(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kite,

Grp B strep is not a jab.. hehe
I was saying we ought to go for a test to check if we are infected with this bacteria. Cos if we hv, there may be a chance that this bacteria will be passed on to bb when s/he comes out from the birth canal. This test is uaually done in the 35-37wk. Then if we are tested positive, we will be given antibotics to eat and kill the bacteria before bb arrives.

I'm not sure whether your gynae will advise you to go for the test. Maybe for some, they feel it's not necessary as it "rarely affects full term babies" <--- quoted from Babyboom. But it's a common practice done in the foreign countries.

I got another copy, Jan edition from the Motherworld boutique when I went there to buy clothes.

Re confinement wine:

I gotta ask my mom how to do it. The storage time for the wine is about 1.5 mth. If take out too early will not be as sweet. Then the longer you put in the fridge, the sweeter it becomes. But you would need a big glass jar to do it. Those big big one that shop houses used to put biscuits. Else the ingredients are pretty cheap. It's basically glutenious rice, "hong qi mi" (red rice), and wine biscuits that you can get from the medical hall.

Then the residue of the wine, commonly known as "hong zao" you can use to cook chicken, pork during confinement.

Tinklebell, Paula,

The traditional wine used for confinement is actually "hong zao jiu". Some people call it the rice wine cos it's made of rice. The end product is red in colour. It's really nice. And you can also cook a small glass everyday to drink during confinement. My aunt used to use up one bottle (750ml) a day on cooking and drinking.

Medusa,

How are you feeling now? Any better? *Hugs*

Josephine - it's the same thing fetal and detailed scan. For mine, it will have the doppler which which will enable us to see the bloodflow to and from the baby's heart as well as the placenta. It's just like the detailed scan done at 20w, except this is to be done after 28w.

Btw can i ask how do we clean the baby's poo next time when we change diapers - can just use the pigeon wipes or use water and cotton wool ?

MOAP,

Aiyo, shouldn't you be resting at home?

See, yesterday was durian, today is cake &amp; cookies. I wonder what's on our list of cravings tomorrows. Lol

I miss having the Subway chewy cookies...

Josephine - I think it just depends on the gynae. If there is a need (ie to monitor the growth of the baby or a full doppler to check on blood flow in the arteries) then may have to do one. If your gynae never say anything, then it should be fine.

I don't think there will be another detailed scan on 32th week... Btw, Dr Adrian also didn't ask me about labour, which hospital i've in mind and how many bedded ward i want to book....maybe still early...

hidora,

yah..i should be stayin at hme ..but i have been staying at hme for 3 wks aready leh...start to get spider web arady lor... i also ask hubby to buy durain but he say nw nt durain season so not worth buying...Tmw cook black chicken soup...hope can pump up my bb...

MOAP,

I'm also waiting for durian season to start.. Miss the D24 durian.. slurp! But think must wait until bb born then will be the D24 durian season.

Now you make me wanna go buy famous amos cookies.. If I drop by Tampines Mall later, think I would go get some cookies..

Black chicken not enough rite? Must be black chicken plus cordyceps?

celesteblur:
wil pop into Espirit if passby.

hidora:
thanks so much info on the Group B Streptococcus. I understand better now. However, i was wondering what causes this disease? any precaution to prevent in the first place? Sounds scary leh. So far i m 27wks n my gynac never tell me abt this test. For me i just take cordyceps wkly.

Joy:
i wil be using pigeon baby wipes to clean bb's bum. though some said water + cotton wool is e best for bb's tender skin.

MOAP:
heard fr my mum that black chicken soup abit heaty. maybe can take once in awhile.

all the famous amous cookies talk make my saliva drools.. tomm i wan to go n get a pack too...keke
update on my appt today... wahh.. my wt is 55kg now. oh mine another 1.5kg up since 3wks ago. bb position is head down.. phew and she is soo active kickin away. At wk31, she weighs 1.6kg.
I only get to see my gynae in another 3wks cos he said everything is fine. But he ask me to watch my diet....keke

Mother of a princess, I have been having that tightening feeling ... feeling a little scared as I am now overseas. How often do you have it? I have it at least twice or thrice a day.

hi paula
i do hv the tightenin feelin.. mayb u got to relax or shift position if u are sittin too long. or wat u are doin at that moment.
I do raise my feet high when i m in office keke.. or go walk ard when i feel the tightenin. Dun panic..
which wk r u in now?

Hi Paula,
Yes, I get the BH Contractn everyday too, I'm in my 31wks. I will do deep breathing or blowing to relieve the tension.

Hi Amy,
Oh yes! Inducing earlier if bb too big! That's a brilliant idea! Ok, I will ask my gynae on my 34wk visit.

Hi kite,
Dr YC didn't measure my cervix wideness leh, think she'll do it on my next visit bah ... Actually, me &amp; hubby a little bochap during the previous visits with her. We don't have much qns.

Water Retention!!!
Ladies, do you get very bad water retention in the day! Today, I got a bad shock at abt 11am, I couldn't fit my feet into the loafers!!! Then, I look down and realised my feet and ankles are badly swollen.
Finally got a taste of WT!!!

Aussino Baby Comforter:
Hi Celeste, thks for the website! I saw the one for the "Little Prince", it makes me drool again!

A gentle reminder to those of you who may want to visit Aussino ... in case of disappointment ... I've just bought from Aussino during their recent sale, it's $69.90 (ori $99.90), but they only left with 2 (not-so-nice) models. I hunt down 4 branches (Paragon, Suntec, Plaza SIN, Causeway Pt) but none of the models on the website. I think they hide the popular models during sale ...

Sweet dreams!

re: confinement wine
the traditional wine used is the hong jiu, like what hidora says...but u can't just learn how to prepare the wine here coz it's quite a knowledge...normally, u can get those old grannies to make the wine for u...very hard to buy outside from stores....but u can try your luck by asking those traditional chinese medicine hall to see if they got lobang for the wine....

my mum got a few bottles for me from one of my old relative....btw, do note that if the wine is not prepare properly, it's not good for us loh...so must have trustful source....

most people get DOM instead coz easier to buy, compare to rice wine

moap,
ya, normally can come in here early in the morning...after that, will have work to do, so harder to come in here...

how r u? still having BH contraction reguarly?

morning ladies

Re: BH contractions
I was told by my gynae as long as the tightening feeling doesnt last like 5-10mins then its fine. Becos I've also been getting BH since like 2 weeks ago. But my tightening feeling only lasts like arnd 10-20sec maximum, so gynae told me its fine

Good Morning ladies

Yeh! Friday!

Aiyo... am down with flu
no wonder i felt so tired the last few days. I slept at 10 last nite and woke up at 620am. After so many hrs of sleep, still like not enuf. I'm feeling so tired. donno how to last thru the day.

re: BH contractions
I also get it a few times a day. Sometimes so bad that i kenna backache.

Morning mummies !!

Hippee is Friday.... I intend to take half day go home to rest..haha !!

Kite,
This is the beansprout pillow I have ordered &amp; is purple in colour. The picture dont seem to look purple

399423.jpg

This is how it looks like when delivered. This pillow is meant for another mummy whom I have collected on her behalf

399429.jpg

Hello gals!

I do get tightening feeling when I walk too fast. kekeke... I gotta keep telling myself to slow down :p I guess that's BH ba..

Carebear,
I had a taste of water retention and the elephant legs last Saturday to Monday... now I am glad no more already
It hurts and ugly rite?

Dor,
I am already 58kg... kekeke... I am seeing my gynae tomolo morning
Wonders how heavy I gonna be on his machine... lol... Last visit, which was 4 weeks ago, I only gained 0.2kg for 3 weeks!

Morning gals!

Re: Aussino Comforter
I rem i saw all the 4 designs at Westmall branch. The ABC, Sweet pie (pink), Garden Bear (Green) and the blue set..... Has the new model, "Little prince" been released? The sales girl told me will be released somewhere in May-June.... Anyway, i've already bought another set, "Classic pooh" from Taka.

Btw, what is BH Contraction?

Celeste/ Serene, i also like the Aussino comforter set. very sweet

re: wt gain
looks like most of u still below 60kg. Me already 61kg and with my craving for Famous Amos cookies, durians etc etc, i think i will gain more wt.

tinklebell...
I also have cravings... Now I crave for cornetto ice-cream or magnum... kekeke... Last week, I had one ice-cream per day... Now trying very hard to control cos too much sugar is not good... hahaha...

okipoki
how much is the pillow!? it's lovely!!

Cramps: yesterday evening i shared coconut with my hubby (actually i took 3/4 of it) and last night i had the worst cramps (on both legs) of my life!!! not sure if it's related, but that was the only unique i took yesterday! i have cramps every alternate day so already can manage a normal cramp pain, but yesterday night's one was so unbearable, i was crying and screaming... My left calf and ankle was twisted and hubby tried to massage and twist it back...! took about 30min! After the whole saga i told him i prob behave like that during labour and he better don freak out! while having cramps, we tried the mrs wong deep breathing technique,but it's very difficult when you're in pain. Later, on when 1 manage to calm down, it does relieve some pain..
very sleepy now. After cramp, muscle ache and scare cramp come back, so did not sleep well...

lyn
Walls ice cream have offer at Shell petrol station. there's this very sinful triple choc cone, Usual $2.20 each now 2 for $3 dollars!!

okansan,

i am still ok... but still got contractrion on and off... yesterday slip out of the house for 45min then rch hme straight i have contraction for whole nite...tummy so tight...

All MTB,

i need advice...my hubby wanted to employ a maid to take care of my 2 gals.. at the same time she can help out to clean the house when we are at home. But my main concern is can we trust the maid.. when i go bck to work force my elder gal will only be 16mths and my second gal will be around 2 mths plus only... i don think the maid can handle my gals..How.. now i very headache..

MOAP, how abt putting them with nannies. I personally dont like the idea of putting my kids with the maid while i am at work.

if really no choice, i suggest u dont get those young maids... someone more matured may be in better position to handle your kids.

I used to have a maid who was 37 years old. I feel that she is matured in handling my boy. However, of course there r cons such as she is not as strong as the younger ones would be and sometimes a bit lazy. But the maturity bit gives me better assurance that my children are under good care.

Okasan thanks for replying to Josephine.

Josephine,
I paid $17 for the pillow &amp; I didnt order any extra casing which cost $7. If u are interested, u can refer to the link which Okasan has posted.

MOAP,

Me too dont like the idea of putting my ger under the care of the maid only. At least, an adult should be around with the maid. Probably after so much news in the paper on the maid with kids I wouldnt want to take any risk. I suppose there might be some good ones around but still is depend on your luck

TGIF!! DO have a great weekend ahead

Having my next gynae appt tomorrow. Hopefully everything is ok

Talking about BH Contraction.. i think i have experienced it recently. Tightening of tummy on and off and also sudden sharp pain at vagina then the pain goes imemdiately. Weird. But read from other threads that other ladies also experience this. Guess it is part of BH Contraction too.

About ice cream.. craving too haha.. and dun really care... eat rubbish nowadays.. we bought tubs of ice cream and eat at nite.. two person can finish half a small tub of ice cream a nite heeee... But i try to control and my hubby eats more ice cream than me.

oh lyn
i gain 1.6kg within 3wks. i got another 8-9wks to go. hope i dun hit the digit 6...wahahaha

hi josephine
how does ur hubby stopped ur cramp? when i hv cramps on my calf. my hubby will straighten my leg and hold my feet and push backward till the cramp subsides. only last less than 5sec, my cramp stopped. he is well trained in this field..keke. think massage make it worse to me. mayb worth a try :p

tinklebell
wat does a comforter set consist of? last time the bb fair, i only got the bb positioner, 1 comforter, pillow and bb blanket only.. is that enough?

m thinkin to get a playpen, today saw Metro Sale advertisement. sellin @ $99 w free foam mattress.. is that good?

MOAP
for me, i will NEVER leave my babies to a maid alone unless u have ur MIL or someone u noe to watch over her. if not, it's a NO NO

MOP: that is my worry too ... i mean, i am a first time mum, and dont intend to quit after having the baby ...
am considering infant care as one of the alternatives ...
cuz housework - i still can manage.

In your case, it's 2 girls so maybe a bit more than a handful to do ...
perhaps you can get a more experienced maid ...
dont get those who are just new from the countryside type ... cuz they are not trained well and not used to city living.

My parents got one new one, and have to constantly supervise her. If there is someone at home to look over her, then i feel it is ok ...