(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Celeste, MOAP,

Adrian also didn't ask me which hospital i want to deliver and i didn't book ward yet.

Celeste,

How much does TMC's 4 bedded charge? I'm still thinking whether to book 1 or 2 bedded?

I do have many pass down long pant sets, some seems quite thick, so wondering whether got chance to wear cos most probably i will not be letting my baby sleep with aircon.

Serene,
U can refer to this URL, but it does not include ur gynae's delivery fees yet

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/F_C_maternity.htm

serene, so ur edd is also close to okasan, starfish and mine... hee... maybe we will see each other in the wards and our bbs will get to know each other in the nursery
Adrian will panick if we go into labour on the same day :p So far, Adrian only asks me wh hospital i want to deliver in but not the bedder. Must choose now?

Morning ladies

Hi Tinklebell,
Thanks for sharing all the info. Yeah, think it's quite worthwhile getting from US. However, am not sure if the exchange will remain as low.

When do you think you'll be getting one?

ms piggy, ya lor, exchange rate is difficult to predict. u can change the exchange rate in the spreadsheet using your own assumptions. i suppose if u want to get, get it soon. i donno how long the postage will take. 2-3 weeks? when u due? i hope to have it ready by early June just in case i pop early

Celeste,

tinklebell,
Ya rite, Adrian will be busy during this 1-2 wks in June...not forgetting his other patients who are not known here... :p Wonder among us, who will pop 1st....
Have u thought of a name for your girl? Is easier to find names for girl than boy! I've only found 1 chinese and 1 christian name that i like. I find it hard to seach for names for boy leh! So far only satisfied with the only one i had...not sure if i want to check with fortune teller whether the chinese name i've chosen is good. Yet, i didn't want him to change much on the name i've chosen cos the character i chosen has the meaning i wanted it to be...no meaning liao if the fortune teller changed it. Unless, he can offer better names than mine...

Serene, yap, we thought of a name for her already. Most likely Fiona Lee Zi1-Qi2. But havent cleared the chinese name with my in laws. Hopefully ok lor.

tinklebell,
Nice name! That's why i say easier to find a name for girl than boy. So many nice names and nice clothings etc for girls....
The chinese name i've thought for my boy is Leong Rae Jun (Liang1 Rui4 Jun4).

Morning Ladies!!

Pretty happy! Managed to express 100 ml of milk this morning
Wonder whether today "super productive" or is it because yesterday battery flat so less effective in pumping haha. Changed batteries and today the pump works even better than before.

Thanks for all birthday wishes!

Serene,

no no.. i didn't buy long rompers, etc for my bb. I dun like them myself haha.

Hmm, i settle with the fortune teller and let u know.

Paula and Tinklebell,

Yup, i bought my medela pump from TMC. Around $179. I heard from colleague that KKH is cheaper, around $149 maybe. It is a single pump. Ya, it does produce some noise.

Celeste Blur,

it is already very good that u wake up twice to go to toilet at nite. In the past one week or so before my delivery, i actually went to the toilet once per 1-2 hours!! Wake up go to work like zombie.

Okipoki,

Haha, i haven't tried bathing bb yet. In fact i dun do feeding at the moment too. I am waiting for my c sec wound to fully heal first, before i try to do "daring" stuff haha.

Hi Tinklebell,
my EDD is 25 June. Nice name for your princess.
I still clueless abt my baby name, especially chinese name. *headache*

Hi kk,
well done for your milk flow! Hope mine will be the same as you.

Also happy birthday in advance

serene/ ms piggy, ya lor, finding the chinese name is a headache
i looked thru chinese name books but not much inspiration fr there. then i went to search the internet... finally found some words to piece together lor. Her name is supposed to mean Graceful and intelligent...err ... according to the webpage but i think i better search the dictionary to confirm the meaning.

kk:
Oic. e mat w cartoon looks very cute. cos the mat i bot is pigeon blue color one. but u let bb slp on e mat, wil it be warm for her? Ya the blanket thats come w e bolster matching set, also cute, looks lovely. but while she is slping, cannot place bolster rite? I can see u use cloth nappy for her head rite?

Eh i m not sure can use flash. but maybe while she is slping, can use flash, if she opens her flash, but off e flash
Same here, i hv e same red tub as urs as Jia zhuang

Btw i hv yet to buy pjyamas. U bot fr metro rite? which brand, price? i intend to go metro tonite to take a look. free size or got sizes? got neighbourhood one free size, scare too big for my petite size.

As for disposable panties, i bot 2 packs fr JL. I bot the maternity panties, now abit regret cos looks big n afraid like it wil drop off LOL. u?

Wow Happy Birthday to u in advance!
U better dun bath bb at tis moment. Just concentrate on expressing n rest well. after confinement over, then u learn how to bath bb.

Mummies:
btw i jot down my weight n tummy size wkly onto Spring Preg journal. as well as wkly updates on wat happened.
after that, wil pass tis journal to my bb when she grows up for memory

usually when u al boil red dates drink, how much cup of water n red dates u use for boiling? i wil take out e seeds so that it wont be tat heaty.

Pebbles:
wow how to boil e papaya soup? w fish? difficult to prepare?

kk,
Well done for the job! Must be confident with yourself and sure you can do it, more and more sucessful with breastfeeding.

Btw, is the medela electric pump effective, easy to use? Fast? I already bought the AVENT manual pump...wonder if i will regret. Many told me manual will take long time and hands tiring! Wonder if the manual pump is slower, will it end up getting very little milk or not...I mean not as stimulating as the electric one....

Hi Tinklebell,
which chinese name website did you go to? i seriously need help for chinese names.

Hi Serene,
I also have a Avent manual pump from my SIL. Will try using it first, if milk flow is good will get the Ameda electric pump as I hope to bf till baby is 6 mth old.

Paula:
hehe me too gg to give her as a gift but dunno at which age cos i want her to understand mummy's pregnancy. hehe. Also me wil print out my preg photos n paste onto e journal. i hv also yet to scan bb's ultrasound photos n paste onto journal. wil do it soon

serene, dont worry, i'm sure milk will come ... just think of your bb and i'm sure there will be flow
actually i have 1 manual pump and 1 electric pump at home already. Last time i donno there r other good pumps ard so just anyhow buy during sale. Besides, i didnt think i will bf for more than 3 mths. The electric pump i have is a German brand and not sold retail here (got it at a warehouse sale for less than $20 - cheap right?) and it worked alright! served me well for more than 1 mth! Just that it is noisy lor. Then i bought Avent wh is more expensive ... also worked well leh... only thing was i was very rough in handling and the cover kept falling off. Now my hands itchy leh, want to get a third pump it gotta be a dual pump cos i hope to cut down on the time to express milk. Hopefully, this will encourage me to bf as long as possible.

mspiggy
Ya rite, since i've already bought it, might as well just make do with it n hope it works well. If there's a need to get the electric one later on, i will buy it.

tinklebell,
It's good to be pro breastfeeding. U r positive. I also hope to BF my son until 6 mths old but i had to see the situation then, also my working environment...

Serene,
Haha...not forgetting me...my EDD is 20th June also quite close....cannot imagine how busy Adrian will be during June...*lol*

kk,
so far most of the nites i only wake up once to go toilet everynite....and i was still hoping it will stay that way...haha...but these few days felt that bb starting to press on bladder liowz...so seems to have increased my toilet visits....*sigh*

kk..happy birthday in advance...can celebrate your bday with your gal liao..so nice...my EDD is 1 mth earlier than me and hb's bday (me and my hb's bday is 1 week apart in Jul)

so nice you have no problems with your BF...i also hope i will have no problems with mine...

spicegal,

Actually most of the time i express my milk, rather than direct latch on. So far so good
But my bb pretty big drinker, so far she is taking 80-90 ml of milk liao. So if i maintain my milk supply, like this morning (100 ml), i would be able to feed her totally with BM. Else got to supplement with FM else she gets hungrily and would cry to seek attention heee..

Serene,

I heard my colleague mention her sis bought avent manual pump and it is very tiring! Haha.. so in the end she borrowed the medela pump from my colleague.

Medela pump very useful and easy to use. Hmm, i dunno considered fast or slow. I took around 30 min to express 100 ml of milk this morning. Of course i do it leisurely on the bed lah haha..

long time no talk. My colleagues and boss just bought us the medela PIS. Seems quite good butof course havenot tried it out yet. waiting to give birth. It does make some noise but not too loud when we tested it.

kk..my gal fren who is due in May told me now when she squeeze her breast she got colostrum coming out...but when i tried to squeeze mine..nothing flows out leh..is it normal?

Kite,

My gynae clinic gave me a friso journal. Very nice
But then it came a bit too late. By then i dun remember what i experienced in earlier stage of pregnancy liao haha..

For the mat.. if u buy those with lots of small "bubbles", it will not be warm. Hmm, moreover bb is wearing just normal short sleeved thin rompers and the fan is blowing indirectly in the room, it will not be so warm for her

We didn't let her sleep pillow as we want her head to turn from side to side on her own so that her head will be round
If she sleep on pillow, she has tendency to sleep on her right side and won't turn to the other. Like tat over time, the right side of head will be flatter :p

We put bolster on her to give her the sense of security
ANd it also prevents her from totally flipping over.

Wah sai, me opposite leh. I bought M size disposable panties from NTUC and so small on me!!!! HAHA! Luckily my mum bought some XL for me, Hmmm, i think they are big lah, but i can always wear them loose. I clamp the panty with my binder then won't drop off liao lor hahaha..

Yup, i bought pyjamas (karmy brand) from metro. I bought 4 that time. I think 4 is enough for me. Pretty comfy. Ya, they come in free size. With pockets too

But actually hor, i dun really need button front pyjamas at home. I express my milk in the bedroom and normally i just undressed because it is really hot with all the pumping action going on. HAHA! But u definitely need those pyjamas during ur hospital stay.

I think my hubby will be more expert than me in taking care of bb after confinement. He now sometimes feeds the bb when mil is busy

Spicegal,

I did hear from pple that in the last stage of pregnancy, if squeeze will get colostrum. But i didn't try it on myself, so i dunno i have or not haha.. its normal lah. No need to purposely go and squeeze and see u got milk or not heeee.. everything will come naturally. I am really amazed by human nature.

kk, how much wt did u lose straight after delivery?

hee ...i saw a thread on bulk purchase of OTO Trimax... donno if it is good ...very tempted to get

Celeste,
Ya, our EDD are close.

kk,
30 mins to express 100ml? I thought for electric pump, should be faster....can't imagine manual pump's ability.....dun tell me take 1 hr to express 100ml!!!!
Is the electric pump really so noisy or acceptable?

spicegal,
I tried to massage n squeeze my breasts too, also nothing. Maybe still too early huh? I recalled that the nurse told me that we will produce colostrum in the later stage of 3rd trim, maybe around 36th week onwards.

Kite,

Its so fun creating a baby journal I did a family tree too so that she would know who her great grandparents, cousins, uncles and aunties are I also wrote about our preparation for her arrival and how her daddy keep on missing out on our trips to the hospital as well as the places that Ive brought her when she was in my womb.

Spicegal,

Thought we will only start producing colostrums after we have given birth?

Serene,

I do it at my own sweet time.. i dunno leh, i always think expressing milk can be pretty time consuming. Now i feel like i am a cow
Doing nothing but producing milk when the time strikes.

Hey, u know, if u let the bb latch on for direct BF, the bb can take more than 1 hour!! Because they suck, sleep, suck, sleep hahaha.. then u have to wait for them to sleep, wake up then suck again :p

My girl very funny. Yesterday her daddy feed her. Then halfway through, she is searching for nipples hahahahaa.. then she mistaken daddy's nipples as my nipples. How smart! I only BF her so far 4-5 times in TMC after delivery.

Tinklebell,

Oops, u remind me of that.. i should have weighed myself. But i dun think i slim down a lot? Because my tummy still so big
It is like carrying another one inside for 5-6 mths already.

kk,
Agreed with you, i won't let my bb sleep on pillow too, cos i dun want him to have flatted head! Am sure with those pumping action sure will be very hot, can't imagine using manual, sure more jialut! Good that your hubby is a great help. That's important support to the wife.

Thanks for the info gals...yah maybe still too early for colostrum cos i am only 32 weeks..

kk..i also bought karmy brand pajamas...very comfy but some material can be very hot...so far i only bought 2..maybe will buy another 2 for confinement wear..

spicegal,
I can imagine by the time 37 weeks or 38 weeks prob will wake up 3 times to visit the toilet every nite...*faint*
I tried to squeeze mine and nowadays it comes out with transparent liquid with some yellowish liquid within the transparent liquid....i tink shld be colostrum bah...

But anyway i read b4 that breastmilk comes naturally one...irregardless of whether there's colostrum anot

kk,
mabbe u can use the journal and start logging ur ger's activities from the day she was born

kk..dun worry...BF will make you slim down quite fast...so far my colleagues have shown good example...some of them after their ML look like never give birth before..my colleague say when you EBM, you can feel your uterus contracting..

just have to strap on the tummy binder and your tummy will reduce liao..

kk,
They way u describe yrself as 'cow' so cute!
Well, for sake of our bb, cow or goat also nevermind....as long as we see our bb enjoys the milk and growing well n healthy everyday....
Babies now are smart! I've been told that BF requires alot of patience.
Dun worry kk, not so fast to loose the tummy, now maybe got air and water retention so tummy still big, takes time.

U were saying the fortune teller has a shop in Bt Panjang, may i know the location?

celeste,
Like u, i also wake up about 1, the most 2 times to go loo in middle of nite and hope, it doesn't increase the times. I'm a very lazy person, hates to wake up in middle of nite. Sometimes, i endure, i know it's no good, but just too lazy to get up! :p Oh btw, i sleeps at very late hour, 12plus, so before i go to bed, already go toilet a few times to empty my bladder dry!

tinklebell,
thanks for the website on names.

yah Celeste..its colostrum no doubt..if wake up so many times at night...jia luck ah...how to sleep properly like that..sometimes i also scared i groggy groggy later fall down..haha

serene,

Yes, i am glad my hubby is helping out this week as he is on leave.. really appreciate that! he always prepares for my hot massage before i start to express my milk *grinzz*

Hmm, location for fortune teller.. tell u later after we found out :p

Haha, i told my hubby we are a family of cows.. i am a taurean.. bb is a taurean.. and hubby is borned in year of cow heeee..

Spicegal,

Ya, some pyjamas material pretty thick i think. But well, i think i wear anything also same.. sweat and sweat and sweat

hi kite

Sob sob, betta not envy me, I can only express an average of 50 ml instead of 200ml every 2-3 hours after my flu and I oso gong gong use cold pad to ease my engorgement a few times.

Hi kk
Just boil papaya, fish bones with ginger for 1-2 hours. Drink e soup while it is hot cos fishy smell. Some people use pork ribs instead of fish bones (scared of fishy smell) but older people said that fish has more nutritional value. Some fishmonger will ask you to buy fish heads. YEEEEKS!!!!!!

I actually think expressing out is easier than baby latching on. Anyway I was coaxed by the nurse to latch on yesterday. The nurse said that my milk will get lesser if I always express. If I latch on directly, milk will increase gradually. Have u heard of this? Now I am still able to TBF since baby is only drinking 35ml. Cheers to moo moo cow club!!!!

pebbles,

Haha.. fish head?? I dunno what kind of fish TMC use. They use fish with payaya.. maybe with pork ribs too for the soup. The soup is so sweet!! Yummy!!

yes!! Expressing so much easier and at our own time own target and i think less strenuous on us and less time consuming too.

I heard latching on does help to maintain milk supply compared to expressing. But then if we express at regular intervals, i dun think it may turn out so bad lor.. but anyway, if my milk supply really runs out, then totally supplement with FM liao.

Haha, my bb drinking 80 ml.. how to TBF her? SHe will suck me dry hohooo..