(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

lyn,
baby may not engage so soon...mostly abt 1-2 weeks before delivery.....unless u means your baby is not head down yet...

my baby's head down since wk 20...last visit, gynae also say head down...but he never comment anything abt the mode of delivery though....

Gd am, ladies!

hi okipoki,
Yap! I've thot of that too, last week, I placed a small towel near to me in the office, in case waterbag burst. ;P But my towel very small ... not sure enough. I better bring a bigger one next week.

serene/okasan,
me also have a chair in d bathroom. LOL. But keep reminding myself 2 b careful, cos having a chair can be additional hazard as well. Can't reach my toes since 2 wks back. Thinkg of gog for a pedicure b4 my Csec. Can't imagine hvg long toes nails for my confinement.

kk,
Thks FYI. Whoa! Seems ur engorgement quite bad due to "good supply" ... Every 3 hrs interval even at night ... very siong leh. Btw, how do you store your Expressed Breast Milk? (EBM) Glass bottles? Milk bags?

hi poohy, sorry for d above, wanted to type "pebbles", but type your nick instead ... haha ...

hi pebbles, is your princess back home?

Happy Labor Day holiday!!! Hope it's not "early labour" day for us though ... hee ...
413870.gif

okasan,

Oops, erase that sentence.. i realised we basically bring the same things.. and based on number, i bring more than u in fact haha.. looks like i am more KS :p

Errr, i dun feel the delivery ward is cold hee.. i even brought a sweater along. Didn't get to wear it too in the room.

Disposable panties.. i brought 2 packs - 14. End up only used 3 i think. I dun get up to change often because my movement was so restricted. And i find that my blood flow still not too bad. Not as heavy as i have expected.

Sanitary pads.. yes, provided by TMC.. but loop type leh.. so i dun think u like it rite? I myself dun like loop pads cos they cause leakage easily.

Carebear,

Now my engorgement subsides a lot liao. Now may only need to pump every 4 hrs or so. i suspect milk flow is slowing down as i express all the time.. so it is not as lasting as those who latch on. But i am still quite satisfied at the moment, can express on average 80 ml of milk at every interval. Just see how it goes..

I store my EBM in the fridge using normal milk bottles

okasan,
I hv washed the pj only new clothes meant for BB when she goes home havent wash.
I still havent placed any towel in the office, probably will do so soon cos sometime forgot to bring.
I hv realised alot of mummies pop a week or 2 inadvance so must prepared 1st.

kk,
hmmm, just as what I think so loh...coz dun think 1st day will be able to get up, so no point bring so many dispoasable panties...ya, dun like the loop one, but in hospital, I'll just use that...only when discharge, then change to the normal pad loh...

as for sweater, dun think I'll bring that too coz I'm feeling so hot these days....even in aircon room, I also feel hot....

Went shopping at Seiyu yesterday. The discount is really good. Stocked up Mustefla items and brought one packet of toys. Went Robinsons to get Medela Electric Pump.

KK,

How did you store your Express Breast Milk? I brought one box of Medela Breastmilk bottle and one box of EBM bags rem our conversation on milk rationing? Medela has this milk collection shell I brought it too got 20% discount.

okipoki,
ya, better to be mentally prepare for early deliver...I'll bring a towel to office on tue...

u deliver at MT A, so got another bathtub to bring home on discharge...hehe....

paula,
I read from other thread abt seiyu sale...

is it true that even those items on sale price also have 15% discount? heard it's 20% storewide and some selected items are on 30% discount...

very tempted to go...but no energy to shop these days.....

okasan,
Yup will be delivering at MtA... Heard they give bathtub so probably the one I had for my "jia zhuang" (red tub) will pass to my in-laws.

KK,

The weather is so hot these days. Do you sleep in aircon room?

BTW, is one pc of bra sufficient for hospital stay?

Okasan,

Im staying at CCK too .. but under Hong Kah GRC geez, are you staying at Blk 680ish? There are lots of pregnant women in this estate

Do you feel a tightening sensation?

Re. delivery in the office, Ive been having thoughts of starting my maternity leave early cos even as of now, I have been so aggressive with my work that I felt that its not worth it everyday when I hit home, I felt so tired and barely have that extra ouch of energy left to do other thing

Okasan,

Yep, its true I even brought an electric air pot and slow cooker there too. Seems like Mustefla items are going fast I was there at 11-ish am but not much stock liao It's better than Metro sale...

Felt like going to Kiddy Palace to get the Lucky Baby brand bottles rack ... but the weather is really hot ... quite dampening and my car tyre got punctured yesterday after shopping at Seiyu!

Okasan,

ya lor... the moment they allowed me to get up and walk, i used my disposable panties and own pad.

Paula,

Guess wat? Recently i told u all i have the fan on, but not air con. Yesterday my SIL said actually air con better than fan and this was told by a chinese doctor. Another hubby's colleague also say the same thing. So we slept in air con last nite!!

But in the day, i still have the fan on. Need direct blowing, else really very hot.

One piece of bra?? I think bring at least 2. U never know how many times u want or need to change, u see

paula,
ya, staying around that area

you leh? also same area huh? maybe we neighbours...*LOL*

maybe I'll drop by seiyu tomorrow...just finish last batch of washing for baby's stuff, tidying up my guest room now...dun have any energy left for shopping.....

what do u mean by tightening sensation? I do feel tight at my tummy area occasionally...but these few days, I feel pain rather, like something near my belly button is being pulled tightly....

I will take materntiy leave only when deliver coz if take early, means less time with baby....like u, everyday after work, no more energy to do anything else...so only look forward to weekend to settle things loh...

I'm planning to bring 2 bras...1 for wearing during hospital stay and 1 when discharge loh...

kk,
ya, I also heard from my colleague that aircon is better than fan...coz aircon air is dry, but fan is humid air....so dry air supposed to be better....but I also got heard different opinion abt fan & aircon loh....

these days, really hot leh!! even now, I wear very thin clothes, also sweat like nobody's business....can't imagine when we doing confinement in june, hottest month!

okasan,
the weather is so unpredictable nowadays... I can see Jurong East is raining heavily from my place. Well, I think I really smell bad even when I just came out from the shower.. immediately I can see I am perspiring from the hot weather. Many ppl have advised my to cut my hair short. Arghh dont wish to be a typical MTB & I have a long hair for sooooo many years liao.

okasan,
I also heard from ppl that during confinement is better to hv aircon than fan. However, i dont wish my bb get used to hv aircon than fan. Personally, I am not an aircon person cos I find it very very dry thru' the nite.

Hello gals...
I just finished browsing a book on baby's development
break-time now...
Just now, I went to the market to buy a coconut. I just poured into my mug and it's only half a mug of water left! Guess later will go cold storage to buy one more coconut
So nice in the hot weather

It's raining on and off here... So difficult to decide whether to go swimming or not...

okipoki,
I am keeping my long hair for confinement. I cut my hair not short and not long, some time ago and I find it very irritating not being able to tie up properly... Long hair can just tie or bundle up neatly away from the neck and face...

lyn,
what type of coconut did u buy ?? the green one or the thailand type ?

well, me too hv the intention of keeping my hair long & i strongly agreed with you that with long hair we can at least tie or bundle up the hair. my friend mentioned that her hair drop alot during her confinement.. thats the warning she is giving me nw but i dont see it when my sis gave birth.

Btw ladies,
Any idea how to get rid of the rust stain in the sterilizer ?? I had a hand down pigeon sterilizer & tried using lemon but the rust is still around leh. Anyway, I did mixed the juice (lemon) with water or should I just use the juice only to sterilizer ?

Hi ladies, just packed my hosp bag too.... i think i packed quite alot of stuff...

Need to pack bb going home clothes, as Raffles Hosp will not provide these. as i am not sure what size bb will be, i decided to pack 3 rompers, see which one fits better. also a cap, and mittens and bootees as well as two receiving blankets (one thick, one thin).

kk, is one packet of disposable panties enough (7 pcs)? i think so too, but read somewhere should pack 2 packets (14 pcs) in case blood flow heavy.

peng, wow.. your bb engaging already? so early... wonder how's my bb doing... will find out more on Thurs during my 35 wk checkup. after that, will be weekly visits.

re coconut, can we start drinking now? how much and how often? these few days, i have been drinking alot of lemon tea. just had two large cups at Carls Junior just now. my mum said too liang, should avoid. she mentioned when she delivered my sis, she had very bad leg cramps...

okipoki,
same here...I perspire the moment I finish my bath....some aunties also asked me to cut my hair short....I'm gonna keep it long coz I look ugly with short hair....

hubby and myself also don't sleep in aircon...dun wanna let baby sleep in aircon and get use to it too....I prefer natural ventilation with fan...beside, we save $$ each month compared to friends who on their aircon every night...

okipoki,
my water kettle also have rust stain, so I throw half a lemon into the water inside the flask and boil the water twice....the rust completely gone!

amy,
wow, u bring so many things....as for disposable panties, u need to buy more for usage at home, but to bring to hospital, only need a few pieces coz u staying at the hospital for 2-3 nights only

okasan,
same here all my life, i only cut my hair short twice. haha !!

both hubby & myself are a "fan" person & we seldom switch on the aircon unless is a super warm weather. we definitely save quite abit from there...

re: rust stain

i hv tried with lemon & the rust is still there.. somemore i used 2 lemons & mixed with water. probably, i should try to sterilizer with the water now & see if the rust will come out.

okipoki, thks for reminding me abt hvg one towel in the car!

amy, if we have a receiving towel, we don't need a cap for the bb, right? Btw, from the list, your EDD is 22-May, right? So shouldn't you be in your 37th wk now?

Coconut Juice:
My confinement lady called to advise me to start drinking d coconut juice from 34wk onwards, one a week, take it in the afternoon, as evening onwards would be not good for bb.

My hubby bought 3 from a pasar malam stall, we open it at home ourselves (for hygiene purpose), and is very very sweet!
Feel like drinking more ... (but cannot) Maybe if any of u passed by a pasar malam, can buy to keep. Btw, you can keep for more than 1wk if unopen too.

Okasan,

Yea, Im staying around at 685 u nearby? Yea, thanks to KK for the great advices will bring two bras instead (and bra extension incase our breasts engorged dun want to wear tight bra).

Nope, Pine has yet to revert will call them on Tuesday.

KK,

Do you think we should bring our breast pump to hospital?

Im staying put in an air con room after giving birth! I was sweating profusely with two fans blowing at me! Cant imagine having fans blow at me after my jamu wrap sure feel even hotter

Okipoki,

You may want to buy a humidifier if you feel dry at night with aircon on it helps

Re. sterilizer, the sales lady asked me to wash it with vinegar once a month Im not too sure if this helps.

Amy,

Hehe, I packed three sets of clothing for my baby too so that she can come home nicely dressed in a comfortably fixed clothing

carebear,
din know we should drink coconut drink in the afternoon instead of anytime...I'm planning to drink only in my wk 36...those pasar malam one is brown one right? thought we suppose to drink the green one?

if your recieving blanket got hood, then no need to bring cap for baby

okipoki,
u mean u try lemon also cannot? hmmm, our kettle also have the same bas as the pigeon steriliser, and it works well....maybe u can try vingear...coz when I bought my pigeon steriliser, the salesgirl say use vingear to clean....

paula,
ya, we stay quite near....maybe we met many times without knowing...*LOL*

it's better to latch on baby for the first few days, can simulate the milk supply to come loh....beside, most women dun have milk for the first few days, so nothing much to pump also....

paula,
hv thot abt getting it too but find is useless since both of us are ok without aircon. so hopefully, my ger can do without aircon too.

u mean just use vinegar to wipe or mix with water to sterilizer it ?

okasan,
it does came out a little but not fully lor still there are rust. as what i have posted to paula, u mean mix with vinegar or pure vinegar ?

okipoki,
dun know abt the vingear...the salesgirl only tell me to use vingear, can't remeber how to use it though...so far, I use the lemon method and it works for me, so never try vingear before...

I also wanna my baby to be like us, can sleep without aircon...nowadays, a lot of kids so used to aircon, they will "melt" under the sun loh...

carebear, hee hee... my actual EDD is 4th June. But all this while, my bb is slightly big (97th percentile on fetal growth chart), and my gynae is keen to induce me in week 38, which is 22 May.
However, i still prefer natural w/o induction, so hope bb will come out himself before he gets too big.
if given a choice - induction and natural, or c-section due to big bb, i rather the former.

re breast pump, will be bringing mine along, just in case. if i need to use, will ask the nurse to sterilize. also packed some bb wipes and a box of tissues. heard the hosp will charge you for every item you use during your stay.

re receiving blanket, i got the bbsafe receiving blanket, but it seems a little thin. hence, also brought extra bb blanket (carters blanket, paid only $5 for it, got it from a budget store) w/o hood. will decide which combination to dress bb in... will only know when i see him... wonder how he looks like...

hey, i realised on days when i have too much caffine, bb will be active the whole day (and night). me too, OD on caffine, and i wasn't able to sleep at night... no wonder bb also so active...

re: coconut juice

just to confirm, green ones rite? start from week 34 ok...? maybe i will start week 36....

okasan,

Thanks for sharing the website

Intend to get the kit kat bars for my colleague. The price is similar to what mytreasurebox offers. So since i have been liasing with mytreasurebox, think i will stick to it

okasan,

Try to drink coconut in the daytime - morning + afternoon. As it is cooling, best not to consume at nite. Who knows, may get leg cramps if drink at nite :p

I believe any coconut will do. Of course, the green one is known to be the best.

Paula,

No need to bring breast pump to hospital. For me, 2nd day is colostrum flow. 3rd day milk comes but not much for pumping. so it is fine
Subsequently u will feel heavily engorged, that is when pumping is required

Amy,

No need to start on coconut so early. I took around 2 in my 36th week or so. I took another 2 before going for delivery in week 38. So in fact i didn't take many coconuts.

I myself brought 2 packs of panties to hospital - 14. But never even finished a packet. So i believe a packet of 7 is more than enough

Okipoki,

I didn't cut my hair too. I bundled it up everyday
i didn't wash my hair till now. Hmmm, pretty oily and smelly though hahaha... but will bear with it.. i think after 12 days can wash hair liao

I didn't suffer from any hair drop till now. So far so good
HOpefully my mum's friend's secret recipe does work!

Hello gals...

Re:Coconut
I already started taking when 3rd trimester start at about 30 weeks. My friend told me that I can start in 3rd trimester...
I will take once or twice a week. So far so good, no leg cramps
. I think it should be fine to take since the weather is also very warm lately.

hello,
you gals are making me gan cheong now...havent wash any baby clothings as my MIL said too early later will collect dust. also havent started any packing yet.

today is the start of my 32 week. will see Gynae this coming thurs for detailed scanning... so excited!

Hi kk
Are you doing ya confinement for 28 days? How is ya little one now? Heard that some babies can be quite cranky.
414363.jpg

My bb is back on last Fri finally. Here is a few pics of her
Next week we will be having a baby shower! Now looking for good caterers so that I can gorge all the good food. My back is aching, I always walk and seldom lie down