(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

amy,
do let me know how the warming body wash smell..if not bad, then I will buy too, coz too lazy to boil the herbs then bath...troublesome...thanks

kite,

There's still prescriptives in singapore? Thought they move out already? Is prescriptive the one that do custom made loose powder and foundation?

I swear by Christian Dior Anticerne Perfecteur concealer. Used it for years. The texture is just nice, and it provides coverage for the whole day. Perhaps you wanna go try it out later.

Oh ya, can help me see whether this brand of comestic still around? Christian Breton. I used to saw it in Isetan Wisma last yr. It's loose powder is sooooo good! But dunno where they move to leh. Thank you thank you.

Ha ha... yup... saw your posting, that's why i went online to make the purchases.
Thanks for that.

Next thing on my list is raspberry tea.

lilfeets,
the case u mention...I saw one..but the diaper case come with the diaper changing mat....both are in black colour....think the brand is babyfirstyear or something like that...can't remeber the exact brand name...saw it at kiddy palace....

alternatives, u can go to sport connection stores...there's a lot of pouches that can be use to put diapers....

tinklebell,
at least when maid comes u can leave all hsework to the maid if possible....then juz spend ur time playing with kids and bonding with the kids
at least it shld take a small load off ur shoulder

hidora,
ya....when my hb go shopping with me he also very sianz...so when we go shopping we try compromising lor....he likes those Best Denki, Harvey Norman stores lah...its a MUST for him to visit these places...so i accompany him to these stores too lor...*lol*

Lilfeets,
u can consider MPhosis? I got my netted pouch from there, been with me for so long...at least 2-3 yrs and still very gd condition

kite,
Hmmzz, mabbe shld go during weekdays then prob not so many ppl...hehe :p but the 50% promo is until when?
Ya, i find it quite gd...i bought my 2nd tube after finishing the 1st one
I tink the price is around $30 that range bah
Bought it last yr cant remember exact price

jojo,
u follow the confinement practices huh? cool! I don't think I can tahan not bathing and washing hair....

in fact, cannot imagine trying to bf without any fan on...poor baby will be drinking sweat instead of breastmilk...

hidora,
Prescriptives move out oledi ah? *faint* suaku me....cos i bought my concealer last yr...i tink last yr still have...they juz moved out recently? so sad...cos i find their concealer gd

amy:
keep me posting on the warming body wash as well

hidora:
eh me not too sure abt prescriptives, never use this brand b4 n its recommended by celesteblur. Yes prescriptives is the one which can do customise powders

wat is e price for Christian Dior Anticerne Perfecteur concealer? maybe wil go down later. okie wil help u to look out for christian Breton counter at isetan scotts since i wil be there trimming my hair n buy concealer.

toking abt confinement...just read this article....too bad, singapore dun have such thing

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

How about a room at the Confinement Hotel?

In Beijing and Shanghai, a new type of hotel has emerged which caters exclusively to mothers facing confinement. Moms are pampered, allowed to bathe and provided with televisions, queen size beds, post-partum care and neonatal swimming facilities.

Moms get their own private bathrooms and the in-laws sleep on hide-a-beds. Stays at these hotels cost between $360 to $400 US per week and are doing a booming business.

celesteblur:
eh usually i try not to go out after work on wkdays cos wil feel tired unless i want to buy things. so usually plan things or outings on friday, sat or sun

yes the 50% is always on-going one. oh ya 50% is not applicable only for the porridge. the porridge quite nice leh.

celeste,

Prescriptive is the one that do custom made loose power rite? If so, they move out already. Moved out last yr also, lots of people went to stock up on the products. But Malaysia still have Prescriptive. Hehe. It's like that one. Concealer can last for a very long time! I'm also hunting for my Christian Breton. Went orchard last week, shocked to see it longer there. Dunno where they go.. haiz.. I love the loose powder.

okasan,

Your description so funny. But ya lor, I wonder my mom will let me on fan or not. If not, then bb will really be drinking sweat.

okasan:
Mrs wong mentioned that its fine to bath during confinement n she dont believe not bathing n bb drinking the sweat instead of the BM. she also added tis is old wives tales as last time olden days, ppl fetch the water from the well n not sure clean anot and thats y cant bath.

kite,

I think the CD concealer about $38 the last time I bought it.. Can't remember leh.. cos one tube last very long. 15 ml per tube. I use everyday still got a lot. This is my second tube, can see how much I like it. Hehe. Erm, they have another one which is good too. Called hydrating eye concealer or something. But that's small and finished easily. Not cheap too.

Thanks thanks. I was wondering did that counter move from one isetan to another.

kite,
ya...normally if i go shop on weekday nites feel tired one

Even weekends sometimes also tired....i tink 3rd trim going to be tiring liowz...*sigh*

hidora,
Yuppies, they are the ones that did custom made loose powder
Aiyo...moved out liowz ah...such a pity

kite,
ya, I remeber what mrs wong said abt confinement...no way am I going to be smelly and sweaty for days without bath...dun wanna stink my poor hubby...hehe...

hidora,
I think I'll on the fan regardless....esp when bf loh...coz will be very hot...somemore we are doing confinement in JUNE, hottest mth!!! but dun let the fan blow directly on u, partly coz not good for baby also....just let the fan blow the surrounding to have some air circulation....

okasan,

If we dun bath, will really be like what MOAP's hb said. Flies flying around us. Ok, will take note not to blow fan at me.

Erm, how abt washing hair? Did Mrs Wong say anything abt it?

ya just let the fan turns instead of blowing at 1 direction
i think Mrs wong also mentioned can wash hair. she dont really believe in all this old wives' tales.
Mrs wong really share alot of info during her lesson. very useful.

hidora,
mrs wong say hygenie is the MOST impt! she even joke that we shouldn't try those dry wash shampoo coz the flakes will drop onto the baby...hehe....

I will just live normal during confinement...

okasan:
ur memory is better than mine. did u actually write notes during mrs wong's lesson? hehe. nvm we can remind each other

my fren used the dry shampoo b4 and made her whole head itchy! so mummies dun use this.

yippe! tmr morning, gg for gynac visit n see my bb again
396225.gif

After that, lunch time, we will be gg to eat "You Tau Fu" along Upper Thomson road. The you tau fu there quite popular, very nice

hidora,
haha....u very gd hor...like that also can think of excuse for shopping at KL :p But me not very into KL now, cos used to go there for work purpose quite frequently...always hang arnd at Mid Valley till a bit sianz of that place liowz....*lol*

okasan,
my mom even told me when she did her confinement she bathed only using warm water...didnt even use herbs but she is also okies now wat...luckily she will be helping me with confinement, she will definitely let me bathe one

okasan, kite,

Thanks for telling me about the dry shampoo! Horrors! I have nvr thought abt the flakes dropping onto baby! My fren wanted to pass me hers as she didnt like to use it.

celeste,

Haha, personally I have nv been to KL wor. The furthest I went to is Penang, and the nearest is City Square. No one to go shopping with me at KL, so no point gng too. And I'm not those who will travel to go shopping one. Even if it's orchard rd, I must think and think. Hehe. Lazy bones lah!

I got one fren who can travel to Bangkok every few mths to shop one. I told her might as well migrate there.

I heard from colleague that KKH got sell pureen diapers. $10 for a pack of 66 pieces. Anybody tried before or heard good comments about this brand?

NTUC - Fitty premium on offer this week

Hi Celeste Blur,

My mum told me to bathe warm water with herbs. And the whole pail of water for bathing must be boiled before bathing. Cannot mix with any cold water from the tap. Dunno why leh heee... but anyway that time my SIL did that and she told me it was very very hot. After bathing still sweat like crazy.

My colleague shared with me that she no longer using cloth nappies liao. She cannot tahan washing. She is now using diapers for both day and nite. She use pureen and pampers.

morning all !
anyone starting pre-natal classes at MaH this Wed ??

i have to go in to work today ... supposed to work late last night but decided i wanted to go for nice dinner wif hubby :p

Hi Kite,

How's ur gynae follow up?

u mean yong tau fu? My favourite

Last nite hubby drove to tampines and we had carrot cake and frog leg porridge for dinner. Yummy!!

The talk on dim sum made me saliva yesterday. Wonder whether we can plan to have that tomorrow
But seems like all nice places with good dim sum are pretty far from sengkang

Kite,

I find red star restaurant dim sum very good. But pls call to reserve seats especially on weekends. I dunno about sat, but sun is horrible! The queue is very very long and the whole restaurant is soooo crowded! They are those push-cart style. Yummy! Yup, ala carte only. The dim sum tastes very fresh

hi K Ong,
Ur ante-natal class at MAH starts on this wed? mine thurs 6.30 pm.. after that will be every sat 2.30 pm. u take the weekday session is it?

Agreed with Okipoki.Tung Lok's egg tart is just the best.Mini and not too sweet...u all still talking about the dim sum..

Hidora,
I did folo the traditional way of confinement during my first delivery.Maybe that is during Oct of the year,so i still can tahan but i did wipe myself every morning with warm cloth. I strongly believes that touching of water during confinement do affect our healt, especially,Feng Si.Cos during confinement i took care of my bb all by myself,hence,i touch water very often.After some period,i can feel my feet numb once in a while.So i rather choose to suffer for one mth for not shower than suffering those backaches blar blar blar during old age.

All this talk of tim sum giving me cravings ! Anyone knows where to get durians nowadays ? Must eat this weekend cos have been thinking about it.

Amy/MOAP - do let us know when you receive the stuff you ordered from Little Dreamers whether it smells good. Am also tempted to get it.

JoJo,
My stomach also tightens at time ... this is know as BH contractions. Many mums were telling me that first time mum could expect their baby to pop out two weeks earlier than the EDD.

KK,
One of my colleagues who had given birth said that she used Drypers for her son in the morning and use pampers at night cos' pampers is more absordant. I saw from other threads that Nepia and Sealers are highly recommended too. I brought a pack of Nepia and Drypers and will most likely get a pack of Pampers to try it out on my little princess and see which is better.

Calling all MTBs, I believe all of us have been bz shopping for our little one in the past few months ... hmm, dun forget about ourselves too. The things that are needed during our confinement month! :)

1. Pads: Kotex Adhesive are widely recommended. I brought two packs of mothercare brand to try it out.

2. disposable panties: i brought it from Seiyu. The brand name is Impression. Feel like cotton, very comfortable.

3. comfortable clothes to wear during the confinement month! We will be giving birth in the hottest season of the year! I stocked up cotton tees from Warehouse

BTW, will most of the babies be fed on fixed formula or purely BF? For those on formula, what brand of milk powder will you be getting for the little one? Similac or Enfalac?

Hi Paula,
How much u paid for the dispo panties @ Seiyu, how many pieces?

Hi Kite,
How's apptmt with Dr Y.Chan today? I'm seeing her coming Mon. Am into my 30th week today ... so excited ...

Thanks, Paula!
I was still intending to get cotton panties from our nearby market, it's 12pcs at $7. It's only abt 60c ea so can oso used as disposable.

Yap, hot month then. No way I'm not bathing ... I'll definitely bath at least x2/wk, but a chopchop one with warm water. Need 2 keep myself clean to prevent infection on wound, and not turn off the bb & hubby ... haha ...

Csection:
Any mummies here on Csection previously? Do we need to purchase our own wound bandages, etc? Or TMC, etc will provide?

Home Cleaning Services:
Btw, any of you using "Home Cleaning" Services before? Can recommend? Need to do a thorough spring cleaning in early May before I pop ... I've no maid, so don't want my mum to be tired out ...

Joy,

Is not the season of durian yet thus those u find in geylang or others places are selling very expensive. I guess we have to wait for a couple of weeks where the season is back then we can find good and cheap durians.

Paula,
I am expecting my second bb liao.Previously i do not encounter tummy tight but i still had my delivery early say about 3 or 4 days early ba.

Talking about durian..i ate some yesterday bought from Geylang but not tasty at all...cos they are sweet..i prefer those 'ku ku' de..so hard to find.

By the way, mummies!
I read from other threads regarding normal delivery about cleaning our wounds.Previously,i was given those liquid like to wash my wound..but it is terribly 'hot' on the wound.Got some advise from the mummies in that thread,you can choose to use salt put in bathtub (if u got any at home) or pail with warm water.Sit on it to wash the wound..they were saying that is soothing..i will try then.

Jojo,

Me too love those "kuku" one.. Actually before preggy I am not a durian lover at all. Infact, I dont like to eat durian but somehow dont know why I get to like it when preggy.... Strange hor !!