(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

lyn:
lol i m not so sure as i didnt see my hubby doing it. But after opened, he told me very easy leh n he ate up all the flesh greedily

u drinking milk powder or fresh milk?

okipoki:
oic oni c-sect need to shave ah. tks for e info. if got choice, i opt not to. How many glass of milk u drink daily? i always feel my intake of calcium fr milk not enuff.

Anmum:
i want to switch back to anmum from fresh milk but how come so difficult to find tis brand fr ntuc? seems always out of stock leh.

Lyn, i'm quite surprised that the MS came back over the weekend. Hiaz...even the chocolates dont look appetizing now. Only craving for fruits. Come to think of it - maybe i had too much fruits that's why i keep getting tummy ache

stephanie:
u mean anmum is better as compared to mamil mama n nestle omega?
i very fed up, been went to several ntuc but cant find any milk powder for expectancy mothers, only for BF mothers.

Morn ladies

Amy, congrats!! U will b the nxt one to pop. hehe.

Btw, wher is Hazel? Has she gone into labour cos yest she mentioned her sympton.

This morn when i still lyin on my bed, i felt crampin at my lower tummy and very tight. But only last for a couple of mins, then okie liao. Is that contraction huh? LOL

Lyn, poohy
U gals so hardworkin to do the track. After finished, show us here lei.. cant really figure out wat u gals are doing. HAHA

poohy
Re: Glass Bottles
Can go n collect glass bottles now har.. wher do u get the caps? Actuali hv u sterlise ur bottles n breast pump spare parts. My new Nuk bottles got those sticky stuff left from the price tag... hv a hard time gettin them out. Any other way to get rid of them?

kite,
I am drinking soya milk only...
I have not been drinking milk for more than a year already ever since my surgery for fibroids.
hmm... everytime I throw away the flesh, find it so wasteful... lol...

tinklebell,
What fruits are you craving for? In my first trimester, I ate a lot of fuji apples cos that can soothe my MS.
I finished all the choco in my fridge
left the dark belgian choco ones which is bitter and dun fit my craving now... My hubby dun let me replenish...

kite

No, i mean Nestle is better than anmum and mamil.

Haha, maybe there are too many expectants around now. But according to my colleague, she actually drink Anmum2 for BF right thru her pregnancy to after delivery. Actually when we read the contents, they are almost similar leh.

tinklebell:
wow u mean u never even touch or drink milk during pregnancy?

stephanie:
really? u saw it at rivervale ntuc? big or small tin one? for expecting mothers rite? but too bad i dun live ard there. but if really hv, i wil make a trip there. i staying in west n went to most big ntuc in e west, i couldnt find any anmum.

dor,

ya u can collect the glass bottles if u need.. or get from the hospital when u discharge... i collect now cos can have more time to wash... i stand for 2 hours on sunday night washing those bottles and scrubbing the label off... phew tough... Anyway i bought the caps from cheong choon at upper cross st... they sell at $0.80 per cap. Its the same as those tollyjoy brand pink/blue cap u see in kiddy palace.

I have not sterilise the pump or bottles yet!!! oh no... i wanna do it but too busy with too many things... but i guess can ask my hb to do it if i am in the hospital lor... he is very experienced doing such things liao...

I also dunno how to easily get rid of those sticky stuff.. i scrub them
In any case, I only got my bb 1 new 125ml nuk bottle only. If she needs more, can share with her older brother

Dor...
Wah.. sounds like contractions leh... My friend also get tightness in the lower abdomen and that's contractions... Secarly, next week you pop liao...

Kite

If i remember correctly, it's the big tin one. Huh? wah u really willing to make the trip to sengkang? very far for you leh....

Maybe u can call up carrefour or giant (IMM) to try? Nearer to your place right?

poohy,
Wah.. you stand for 2 hours ah! I think I not physically very strong now. Feel my soles hurt after standing for a while...
Have you soaked the bottles in the water? If dry, you can actually use eraser or scotchtape to stick and remove the sticky stuff... But can take very long to do that...

lyn,

ya soaked in soapy water liao... and then i tear off the label and use those green scrub to scrub off the labour.... take very long too!

standing for 2 hours make my legs even more swollen leh .. maybe stationary position. anyway, I keep going on cos really wanna get it done.

lyn:
hehe another one who doesnt drink milk ah. me at times wil drink soya milk, bot fr ntuc. which brand u drinking now? nutrisoy?

stephanie:
eh my parents living in hougang, so not so bad. so difficult to find one n always vanilla flavour, chocolate always not avail.

i tried carrefour b4, also no Anmum for expecting mothers. maybe i shall try Giant near my place.

Kite, yes i never drink any milk during my entire pregnancy. The smell of it makes me nausea. The last time i drank milk (those plain ones not counting the flavoured ones we take in primary school) was when i was 5 yrs plus. But i take milo with milk and yogurt to supplement the calcium intake.

But word of caution abt milk. I noticed my SIL takes a lot of milk (1 ltr of fresh milk per day) when bf'g and her 2 kids both have serious allergy to cow's milk and serious ezema. I'm just wondering if there is a correlation. But whatever u take, just take in moderation.

lyn, i crave for apples too! And strangely pineapples esp the sarawak ones but i dont dare to eat too much of that.

lyn
really can scrub off the stupid sticky thing like that. I soak the whole day on Sunday lei with the bb detergent. still cant get rid... my BIL said it need a few round of washin to get the stuff out.

okie. got to go for a super long meetin now from 10am to 2pm.. oh my god... tot to u gals later.

kite,
I drink the cheap fortune brand cos not so much other additives, and also those sold in hawker centers. I used to drink Nutrisoy, but not anymore

tinklebell,
I think apples should be ok to eat, but pineapples better dun eat...

tinklebell:
tks. so far i oni drink 1 cup of milk daily in e morning.

lyn:
The fortune brand has the word "traditional" rite? i quite like tat brand, nice to drink hor.

btw i hv stopped taking cordyceps liao, now slowly wil drink raspberry tea leaf, coconut. i hv ordered e raspberry from MIM, yet to receive the tea fr them.

okipoki:
any difference in taking calcium supplements at different timing? cos usually i wil take it in the morning after breakfast.

MOAP, ah.. your bb 3.2 kg? how many weeks?

Celeste, yes.. gynae going on holiday on 23rd May, also, she thinks bb is big, so suggested induction over the weekend or Monday. Fri doing ctg, to check bb heartbeat. so far, bb very active leh... got a feeling he not ready to come out... actually, i also dunno why she wanted to do VE and CTG so early... dunno whether it's becos she is going away... am lost...

Poohy, my gynae wants to do another VE on Friday. wondering whether to let her do... cos the first VE, bleeding quite alot... scary... and i think bb quite uncomfortable, as she was pressing so hard on his head during the VE. Aiyo... now I am only wk 37 2 days, bb better not come out so early.

tinklebell, my maid arriving this Sat. that's why i am not very keen to be induced on Sunday. will see how things go on Friday.
actually, i do not think bb is big leh... how come my gynae kept saying bb big on every visit?

amy,

my gynae prob will do VE every checkup now looking at how it goes. she told me most likely my bb will be early since her brother was delivered in the 37th week. Anyway i ok with VE .. good to know the progress... in fact, I wanna suggest to her to induce if bb still not out this saturday 37w1d... i dun want bb to be too big leh. Anytime after 37 weeks should be ok i think...

if u not comfortable with VE... maybe u shd let your gynae knows... plus let her knwow u are bleeding quite a lot after the VE...

poohy, you think inducing is ok? just felt to induce is to go against nature, especially when there is no valid reason. why did you want to induce so early? and yes, gynae did mention that after 37 weeks is ok...

i am keen to go for a natural delivery, and for bb to come out in His timing... gotta believe in God that even if bb is big, i can deliver him naturally....

Amy,

U are in week 37 and bb is considered full term liao

That time i can also sense my bb very active. And gynae say since the bb is active and healthy, might as well induce and take her out. He dun wanna my blood pressure to put the bb at further risk.

How big is ur bb??

Tinklebell,

Sama sama.. throughout my whole pregnancy, i only took 1 small tin of Anmum milk powder. I still have leftovers from a big tin. Couldn't finish before i went for induce heee.. but my calcium intake did come from other sources like u
I took quite an amount of soya drink

Now, i dun take any more milk. I dun take fresh milk as well because no cold drinks allowed during confinement rite? If fresh milk not cold, not nice liao :p So i might as well dun drink. My mum also warned me against taking milk powder when BF. Might not be suitable for bb.

kite

my gynae says that taking calcium pills at night rather than in the morning will help to reduce leg cramps when we are sleeping

kk, MOAP, my bb is 2.8 - 2.9 kg at 37 wk 1 day. Gynae predicts he grows about 300 g per week. So she worried he will be above 3.5 kg if i wait and not induce. His head is now 33.5 cm.

Okipoki,

I got shaved before i was induced leh! That time was aiming for natural delivery. But they dun shave much. In the evening, before i got pushed for c-sec, they shave again. But they dun shave much too. Not the WHOLE area being shaved lah, dun worry heeee...

Aiyoh amy, where got huge lah.. my bb 2.9 kg at week 36. Week 37 went for gynae checkup and VE check then gynae also never commented big. Week 38 induce liao.

kk, ya lor... i also dun think bb big ma... how come my gynae so funny... always tell me huge... hmmm....

Celeste Blur,

Not to worry about CTG. u are just being strapped while lying down on the bed
For me, about an hour. Horrible experience for me because i was having terrible heartburn and that position made me vomit.

Kite/Celeste Blur,

Yup, TMC midwife will shave for u. Dun worry
The shaving process very simple and painless

Yah, kite is rite! Now my hair slowly grows back, and they are very very short ones, seem to prick me all the time
Makes me feel whether it is the wound that hurts, but obviously it is not.

Amy,

U belong to the small sized group? Heeee... maybe ur gynae thinking that small sized bb higher chance of being delivered naturally and easier for u too

kk

can tell me what exactly is ctg? What is the test for and normally when do we need to take it? my doc neber mention anything leh.

Hi gals,good morning!

Guess I must have missed out alot for the past few days! I was busy clearing my office desk and training my temp gal who just came yesterday.

Hi kk, I'm now drinking my 6th tin of Anmum milk. Oh ya, there was once I couldn't get the big tin, i bought 1 small tin also, so means i've drank 6 1/2 tins Anmum milk throughout my pregnancy period....big milk drinker huh? hehe...

MOAP, actually i think 3.2kg at 37th week is ok, chubby baby is very cute.
Mine was 2.5kg at 34th week. This week i'm at 36th week already, will see Adrian this thurs and waiting to know how much my baby has gained for the past 2 wks.

Serene,

me too...been drinking anmum since i pregnant..this morning finish my last tin aready.. so won't be buying anymore...big bb easy to handle mah... during my 35 week visit my bb was 2.9kg.

hi amy,
Sorry that your VE caused bleeding.
Did your gyane give a good reason for doing the VE so early? besides this uncomfortable procedure there the normal ways to find out how ready you are for labor are timing the contractions, isnt' it?

i believe induction will be more painful as there won't be a gradual increasing of the waves of contractions. and there should always be a good reason to induce. Like you I believe that even if baby is big, our pelvic bones will soften and expand at the time of delivery. Also the baby must be positioned correctly - if head is facing away from us instead of facing our backside, then baby won't descend.

I think many gynaes suggest induction coz it's convenient timing for them. I thought full term was 40 weeks, not 38. Anyway if it's past the EDD, there are natural ways of induction like walking, swimming, intercourse, nipple stimulation, to get the right hormones kicking off.

Stephanie,

CTG is basically a test that requires us to be strapped and then they will place around 2 stethoscope-type of thing on our tummy area and from there, the machine will pick up 2 things - one is bb's heartbeat, and the other is our contractions (intensity and rate). From there, the gynae able to know whether we are having regular or irregular contractions and how strong they are. From bb's heartbeat, able to tell whether bb is active and whether heartbeat normal

I was being strapped to CTG again when i got admitted to TMC in the morning. All the way through labour so as to monitor.

Morning Mummies,

Yea, my orders arrived from Little Dreamers this morning. Now waiting for the raspberry leaf tea to arrive from MIM.

I ordered quite a number of products from littledreamers. Smells nice for all! Got lavender smell.

I've got a bottle of belly butter (for stretchmark)
one bottle of afterbirth treatment (for slimming of tummy after delivery)
one bottle of firming body lotion (use after delivery)
one bottle of herbal hemorrhoid treatment, one bottle of natural balm
one bottle of bye bye buggy spray (lots of mosquitoes at my hse) and
one bottle of anti-bacterial mist (to spray on the cot).

Wondering when are the teas arriving.. Wanna start drinking leh..

being a first timer, i still haven't gone to find out about new born diaper brands.
Besides pampers, what are the prices of other brands like mamy poko, etc?
Which brand of new born size do you go for?
I've yet to see the new born size at supermarkets - do we only find them at shops like kiddy palace & maternity shops/hospitals?

sorry for the super-blur questions

Also, I'm curious about the baby's size in proportion to the mother's weight.
At 32 weeks, I was 10kg over normal and baby was 2kg. Anyone else care to share the statistics - # of weeks, mummy's kg over normal & baby's estimated weight?

Serene and MOAP

Heee, i do agree.. my bb borned at 3.19 kg. When discharged, bb will sure drop in weight, so her weight around 3 kg when discharged. First PD checkup, she grows to 3.2 kg. Now curious to know what's her weight as she has become so much chubbier

Fondue

I read an article once in "mind your body' abt a gynae who didnt realise that the baby was too big. In the end, the mummy's pelvic was 'ripped' apart! and she had to be bed-ridden for mths. Guess it's thus better to play safe and have induction when the doc advises?

tinklebell,
ya lor...starting to feel uncomfy sleeping nowadays...sleep on side bb kick and move sometimes make me difficult to fall asleep...*sigh*

kite,
haha...definitely will be itchy mah...cos when it grows back its like "stubbles" like tat....i cannot imagine...aiyoh...*lol*

lyn,
haha....same here...when i switch from left to right or vice versa, my hands will automatically "shift" my tummy when i turn at the same time....feel more comfy....haha...

amy,
oic....ur gynae going away...but if u wait till she come back bb might be too big huhz? Cos I still feel like if can avoid inducing then avoid lor...let it go natural.

kk,
hehe....me dont really wanna do CTG becos i tink must pay for it rite? Unless necessary then i will do lor :p

Serene,
u drinking 6th tin of Anmum? Me only drank like 1.5 tins of Anmum....haha
But I also take HL milk

Stephanie,

There are always horrid stories like that haha.. my friend told me the story u just shared. But dun worry, there are lots of mummies who gave birth to big sized bb and they are safe

I heard from colleague that her sister was on epidural when in labour and end up she dunno when and how to push. Was in wheelchair for 2 mths. Horrible rite?? I heard this story from her and so scared!! Imagine that time i was supposed to go for induce soon..

Celeste Blur,

CTG.. actually quite fun heee.. u get to know how regular is ur contractions.

Yup, i think got to pay for CTG. I can't remember how much liao. I was so shocked when we were asked to pay more than usual for that particular gynae visit. I thought how come my high blood pressure pills so expensive.

Fondue,

you can consider Nepia pampers..coz the material is same as pampers..

hidora,

you bought so many things ah..must have cost you a bomb lor...so did you bought the nursing tea??

kk,

i think my elder gal weight never drop leh..and she is a big drinker she drank 120ml every 4hours.