(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

lyn, same as Stephanie here... as long as bb kicks and the kicks are hard, i assume she is ok. Lazy to count how many kicks per day.

poohy, how does it feel like when the cervix are dilated? any discharge or pain?

KK,
Your gal grows really fast! Big gal liao! So adorable! btw, I went for a full month celebration, the host gave the Sweet Surprise as a gift. I must say the packaging is nice, but I feel the contents not really worth the $. The package I got consisted of 2 Ang Ku Kuehs, 2 red eggs, 2 chocolates and 2 tarts. But I rate presentation as tops!

Celest, Stephanie,
My stretch marks also appear like nobody's biz, like railway tracks now, sob so sad, all under my tummy. I have given up hope looking at them..

Gillian,

Yup, sweet surprise packaging really very sweet hor? Live up to its name heee.. i ordered chocolates from mytreasurebox liao
Just simple one bar kit kat with customized packaging for everyone

tinklebell,

actually no feeling at all.. just the usual feeling of heaviness downwards, usual pain etc. My leg also starts to have water retention since yesterday.... hmm just hope the delivery will be in the day... i dun like to give birth at night...

lyn,

actually i still thinking whether to do the crawling track even though i got the materials liao... cos actually i feel its not totally necessary... and worried later got the big item at home... make the house messy.

for the checkerboard... i had wanna do two sides too... but i bought so many board because as usual i am so indecisive and cant decide which to get... so buy so many till.. i got so many board...
sian end up got so many checkerboards liao...
maybe if too many, i give one to my SIL hehee or see if anyone wants...

lyn, poohy
guess both of u are the most hardworking mummies... really kudos to both of you, have the energy to do those board
well, care to show off to us once u have completed ??? hehehe...

tinklebell:
hmm dunno leh hubby stil considering. wil let u know again.

Lok:
yes i knew there is a couple sitting down there but never notice e face
aiya wasted hehe.
hmm, u never join e lab tour n e talk?
tis coming appt is my 1st 3wks interval visit. next wil be 2wks interval liao. wil keep u update
E cordlife told us we need to inform Dr. YC if we signed up for the cordblood. And when we mentioned Dr. YC, the staff told us she is very professioal in clamping e cord after delivery. cos i asked them e qs regarding pulsation.

Single bed for mum during confinement:
heard some actually bot single bed for ur mums/mil doing confinement, where u all bot ah? intend to go to The furniture mall this wkend to purchase. any other recommendations?

kite,
i hv bought a sofa bed for my confinement lady.. got it at seahorse brand @ abt $170. Size wise is definitely bigger than single.

kite, why do u need a separate bed during confinement?

anyway, we bought an extra 3-in-1 bed recently for my son and maid. bought fr mega mattress at Balestier. Silver river also has beds. Didnt go to furniture mall. Ikea also has right? but i dont really like the quality of their furniture.

poohy,
wow....36 wks 3 days and ur gynae said might deliver anytime now...tats fast....so exciting..another mtb going to deliver soon...

Making me start to kan chiong liowz....haha

gillian,
me occasionally still look at my tummy hoping the stretchmarks will disappear...but seems like it still remains....so sad

Re: Swap test?
any idea when gynae will do this swap test...i tink its to check if the V part got infection boh?

Kite, i went for the talk in mid-April. This is the follow-up visit to sign the contract. Yah, the lady knows who is Dr Chan. Actually, my friend decided during the day of delivery that she wanted to bank with Cordlife. According to her, there is no rush-order charge of $200 for TMC. In fact, the nurses at the labour ward have a stockpile of ready collection kit for such last minute cases. But don't quote me, she hasn't discharged from hospital yet, so maybe it just hasn't been billed to her as yet!

Actually, what is the issue with pulsation? What big difference does it make? During the antenatal class video, I thought they say the cord may be clamped if it is too tight to prevent it from strangling the bb. Has nothing to do with cordblood banking or not..

tinklebell,
Is it? But I heard it cost $100 each. So if they have already issued u one, then we ask for another (cos forgot to bring), does it mean they will charge us again?

Lok, really, got charges? i put mine in my hospital bag but bec it is sensitive to heat, we cannot put the bag in the car as i would like to

okipoki:
tks.

Tinklebell:
no, i mean i want to buy a single bed to be placed inside my bb's room for my mum as she wil be coming to my hse to do confinement for me, else she got no bed to slp on.
ya, dun trust ikea's quality so dun intend to buy fr there. i intend to buy a bed probably it can be used for bb at a later stage w a bb's bed guard. wondering how does bb's bedguard looks like?
if not, i wil buy a children bed later w bed guard.

celesteblur:
i requested for tis swab test to be done on my next visit which is tis sat.
costs $33 as told by my gynac.

tinklebell/lok:
where r u storing ur cordblood collection kit right now?

regarding pulsation, we asked e lady who held e seminar. She told us that there is no difference between normal clamping for cordblood storage or non. But gynac who clamped e cord shall wait for a while then can clamp n she assured me that Dr. YC knows tis procedure very well n asked me not to worry. Saying e timing w or w/o collection of cordblood wil be done similarly. cos earlier on, someone mentioned there is a risk of clamping earlier to prevent nutrients/blood to flow sufficiently to bb but seems now i m more assured.

did both of u ask abt pulsation? maybe u can ask n see what is their answer.

Kite

I just got a wooden bed (single size) from a neighbourhood furniture shop at $130. I requested for 2 bedguards to be installed at $15 each.

stephanie:
the wooden bed meant for who initially? then later part, the bed gg to use for ur bb w bed guards? e bed guards u got it together w e bed?

cos im buying a bed for my mum, then after confinement n 3mths, she wont be staying at my home. So i find e bed will be wasted n thinking of convert to a baby bed. wondering must i buy e bed guards at the same time at the point of purchase of e bed, scare wont fix e bed size.

Kite

Wooden bed to be used for CL or my mum who will be visiting me during my maternity leave. Intend to use it for my gal later on, when she's abt 3 plus....prob is, it does look a bit weird to have an adult sleeping on a bed with 2 guards...no choice lor, otherwise will be quite difficult to get pple to my house to install the wooden guard later on. The guards are of the same quality and colour as the bed frame. Hubby didnt want to buy those off the rack ones from Kiddy Palace

stephanie:
good idea. actually my idea also similar to urs. dun want to waste that bed, can be reused for bb. if let say i dun intend to buy e bed guard now, will those fr kiddly palace to fix any sizes of single bed? any pic to share? wondering tis wkend if i gg down to furniture mall, hv anot?

btw during e delivery n installation of bed, were u inside e hse? my mum advised me not to stay inside my home during that time.

kite

nope...was actually chased downstairs by my hubby..anyway they just took 5 mins to drill and install!!!

yap, those from kiddy palace are supposed to fit into any sizes of bed..however u will need to have a thick mattress cos the guard actually comes with an extension which u are supposed to slot beneath your mattress to keep it in place. My hubby doesnt feel comfortable with that and also those guards are made of plastic/canvas (i think).

Poohy, just came back from gynae. Did VE also. 1 cm diliated. BB at 37 wks 1 day weigh 2.8-2.9 kg. Seeing gynae this Friday for ctg as well. Hmm....

She suggested inducing on Sunday, or latest Monday. Will decide on Friday lo...

Poohy, did you bleed after the VE? I had fresh blood dripping st after VE. Kinda sad...
Shouldn't have allowed VE so early.

Kite

The bed i bought is made of wood, so the furniture shop actually made a guard out of the same material. It's actually more hardy, cos it's drilled into the wooden bed. To remove it later on, we can later unscrew it. Just that there will be 3 small holes on each side.

Kite, i got a single bed w/o mattress from Courts. $70 i think, but delivery is another $40... aiyo...
using this bed for my maid. for CL, will shift the extra bed from my MIL place... use for CL, and maybe for my mum when she stays over during my maternity leave, then will discard lo...

stephanie, tinklebell,
Ok.. Thank you
I think I will stop counting already. It really give me sleepless nite and getting me freak out whether baby is ok or not. My baby just finished his kicking

poohy,
I will make the crawling track that is foldable so that I can fold them flat and store in the storeroom... hee... I still gotta find some hooks or anything that will hold the two sides open...

hahaha.. I am also indecisive... Now the mattress protector I got from Ikea gonna be used for something else already... The more boards the better rite? Then no need to shift everytime you change location. Some more easy to keep since it's flat... I kinda admire the checker board I made... lol... looks quite nice. I might make my white built in wardrobe checkers too, if I still have the energy... kekeke... :p

okipoki...
hee.. okie... It's quite interesting to make something for baby
The satisfaction is there

stephanie/amy:
sound like e single bed u all bot is w reasonable n good buy. those i hv seen one above $200+. My budget abt $100+.

stephanie:
the bed guard u hv sounds hardy than e plastic ones from kiddy palace. probably i shall buy those bed w bed guard tis wkend.
probably since ur CL or mum is using the bed, u can temp remove the bedguards.

Alamak! got a scare just now. Had bad stomach cramps and thought might be labour pain. Luckily wasnt ... just that i had a real painful stomachache followed by diarrhoea

Amy, congrats in advance. That's fast! gonna see your bb so soon. U settled your maid stuff already?

Looks like this will be an interesting weekend for a few mummies in our thread. carebear, amy and poohy (have i missed out anyone else?), ***jia you*** feels so happy for all of u

coconut:
just to share w u all. yest hubby n i shared a coconut n drank e juice by popping a straw on the the already open hole. After tat hubby wanted to eat e flesh n he used can opener to open the top portion, very fast n easy leh. hehe he finished all e flesh. LOL

lilfeets,

managed to found out that the total bill for my SIL's twins was $27k. Each day, can claim medisave of up to $400. Thus she paid in cash abt $10k+. Her own c-sect delivery 1 bedder at tmc 3 days stay was $5k. Hers was prob on the high side since the bb stayed for 2 and 3 weeks respectively.

lyn,

my father will be putting in the hinge for me... i bought 2 pieces of camping mat to put as cushion for the crawling track.. but still contemplating what to put in as the surface wrap cos... i found a suitable material at the DIY shop but its thick thus difficult to sew... so i may just settled for those cheap changing mat
For the checkered sides, I may just cut small pieces of black/white paper and make it into a long strip and just lined it at the side...

for the checkerboard, i got 4 big pieces done. like u, i did smaller checkers for one of the board behind... had wanna do for 1 more but not enough paper... so if i had not pop tomorrow i may do it...

i managed to finish doing all the 11x11" infant stimulation cards and 20 big maths dot cards... the maths card was really a challenge... paste till i sleep hehee

hope all these are useful.... i prob wont be doing much anymore cos i wanna concentrate some time to do some cards for my bigger boy if i havent pop.

tinklebell,

ya exciting.. i gotta keep looking for signs of labour... real worried later i cant reach hospital in time...

amy...

these 2 times of VE i din bleed. But I bleed right after my VE in my first pregnancy and i deliver my boy that very day.

shaving:
before delivery, the mid-wife will help us shave down there rite. then when it grows back, sure very uncomfortable n itchy one, cant imagine.

bird nest:
i stil got 5 bottles of Lo hang ka bird nest in my drawer, not sure whether to drink anot. so far oni drink 1 bottle in my 1st tri.

manuka honey w UMF+:
hmm during pregnancy, cant drink manuka honey rite. cos that time i bot 2 to 3 bottles from NZ, very cheap n since i got pregnant, i didnt dare to drink cos UMF+ said to contain some antibiotics.

carebear29:
how r u feeling? u must be at home counting down.

btw dont mind can u PM me ur massage lady Ms. Rohaya's contact no.? thanks in advance.

tinklebell,
my MS also seem to come back...yesterday, I also vomit after eating...then these days, always feel like vomitting but din vomit lah....eat much lesser portion coz stomach seems to be unable to contain more food, coz of lack of space as baby is bigger...

tinklebell/celeste/MOAP/serene,

I just got the pre-admission letter from TMC liao...suppose to fill up the form and mail them back

have u all got yours?

morning ladies

amy,
wow...looks like u going to pop soon
But juz a question, is it a must to do ctg? And how come ur gynae wanna induce u so early?

kite,
will all midwife shave for u down there? cos I heard during the antenatal class that if u r "bushy" there then midwife will shave, otherwise they will juz leave it...*lol*

I even read in a magazine some mtbs went go get a brazilian wax b4 they pop soon....hehe

okasan,
havent got my pre-admission letter. So TMC sent u directly or? I asked Adrian last Thursday he said he will give me when i am arnd 37 weeks.

tinklebell,
me is sometimes i feel like tummy a bit pain especially when i turn when sleeping...donno izzit the skin kenna stretch or wat

good morning

okasan,

i got the comfirmation letter from TMC when i was 33 weeks plus. Did you get the pre-admission letter from Dr Adrain.

Re Check up,

yesterday went for gyna visit..bb weight 3.2kg...

okasan, i asked for the letter so he said he will give it to me during the next visit (wh is next week)... will be almost 37 weeks by then. My tummy is also v bloated. Kept getting stomachache but when i visit the toilet, nothing but lots of air **LOL**

kite, previously we got a sofabed fr sea horse for $120 cos we didnt have much space to store a bed. Thought it was quite a seasonable price. Delivery was another $30. Quality was quite good. But my maid and CL still preferred to sleep on the floor
think they r not used to sleeping on something soft.

poohy, wow! your sil's bill is quite high. previously, i read in the papers tat this couple chalked up a few hundred thousand at Mt A when their child was in ICU for a long time.

celeste, very hard to get used to the big tummy hor? cant wait to give birth soon. my backache and leg pain is slowing killing me

Morning Ladies!

Whoa so much threads to catch up. Work pace has been getting hectic these days. Have been working till 7-ish in the evening these days, trying to clear as much work as possible. At the end of the day, it seems like the more work I have cleared, the more work I have in return sigh!

Actually, getting a sofa bed is a good idea I didnt think of it! I brought a mattress for the CL but might think of getting one sofa bed instead might be hiring a housemaid in the long run. Sigh! I received a phone call from the confinement agency yesterday alerting me that the confinement lady that I have chosen will not be coming after all they are sending another one to me.

Amy, congrats! Seems like you will be the next to pop in this thread Ill be in week 38 next week and Im hoping that my gal will come out soon cos I am getting breathless these days, appetite getting worst, feeling more uncomfortable .

Did any of you watched In the Womb that was telecasted on Discovery Channel on last Sunday? The program actually shows an actual delivery process of a Caucasian (the giving birth position was weird though) my hubby ran for the kitchen when he saw that segment and it left me wondering will I see him running for the exit when its my turn!

May I know who will be ordering from Sweet Surprizes for your baby's full month celebrations? Im 100% tempted with the packaging but my only concern is on the quality of the food ... wonder whether it's taste good or not.

Puala, i'll most likely be getting fr them for my office colleagues. I'm not so sure abt the quality of the food. Ang-ku-kui and glutinous rice right? i think the portion is gonna be quite small - judging fr what i saw on the website. As for the eggs, did u manage to ask them whether they can replace with easter eggs? not many pp like to eat eggs these days.

tinklebell,

ya my sil bill is very high leh... lucky her hb quite rich... so though she is not working, they are still financially very well off. In fact they just got themselves a toyota previa, plus they have a maid that looks after the dogs and some of the housework only... (she helped me look after my maltese too)... and now she is going to hire an additional filipino maid to look after her twins cos she say too siong for her though her mil and mother helping.... the current maid dun dare to touch her preemies babies...

re: glass bottles

i went down to kkh to collect my glass bottles on saturday... instead of 10 ... they gave me 20. So now i got 39 glass bottles at home ... and i bought 30 plastic caps for them... if u all need more glass bottles... maybe can get from them... i think except tmc, the other hospital all quite generous in their bottles..

Celesteblur:
if i got e choice, i opt not to shave down there.
cos last time i shaved once when i was younger, when grow back, really itchy like shit! dun want to hv tis kind of feeling during confinement. LOL

Milk Powder/Fresh Milk:
do u mummies stil drink milk? which kind? cos since last mth, i couldnt find anmum at ntuc, i drank fresh milk for the past 1 mth but seems like powder one is more nutritious?

Kite,
How to use the can opener to open the coconut? hmm... I wanna try... :p

Poohy,
That's very good that your dad is going to put in the hinges for you...
For the checker, I bought one roll of light and one roll of dark sticker type wallpaper. Initially, I thought of buying cloth to sew, but it's too troublesome, so settled with the sticker type :p. It's not cheap though... One roll about $20.
hmm... very good idea to use the cheap changing mat for the track. kekeke... waterproof and enough padding too... hee... think my hubby gonna say I am so fickleminded already... :p Thank you for the suggestion...

okasan, tinklebell,
Wah... MS can come back one ah... Try to eat something "qing dan"? Dunno I will get it or not...

celeste blur,
I also feel that my baby is getting heavy. When I sleep on one side for long, it gets a bit hot, so I gotta turn. When I turn, I gotta like "carry" my baby over also.. lol... else quite pain at the top. I think maybe my baby's buttocks getting heavy... lol...
Then sometimes when my tummy not supported by the bed, I will feel pain too... It's like gravity pulling baby's buttocks down and stretching my abdomen muscles and affecting my rib cage too...

Morning ladies !!

Re: Shaving
I heard if u are going thru' via natural dont hv to shave unless is c-section.

Kite,
I hv been drinking HL milk since preggy

kite

I have been alternating between Mamil Mama and Nestle Omega Powder. My hubby has compared the latter with Anmum and according to him, the vitamins and omega are higher.