(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

serene,
ya, ask him abt it....if u never confirm the hospital with him, u will never recieve any letter from any hospital at all....coz need gynae to do the admin before the hospital can send the admission letter to us.....

I dunno what position my baby is sitting now, he kept pushing me hard outwards, causing me having backache and legs aching! Now even i stand for like 1/2 hr - 1 hr, my feets got more swollen, very jialut! I can't imagine another few wks later...

kite,
if u bf, can still eat the confinement food with ginger and wine....u should eat after u bf not before bf....the wine when cooked, will evaporate the spirit away, so there's no alcohol left in the food

as for the da feng chao, my mum say boil the herb in a big pot of water...then left it to cool to warm temperature (warm enough to bath), so can pour into plastic pail to bath....

serene,
actually he's not bo chap lah...I quite like the way he is...only tells us what we need to know so that we don't worry unneccessary....

for the hospital thingy, maybe we still early, so he din ask loh....we asked him instead coz we tend to be gan jiong abt it *LOL*

your leg swollen is due to water retention? I'm having a bit of water retention now too....

okipoki,
the da feng chao is for bathing...think shouldn't use the water to wash down there....should use clean water to wash instead....and should wash frequently, everytime after toilet trip to keep the wound from infection....

kk,

how is your gal today?? How many time you need to feed her at nite? and i heard whenever bb drink milk they will poo.. is it true?

kite...yes the material from karmy pajamas quite warm...i bought 2 ans have been wearing them already..intend to get 2 more for confinement..i am size XL...dun know neighbourhood shops have my size or not...

My frens say natural delivery also can strap on tummy binder...so that tummy can go back faster..hehe..kiasu

gals,

i received the letter frm TMC when im abt 34weeks to confirm the bed as the letter mention Dr Adrian had booked 4-bedded for me. but hor the weird thing is Dr Adrian nv ask me which hosp and what bed i prefer leh... den my last week appt(36week) he sudden asked me which hosp i want den i told him tmc lor and already received the confirm letter. but he nv say anything liao leh..
He haven't give me any admission letter yet..
will see him next thurs night.. anyone seeing him on thurs too?

Hi Hi ...

KK, congrats ... ur darling bb gal so adorable, plus gd appetite too ya ... ;) Btw, is your PD Dr Ong EK of TMC? or you've chose another PD for future consultation?

Update: Just had my 34wk check up few days back, bb boy is a whopping 2.56kg ;P ... so no choice, I'm scheduled for Ceasarean on 19 May (37wk) liao! But, Dr did mention I've to be prepared tat waterbag may still burst earlier then my scheduled ops date. Can't join all of u in June's delivery liao ...
kao_embarrassed.gif

I'm working like there's no tmr, so worried bb may pop anytime ...

kite, ur appt with Dr YC is this Sat right?

Do any of you know if Metro or Robinson is having sale soon?

Carebear,
how come you hv to schedule c-sect on 17may? well u can still join us in this june thread... dun worry... everything will go on fine for you..

celeste,

Haha, my girl can wake up three times a nite to drink. Around 3 am she will sleep till 7 am in the morning like today. We shut off the bb monitor last nite, and it was so peaceful..but then, i had serious engorgement on my right!! So have to wake up twice to express milk
Wah, really horrible feeling!

Yes, she poo immediately after drinking BM!

Carebear,

Oh yes, the PD is Dr Ong EK from TMC. How u get to know him?? He is a very nice guy
My girl going to see him for follow up today
Hmmm, still not decided whether to get another PD. I heard that for normal vaccinations, it is definitely cheaper to go to normal clinics. Hmm, and it is quite a distance from sengkang to TMC. So see how. What abt u? Engage any PD?

Spicegal,

I really hope my tummy goes down fast. Sigh.. now still like having another one inside hehee.. I am getting hubby to buy me another binder today from TMC.

My legs are now more swollen than before!!! U can never imagine that pair of pig trotters. My hubby ask me want to take photo or not hahaha..

Morning Mummies!

KK, you are certainly up early! :)

Carebear,

Eh, how come you need a C-section? 2+kg should be considered as normal weight for a newborn, isn't it? Yea, I have been working like crazy, worrying that the baby will pop out sooner than expected.

osakan, u so lucky that u dun have backache.. it's really terrible.. but the strange part for me is my backache usually near to "b" side, haha.. maybe my "b" heavier than tummy??

serene, yeah, agree with osakan, u might want to chk with dr whether ur bb head is engaged.. i oso suspect that for myself cos my pelvic bone is painful when i walk.. so going to c gynae this wk to cfm..

KK, have u done ur malay wrap?? any results??? Btw, chk with u.. saw that ur bill got rental of equipment of S$270. is it the "b" pump? if so, hmm.. maybe i shd buy 1 now..

Celestblur,
Your URL...really make me laugh, I think my colleagues must be thinking that I'm mad, laughing in front of my PC so early.

Hi Lok, thanks for the info on Ameda pump. The pr at BMSG doesnt include the cooler bag and free gifts. The cooler bag alone already costs $105 in Singapore so that is why we r thinking of whether we should get fr US instead.

Celk, I didnt let him sleep in aircon. In the hospital, when we brought him into the aircon room, we noticed that he trembled. So i think must be cold. We had to adjust temperature upwards. I dont think i will let my no2 sleep the whole nite in aircon at least for 2-3 weeks. Let her build up her fat reserves first.

Hazel, I'll be seeing him on 11th instead. I think yours in now in 2 weeks interval instead of 3 right? Mine is still 3.

Carebear, u mean your bb is big that is why u need c-section?

peng, i also have bad backache! feels so sian. For me, only way to relief the pain is to lie down sideways

serene, i also have water retention. I could feel my left leg tensing up at times. But i'm praying hard it wont be as bad as my no1. Previously, my leg swelled to double their usual size! i had to wear size 7 shoes instead of my normal size 5!

kk, strange... how come your legs are swollen now? should be the reverse i thought.

okasan,celeste,serene,
did u all ask Adrian if what postion bb is in? i forgot to ask him the last time round.

kk,
I heard from my fren that bb drinking breast milk poo very often, a few times a day huh? So u let her wear disposable diaper yah?

PD Ong EK good huh? Can share with us his charges. I was thinking to go to my nearby PD, Kidslink Clinic CCK for the follow up appt.

How come during confinement the feets more swollen? I'm already quite swollen now...thought it will goes off after given birth???

tinklebell,
Sometimes when the backache is so bad, even lie sideway also dun feel good, i always need my hubby to massage to feel better.

My appt is still 3 wks interval. I'm still squeezing in my size 5-6 shoe. During last appt, i asked Adrian if my baby's head is down, he says yes but told me at this moment is not stable, there is possibility that he might turn again... Has to wait till week 37 onwards to confirm the permanent position of baby.

carebear29,
2.56kg is considered big and has to go for c-sect? hmm....??? Is it due to position of baby or your size frame is small?

tinklebell, if u don't choose, they will assign.

carebear29, perhaps 2.56kg is considered big? I looked at babycenter fetal growth chart for American babies --- 2.56kg is more like 35.5 weeks. Have faith in YC. Think she's good, will be seeing her this afternoon.

Thanks Lok/ Serene! hmm...oic ... i'm not too particular abt wh PD my bb goes to. It's more for the hearing tests and APAR scoring right?

tinklebell,

The hearing test will be done in hospital. What is APAR scoring?

For PD, convenient/location is one important consideration. Also it's important too for future follow up. One of my galfren told me she brought her son (4 mths old) to a PD in Jurong Point, she told me very lousy, the PD didn't even ask much, so her son didn't recover, ended up still goes back to the 1st PD that assigned to her in Gleneagles but very expensive lor, no choice, most important is baby recovers fast.

serene...sorry, spell wrongly. Sd be Apgar scoring. It;s some scoring system for new borns on their

A -Activity (Muscle tone)
P -Pulse (heart rate)
G -Grimace (response to smell or foot slap)
A -Appearance
R- Respiration

The higher the score, the better.

I hate it when the kids fall sick (touchwood)
So far my boy boy has only seen a PD once when he had v high fever. Other than that, his daddy will attend to him.

No problem, tinklebell. Here's what my gynae said in choice of PD: BB has to be checked by a PD at birth and on the 1st few days of life. Some considerations includes: Do u wish to see a doctor whose clinic is at TMC? Someone whose clinic is located near your residence? Someone whom your friends highly recommended? Then her nurses gave me a list of PD to choose from. Just type them out for everyone's reference:

1. Dr Ong Eng Keow (TMC, Mt A, AMK Town Centre)
2. Dr Ang Ai Tin (TMC, level 3)
3. Dr Ang Poon Liat (TMC, level 3)
4. Dr Keoy Soo Shin (TMC level 3 & Bishan St. 24)
5. Dr Winston Ng (CCK ave 4)
6. Dr Heng Joo Teck (Jurong East St.13)
7. Dr Yvonne See (Clementi Arcade, Sunset Way)
8. Dr Loke Hing Leng (Tampines St. 81)
9. Dr Anthony Chee (Hougang Ave 5)
10. Dr Lilian Lim (Rivervale Mall)

I will be choosing Dr Ong EK cos a lot of good reviews abt him and his clinics are all near my place.

Tinklebell,

OIC, Now there such a test, Apgar....
Ya true, when kids fell sick, it's very stressing! I recalled my nephew fall sick very often and my mum so poor thing looking after him..very stressed.

Hi Lok,
I am delivering in Gleneagles, can I choose Dr Ong EK? Will he go to Gleneagles? I want to find one that I will go to in future and I am staying near AMK

Carebear

thot we can deliver on the same day cos our EDD the same on 10-Jun...ur bb boy is now 2.56kg still got a few wks to go so maybe your gynae suggest c-section cos your boy will still grow. Don't worry about the op, at least u can see ur bb earlier.

As of wk 33+ my boy weigh 2.11kg, doc also said slightly on the big side. but she didn't said cannot try natural cos she is against c-section. will be seeing her again next thur 4-may. Doc also give me admission letter & recommend PD Dr Ang AT for me.
412261.gif

Sorry, dunno the answer to your question. Perhaps check with your gynae or gleneagles or even give Dr Ong a call?

lyn
Actually u can take a PD from Gleneagles during yr stay in hospital. Then after, you can go to Dr Ong EK for follow up appts. I prob take whatever PD that my gynae recommend or hospital choose for me, then after i will go to Winston Ng for the future follow up appt cos he's near my resident.

KK,

Hmm, are there anything else that we should stock up for confinement and baby (beside those list of items and herbs posted on this thread) based on your experiences now that you have given birth?

Any one can advise me how BH contractions feel like huh? I have been getting slight pain in my lower tummy since yesterday on and off...its not stomachache kind of pain...neither is it mensus cramp kind of pain..

Thats exactly what I hv observed too... most mummies starting to pop 1 or 2 weeks before their EDD. To think of it, kinda scary hor !!

412343.gif
What are Braxton Hicks contractions?

Sometime towards the middle of your pregnancy (or even earlier), you may notice the muscles of your uterus tightening for anywhere from 30 to 60 seconds. Not all women feel these random, usually painless contractions, which get their name from John Braxton Hicks, an English doctor who first described them in 1872.

Doctors and midwives believe that Braxton Hicks contractions are part of your body getting ready for labour, and that they get the processes of effacement and dilation going in preparation for delivery. (This is called 'ripening'.)

412345.gif
How can I tell the difference between Braxton Hicks and real labour contractions?

Most women pregnant for the first time will often ask their midwives or friends this question, and the answer is maddeningly vague: "You'll know real labour when it begins." And they're right. Labour contractions are noticeably longer as well as more regular, frequent, and painful than Braxton Hicks contractions. Also, labour pains will increase in frequency, duration, and intensity as time goes on, while Braxton Hicks remain unpredictable and non-rhythmic.

412346.gif
What if the Braxton Hicks contractions become painful?

As your pregnancy progresses, these contractions may become more intense and even painful at times. When they start to become more intense and frequent, they may feel like the real thing, but the contractions will still be irregular in intensity, frequency, and duration, and can taper off and then disappear altogether. In other words, if you ever notice that your contractions are easing up in any way, they are probably Braxton Hicks.

Some healthcare professionals recommend that you use Braxton Hicks contractions as an opportunity to practise the breathing exercises you'll learn in your antenatal class.

412347.gif
What should I do if they're uncomfortable?

Many women notice that the contractions come more frequently when they do even light physical activity, such as carrying in shopping from the car. If you feel discomfort, it sometimes helps to lie down, or, conversely, to get up and take a walk, both of which can ease any pain you feel. A warm bath sometimes helps, too. Some healthcare professionals recommend drinking a couple of glasses of water if the contractions bother you as they can sometimes be brought on by dehydration. In general, a lack of adequate fluids tends to make your uterus more irritable - another of the many reasons to drink plenty of fluids while you're pregnant.

412348.gif
When should I call my doctor or midwife?

Call if your contractions are accompanied by watery or bloody vaginal discharge. Until you reach term (37 weeks gestation), call your midwife if the contractions are accompanied by lower back pain, if you feel more than three contractions an hour, or if they're coming at regular intervals; these are signs of premature labour. If you're past 37 weeks, there's no need to call your midwife until your contractions last 60 seconds each and are five minutes apart.

412344.gif

lyn,
wow thats really fast leh... am also assuming mine will be 2 weeks early. will be seeing my gynae this sat & see if he says anything or not.

Okasan/Paula: Just read from other thread that u are considering Pine Gdn for cakes !
I also got my wedding cake from there, very very good.
Have they reverted if they can do first mth packages ?

Spicy:
hmm think i wont be getting e metro pyjamas since material warm, wil lookout ard neighbourhood, plus cheaper
tks. hmm besides at hospital, where can i get e tummy binder? issit really neccessary? really helpful ah?

Carebear29:
Wow! Feel excited for you ur bb coming out soon! Wish u wil hv a smooth delivery. Dr. YC planning to do a c-sect on ur bb ah on a fri ah, guess ur bb boy too big or other reasons thats y she suggest c-sect rite since u are petite too? how much wght hv u gained in total? i know we have e same pre-pregnancy weight (mine fr 43kg to 53kg now)
Yes my appt w Dr. YC wil be tis sat. Btw hv u done any swap test b4 for Group b strep? When is ur next appt?

Lok:
hehe yes. Me, you and Carebear29 seeing e same gynac, Dr. YC. I quite like her style, very organised n caring. Heard her stitches are very well done! Dr. YC did recommend me a list of PDs and she told me those PDs are her frens n are reliable.
But i dunno which one to choose, most probably wil choose a one near my hse but of coz must be gd. But i trust Dr. YC based on her list.

kite, yup yup. U know what, she told me the irony for me is that I will probably have a painful recovery assuming natural delivery(not from the stitches but from the serious haemorrhoids I have now!).