(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

tinklbell: ya ! am sooo sleepy in the afternoons !
i think its one of the symptoms in the third tri ...
at night, also cannto sleep well, keep tossing and turning to find a good position, in the end i sleep on my back.

stretch mark: yah, got many red lines at the sides of the tummy ... so sad, it's like a depression in the skin right?

me oso got difficulty sleeping.. bb kicking alot or pressing on my tummy.. like a koala bear hanging on my tummy..

josephine, u going for 3D scan?? i am oso thinking of it, but abit waste of $ leh.. so tempted.. how much did ur gynae charge u??

moap, poor girl, gotta stay in hospital over the weekend. **hiaz** dont worry too much lah... just "enjoy" your one day stay there as much as u can.

peng, i dont know how to make barley but red date longgan v easy. normally i put 25 red dates and boil them with one handful of longgan for 30-45 mins in my rice cooker soup mode. i am thinking of making it this weekend too.

just returned from my 31wk checkup, subsequently with b every 2 wks

BTW those in TMC- I enquired abt "Mother's Retreat", which is a scheme that allows discharged mums to stay on w/o medical attention, in case the bbs not discharged same date and u want lah. They said the scheme "on-hold/ suspended", if want to find out more, must wait til actual delivery/ discharge. Anyway this scheme cant use Medisave.

MIM raspberyy leaf tea is quite nice, it's the post-delivery nursing tea that's bitter. But I still drank gallons last time round lah.

My bb now 1.9kg, 50.5cm head circumference at 31 wks... it's average reading lor. Hope he doesn't pile on excessive wt/ head size in coming wks.

peng,
same here....when i sleep on my side bb tend to like to kick more....mabbe becos she is "squashed" to one side?
And juz realise last nite my ankle got a bit swollen, but this morning ok again

wow Medusa, 31 week bb ard 1.9kg. will be 31 week on Sat... bb getting heavier so quickly...no wonder i feel breathless and tired most of the time.

jo, same... i will get itch there too esp when i am hot.

ms piggy
unfortunately i think the itch will not go away, and may even get worse as our tummy continue to expand.

Peng
my gynae does not charge for 3D scan. part of package. He very proud of his machine, always ask me to go to his sun plaza clinic to check it out. Usually i see him at TMC nearer to my house.

oops sorry I meant 30.5cm head circumference, not 50, lol! The gynae mentioned more than 35cm at delivery wld be abit tricky lah.

tks tinklebell for the tip to make red dates drink

chk with u gals do u have red marks or like pimples on the body?? i have many of it.. very sad and ugly.. but no matter whether i put on pimple cream or rash cream given by dr, still dun help... i never have such marks b4..

wow.. medusa, 31 wks 1.9kg?? i will be 31 wk this sat, going for chkup.. hope my bb gain more wt.. but u so good, every 2 wks chkup after that.. me 3 wks chkup till wk 34, then every 2 wks after that..

hi Tinklebell
sorry i missed your Q on seletar airport just now. Thread moving quite fast..
Seletar Airport is at West Camp Road, beside Jalan Kayu (Yio Chu Kang Road) near the prata place.
Going the redang is so easy with the direct flights from spore! i love it!

free 3D scan!!! I oso want.. so good.. sun plaza clinic?? is it lawrence ang? i stay near there..

My gynae once told me if i do that 3d scan, it will be $300.. i am still thinking of it.. maybe this sat i hint hint to her to c can have free 1..

Medusa,
bb head circumference > 35cm will be tricky? Hmmz, i better ask my gynae bb's head size during next appt

Jo, u seeing dr lawrence ang from twc right? just wondering why dr ang so priviledged but dr adrian doesnt have...hmmmm .... i'll be interested in the 3-d scan.... so interesting to see my bb's features!

Medusa, my raspberry tea is quite blend... i got mine from plant and planet. the teat is yellow in color. is yours red tea? maybe i also order some from MIM plus the post delvery tea. you mentioned it's bitter... is it bitter or better?

wow... your bb 1.9 kg? mine was 1.8 kg at 31 weeks plus. will be going for my week 33 scan next Thurs... will ask gynae bb head size... she din tell me last time...

re 3D scan, raffles charges abt $160 for the scan. wonder whether should do anot... anyway, seeing bb really soon...

i heard from my frens who have done the scan that you can really see bb's features quite clearly...

from what Lawerence said is that he bought this machine for his own clinic as many patients enquired about it. But he does not pass on the cost to his patients. so nice of him hor.

mummies who are contemplating 3D scan maybe want call him ask him whether he don mind doing scan for other's patients. Maybe just pay him a token will do hee hee?

then my 1 really charge alot.. $300.. sob sob.. yeah i have c a 3d picture b4.. really can c very clearly.. so cute..

btw, do u gals eat more or less during 3rd trim? i find myself gradually eating lesser but more frequent cos think bb pressing on me, always no appetite

amy,
post-delivery nursing tea is bitter- can add honey to it but supposedly shld drink as bitter as u can tolerate. The bitter part is the one that helps in milk pdn.

whereas raspberry leaf tea not bitter at all.

hmm gynae said 2kg foetus is the "aver" wt at 31wk... mine is 1.9kg, actually tiny bit under but negligible lah. I'm more worried abt OVER haha. Foetus can pile on wt in last stages real quick! I think there's nothing much left for foetus to do but to gain wt in last few wks, hehehe.

Today, I "ren tong", go chop off my messy, long hair. From abt bra length, to choppy short hair.

Er... I scared later confinement very hot, and drop hair drop a lot. Actually this is the only excuse for me to cut my long hair. The last time I had my hair short was like 4-5yrs back.

Think my hb's gonna get a great shock from this! Hehe.

hidora,
tat day i juz trimmed my hair....heart pain to cut...cos i am still toying with the idea of rebonding my hair after confinement irregardless whether will drop anot...*lol*

hi hidora,
i dont intend to cut my hair really short else cant bun up totally. but will layer more to make it lighter.

Talking about sleeping position.. recently i feel breathless before i get to sleep
Sleep on back even worse.. so have to sleep on sides. Sleeping on left side is OK for me. I can't sleep on the right, seem to be crushing on my bb haha..

Today realise i walk, also feel breathless
SIGH!

About stretch marks.. haha.. lots of red lines on tummy.

Hi ladies, pah say, can only pop in once a while in the evening & wkends, as I'm simply too busy in the day with work.

kk, thanks for the info on BBhypermart, thinkg of gog there with hubby tmr to settle the remaining shopping once and for all ...

Have an enjoyable & blissful GOOD FRIDAY weekend!!!

<font color="0000ff">re: itch on belly</font>
me too! belly so itchy nowaday...then marks start to appear below the belly button....just hope dun have too many stretch marks after the pregnancy

<font color="0000ff">re: hair</font>
I layer my hair till thin thin liao, but dun intend to cut too short...coz I'm also thinking of rebonding my hair just before I go back to work after maternity leave.....

<font color="0000ff">moap,</font>

u in SAF...I see....then u better check with the HR...coz I understand from my friend who's in SAF....she said that when u take maternity leave on that year, you are NOT entitled to hospitalisation leave at all....hence, even if u really get MC from hospital, they may still reject loh.....

not to scare u, but better to double confirm in case u waste the trip to hospital on this sat.....

My last scan 2 weeks ago at my 28th week shows my bb to be 1.3kg. My gynae say very average only...so far I have put on more than 10kg liao...looks like most of the weight is on me..

Josephine, i am also seeing Dr Lawrence Ang...i visit his clinic at sun plaza, but so far he did not managed to do 3D scan for me cos the view is always not clear enough...

As for raspberry tea, MIM website ran out of stock when i wanted to buy so my friend recommended me to get from Nature's Farm stores...they sell the tea in boxes of 30 bags for $9+ but they have promotion now so I only pay around $6.90 per box...

I also went to cut my hair real short last week...cos nowadays weather super hot and also i can predict that i cannot tahan my long hair during confinement...so now like boy boy liao...

Okasan,

Pple has been telling me to cut my hair short. But i insist it to be long heeee.. i can't bear to cut it short. I know i look very super ugly if my hair is short. My face will be very very round.

My belly very itcny too! Sometimes cannot resist will scratch and scratch.. more and more stretch marks

Ladies, have a great long weekend ahead! We having dim sum later at red star restaurant

Hello All,

Enjoying your long weekends...have been busy these 2days..cannot login...saw this thread and would like to share wif you all....

Something to look forward to ....

Mattel is having its WAREHOUSE SALE:

Save up to 80% on children's toys ... Barbie, Hot Wheels,Fisher Price, Barney, Sesame Street, Harry Potter, etc...!

Date: 20th April (Thur) 10am to 7pm
21st April (Fri) - 10am to 7pm
22nd April (Sat) - 10am to 5pm

Venue: The Concourse Shopping Mall
Atrium (Basement 1)
300 Beach Road

Payment by:

Cash (no NETS)
Credit Card minimum $50.(Visa
&amp; Master)

Bus Service:

Beach Road : 100 , 980, 961
Nicoll Highway: 10,14,16,70,196,608

Free Shuttle Bus Service to the Concourse Shopping Mall!

Pick-up point: Just before the bus stop at Raffles Hotel, opposite Raffles The Plaza .

From 11am to 7pm daily (30 min interval).

peng,
re: red date drink
today i experiment putting double the amt of red dates (ard 50 pcs). the drink is sweeter and nicer. but not sure if it will be too heaty. maybe others can share how they make the drink?

Tinklebell,

I believe just by removing the seeds, we are able to get rid of heatiness from red dates.

Hmmm, my mil always boil for me, bu i never ask her how she actually boil. The drink is sweet and very rich in longan flavour

Dor,

Thanks.. quite right should pick up from MIM after visiting Henry. Btw, any idea Henry does 3D scan ? I heard his machine is pretty new too.

How's weekend?

To me, today is a pleasant one
Went for dimsum at red star restaurant early in the morning.

Now hubby at friend's house playing mahjong. So me alone at home. So quiet and peaceful. Nobody to "disturb" me hahaha.. but bored as well. *yawn* slept for 3 hours liao. Dunno what to do now.

Wanted to eat buffet at Pariss restaurant. But seems like a bit lazy to go out

kk,

Isnt it a cooling day to stay home nua ?? Well, I just came back from a pedicure job @ Ginza. Finally, I really need to visit one cos I cant reach my toes liao. Hehe...

Was really tired... going to catch some sleep soonn

Okipoki,

i can't even see my toes now, let alone reach and touch hahahahaa.. cutting toenails is a problem hor? And they grow so fast!

Catching sleep soon?? No dinner for u? heee.. i just woke up, nua enough already.

kk,

Haha yeah indeed a real problem, tummy is obstructing. Well, is good to pamper yourself once awhile lah

Yeah was pretty tired cos was out the whole day... Probably catch an hour kind of sleep if not then nua on the bed lor looking at the little movement on my tummy so cute.

Dinner probably later cos had some donuts an hour ago so not hungry yet

Okipoki,

An hour? heeeee... i always need to take at least 2 hours of afternoon nap.. else i get very hot tempered heeee.. and sometimes even headache when not enough nap. Before pregnancy already like tat :p I am still like little kid heee..

Hi ... kk,
Pls don't scratch your tummy too much. I read from a pamphlet given by a stretchmark cream sample given during my antenatal class. It says to avoid worsening of stretchmarks, avoid hot baths, or try to end it with a cold rinse.

Packing for Delivery
Anyone of you already packed the delivery bag?? Do u know if we are required to bring our own breast pump?

carebear29,

Avoid hot bath to prevent worsening of stretch marks? i take cold showers at nite because weather super hot! In the morning, can't be helped because feels cold after being in air con for whole nite.

Packed hospital bag already. Yah hor, need to bring breast pump? But TMC breast pump can be rented, so i dunno for my case, need to bring or not. I only prepared a nipple shield which my colleague told me it is necessary as the nipples will be terribly sore at the beginning.

Hey, i think no need breast pump afterall. I thought first few days we are producing colostrum only, and not milk?

carebear,

we intend to get for our colleagues. My hubby received rocher chocolates from his colleague, with bb photo. So that's how it strikes our mind to get chocolates for our colleagues. Simple and sweet

But heard from hubby that my parents in law may still want to distribute cakes to close relatives. So may need to spend on cakes too.

kk,

Haiz.. didnt really sleep, just read some magazines. Normally, I try to take 1hr of nap else at nite I cant get to sleep if I slept too much in the day. Me too will get headache if not enough sleep.... so recently I will try to sleep early.

Actually giving chocolates is indeed a good idea &amp; yesh, old ppl tend to follow the old method of giving cakes. I will probably order from Chocz.

kk,

Re: link sweet surprise
Indeed very sweet and nice but anyone try their cakes etc before ? Must make sure is nice tho' the packaging is indeed very sweet.