(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

jojo/okasan,
true i wun know whether i will have milk or not... but i anticipate latching on problems cos i got inverted nipples and my colleague who has the condition on both her breasts told me must suffer a lot of pain and be v persistent then can bf successfully. also need a good electric pump if nipple becomes sore from latching bb on... and none of them depend on manual pump tho they have also bought one b4 they got their medela PIS. so i thot save the $ on manual pump and invest in a good solid electric dual electric one. haizz... now seems like it's up to individual which kind of pumps more suitable huh. manual will take long time to pump and i can't imagine myself pumping on and on like a cow during confinement just to get ready for bb's next feed
so how now? hmm... bf seems so headache even b4 I start. no wonder last time ppl just give formula. me a formula fed baby all the way haha.

Hi JoJo,

Told you I'm kiasu. Haha. Erm, I'm still considering to use BW for 1st mth, or use disposable diapers.

Hi okasan,

When your hb sees the baby comes out during your delivery, think he wun think "oh, just like that only huh?" Cos my fren went inside the delivery room with his wife, and when he saw the bb came out, he went into a deep state of shock. =P

Hi Gina,

My colleague told me to get a nipple shield. It works for her. She say first few days of BF were like hell even though her nipples were not sore or bleeding. She has no problem latching on now after a mth. She is not using her pump at all now. That sounds great ya?

Yup, her sister gave birth soon after her and she bought a manual one. She ended up borrowing the medela electric one from her as her manual one taking up a lot of her time cos not efficient.

Ohhh, so my colleague one is actually medela electric, and not PIS hahaha.. i must be siao to get the PIS. It is so expensive! I think i get the medela electric. I will buy it to ease my mind, just in case i really need it when the time comes. If it really becomes a white elephant, can't be helped too. *cross fingers*

Wow, u need to vet other teachers' papers!! U must be quite a senior teacher over there liao
Oh by the way, i just know about my promotion few days ago
I was pretty shocked to learn that and think i am super lucky to get promoted. Perhaps due to all the work i have done last year, especially cluster sharing.

I am relieved when my colleague called me to say all our exam papers are ok. So i just need to print out for the HOD who will pass to VP for vetting.

EMPS... sigh.. dunno how i am going to do it for the next round.. in may ya? Think i can only update and send over to my head. Not possible to sit down face to face and talk liao. EMPS is really a hateful thing. It can take up substantial amount of time when we are already so busy with other things.

gina,
well, if u have inverted nipple, u may want to talk to a lactation consultant...some mummies can pump more milk out using manual than electric...some swear by their electric pump...

beside, if u already decide on a brand for the electric pump, u can always get your hubby to buy when u are doing confinement...just tell him where to buy and the model...

anyway, the milk don't come so soon after delivery...and it's advisable not to start using the pump before u can successfully latch on the baby....more important is to try to latch baby on for 1-2 week, until both mother and baby are comfortable, then u may start to use your pump to empty your breast....if u start using pump at the early stage, it may jeopardise your bf effort....

hidora,
ya, I got one colleague who told me ever since he saw how his daughter was born, he never want his wife to give birth to another one liao...

kk,
wow, congrats on your promotion~!

good to have promotion before u are due...we women always at a disadvanatge..once on maternity leave, that year performance can forget abt it liao.....

okasan:
the Desitin cream i bought is 2oz, costs $11.62 from unity. Heard TMC selling $18 for 2 tubes but i bought 1 tube to try out first instead 2 tubes

As for hubby's opinions on delivery, he said quite heartpain cos must be very painful. but he added that woman's threshold quite high tat's y woman born to give birth to baby. heehee.

btw wat is the meaning of 50 and 95 percentile?

I got my durian fix - Carrefour has lots of durians ! No too bad but not as cheap since not really in season at the moment. Hopefully after eating, baby will put on some weight for the scan on Wed.

Do you gals think it's necessary to get a milk bottle draining rack ? Not sure if it's going to be useful.

hi joy:
me too love durians but i always eat abit only. cos durians can cause fever in bb, so try not to eat alot okie
what is ur bb's weight? its better to be healthy than too big.

wat is milk bottle draining rack? u know pigeon brand? it used to overturn the milk bottle n drain e water?

Hi Kite

My baby was 600g at 24w and next week going for 28w check-up and hope he will be >1kg. Am always paranoid that he's not growing enough.

Re the milk bottle draining rack, I saw one in a magazine which you can put individual bottles. Am also not sure but I think after you wash you are suppose to drain them before sterlising is it ? It was on my list of things to buy that I got from this forum.

Btw bought some nighties (long gowns - knee length) with the front buttons on Taka recently - Karmy brand which I think can wear in hospital. Better than pyjamas I think. $16.90 each. Also John Little also sells the cotton Impressions maternity panties @ $4.50.

Joy:
well is urs a bb boy or girl?
my bb girl weigh 530g at 23wks, 781g at 26wks and 1kg at 27wks. So i guess urs shld be fine as long ur gynac never mention anything. For me, my gynac advised me not to eat too much cos me petitie size and scare bb too big for my size.

For me, i wont be getting e milk bottle draining rack. All i wil do is to use pigeon liquid detergent to wash e bottles, then just make sure the water inside e bottle is empty and then proceed to sterilise. think not need to drain the water inside e bottle until dry.
After sterilise, u can proceed to use the bottles. Those unused sterilised bottles, u can either keep it inside the fridge or in the steriliser itself

Me too intend to get the pyjamas dress, dun intend to get separate too troublesome. Wil buy this Karmy brand, Metro also carry if not wrong. Btw how many u bought and w sleeve or sleeveless ones?

Gina,
I noe Medela got a kind of shield for inverted nipples but don know weather if it works or not.Maybe u want to try it.Instruction given is before u give birth start to put the shield on your breast.Hope that may help you.

Tks mummies for all the info on the diff in cot and playpen.Actually i already had a playpen since my first delivery.My son was so tall that he outgrown it soon,he can't use the playpen when he is 1yr old. But will still continue to use the playpen for my girl now,didn't want to waste another lum of $$ to buy liao.

Okasan,
Tks for your extra info on the BW.Now i can learnt one more new technic by using both the inserts and cloth diaper..and also on the bf.

Went to Kiddy Palace today.Cannot stand seeing all the lovely stroller.Have been hesitating which one to buy.Hahaha....finally got a stroller..

Kite - mine is a boy. Also think will not get the draining rack. I bought 3 nighties and they are all with sleeves. They have the long gowns which goes all the way to the ankle as well. Some of the material may be thicker. Actually am wearing it already cos very comfy. Heard Metro carry them too.

hi mummies.

hubby n i just finished 1 tub (biggest tub) of haagen dazs new Melon favour ice cream yummy.
397137.gif

Joy:
oic. dun worry, probably u can try to ask ur gynac on the next visit whether ur bb boy's weight is okie
think i wil get the shorter gowns, stop at e ankle wil do. how many gowns u intend to bring to hospital?

do u think nowadays during delivery, is episiotomy still being practise? so scare ah, hv to cut down there.

Kite,
I think they still practice it incase you tear your V ba.But don't worry loh cos when u are in pain during the contraction,u don even feel the gynae had made a cut and they also will give you an injection for numbness which i think no feeling ba.I didnt even noe he had made a cut on me during my first delivery.
My boss wife is better,her bb comes out so fast that the gynae nv have a chance to make any cut.So good that the second day she start walking around like nothing...so envy....

JoJo:
oic so u went through episiotomy, heard wound wil heal slower n after deliver, u wil feel pain down there? its really scare to see gynac using something to cut down there. cant imagine. even b4 hv to cut, cant imagine the injection has to be injected down there.

kite,
episiotomy still in practice...but don't worry, like what mrs wong say...unless there's a need to, else gynae dun wanna do the cut too....my mum told me when doing episiotomy, u dun feel the pain coz u already in labour pain...

the skin of aisan women's perineum are normally thicker than western women, hence less stretchable...

thanks for the info on the Desitin cream price. was thinking what is the saving like if buy the cream thru the bulk purchase here

re: milk bottle draining rack

not neccessary to get...the rack is good to hold milk bottles...but u can also dry your bottles on normal disk rack....in fact, if u have steriliser, can also make use of the rack inside the steriliser to dry the bottles...before u sterilise the bottles

Kite,
Okasan is rite.I have read from one of the thread that after the delivery,as what u said there is pain and they need to be wash regularly to keep it clean and sterile.Usually hospital will provide us a liquid i think is iodine to wash but can be very 'hot' on the wound.I tried before and quite pain.The thread mummy had recommended to use salt put in a pail or bathtub of warm water,sit on the water to wash it.Otherwise you may also just use water to rinse it.Sometimes i used water to rinse it too during my first bb.

okasan:
Desitin is highly recommended for bb rashes. It wld be great if there is bulk purchase but i doubt so cos its commonly out there.

Jojo:
so using water to rinse is good enuff?

jojo,
I'm a first time mum...learn from mummies here and read books, etc for info...most of my babycare experience comes from babysitting my cousins when my mum was their nanny

kite,
there are bulk purchase for desitin here...in fact, I also saw a few finished bulk purchase liao...but never join in coz I dun know what was the saving like until today....

okasan:
wow so many ppl ordered Desitin, think this brand shld be very gd bah hehe. perhaps next time if after finish using, wil then do bulk purchase.

Kite,
I think just water is ok too.You may want to consult the mid wife after your delivery.

Okasan,
Oic.You sound so pro in delivery.I have been having sleepless nite these day.Wonder y this happen.The nearer the dates are, the more stressful i am.Worried so many things to prepare.

morning ladies

Re : Video on giving birth
Haha, when i watched the video i was like having my eyes half opened. Until now I still cant imagine having a baby going thru the birth canal...really scary!

Re : Pyjamas for hospital
I bought mine at a neighbourhood shop. Its a dress type short-sleeved with buttons all the way and length is up to knee-length. Bought it at only $6.50 per piece

jojo,
no experience in delivery at all...all my limited knowledge is from books, surf net, and from mummies here....also learn a lot during the antenatal class with Mrs wong.....

I dun have sleepless nights, but I have dreams throughout the nights and I cannot remeber what dreams they were when I wake up....the brain just keep working non-stop.....think it's naturally for us to be anxious when we are nearer to our EDD

just have to keep reminding ourselves to relax...afterall, no one is 100% prepared when they give birth...

kite,
ya, heard it's good...but hor, u may want to wish that u never get to finish the tube u bought coz that will means no nappy rash on baby's butt

okasan,
But I heard from frens that Desitin is quite difficult to wash off. I might wanna try the Mustela Vitamin Barrier one. Heard that its quite gd also.

Morning ladies !!!

Re: Nappy Rash
I bought 2 tubes of Desitin Creamy from the bulk purchase. My friends who have kids recommended me to get. Never hear comments from my friend that is quite difficult to wash off leh....

Good Morning

I'm having a bad throat and runny nose
Feels quite uncomfortable. these 2 days, i find myself getting tired quite easily... by 9pm, i feel that i need to get onto bed already. It feels most comforable lying down on one side. My legs have also started to swell.
2 over more mths to go til delivery.... so exciting. But i still have quite a bit of things wh i have not bought such as baby playpen mattress (where to custom make mattress?) donno if it is cheaper to just buy a brand new pen so that i dont have to customise the mattress.

Jojo, your son is 5 already? i remembered u mentioned he is a diapers. my son is 3.5yrs and still cannot control his bladder through the night. I am wondering when i can start him to be diaperless. I've also ordered for BW thru the bulk purchase. Hopefully he can fit into BW cos he's a bit on the big side.

celeste,
ya, I also heard Mustela Vitamin Barrier is good. in fact, during the baby festival at expo, the lady there demo the barrier cream on my hand...not bad loh....it's a very thick cream....

but mustela's products very ex...I manage to get the babycare kit which I intend to try out first loh....

tinklebell,
there are playpen mattress around....dun think u need to customise mattree for your playpen....

ya, I'm also feeling tired these days...every morning, I woke up as if I have never sleep yet....

okipoki,
really ah...i not sure cos i neber used b4...haha...but quite a few told me its more difficult to wash off if u compare it to nappy rash creams like Drapolene.

okasan,
I saw a Mustela kit selling at Kiddy Palace, inside got a tube of Vitamin Barrier cream and some other sample sizes cream think its selling at arnd $20. I was considering getting that one

tinklebell,
I also feel that i dont have much stamina nowadays. Even hsehold chores like sweeping n mopping the flr, i ask hb to takeover liowz...i only do the laundry and wiping of furniture...those lighter chores. Last nite slept at almost 12am, now feel like zombie

re: nappy rash

Do bbs get nappy rash often? so far my son only kenna nappy rash once in his life... that was when he was using the plastic diapers. once we stopped him fr that, he was fine. we use drapolene which can be bought fr Guardian Pharmacy... i find it quite effective also. But i heard that girls then to get nappy rashes more frequently.

Celesteblur:
the video which Mrs Wong showed us very gross hor...b4 that i hv no idea how delivery is like cos dun want think abt it but now at least i got to know how its like.

Celeste, i have one playpen around buy no bassinet. I tried getting a bassinet that fits the pp but cant find ...was looking ard for mattresses but somehow the sizes all dont seem to fit that PP. So, that's why i thought maybe i could custom make one. Then i can stack the mattresses up. I kind of gave up looking for places wh sell Bassinet ... anyway, bb could only sleep on bassinet for 3 mths.

re: BB Names
Have u gals thought of your BB name already? any nice chinese character for girls to share with me? I'm not good in my mandarin

kite,
ya! The video Mrs Wong showed is gross! Seems to jack up my phobia on giving birth...haha...but no matter wat still have to go thru it. I think the most funny part is the woman on epidural, at first i was still wondering y she doesnt seem to feel pain and didnt scream like the rest of the woman. Then the Mrs Wong said this lady was on epidural....no wonder seems so calm lah...*lol*

Re : Bb Names
I am thinking of calling my gal "Yi (4) Xin (1)". Hehe, the "xin" as in "xin shang" admire that "xin" and I checked the dictionary, it means cheerful, happy

celeste,
u mean the kit is selling at $20? is it very small tube of all the baby products including the barrier cream? that time, the kit was selling at $4 at expo, but I got it free coz I bought the stretch mark cream...

okasan,
i tink the kit u saw is sample size. The one i mentioned i saw in Kiddy Palace is the normal size Vitamin barrier cream. Not the sample size. But inside the bag it got contain other Mustela bb products samples

Maybe when i drop by Kiddy Palace again i take a look and update u on it

tinklebell,
I see, your playpen dun have bassinet one...then it's harder to find bassinet that fit loh...easier for u to just get a new one...then again, like what u say, the bassinet is only for 1st 3 mth....but with the bassinet, at least u dun need to bend all the way down when u place baby to sleep...easier on our back....

re: nappy rash
not neccessary will get one...depend on how often the diapers are changed loh....if can maintain baby's butt clean and dry most of the times, will seldom get rashes...also depend whether baby is allergic to certain things that may cause rashes loh....

celeste,
I see...ya, the one I got free is sample size for each of the baby product that mustela has....that time during expo fair, very tempted to get the whole set coz they have this whole set that comes with a bag...think cost $100+...but hubby say better to get sample to try coz dun know if baby likes it or not...hehe

Celeste, Yi Xin is a nice name...very feminine
Yes, very tiring doing housework. I did a lot of washing and hanging of laundry last week and in the end kenna muscle strain on my left side
took almost a day for the pain to go off! Donno why nowdays i seem to have become a cleanliness freak! Somehow it makes me quite upset whenever i see my house untidy or dusty.

tinklebell,
same here..suddenly, my and hubby very particular abt cleaniness...yesterday, both of us spent the whole day wiping our furniture, windows, etc....

think coz baby coming...more gan jiong abt cleaniness ::

okasan,
Tat time i went the Taka fair i was given the Mustela sample size kit foc cos it comes with the taka goodie bag that i was given after making payment
Me also thinking of letting bb try the Vitamin Barrier cream first if everything is gd then will go and get one

Woah, the whole set costs $100+, i tink their products r kinda exp, dont tink i will get their shampoo or bathing lotion etc, will juz get the nappy rash cream

tinklebell,
thanx
Cos we have to start with the word "Yi" cos hb's newphews and nieces all start with this word and it sounds kinda masculine, so i tot the word "Xin" will soften down the name...cos its more feminine at least overall the name sounds more like a gal

I think u must try to relax a bit, duty or dirty let it be....make sure u get enuff rest
Tats y i dont sweep or mop the flr now liowz...previously used to do most hsework in one sunday alone and then i will get hip/spine aching so now dont dare liowz *sigh*