(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Re: Breast Pump
Was advised not to purchase 2nd-hand breast pump becos not sure if the thing is 100% okies anot? I also donno...I bought a Avent manual pump first...if really decide to seriously breastfeed and EBM, then might get a better one

tinklebell,
dont know leh cos got a huge bottle then i store in the fridge lor. had brought some to office this morning....

tinklebell
Yes of cos! It's very irritating that the thighs rub against each other...and the weather is so hot, or rather my body is always so warm, perspire make it worst! My legs got tired easily too and backache!

Celeste
I bought the AVENT manual breast pump too. I heard good comments on the manual and moreover Avent is a good brand. The electronic type is too expensive. The only thing about manual is hands tired...

Serene,
But if u are working and seriously considering to EBM after u go back to work, then its best to get those electronic dual pump...because manual pump very slow and tiring, imagining during work u need to pump both sides might take a lot of time. I got the manual pump for use during ML stage, if seriously got enuff milkflow when going back to work i might invest in those medela mini electric dual pump bah

Hi, Linda,

Madam Rokini can be contacted at [email protected].

Her charges:

5 days = $300.
7days = $400
10days= $570
Package inclusive of massage oil, application of herbs and a binder. Per session
takes about 1hrs 15 mins and there is no hidden cost beside the package
The best time to start for normal deliveries is on the 3rd or 4th day after the deliveries.

hi paula,
my mum said bird nest can take till we delivered. dont have to stop... just have to stop taking tonic now. scared too heaty.

R we able to get the Avent storage milk bags from Kiddy Palace? There's 1 near my place. Dunno if i need it if i'm not gonna work straight after confinement? Izit necessary? :p

Hi pebbles, after reading your postings, I washed all my pajamas & nursing bras yesterday must complete packing asap! Keep us informed of bb devt.

Hi lyn, thanks for your info. Im worried if I get low-cut panties, it wont hold my maternity pads (which is long), and if I get the disposable cotton panties, it will land on my wound headache

Hi kim,
Pls do still bring your medication to check with your own gynae. My dermatologist specifically asked me if Im trying for pregnancy before he issued me the cream and told to stop once I get pregnant. Maybe my cream has higher content ba but better safe than sorry.

Hi kite,
Ahhh I forgot all about the PDs selection ok, will discuss with my hubby tonight. I may also consider the PDs in the TMC FB Incentive list. (Got discount leh.) No, I didnt get that handout from her yet. But, yes, think I will go for the Grp B Strep test as Ive read some articles on it. Cool! Ive also decided to sterilize my Avent ISIS Manual and pack it, cos I dont like to loan from TMC (I was told if you ask from them, they give you the old-fashioned syringe-form Kanesen pump). Exactly, I want to BF my bb colostrum or pump it out at least! Its supposed to be the most nutritious and contains the most antibodies! Btw, I drink a lot too, so also packing in one 1L distilled water heh in case at night thirsty dont need to wait for refill.

Celeste:
Yes, marriage cert is required or you can ask hubby to bring down on the day bb is discharged

kk:
Hereby wishing you a smooth delivery! Jia You!

Hi Kite,

Red star dim sum standard drop? No leh, we ate sooo much on sunday that we spent around $110 heeee... still considered reasonable for a table of 5 (plus 6 who is my bb girl haha). They have sooo many varieties of dim sum on that friday morning. Yummy!

Me using bb detergent powder to wash bb clothes too. Just managed to finish washing over the weekend after getting shock from gynea that i have to be induced this week haha.. i machine wash all the clothes. Put everything in laundry bag. Too lazy to hand wash liao.

Hi Celeste,

Oh, why induce.. because my blood pressure is a bit high, and the gynae say might as well take the bb out since already in 38th week and she is fit and healthy. WOuldn't want to drag further and put her at risk, rite?

Oh, my EDD is actually 1 may. So friday is actually only 10 days earlier than EDD

BTW, this is how the S$450 grant from the government works: S$450 could be used to subsidize our antenatal appointments. However, if we did not touch the amount, we can use it to offset our hospitalization stay. Which is what I did when I booked my hotel room in KKH last week.

Paula,

U dun intend to BF?

I heard from colleague that our breasts will be engorged until we feel very miserable leh. So even if dun BF, we still got to take the milk out??!!

Serene:
I bought the Avent ISIS UNO breast pump, can set the rhythm. It comes with 1 electronic pump and 1 manual pump. cos i intend to continue pump when i go back to work
But keep my fingers cross that i wil hv milk.

Carebear29:
me too, i hvnt shortlisted any PDs yet. Dr. YC gave me e list on my last appt at 27 wks. Oh ya, thanks for reminding me on the First Born Incentive card. I hv this card n wil browse through e list of PDs where can use tis card to enjoy discount
Eh may i know wat r u referring to 1L distilled water? dun really get it. hehe btw, my next appt shall be 29 apr. urs?

kk:
someone mentioned few days ago that Red Star's standard actually drop alot. Thats y find out fr u 1st else wil go on tis sat hehe
wow table of 5 for $110, reasonable. Tat time me n hubby eat at Allson hotel, already costs over $50. LOL 10 days earlier than ur EDD is normal. Quite okie.

Hi Kite,

Thought i can delay till next week, so that i can still spend one week with my students. But too bad, gynae dun want to delay. So today relief teacher came and i got to overwhelm him with instructions on what to do in my absence. Really paiseh

kk:
so u started taking MC or maternity leave liao?
well, heard that 1 of the induced reasons could be also ur placenta is matured n thats y bb need to be induced. Dont worry, enjoy these days b4 ur bb comes out
Try total relaxation.

allo ladies

405479.png

today got a lot to catch up. mayb everyone is gettin excited as the days get nearer n nearer. i hv yet to wash the clothes n book the massage lady though i m almost at the top of the pop list..haha. n hven even buy my bb cot n pack the bag... dun make me kang jiong lei. hehe

ask u gals, r we suppose to use the stretch cream after delivery?

pebbles
wohh.. ur milk supply is really good. keep it up. i hope mine will b the same. hohoho

paula
ya.. i think u still need the pads cos the milk will still leak. u need to pump them out to prevent engorgement too.

Paula,

I think we sitll hv to put on the breast pads after delivery coz i heard it will still leaks as well. It'll stop after awhile.

I heard from my fren that we will resume our norm menses ony after we stop breasfeeding? Not the blood tissues that we r clearing after delivery...if u know what i mean...Juz wanna reconfirm :D

Long time nv post liao..but i been reading all ur postings.hehe..our delivery date is getting near..me now 32weeks already.but i gain ard 3kg in 3weeks..tink my gynae going to scold me again tomorrow.me oso haven washed anything yet.was tinking of leaving it till end apr or may beginning.. :p anyway,its raining these few days so no point..
kite,

check with you har?how does the clip from ikea looks like? i got the avent milkbags to standby liao but dun koe use wat to fasten them..

anybody got pics to show?or where can i get in ikea?which dept etc?how much?

carebear29,

do u koe if Dr EK ONG is under the FBI?coz i oso wanna get a PD under the FBI pgm so tt can enjoy disc mah..haven flip thru the brochure yet when i signed up FBI tt time..

issit true that playpen as compared to bb cot, is not so good for bb's back? btw i bot the Bbsafe mattress for my playpen bassinet, heard this mattress's support is good enuff.

angeline
the ikea clip is bigger than the avent ones. comes in a pack of 25 or 30 with 2 sizes @ $5.90. go to the household section

Hi, KK,

Still deciding will have to seek further advices from my gynae. What I was told is that as long as there is no demand, there will be no supply. My N are already cracked and it hurts KK, are there any reasons behind the induced birth?

Hi, Dor, Linda,

Thanks will pack in a box of Pigeon Breast Pads too!

Hi, Angeline,

You can get the clips from the utensils department in Level 1.

Kite,

Hmm, gynae didn't mention about the placenta. But probably matured too since i am in my 38th week liao. Anything after 37 weeks is considered full term bb

I am taking MC now till thursday. In fact i am covered with MC today. Went back to school to settle some stuff. Haven't keyed in CA1 marks, so have to go back today. Tomorrow will have full rest today till thursday. Maternity leave starts friday. My school admin staff very good, teach me how to apply maternity leave without June being eaten up heee.. so i will be on maternity leave till 23 July

Paula:
perhaps u can buy Avent nipple cream to apply on ur sore n cracked nipples. I m using tis cream for my itchy nipple n its helps. also try not to use those body wash which causes dryness on ur nipple. try avoid applying bodywash there.

u can buy pigeon disposable breast pads.

Hi, KK,

Ignore my msg about the induction ... saw your post ... you will be fine! :)

Hi, Dor,

We are supposed to use the anti stretch mark creams as early in our pregnancy as possible. I started using coco butter from Origins in my first trimester ... so far so good, did not see any visible red lines (read that those are potential stretch marks).

Paula,

There are many reasons behind induced birth. My case is due to blood pressure. Gynae dun wanna blood pressure to go up further and affect bb. So he say might as well deliver since the time is ripe liao

Have u got urself a nipple shield? I heard from colleague it is pretty useful and seems like a must for mothers who have sore and cracked nipples.

Actually i am not die-hard on BF. So if i really cannot make it, then will feed bb with FM liao. I foresee i won't be so productive in milk supply hahaha!

I only bought one box of breast pads. But for those serious in BF, one box is definitely not enough. My colleague says she used up a lot liao. Anyway i can always get hubby to buy from kiddy palace anything i need during confinement
I dun wanna stock up so many things in the meantime.

Paula,

Oh ya, some cases of induced is because their glucose level is high. Some because bb head too big. Some because bb is very big etc etc etc.

Paula,

What i heard about stretch marks is that if u gotta get them, u will get them hahaha! No matter how much cream u apply. My stretch marks only start to appear after 7th mth. And more and more recently. it doesn't really matter to me lah, cos i tell hubby nobody going to look at them anyway haha..

Hi carebear,
I think the low cut panties will land on the wound. Cos the wound will be at the bikini line, quite low. Wear a bikini also just cover the line. You might be better off to get normal panty that will cover the wound... The worst is to get the band to land on the wound...

Hi tinklebell,
Dun worry about the weight gain
. I think yours is normal... Think of the other way if we do not put on enough weight, the chances that baby being underweight is higer, then there will be more headache...

Hi Kite,
I did not use bb's detergent to wash the clothes. Just my normal detergent

Hi kk,
Jia you! Have you got the baby cot ready also?

Hi Paula,
Yes, you will need the breast pad and also a pump to reduce the engorgement if not gonna feed. The milk will dry up in a few days...

Hi Dor,
I haven't pack my bag too.. And havent thought of what to bring to hospital... kekeke... I just received my baby's cot last nite. Still gotta sort out where and whether baby to sleep on mattress or cloth...

Dor,
I was told about the stretchmarks that we gotta use the cream during pregnancy, else the tummy not "elastic" enough to shrink back after birth.

Angeline,
The clips at Ikea cost $5.90 for a pack of 20 small (suitable for the milk bags) and 10 big clips.

kk,
Wow.. teachers are so hardworking ah... Really "peifu"...

Hi Lyn,

I am using playpen for my girl
All set up nicely already by my hubby yesterday

Gan Jeong liao... so everything's gotta be ready!

Ladies, just to confirm... for TMC, i dun need to bring bb's clothes hor?

Hi, KK,

Yes, did considering getting a nipple shield or expressing. My hubby commented that nipple shield isnt good for baby (heard from his friends) expressing might be a problem cos Ive a hectic travel schedule. Nonetheless, I have brought a bottle of Enfalac from NTUC just now just in-case.

Re. baby clothes, you may want to bring a set of homecoming cloth for the little one
Hi, Lyn,

Thanks! Breast pump is the only thing that Ive yet to buy!!! Ive packed my hospital bag and Im all ready

Hi, Hazel,

Thanks for alerting sorry about that.

kk:
for me i wil bring a set of new bb clothing for my bb and a Disney pooh bear pink color receiving blanket w a matching cap.

Paula,
the swap test is not painful lah... he just use a cotton bud to swap your vagina... fast and quick..

Kite,
My Gynae did not give me a choice whether to do the test or not.. he just told me today i will be doing a swap test for you.. then he proceed liao... it cost me $60. but bare in mind my this gynae is consider quite ex all along.. i got no choice .. hehe

thanks..will find a chance to go ikea..its so far away from my house..must pester my hb to go with me someday...

havan got time to post cos v busy and tired lately. just read the posts and now feel v tired liao :p in my 29th week and keeping my fingers crossed bb will stay till he's due coz i also have a lot of work to settle b4 end of this school term.

Pebbles,
wow your bb pops so early! congrats!!! got me gan jiong too... i havan bought many essential stuff yet. got a cot and pram, a musical mobile and a mattress and a free set of bedding at bb kingdom during the wekend. the rest like breastfeeding equipment, bottles, bb clothes, diapers, changing mat etc all havan bought. so scared wun have energy and time to get everything ready. storage for bb stuff, bathtub etc also have not bought. stressed... anyway glad ur bb is well

kk,
wow u gonna pop coming friday, here's wishing u and bb a v smooth delivery! at 37 weeks, bb is ready, so everything shud be fine. stay cool

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">June 06 MTBs</font></font>

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Name</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">EDD</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Gynae</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Gender</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Baby's Name</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amy</TD><TD>22-05-06</TD><TD>LeeIWuen</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mattew Lee's wife</TD><TD>01-06-06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD><font color="FF99CC">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dor</TD><TD>02-06-06</TD><TD>Henry Cheng</TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD><font color="FF99CC">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ryue</TD><TD>03-06-06</TD><TD>LC Foong</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>???</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pebbles</TD><TD>04-06-06</TD><TD>FongYang</TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD><font color="FF99CC">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookiemz</TD><TD>05-06-06</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="FF99CC">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jiajia_pauline </TD><TD>05-06-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>MotherOfAPrincess</TD><TD>05-06-06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="FF99CC">Girl</font></TD><TD>Ginelle Tok Jin Wen </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celeste</TD><TD>06-06-06</TD><TD>Gordon Lim</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD><font color="FF99CC">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffybuff</TD><TD>08-06-06</TD><TD>KL Yam</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jeslynster</TD><TD>08-06-06</TD><TD>LawrenceAng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>muffinmocha</TD><TD>08-06-06</TD><TD>Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>???</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yve</TD><TD>08-06-06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Carebear</TD><TD>10-06-06</TD><TD>YvonneChan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>i_panda</TD><TD>10-06-06</TD><TD>WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>miz_hopeful</TD><TD>10-06-06</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>???</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>poohy</TD><TD>10-06-06</TD><TD>Tracey Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="FF99CC">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poohmum</TD><TD>11-06-06</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="FF99CC">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>EVAMTB</TD><TD>13-06-06</TD><TD>KH Chan</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>???</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>K Ong</TD><TD>14-06-06</TD><TD>Dr Lim</TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD><font color="FF99CC">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>medusa</TD><TD>14-06-06</TD><TD>Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peng</TD><TD>15-06-06</TD><TD>Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starfish</TD><TD>15-06-06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline Goh</TD><TD>16-06-06</TD><TD>AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="FF99CC">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cyberbabe</TD><TD>16-06-06</TD><TD>Chris Chong</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Teo Gillan</TD><TD>16-06-06</TD><TD>Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tinklebell</TD><TD>16-06-06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="FF99CC">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>okasan2b</TD><TD>17-06-06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC/MAH</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emily</TD><TD>18-06-06</TD><TD>Paul Tseng</TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>luvflower</TD><TD>18-06-06</TD><TD>FongYang</TD><TD>???</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>happysunflower</TD><TD>18-06-06</TD><TD>Peter Chew</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD>Aloysius Yeo </TD></TR><TR><TD>spicegal</TD><TD>19-06-06</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="FF99CC">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sunflower</TD><TD>19-06-06</TD><TD>Choo WL</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>celesteBlur</TD><TD>20-06-06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC/MAH</TD><TD><font color="FF99CC">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>JosephineTan</TD><TD>20-06-06</TD><TD>LawrenceAng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pinky pink</TD><TD>20-06-06</TD><TD>Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>???</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>rendevouz </TD><TD>20-06-06</TD><TD>Toh Chin Keong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="FF99CC">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fondue</TD><TD>23-06-06</TD><TD>Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chantelle Tay</TD><TD>24-06-06</TD><TD>KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>???</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>hidora</TD><TD>25-06-06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mspiggy</TD><TD>25-06-06</TD><TD>Selina Chua</TD><TD>MtE</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lilfeets</TD><TD>25-06-06</TD><TD>Fong Yang</TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD><font color="FF99CC">Girl</font>, <font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>joemlk</TD><TD>25-06-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD><font color="FF99CC">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>JoyFu</TD><TD>26-06-06</TD><TD>Noel Leong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mum2b</TD><TD>26-06-06</TD><TD>DouglasOng</TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD><font color="FF99CC">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>rms</TD><TD>26-06-06</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>???</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>okipoki</TD><TD>29-06-06</TD><TD>Henry Cheng</TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD><font color="FF99CC">Girl</font></TD><TD>Chloe </TD></TR><TR><TD>gina</TD><TD>30-06-06</TD><TD>JudyWong</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="99CCFF">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kite</TD><TD>01-07-06</TD><TD>Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="FF99CC">Girl</font></TD><TD>Chloe </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">We are born</font></font>

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="aa00aa">Name</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">EDD</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Gender</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">DOB</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Baby's Name</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Baby's Weight</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pebbles</TD><TD>04-06-06</TD><TD><font color="FF99CC">Girl</font></TD><TD>13-04-06</TD><TD>Chanz</TD><TD>1630g </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

if u attending the series of anetnatal classes since last month at TMC regardless with Mrs wong or not, today is the last lecture at SCGS, a combined one...so all of us actually will be there leh...so interesting...

morning ladies

okasan,
me not going to the SCGS one, cos I asked my frens whom attended last time, they say the doctor's tok nothing much one....and then have to travel so far juz to listen to the talk...so will be skipping it