(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi Linda,
hee... my laptop crashed on me again this morning... Now lazy to re-install and troubleshoot and get my files out... :p I just re-installed OS last nite and this morning crashed again... I will see if okasan can do the updates instead cos it will take a while before I can retrieve the file out again...

Hi kite

Actually i think expressing milk every 3 hrs is not a chore like what I have heard from others. Maybe I am too free without baby at home? I think if you have more milk, then got to express even more frequently. It took me about 30 mins each time and if I really have to empty all the milk in the breasts, it is going to take me at least 45 min. So I stop at 30 min. But books said that it is betta to empty everything as the fat contents are at the end of the supply if I am not wrong. We have to buy cooler bag to transport milk bottles to baby every day.

The pain was unbearable, you are right.
Not that I did not opt, but I was not given a choice at that time.
But most people use forceps and vaccum to make delivery easier. Dunno how come those people in the past so tough to give birth to so many kids. Many times than menstrual cramp. At the same time got to give long pushes.

Do you know why we need clips for the avent bags? I am using a medela pump so can use avent bags too? The hospital provided us with 8 glass bottles already, all we need it to buy the caps ourselves at 70cents per piece. The baby doctor told us to collect as many bottles as we want just now.

Any idea how frequent can we drink the longan red dates drinks ? I have boiled a huge bottle over the weekend & was wondering can we drink it everyday ? Thanks

Hi Lyn

Thanks for the hints on storage. I think I will go out to get milk bags.

People recommended to buy Ngog He. About $5 for a small piece. Eat 2 pieces a day if you can This is supposed to be very good for children. You can oso buy cod fish but it is more expensive and not necessary. If you want to save money, can alternate with another fish called ANG GO LI. Much cheaper. During pregnancy, I took once a while. Just try to take everyday. I also continue with my Nuerogain fish oil, 2 cups of ANMUM-2. So scared now got milk, next time dun have, though people always talk abt the demand and supply theory.

lyn, u know the results of the test immediately? Have to wait a few days right? my gynae doesnt do the blood tests for me. The last one was done by by hubby in the earlier part of pregnancy and we sent to the lab ourselves. But hubby is on reservist til end of today so no access to his equipment. Think i will ask him to bring back the stuff tomorrow. Vit B12 jab? hmmm... first time i read abt this. For diabetes, u did the finger prick? Aiyo... i'm actually very scared of needles and pain... if can avoid i rather avoid.

Pebbles:
So right now e medela pump u using is manual or electric? in fact i hv bot the Avent electric pump to standby n keep my fingers cross that i wil hv milk flow like u. Last sat lessson, Mrs wong told us that EBM can store for 48hrs in e fridge at 4degree. If EBM store in freezer, can store up til 2 to 6mths. u mean 30mins on each breast or both?

Also really peifu after delivery u stil can walk n travel around. Sorry to ask whether e stitches n wound painful anot?

Guess ur pain threshold is really high, stil can TONG.

U are blessed w alot of milk supply now n its good to store in milk bags inside freezer. U can buy the clips from ikea. Clips help to seal up the milk bags. Those frozen milk u can use warm water on a bowl to defroze it when ur bb comes back that time.

But i read from Motherhood magazine saying that some ppl actually express out milk n throw it away to prevent engorgement. But their case is when they are either at work or overseas when their bb is not ard. For u, since ur bb wil be back in 2 to 3 wks n if u dun want waste or throw ur milk in case ur supply runs low, its gd to store it inside freezer w a milk bag. Or u can buy those avent via cups but that is more ex than bags.

tinklebell,
y must change the multi-vits Adrian gave? Me eating the pink ones lor...i tot all multi-vits are the same? Sometimes I also feel a bit dizzy....i told Adrian the previous visit but he said its normal as long as its not serious and told me to take some "sugary" stuffs in the morning.

pebbles, u r very brave **HUGS** glad to know that you r ok. Thanks for the tips on confinement diet. I also hope that by the time it is my turn, i will have enuf milk.

ladies, i seem to be getting more and more forgetful too. on sat, i was washing some clothes and it was only at the end of the wash, i realised i forgot to put detergent... cant believe my eyes!!!! Fish oil doesnt help prevent forgetfulness har? haha!

tinklebell,
I will know the test result immediately. My gynae has a machine for haemoglobin test.
For both haemoglobin test and diabetes test, I gotta be prick on the finger
I also dun like that... I am scared of needles one...

celeste, hmmm .... is it normal to feel giddy? i think i'd better do the blood test to see if i am anemic cos anemia could do harm to bb as the o2 supply to bb is lower. in my previous preg, i had anemia in 1st and 3rd trimester. so, it's likely back again cos the blood vessels beneath my eyeballs r v faint .... not a good sign

i thought of calling the nurse to give me the breakdown of the vit contents but she can be quite fierce sometimes

good morning ladies!

i still havent do any washing yesterday due to heavy rain. will try to do it this weekends. better do as much as we can before we're too heavy.

hi kite

Thanks for the suggestions! Actually i think stitches or wounds not painful for me. But the piles are very uncomfortable, esp when you sit and get up.

The nurse told me to express about 5 mins for each breast, 3 rounds. But after doing that, i still find there is milk. I think It was mentioned in some books or websites not to express more than 30 mins. Also some mentioned got to express until no more milk. You can check out the following link, very helpful.

http://www.medela.com/NewFiles/bfdginfo.html#breastfeeding_info

hi pebbles,
good to hear that your milk supply is good! now i really think twice if i shd invest in an electric pump straight away.

okipoki, i drank red date drink twice over the weekend. i think it should be ok to drink few times a week...not sure abt everyday.

tinklebell,
cos normally if i do feel dizzy its only in the morning. So adrian told me might be becos morning still low sugar or what. Maybe i check with him again this thurs and request for a blood test to check if i am anaemic to be on the safer side

Re: Washing of bb stuffs
I havent washed yet too...*faint*...tink gotta do it this coming weekend or during the labour day long weekend...*lol*

celeste, hee my hubby taught me one method ie to look at the blood vessels beneath the eyeballs. If it is faint, could mean u r anemic. i not only feel giddy lor... but also have slight difficulty breathing. but it could also be due to my flu episode last week. If i dont walk, i'm ok, if i move ard, i start to feel unwell again.

okipoki:
red dates longan drink is heaty. try not to drink it daily. I dun take red dates drink cos i wil get headache. instead i opt for barley fu zhu.

I have asked abt my mum abt fu zhu n tau kee. She said got difference. She bot fu zhu from chinese medical hall to boil the barley fu zhu dessert for me wkly.

Pebbles:
Thanks for the link. Wish i can be successful as u. Guess i must be like u, take more fishes daily after delivery. cos right now, i oni take salmon or sardines or chang yu for 2 times wkly.

perhaps u can buy a float to sit down it for e time being.

pebbles,
u pump using medela then transfer to the milkbags to freeze.. Use the clips to close the bags. leave about 1 inch of air cos the milk will expand during freezing. Store in quantities of 4 oz cos this is about the amount that bbs drinks later on and also this amt is easier to defrost.. After freezing, I store the ice cream in ziplock bags in the freezer.. I have heard that u can replace the clips with those wires for giftwrapping or for tying up electric wires.. Get the clips cheap from ikea..

celesteblur:
me too gg to wash bb clothings during long wkends during May. Alamak i realise i stil hvnt buy the pyjamas yet.

pebbles thanks for the info on which fish to buy! the next problem will be to send my hubby to the wet market and buy the correct fish, and not get conned by the fishmonger on the px and freshness!

kite
suggestion for pj: go to those provisional shops that got lelong on batik dresses one piece. 2 for $10 only. They have a long zip (not buttons!) on the front of the pj which makes it easy for BF during confinement.
My neighbour bought from wet market stalls and it's very soft, comfory and cheap. after buying must soak one night, let the colouring come out. then wash, then will be very nice and soft. bought and washed mine already.

hi pebbles,
congrats! take good care of yrself and dun worry too much... yr baby chanz will be fine!

kk,
all the best for yr delivery on fri! do remember to share with us when u r bk!

wld like to find out how u heat up the breast milk after we remove it from the freezer? can anyone share share...

and i hv not bought a pump yet..thot of getting it only after my delivery.. is it too late to buy then? cos afraid that i won't hv much milk so hesitate to buy too early. wat do you all think?

Hi josephine,
Is your hubby still gonna be your "confinement man"?

I think red dates drink can drink everyday as long as your body feel fine. Nowadays, I will boil on alternate days and drink. I dun boil and keep in the fridge.

I have started to wash baby's clothes
. Bit by bit now... I just received the hand-me-downs last weekend, so now gotta start the washing. Gonna buy the bleach from cold storage to wash away the milk stains...
The new-born clothes are so tiny and cute... hahaha.. can wear for teddy bears only...

hi lyn,
me too.. anyway my friend's sis is selling a second hand medela double electric pump used only for 2 mths.. but i quite skeptical..not sure if it's ok to use a second hand one.. so didn't buy.. probably will get a brand new one..

duffy,
Defrost the frozen EBM in the lower compartment overnight. Then pour into bottles and keep them in the fridge till u want to use them. Warm by sitting the bottles in a cup of hot water or use a milk warmer (There are brands like Avent, Philipps and tollyjoy). If no time to defrost overnight, suppose to run the bag under warm water (not hot water) to defrost.. Maybe can sit the bags in warm water and keep shaking it to defrost.

I think it is okay to use a second hand pump.. You can always buy the brand new parts that come into contact with your skin.. Like the funnel and the valve.. even the tube that connects the funnel to the motor can be bought..

me just booked for my postnatal massagen at $420/7 session (ard 1-1.30hr per session). tried this lady for prenatal massage.

Thanks kite & tinklebell... well, i had a huge bottle & suppose will really take days to finish. if thats the case probably will drink it in alternate day.

Re: Washing of bb stuffs
Actuallly thot of doing it over the long weekend but it rains leh so didnt wash at all. My MIL brought back some so she will wash it herself.

Sugarcane juice from mkt,
eh if really wan to try feeding that to newborn... pls be careful abt hygiene. Cos the sugarcane stalks are sometimes left sitting on the wet floor...
Food court sugar cane shld be more hygienic. I don't even dare to take hawker's sugar cane cos some of them aren't reassuring! Even if they don't store standing on the flr, sometimes it's still "exposed" (night time cats will trawl the hawker centre and eliminate leh).

Jaundice,
I'm not sure there's a link btwn spice/ curries and jaundice. Jaundice is really so common. I'm expecting my boy to get it too, and need phototherapy/ extended stay. I will probably extend my hospital stay to accompany.

Pebbles,
congrats on ur abundant supply- I dun recall pumping that much at that time!
Despite nursing tea and lots of fluids! Better get ur milkbags as soon as possible, hehehe. As someone pointed out, can use Ikea clips, or wire-twists, or even rubberbands... clips are the easiest, no fumbling/ worries abt dropping the precious bag!

Hi Pebbles,

Congrats on the birth of your child! Your little darling will be well, dont worry! Do have a good rest at the time being so that you have all the energy in the world to take care of your little darlingK

Hi, KK,

My auntie-in-law had an induced birth cos her baby girl wasnt growing K everything will turn out well. Her little girl is now eight months old with big eyes!

Hi, Celeste,

Yep, I do have BH contractions too. Re. Pre Natal Massage, we have to stop it at 8 months K do not massage area around your thighs as I was told that itll simulate labor.

Hi, Pebbles,

Try Mdm Rokini. I think I have her contacts.

MOAP: ha, I'm counting down too. I was down with flu during the long weekends and was feeling extremely breathless and my belly hurts ... there was a period yesterday that I was worried that the little one will come out earlier than scheduled!

Have you been frequenting the loo at night lately? I have that urinating urge at night and at times could go to the loo up to five six times within a period of 30 minutes. That seriously affects my sleep.

hi all..

wow this place is going on fast.. just 1 morning and i got sooo much to catch up...

Just came back from the gynae.. its my 32weeks, i gained 9kg in total.. (oh gosh)... and baby weught 1.9kg now.. did a swap test to see got bactria called "dunno what strep".. results out only tomorrow... hope everything is ok.. if not have to take anti-biotics..

Anyone in their 32 weeks too.. cos wondering is my gal weight normal or overweight or underweight.. although doctor say everything normal.. but just kinda worry as the days draw near.. hahaha..

talkiong about prenatal massage again... if you visit golden wellness website thet encourage massage once every 2 weeks from 7mths onwards and massage everyweek from 9mths leh..

How?? I am going for my massage later at 230pm leh.. and in my 8mths now.. should i stop?

Hi, Celeste,

Eh, I did check with my gynae and he said that it's good to avoid massage in the latter stages of our pregnancy especially when we have low placanta... Why not check with your gynae?

Josephine:
Thanks. wil keep a lookout for the pyjamas

Celeste/okipoki/lyn:
both of u intend to use bb detergent to wash bb's new clothings? cos MIL said no need use any detergent for 1st time. hmm quite confused as most of u here using detergent. me wil be using Kodomo Baby laudry detergent.

Celeste:
u hv actually done e swap test for the Group B strep and its good to do the test. May i know did ur gynac advised u to do or u opt for it? how is the procedure like? price? i intend to go for this test in case it might infected my bb.

Hi Celeste

I think your baby's weight is normal size. I went for appt last week, at 31st week, my baby weighs 1.8kg. This week is my 32nd week, i supposed my baby should weigh 100g heavier, so means the same as yrs. My gynae says baby is normal size. Don't have to worry.

moap, hopefully this time they wont make a fuss abt your hospitalisation leave. cant believe they r so rigid. if still cannot, i think u must ask your MP to fight for u liao. anyway, how much hospital charge u for the 9 hr stay? more expensive than hotel stay?

okipoki, can store the red date drink for so long? i thought the drink will be a bit sour. that was what my confinement nanny used to tell me so that was why she made sure i finish my drink within the morning. she said it is best drank fresh fr the pot.

Hi Paula
When's your due date? Mine is 12 June. Where will u be delivery?

Celeste
Your EDD also around the same time as me yah?

tinklebell
No worries, I'm heavier than you! I've gained 13kg at my 31 weeks! I'm so much fatter!

serene, do u have problem walking? i feel that my thighs r much fatter and they rub against each other causing abrasion... so painful.
Arggghhh ...last tri quite tough har?