(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

lyn,

it depends on how flexible u make your brachiation ladder and its height lor.... the ladder can be adjusted upwards... so generally can be used till 3-6 years old at the least for the standard ladder height. its all abt customisation to your liking

Kite,

Haha, i didn't let any friends visit me during my hospital stay. My siao hubby sms his friends the ward number and everything else because his friends say wanna visit once i deliver, despite i say no to hubby liao. So only 2 of his friends came to visit.

My students even said they wanna visit me in hospital, i say NO to them.

Haha, ur colleague is cute.. but then i find her sms a bit blunt hor? Can be quite offensive to some.

I merely sms my friends "i have just given birth to a healthy bb girl of weight <weight> and length <length> on <date> at <time>."

One of my good colleagues actually sms me back saying he wanna visit me. I didn't reply him until i got discharged from hospital and explained why i didn't reply his sms.

kk,

Actually it's very exciting and interesting to shop for bb's stuffs hor?
Actually i've not shop for myself much during this whole pregnancy.....poor me! I hope to pamper myself soon after delivery but again depends whether my weight go down fast, if not, how to fit into nice clothings??? Sob sob... Know what, i intend to perm and colour my hair too but heard if BF can't perm or colour hair...is it true?

kite / carebear, Dr YC usually doesn't have a problem with giving me MC. Maybe I am a problematic patient. ;) If not, then I will probably try to work from home nearer EDD 'cos prefer not to cause a commotion in office.

tinklebell, I am also in the accounting/finance line but mainly doing management info &amp; financial accounting advisory work. The day-to-day transactions are handled by our back-office in KL. U leh?

Mummies &amp; MTBs, out of curiosity, how many other accountants are there in this thread?

Another qn: Anybody knows of good tingkat caterers who deliver during lunch? Preferably not too oily stuff and no MSG. Actually I am taking 6 mth ML, will not have a maid and both sides parents are not staying very near. I am hoping to get some home delivery of meals in the 2nd / 3rd month as my boy will still be very young, so dun want to cook or go out to buy lunch if I can help it.

serene,

Actually i feel it is even more exciting to shop for bb after delivery heee.. because we basically know what the bb really needs liao.

U know, some mittens and booties we bought for bb, she cannot wear already!! That's how fast she outgrown her clothing! And some big sized clothings which seem big on her last week seem to fit well on her this week

Haha, i checked my clothes and some already L size!!!!!! Which means if i were to get similar brand back, have to try on XL size??!! *faint*

And now quite heartpain to see my wardrobe. The clothes still new and some even have price tags on. Dunno what to do with them if really all cannot wear in the future

Oh, not sure abt perm or colored hair. Cannot perm hair!!!??? That means i cannot perm hair for another 2 mths or so lor? I wanna perm leh, before i go back to work. Else look like broom like tat.

Stephanie,
I heard some gynaes give the letter as early as 28 weeks also

The magicclean wipes can wash n reuse? Okies i go try next time...hehe

Serene,
Anmum milk is fattening ah? I didnt know tat cos i tot i read the stats it didnt state every serving contains a lot of fat? Cos its not full-cream milk rite? I know if drink full cream milk will put on a lot of weight, last time my SIL put on a total of bout 20kg!

kite,
ya...the rotavirus vaccine costs $100+, and i asked my fren she said inject on the 3rd and 6th mth

Lok,
student counted boh? I studying part-time accounting although on hold for one yr...*lol*

Celeste, count count. Trying to see whether there are other things in common besides the obvious topics of bbs!

Lok, i'm doing accounting and treasury. Accounting is the boring part of my job as it involves the day to day transactions and the monthly closing for one business division. I'm also handling Treasury such as FX contracts and fund placement. That one is the interesting part wh i enjoy but sometimes can be quite stressful.
Looks like i've got to work fr home during my ML cos shorthanded
anyway, it's ok lah since so far my bosses have treated me fairly well.

wow! really envy u ..6 mths ML? actually, i was hoping that if the arrangement to work fr home turns out ok, i'll want to propose to my boss 3 day week
see how it goes...one step at a time

Yah, maybe i am lucky. Oil price now very high, so company can afford to pay for more staff
(just kidding but i do work for a oil major). My big bosses are all Europeans and where they come from, 6 months ML is very common, so they wouldn't even bat an eyelid. I heard rumors that my backup will be an expatriate's wife. Actually out of the 6 mths, 2 mths will be unpaid leave.

kk:

In tis case, i plan to sms only very close frens after delivery whom those i wish to see. And will sms my other frens/colleagues who i prefer not to visit me much later when gg to discharge (depends how many days). hehe better in tis way?

or shall i like u, sms all of them, then when they want to come n visit me, i dont reply? but even no reply, they can come down to hospital n check for my name n get to know my ward hehe

lyn/kk:
blunt? really? i find my colleague's sms quite alrite to me leh. my impression of her sms was that maybe she was very shagged n need alot of rest after delivery, so she mentioned prefer no visiting.

Serene:
me too, i intend to highlight my hair b4 i go back to work, hopefully during 3rd mth of ML. but not sure if i BF, can i stil do highlights as it contains chemicals hor.

Lok/carebear29:
hmm so far when i asked Dr. YC for MC, she wil give but i oni ask her twice. and once i got indigestion, she also gave me 2 days MC. hmm not so sure whether wil she give b4 i deliver. wil keep u all update again.

celesteblur:
tks. so need to inform our PD for rotavirus jab rite, else they wil initiate the jab for our bbs?

kk:
usually when is e time to distribute full mth cakes for frens/colleagues? 1 to 2 days earlier? apply to relatives too? no need to be on exact day rite, if let say fall on wkend.

kk,

Indeed, my girlfriend told me after baby born, more stuffs to buy. Wow yr baby outgrown so fast ah....I bought quite a lot new clothes for my son...hope got chance to wear. My girlfriend who's still breastfeeding now, his baby 5 mths, didn't perm or colour her hair.

Celesteblur,

I think Anmum is not full cream milk, shouldn't be fattening.

Kite,

Wahh ur friends and colleagues so "on"? U never tell them, they will come and check? heeeee.. oh, for me, the good thing is, my friends and colleagues dun even know the hospital i am in HAHA! So if they wanna hunt, happy hunting *grinzz*

i am giving out my chocolates on fri, one day before my buffet and 2 days before full mth. Cake... not too sure.. especially to relatives.

i think can give in advance rite? Most convenient is weekend lor, like what u say

Stephanie,

True true.. hands me down are better. But well, i cannot resist temptation, so still bought around 10 sets of clothings for each age group that time

Lok, what a coincidence! the SBU that i am in charge of is in oil trading business. We probably buy fr u oil

kite/ celeste, what i know is that rotavirus vaccine is given orally, no need to jab. That's why i wont give a second thought to giving this since it is not painful like some other vaccines.

Stephanie, u also bean counter? ** hee hee ** sometimes i wonder why i go into this line .... hmmmm ...** scratch head** will u encourage your kids to be in this line? Hmmm....I dont think i will. quite boring leh.

serene,

ya, I took 4-bedded ward loh...I only told Dr Adrian I wanna deliver at tMC, but he never ask me what ward I want...then the letter came saying that he booked 4-bedded ward for me...so I just accept loh...

anyway, I was thinking if no complication during delivery, I'll upgrade to single ward, else I'll stay as 4-bedded ward since my hubby may not be able to stay overnight with me.....

tinklebell/celeste,

there's a letter from TMC and one pre-admission letter from gynae....the letter from TMC will only be sent to you when you tell Dr adrian u confirm want to deliver there, then he will make the booking for you.....

as for the letter from gynae, I haven't ask him for it yet....

hi all ! thanks for all encouragement..

im delivered in tmc ... actually these few days bb is feeding with FM lor .. since my milk not in .. but today did fed him 2 times with EBM and FM as just now afternoon 3plus start to have my 1st pump ..only 30ml, second time at 7plus pump only 40ml.. both only pump for 1hr den i stop liao as dunno i pump right or not .. breast still look full leh but pump liao milk very slow come out so stop..
im now using medela electric pump .. borrowed frm fren though .. ya easy to use.

till now i havent pump again .. isit must pump every 3-4hrs ar?

My MIL cook pork liver for me on 2nd day when i discharge .. den i ate abt 2-3 pieces only .. den my mum saw and stop mi lor she say cannot eat as my scars not heal yet scare will blood clot so i stop lor .. den i just happen to say out to my MIL that i can't take liver as my wound not heal .. i never complaint say why u cook tat leh i just tell her politely wat ! .. den she called my hb n complain say why i canot eat .. n sound very unhappy and say lasttime she also eat everything and she is having c-sec for 3 kids .. wah laozzz den my hb come n ask mi why i tell his mum that i cannot eat .. duhzzz

lastly my hb ask my CL when she reached .. my CL say cannot eat as milk will stop. den my hb say see .. n ask mi tell my mum not that cannot eat becoz of wound not heal .. wat the XXXX .. cannot eat mean cannot eat .. dun care what reason wat.. arggggggggggggggggggggggh ..

den u know what .. same day in the late afternoon.. my MIL came and she bought KFC and ask mi want to eat?!?!!?!?!?!? den my CL say cannot ... den again she say .. aiyoo everything also cannot eat .. hai .. lasttime i operation 3 times .. blah blah blah .. like that i dunno what to buy liao den better ask my mum to do all marketing .. (by the way i NV intend to ask her wat) i already voice out say my mum will do marketing.
Den lastly.. she took one pack of french fries n ask my CL .. potato i can eat right .. my CL bo bian say ya can .. den i also bo bian just take .. but din really eat la .. as going to take dinner soon .. FUNNI right?? confinement can eat french fries ar??

sorry for complaining .. think going to have post natal blues soon if she continue like that .. happy happy complain to my hb if she is unhappy wif me .. hai ...

MOAP,

the sheng hua tang can take 3 days later .. as i also took it today .. my CL prepared .. wahhh laoooozz taste very horrible sial .. just now evening i go poo.. lotsa ar .. like lao sai like that .. my CL say ya lor .. is like that one .. help u to clear mah ..

Hazel,

Wow, looks like u really angry! Heee.. but on the other hand, ur mil so open-minded, let u eat everything heee...

I ate KFC on sunday!! But that was towards the end of my confinement liao because my confinement ends this sunday :p

I think cannot eat fried food during confinement lor... very heaty...

morning ladies

tinklebell,
rotavirus vaccine is taken orally ah. Hmmzz, then i have a question...if taken orally...wat if bb *touch wood* throws up, meaning bb has to take one more dose or juz leave it as it is? Cos u wouldn't know how much bb has swallowed?

okasan,
but what if Dr. Adrian gives us the pre-admission letter liowz? Cos I thinking by next Thur i go to him i will be 36wk+. So no pt telling him which hospital i wanna deliver at, instead if he give me the pre-admission letter directly will be more convenient? Or izzit compulsory to have both the TMC confirmation letter as well as ur gynae pre-admission letter?

Hazel,
Both ur mom and MIL taking care of ur confinement for u? And u also have a CL? Woah...a bit complicated if all of them have different ways of doing things?
My confinement, at first is my mom helping out parttime and my hb taking leave to help me. Now my SIL also wanna help me...chamz, i told my hb i hope she doesnt have conflicting ideas with my mom...else i donno how to be middleman also

Btw, i asked my mom b4 confinement can eat french fries boh, she said can but not those bought from outside, must peel the potatoes and slice into french fries and deep fry outselves...cos donno outside one got add wat mah...haha

Lok,
Hehe...student also counted ah...but me now working in IT line...boring siah...haha

Tinklebell

Yap, dun think i will encourage my kids to be in this line...otherwise i foresee that there will be no other conversation topic at home :p...i come from a family of bean counters...hubby, bro, SIL...

kk:
eh i m not sure whether my frens/colleagues wil be ON anot. but i guess probably my colleagues will. cos mostly got car n wil go during lunch time or watever. But the thing is they ever ask me which hospital i wil be delivering so they know liao. wow they didnt know which hospital u delivered ah.

Another thing is usually my co. practice here is whoever give birth, the admin wil collect $ from those who want to contribute, then after complied the $, they sure come down n pass it to me one. so i predict they wil mostly come n visit me. but me prefer not to leh. how ah? funny hor. like paiseh loh, somemore look so shag n tired w/o makeup hehe.

btw since u hv lose 13kg n 3 more kg to go, did ur breasts go smaller/sag or stil e same big as during pregnancy? cos i wish even i lose an amt of weight, my breasts wil stil remain big. heehee me greedy.

ya full mth shld give in advance esp to frens/colleagues as we need to travel n pass it to them. so wil u be bringing ur bb ger to sch n show to ur colleagues?

tinklebell:
oh i didnt know rotavirus is in e form of tablet instead of jab. wil definitely go for it, hopefully i stil can remember.

hazel:
ur bb so cute w beckham's hairstyle. hehe
agree that with so many women ard in the hse, wil create problems. for me, only my mum wil help me during confinement. but rest assured that everything wil be over soon. i think best is talk to ur hubby.

mummies:
nowadays i slp very early so always feel tired. i slp at 10pm but 2am wil wake up awhile n toss around.

Celeste, haha! your question very cute leh
i really donno how to answer u.
Looks like everyline of job also quite boring. Hiaz... really envy pp who can find the right job fit.
Wow! so many pp helping u during confinement. Seems like u wont be bored already.

Hazel, wow 3 plus u still up ar? your boy boy is so chubby and got a lot of hair already :p
Haha! trust your mil to buy KFC.
I thought anything also can eat (except seafood cos we have epi wound) cos when i was in hospital, they even gave me watermelon and cucumber... when i told my mum, she got a shock cos she says cannot eat. But why hospital still give if cannot eat? Anyway, during confinement, i prefer to eat home cooked food since the ingredients are fresher. Outside food is mainly frozen foodstuff... not as good.

Stephanie, wow family of bean counters? Good also cos memebers wont specifically come to u to do help them close their accounts or file income tax forms etc etc... my family mems all claim they donno how to do the above and every year, without fail, i have to help them with such things.

kite, not tablet ... liquid. haha!
i also sleep early... even before i finish watch Da-Chang-Jin, i would be in deep sleep.

tinklebell:
oh its in liquid form, then its even better.

but i always thought jab wld be better. hehe

i wil slp right after i finished watched "woman of times". nice show.
cant tong til so late these days, so tired. seems like alot of books n magazines i stil hvnt finish reading, sigh. not sure when got e time since most of the time working n feeling tired.

kite... but jab is painful
i usually excuse myself when my child needs to go for their jab ...cos the first time when i brought him for the jab, my heart broke when he struggled and cried
**sob sob** til now, i still cannot get over the trauma.

tinklebell,
I tink not many ppl actually work for the sake of interest. Maybe only like 10% of the ppl in SG work in their area of interest? *sigh*
But for the vaccine kind of thing i actually prefer jabs cos even though bb may cry or wat...but at least we can be sure that the vaccine is administered into the body

kite,
u watch the "woman of times"? The one at Ch 8 9pm one?

mornin ladies

hazel, i can feel ur frustration. squash btw 3 women.. well i noe they meant good for u. But if i were u, i think i will voice out to hubby if not i will go crazy. But sometimes, must see hubby more on who's side. I noe some hubby very defensive on their own mother if the wife commented this n that. so must use the correct tone n words to tackle them hor. We are women, must protect our own interest mah...

Dun b stressed, okie. sometime juz listen one ear in n out. it's good to vent ur anger here
. I think i m very straight forward. If they ask me eat wat i think i dun like or which i think cant eat one, i will juz say i will take them later...haha.

I hope my confinement will b a smooth one. keepin my finger crossed after listenin to so many stories liao.

MOAP,
In my confinement book, it's stated "shen hua tang" to be taken 3 days after natural birth. How much is it from Eu Yan Seng? Natural birth people to take 7 to 10 sets.

Lok,
You are very lucky...
Yes, it's very common in Europe to take 6 months ML. Last time, when working in UK, my colleague took 1 year ML.

tinklebell,
Not many people in Singapore will work for interests... Mainly for $$$ and survival...

celesteblur:
yes the show on CH8 at 9pm. i find this show exciting n nice. u watching too?

hazel:
ya just bear w it for a while n soon ur confinement wil be fast over.

can we still drink the longan w red dates drink not? or is it too heaty liao.

423378.png

Counting down..hehe

Celeste, is it? u prefer jabs? hiaz... i cried when i went with my son for his first jab.... only once after that, when my son was 2 yrs old did i go with him for his chicken pox jab. But good thing he didnt cry this time. He just screamed out "naughty!!!"

Lyn/ Celeste, yes mainly for $$$... if i have saved up enuf $$$, will want to do something that interest me.... but can dream on.

Dor, u r due quite soon har? must be feeling v excited. pack your stuff already? i am still drinking red date drink but using seedless red dates. Heard it is not so heaty.

nowadays i took watermelon but abit pieces, dun dare take too much scare too liang. issit ok to eat watermelon?

how abt bird nest in bottle ones?

tinklebell,

ya when my son was newborn, he cried during one of his 6-in-1 jab... and it was v heartbreaking... But subsequently he din cry for any jabs liao... recently he turn 1 year old and i bring him to take his chicken pox jab and he din even bat a lid... continue playing even as the doc was doing the jab...

have u given your son the MMR jab yet ? I am considering whether to bring him when he turns 15months old. I heard there's some connection with autism... so i am a little worried

Hazel,

agreed with lyn, you and your hb should have a common understanding. Its your confinement thus try not to bottle inside later will have depression.

my hb, for one, will really get it big time from me if he dare to side with his mum blindly. But fortunately for me, my mil is not a intrusive person and only appear in my house once after i deliver my son..... she din bother me at all... plus this time she also too busy taking care of sil's twins haha... my confinement is solely taken care of by my mum. I am quite easy going with confinement food.. thus i wanna eat those junk food.. its the other way round for me... my mum and aunts gotta nag at me all day to eat more normal confinement food.

hi hazel
Congrats on ya cute little one! Must pump every 3-4 hours if you intend to bf, milk will then gradually increase. Engorgement and breast infection is no joke.
Ya MIL funny hoh, buy KFC. Next time you ignore her and dun eat if u dun wan. Anyway I also secretly ate french fries during confinement
Hee, enjoy ya confinement! If I ever have another kid, I am not going to do confinement for sure.

Lyn, tinklebell,
If i have $ i wanna be a SAHM and then take up courses that I like...hehe...then i can at the same time have time to spend with my kids and also learn stuffs that interest me...
...but how to do tat...living standard in SG so high...imagine at this point i must already start tinking of planning retirement, kids education blah blah....haha

kite,
ya...i occasionally got watch tat one...my hb although not so interested in that show but whenever he watch he kept commenting that Huang Yiliang's acting is super gd....haha

tinklebell
yar lor, everything is packed. anyway Mt A is very near my place. so if forgot to bring anything, still got time to take.
I juz hope i have a short n smooth delivery. really dun noe wat to expect... so far, i hv not panic. the excitement is there.. but also wonderin how's life after the bb arrives.

Anyone knows if it is genarally safe to keep rabbits at home when the baby is around? My Mil was telling me if I wanna find another babysitter as she is afraid my baby will be allergic to the 2 rabbits in her house.