(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

serene,
u are right, some cosmestics do consist of animal placenta but having human placenta is really a turn off !!

paula,

when i was at tmc last year giving birth to my son, the nurses there give those look and ask me why i wanna express instead of direct latch. Make me so stressed... and pressurised. Anyway I am not going to be pressurised like dat again .. must be more assertive liao....

at first few days, there is mainly colustrum. colustrum are not milk... they are those thick yellowish sticky liquid which will become hardened if not consumed immediately. Hard to feed this using bottle cos not much. I remember I collected these using a spoon and spoonfed my son when i was at home the first few days. It was later that bm came in.

my concern abt feeding ebm in the hospital is... how to sterilise pump, the bottle, and utensils used to collect the bm or colustrum...

any plans to share, mummies..?? I still wondering how to do it...

i was telling my hb i wanna go down to tmc for a tour this week to ask them myself.... hope can get answers... u think useful?

poohy, i think it is ok to tell the nurses u want bb to drink FM. My son was on FM for 3 days during my hospital stay. Anyway, i got no milk til much later. But i think TMC is v pro-bf'g... they will still insist you try BF'g.

tinklebell,
just mention to him that u wish to keep ur placenta lor i suppose but is ur close friend really keen in having it.. so weird !!

paula,
thanks, then i should stop drink cold water liao....

Poohy,

Heard from KK that the nurses in TMC keep on popping into her room and asked if she will be BFing a not quite stressful hor? Hopefully, the nurses in KKH wont be like that we could always get the nurses to assist us with the sterilising right?

BTW, did you stock up on BM bags? Should we transfer our EBM into the normal milk bottle at every feeding? By doing so, will we be introducing air into the milk bottles?

poohy,
I was thinking to let my baby ledge on/suckle during the hospital stay.... dun think there'll be anything to pump even if we bring breast pump. Then like what you had said, if pump, must think of steralising, dun tell me, have to bring the whole steraliser to hospial??? very troublesome leh.

serene,

i forgot the actual bill... i stayed in tmc 1 bedder last year after their price hike and it was a 2 day stay. My delivery was short so no extra charges for delivery suite or assisted delivery or epidural. It cost me abt 1k+ cash after medisave.

I delivered at abt 7pm and was able to discharged 24 hours later.. but i was told if u stay after 12am in the morning, they will bill u extra 1 day even if u discharge.. so i stayed extra night.

paula,

i din stock up on bm bags. Most likely I will do wat I did last year. I expressed and store in bottles in fridge. This way can last 24 hours. My bb will drink these ebm within 24 hours after which I will pour away. I din really let my son drink any frozen ebm.. heard the taste different... since i only bfg for 1 month plus, no point to stock up so much bm bag mah. I got lots of avent bottles from my last delivery so I will just be using those to store all the ebm in fridge and consumed within 24hours.

poohy,
I dun wish to share toilet or room with others too! Very inconvenient leh...but worried might spend alot of cash!

tinklebell,
if i am not mistaken it has to be collected immediately just like the muslim when the lady gave birth, the hubby needs to wash & send for burial.

serene,

ya include everything.... baby and all. Basically that's the only thing we paid at discharge. think it includes my gynae's delivery charges too.

for the 1 bedder, hmm if u r not c-section or any complications, the extra money is quite well spent... i mean i really appreciate the privacy time i have with my family, bb and hubby ...

Thanks, Poohy ... I brought a Medela Mini Electric Breast Pump and got a set of Avent, Nuk and Pigeon milk bottles ... so have to rely on EBM bags quite a bit...

Sigh, seems like I'm the only oddball who is giving birth in KKH! :-(

I opted for the one-bedded room and the average bill size for that is about S$6k (not includng epidural)

poohy,

Thanks for your info. I told my hubby we may need about 2k cash (after medisave discount), u think enough?

re: 1 bedder
Ya true, it's so much of a privacy to have 1 bedder. Imagine the nurse kept coming in, gynae will visit u too. Then our visitors too! If shared room with other, must be considerate, cannot hv so many visitors, also very squeezy. Hubby can't stay overnite wif us. Baby can't stay too long with me too...if cry also disturb the next bed. Worse is if the next bed very inconsiderate, makes lots of noise, sure very pissed off!

MOAP: yea, kinda regret the decision to go KKH ... :-(

BTW, is your baby very active these few days? My baby kicks are getting stronger and she is kicking up, down, center, left and right...

paula,

wahhh the kkh bill size so big ah? how come ? my bill including gynae for 1 bedder at tmc was abt $3k+ before medisave leh.

serene,

hmm shd be ard there but it really depends on the actual situation if need c-section, prolonged labour thus additional cost at delivery suite, assisted delivery, gynae fee ,etc

paula,
didn't know 1 bedder at KKH charges so expensive! My neighbour is giving birth at KK too, but she has chosen 4 bedder and the charges is very cheap...

Poohy,

I left the average bill size at home ... if I recall correctly, that seems to be the bill size lei but then hor, I'm getting very forgetful recently ... will post the bill size on this thread for reference tomolo. :)

Extracted from KKH website:
What To Bring For Your Stay
Pyjamas
Undergarments
Medicines which you are currently on e.g. for conditions such as hypertension, diabetes etc.
Slippers
Face and bath towels
Toiletries toothbrush, toothpaste, comb, soap and shampoo
Hair dryers are available upon request. If you are staying in Class A or B1 rooms, you will receive a toiletry bag. You can also buy this bag at our Retail Pharmacy on Level 1.

For the safety of all our patients, kindly avoid using electrical appliances that have not been provided by the hospital. These may cause a power failure, which in turn may interrupt a procedure or treatment in other parts of the hospital.

For Obstetric Patients

Do pack your bag two weeks in advance. In addition to the items listed above, also bring:

2 baby vests
2 pairs of baby mittens and booties
2 wrapping blankets for baby
You will most likely spend your first few hours after admission in the delivery suite. So try not to bring your bag with you, unless your spouse accompanies you. Your family can bring your bag to you when you are in the ward.

Please do not bring / use the following: Valuables such as jewellery or cash, personal electrical equipment as they may not comply with the hospitals safety code, and contact lenses.

Serene,

I agree that 1 bedder is really useful! I cannot imagine what would happen if i stick to my original plan to stay in 2 bedder. We deserve the privacy after an energy consuming labour haha..

Poohy,

Haha, u remind me of those stressful days in TMC again.

My mil say my bb after drinking my BM reacts very funny. The stools keep coming, but it is not diarrhoea. And the bb poo poo a lot leh.. but it comes bit by bit.. But when drink FM, dun have such problem leh. My mil say dunno is it because i eat a lot of vegetables that's why. But i need the vegetables myself leh, else will get constipation. U faced such problem before?

Kite,

Yup, TMC gave 2 plastic bags of goodies, which includes kodomo products, magazines, etc. U can see this if u buy this mth motherhood magazine

Just came back from gynae clinic. Remove stitches *didn't know it is so easy* and was given this gel thing to apply.

okipoki,
I saw the scoopz at parkway parade there....was on offer..$2 for a scoop..then i thought the queue kinda long bout 8-10ppl queueing, so i decided to buy andersen's ice-cream instead...hehe...although $4 for 1 scoop, got but 1 scoop of apple pie flavour free...so it means $2 a scoop also...*lol*
actually i like the ice-cream made by those ah-pek or uncles on the motorcycle one....the taste is the best! Nothing can be compared to it...hehe :p

Serene,
if natural delivery w/o assisted, or vacumn or extra stay (normal is 2 days stay) for 1-bedder, shld need to pay around 1k+ in cash after medisave

Paula,
my bb also very active nowadays.....yesterday i monitored the timing...she can kick and move from 11+am right up till 4+pm in the afternoon before she go n ZzZz for a while...then she became active again around nite time...*lol*

Josephine,

No leh, no glass bottles. TMC only gave us 3 small glass bottles of enfalac A+ for samples. No caps.

Yooo, my bb making lots of noise today.. keep feeling hungry after feeding BM.. now feeding her FM, hopefully can quieten her down.

serene/ celeste, i thought kk said she paid something like $4k in cash for TMC 1 bedder. she had c-section, so that it would be higher. So, i think for normal delivery, i would expect ard $1k less? Without epi maybe can expect 1.5k less? (since epi costs $600). Anyway, better to be mentally prepared to pay more money just in case. kk's not online these few days. Maybe u can check with her?

kk,
After hearing what you say, I wanna convince my hubby taking 1 bedder liao... Last nite, i didn't have good sleep, woke up a few times and got abit scared, dunno why. Thinking if hubby dun stay with me in hospital, i might feel abit lost!

i've beard from one of my gf that baby consume breast milk will poo more than those drinking formula milk. I think that's normal...only thing is, we have to use more diapers a day lor... So means if we let our bb drink BM, better let them wear cheaper disposable diapers...cannot afford wear Pampers brand. Also not practical to wear cloth diapers, where got so much strength to wash!!!!

tinklebell,
kk paid $3500 cash after medisave deduction. Her case is emergency c-sect and also there is charges on normal delivery room also becos she was supposed to have normal delivery...she has alot incidential charges. Though, we can't predict the exact bill size too for ourself....

Serene,

Precisely!! That's why we were using pampers for the past few days. Until yesterday then mil change to cloth diapers haha.. but occasionally we still switch back to pampers.

Oh yah, one thing to note.. stick to one brand to diapers. My colleague switches between two brands and her bb has serious rashes. Until today still visiting the polyclinic. So that's why i am sticking to pampers premium first before switching to mamypoko which i have stocked up one pack.

TMC has several brands of FM. Can choose. The PD listed out a few brands to us, but we dunno which one is good so he suggested Enfalac.

My bill wrote Elective c sec and one lady mentioned it is not emergency??! So i dunno haha.. anyway total in cash is around $3500 after medisave deduction. Plus today i paid my gynae around $1000 for c sec. That means i pay $4500 in cash

Celeste, all these talk abt ice cream makes me crave for it. Better eat all these food before i give birth.

wow! if everyone chooses 1 bedder and they dont have enuf 1 bedder to go ard, would it mean we get upgraded to their suites??? hee hee hee :p

Serene,

I was really glad my hubby was with me all the while in the hospital!! I cannot imagine without him, what would happen. I was so weak after c sec and when i got up to walk, i just couldn't walk properly! Wound pain + uterus contraction pain
Can't even hop out of bed to go toilet in the nite.

kk, weekend, i cant be on-line most of the time cos the 2 boys at home fighting with me over the computer
one wants to surf his car forum, the other one wants to play with his Clifford CDRom
we always have to take turns and i always have to give in.

Wh Broadband u all using? I'm not good at computer stuff. Using Singtel Broadband. But i heard that Starhub lines can be connected to few computers (with a router)?

tinklebell,

When u say 2 boys, i was wondering whether i remembered wrongly. I thought u have one boy only hahahaha.. then i realised u are referring to ur hubby as well :p

Me using starhub broadband. So i keep it on even though i go to sleep sometimes heee.. Yah rite, my hubby sometimes surf on his laptop when i am using the computer to surf. And there is another computer hooked up to. I am quite an IT nerd too, having left the IT line for 3 yrs.

kk, good thing urs can be connected to 2 systems at one time. Anyway, i only have 1 pc at home. One day, the monitor spoilt and all of us were so bored at home

guys can be v addicted to forums. my girl friend is complaining that her hub can surf his car forum til 2 in the morning!!! she felt like destroying the PC! I think mine will reach that stage soon

celesteblur,
Oh u mean they are having offer.. aiyo tempted to eat leh. Me too prefer those ah-pek selling in the motorbike. there is one ah-pek that drives his bike everyday to my office downstair. But i hv to refrain myself from eating to prevent more weight gaining.

talk abt computer i didnt even get one for home.. my only computer is still at my mum's place. so normally i will just bring my laptop home over the weekend cos it can be a hassle to bring to & flo' my laptop everyday from office.