(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Morning ladies...

Finally is Wednesday... one more day before we hit the long weekend. *yawn* this morning feeling so tired.

MOAP,
dont worry bout the bb head going up again...I remember reading in magazines before sometimes bb will only settle down in the head-down position 2-3 weeks before delivery

tinklebell,
My "V" not sore but sometimes will suddenly like got a twitch of pain for like 2-3 secs then it will go away...donno y also

And remember to sleep more okies? Cos best cold remedy method is to have plenty of rest and drink plenty of water

One thing i realise is that during preggie its not easy to fall sick but when falling sick can last quite long
I remember that time during around 16weeks i was down with flu on and off for almost 3 weeks

Just a check with you. For those who purchased the tea with MIM, how long does the tea last ?? Per box per month or ..... ?

I have an opened packet of Pet Pet diapers (Size S) for sale. The cutting is suitable for new born babies (below 5kg ) There are 44 pcs remaining so I would like to sell it at $6.50 (bought it from Jl at 8.90 for 46 pcs).

In addition, I have 2 pairs of Mothermates hydrogel discs for sale cos I bought two much. Willing to sell it at $17.50 each. More info can be found at http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/mothermates.html

They are really good for sore and cracked nipples.

Interested buyers please contact me at [email protected]

moap, now u can really rest well at home

Okasan/ Paula, yes ! it's a short week!!! counting down!

Celeste, wow ur BF quite heavy har? i cannot take such heavy stuff for BF. my tummy will feel v bloated and i will kenna backache! yesterday it happened after i ate 2 pcs of marble cake and an egg tart, i had backache for the whole day... **sian**

okipoki,
My fren passed me the MIM raspberry tea. Its not in box one. Its in a ziploc bag. I'm not sure how long it last but i tink one pack of the ziploc bag prob can last quite long?

MOAP,
I bought the MIM sarong sling liowz. Bought it during the Expo Mother & Babycare Fair cos it was cheaper

tinklebell,
I need a heavy brekkie, otherwise will feel hungry very fast one. Even though i eat heavy brekkie, by the time 10+am or 11pm i need to eat another slice of plain bread liowz...*lol*

MOAP,
I think mine is the cotton type, cos was told its easier to use for beginners

Price went up? I bought mine at $33 if i didnt remember wrongly and it comes with the demo vcd also

Morning Mummies,

I was so upset for the whole night. I'm moving back to my mom's place.

My MIL asked me to hang the laundry yesterday when I woke up. I woke up at 9plus am, and the laundry was already hung. So at night, my FIL (who has leg problems) told my MIL that he was the one who did it. Then my MIL started scolding me (I was inside the room, but it was so loud that I could hear it). She said wash already still gotta hang for me. I got no eyes to see meh? Am I handicapped or wat?

Seriously, I really dunno what to say. I already told her I woke up at 9plus and I would hang it then. But my FIL went to hang it at 8plus. And it's not that he didnt know I'll do it. My MIL already told him that I would do it. Why must he do such a thing? He even said it was becos I was not up so he got "no choice" gotta do it.

But the thing is, I woke up at the time I was suppose to. And now my MIL was like accussing me of asking her poor hb to do this do that. And said should ask me and hb to move out of their house. Sure, if that's what she wants.

Through out my pregnancy, she had nv ask me how is the baby or watsoever. Nvr asked me to take more tonics watsoever. Got black chicken for me twice. And said to me, one black chicken is too big for you. Used half enough. Asked me used her cordyceps, and before I even used it, she went: it's very exp! Dun need to use so much. Little bit can already. And somemore my half a black chicken plus little cordyceps must stew 2 times b4 I can throw away.

Then everytime "suan" me said I sleep too much. But the thing is, I woke up like every hr at night. My hb tossed and turned so much that I'm always awake. Just becos I dun get up at 5am (the time she does), I'm sleeping too much.

And she gave my hb 4k for baby fund. But then again, she complained abt it. I asked my hb just give her back the money. And the best thing is, she earns more than hb and me (when I was working)

When I tried to nice, tell her to leave her laundry to me since I'm not working, she would suan me by saying: Wait for you?! Tian liang liao lor!

My hb insisted on sending me back home on every sunday to visit my mom. We hv to wait until 5 plus, send MIL to mahjong, and I reached my house at 6plus. Then 10 plus, we had to go and fetched her from her mahjong session. I only see my mom like 4 hrs a wk. Then there was a time my hb sprained his neck while sleeping. But he still insisted on sending me back even thou I refused. She went saying something like my hb and my mother got some kind of affair ah? And she said this in front of me! It's just so insulting!

And there are so many other incidents. I think I would go crazy if I cont staying here. Most prob ended with pre natal blues. Forget it man. I dun need this kinda life.

Wow, so many pple sick today.. All moms, pls take care of urself.. For moms who r sick, have a speedy recovery

Paula, what have u packed? Me too started buying things needed (e.g. pads, disposable underwear) for my hotel stay during the delivery.. Any1 can pass me a list of things to pack?? Tks a lot.

Amy, u oso have moses basket? How did u decorate it or what u put in the basket? Cos I have 1 too and find the basket very big.. so thinking of things to put to cushion the bb from rolling abt in the big basket..

MOAP, glad that u have settled ur MC thing.

Haha.. talking abt intercourse.. whats the ideal period to stop?? Haha.. my hb and I still do regularly but not as much as b4, though most of the time my hb is scared that he will hurt the bb, so usually we have quick ones only.. sigh..

Hidora, dun be upset, esp ur FIL.. cos I think maybe he is thinking that u r pregnant, very hard to hang the clothes.. for me, I oso stop doing that cos very tiring when I do it.. hmm.. ur MIL err. Sounds abit too much.. but at least she gave u $4k for bb funds.. haha.. my MIL din give me anything. Actually we pay everything, including our whole wedding ourselves as my IL are considered as retirees, so no pt to take $ from them. So ur Mil is not too bad..

hidora,
normally ur MIL is okies one or recently then she became like tat? Could it be last time ur hb will shower more time on her then now as u r preggie ur hb is placing more emphasis on u....maybe she is "jealous"? Is it possible to have a talk with ur PIL together with ur hb?
Try not to get too upset...cos preggies i tink will also be more emotional and get upset easily. *hugz*

hidora,

ya have a good talk with your hb to see what is his stand. BB is due soon... at least ur relationship with hb must be very strong ... if he supports u moving to your mum's place, that will be the best.

rE: bb turning back up

moap, i got this worry too since saturday when i know bb turn. I constantly worry whether bb turn back breech way hehee...

Paula, peng, celeste, poohy,

Well, I had a talk with him. I told him I'm moving back. And he can see that I'm unhappy becos I have been crying nearly every week.

He's not in the position to say much as he's the only child, and no matter what, we are still staying under the same roof.

If only my FIL is so nice. He would still ask me to do things when I'm pregnant. Carry heavy goceries etc. He's those MCP that think woman should do everything. He doesnt even do housework. I'm quoting his exact words. He said it's becos I have not woke up, so he got "no choice" but to do it. My guess is he told my MIL the same thing.

And we are not taking the 4k from her. She gave us the 4k cos she saw her only son working like mad. But she said last night. No money still want to give birth for wat. We had nvr ask her for any financial assistance. If she wants to give, do it willingly. If not, no point taking.

She has always been that blunt with her words. And it seems to be getting worse. I wouldnt put it as becos my hb is showering more attention on me since he worked until 11plus every night. I dun even have much time to see him.

Oh well. Call me over reacting or hormones changed. But I seriously dun need nasty words when I was trying to nice. Or getting scolded with mean words when I didnt even do anything wrong. She said that we are wasting a lot of her money staying with her. As much as 2-3k a mth.. Someone tell me that's not a ridiculous amt.

Some of you might suggest that we get our own flat and moved out. That's not a choice. Since she wanted us to get our own flat, so that FIL can moved in as his legs can't really walk (needed a lift, our hse now no lift). And she said that we will all moved in together. Then she can rent out this house now.

I also dunno what's her problem. I just wanna moved out from here and stop seeing her.

Hidora,
dont be upset... old pp like that one lah... usually very kang jeong abt keeping the house tidy and completing household chores. Dont take it to heart. At least she cooks black chicken soup and gave u $4k for bb fund. I dont even have black chicken soup... what more $4k bb fund. My mother also likes to nag and say things that hurt.... so normally i hear already, feel upset but then it's usually one ear in and one ear out - forgive and forget. As for your sunday visits to your mum's home, why dont u go on your own first? Or go in the morning. Then u can have until 5pm to spend with your mum. After that, ur hubby can send MIL for mahjong.

But seriously, if u think u cant take it anymore, have a talk with your hubby. maybe you and your hubby would like to move out after bb is a bit older. usually the excuse to give is that not enuf space at home.

Tinklebell,

For tonics, I cooked myself.. She doesnt do it. As for the 4k, I bet she'll be happy to take it back. Actually i dun care about the tonics or watsoever. It's just that her treatment towards me.

Do you know she's someone who can spend $60 on one kg of prawns? $30-40 on a little bit of pork? And she buys useless things and store it all around the house. And she gives people treat in restuarant. So I just dun understand why she's so kiam with me.

My hb dun want me to travel all the way from pasir ris to woodlands, that's why he insisted on driving me there. And he doesnt get up early too.. Like 12pm kinda thing. That's the only time he can sleep. Sign, it's ok. Once I moved back, no more such nonsense.

My mom keep asking me to go back so that she can sayang me.. Lol

The best part is, my hb being a aust pr is not keen in keeping the pr. So she had been asking me to talk to him. Said that me and bb should go over with him so that he wouldnt be alone. And finally when my hb said that he will go back from his own mouth. She told me not to go as expenses very high.

Can you imagine that kind of feeling? Like she had been using me all along. Then when she got what she want, I can be kicked aside. She doesnt even care that bb will only be 1 yr old if my hb goes over. Sigh..

hidora,
I can understand its not easy to live together with PILs under one roof, cos all of us have our own way of doing things.
Think of it this way also. My MIL didnt even buy any tonics for me too. Not even buying 2 black chickens. Maybe its becos i dont live with her and maybe its becos she's not working and doesnt have those extra $ to buy these things.
And also for my wedding and bb, PILs also didnt sponsor anything at all. Everything is forked out by me and hb ourselves.
But of cos I also agree with u, if they give us $4k and then later nag and say "not so nice" things, i wld rather not take the $.
If u feel that moving back to ur mom's hse u will feel much better n comfy, maybe have a talk with ur hb letting him know that u wld like to stay with ur mom during ur confinement. And then decided later on wat to do after confinement

hidora

I'm sorry to hear that your MIL is so 'nasty'......This is nightmare of all daughter-in-laws!!! I think it's better you and hubby find yr own hse and moved out, stay on your own. But i'd think you endure till after u delivered yr baby, now not the right time to shift around.... You can move back to stay with yr mum for time being till you delivered yr baby.

celeste,

I feel that if she wants to do it, do it willingly. But she would always do so then bring it up later saying how nice, how great she is to us. Might as well not do it. Somehow I'm starting to think that she thinks I'm not worthy of her son or something.. She said that my family was messed up (prob bwt my mom n dad) and that it's very troublesome to have this kind of family. She thinks that I was the one who went after her son and hang on to him.. Oh man.

My things are already packed. Gonna take a cab back later.

serene,

Cannot move out leh! Even if we buy flat, we still hv to stay with them.

I dun want to endure liao.. I feel really frustrated when she said something that insulted my mom. Have been enduring for so long. Then last night, I had bad contraction.. must be becos of my mood. Dun dare to stay here any longer. Scared that bb will be affected.

girls,
Btw, i'm taking 'risk' and decided to let my MIL look after my baby when i resume back to work!!! No choice, no one look after, my mum says if MIL is willing then i should let her look after, moreover my hubby prefers his mum look after esp she is now alone (FIL just passed away), very lonely and she stays nearer to us! But she's only look after daytime, i will bring back my baby every evening...I'm crossing my fingers and pray, hoping no conflicts, no problems, sigh!

Hi Josephine,

Haha, my school must be very mean if they sent me down to be timekeeper. Imagine a big tummy timing away with stopwatch! HAHA!

Oh, i won't be attending sports day too, because the doctor gives me 2 days MC!! I didn't know she is so generous! No wonder she told me to take things easy and rest more.

Hi Tinklebell,

U can still squat down ah? I can't even bend down now
So heavy everyday, like lugging around one watermelon underneath. Big watermelon! Haha! Ya, try not to squat too much. Now i bend down can feel pain also. Like some kind of strain.

We have thought of a few characters for name. But not firm up yet. We dun intend to get english name. Just chinese name
Plan to name our bb girl "Shu Ning". Dunno will really end up to be this name or not. U all looking for fortune tellers or whoever to look into names??

hidora
I think you should insist on not staying with them. Tell your hubby that. Now already so unhappy, how to stay together and yr MIL should understand and 'zhi dong', she should know cannot get along, why stay together? Better each have own home, more harmony!

Buy yr own hse, stay yr own, if you need to work, can leave yr baby in the care of yr mum or find a baby sitter nearby yr house.

serene,

She has already decided on everything. Including the location of the house, how many rooms it should be, which floor, corner or corridor unit. We have no say.

hidora
yr hubby has no say? yr hubby is only son? Your hubby should stand up and say something, at least for you! Tell u hor, actually i'm also at risk, now my FIL had passed away, i'm very worried that one day my MIL will decide to sell away her hse and stay over with us! That will be my biggest nightmare, has been my worry since the day i married my husband. During the young days, i've seen my mum complaining, quarrelling with my grandma so often that my mum always reminded me, NEVER to find a husband esp only son that you will end up no choice stayed with the inlaws. My father is only son too. My hubby is not only son, he still have one younger brother but if his brother married one day (soon) and buy his own flat and stayed far away, i'm sure my MIL would prefer to move in to my place as it's nearer, she's familiar with this area liao.... Really hope it won't happen, i dun wish to follow my mum's step!

Hi Serene,

Me too! Getting my mil to look after our bb. My in laws live in sengkang too, if drive across, only need less than 5 min heee.. Like u, i hope no conflicts, no problems. Like wat other ladies say, one ear in one ear out lor.. sometimes no use arguing over little things also. Dun make our lives miserable. SOmetimes work already gives problems, we wouldn't want to come back home face more problems ya?

Hi Hidora,

Yup, if i were u, i won't take the 4K too. My mum always tell me not to let the other party "have things to say". If we have the means, best not to accept anything from the older generation lor, especially money. Then we dun owe anybody anything and everybody is happy.

Ur mil really mean leh, from what i read from ur msg! u pregnant now, how could she make u take the laundry out??? And we need lots of sleep definitely!! I sleep like pig during weekends!

Pardon me.. does this attitude change take place before or after u are pregnant? Or ur mil has always been like tat??

My mil is ok lah.. just that she is naggy a bit sometimes haha even my hubby cannot tahan her. But i know the old folks... my mum also very naggy at times. i told my hubby just let the old folks nag.. we just nod our heads and say ya ya ya.. they happy, we happy

hidora,
if things have come to a head, and if clearly MIL's fault, take the opportunity to tell ur HB u want to live in own home w/o them.

my HB only child, we r NOT living with them. Familarity breeds contempt lah, sure conflict under 1 roof for my case. Now quite gd, I bring my #1 over to them often, give them alot of face cos #1 bonds well with them (relatives during CNY envy them). We go over for meals often too.

Return the $4K lah. And if she insults ur family again, just respond, dun take it lying down. In my case, HB din wan to give mthly allowance to MIL cos they r comfortable, instead we give huge angbaos at CNY/ b'day. When I was expecting #1, she kept saying WE must save money for baby expenses and so on. Then suddenly in final trimester, MIL-DIL very strained lah, and she cried to my HB that we never gave her money blahblahblah. My HB wrote cheque to her- several $K can't recall how much liao, throw to her lor! THEN she mumbled that she only say-say-complain only, listen-1-ear-in-out can liao, no need to be so siao to actually give her the $. *rolls eyes* I was quite mad cos I felt it was hypocritical of her to tell us to save $, and then contradict herself by demanding money at last minute. This time #2, SHE gave ME $500 for foetal nutrition, she give, I take. If she ever complains, I'd throw it back to her.

that's why that time, when i bought my hse, 3 bedrooms + 1 study, i knock off 2 bedrooms to make my master room bigger, one thing i like a bigger room, 2nd thing also becos i dun wish to keep so many bedrooms.... Now i only have one bedroom, and it's my son's room soon. No more extra rooms liao! If i'm planning to have a 2nd one next time, maybe will include a maid too, then my hse really full liao, no extra space! I really hope my MIL understand and 'zhi dong'.

Serene,

Hehe, my hb is not only the "only" son. He's the only child. Lol. Seriously, I do see some really really nice MIL who can stay well with the DILs. I have also seen mean DILs who treat their poor MILs like shit.

I feel that my MIL is already very good as compared to some horrors stories in this forums. But recently, I have been getting more insentisive remarks from her. And now, she started scolding me without even getting her facts right. How to tahan? Argh...

hidora,
one way to solve the problem is since ur MIL wants u all to get a flat and still stay together. Try suggesting to her instead each of u all get ur own flat but get it at the same neighbourhood like few blocks away or what. In this way, u can have ur own privacy and ur hb wont have to caught inbetween. As in u both can still "stay together" with him cos walking distance but wont be staying under one roof?

Hi Serene,

My hubby only son, but he has an elder sister not married yet. So i really dunno what will happen in the future. And my hubby can be very filial leh. He mentioned before if there is a need, my in laws can come over to stay with us. So i kind of "educate" him whenever he say this. i told him chinese saying "xiang jian hao, tong zhu nan". Better think twice. I told him i dun mind staying near. But definitely not under one roof. Now my mum staying with my brother's family too during weekdays after my dad passed away one year back. Sometimes i would hear my mum complaining to me about my SIL haha.. so there will always be conflicts when staying under one roof. I won't comment who is right or wrong. Just that everyone has their own thinking and way of leading their lives, so quite difficult to compromise at times.

Morning Mummies!

Looks like today everyone feel exhausted.Hope all will be well by weekend..

Me on halfday today too..going for check up..hope won't spoilt the clinic weighing machine..:p

Hidora,
Pls cheer up for the bb. I hope everyting will be fine for ya today.I am not good in consoling but i do understand being living with PIL.I agreed with Tinklebell saying.You may want to consider moving out when both your hb and you are ready.Take care please.

Hidora,
Think maybe she got ego problem lor. or maybe having pre-menopausal symptoms.

Try to be financially independent (fr her and even your hubby) if that will keep her for shutting her mouth. Actually, best to stay on your own but if u cannot move out of the same household, find a full time job after bb is born. If u spend less time with her, chances r there will be less conflict (hope so).

Dont totally shut her out of your life lah... after all, she is your hb's mother... bec if u do that, next time your children will learn and may do same thing to u. Also, next time, ur hb will be in a v difficult position. one is his wife , the other his mum... very hard to take sides.

kk, i squat down to talk to my boy eye to eye and sometimes to clean toilet. I am the maid of the house mah. hee ... yes, like a big watermelon stuck to u. Hahaha. We thought of the chinese name "Zi1Qi2" after looking thru the meanings of the words. Wont be using fortune teller.

Hidora, so sorry to hear that you have to go thru all these. yes, i think you should shift to your mum's place, stay there for confinement. after that, make plans to shift out. if your hubby is on your side, you don't even have to consider what your MIL thinks, or what plans she has for you. in the first place, she was the one who made things difficult for you.

serene, well, at least your MIL is willing to look after bb. nowadays, modern mums and MILs not willing to spend time looking after bb. initially, my MIL also din want to look after bb. now, we getting a maid, she is willing to help out, and even cook dinner for us. i am very appreciative of this. also, bb will be able to experience the love of his grandparents, which is good for bb... teach him to respect the elderly.
so maybe look on the bright side of things, think positive?

We only have 1 life lor, no need to deliberately make other pple's life difficult... but we owe it to ourselves to be happy.

If not happy with arrangement, I really dun c why "we have no say" lor.

Medusa,
I fully agree with u. If PILs or parents wanna give $ willingly they will not complain or watsoever
For my case, I am buying over my parents hse cos they own another hse elsewhere and they even fork out 50% of the renovation costs although they know me and hb can afford it but they told us to save the $ for bb and rainy days...i was really touched. Even after helping us with the reno, my mom still going to help me with my confinement although she needs to work, she said she will squeeze out time to help. She didnt complain at all bout all these and I am really touched

kk, medusa,

My hb also want to give her back to money. Cos in the first place, he had nv asked from her, she pushed it to him. And he did not want to depend on her for bb's stuff too.

She said very loudly last night. Why pregnant cannot do? When she's pregnant, she also do everything herself.. >_>

Dunno leh, maybe I'm getting more sensitive, or getting more hormones inbalance. It seems to get worse recently.. haha.

If my mil only nags, then still ok. But her words hor.. very hurting. Like last night she said: "ta chan fei de meh?" wa biang...

Hmm, my relationship also started to get strained from 3rd tri onwards.. Why huh? Dun understand. We can;t give her allowances or big ang baos, cos I'm not working. And my hb just started working for abt a yr. Maybe that's why I guess... Haiz..

kk,
Yes....i me same mentality as u. I dont mind even staying next door, upstairs or downstairs but definitely not under the same roof. Cos under the same roof conflicts very easy to occur.

Hidora
i agree with Tinklebell, try to take cab to visit your mummy every sun morning, then wait for hubby to join u around 6pm then leave together at 10pm.

did you have "show down" with MIL last night. Just feel that it would aggrevate the situation if you move out now.

also, would it be possible for you to work instead of staying at home, then with financial independence you will not feel so frustrated. Baby let your mum take care.

hidora,

cool down ...don get angry over the "old"ppl. Although i not staying with my PIL but they stay 10 floor while i stay second floor. but sometime still get angry with wat my FIL say..can u imagine he told ask me saf so good ah pay u salary to stay at hme. Last week when i was having dinner upstair..my sis-in-law say her pregnant sis went to see chinese sin seh cause whole body ache then my FIL say doc ask u all to stay at hme and rest is all rubbish..doc is sking u all to go n die..i heard this n i was so angry..so i told my hubby if he wan my bb to cum out early as a premature bb ..then ok lor i go bck to work lor.

hi mummies what you think of my boy's name Zi Long (Son of Dragon)? Some friends say the name too "strong" my son may not be able to take it.

Hi josephine,
Wah... Your gynae so fast brief you on delivery already. I am still not sure if I will need C-section or not
. I asked my gynae twice already, he said gotta depend on the growth of baby and on circumstances.
But now, I everyday tell my baby to come out naturally
and dun give mummy a long labour and too much pain... kekeke...

Hi kk,
Rest well at home and drink more water
The weather quite hot also...

Hi hidora,
Cheer up

Hi Hidora,

Your mil funny lah haha.. my mum who is 64 yrs old this year told me not to carry heavy stuff, not to climb up and down, etc etc etc.. even my mil tell me not to do this and do that. Everybody should know it is so crucial not to strain ourselves during pregnancy. I think ur mil face too many hardships when young, so now revenge on u heeeeeee...

So will u be working in the future?

Hi Celeste Blur,

Ya rite.. at least we dun have to face one another. It is good to take breakfast together sometimes, eat lunch/dinner outside, pop by have dinner together etc etc.. it can be fun
But then definitely not to the extent of facing one another everyday every minute.

Anyway me returning to work after 3 mths maternity leave. As long as my bb in good care, there is not much problem for me