(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

All mummies!

I saw this thread about this Bumwear diaper...i think compare to disposable and white cloth diaper..this is more fashionable and cost saving too....jus to let you all noes to save more money for pampering ourselves..hehe...i am getting them too cos i used those white cloth diaper before and when after wash, they occupy the whole lot of my bamboo stick...hope u all find this thread useful.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/396607.html?1143818654

For those who wanna buy disposable panties, can also try out Kiddy Palace. I bought my one there for $4.90 for 5. It's in cotton and in maternity size, seems quite comfy. They got another one which is 6 for $4.90, but it's those paper material kind.

Anyway, I went to watch Ice Age 2 last nite, and it's so funny! I think bb loved it too as he was moving around. Maybe mummies here can go watch it as it can really cheer up your day. =)

Hi JoJo,

Went to the BW thread. Looks so interesting! But I still can't figure how many diapers and liners we would need for both day and night.

And will you be going by the one diaper, one liner cycle? Or will you chg the liner a couple of times before washing the diapers?

Hi Hidora,
My guess is if the diaper itself is not wet maybe we can continue to pull out the wet insert and insert a new one in.
It is recommended to buy 2 to 3 inserts for 1 diaper from the shop.
As for the nappy liners, i think we use it oni if our bb is on full BM.Otherwise there is no need to use any nappy liners.Cos i read that feeding on BM bb usually wil have gooey poops. So we are advisable to use the nappy liners. Saw this thread, u may want to read it.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/396437.html?1143860296

I have been reading all the info since 3pm till now and finally i understand and learnt alot about it.After some calculation, it is realli a good money saver if it realli works.

Hi Hidora,

Read from the previous bulk purchase for Bumwear.This info for ya.

There are 2 types of diaper actually... one with laminates which is dryer and another is 100% cotton (more airy)... To me i change the inserts only after 3-4 hr n diapers after 6-7 hours.. thus it is a breeze to me n no leaks...

Hi JoJo,

I just called up the owner of Bumwear. Hehe, it's always best to get info str8 from the seller.

1) How many diapers and inserts do we need a day (based on one diaper one insert cycle)

About 5.

2) How long does it take for the diaper/ insert to dry?

Diaper about half a day, insert about 1 to 1.5days (If we are hanging it indoor)

3) Which brand of detergent will be good?

Kao Attack

4)Is it necessary to get 100% cotton?

It's by perferences. She did not used the 100% cotton at all.

5) How long can it last (wear and tear)?

She's using it for her 4th kid. But the idea is the more you have, the less you wash and reuse the same piece.

6) She recommanded the use of BW after the full mth as the poo is really sticky.

Hi Hidora,
Tks for making the effort to call the retail shop.Your info is useful to me too.
As for the nappy liner,when i use white cotton cloth diaper,i usually fold them within the cloth diaper which is about half,just enuf to cover bb poo poo hole.You get what i mean. These nappy liner are not easily tear.So i think we can use the liner anyway we want to fold for the BW diaper too ba.

Hi JoJo,

This BW thingy is really interesting. Imagine if bb is free from nappy rash, we dun even have to spend money on the nappy cream!

But just wanna chk with you, would you still use disposable diapers when gng out with bb? Or stick to BW? If we stick to BW, it means that we will hv to carry the dirty diaper home leh..

Hi Hidora,
I had tot of using it if i go out too.But you have a point on bring dirty diaper home hor.What if they poo poo and we are on the train will not be so nice rite!hehe! cannot imagine tat.Maybe we can prompt this question to those mummy who had use for outing.But i don noe y i am so engross with it.I even tot bb can wear it to go swimming since they are polyesters.

Hidora,
One impt thing to noe is about the washing of the diaper.You may want to consider if u want to buy.

The following taken from Bumwear's website :
http://www.bumwear.com/shopping/clothdiaper/diaper-washncare.html
---------
IMPORTANT : Machine-washing your diapers before the first use
We cannot stress often enough on how important it is to wash your new diapers and inserts at least three times before using for the first time.?This will ensure the absorbency of the cotton and will make the diaper "fluff up."?If not pre-washed, the diapers will not absorb urine properly because during the manufacturing process, there is a waxy buildup on the cotton. A great way to pre-wash your diapers is just to wash them with your regular clothes for 3-4 times. Avoid softeners as they create waxy build up on the cloth diapers that will cause the diapers to repel water instead of absorbing it. Dynamo detergent contains some fabric softener and should therefore not be used in washing of the cloth diapers.

If you put any brand new cloth diaper on a baby and he/she wets it, urine will simply bead up and run right out of the diaper. The machine washing swells and fluffs the cotton fibers maximizing your absorbency. Once this is done, you will notice that your baby's pee stays in the cloth diaper and doesn't run out the sides (like at first).

Hi JoJo,

That's my concern leh. Imagine everyone smell the diaper.. Aiyo..

Btw, have you calculated whether it's cheaper than disposable diapers if we considered the electric/ water bills? (washing everyday) I'm not very good at calculating this.

Hi Hidora,
I am neither that calculative but i am looking at a long term using,of cos,compare to disposable diapers it shl be cost saving.Saw they have a calculating format in the webby.
http://www.bumwear.com/shopping/clothdiaper/diaper-dollars.html

As for electric /water bills i havent tot of that.But i will get my maid to hand wash the diapers/inserts than spin dry them.This more or less will help to save abit on the bills ba.
I am buying 4 to try out first.If u are not confident with it.I suggest wait till i had tried on it first than i recommend u than.Cos my son though is 5yrs old,he still wear disposable diaper at nite,so will let him try on it if he can fit on it cos he is very skinny.

Hidora - thanks for info on Bumwear, am also very keen to try it out and see. But I plan to use disposables for a start until baby is >1mth and even after that, will prob use disposables for going out and at night. If BW is good, think we can always ask friends to buy that for us as gifts instead.

Re: Pyjamas
396718.gif

Taka B2 got sale on nightwear...i bought 2 today $12.90 each. For those mummies who deliver at TMC & looking for pyjamas, can go take a look.

Jojo, Bum Wear looks interesting... but donno if it is hot esp the waterproof type. I bought something like bumwear for my elder son (fr the taka baby fair) but he hated wearing it bec it is v stiff... not too sure whether bum wear is stiff or not. I also bought another type wh is not waterproof and he weted the bed after only 1 pee..... so i really wonder how many pees bum wear non waterproof diaper can hold before leaking. Nevertheless, it looks appealing enough for me to want to try... will probably use it at home only. True enough, I cant imagine carrying the soiled nappy around while outside...esp if it's poo poo. u joining the bulk purchase?

Hi JoJo,

Hehe, I placed orders for 8 diapers & 16 inserts. Kiasu. This BP offer is good. I was thinking getting 8 will ensure that I will still hv enough even if some are not dry on the second day after washing. I planned to go by one diaper one insert wash cycle.

Hi Joy,

JoJo is the one who brought BW to my alert. Nvr knew such good things exist. =p I think I might use disposables for the first mth, and will definitely use it for gng out. Seems easier. But the idea of using BW at night seems not bad esp when most of the mummies said can last thru the night. Saved us the trouble of applying nappy rash cream too. =)

Hi tinklebell,

BW seems interesting hor. I think it should be not bad since so many mummies claimed that it works from that thread. I'm getting 2 cotton and 6 polyester. Will be using the cotton for day use.

Tinklebell,
I had placed order liao.Trying on 4 diapers first.If it works well on my 5yrs old skinny son(hopefully he can fit the leg).I'll difinately get more.Some of the comments i read is after 3-4hrs,the diaper is still dry,so the mummy only took out the wet insert and input another pc of insert.Some even highly recommend the absorbent is really good.Thats y i am very interested to try it.

Hidora,
I saw your order.Shock that u order so much in one go.Hehe..realli kiasu leh..i wanted to too..but i think better try out first.Did u read the thread about some mummy suggest to use after 1st mth cos they say the poo poo very gooey in the 1st mth wor and it also depends if your bb tights is chubby enuf for the 1st mth to fit in.I will use both white cloth diaper and BW diaper in the first mth to try out first.

wow today wkend so many postings! Hehe visit my bb today, she weigh 1kg at 27 wks exactly! Gynac advised me not to eat too much, must control my diet n ask me avoid durians cos she scare bb too big for my size! Imagine last thur, i saw my bb at 26wks n she weigh 781g that time. 1 wk can grow so much. hehe. then after that, we went thomson plaza bought durians puffs lol, cant resist. wil eat moderate.

Btw, we confirm took the 1 bedded ward. shall await for its letter to post to my house.

At ntuc bought kodomo laundry detergent n pigeon comb n brush. At unity, bought Desitini baby rashes cream and Lactycl for bb's body wash.

Find Mrs Wong really workaholic n nice leh. usually our class wil start at 7pm and wil end later than 9pm (never end exactly at 9pm one). 2nd n today lesson end at 10pm+! Today's lesson showed us videos on different kind of deliveries through natural birth n c-sect. wow liao i see liao really scare n cried abit. alamak got 1 mummy was crying away while watching e video.

396784.jpg

Spelling error. shld be Lactacyd for bb's body wash n Desitin baby rashes cream.

kk:
Mrs wong ever mention that the water not neccessary must be boiled type. she said can use heater (also boil n hot water mah). She added its ridiculous to boil the water, rather can use heater water to bath.

yes my bb weigh 1kg liao at 27wks. After that went to that famous Hakka Ampang yong tau fu for lunch, very crowded. Then went thomson plaza shopping

Carebear29:
Dr. yvonne chan advised me hv to stop eating alot liao else bb too big esp for my petite size.
my next appt wil be on 29 Apr, sat again. hehe. Oh ya today she gave me a list of PD to choose n decide. Hmm she told me all these PD are her frens which she recommend. The nearest to my hse is at Jurong East. how abt u? u taking PD recommends by Dr. YC? btw my weight is 52kg now, put on 9kg from 43kg.

Jojo:
e diaper can be reuseable and just use n throw e inserts each time its been soiled? wow seems like alot of ppl ordering wor. But i intend to use disposable diapers leh. but the one u share w us like not bad. hmm cant decide leh.

hi good morning mummies

me woke up again around 4 and have been on my Computer tidying up some work. hope u all have a restful weekend.

kite dear,
oh u cried after watching those birth scenes?
kao_embarrassed.gif
I felt kinda grossed out... and paiseh cos so many men around... wonder why ang mohs gotta strip so naked when they give birth... actually can wear something on top mahh...
kao_shy.gif
the 1st case really like out of this world huh... gave birth at home and some more so fast and smooth, like no medical intervention at all, just 2 midwives dressed up like pantry maids..hahaha... unbelievable. How i wish my bb's birth can be THAT fast! The rest of the cases all quite gross, in fact after watching I got some phobia for labour liao... b4 watching I actually not so worried about it...
kao_scared.gif
any other mummies who attended M Wong's classes felt anything watching live birth??

hi kk,
Thanks for your concern abt the aircraft noise issue that has been giving me nightmares. I think i will stop worrying for the moment and carry on with life. I found out Mt A actually conducts newborn hearing test as soon as bb is born! wonder if kk has this service. may bring my bb for testing at Mt A is possible to ease my mind... else will be so burdened by the worry. Scared if too worried may not be able to concentrate during labour. after watching those videos on birth, realised must be 100% focused or else will not be able to follow the midwives instructions properly and endanger bb and myself...

Seiyu got sale on Madame pureen maternity pads, $7.80 for a pack of 20. wonder how much is it w/o discount? i bought 2 packs, then intend to buy the Kotex brand too. btw anyone bought or intend to buy medela mini electric breast pump? is it good? it's not as expensive as the medela PIS. need a good pump to sustain milk flow when i go back to work after maternity leave.

hi carebear,
me have the same intention as u - wanna engage cleaner service, preferably a thorough cleaning package such as post renovation cleaning b4 my due date. my hse not really v thoroughly cleaned since we moved in after renovation 2 yrs ago coshubby and i v v bz with work and tired after work and on weekends. so just did some quick cleaning thatz all. i do have an article from a magazine listing the cleaning services available. here are the links:
www.care-xpress.com
www.spicknspan.com
www.justrelax.com.sg
www.amahsonwheels.com
Crusade services tel 62964156/98197050

i havan decided which one to engage, yet to check out their services and prices. but will def engage one cos want my hse to be spic and span for bb.

is Bumwear for newborns? if really that good, then i also quite interested... as long as not too messy to wash and cost saving and EFFECTIVE in holding bb's poo...

hi morning,
seems like you gals already quite prepared for the baby's arrival. that's v good.

i havent got my cot and stroller. gotta start sourcing ard really soon. i'm already going into 28 wk.

any one knows where to get reasonable priced cot? i need 1 for my mum's place and i got a playpen for my own place.

Hi Kite,

Have u tried the durian puffs from goodwood park hotel? Simply heaven! Haha!

Come to think of it.. i have not taken durians ever since i am pregnant. Hmmm, dun really have temptation for durians. Will only eat when family members buy them :p

Ya, my hubby was asking me isn't it the same to use heater water as well? Heee.. then i told him i dunno what is the logic.

Hi Gina,

Why wake up so early?? Cannot sleep?? Me and hubby pulled ourselves out of bed at 515 am to go pray to my father. It is qing ming this time of the year. Think later i gotta go sleep again *yawn* Do u feel tired in school easily? Like.. sometimes u just feel like knocking out? Heee.. that's what happen to me when i am in the staff room. I will just feel like dozing off. And now i can't really concentrate on afternoon lessons liao.. feel terribly sleepy!

I only bought one pack of mdm pureen maternity pads from kiddy palace. I think after that can use back normal pads liao? I still have lots of whisper in my wardrobe. Dun wanna waste leh.

I think I am getting a medela pump despite BF for 3 mths only. My colleague told me it is absolutely necessary to get a good pump. BF is really not easy, especially for the first week or so. i am getting the better one, is it the PIS? The one that cost around $178.

Morning Mummies!
396857.gif

Gina:
ya agree its very gross esp tis is my first time watching this kind of video plus those ang mos all naked delivered their babies. see liao really got probia. b4 that, i wasnt like really bother n concern abt it but now at least i get to know how its gg to be like. but the sound that e ang mos like WOW LAU, u get wat i mean. lol.
during delivery, first part can see the bb's hair. Yes during delivery hv to be very clear mind n listen to midwife's instructions. When they asked u to stop pushing, u can hv to stop n use mrs wong's pant pant blow method. hehe

kk:
lol Mrs Wong said there is no different between boiled n heated water, she find it ridiculous.

Good Morning Mummies,

Mspiggy,
My advise is get another playpen but not cot loh.My personal view is the gap between the cot..ee..so scary that the bb wil stuck inside.You reconsider ba. I saw OG at People's Park selling somehting like $90+ for the playpen.You may go check out.

Kite,
PIS cost 600+ leh.The $178 de is only Mini Electric Pump, a single pump.I also bought a mini electric pump to standby liao.But everybody response differently from all pumps.My suggestion is during your stay in the hospital,get the lactation consultant to borrow or rent (not very sure) the Medela Lactina Plus Pump,that one is similar to the PIS function and it is very effective to mummies who had just gave birth.Wonder if i can use that in NUH ma,worried they don entertain.

The insert is reuseable and wash too.Per pc is $5.60 and you throw away meh.That is what i like about it,all reuseable and can u imagine it can be use up to 1yr+.The $$ save is an advantage to us.During my first confinement 5yrs ago,i had no problem washing the cloth white diaper,so i think this is easier and soon going to have maid to help..will be better.

Mother of the princess,
In the thread,they are having a discount of 20%.
Diaper is $20 and insert per pc is $5.60

Gina,
I read from one of the mummy experience is to avoid using for the 1st mth as our bb poo is gooey and more watery.Second advise is unless your bb at first mth is like 4kg,his/her leg can fit in the gap without any loose,than it won't leak.Anyway i will try in the 1st mth with my white cloth diaper too.

These are some of the question i had prompted to the pro diapering mummy.Fyi.

Q: Can the BW and inserts to be hang outside for sunlight to dry?
A : Of course ! Not only it dries your diapers and inserts faster, sunlight also acts as a natural bleach.

Q: Do u use it for outings.If so,what if bb poo poo,meaning we have to bring back the dirty diaper and inserts arh?
A: Yes, we wear BW/FB for outings too. When I am going out, I put double nappy liners on the diapers. If really got accident, then I'll look for handicap toilet (which has its own sink). If all the poo is captured by the liners, then I'll just throw the liners away and then keep the diaper in a plastic bag. No smell because the poo didn't get to the diaper thanks to the liners!

I will only wash the diapers if some poo gets to it, but if you use double liners, most of the time the poo will be captured by the liners. I will add some handsoap to do the diaper when I am washing it so that got no smell. After that , I just double bag it! No smell !

LUCKILY, I only have to worry about this with the younger boy !

I'l dump everything to the washing machine when I get home.

For moms still considering cloth diapering, here's a good article from one of my favorite websites about the myths of cloth diapering :

http://www.naturalfamilyonline.com/5-diap/45-cloth-diaper-myths.htm

Btw,i remember seeing someone were saying that during our last trimester,we are advise not to go to wedding dinner.Anybody aware of this?

hallo kk,
medela PIS is the super solid and super expensive pump which costs abt $800. there's another one called medela mini electric, operable by battery and costing abt $200+. still need to check out what is the difference between the 2. once I have found out from colleagues, will let u know. now Avent also got dual pump, called ISIS Duo, also v ex, like almost $800. dunno if it's better than medela. medela more widely used i think. yeah man, we need to get a solid pump if really want to express milk when we go back to work. my colleague pumped at 3 hourly intervals when she back from maternity leave. all told me need to buy electric pump, cannot use manual ones. so i am ready to invest in one, rather than borrow from friends/colleagues tho they all offer to lend me... anyway they lend their pumps around quite frequently... i think not v hygienic... btw there is an Avent Open House on Saturday 13 May 10 - 4 pm. at Beach Rd, Gateway East. so those of us interested in buying Avent pumps can go down to have a look, heard got discount on its products.
nowadays getting heavier and clumsier, so need to sit down more even when teaching. I felt sleepy all the time in my 1st trimester, now coming to 3rd in 2 weeks' time, not yet sleepy except when i didn't have enuf sleep the nite b4... but generally not so mobile. got leg cramps v often too and painful when i walk... KK, you are 34 weeks' liao yeah, so def more tired... do rest more and don't overwork! easier said than done, i know, cos i myself got work piling up like mountains (EPMS, Mid year exam papers to set, teaching slides to make, other trs' papers to vet, endless marking loads...etc etc) thank God, I enjoy my kids in school, otherwise the work wud be unbearable.

kite,
yeah got wat u mean...hope i dun haf to watch those videos again. but it's an eye opener. haha. aiyo.... dunno how my own birth will be like... scared...

hi JoJo,
hey those info on cloth diapering is great. Bumwear seems good, maybe will try when bb slightly older. cloth diapers/BW can help us save a lot, i suppose and that is important... but 1st month i think i will use pampers.
as for the pumps, i think have to buy b4 birth cos after birth how to shop? maybe bb can't latch on then have to feed EBM so if no breast pump, how to do so? mini electric much cheaper, and can bring around, anyone use it b4?

hi JoJo,
actually have consider getting another playpen also but thought of buying from cot that can convert to toddler bed. i know that some cot gap space is rather small.. which mean we cant put 5 fingers in together hence those are safe.

RE: pump
I got a manual Avent pump from my SIL... will try it out. If milk flow is established, I will go get Ameda electric pump.

Hi Gina,KK
Mini Electric Pump is cheaper and smaller compared to PIS.Mini E is a single pump,meaning you have to pump alternatively two side.PIS is a double pump meaning you got those 2 honk like funnel which u can pump 2 side of our breast at one go.Both can be battery or adaptor use.PIS can also buy additional car charger.I had some mummies response differently,some use Mini E is enuf for them whereas some need a stronger bigger motor like PIS than they can have more EBM.It realli depends lo.Likewise PIS,Mini E is more nosier.Anyway i put my bet on Mini E liao.Hope it works on me.
Hope these info is good enuf for you. I use to work in the distribution company for Medela.So i knows alot but regretfully when i had my first bb,i wasn't aware of this brand.After seeing so many mummies walk in to our office for servicing,their comments on the pump is great.So i am curious to use for this time too lo.In fact,they also have rented pump whick works well on mummies who had just deliver for better flow.If you guys need the contact,i can get for you just for in case ba.

jojo/hidora,
wow, all the talk abt bumwear...last time, I posted message on bumwear here too, but no response from mummies here...now looks like more response...*LOL*

if wanna use cloth diapers, good to try bumwear...

for me, I will use disposable when I bring baby out coz troublesome to carry the dirty bumwear diaper everywhere until reach home...

for the 1st mth, esp if baby is on bf, poo will be watery...use disposable diapers will make our life easier....

if u wanna use bumwear or cloth nappy during the 1st mth, please put at least 2 layer of nappy liners....

even when baby is older, also good to use nappy liner....reason coz with nappy liner, washing will be so much easier coz the poo will be on the liner, so u can just throw the liner away....

jojo,
not going to wedding or any celebrations when preggy are just individuals' beliefs...if u not pantang or if the hosts are not pantang, then there's no problems abt attending these celebrations

gina,
u can try to get a cheap manual pump first...no point investing in electric pump now before delivery coz u don't know how's your milk supply will be....

after delivery, if really need to get electric pump, then can always get it after confinement, not too late

I have friends who bought electri pumps before delivery...but after giving brith, they have no milk supply at all and gave up bf....so the electric pump they bought were wasted...

jojo,
there's a lot of differences between cot and playpen....

cot is more stable and can let baby sleep for many years....can even convert ot junior bed for some of the cots....

playpen is more for baby to have activities within a confined area...but new playpen have bassinet so can let baby sleep inside too...but can only sleep till they are abt 10-15kg...after which, the bassinet is unsafe for older, heavier baby....

playpen is soft at the side so baby can play inside without having to worry that baby will knock his head etc....

for cot, u don't let baby play inside, but only for sleeping..cot is made of wood material, so need to have cot bumper so that baby dun knock his head at the side...

when not in use, playpen can be kept in a compact manner but cot cannot...

gina,

What okasan say is true...buy a manual pump first..

for me last year i bought a pigeon manual pump then find that pump till my hand pain then bought the amenda dual pump..end up i only used twice because the suction is no good...and i used bck my manual pump again..

MOAP,
for the bumwear, if u dun use the insert, u can also use the cloth nappy to put inside...but cloth nappy as absorbent as the insert...

re: video on giving birth

when we watched the video during mrs wong's class....my hubby was saying "oh, just like that only huh?"...so I tell him to give birth instead....so terrible...I see liao, keep thinking what's the pain like after the delivery loh...to the guys, the process are short..but to us, we also have to endure the pain from the effect of the delivery....imagine how painful it will be to pee and poo after that...

no wonder they say mummy is the most WEI DA one!!

<font color="0000ff">kite,</font>
can check with u...how much u bought the Desitin cream? is it the desitin creamy? 2oz or 4oz?

okasan,

i intend to buy 4 daipers and oni 4 inserts because am using cloth napkins for my gal .. so i can also insert cloth napkin but i can changed it everytime when it wet mah..

moap,
ya, u can switch between insert and cloth nappy for the bumwear diaper...no problem...just change the diaper more often if u using cloth nappy inside....

anyway, cloth nappy dry faster than insert...the insert need longer time to dry loh....