(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kk, oh ya, almost forgot yours is c-section. Quite scary to have the thread pulled out right? I had an op at the bikini line level some time back and also went for thread removal... i rem i was so scared i blacked out for a while. haha!

lyn, yes, i feel so warm esp before i sleep. my hub and son cannot tahan the aircon. I feel just ok n without blanket when both of them r freezing cold.

Medusa, haha! same here lor... my son has been exposed to the dog fur since foetal stage. But it's the adults like me who cannot tahan the fur and smell
I find that it's quite troublesome keeping dogs... got to bring them for walks (this fellow cannot poo and pee at home), vacuum the floor, feed and bathe him etc etc.... And the smell is driving me nuts... not sure if we r more sensitive to smell during pregnancy or not.

tinklebell,
pregnant women have KEENER sense of smell- it's to prepare us for sensing bb poop diapers :p , hehe.
I cant even stand cooking smells. If someone else can take over doggycare? With #1, HB did. Now expecting #2, helper does. My dog papertrained but exceptionally "natural-smelling" breed, we take her for walks once wkly only. Together with my #1, hehehe.

tinklebell,

Haha, blacked out? Actually i read from other mummies' msgs that it is not painful. But i just dun feel reassured :p as different pple has different pain threshold.

serene,

Dun tempt me now!! Haha.. tempt me 2 weeks later :p

hahaha... our poor husbands gotta "tong" in the cold for a while more till we pop...
I feel more breathless when I feel hot... I dun use the duvet anymore. hahaha...

Medusa,
This morning, I also thought I gotta call the service man to come and service the aircon already... hahaha... and my hubby said he's cold. Then lower the temperature and he used the whole duvet by himself... and the fan blow in my direction... lol...

medusa, u r lucky u have a "natural smelling" dog. my bro's king charles smells horrible (u just have to imagine a dog that doesnt bathe for 2 mths, it's that kind of smell lor). Actually, he is worse after a bath and i donno why too. brought him to a vet many times but the smell didnt improve. and he needs to be walked 2x a day!!! it's my bro's dog (he adopted it fr one of his frens 4 yrs back though we all protested) and he cant be bothered with it after that. no wonder my mother is complaining

kk, ya lor, i blacked out for a while after the nurse pulled the thread. think i was too anxious. actually, that time, the thread was also a bit stuck n nurse had a bit of problem pulling it out.

lyn,
actually izzit okies to eat sashimi? Cos i tot raw one cannot take?
Me dont take sashimi but i cannot wait to eat ice-cream, now still tinking of ice-cream again...*lol*
And i also waiting for the day when i can finally sleep on my tummy! Haha

okasan wah i salute you still can go on fours to clean toilet floor. i tried one weekend then got backache the whole day!!

medusa, serene, spicegal: ya i perspire in air con room at night. It is amusing that nowadays hubby wrap up in blanket while i keep kicking blanket away. But due to my cramps, i have to wear track pants and socks. Last sunday, tot i dreamt i took off the socks and track pants, and when i woke up my pants and socks were on the floor! Was not dreaming! must be sub conscious mind cannot stand the heat!!

tinklebell, medusa,

ya pregnant women more keen on smell.. i can subtle smell my hb and my mum cant. hehee

talking abt smelly dog... hmm one of my dogs is a shih tzu... if know the breed, the shih tzu has very short nostril area and mine tears all day... as a result the face is very smelly..
even though we try to clean and dry it after every feed. My other dog is a maltese, dun smell at all! Both of them are paper trained.... BUT... when my boy was born last year... my otherwise very guai maltese start to mark territory like nobody's business. As I have 2 male dogs, I find it hard to know who is the culprit and even have to use video cam ... no matter how I punish, still mark territory.. sigh... anyway they were with us for additional 3 months after my boy was born... then finally, my parents in law offered to help us look after the shih tzu for the interim.. while my SIL who have a dedicated maid to look after her 2 dogs helps to look after the maltese. Our load really decrease alot after that... cos no need to constantly clean ... cos their fur dropping can be a nightmare at times... we still see them regularly though ...

kite & mummies
ya i also want to know whether you let your hubby get initimate with you nowadays. I would like to but scared if bb already engaged, then will hurt bb?

416405.gif

Durians:
Heard that we shldnt take too much of it as it can cause fever in babies easily cos heaty.

Exercise:
Its good to exercise n walk slowly. For me, heard that climbing up n down e stairs also helps. Me sometimes go lunch w colleagues, also use stairs as a form of slow exercise though was panting all e way LOL.

Tinklebell:
So which option u use? u storing for how many yrs? or u didnt specify? how many yrs u intend to store?
hehe Previously when my dog was a puppy, i paper train her. since pregnancy, i hv brought my dog for grooming n cut til botak. When her fur was long, her fur wil drop n fly ard in e hse, so for tis period, she wil hv short botak fur. LOL We wont be giving our dog away cos got feelings for her.

Housework:
me too i oni put the clothings into e washing machine n thats it, light clothings wil hang it myself. heavy ones wil ask hubby help. e rest like mopping, cleaning of toilet, hubby wil do it.

Stephanie:
My fren told me she started to drink coconut from 8th mths onwards. Try to take it in e morning/afternoon.

Lyn:
nowadays i cant squat, else i wil hv problem getting up. Squating down also make my lower abdomen painful wor. If i really hv to squat, i wld rather knee down.

Medusa:
last time i read an article that hving dog at home actually can boost up a child's immunity.
I dont mind letting my bb ger play w my dog

Lok:
hehe oic thot both of our EDD are near. Dr. YC wants the best for us as we r petite, dun want our bb to be too big too. Hmm so when is ur next appt? mine will be on 20 May. Usually wil choose a sat, wkend more relax. so far u, me n carebear never hv chance to bump into each other.

Serene:
my gynac expects my bb wil be 2kg when i hit 34wks according to my size. Now me 31wks.

Baked Salmon Receipe:
Hey anyone has tis receipe? this wkend, i thot of doing this instead of the normal stir-fried method which i have been using.
416406.gif

Poohy:
LOL my dog is a maltese, dun smell at all, in fact hubby n i love her smell. so far keeping her is not a problem at all, very easy to maintain her as she is just 1yr 11mths, turning 2yrs on 8 July 2006 (her bday) LOL
Hehe i paper trained when she was a puppy, i used CANE to beat her backside when she anyhow poo n pee. now she pee n poo on newpapers, very guai

Josephine:
actually throughout pregnancy, we got intimate. but since after my hubby n i attended Mrs wong's classes, my hubby so scare wil hurt bb and sometimes its me who initiate it n hubby always very worried abt hurting bb. LOL. But when near delivery, think we hv to stop esp when bb has engaged.

Josephine,

Hee, for me, there is no intimacy between me and hubby ever since i was pregnant. Although gynae keep saying it's alright, but we still dun dare to do anything :p

I think if bb engaged, best to stop intimacy liao?

when is e best time to drink raspberry tea? drink once a wk or daily? definitely wont be liang to our body? does it really help in a more smoother delivery?

re: coconut
how do u open the coconut? quite difficult right? bec of this, i havent had a single coconut drink.

kite,
sorry what do u mean wh option we use? do u mean to dispose of or let the lab use for research? we chose to let the lab use for research. Wasted to dispose mah. u dont have to specify how many yrs you want to store. As long as you pay up the subscription yearly, it will be renewed. I suppose i will store it for as long as possible. Never know when we will need to use (touch wood lah).

Tinklebell

Can get the seller (most prob a fruit seller) to open for you if you are not too concern abt hygiene. Otherwise just chop / slash across at the top. Careful though, cos the juice might spill.

tinklebell:
Usually my hubby wil use knife n hit against e coconut n open e top portion. last wk, e coconut we bot from carrefour, already got 3 little pops to guide us for opening. But if buy fr NTUC one, some already open but some dont.

oic u hv chosen for lab research, thats gd. ya true, wil store as long as possible. maybe wil stop til 21yrs down e rd.

Free New Laurier Pad by Kao:
LOL anyone request tis free sample to deliver to ur home? i requested for it last wk n just received yest. hehe u can request from tis website.

http://www.kao.com/sg/f/news/index.html

Free Mustela Hydra Bebe Sample Give-away:
Me also request for tis free sample yest. Not sure will receive it anot but i received a confirmation email saying that i wil receive e sample within 7 days. Btw, the answer i input is "FRANCE". Applicable for 1st 500 only. I got to know when i bot tis May issue "mother n baby" magazine

http://www.babysafe.com.sg/index.html

kk, kite,

When can we start drinking coconut water? Those small ones from NTUC any diff from those big ones selling outside? How many times must we drink per week?

kk
why cant eat sashimi after delivery?? I am looking so fwd to it.. everyday counting down to due date so that can eat sashimi after that.. got a list of things to eat after delivery.. hhaa.. can't wait..

haha.. my hb too.. have to use 2 blankets when sleep in aircon but i juz kick mine away n still complain hot haha..

btw, understand some of u have discussed abt the first mth celebration.. all going to hold it at home?? any1 has plans to hold it outside?? Me thinking of outside haha.. so that dun need to clean up after the meal.. but dun want hotel or restaurant(cos too ex) or chalet (cos too hot).. haha.. fussy me..

kite, u signing up with Cordlife? They will get u a collection kit. Only prob is that the kit cannot be stored in the car cos the heat may destroy it. Bec of that, i have to put my hospital bag at home instead of in the car.

Spicegal,

Yes, its from Pine.

Lyn,

Yea, Ive been feeling very hot lately and the weather these days does not help too I felt breathless whenever I consume icy things tried to cut down on that but Ive been craving for ice lately so no choice, eat first then suffer loh got a bottle of tiger balm with me it does make me feel better after each rub.

Celeste,

Thought we have to avoid eating raw food during pregnancy right

Josephine,

We have been cutting down on that since the beginning of the final trimester dont feel comfortable.

Kite,

Yea, saw that in the May issue as well ... thought the advices from expert on labour was good...

Peng,

I'll be hosting two sessions ... one at a restuarant for my relatives and parent and inlaw business associates and another one at home for our close friends and colleagues...

peng, actually, if can dont celebrate first mth with buffet, i rather dont celebrate. very mah-fun to organise. We've got so many relatives to invite. If invite 1, must invite all... will prob have to split it into 2 days. I suppose if it's your first kid, better to let the elders decide.

celeste blur,
sashimi is no no during preggie just in case got bacteria... A few weeks ago I was craving for ice cream, now no more...

kite, josephine,
yes... still got intimacy
I never ask my gynae... Very paiseh leh... So just be more careful not to hurt my tummy... lol...

kite,
I still go swimming...
Then you better not squat if you feel pain...
For baked salmon:
Spread some butter on aluminium foil. Lay salmon on buttered aluminium foil. Squeeze some lemon. Add a pinch of salt. Wrap and bake in oven
. Easy rite?
You can also try to use teriyaki sauce instead of lemon...

Tinklebell,
If you go to cold storage to get, they have the already opened ones but more costly at $1.85 each. The not opened ones are cheaper, but I rather pay more so save my knife.. lol... Last time, to save money, I bought the unopened ones, and now my knife chipped already. Carrefoure got one type which is $1 and there's a soft hole for you to poke a straw... The unopened ones at Carrefoure is $0.85.
If you wanna try to open at home, gotta chop the top...

serene,

I only drink when i am in week 36. I drank twice. Then in week 38 before delivery, i drank another two times. i think can start in week 36. No need to start so early if u worry that coconut is cooling. Once or twice per week is ok.

Lyn,

Haha, everytime my gynae himself say "sexual intercourse as usual.." we dun even asked him, he say himself haha..

Tinklebell,

Luckily my mum only inviting 2-3 of her friends and my own family members and one family of relatives coming. The rest, my mum say no need to invite to full mth celeb.

In laws side i think not many too. Hubby's grandparents already not coming from malaysia. So doubt there are a lot of relatives coming over.

So are u inviting again for ur 2nd bb?

Paula,

Wow, looks like u have a lot of guests for ur bb full mth celebration!

Peng,

I dunno can eat sashimi or not after delivery. But basically not all fish are consumable during confinement. Everyday i am surviving on 1-2 types of fish only

Lyn, i also prefer to buy the opened ones. The ones available at the G'value supermart at my place are unopened. Pay a bit more it's ok. do u just drink the water? how abt the flesh? do u eat that as well?

serene,

I dunno leh.. aiyah, u know the older generation.. sometimes they only believe in certain types of food. My mum did the marketing and brought the food supply over to me for one week. Then only got 1-2 types of fish only

Then, everyday eat same kind of meat. And i can't eat chicken now because of wound

Everyday confinement meals are a torture actually :p

kk, i havent decided whether to celebrate at home or not. Let my parents and in laws decide. My parents side got 30 ... but my in laws side got maybe 45 pp... i thought u were inviting 80 persons?

tinklebell,

Yah, now around 79 pple. Today i just sms out the invitation. See what's the response like. I think number might be less.

Dunno got space for so many pple or not.. hahaha... they have to hang around at the corridor liao :p

kk,

Ya rite, my mum also says for 1-2 weeks, no chicken. Even for normal delivery, also cannot eat, as we have stitches too. Anyway, i dun dare to eat those liver, kineys, so i foresee confinement food will be yucky for me too! Wow u inviting so many guests? If u scare too crowded, then have to separate in 2 sessions, maybe 1 session at 1pm, the other session at 4pm.....that's what my friend and relative does the other time. The buffet came twice.

serene,

Wah sai, my mum bought so much pig kidney for me. I ate until 3rd day of confinement, i sian liao. Now i only ate around 3 pieces a day hahaha! I am not going to force them down my throat liao, if i dun feel like eating them. Else confinement so miserable.

Liver i also can't eat in the first week because mine is considered operation. Now can eat already but i dun like it already so i eat very little :p

I see how it goes.. may not be that many guests afterall. Actually around 15 of them are my students with some of their mums. So yet to confirm how many of my "darlings" are coming.

talking abt coconuts.. my hubby refused to let me drink cos he scare it's too liang for me..and my mum & mil both oso not very agreeable of me drinking.. sigh.. so won't be drinking. probably will try the raspberry tea instead. hopefully it has the same effect

kk,

I dun eat liver and kidney at all! Even for pork, I only eat 1 type of meat, pork loin only but I eat all kind of vege and love soup.

duffybuff

Was told that if we drink at least once or twice, the baby will be 'very' clean when he/she comes out.

kk, looking at the things that can be eaten, looks like i got nothing to eat. I dont take pork, liver and intestines. Dont like fish at the moment. Looks like cant take chicken. haha! donno what else can i eat... maybe only beef but i never heard of pp taking beef during confinement. What's more, if CL prays to Guan Yin, then they prob cannot touch beef right?

will u be shaving your girl botak for her first mth?

Hi tinklebell,
I dun eat the flesh now... unless I got the $1.85 one from cold storage... else very difficult to open... I just drink the juice sometimes, depending where I buy the coconuts... Last weekend, I went to the market and bought one and asked the stall owner to cut open for me. When I reached home, I realised, only half of the juice left... lol... I ended up going to cold storage and get another one to drink...

The one from Carrefoure is completely botak one. Got soft holes to poke a hole with the end of the knife... Then put in a straw to drink.. very easy. For that, I dun bother to eat the flesh...

tinklebell and kk, oic.. haha.. think my inlaws will juz let us decide on the venue cos we r the one that r paying for it.. so can call the shots..haha..

kk, really ah?? aiya still can't eat sashimi during confinement.. so sian..only a few types of fishes to eat.. sharks, guess my confinement will be a very sad period cos like serene i oso dun eat all the intestines.. guess like no food to eat.. will juz eat "rubbish" then..

I thought can only drink coconut when reach 36 yrs old cos scare liang..

lyn.. wow so good..still got intimacy.. i have stopped since bb head engaged cos scare poke his head cos he is really lying very low now.. haha...

hi steffi,
ya i know.. heard fm u gals. but what to do.. i'm 'forbidded' to drink.

ref: confinement food
heehee luckily i'm ok with pig intestine.. so still hv choices.. :p

oh ya, anyone of u know where i can get clips/ sealer for milk bags? i remember someone mentioned abt ikea... is it?

kk, serene,
I am also not going to eat liver and kidney... lol... I will stick to more vegetables and a bit of pork. And the herbs...

tinklebell,
hahaha... then you got ask your CL she can touch beef or not? I also never heard of people taking beef during confinement...