(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Celeste,
Try do alot of fingers exercise...it does help to feel better but be prepared that later on, you might experience finger joint pain like me, esp when u wake up in the morning, when u leave yr hands stationery for too long...u will feel very painful, hardly can bend the fingers!

celesteblur,
yah lor super low moral seeing my legs.. even arm also getting bigger. well, if i am not mistaken, most preggy woman will get it is only depend on how obvious it is. Mine started recently & am in week 32 nia. if i am not mistaken, eat too salty food will cause water retention & drink too much water before bed time too. gotta watch out !!

serene,
touch wood, so far my foot still ok.. can wear my exisiting shoes. those areas u mentioned haizzz... ugly hor !!

Serene,
I think tonite i try soaking fingers in lukewarm water first...if it works then i soak everynite...*lol*
I tink i too lazy liowz...those exercises that I learnt in antenatal classes i never do...mabbe thats y now kenna water retention

okipoki,
really? drink too much water b4 bedtime? Me been drinking a lot of water recently...cos throat not feeling very well, even when i wake up in the middle of the nite to wee wee, after wee wee i also drink some water...mabbe tats y i kenna?

tinklebell,
Me too! My existing slippers at home, all very tight due to swollen foots! I was wearing size 5-6, but yesterday i had to buy a new pair of scandals (slip in type), size 8 at Seiyu! Luckily is sale, cost $19.90 (further less 15%). I cannot wear those covered flat shoes already, too uncomfortable for my swollen foots!

serene,
so far my fingers are just stiff, not yet experience those pain.. well thats the reason why we are chatting mah can exercise our fingers thru' typing. hehehe...

Celeste,
I dun think is due to lack of exercise that's why we kena the water retention. I think it came naturally from our body! Some lucky ones won't get it. My mum thinks maybe i ate too salty food. Ask me to reduce on salt intake, perhaps will be better....i dun think so....

Morning Mummies

Celesteblur:
me too wake up a few times go toilet and also hv difficulty in slping well esp last nite, feeling very tired n like a zombie at work now. Guess its hard to find a gd position to slp all e way. Me in my 31wks.

tinklebell:
wow u signed up w cordlife already. so $1470 inclusive of everyting for 1st yr, subsequently, hv to pay $250 yrly rite?

Shopping:
sat me went gynac visit at TMC, then went tampines eat lunch, then go Carrefour shop for grocery n lastly went harbourfront buy a standing fan, me stil enjoy shopping at tis stage, not sure later part.

okipoki,

Ya, at least we are moving are fingers now, it's a form of exercise too! U know, it's so painful early in the morning when i woke up! I had to bend my fingers slowly! Can't even pull the toilet paper and wipe myself!

Serene,
I have another 4 weeks to go...i hope it doesnt get more serious...

I also didnt eat very salty food...but mabbe i did...cos been munching on potato chips, junk food etc occasionally...haha

kite,
ya lor...i sleep on my left side, bb kick and kick, sleep on my right side, bb kick and kick also...if want to sleep on my back, i scared kenna backache next morning...*lol*

I didn't have good sleep though last nite, diff in breathing! Woke up a few times at nite! I'm feeling very sianz now! Really feel like going home to rest on bed! 'So blue'!!!!

Serene, wow! your swelling seems quite bad... from size 5-6 to size 8!!! I have ard the same feet size as u. in my first pregnancy, my shoe size increased to 7 and my calves were already like double their usual sz! actually, only lying down with legs up will help. But if we r working, how to? i told my hub if this time this thing appears again, i'm going to take unpaid leave and stay at home... not going to torture myself by going to work with super swollen feet!!!

tinklebell, kite,
Have you gals decided how many bedder to book at TMC? If we choose 1 bedder, does it mean the total hospital bill will be based on 1 bedder to calculate and if for 2 bedder, bill will based on rate of 2 bedder to calculate?

Re : medisave claim
Whether is 1, 2 or 4 bedder, the rate claim from medisave is the same yah. Becos one of my gf told me 2 bedder gets more medisave claim than 1 bedder. True?

me too hv encountered diff in breathing even i am in sitting position.. was wondering is it i ate too full.

btw, heard drink plenty of water in the day help in water retention leh.

kite, yap, we signed up yesterday. chose cordlife cos we felt it is more credible since it is aabb accredited. Yes, $250 per yr fr second yr onwards. If u got TMC FBI/ SBI card, will be another $50 off for 9 years ie only $200 per yr. And if u recommend a fren, u will get further $100 off. But your fren must give your IC and name to the rep during registration. What some pp i know do is that they get someone to say they recommend them and they share the $100 discount.

kite,
u are really a shopping queen.. imagine from thomson all the way to tampines then back down to harbourfront... very good !! i went to kakit bukit bb hyberstore/kingdom then robinson my legs are aching like hell liao. wow !!

tinklebell,
My shoe length did not increase but is the swell on the foots that cannot go in shoe size 5 & 6 liao. Size 7 is fine but size 8 more comfy lor. Every nite b4 i sleep, i massage, the swell will go down much. But if next day, i walk alot or stand too long, it comes back again! Yesterday, i 'naughty' go shopping at Seiyu for 3 hrs! The day b4, i also went shopping ...... I'm sweating badly even inside seiyu! Very jialut!

okipoki,
Ya lor, when i've rested my hands the whole nite, never move them, no exercise, it will be especially painful early in the morning when i woke up lor. Now, it's ok, only feel abit painful when i bend the fingers.

okipoki,
BB hypermart very crowded rite? I went there on one of the sundays 2 mths back, very crowded. i didn't buy anything cos i feel the things not cheap.

serene,
aiyo even i just came out from the shower, i start to perspire liao. was asking hubby do i smell bad cos got those stinky feeling leh. hahaha...
so i guess at nite while going toilet must also exercise the hand liao.

serene,
yeah bery crowded... walking space limited especially at the stroller area & true the things are not cheap either. Me too didnt get anything from there but bought the pureen abd detergent from bb kingdom.

serene,
erhmm trying to cut down now lor ... but the food intake is the usual one leh. hopefully, with this cut down i wont gain thats much within a month. haha

okipoki,
haha...me sat also...went bb kingdom/hyperstore, then went parkway parade...wow...it has changed quite a bit...and i managed to indulge myself in a cup of andersen's ice-cream :p and got promotion...buy 1 scoop get 1 scoop of apple pie flavour for free :p

serene, i think i'll most likely take 1 bedder. If u decide to take 2 bedder, i heard it's better to choose 4-bedder cos most likely, u will be upgraded and you only need to pay 4-bedder price.
If u choose 1 bedder, then all the fees will be based on 1 bedder fees.

okipoki,
True, after bath, also perspire sometimes, very irritating!

Eat smaller meal but have additional 1-2 more meals a day.

Hi Serene, Celeste Blur,
Do you think water retention could be due to diet? Did you take any special food when you get the water retention the next day? Not a lot of people believe it is due to diet, not even the western doctors...
I had water retention in my 28 weeks when I went to Penang. I ate Penang laksa, prawns noodles, and I had water retention the next day. The worst is Penang laksa which gave me water retention for one full day. I slurped up all the soup too! Then I try to avoid these food, drink lots of water, and my feet and hands grew back to the same size already till now
Water retention hurts... and ugly... I do watch what I eat though...

Hi pebbles,
Your baby is very cute...
I heard that premmies are usually very smart one...

Hi opipoki, tinklebell,
Do you think after washing away the rust, the rust will not form again? Will the rust get into the water in future without us realising? Water is for drinking into our body one leh...

Hi poohy,
Are you going for natural without epidural this time? I just got a book on hypnobirthing from a friend... How did you prepare yourself for the birth of your first child?

Hi kite,
Wah.. Your baby so cute... licking your placenta... I only saw my baby sucking fingers or toes... lol...

Hi Dor,
You can get the coconut from cold storage or NTUC. Usually I will get from Cold Storage - fresher... hmm... I avoid the canned ones cos they might contain sugar and preservatives... ;)
Last nite, I went for a gathering and my friend advising me to take coconut... kekeke...

tinklebell,
I also wish to take the 1 bedder cos i want my hubby stay with me and also i dun wish to share with others leh. But last nite, discussed with hubby, he thought since i will stay for only 2 nites...why not save the $..... Do you know roughly how much will be the bill size for 1 bedder (normal delivery + epi)? Do you also know how much diff compared to 2 bedder?

okipoki,
I also get breathless just sitting on the sofa. But I put pillows at my lower back and sit very straight, it's easier to breath... I find slouching makes breathing difficult...

celesteblur,
talk abt ice cream.. had been taking it quite frequent. hv u tried the scoopz ice-cream located at B1 parkway ?? their durian favour is nice.. used to had it during lunch ;p btw, i was in the bb store at ard 11am+

lyn,
Thanks for sharing the info re. water retention. Perhaps i will try to watch out my diet and drink more water during the day but one problem for me is i hate plain water now!!!!

Outer hips:
dunno issit due to water retention, the outer of my hips seems to hv a white patch in e middle of my hips, so funny hor. think swollen rite?

Serene:
i hv confirmed w my gynac on taking 1 bedded ward. Yes it wil based on 1 bedded ward charges to calculate. Unless u are talking abt upgrade automatically from 2 bed to 1 bed, then it wil based on 2 bed charges.

Tinklebell:
thanks. So the discount only applicable for 9 yrs which is $200 yrly. We hv to keep paying how many yrs in total? doesnt stop at 9 yrs rite?

Deposit for Gynac:
I was told to pay a deposit of $800 to gynac n also to confirm my PD on my next appt, 20 May.
Anyone confirm n pay deposit to gynac liao?

Carebear29/Lok:
how abt both of u since all 3 of us under Dr. YC?

lyn, i think u do have a point there. I suppose the only way to prevent rusting is to wipe and air dry the sterilisers regularly.
actually, i think the pipes that connect to our homes also rust leh... cos i recalled many yrs back, while we were renovating our old home, we tore down the old pipes and inside it were rusty
yucks!

re: placenta
someone close to me asks me to give her my placenta ...for eating!!! yucks!!! how to tell the nurse i need to keep that har? got medicinal value meh?

re: bed

me too taking 1 bedder this time again. Want to have the privacy and my son can stay with me without fearing he will disturb others if he cry. Plus... i hate to share toilet with people hehee...

lyn,

ya me hope this round will again be able to do without epidural. I spoke to my gynae briefly abt it already and told her not to perform episiotomy unless vvv necessary. She told me she will try to do perineum stretching first... (in for some pain liao)... anyway i am a bit concerned cos this bb is slightly bigger than my boy.... if she dun come out by wk37, she will most likely exceed 3kg ... i din do much preparation for my first child ... just read the book supernatural childbirth and believe i can do it... like dat only.

re: bfg

anyone of u intending to express bm right from the start for bb... instead of latching on. I was thinking, if feed ebm to my bb in hospital.. maybe very troublesome cos gotta keep sterilising every 2 hours ... and i will be there for 1-2 days only. So i am thinking of telling the nurses there tat I want to have total FM mode. Then they will just leave me in peace and wont keep forcing me to latch on. I have no wish to latch on when i am at home cos it will deter me from taking care of my boy.... imagine no one else can feed bb except me... and that's every abt 2 hours for at least 45 min. Then I wont be able to attend to my boy...

tinklebell,
wow serious ar they dare to eat ar !! sound disgusting leh. well, read from the paper that consuming placenta can help in skin condition.. like smoother complexion etc... ladies correct me if i am wrong.
btw, if u wish to keep need to tell gynae.

kite, the storage is for life if u choose to renew it every yr. But the contract is til your kid is 21. If u terminate it early, either the cord blood will be used for research or disposed. U have to indicate your preference in the form. After your kid is 21, bec they r legally adult, they have to sign a new contract. The discount is only valid from yr 2 to yr 10. After that, the annual storage will be $250.

Poohy,

I'm opting for EBM right from the start ... I will tell the nurses that I'll put my baby on mixed forumla ... forumla during nights and tearly morning and EBM during morning, afternoon and evening ... not sure if it's acceptable though

paula,
u mean drink cold icy water will trigger breathlessness ?? ooh then i better start avoiding it loh.. haha must bring water bottle out for lunchie ;p

okipoki,
i think it's true, placenta helps in skin condition. that's why there are some face products which contains placenta but i think those are animal's placenta (mainly from goats)...... but to eat the human placenta sounds disgusting to me!!!!

Mummies, re. steriliser: what should we do with the milk bottles after it have been sterilised? SHould it be placed inside the steriliser or should we remove the bottles and have it placed in the bottles rack to dry?

lyn:
hehe cos e edge of my placenta abit like nipple (gynac showed it to me) and she said my bb ger practising BF. LOL

Coconut:
i got mine from carrefour but small kinds one, okie to drink n eat e flesh? small ones usually sweeter?
Stil in e fridge, hvnt eat yet.

Serene:
better drink more water. i drink roughly abt 1.2litres per day which i find it little liao. Also to prevent dehydration too.

okipoki/ serene, i wont dare to eat it man! yucky! aiyo! how to tell gynae??? shy leh
ya ya, now i also recall reading it some time back that placenta is eaten bec it contains vitamins and minerals good for complexion. Some pp cook it into porridge... and some pp dry it and pound into powder form. i wont eat it for sure! yucks!