(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

josephine,

i think just call the nursery in any delivery wards
I dunno which one my hb call also... i think he just anyhow call the main line and trf haha..

Josephine,
Try to talk to baby...

Last Friday, before I went for scan, I have been telling baby to turn his face and let us see... My hubby also told him.. During the scan, he let us see his face
Gotta try to talk to baby before that...

Stephanie,
Yes, babies are very smart. They can feel and listen

Now tell baby to stay head down...
That's what I tell my baby
kekeke.. my friend told me to tell baby that if he's head down, his head can come out first and get to meet the interesting outside world first...

kk,
Yalor... my mum always use big fire. hahaha... next month my turn to get consoled liao...
I dun hide in the room when my MIL comes.. but she seldom comes..
hahaha.. you are very funny... everytime make you angry take out $50.

poohy,
I am also thinking of tabao from outside if nobody cooking for me... :p
Can get glass bottles from KKH ah? How?

celeste blur,
I went to the market near my place before, and everytime I get "chopped". So I seldom go to the market already, maybe once in the blue moon. I usually goes to Cold Storage to get my groceries... I dun really like it that there's no price tag and I dunno what I am paying for in the wet market...

lyn,

i think can. where u delivering? can also get from the hospital nursery u delivering at leh. Aiya just gotta be thick skin and bravely ask for MORE at one go!
hehee... i heard mt A nurse do give 20-30 at one go.... gleneagles also quite good.. they will ask u how many u need.

can also get from other mummies u know who dun need liao cos a lot of people have them but have no use after awhile so they are most likely willing to give away

poohy,
I am delivering in Gleneagles... How many will we need usually? I think I will have to be thick skin when my hubby not around.. hahaha... Is there a max they will give at Gleneagles? Do you know?

hospital glass milk bottles,
hmm my previous hospital also quite giam, I think ~5 bots only? Can't really remember. Worse, now I can't find them, oops.

Maternity shoot,
I viewed my contact proof (miniaturised pics) of my maternity photoshoot by http://www.isabelledelcourt.com/ . The ones of the "bump" looks gd, but my #1 wasn't quite looking at camera in most shots. HB was incredibly stiff in family shots too. Uploaded in not-so-secret blog (PM me if u want the addy).

ms piggy, me also using madam rohaya for my massage. heard she is good... hope this is the correct rohaya.

seems like having mum or MIL over during our confinement can create some conflict hor? for me, i have asked my mum to visit me when free. if she nags and makes me upset, i will ask her to keep quiet. usually, she is ok. if she makes me angry, i will ask her not to come.

for MIL, it's more difficult to be upfront. but MIL is helping me with daily marketing, so gotta appreciate her lor. my mum stays quite far, so can only drop by to visit once in a while, cannot help much. luckily my MIL still ok, quite easy to get along. hope things will maintain this way after bb is out. afterall, she will be assisting with looking after bb when i return to work. gotta be nice to her lor...

also, for my CL, she stated upfront no housekeeping, no marketing... quite demanding. initally, she heard i stay in two storey house, no maid, she din want to take on my job. but was advised that my hubby and i very chin cai, so she took on this job. for that, i dun think i will give her too big a hong bao on her arrival, maybe $28, then $88 when she leaves. still need to pay her bus ticket from Kuantan, as well as her phone calls home, and her daily lunch, as she said she dun want to eat my confinement food. faint...

on a brighter note, my maid will be arriving 20th May... looking forward....

lyn,

wahh good u delivering at gleneagles... heard they v generous and will ask u how many u need. So u just tell them lor... dun paiseh else later gotta go back again to get then troublesome
Hmm I heard of people who got 30 bottles at one shot from gleneagles nursery. The number we need is really dependent on your own bfg requirement. Plus, u also need to consider the amount of space u can spare in your fridge... dun forget bottles takes up ALOT of space compare to milk bag. They are like those 4oz bottles thus u can imagine how much space they will take. Plus normally freezer unit are not big... thus actually unless u got big freezer unit which is perpetually empty... else dun need to take too much also hehee.. when your milk flow is established later on, u will prob need quite a lot of milk bag cos i think frozen ebm can store abt 3 months leh.... imagine 3 months supply hehee

for me, my whole fridge is literally empty saved some tidbits or chocolate/milo packets at times. I dun cook at all.. so my freezer unit is only use to store ice... thus much more space to spare.

poohy,
i also tink i will suffer during confinement...i tink of the food that i am going to eat feel so sianz...prob always the same few dishes...*sigh*

lyn,
cold storage gd?
Me thinking of buying the green coconut to drink liowz...hehe :p
my fren gave birth at GlenE i think they quite generous with glass bottles, tink she got 20 or so. Me thinking of getting 10 from TMC, donno they will give boh.

medusa, PM me the link leh
how much did u pay for the shots? we took ours during the weekend but my cousin doesnt want to charge me for it. was thinking i better give them an ang pow for that.

celeste,

think getting 10 glass bottles from tmc should be ok... when i discharged last year, they gave me 6 empty plus 3 enfalac A+ (wtih milk) so easily 9 liao. I read from some thread, got mummies even get as much as 30-50 from them. Maybe depends on their mood hehee
This time, I am going to request it real early the moment i admit and give them time to prepare it for me

amy,
Wah... Your CL will only look after baby? Are you breastfeeding? If you are, what will she be doing? Plus you gonna have a maid...

poohy,
Oh the bottles are so big ah... I thought it's those tiny bottles. lol... Are they stackable?
Do you know if we can store the milk in the bottles in the freezer for 3 months? Will the milk have smell?
I have a side by side fridge/freezer. I dun eat a lot of frozen food, so my freezer is quite empty with only two boxes of ice-cream.

lyn,

i dun think the bottles are stackable leh... i mean the cap will be those milk caps we normally use for standard size bottles and glass bottles are quite heavy.. a bit dangerous to stack leh.. later break. I had never store milk for 3 months before.... but i heard that frozen ebm have a different color or smell compared to fresh ebm. That's the reason I dun normally freeze bm for consumption..... just use them to store in the normal fridge compartment... hmm even if freeze, also keep at most 1 month.

btw, if really wana stack hor, i think the avent wide neck bottles would be better cos they are plastic and wider base.. so wont be scared they all topple and break. or the best actually is milk bag lah... save space for long term storage...

celeste blur,
I like to go to Cold Storage
Sometimes for meat, they have offer which can be cheaper than the market. Some more they pack the meat nicely without leaks. Easier and cleaner to me when storing in freezer/fridge... But their pork is "Airpork". If I buy from the market, I gotta clean and put them in the containers... extra work :p

poohy,
yahor... the milk bottles will be breakable... later gotta clean up the mess... I have got a few boxes of Avent milk bags also... kekeke.. KS hor? Secarly no milk, faintz... lol...

tinklebell, steph, lyn, basically, my CL got nothing much to do. only cook my meals, bathe bb, at nite, no need to do nite feeds, as i am latching on. i really think she will have an easy life... maybe also no need to wash nappies, cos got maid... might ask her to teach maid to take care of bb lo... else nothing much.

i pay her $1,800 a month, two hong baos, plus bus ticket, and also need to bring her to checkpoint for passport stamping in between her stay.

initially, i asked my mum to help, she not very willing. now i have maid, she wanted to help, but not nice to turn down confinement lady, cos recommended by fren.

my maid arriving 20th May... will be before i deliver...
now, setting up my place for maid and CL... aiyo... everything gotta buy two sets... siong...

Oh ya poohy... I will be going to Ikea with my hubby tomolo nite to look for wooden planks... I will see what I can find from there...

Do you know where can we buy the foam from?

lyn, if you intend to freeze your BM, better to go with milk bags. also, save space and cleaner, no need to sterilise.

yesterday, just asked MIL to bring bb playpen bedsheets to the tailor. hopefully will turn out nice. i have set up one playpen downstairs, one upstairs, cos when CL watch TV, need to have a playpen next to her... as i am not placing the TV in bb room...

amy,
Then who cook her meals? since she's not going to eat confinement food...
If you are breastfeeding, you gonna be spending a lot of time latching on. I read that most of the times, baby will either be latching on, or sleeping... What will she do then? Are you letting baby sleep with the CL? Then she will stare at baby sleeping lor... kekeke...

Amy,
wah... you tailor made your baby's bedsheets ah? How much does it cost? Does the cost include the cloth? Wah.. you are very good... Even prepared a TV for CL...

Oh.. glass milk bottles also need to sterilise hor... hee.. havent thought of that... :p

For milk bags, I am a bit concern of the plastic. I scared the plastic got smell or chemicals that can sip into the milk without us knowing...

Good afternoon gals!

Wow so many posting these few days, can't possibly catch up..... I'm busy clearing my personal things at office this week, will be busy coaching/training the temp gal from next monday onwards. Perhaps won't have chance to join u gals here during daytime next week onwards. Maybe the only time is when i'm on leave at home waiting for delivery.

lyn, aiyo... the CL dun wanna eat my meals, and heard from my fren who recommended her, gotta give her $3 a day to go buy lunch, and she will take an hour break. for dinner, my MIL will cook for her, bring over for her. sian... in fact, she is giving me more trouble.

i am now thinking, maybe i will do it differently, ask my maid to cook her meals, as my maid also need to eat, so both lunch and dinner, she eat same food as my maid. no going out to buy lunch...

re sleeping, she will be sleeping in bb room, but i will be latching on at nite to do feeding. maybe she can change diapers, i feed, she burp lo... else she really nothing to do.

i also quite keen to ask her to wash nappies, do cleaning up after she cook... can use my maid for other duties, such as housekeeping stuff, not baby related.

and yes, i upgraded the TV in my room just so she has a TV to watch in the family area upstairs. now gotta place a play pen there so she can also look after bb just in case.

re bedsheets for bb, i searched around and din like what is in the market, except for few designs from babysafe, hence bought my own cloth, aiyo... mistake... the cloth alone already cost me $30. haven't factored in tailor cost... will be more expensive than my babysafe cot sheets, only $25 per pc.

hi missk and amy,
Massage lady Rohaya contact is 94506374. Call her to check if she's still available.

I also hope this is the "right" Rohaya. According to my friend, she's good.

amy,
Sorry ah, but your CL sounds very mafan to me leh... You better ask her if she wanna eat the same food as your maid in advance. Some people dun like the idea of eating same food as maid. Gotta iron these little things out before she comes... else later headache.

hmm... I also dun like the designs of the bedsheets, but settled with one on offer... quite a good idea to tailor made
and you will have a unique bedsheet for baby
$30 cloth should be quite good quality rite?

Lyn, yup... the $30 cloth is a very good quality cotton cloth i got from spotlight.

hmm... sometimes i really felt like backing out from this CL, but pai seh... cos my colleague will definitely be mad at me for doing that.

actually, all these "rules and regulations" re how to treat the CL, i heard from my colleague. i am keen to apply my own "rules" - no going out to buy lunch, eat same food as my maid, gotta do her CL duties as if my maid not around.

she also asked whether i allow visitors to visit her while she is working at my place... faint....

amy,
wah ur CL really does sound like a headache.

hunger,
I seem to be very hungry, very quickly! I just ate lunch less than hr ago and now tummy rumbling again!
Anyone like me? I'm supposed to control wt/ diet leh... but everything digest so fast???

amy, looks like u got reasons not to hire her. simply too many requests! aiyo, why dont u ask her, u dont do this dont do that, how abt we down the fees. see how she reacts. haha! my work place got this colleague also like that... this dont want to do that also dont want to do... everything needs to be in her favour, she thinks she is on holiday, sometimes feel like kicking her out of my sight! she's supposed to cover some of my work... but i think she will tender these few days. anyway, cannot tahan her already. I think it may be a blessing in disguise for us in her dept for her to leave if we look at it long term.

tinklebell, yes.. me too, feel like not hiring her. but now, like too late to back out. so i think i just play by ear, and apply my own rules lo... dun follow the 'priority' treatment my colleague gave her.

anyway, my colleague did not have a maid, and did not latch on at night, so in sum, it's still worth to have the CL. for me, i will have to do things differently lo... for this $1,800, better not upset things between my colleague and me...

amy...
alamak... got lunch break, now want visitors... I think she really going to "zor bor", unless she's going to cook confinement food for you... Is she? If you are determined not to get the CL, be firm and dun care about your colleague... cos you are going to pay. Or tell your colleague your hubby dun wan the CL already lor... hee... very few "boss" follows "employee's" rules one...

mspiggy, ha ha... then i can provide you with feedback. anyway, i just bought a shower curtian for the massage, and also a thin mattress. heard you will also need some towels and pillows...

lyn... hmmm.... really think my colleague will 'kill' me lo... oh, yes, she will be cooking confinement food for me... but confinement food very easy to cook... i already downloaded heaps of receipes... my mum can also cook la...

anyway, this is the first and last time... in future, better not take recommendations from frens, very hard to say no when plans change.

amy,
you have to be firm in what you want. i heard CL likes to "boss" ard!

one of my friend's CL even scold her for trying to bf her bb. CL said no milk still want to feed... give FM will not die lah etc etc. All these nagging are making my friend going mad and stress! In the end, my friend gotta ask her to go and ask someone else coz she cant take it anymore.

since you have not even hire her, you might as well reconsider your decision.

poohy,

U mean u all use the glass bottles for milk storage as well??

I dunno what are those glass bottles for. I thought just some samples for enfalac A+. Until now we only use 1 bottle hahaa.. i think the other two can dump already because we never put in fridge, still on dining table :p

TMC give me 3 glass bottles with enfalac A+ only!! Not even extra empty ones. Then i also dunno what they are for, so never ask for extra. Anyway until now never use them also so never mind :p

Oh yeh, u intend to express often rite? Then would need them. Now i let bb latch on everyday, so i only pump once at nite before i sleep. Middle of the nite if wake up then pump again. So i dun really need storage bags or bottles

amy,
oh i didnt know much prepare such stuffs for the massage :p

better go get prepared first. thanks for the advice!

medusa,
Me too... I am eating a lot and many meals now! I cannot help it. Worse is I keep craving for chocolates... I finished up all the chocolates in my fridge already...

Amy,
After birth, we gonna have lots of emotional ups and downs due to our changing hormones... If you gotta follow her rules, it might make you not so comfortable. So better iron things out now before the CL comes.

celeste blur,

WMF pretty expensive leh rite??

Haha, my mil dun make me angry everyday lah, so 16 days should be more than enough liao :p

Or maybe when the ang pow drop to zero, i get guilt stricken then put back the money again lor :p

amy,
You are a really good "boss". Remember for Indo maids, you gotta be firm on what you want and how things are to be done right from the start too...

Like what mspiggy mentioned, you gotta be firm of what you want. Anyway, different boss have different rules... Dun compare with your colleague if you can...

mspiggy,
There are some CL who do not like babies to be breastfed cos they "pang sai" more often. Formula fed babies dun "pang sai" so often and easier to wash too.
My cousin's CL do not like breastfed babies so keep discouraging her.

amy,
u ld always *hate* her cooking, hehehe.

lyn,
oh gosh I just finished my SECOND lunch. I'm craving VINEGAR these few days, keep dousing my food with organic apple vinegar (my HB *hates* the smell of that, heh). I put so much vinegar in my food, my tummy's "burning", yikes.

medusa,
Wah.. you crave for vinegar ah... I crave for sweet food which is worse... hahaha... chocolates, cakes, bread, jam, banana... but not ice-cream...

Now I can eat durian already since I have decided to go for C-section. kekeke... no need to be scared that baby grow too big

amy.. wow.. ur CL so fussy.. err.. is the CL related to ur colleague? if not, why your colleague wld mind if u dun wan that CL?? Have u told ur colleague abt her requests??? maybe ur colleague after hearing it wld oso tell u not to have her anymore..

medusa, haha.. me oso like u.. always hungry.. i get hungry every 2 hrs no matter how much i eat.. really worry abt my wt gain.. u like vinegar? unique craving...

Lyn, talking abt chocolates.. Juz had my 1st chocolate bar ever since i am pregnant cos i dun like sweet stuff during my pregnancy.. dun noe y.. but i still like ice cream, haha.. esp ben n jerry.. Going to have 2nd bar of chocolate later haha

tinklebell,

I went to Poh Kim at Fajah last nite but those on offered price are usually the older shows that i've watched already so i didn't buy any.