(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Good Morning ladies!

Carebear, my CL also asked for 2 ang pows. And somemore say min $100 if possible. For good luck. My SIL used to give her 2x$100 cos she needs to cook for her 2 sons and mother as well. I heard market rate is $100 in total.

Hmmm... i heard that there r 2 Auntie Rohayas doing massage. One is quite good but the other sucks. Donno wh is wh
U prob got the not so good one.

Karen, nope, not using Medela PIS, though i did seriously think abt it. PP who have used it says it is quiet and sturdy. But it's kind of expensive. I suppose it's a v good pump but the other thing i feel abt it is that it is quite bulky to carry ard.

Ladies, Hmmm this morning i got a lot of v-discharge. not v usual leh. Puala, u mentioned that V-discharge can mean early labour? opps, gets me a bit worried.

moring ladies!
Poohy i asked about the glass bottles, my SIL said can get FOC from hospital during discharge and very convenient to use if EBM during confinement.

kk congrats on the one month celebrations! envious you have survivied delivery and one month confinement!

i went for 3D scan yesterday waited 3 times (in btw 2 hours) at sun plaza but bb james not co-operative. Unable to get a perfect glimpse of him
so wasted one whole day at the clinic!! BB 2kg still in breech @ 35weeks. Doc said @37wk still breech have to consider C-sec, sigh. Any tips to get bb to turn?

carebear,

Oops, missed out ur question.. for discharge, TMC gave me three glass bottles of enfalac A+.

Josephine,

I am not surviving in confinement. i am DYING!! Heee...

morning ladies

Paula,
the kids range towels from aussino are good? Okies, will go take a look cos i receive the aussino pamphlet yesterday....on vesak day i tink got 40% discount on regular-priced items

okasan,
ya...me planning to use nappy cloth also..geez..cannot imagine our confinement during such a hot month...sure siao one...and i still wanna leave my hair long...not willing to cut it short...cos i wanna go rebond/perm once after confinement!! Hehe

kk,
haha....dont get bored during confinement...go and play comp games, watch vcd..enjoy now cos later have to take care of bb urself jin tiring one.

Re: Confinement
Anyone of u having confinement done by ur mommies or mil? How much angpow shld we give them? Cos at least must give rite..cannot be asking them to provide everything for free?

okasan, no pain, no itch, no blood (and not pink) also. only thing is that it never happened before.

but it's true that increase in amt of v-discharge is a sign that labour is approaching soon. But me got no contractions at the moment. Only backache (since a long time ago). Will wait and see. Will be seeing Adrian on Thursday morning... will tell him abt it. I think in the meantime i will keep a lookout to see if there r other signs. Hopefully not. Aiyo... hope bb doesnt come out in May. Exam time leh!!!

Some useful information

What is a bloody show ?
Another sign of the commencement of labour is that your vaginal discharge will thicken and increase and you might find a blob of mucous escape from your cervix (looking like pink vaginal discharge). As the cervix begins to thin and open, the mucous plug that seals the opening of the uterus, slides out through the vagina, a couple of weeks before the onset of labour. You may notice a blood-tinged mucous discharge known as bloody show.

Does a bloody show indicate commencement of labour ?
This just indicates that your cervix is effacing and dilating in preparation for the onset of labour, which could still be two or three weeks away. In subsequent pregnancies, this happens just as labour begins. If this is followed by contractions, then do not hesitate to go to the hospital, because it could indicate the commencement of labour. On the other hand, if your discharge becomes bright red or you just start bleeding even a little, contact your doctor at once, as it could be an indication of premature separation of the placenta (placenta praevia), and requires prompt attention.

okasan,

sooo bored...

celeste blur,

My confinement done by MIL. My mum say can give ang pow of $600 to her. But i decided to give $800 instead. Not too little hor?

tinklebell,
does tat mean anytime now we could all get those blood-tinged mucuous discharge? I always tot after the discharge will mean u will pop within the next 1 or 2 days...*lol*

kk,
dont be bored.....
...yak with us here lah....hehe.
$800 is quite enuff liowz...cos its a token of appreciation. Me tinking of giving a nice number...donno $688 or $888 nicer? *lol*

Celeste, i think if it is pink, then better call gynae bec that is the "show". Then, gynae will check how much the cervix has dilated. I had a friend who had a show but didnt deliver til 3 weeks later. But there are also pp who have show and then deliver within the next few hrs. I suppose u also have to look out for other symptoms such as whether waterbag breaks or whether there r regular contractions.

hi paula,

i am having backache n difficulty to walk cos of pelvic pain.. bb is engaged there.. so i feel pain everytime i walk..

tks carebear for the massage lady name.. good luck in ur c-section.. so exciting.. can c bb so soon..

celeste, yeah.. i am also giving angpao to my 2 moms for my confinement.. i oso not sure of the amt..totally agree shdn't expect to do it for free for us..

yes, the weather is so hot these days that i can't take it.. can't imagine june weather..

Morning. Wonder if any of you experience pain around the ribs area? This morning, i felt as if the baby was kicking my ribs and had some problem breathing normally........

tinklebell,
hmmzz...okies...now starting to wonder how the contractions will be like during labour...EeEe..like a bit scary...*lol*
Me these few days starting to get more BH liowz...haha

peng,
i tink must give a token of apprecation lor
Irregardless of amt....

josephine,

yes, try to go on your fours for at least 15 min a day. Do not cross your legs while sitting (if u still can lah hehee)... and for abt 15min a day, lie down with your buttock and lower half of the body elevated with a cushion or something... these are some of the things to help bb turn... i did it when my bb was still breeched.

celeste,

I gave my mum $1k last year when she helped me with confinement...
not much but just to appreciate her effort and help... she spent some of those money buying stuff for my boy though...

okasan,
I think my gynae has been very careful. The nurse said he's scared the umbilical cord accident. If baby's movements reduced by 50%, gotta go for CTG already...

So far, has your mum or MIL stay with you before? It may be different... My mum comes to my place and stay once in a while.

kk, okasan,
Yalor... even things put and how they are stored in the fridge are different... hahaha... My mum like to dump the marketing into the fridge wherever there's space. For me, I like those meat, fish, or wet stuffs inside lock n lock containers first and nicely stack in the fridge. I got separate vege and fruits compartment too.. lol... So many little things can get on our nerves leh... So gotta really close one eye

kk,
My mum not used to my pressure cooker, and she said my pressure cooker lousy... She not used to my knife, she said my knife lousy.. Everything I got are lousy... hahaha... my forks and spoons also no good and I got those heavy stainless steel kind of utensils from Robinsons leh... Most of my utensils, pots and pans from Robinsons one. Imagine I spent so much on them and she comes and tell me lousy everytime... I hope she wun complain these again during my confinement.. complain before ma... :p
haha.. my mum also "interested" in my bathroom and room... She will say here dusty, here "bu tong feng", got smell, etc... really can make me boil one... hahaha... Gotta one ear in, one ear out...
Anyway, I am preparing myself for all these complaints, hopefully I wun go into post natal depression...

hahahaha... kk... me too! When my mum is here, my drying rack will be overflowing with loads of things! And pots occupying all the 4 stoves and she complains my stove not big enough! And lots of other things on the tabletop... and sometimes I cannot find what I want in my cupboard, cos got shifted... hahaha...

josephine,
Have you been talking to baby? If you have been, you can try to tell baby to turn... It works for me and few of my friends

kk,
Dun be bored la... Come chat with us... kekeke... It's not unusual la... Two women in kitchen got lots of friction one... Tell you hor, even "cleanliness" definition is different and can cause friction too...

Stephanie,
I also have pains in my ribs area sometimes when baby stuck his legs there or kicks there...

okipoki,
I dunno how does BH contractions feel like... People say it's tightening of the whole tummy, but I have yet to feel it. I am in week 34 weeks plus already...

okipoki,
i think mine started quite early...around week 28 bah

poohy,
yuppies...my mom prob even doing marketing for me...so i tink the angpow that i give is prob only enuff to cover those marketing...cos i heard that confinement food is not cheap..*sigh*
The other day she told me there might not be indonesian pork coming in soon...*faint*...meaning prob only have australian pork liowz...

good morning ladies!

hi carebear,
i also booked a massage lady called Rohaya, she charges $490 for 7 sessions. she just did for my friend (her bb borned in mar).

Josephine

I agree with Lyn....the other time baby was in breech position, so my hubby talks to her, ask her to turn slowly and at the right time, then at our last checkup, gynae told us that she has turned herself!

celeste blur,

Hmmm, if give 688, i can save 112 hahaha.. i crazy over money liao.. recently realise did a lot of spending on pampers, bb wipes and other stuff. And more spending to come.

Lyn,

YAH LOR!! I still remember during dec, my mum even brought my brother's maid along to clean up my place. Then she packed alll the things for me, even those in the storeroom. End up second day i cannot find my things although it is neater haha.. my hubby so mad over it.

Haha, i dunno whether ur mum is the same as my mum in this area. My mum always say robinsons forks and spoons etc no good. She prefer to buy utensils from those joo chiat shops. Those old old type of shops. Or market stalls or those shophouses :p

U know, whenever my mum come to my place, my hubby sure go elsewhere hide.. he scared of my mum's complaints :p

lyn / celesteblur,
guess BH contraction is depend on individual isnt it. me too have yet to feel it & was wondering is it normal or not

celeste blur,

Oh gosh.. indonesian pork is better.. sweeter and more delicious.. i dun like australian pork e.g. airpork from ntuc. When i cook, really bobian got to buy from ntuc, because no market around here.

celeste,

i gave my mum some money every other day during my confinement to cover the marketing cost and for the first week... to cover the cost of taking cab to my house. 2nd week onwards, I ate outside at food court cos go shopping hehee... so mainly cover dinner... i dun eat much so i ask her just cook some mee sua for me ... the $1k I gave was a token of appreciation on the day my son celebrate full month.

okipoki,

Dun worry, i only started to feel BH contractions at a very late stage. For me, it seems like the tummy suddenly becomes very very tight, and sometimes it is like cramps or stomachaches. Quite uncomfortable for me.

poohy,

Sigh, u really make me envy. Imagine going to food court and going shopping!!! I tell hubby i am growing to grow mould and fungus soon..

kk,

when u r feeling better from your csection wound, u can also go out for breather mah.. anyway, your confinement ending liao... fresh air and freedom at last

kk,
haha...but if give 888 u have to fork out another 88...*lol*...juz joking :p
yuppies...indonesian pork tastes better...me also bo pianz buy aust pork cos tat time i bought pork ribs from the wet market...they gave me frozen pork ribs some more! Cos the taste is so different from what my mom bought. I think cos i am not regular customer cos seldom cook. My mom always buy the pork or pork ribs for me nowadays cos she knows the stallholder well so they will give gd indo pork...hehe :p

okipoki,
ya...i tink not every preggies will get BH...but i read from donno babycenter or what even if dont get BH also nmind one. its normal...dont worry

in face getting BH not comfy also...u feel the tummy tightening and becoming very hard...jin uncomfy one

poohy,
wah...u make me paiseh....me only planning to give mom angpow....she says she will cover the marketing for me....hehe
2nd week onwards u go food court? meaning u only eat confinement food for 1 week?

kk,

hahaha.. your hubby so cute leh... My hubby also will go hide in the room when my mum comes... hahaha... My hubby is shy kind of person...

My mum says those are too heavy and not worth the money spent.. lol... I like those porcelain soup spoon, but she likes those blue plastic ones and brought so many to put in my cupboard. I tell you hor.. my pots and pans are those got 3 layers kind which apparently can help us save some gas cos just need a small fire and will boil faster too. My mum likes to turn on the fire to the max and got some of the handles burnt
. I read from the instructions if the pots go under too high heat, it will spoil very fast. I told her new technology, no need to use the max fire to boil, but she not used to it... So I gotta close one eye ah... get out of the kitchen when she's cooking and washing.. hahaha...

Dun worry.. It gonna be over soon for you... kekeke... Next month you will see me with all my complaints here liao... lol...

Stephanie,
Last week, I talk to baby and ask him to turn daily... My hubby also talks to baby and ask him to turn every nite... Last visit, he's already head down

i think vice versa: when my MIL comes, i also go into room and hide hee hee

Lyn: i still have not gotten in habit of speaking to bb. But yesterday when he didn't turn around for nice 3D scan, i was quite annoyed and scolded him a bit... hope he not moody too...

Hi Lyn

Haha, seems that they really understand what we tell them rite? Just hope that mine doesnt turn another round and ended up in breech position again...

Lyn,

Oh ya, u remind me of something. Any ladies here using Lucky BB stroller? How old should the bb be so that can lie/sit in it? i still haven't experimented with the stroller leh heee...

celeste blur,

Last nite my hubby see me pack $800 into the ang pow packet and he asked me "so much ah?" then i joked with him and say everytime his mum make me angry, i will take out $50.. hahahaa.. then my hubby say "wait the ang pow end up zero" heee..

Yup, sometimes weekends i go back to my mum place, she will also pass me some pork ribs to cook soup. I just find them very different, even compared to the ones i bought from dry market at sengkang. And it is not cheap here!!! So my mum bought ones are always better and cheaper

Lyn,

Haha, i must ask my hubby whether he is the shy kind of person or not :p

Yah lor, my mum also dun like heavy pots and pans. She always say those pots good to look at, but not nice to use heee.. but robinsons utensils really expensive leh! U must have spent a fortune on them!!

Oh ya, some pots cannot use on big fires!! Haha, lucky my mum know what fire to use on what kinds of pots.. wow, ur mum always use big fire ah? She got used to it liao :p

Ok, then next mth my turn to console u HAHA!

Josephine,

haha, i still not so bad, never hide in the room when mil comes. So now proven one thing.. me and mil can meet up, but not staying together :p

KK

My SIL is using the Lucky BB stroller...has been placing my little niece there since she was 2 mths old. According to her, the stroller has a neck rest and sufficient padding, so newborn can use it as well. Only prob is, the padding cannot be removed, so if your baby is one of those bigger built ones, she will not like it when she is older, becos it will be hot and crampy....

BTW, u also stay in Sengkang area?

kk, i have a Lucky bb stroller. Very light and easy to use. 3 years plus, and still working well. ya lor bb stuff r so ex, also some of us gotta get 2 sets if bb is going to grandparents homes during the day.

argghhh... sian... busy today.... seems like got a lot of things to wrap up before i go on maternity

celeste,

hmm i dun really like confinement food leh... so i generally take it for dinner only in the whole month cos bo bian, my mum nag like mad... lunch in the first week half half confinement food ..half half i get my mum or hb to pack some lunch for me from outside...

i tink the amount is just a token.. as long as we truly appreciate them is their best reward liao. My mum is really very nice to bb and me etc... thus its just one of the ocassions i made use of to give her more money as appreciation. She always end up spend on my bb instead...

lyn,
hehe....actually i prefer those s/s pots lehz...cos last time my mom using these now i also follow....i never buy those chim chim type from dept stores one. The only ones i like from dept stores are those corelle dinner plates and WMF cutlery...their cutlery is really gd!!

kk,
wah...everytime make u angry take out $50...so means can take out 16 times only...u left how many more days to finish ur CL? *lol* if more than 16 days means angpow might end up $0....haha

Yeah lor....i so angry with the wet market at my side...they dare to charge me bout $14/kg for pork ribs and gave me those frozen pork ribs instead...*faint*...then i boycott that stall forever....i rather buy from ntuc...haha

kk,

how many empty glass bottles did TMC gave u when u discharged ? I find them so giam u know... last year i ask them for some when i discharged and they only give me 6 only
I heard people say that kkh always give at least 20 at one shot...

me v kiasu... i just got my hb to call kkh to get 10 from them and collect this weekend. Maybe after discharge if i need more than call and ask them again hehee... I v worried this time TMC again very giam and give only 5-6 only. I dun intend to buy milk bag... so prob will use those glass bottles plus the 13 avent bottles i have for milk storage

stephanie,

hehee i trying my luck cos i read somewhere from other mummies who did that... so i got my hb to do it.... then next time when i deliver my bb.. if need more, then i call myself. but u can also call tmc months after u deliver... they will give, just that i feel they are not as generous as kkh...

not everyone will prefer the use of glass bottles though.. cos i heard it may not be the best medium to store frozen breast milk... but because i only going bfg for 1-2 months i think.... thus prob dun need to freeze... just store for drinking within 24-48 hours only in the fridge. plus the glass bottles take up a lot of space in the fridge, thus for long term bfg, people still prefer to use milk bag to store...