(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Looks like most of us can take a bath or bite 1st b4 proceeding to hospital huh. I think maybe for 1st delivery, usually have ample time. My mum told me her experience when delivering my younger brother...her water bag burst at home, 1st time she experienced this cos for me and my sister is contraction pain. She rush to hospital, no time to go toilet liao, already dilated, soon less than 1 hr delivered my brother liao!

kk,
if seeing red then go hospital is when the water run dry liao... kinda dangerous leh. anyway, i hope everything is fine for me... well u still hv another day to go. hahaha excited hor.

Serene,

Seems like older generation can pop very fast! How come ah? Maybe because they do more manual and tedious work compared to us?

Okipoki,

Yah, excited and gan jiong leh! And more excited to know that in the may thread, other mummies are popping too!

okipoki

My cousin's 1st labour takes 15 hrs, 2nd one takes 6 hrs, she says the pain for 2nd labour was reduced by 1/2...so much easier! Yet, all these depends on individual. I have a gf, 1st labour takes 3 hrs.

kk,

I think 2nd labour and onwards will generally becomes easier and easier since the birth canal has already been 'open ceremony' before...hee. I always believe and forsee that 1st labour is definitely painful and take longer time! I'm getting myself prepared......so i will opt for epidural if i can go for normal birth.

Serene,

I always envy those mummies who have short labour periods for their 1st bb.

Last nite over the news, saw that one mummy gave birth in the ambulance. 40 minutes only! Dunno is it first child or not haha..

kk,

Ya lor, i also envy those mummies with short labour. Actually alot ppl says do some squating exercise or take many slow walks which helps in easier labour but when i asked my gynae, he says not true, not logical! So, for me, which day bb choose to come out is secondary, most impt is smooth/safe and short delivery. I think i'll talk to my son (tai jiao), request him to co-operate, have a smoother and fast delivery.

I'm Dec MTB. Juz want to consult if anybody knows where to buy the bra extension? I bought 1 pair at Metro - $2.90. It was put in a box at the cashier and I happened to see it & juz grapped 1 pair. But reached home, found out the bra extension (double hook) I bought, doesn't fit into my double hook triumph bra at all. Why like that hah? I thought shld be able to fit.

Thanks for your help

kk,

Btw, my gynae says drinking whatever tea or coconut drink also won't proof a shorter labour...but of cos, no harm trying. Usually for things that doesn't cause any harm, we will try yah. So though he says slow walk, light exercise won't help but i think i will still do it...

Hi Serene,

Ya, i also talk to my bb girl these few days. I tell her when friday comes, she pop out fast and play. Dun play inside tummy anymore haha.. because everyone wants to see her. She come out, mummy and daddy play with her :p

My SIL also asked me to take lots of walk. I told her in school, i already walk here walk there and climb up and down the stairs. If still doesn't help, there is nothing i can do liao.

serene,

drinking coconut shorter labour?? i only heard that drinking coconut cleanses the bb. Some say prevent jaundice. My hubby is buying another coconut for me tonite.

Oh, raspberry tea? Dunno leh, initially wanted to drink. But now no need liao, since only 2 days away hahaa.. think i drink pails of it also no use liao.

Those interested in the category "simply chocolates" for sweet surprises, there is no customized postcard because the postcard is too big to be squeezed into the bag.

Hmmm, i may now look into options from treasure box. Cheaper and sweet too.

Yep, I've made up mind to go with Sweet Surprises and am thinking of checking with them if they could replace the milk chocolate bars with (1) rasins and (2) nuts.

hi hi... wow... baby bonus $3K... so happy... this is payment in cash hor?

yesterday, went to PP complex, got 2 open front dress PJ... cartoon ones... quite cute. i am thinking of packing 3 PJs to the hospital.

very happy... confirmed my maid yesterday. plan to have her arrive before i deliver. hee hee... she can bake and do manicure. a plus. also willing to look after bb and work 2 houses.

any mummies thinking of sending out birth arrival cards to frens and relatives? checked with a printing company, will cost us $1.20 per pc, printing with 3 folds, color, landscape, the cover can insert bb photo. thinking of getting this to announce bb's arrival.
any recommendations of good website with nice art work?

these few days, back ache quite bad... lower back, right side. trying to sleep on my left, but bb dun like leh...

Amy,

i am also bring 3 PJs to the hospital

Oh, my brother's maid also know how to do manicure. And she does very nice manicure and pedicure!! But she is pretty weak in cooking heeee.. my mum does all the cooking.

kk,

That's nice, i think baby can hear us. Welcome her, tell her everything is ready, everyone is waiting to see her and daddy n mummy love her very much.... Tell her come out quick on fri...

It's true, if you had already walk alot, i think let's keep our finger crossed, hope for the best, also hope yr gal co-operate.

kk,
True, now for you only 2 days to go, drink whatever also no use liao...just relax. Btw, how u know u gonna deliver on fri? U going for induce?

kk, ya... i think 3 sets of PJ should be fine.

i also that mummies who exercise (walk, swim) regularly have a fast and short delivery.
maybe can do squats and walks at home... 2 more days to the big day.

i hope my new maid can cook, as she claimed she is a good cook. also, looking forward to having freshly baked muffins...

kk, you getting a CL?

oh no wonder, i thought how come u know is this friday. My gf went for induce becos her baby is term and also her blood pressure rised, doctor says dun want to risk, so induce, anyway baby is term. She admitted 12MN, to save a day's charge, forgot what time she starts to go on drip, but she told me the real contraction only comes around 7am the next morning, she then delivered her baby at 10am. So her labour pain only 3 hrs! Good hor? She actually wanted to endure w/o epidural but later the pain gets stronger, she worried she would not have strength to push so opt for it last min.

How many weeks u r now? Where you delivering?

Serene, wow, you gf so good... short labour. another gf of mine, admitted 9 am for induce, started induction at 11 am, delivered w/o epi at 2 pm.
How cool... i am sure we all can do it, natural delivery w/o epi...

Amy, aiya, u just reminded me that i havent called the maid agent. How long the new maid takes to come? i'm thinking of getting her in during the 3rd week of my confinement.

Amy,

Wow.. envy! i think the cervix dilated really fast, so the hospital might as well do without epidural for ur gf.

I also heard horrid stories about maid. Try to monitor closely ya? Of course, there are still a lot of maids who are pretty good
For my brother's maid, actually no complaints about her liao
She is friendly and nice

My MIL will be with me during confinement
Hope everything goes well as i have never stayed under one roof with her before heeee.. but of course, it saves me the trouble of engaging a CL.

Serene,

Oh, my induce reason exactly same as ur gf!

I am in my 38th week now and will be delivering at TMC

Okipoki,

I packed when i am in week 35 or so. Luckily i more or less pack liao, else i would be more stoned when my gynae told me about induce last sat hahha..

kk,
38th week is term already, no worries. How many bedded you book book @ TMC? U know that FBI has discount for ward yah?

okipoki,
To be kiasu, i suggest we can start pack 1 mth b4 EDD., should be sufficient time, then again, if since free, can start pack anytime now also.

serene,

Initially, i booked 2 bedder. But after reading TMC booklet that they send over, i realise that hubby can only stay over if i opt for single bedder. So i change to single bedder

i didn't sign up for FBI leh

tinklebell, according to my agent, need 3 - 4 weeks to process. i hope to have the maid arrive mid May, before i deliver, even though i also have a CL. now very troublesome, need to get beds and beddings for two - maid and CL.

i used a $1 agent, only paid $1 for agency fee, inclusive of bond protector and other stuff. i just need to pay maid bond $2100 upfront, and $30 for thumb printing. also requested for Hep B test, additional $15.

re packing of bag... hmm... maybe will start packing in week 35?

Amy, i got my bed sent in last week. We bought the 3-in-1 type. i think it is more practical. What's more, the mattress comes with 10 yr warranty. Wow! $2100 for maid loan? That's a lot!! I thought norm is $1500-$1800. so the loan has increased now.

hmmm .... i'm also wondering if i should get the maid to come earlier so that i dont need to do all the housework closer to delivery. but hubby doesnt quite like the idea. he rather send the clothes to the laundry and get pp to clean the house. i guess it's bec he wants to enjoy the last moments of privacy with us.

Amy, i FINALLY called the maid agent. He's quite a nice fellow to chat with regarding maid issues. He is charging $1800 and no agency fees. my friend also used him so i thought just give it a try. He said normally, if there r no problems, he can bring the maid in in 7 days... so if i need in end June, best thing to do now is to look thru the biodata first. he will mail me the biodata when the new batch comes.

Hmm..
406743.gif
all the talk abt hospital bag, i also haven't pack mine. Me now 32w 4d. Tmr going for check-up. Guess doc gonna scold me again..me now weigh 57kg. Hv gain 13kg...
406744.gif

I only get 2 sets of PJ for hospital. Should be enough, rite? Need to buy maternity pads...anyone knows which brand is good? Must buy disposable/cotoon panties too. What else?

panda,

haha, my gynae always commented on my weight whenever i go on my visits.

For maternity pads, i bought pureen. Only one packet. hopefully enough. Then recently, sofy 35 cm pads on offer at NTUC. So i bought 2 packets too.

kk,
i guess i should right just in case... also can see if anything i hv left out.

so far i only bought 1 pax of the maternity pad.. using kotex adhesive.

kk,
I think i will go for 1 bedded too cos i dun like to share with others, not convenient. Then also, my hubby can stay with me. If you have FBI card, you get one time $100 deduction for 1 bedded ward. TMC's one bedded is $350/nite yah? Actually i like the deluxe 1 bedded cos room bigger and nicer/newer leh but it costs $488/nite leh, $138 more than the normal 1 bedded, so expensive!

okipoki,
I'm at my 32nd week now, still haven't pack my bag, intend to do it end Apri or early May. My EDD is 12 June, still long way. Also, some of the daily items like my moisturiser, cosmetics, i still need to use it daily leh...hehe, me vain lah, still want to pack day/nite cream, cosmetics to hospital.

tinklebell, the maid loan is just upfront payment, and will be deducted from the maid's salary, hence it doesn't really affect me how much it is. For my agency, there is unlimited replacement for 2 years. what about yours? the reason for the 3-4 week wait is becos the maid will have to undergo training in the Phillipine prior to her departure, and when she arrives in Sing, the agency will also train her again.

And yes, you should start looking at the bio data... it took me 4-5 weeks of searching to find this maid. Been to many agencies, cos different agencies have different bio datas. i suggest you widen your search, in case your agency cannot provide you with a suitable maid that meets your expectations.

Try these sites: maidlibrary.com.sg, maidnet.com.sg. There are many good bio datas there.

Initially, we wanted the maid arrive mid June, halfway thru my confinement, as i have a CL. but hubby suggested better to come early, so she can settle in, else will be stressed, teaching her, having the CL, and baby all in one...

kk,

Last sunday, my hubby strike 4D for our ROM cert no. but is starter so only won $500...so little, if 1st prize, then I sure book the Duluxe 1 bedded... ;p

serene, wow... so lucky wah... i also booked 1 bedder at Raffles. Cost me $1688. If require epi, another $300. Ha ha.. so better not request for epi...