(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Stephanie, **sob sob** my company doesnt have such a policy. Early last yr, they converted us fr 5.5 day alt sat to 5 day week and give us 2 days child care leave and i am already v grateful for that. The big boss doesnt like us to take MC, so i dont think he will support child sick leave. Last yr i got 9 days mc and he asked me how come so many days???? say a lot of bullshit like if pp take too many mcs, productivity will drop, blah blah blah **BOO** i told him the air in his office not fresh, pp fall sick, what can i do..haha! eventually, donno is it bec of what i told him, the co engaged regular aircon servicemen to service the aircon :p

Stephanie
this is wat my co's policy quote :
up to 5 days of childcare sick leave per child per year (up to a maximum of 15 days per year if the staff has 3 or more children below 6 years of age) to care for their sick children.

AND

From 1 January 2005, the staff will be entitled to 2 days childcare leave per calendar year. The leave cannot be carried over to the following calendar year.

so the childcare sick leave is indeed 5 days and childcare leave is 2 days......the sickleave is not inclusive of the childcare leave
Hehe

tinklebell,
Maybe u can go to the JL sale at Causeway Point? Its nearer, u can drive there park and then go directly to JL...the $5 coupon can be utilised upon purchase of $20 rite? Quite a gd bargain...i was there on Tuesday afternoon but forgot to bring the coupon

good morning ladies

RE: Birth Plan
ladies, your gynaes already asking you abt the birth plan? my gynae has not mention anything yet... wonder if she will talk abt it.

Hi Okasan

Agreed with you! I think drypers should be fine to use for beginning since baby poo more often, before the dryper gets warm on bb's butt, we had already changed the diaper again and again liao...
That is the reason why I decided to get drypers (a cheaper brand) to try.

Long time no post. Been so busy. Almost at home run for me now. Doc said it's any time anwhere though babies are not engaged yet.

poohy- i don't think it's ever going to be possible to skip the IV part in SG. They will tell you it's for emergency etc etc cause once in labour, it's a long process. Also, if you need emergency c-sec, they can work fast.

All - Realised that birth plans are more for american countries. You can tell your gyne some of the items but alot of hospitals, esp KKH, don't allow you to do alot of stuff. of course, things like getting hubby to cut the cord etc is allowed.

i'm 33 weeks now. Doc said I am ready any time so trying to walk much lesser. really heavy as well. trying to hold my twins in for at least another 3-4 weeks if possible. in any case, they are already abt 2.3kg each and I had two steriod jabs (really painful ones) to help mature their lungs.. just in case. Twins are generally early so even though my due date is 25 June, it may be end May or early june if I can hold out. Not much space in there for them to move around so feeling every single movements from both babies. You can see all movements on my belly and feel the limbs "sticking out".

We're kiasu and bought like a carton of Pampers NB and also another carton of Pampers premium size small. Heard a twin mummy used like 172 pcs of diapers just in the first month alone. Heard from alot of people tat Dryers not very good cause the plastic edges are not comfy. Having sensitive skin myself, i don't wat to risk babies having rashes. It's harder work on us and babies if they get rashes than to save the money. not worth the effort though we're stretch on pennies.

think we're got everything ready. the cots are all set up, mobiles are in, cothes and nappies washed and ironed. Bosses chipped in and got us the medela PIS and hubby's collegue bought us a twin pram. Confinement nanny booked. Now I just need to hang in there and get myself pysc up to be a mummy. feeling a bit nervous even though I have been looking forward to this for awhile.

Celesteblur,

Though after Vesak Day, there won't be any public holiday till the next National Day but we will be on maternity leave. Isn't it better? ML includes sat, sun and public holidays. If too many public holidays fall on our ML period, then we lugi leh! hehe

Serene,
haha.....then why dont NDay fall in September? Then maybe we wont have any PH falling during our ML...*lol*...i so notti n greedy :p

hi lilfeets,
wow... your babies are considered big! you must be excited to be able to see your darlings soon. so happy for u

my edd also 25 jun

celesteblur, tinklebell, stephenie,

What's the MOM rule? Actually how many childcare leave is entitled? My company does not have HR dept, so my boss won't know too, i have to check out myself....... I thought was only 2 days?

lilfeets..

ya your bb considered big! My SIL gave birth at abt wk31-2 and her bb are abt 1.8kg and 1.9kg respectively. Both stayed in the ICU for 2 and 3 weeks respectively just discharged few days ago. Imagine she was in the same gestation week as me and her bb are both much bigger than mine.... mine was 1.5kg at that time. Now at wk35, my bb only 2.3 kg.... told my gynae i v happy with the weight liao

ya IV is normally administered for emergency... thats why i wanna ask my gynae whether she can let me take off at least right after the birth. I need to look after my elder son and newborn after birth in the hospital as both will room in with me... so i prefer to have no needles on my hand... v painful. I did heard of some people giving birth without the IV in singapore though...

actually other than kkh, i think most private hospital do allowed for birth plans.... it depends on your own condition too

Serene,
I tink its up to ur company. The MOM policy i'm not sure statutory anot, but i think if ur company dont want to give 2 days childcare leave they can also do it rite? Dont think any employee will go and complain at MOM cos it will mean she is risking her own job also...*sigh*...so its up to whether ur company is "generous" boh

Lilfeets,
woah...u got twins and ur babies are of very gd size
2.3kg is big for twins at 33 weeks

Hi poohy,
I went to Ikea yesterday afternoon... I got 3 wooden planks for the crawling track. They are for shelves and total cost me $33. Plus I got a mattress padding for $39. Now looking into how to make the checkers side... Do you think it's important to have waterproof surface?

Celeste blur,

But if it's announced by the govt that 2 days childcare leave is granted to every mother whose child is below 7 yrs old, then all employers had to follow isn't it? Hmm, my company has no extra benefits lah, i think the most is just follow law to law, gave me 2 days lor. So sianz, i still must go find out myself and tell him ..... sounds like i'm asking alot extra benefits from him! Cos my company has no extra female colleagues now, i'm the only one lor!

tinklebell,

It's good enough that your company willing to convert your 5-1/2 days alternate sat off to 5 days week. Last time, my company works on 5-1/2 days alternate sat off also then there's some quarrels over the staffs and my boss got pissed off and changed to 5-1/2 days week, no alternate sat off liao! Not to mention he will ever change to 5 days week. That means u gals will have long weekend this week but poor me, has to come back to work on sat!!!!!

tinklebell,

Know what, my foots/ankles got so swollen yesterday, more swollen than ever, like a pair of pig's legs!!!! So demn ugly! I think we sat too long at our desk everyday but yet, now given so heavy, also tired to move about in office rite? My hubby has to massage my foots at nite, then the swell wasn't so bad, but i know it will come back again today once we are not on lying position! Are your foots/ankles painful when u rub/massage? The swollen parts? Mine are painful!

lyn

wow you really go and buy liao ah! I hope I can have time to go this weekend and get the crawling track done ... hopefully my bb wait for me to finish it.... i got loads of things to do ..
I need prepare my son's flashcards ahead, i printed some of my girls flashcards liao but still need to paste cos i din print direct, then still gotta do the checkerboard.

i read in the book that they recommend using foam core board. u know what is that ? my hb said its just styrofoam but i am not so sure leh...
Everything must be done by this weekend... i am getting a bit nervous that i can finish in time liao hehee....

Serene

Have u been lifting up your legs in office? You can actually use an empty photocopying box as support, if there isnt any stool available.

BTW, my gynae advises me to take less salty food and also to have my calcium pills at night instead of in the morning. These, are supposed to reduce the swollen effects

stephenie,

I've used a A4 paper carton box for lifting my foots but i guess probably the height is too high for my body, sometimes created backache esp when i bend forward to type on my pc.....so not all the time i had my foots on the carton box.... :0
Ya rite, i suspect yesterday i might have eaten too salty stuffs and ended with very bad swell! I'll watch out and try taking the calcium pills at night b4 sleep to see if the swell reduce...thanks for the tips!

mspiggy,

Never heard of leh....what's that? Frankly, i know nothing much of the birthing position, i thought to leave it to the midwife and gynae to aid me through, so didn't really study much on this area. Just choose to trust them on their experience....

I will chat with u all later, gonna get some work done now! Wanted to pack my personal belongings back home today from office cos my temp gal coming next Monday....will start training her next monday and won't have time to clear my own personal things. Since we be away for 3 mths, better clear our personal belongings, she be using my pc, my desk. see u later. ciao

Hi Serene,
Ya.. swollen legs can hurt... In my 28 weeks, I also had ugly swollen feet and hurt when I walk around...

Hi poohy,
Yalor... Must go and buy fast... else no time already. I bought those wooden plank for shelving, and also a pack of nails from the DIY shop there.
I am not sure what is foam core board, and I dun think it's styrofoam cos it will be quite flimsy. I think it should be something more solid, else how can baby crawl?
The soft part should be a one inch thick "foam rubber", but we dunno where to buy, so settle with a foam mattress protector (quite thick at 1.5 inches)... I think it will be more expensive with the mattress protector as compared to getting a big piece of latex foam. But to save time and energy looking around, just settle with that...
I am thinking of getting a shower curtain to be the waterproof top, and sew the checker side... Haiz... if I have a sewing machine at my home, I would have done the machining part... I think it's not difficult to DIY...

mspiggy,
My friend lend me a book on Hypno Birthing. I read a few chapters only. What do you wanna find out about it?

lyn,

ya if really cant get it done in time i will just settle with a checkerboard and get my bb to crawl on the big bumper playmats.. i got 4 of them... so should be quite a distance for her liao haha last resort

poohy,
Now I am thinking where to store the crawling track next time? lol... Thinking of whether I should use hinges so that the sides are collapsible for easier storage... but I dun have a drill and my house gonna get messy... hmm...

lyn,

u got such great idea! hinge sounds great! btw, do u have the dimension of the crawling track with u ? I am thinking of going to source for material later if have time... but dun have the book with me leh....

btw, i found kidzloft sells latex foam pillow..

poohy,
Wow... that's expensive!
The bottom plank we got from Ikea is not really big enough. It's 14.5 inches in width. From the book, need 16 inches width. The height for the side plank should be 6 inches. From Ikea, I got the 7 inches width plank. For the foam, it should be 1 inch thick. From Ikea, I got the 1.5 inches mattress protector. For the length, we just make do with the length available, I think it's 119cm.
hee... I am very tempted to start assembling them now... I wanna see the actual size... dunno enough width for baby to crawl or not... lol...
I think this weekend, I will go and recky for the top material.

hmm... the pictures in the website doesn't look convincing to me... kekeke... The baby looks a bit big, dun look like new born.

Miz_hopeful, duffybuff & other MTBs who had done the NT scan:

I'm abt 10 wks now but very worried. Juz returned fr gynae @ KKH & he noticed my bb neck a bit thick, but he said it's borderline & it could be the membrane behind that adds on the thickness of neck. However he told me to go for Premier Fetal Screening to play safe.

I'm so sad & keep telling myself how could it be cos I'm 31 yrs old.

Miz_hopeful, duffybuff,
I read from the earlier postings that you both went for the scan & blood tests. Can u pls share why u did those tests? Is it gynae detect bb's neck thickness? Or u request to go for it?

Thank you very much!

Hi curious,
I thought NT scan is the most "accurate" measured on 13 weeks 6 days? I think I read this somewhere. NT scan is basically a statistical test and not 100% accurate. For the best accuracy, it will be amniocentesis in the later stage of pregnancy.
Meanwhile, try to keep a positive mind
Tell baby to grow up healthily and believe he/she will

Lyn,
I also unsure. Fr the KKH brochure, it's stated to scan between 11-14 wks. Mine will be done 2 wks later, so will be ard 12 wks plus. Doc said do NT scan 1st. If neccessary then amniocentesis cos this is invasive.
Thanks for your encouragement...I'll try to keep a positive mind....really thanks.

lyn,

huh assemble now? yourself ah?!! u going to do it yourself? thought u going to ask your hb to do it.... i am hopeless at wood works... my hb too

I just went to popular to buy those big board which are very light weight to make the checkerboard liao. Going to wrap them with mahjong paper first
Actually supposed to use foam core board ... but i am worried this weekend too busy liao wont have time to go buy... so just use these plastic board..should be ok... i bought the restickable glue u mentioned also.. din know there's such a thing in the market... hope really can restick.. cos supposed to re -arrange the pattern on the checkerboard every now and then...

Hi lyn,
wanted to find out more abt Hypno Birthing like is there classes in Singapore, how do we prepare ourself for it and how effective is it?

curious,
After NT scan, there's another option, which is the Triple blood test. Again, this is also statistical.
Do try to watch sugar and salt intake in your diet
Take good care and think positive

poohy,
hee... I think I am better than my hubby... kekeke... When I was in the UK, I am "trained" on the job from being a plumber to technician to researcher... lol.. well-rounded hands-on training... If I can get to the drilling, cutting machines, etc, I think I would have finished DIY the crawling track already...
Now, I am waiting for my hubby is cos of the weight. I dun wanna get myself injured :p but then hor, I very impatient... hahaha...

I "bio" in Popular the black plastic board. hmm... why need to wrap with mahjong paper? I am thinking of just cutting white paper into the squares and paste on the black board. Then next time, also easy to paste the shapes on the black portion...

You got the 3M spray mount rite? They can restick. Try not to spray too much glue and spray from a distance.

Have you seen wallpaper that's black in color or checkered? I wanna buy and paste on my white wardrobe...

Hi Serene,
I found this on the web...brief intro abt Hypno Birthing.

"Hypno-birthing is a method of using self-hypnosis during childbirth. It teaches an understanding of how the birthing muscles work when the body is sufficiently relaxed."

mspiggy,

Yes, there's only one company that provide classes for Hypno birthing called 4 Trimesters. Whether it's useful or not will depend on your mindset and your preparation beforehand...

You gotta prepare yourself mentally for the pain and your will power for a non-medicated birth. The breathing is very different from what we will learn in the antenatal classes. Slow and relax is the key... You will need a very strong mind... and your husband's support is also very important.

From my friends' experience, the nurses will keep coming into the delivery suite to tempt you to give up and take epidural. It seems like, there's not much support you will get in Singapore hospitals for hypno birthing. So your husband's understanding and support is very important. And also most gynae do not support "no epidural", or moving around during labour.

lyn,
thanks for the feedback. seems like singapore hospitals are still not that supportive of hypno birthing yet.

lyn,

wah u so hands on ah... my mum would faint if she hear me wanting to do such wood works myself... u shd have heard all those superstitious myth about not sewing, now cutting, no renov etc

my father is very well equiped with all kinds of cutting or drilling equipment cos he is a very experienced technician.... but me not on great terms with him... so a bit hesitant whether to ask him to help me... maybe i will just make do with the bumper playmat if bo bian...

i wrapped cos i find those plastic a bit translucent... not sure leh...still considering but i bought all my material liao.... and i printed on 400 big black dots of at least 2" each liao... going to make the 1-20 dots cards
I din really finish the book... but i remember something like need to have the dots card with dots that are at least 2 inch big ...rite? So fun...

lyn,
i went to the 4 trimester website...dont think can make it for the classes. timing not right.. will be due by then

poohy,
Uh oh... I forgot about the sewing, hammering, etc.. oops... guess my hubby gotta do it himself already... Thanks for reminding me. I am getting too excited to see the crawling track done

hee... I am lazy to make the cards, so I got my hubby to buy all the cards :p. The dots are in red though. I think black should be fine, the most important is the contrast.

When I was thinking of how to make the dots, I thought of buying black/red paper and make a "mould" to cut the dots out. Something like those hole punchers... hahaha.. I imagined if can get whole punchers that big, I will sure make more dot cards. lol... Or cut a few dots out at one go... A lot of work hor?

mspiggy,
You can buy the book and CD from them. I find the book quite useful to get yourself mentally prepared what to expect...

Serene, my legs have also been swelling for the past 2 weeks. I sit with legs elevated on 2 A4 cartons placed beneath my desk... it helps a little but once i start to walk a little, the swelling comes back. Saw Adrian this morning. As usual, he says it is normal. seems like nothing much we could do abt it. Poor girl, still have to work this sat.

Stephanie, the 2 days childcare leave only applies to pp in the civil service. I dont think it is MOM ruling. My hub does not have such benefit.

Celeste, i donno if i will be going to causeway point later. Waiting for my hubby to come back. He's on half day today... going to collect his car fr the workshop first. Just went to Lot 1. Bought bedsheet for my son's bed. V cheap. 20-30% off already discounted pr.

Yeah! Finally bb grew a bit more 2.6kg at 34 weeks 6days ...hee hee must be due to those chocolates wh i have been eating

Serene

FYI. Extracted from MOM website:

Who is eligible for statutory Childcare Leave?

Employees with any child (including adopted children and stepchildren) below 7 years of age, are entitled for Childcare Leave provided he/she has worked for the employer for at least 3 months.

Although the Act does not cover managerial, executive or confidential staff, employers are strongly encouraged to extend to them the same Childcare Leave benefits.

Serene

More info on childcare leave:-

Is the implementation of Childcare Leave compulsory?

Yes, it is compulsory for employees who are covered under the Employment Act.
The Government, with the support of employers and unions, are working together to build a more supportive work environment for all working parents. Although the Act does not cover managerial, executive or confidential staff, employers are strongly encouraged to extend to them the same Childcare Leave benefits.

Juz an update
420206.png

Went to see my gynae. Am in Wk 36 day 6... 3 wks more. Everything is fine. Gynae said likely to due on full term cos bb is comfortably enjoyin in my womb. haha. i cant wait manz... My ger is 2.7kg now

Are you gals taking early Maternity leave? I also do not wish to waste my ML lei.. keke. mayb asked gynae to give MC hor...haha

tinkerbell
ur bb is big hor.. 2.6kg at wk34 day 6..keke

Dor, she was quite small previously and suddenly had a growth spurt. Gynae said she will be of good size when she is born... donno what he means by "good size".

tinklebell

i think shld b over 3kg lor..keke. I think mine will b over 3plus.. she is real chubby in the scan. My gynae asked me whether i m a chubby baby when i was borned..haha