my poor hb has to use 2 blankets.. think perhaps i am too heaty..

tinklebell, i m oso thinking of choz cakes.. do u noe what's their usual price for full mth? i search their website but din say anything leh.. can share if there's a bulk purchase since our timing shd be quite the same

tinklebell, okipoki,

me also having prob shifting my cot...read somewhere that it's best to put a baby to sleep in her own cot and own room and to shift her to our room for convenience, only when she has fallen asleep. This way, the baby will get accustomed to sleeping on her own next time. Prob is, with the size of my rooms, dun think i can shift the cot easily from 1 room to another.

okipoki/ serene, hiaz... last time i heard PM Lee saying that spore will have even smaller flats in the future
sigh! i didnt have a wardrobe in my master room for 5 yrs. we placed the wardrobe in another room. only got a 2 door this yr bec there is simply no place to hang my maternity clothes!
Even a 4 room flat in an old estate is bigger than my flat! saw some new condos ... laggi worse... and for double the price! castrophobic!
I hope at the v least to be able to move to an big old flat soon ...at least with a balcony where i can sit and relax.

peng, wow! 16 deg??? looks like most of u need temp <20 deg...so i am the odd one lah... haha! but then, these 3 days i have been feeling a bit cold at nite w/o aircon... a bit unusual... donno if i am falling sick soon.

Wow, all the discussion on air con and flats heeee..

Tinklebell,

We are making a new wardrobe in the bb room and should be ready by next week. Then can pack nicely all my bb stuff liao. Else so messy now. Another bomb - $1500. But guess it would look very nice

After delivery, even if air con temperature 23 deg, i was shivering away. This lasted for one week. After that back to normal, else i would think something very wrong with me because i normally sleep in 23 or 24 deg.

Will be placing playpen next to our bed in the master bedroom. I guess i won't have space to jump out of bed liao. Got to get out from the front of the bed
My MBR not big, compensated by a not-too-bad sized living room.

starfish,

Ya rite, i told my hubby, this year, my baby will be the surprise present for him and indeed the best and precious/priceless present! Next time, both daddy n son can celebrate birthday together even doesn't fall on same date.

peng,

So we might bump into each other in TMC, if our delivery time around same....
My hubby dun need 2 blanket as our current one is quite warm. Same too, i feel my body really very warm....early in the morning, when i touch my hands, sometimes it feels freezing cold, but i dun feel i'm cold....cos i wear sleeveless and only cover 1/2 body with blanket.

kk,

Oh, at least you still have the width to put yr bb cot besides yr bed....my k-size bed fits nicely with no room for side tables and definitely no room for baby cot! My masterbedroom has windows/opening on all sizes, so diff to display furniture, one side are the windows, one side is the aircon latch window, 1 side is the door to toilet, one side is door entrance to masterbedroom. I also have a big living room, privacy walkway, sort of compensate for the rests.

tinklebell,

Really? Yrs can't even put the wardrobe in Masterbedroom? I've not seen the layout of the 5 room at our area so not sure, but if layout almost same as mine, then i can roughly gauge what u mean....we simply dun have a full wall for wardrobe, all sides with windows and door openings...rite? This is the minus pt of our flat design!

U feeling a little cold ah? Does it hint that yr delivery date soon...? Becos i read that if we feel our body abit unusual, it may be symptoms showing we are very close to labour....?

stephanie,
I agreed we should train our bb to sleep in their room but as a parents probably we need to shift to ther room for a start. i cant bear to leave her alone leh... what if she cries &amp; i cant hear then jialat !! anyway, cot to my room is out of the question... no space !!

kk, i only have a Toyogo 4 drawer cabinet as well as additional 3 drawers wh i can spare for my girl. Hopefully when i clear off the maternity clothes, will be able to find more space for her. Initially, we thought of building a wardrobe too but decided against it since we r still deciding whether to move out or not.

serene, ya lor, my MBR should be the same as yours. we just shift the bedhead to be placed against the window side. Previously was against the wall but we had v little space left

tinklebell,
yeah nowadays all the houses are very small &amp; pathetic.. even my mum's 4 rm master bedroom is bigger than my 5 rm master bedroom. haiz..

Stephanie, ur cot has wheels? just realised that mine doesnt. Was a hand me down from SIL so i didnt really look into the details. But at least it's lightwt so can be easily carried. For first mth, will be putting the cot in the same room as CL.. after wh, i think i will somehow try to squeeze it into my MBR. Worse come to worse, dont use the cot and let my girl sleep on mattress.

Serene, really? close to labor? Donno leh.. Adrian says i will most likely give birth near EDD. But these few days, i do feel some painful contractions at times but they r not regular and dont last long.

tinklebell

yap, my cot comes with wheels and has this stopper gadget. Works exactly like those baby strollers. Prob is, the delivery man has helped to assemble the cot in another room where my CL will be sleeping during my ML. We intend to shift the cot to my room after CL leaves, but to our horror, realise that the structure of my door and corridor, doesnt allow me to move it to another room without dismantling it.

Serene, wow your aircon set at 18 degrees...i find that mine was just nice at 23 degrees..

Me too have problem placing the bb cot beside my master bed...cos on 1 side of the bed is my sliding wardrobe and the other side is the door to my bedroom toilet..so i can only place my bb cot at the foot of my master bed...otherwise no space leh...

Spicegal

Me same prob too...but hubby says not nice to place the cot at our feet...so now still trying to figure out where to place it. Somemore, beside window also cannot, cos in the morning and afternoon, the sun will shine directly whereas at night may be too cold.

huh...then how? yah if put at the foot of my master bed, the aircon will blow directly at the cot also...then my bb will feel cold...aiyoh..really problem liao..

Morning Mummies!

Stephanie,

Saw that you were asking abt the colour of confinement wine? It should be in red colour as one of the ingredient is red rice. Yellow colour wine seems very dubious to me, as regardless whether your confinement lady is a M'sian, or Sporean, red rice is still one main ingredient for the wine. To be on the safe side, I think use DOM instead?

Serene/Tinklebell,

Have thought of just making do with toyogo drawers, but then will still end up messy we guess haha.. and with the wardrobe, we can also dump in our luggages, photo albums, etc etc.. whatever nonsense junk we have. So the room will be neater i hope! Looking forward.. everyday see the rooms so messy, i very gek sim
Now even my computer room messy with all the full mth gifts. Dunno how to pack them without the wardrobe here.

I still have a side table with hi fi set beside my bed. In fact my room very squarish, so not a problem.

tinklebell,

I'm not sure, but if u feel something funny, unusual, just take note. Just now, i was talking to my cousin on phone, she even told me that sometimes when close to labour, some may experienced going to toilet more often (stomachache), a few times a day..... this is something new to me! To me, beginning contraction will means something like menstrual cramp, so i was prepared to watch out for this....Then, now a few of u including my cousin actually told me when we felt stomach tight, baby pushed u hard and tight is the beginning symptom of contraction, so i think i will take note and perhaps will ask Adrian about it tomorrow when i see him.

spicegal,

23 degrees not cool enough for me, there was once i turn on 2 aircon, both set at 22 degrees, i woke up sweating in middle of nite, so uncomfortable!

Same here, i have no space by bedsides, but i have the length, so can only put baby cot at our foots...yet it's not ideal cos each time, i had to walk over and see my baby if wake up middle of nite, by the side is most ideal! Also dunno how, thinking of shifting position of my bed, but seems no position is good......

serene, hey, opps.... i also have stomachache quite often these few days! And no appetite
eating my bread with cheese for lunch now. u seeing adrian tomorrow? i'll see him in the evening tomorrow.

kk, i agreed with you to make the wardrobe as long as u plan to stay in yr house for another few good yrs or longer. I also intend to do up my common bedroom for my son after he's born. My common bedroom w/o build-in too, next time, i will shift out the queen bed and chest drawer and do up the room for my son. With wardrobe, single bed and study area next time.

Squarish room is easier to display furnitures. I went to one of my girlfriends' hse in yee tee. Her master bedroom really generous leh. Imagine, she can put her k-size bed, 2 side tables and baby cot besides her bed, the other side is entrance to toilet and can afford to have a 4-door build in wardrobe, in front of the bed can put TV console.....so good, bigger than my masterbedroom but mine is EA!!!! I always complain to my hubby that the designer for my flat has no brains!!!! Design such a small master bedroom!

hmm.. when i first c my master bedroom, i thot it's very small.. but hearing u gals, hmm.. think mine is quite ok..

i can squeeze in a queen-sized bed, bb cot, toyogo drawers, tv set and a built-in wardrobe of abt 6 doors..

but like kk, my existing wardrobe got no more spaces, so i oso juz buy another wardrobe to put in another room to put bb stuff n some of our clothes n rubbish..

poohy, u discharge so fast? very good leh..
quite cheap though it's a single bedded..

serene, mine is at 6pm. agreed that the designer of our flat doesnt know much abt spacing the rooms... prob a young graduate. i also hate the location of the bomb shelter. i always wonder why they cant place it somewhere else or make the door inside the kitchen so that fr the maindoor it doesnt look so ugly. also keeps me wondering why the windows r at the side of the hall and not at the end of the living room. for u not so bad... at least u got lots of window panes. I got 6 miserable window panes and most of the time no wind.

steph, puala
once u having contraction u sure will know whether isit the real one .. as it is really very pain lor. Those contraction which is only tummy tightning and not painful is BH right?

as for the rice wine for bathing .. is those transparent color, can buy anywhere and not those who do themselves for cooking 'ji jiu' like what hidora said .. those red color.