(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

tinklebell,

u sure still got time to read mag meh unless u on epi lah...kekekek..

last year i was induce cause water bag leak..then they insert the pill into my v then in my heart i was thinking so that is contraction...very very mild oni.. from morning till 6pm... really nothing leh till they cum n put the drip to speed up the process ...what lau that one hor .. i was screaming like siao zha mo.... kekekek

moap, haha... i was ok leh... can read newspaper and watch tv until the contractions came ... called for epi earlier on even b4 contractions but anes said she needed to wait for blood test results bec i had HDP **Fainted** after epi, i was ok again and cont watching my TV.
u never take epi is it? hee hee i not so brave lah.
actually the worst part of my labour process is waiting for the lousy anes to administer the epi into the spine...she lousy lah..did it 5 times and failed
was so angry and wanted to scream at her!!!!

celeste blur,

heee.. that's what i was thinking.. so i intend to get the chocolates from sweet surprises and let my guests bring them home after attending the buffet. It would be a nice gift for them

MOAP,

my colleague tell me to bring magazines too! She say she waited long after her water bag burst on induce. i dunno i have mood to read or not hahahaa... i think i won't even know if i hold the mag upside down :p

Guess wat.. my gynae already suggested drip. He didn't mention anything about pill leh.

Were u on epidural?

Wow, ur hubby know how to cook zhu jiao cu??

Serene,

Actually not all distribute first mth cakes nowadays, depend on how traditional parents are lor. For my in laws, sure they give, cos i know my mil's pattern. That time wedding already know what's her thinking like hahaha..

Hi mum2be,

I bought disposable panties from NTUC. Those cheaper ones. Then my mum also bought some for me. From CK i think. I tried on and find them ok. I bought both M and L. I think should be fine lor.

tinklebell,
I hope my labour will be quick...if everything can chope chope finish within 6-7 hrs then gd! *lol*

MOAP,
They added something to the drip to make contractions faster? Thats why painful?

paula,

Does the soreness stay on?? Mine comes and goes. Like sharp pain... sometimes comes with the BH contractions.

Tinklebell,

Wow... tried 5 times?? Not painful ah?

I am doing headcount for buffet and the chocolate order hahaha... something to look forward to.. else i keep thinking of the pain i will need to go through on friday

kk,
that a gd idea
Hehe, me thinking if i shld DIY myself...wondering got energy to DIY during confinement boh...*lol*...cos for chocs quite easy, we juz printout the labels and change the chocs label...*hiak hiak*
Tat time there was once me and hb attended his colleague's bb full-mth party...the buffet like not much food left...haha...then he gave us the full-mth cake instead...*lol*

tinklebell,
got 2nd child u can get more rite? $3k in cash and if u open a savings account for ur bb and put in 3k, govt will topup another 3k? Like that can use the 6k for childcare fees next time...hehe...

celeste blur,

got lah.. i think should have lots of time during confinement.. can do while ur bb is asleep heeee..

u know, my HOD even ask me whether i can mark exam papers while on confinement??!! Even if i can, i won't hahahaa...

Another hubby's colleague bought rocher and give whole box to everyone together with his bb's photo
That's how we get the idea of distributing chocolates to friends and colleagues.

Oh yah for buffet, should we really order for the exact number of pple we headcount for? Or for e.g. if we think of 40 pple, we should just order for 35 or 30 pple instead? i dun wanna leftovers leh.

paula,

i dunno cervix has dilated or not.. because gynae never say anything, so i think not lor heee... i think it is due to pressure bb is pressing down, that's why.

celeste ...mine was 9 hrs, last 2 hrs most exciting! before that was bored until i had to watch the malay channel for entertainment.

To speed up contractions, they added oxytocin (not sure if my spelling is correct) to stimulate contractions of the uterus.

Paula,

ya i do feel it sore sometimes.

kk,

i am not on epi.. and my labour last 15hrs... if you are those scared of pain want then ask for epi lor..so that you can rest more and have more energy to push later.

Celeste,
the drip is called Oxytocin. it is used to stimulates uterine contraction causing the cervix to expand.

re: induce

my gynae too wana induce me last time for my boy cos he worried my boy distress. I was just in 37th week so was not prepared for it at all... anyway the contractions came fast and intense after he break my waterbag.... he had wanna put me on the induce drug but i guess he din... cos my cervix dilate fast enough.

I agree with tinklebell, i think even if u labour for a long time, its the boredom and being strapped to the bed that's the torture. Cos the really painful and intense contractions comes when your cervix dilate into the 5-8cm.. by that time if u try to relax, the whole process should be sped up and your pain will be minimised. I dun think the pain is equally intense throughout a 10 hour labour leh...

kk,
hehe...then maybe i wanna consider doing it DIY
Cos I think it will be fun. Maybe can add on a paper rose to each of the netted package with a bar of chocolate inside...
The paper roses mabbe i can start doing now...haha *lol*
Wah...u tell ur HOD u not free to mark lah....busy with bb....ur HOD power siah even confinement also want u to mark papers *faint*
For buffet, dont order exact...cos normally might not get 100% turnout. I tink if u have like 30pax, then u order food for 25pax safer
Minus off 5 pax bah

tinklebell,
aiyo...i tot hospital the tv got some basic scv channels? I cannot imagine myself watching malay channel for entertainment...*lol*

Tinklebell,

U are sooo brave!!! By the way, for ur induce, u use pill or drip? I learn from colleague that these are two different ways for induced labour. She used pill and it was a longg process. it was like 7 am to 7 pm for her.

celeste blur,

Not a bad idea leh.. at least u can keep urself occupied with things to do now and also during confinement heee... for me, i think i have to work from home during confinement. So may have less time than u :p Moreover, i am not the creative type, so if DIY, will end up horrible hahaha...

Yah lor, my HOD siao wan hahahaa.. males are unfeeling creatures haha.. even if i am devoted to work, i won't be devoted to such extent mah.

Hmm that's what i am thinking too. Minus off 5 guests for buffet order. More or less decided to book from continental delights liao. maybe going for the $12 per pax menu

Poohy,

ur gynae break water bag before wanting to insert induce pill?? I am thinking since i am having contractions so often now, will my labour process be shortened?

hi spicegal,
the felancy maternity panties is it diaposable or cotton ones?

thanks kk, all the best for Friday

so will u be opting for epidural?

wow, another active day here in this thread...been missing all the chat lately coz of work....

celeste,
the lady told me to apply stretchmark cream for another one month after delivery...maybe u can check the instruction givn for the cream that u are using loh....anyway, I sure have leftover cream after delivery, so no harm applying

lyn,
maybe not the OS or updates that caused the problem..u got troubleshoot the laptop hardware?

kk,
ha.. sama sama, i think i'll also opt for epi when my time comes
my friend said dr winston jong is a good anethesist (his jab doesn't hurt), but dunno if he can go to other hospital than mt.e

kk, donno leh.. the doc inserted a hook into the v and then break the waterbag. i really didnt feel anything when they break the waterbag, except for water gushing out. In my mind, I was feeling more disgusted having pp looking into that part so closely

All the pain is nothing compared with the torture of inserting the epi into the spine!!! aiyo... is a nightmare!!! u book any particular anes already? i am looking for a male one.

tinklebell,
u so funny....when doc break the water bag, u were having contractions? u can still feel disgusted?

actually as private patients, already not bad...my mum told me if we are subsidised patients at kkh, sometime, will have a few trainees looking into there leh..even more paisay...

hmm.. all these talks abt packing bags and epi makes me scared... haha.. seems like we r going to pop very soon..

btw, any1 knows whether we need to book our pedetrian/ bb dr (sorry dun noe how to spell hee hee...) b4 our due date in TMC?? tks alot

moap,
regardless which ward u choose at TMC, baby's clothes are provided on discharge..it's a gift from TMC....like what mrs wong say, it's like a trademark...*LOL*

Okasan,

Yah, what i heard was that KKH a lot of trainees!! And they always go on their rounds and ask silly questions. When my nephew was in KKH that time, i saw a few trainees walking around, asking the kids questions.

Peng,

I heard there is a very good PD at TMC. But not sure of the name. Anyway i leave this to them.

Tinklebell,

On sat when we requested for epidural, the gynae clinic sister asked which doctor.. hahaha.. then we blur dunno which doc also because no recommendation. So the sister just called TMC and ask them to arrange for one, that's all.

poohy,
when your hubby cut the cord for your #1...he must cut immediately? can delay a bit then cut? coz I also think it will be good to capture that moment by ttaking over the camera from hubby....but gynae will allow us to delay abit (taking over camera, aiming, etc will takes some time)?

kk,
ya, trainees asking questions are still ok...imagine the doc using your private parts as a teaching material to teach the trainees...that's disgusting and very paisay loh...

I just look at the list of PD in TMC that are under the FBI scheme one...dun know who is good leh....

mum2b,
after we deliver, will lose a bit of weight and tummy will be smaller too...so think can use those normal disposable panties liao...I bought those normal ones....

okasan, no no... when they break the water bag, i still wasnt having contractions... or maybe i didnt feel it? Every few hrs, one doc will come (sometimes not your gynae) to check for how much the cervix has dialated. They will put their fingers inside to check!

At kkh, even if u r subsidised patient, u can request not to be teaching material. Just need to voice that out. Yeeks! cant imagine so many pp looking there!

so no need to bring bb's clothes if we deliver at TMC...good

tinklebell,
I see..no wonder u can still be so conscious abt it....

ya, mrs wong further emphasize that we don't need to bring clothes for baby....initially I wanna buy a set of nice clothes for baby to wear home, then later, I thought what clothes are more unique then TMC's one since only TMC babies get to wear...any other clothes can be bought by anyone to wear...so in the end, I decide not to bring any clothes, and just let baby be a TMC baby for that day

re: baby name
if we do not intend to register baby's name at the hospital, we do not need to bring marriage cert right?

we only have 14 days to do the baby registration, right?

another question since toking abt baby bonus...

the Children Development Account (CDA) is only for 2nd child onwards? so first child only have the $3000 cash gift and no CDA?

okasan,

i heard registration is 1 mth now? We haven't confirm girl's name yet heeee.. dunno we want "shu ning" or "xin ning"... undecided...

anyone working at Tanjong Pgr? How to go SCGS from Tanjong Pgr/Shenton Way? Am wondering how to go for the talk after work? Anyone knows?
405982.gif

okasan, there r quite a few places where u can register bb's birth. U stay in the west right? Can go to NUH too. They have a booth for birth registration.

Yes first child only gets $3000. No CDA. Better than a few yrs back... i got nothing for 1st child then. But CDA can be used for approved expenses incurred by first child. We intending to use it for our boy's school fees. Hee hee ... jia you lor ... have 2nd one soon

tinklebell,
ya, I know can register at a few places...but am more worry abt finding a name for my baby coz we are still so clueless to what name to give...hehe....

ya, $3000 better than nothing...