(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

ok, i'm def going for dim sum tomorrow ! ahaha aall that talk abt dim sum making me slivate !!!
going out for lunch now.

mummies, i think i got a bit of cough, cuz the last few days i was so hot at home, so blast the fan and aircon towards me, then suddenly felt very cold yesterday and coughing now ...
and when i cough, the tummy feels a bit pain

Hi K Ong,

Do see a doctor ya? Dun let the cough haunt u for long! It can be terrible, pregnant and sick at the same time

Dim Sum!! The one at red star restaurant is really nice
Hmmmm.. dun tempt me leh :p

wowo.....only 2days and so many topics...trying to count how many active mummies in this thread..
i blur liao...

Celeste/okasan/hidora,
I thought i am only one of those few who encounter the tummy tightening...so some of you also do here...my collegue was telling me that if u encounter tummy tightening..you tends to have an early delivery...wonder is it true mah..i bought a tummy support belt last week and it works on me...at least i don't feel heavy when the tummy suddenly tighten up..maybe u can try.

Tks Tinklebell,
I did not engage any gynae.Cos i tot if my first delivery in NUH without any specify gynae went smoothly so second one shl be ok loh..
Saw ur son's pic..he so cute...especially the second pic...my last trip is to Genting during last Oct, just got to noe i am pregnant 3 days before i set off. Miss the weather there. Hope our confinement mth will not be as bad as my collegues had said. They were saying that June is the hottest mth.. and i choose to deliver on that mth...haiz!!

mummies, u r making me drool again.... yum yum tim sum... yes... Red star is nice but usually v crowded.

celeste,
where is dragon gate?

jojo,
early delivery...oh no...I hope baby comes out full term

I don't feel my tummy heavy...just that when the tummy tighten, a bit difficult to walk/stand straight....

u mean can don't engage gynae for delivery in NUH? but when u in labour, hospital will call who to deliver baby for u?

Okasan,
Maybe our form of tummy tighten is different.i do feel the heavinest when it suddenly tighten up.

oh.i think just any consultant ba.the nurse will actually call the consultant when she sees the bb head...maybe i do not have any complication,so i do not take it veri simple ba and i was a subsidised patient so cannot choose gynae lo.

Hi Jojo... TQ ... i am sure your first born is also very cute... i think i chatted with u in another thread too right? Thread concerning NUH BF'g guidance if i recall correctly.

Tummy support belt is good? ok, maybe i will try using that... but where to get that fr?

One bad experience i had in NUH is the anaesthetist... the one i had took 6 shots before she (actually not her ..after 5 shots she called another anesthetist to help her) could administer the epidural...almost died of fright

okasan,
there's a Levis reno sale at Taka now till 12 April...up to 70% off. Yest walked pass, a lot of pple...hubby bought 2 pairs. Me see already also very 'gian' but cannot buy leh...don't know what size i will be after giving birth....but the sale very tempting...Arrghhh!!
396056.gif

okasan,
cos i seem to notice that my tummy tightening more frequent than before...althought not regular timing or wat. So to be safe i ask him lor
But i also told him tat mine will relax by itself like within 10-20secs maximum. So he said that is fine. And gave me the Ventolin juz in case

kite,
I went Dragon Gate yesterday...the dim sum average only....but quite cheap cos its buffet style u place order and they will come. Actually I tried Yum Cha at Chinatown before...i quite like the porridge and steamed hargow (the prawns a lot and huge n quite fresh). But I've heard bad feedback from others also. So i guess it depends on individual

Jojo,
So tummy support belt works? Okies, i shall go look arnd for one

Tinklebell,
Heard that Red Star the Yam ring very nice? I ate at Red Star once b4 only....

Dragon Gate restaurant is located at Harbourfront. Can enter via the Deck 4 carpark

Btw, anyone knows in SG where got any Casio outlets? I am eyeing a Baby-G model but can't seem to find it at those Citychain stores

Just came back from lunch! out of e sudden, heavy downpour somemore its Tai Yang Yu leh. got caught alittle bit in e rain then finally took cab w my colleagues.

okasan:
oic. me intend to get e pigeon softener as well

tinklebell:
hehe ur boy handsome ah, can let him join model. skin also fair fair one. alamak y u say he "jian" ah? did u drink alot of milk or soyabean milk? hehe

kk:
hehe my hubby n i enjoyed e leather smell when we got our new car. now we placed ambi pur inside the car.

Jojo,
i oni feel my tummy very tight after every meal esp when i eat alot. other than that, feel quite okie.

celesteblur:
how much is e buffet at dragongate? where is red star? how is e pricing? buffet style or alacart?

oh ya just now during lunch at 7-11 store, bought a copy Young Parents Baby magazine $6.50. its only comes in 4 issues per year. I saw the Bf topic, very interested so i bought
396077.gif

kite,
buffet at dragongate is $12.80+++ for weekdays and $15.80+++ for weekends

Red Star is located at (but only ala carte style):
Blk 54 Chin Swee Road #07-23
Singapore 160054
There is also a Fortune Restaurant at Toa Payoh central, tried that b4 too. Not bad
But I think only have ala carte also

Good afternoon ladies,

experienced some network problems this morning...

just had porridge, and some durians... yummy...

Dim Sum - i think i still prefer Crystal Jade. Tong Lok Noble House also serves nice dim sum. maybe will try goodwood park over the weekend...

Just now, my part time maid asked me whether i can sponsor her, as her 2 year contract is up, and the guy that is sponsoring her is now bankrupt. Hmm.... she is really good and efficient, but wonder whether should take her in as full time... a bit too intelligent, been in Singapore for more than 8 yrs.

What do you think?

celesteblur,
thanks for the info
the one i tried at Allson hotel called New treasure chinese res, the tim sum so so only though ate until very full

i_panda77,
wow, levi sale!...but it's not for preggy women...so go also no point....saw newspaper, got sale at JL..wonder if the sale also extend to the baby section or not...then again, I can't think of much things to buy coz more or less done with my shopping for baby stuff....oh, how to cure the shopping itch?....hehe....

okasan:
hehe how abt buying things for urself?
me also sort of like stop buying things for bb except those small items. recently been pampered myself. tonite me gg to isetan scotts for a hair trim
hehe

Tinklebell,
Ya, we were in the maid & expense thread if i am not wrong. My first experience in NUH is ok leh. The midwife is a singaporean and in her late 60s ba..she was like calling my name everytime she see the baby head or so on..the way she called my name had given me the inspiration to push..man..i remember that so much..if not for her, i may not know what to do.I didn't had any epidural injection infact as i had 'slip disk',which is advisable not to have one. Only bad experience i had was i didn't receive a proper guidance on BF.They are lacking on encouraging BF compare to KKH.

Okasan,
Yes. I went to polyclinic for antenantal check-up until week 30+ than the clinic refer me to NUH for follow up check up and delivery.Over all after the delivery,my bill only comes up to about less than 1K cash.I was in the 6 bedded then.But this time round, i opt for the 4 bedded cos the first time i was shock when my hb whole fam came over to visit me..i was so paisei..almost like 20ppl ...hehe...

Tinklebell/Okasan/Celeste,
I bought this support belt from Yahoo Aution.Bid at $10.Saw other mummies selling in the aution too but somewhat slightly expensive though they are the same brand and model.
Take a look..i wear it almost like everyday and nite..cos i feel so much lighter with it..
http://www.wherehealthbegins.com/singapore/Product?skuno=17611

yesterday ordered some stuff from the little dreamers website. got the warming shampoo and bath gel, as well as healing spray and healing balm. mummy must smell nice during confinement ma...

kite,
thanx for the info on Allson hotel. This hotel at arnd Jalan Besar izzit?

okasan,
go and buy something for urself
me also long time never bought something for myself and i am eyeing a watch now...wanna go n buy it liowz :p

Jojo,
Thanx for the info on the maternity belt, I might be going Kiddy Palace this evening to take a look cos i got Kiddy Palace vouchers to use

kite,
ya, maybe should pamper ourselves liao...but hor, now buy maternity clothes also wasteful...nothing much to buy...but I still go for my facial though...still have a few sessions of massage haven't used up, but can only use them after delivery coz they dun do pre-natal massage....

jojo,
I see...but checkup at polyclinic dun have ultrasound scan right? I can't imagine without ultrascan coz I'm always looking forward to my gynae appt coz can see baby

think the tummy belt also can be found in maternity wear shops like mums&babes, kiddy palace...I remember seeing them before....

amy,
wow, u so fast...I'm wondering how the confinement warming body wash smell like...if similar to the actual herbs, then after bath also may not smell nice leh....

kite, okasan, yes, must pamper ourselves before bb comes out. i still go for my monthly facials and mani/pedis. although feeling more tired recently, i still take time to go out for nice dinners and catch up with frens.

yesterday had dinner at pepper lunch beef steak at Isetan Scotts. the portion quite small, not enough, after that, went to mos burger to eat teriyaki beef burger. greedy me...

celeste,
ya, pamper ourselves now..after baby born, may not have time to pamper ourselves liao...but I have nothing that I'm eyeing for....hmmm...anyway, maybe I'll just go window shopping at orchard tonight...who knows, I may just see something and buy...hehe

okasan, i think the warmingbody wash should smell nice, cos there is ginger and lemongrass.
will let you know once i receive them in the mail!

Celesteblur:
Allson hotel is located somewhere near the New national library (opp. bugis junction). The chinese res is at 2nd level
i dun reali recommend as the service abit slow though 50% off every plate.
i thinking of trying dragongate at harbourfront one since its buffet

celesteblur/amy/okasan:
true. so far bought myself a new nokia 6111 pink fone, love it very much. also bot clinique hand cream, kose skincare, crabtree n evelyn jojoba moisturising oil and etc. Tonite me gg orchard too. I want to buy Origina concealer for my freckles leh (seems to grow abit more since pregnancy), then follow by a hair trim. Last dec was my last cut. now my hair looks thick, gg ask my hairstyle to thin down, make it lighter. i stil want to maintain my hair length, maybe trim 1inch shorter lol.

okasan,
hehe...go window shopping bah...maybe can get some new shoes also?

ya lor...like last time i dont go facial one, now i also go facial once a mth...speaking of facial, i am going for my facial again this sunday...

kite,
okies....i roughly noe where is allson hotel liowz...but service slow? Hmmzz, then i must reconsider oledi...cos i dont have much patience...*lol*
U wanna buy concealer? Can consider Prescriptives one....i bought the Prescriptives Traceless concealer and find it quite gd...so u can try out also

But nowadays i am lazy to put makeup....last time during weekend i will put some makeup on, but now...hmmzz..tink i shld make an effort to dress myself up...feel like an ah-soh...*sigh*

Jojo, my midwife was a young lady and i find her very encouraging too. actually midwife plays the biggest role in our delivery process. gynae only comes in the last 15mins or so do deliver, do the episoptomy and sew up.

envy u all can go shopping...hiaz... i'm stranded at home almost everyday after work
furthest i will go is the shopping centre near my home but usually no time bec gotta rush home do housework etc etc
got 4 loads of laundry to wash after my trip .... tonite will wash the last load
after washing means got 4 loads of clothes to iron
***Faint*** very tempted to send to laundry. the laundry near my home charges $2 to iron one piece. Quite expensive.
now only can do online shopping.

Amy,
what do u mean sponsor the maid? she is a foreigner?

tinklebell,
have u thought of like setting aside one nite per week as "date nite" for u and ur hb? Then can go shopping, movies or nice dinner. And ask ur parents or ILs to help care for ur boy

Afternoon mummies,

Just came back from my walk and I bought tickets to Ice Age 2 for tonite. Yeah yeah!

kite,

The leather seat smell I also can't stand lah.. Everytime I sit into new car, I feel giddy.

The Da Feng Ai, you can get it at chinese medical hall. Gotta cook it, then use the water to bath. Helps to remove wind from your body. So instead of not bathing, you can bath everyday, if you use the herb. But my mom said the medical hall one not so effective as the real leaf itself, so must throw in a few more packets. One packet is $2.50.

Celeste,

Below are the branches.

1) Suntec City, #01-173, Tel: 6238 6212
2) Plaza Singapura, #B2-37, Tel: 6238 0252
3) Parco Bugis, #01-11, Tel: 6883 2328
4) Jurong Pt, #01-K08, Tel: 6792 2169

Tinklebell,
i tot you got a maid. Same as you i cant go shopping too as i have to fetch my boy after work.Unless have him to tag along but it was a nitemare shopping with him..lolx! Sometimes can be fun though.
True,the midwife plays the biggest part during our delivery. Hope we are all lucky this time to meet someone nice and encouraging.

Okasan,
Yap check up in poly doesnt have ultrasound scan everytime u visit.The most is 2x.Once in the 20th week and last one on 32week.I'm ok with the ultrasound scan, most importantly is to feel her wiggling inside..tat is the most funniest and momentum time..paisei..my eng is not as good as u guys..

LADIES! Lets enjoy this precious moment and most enjoyable moment with your bb...!!

celeste, thought abt it but bec my hubby works most of the nites during weekdays, so no luxury of such dates. weekends r out bec my mother wants her rest and be away fr us. 3 of us go out as a family on weekends lor. usually not so much shopping cos the boys hate to shop

During my first confinement.My mil was telling me that after the 13days, u can actually take a quick shower which i did.Anybody heard of this before?

Jojo... no maid lah... used to have but i prefer to do without cos very leh cheh to have another stranger in the house. ya lor... everyday just rush home fetch my son back, do housework then play with him... there goes all the time
even if have maid also cant go out much unless u trust the maid to look after bb while u go out.

All of u who r first time mums, do enjoy your last 2-3 mths of "Er ren shi jie". ***SOB SOB***

Hidora, I also bath with the Da Feng cao. in fact i bathe everyday... keep perspiring... cant stand it.

JoJo,

Erm, nowadays people seldom practice not bathing anymore. Confinement is a practice that is passed down from China (our ancestors lah), and in china, the weather is cold and dry. So dun hv to bath everyday. But in Singapore is different. So humid and hot. And if you wish to bath everyday, can always buy the Da Feng Cao (is it Da Feng Ai or Cao?) from medical hall and use that to bath. That's what I'll be doing lah. Cant imagine not bathing. If you wanna minimize contact with water, can bath every 2-3 days, with the use of the herb.

hidora,
thanx for the casio contact.....will drop by jurong pt tonite

tinklebell,
i tink its really quite tough on u, juggling work + ur boi and hsework
i guess u can relax only when ur maid comes

celeste, i hope so lor but i dont think so. may have less housework to do but i dont think i will let the maid take care of my kids... looking after the kids can be quite tiring too... but some help is still better than no help.

tinklebell, hmm... my PT maid is a fillipino. i think she would like to work FT with me, or would like me to sponsor her by extending her maid permit.

tinklebell,

I totally understand how you feel. Ask my hb go shopping w me is like I'm murdering him like that. So I told him must give birth until I get a bb ger, then at least next time got someone to go shopping w me. Like my mom, also always go shopping herself cos my bro hates shopping.

And I also think we wun have any "our time" after bb is born. Confirmed bring the baby everywhere we go one.

Oh ya, can we wash our hair everyday ah? Just wondering... My mom say can bath, but she nv say can wash hair leh.

can anyone advise me where I can find like a pouch to pack diapers? I don't like the idea of stuffing clean diapers into the diaper bag on its own. Have seen previous thread selling like a make up pouch that can hold 2 diapers (like pencil case). Would like to know where I can buy them.

Any advice is much appreciated.

celesteblur:
dunno leh. hubby n i felt service abit slow. maybe it bcos we went on sunday during lunch time plus there are alot of tourists there. actually allson hotel one is recommended by my colleague, to him, he said very nice. maybe he always go very early in e morning, got difference? hehe

Prescriptives Traceless concealer good ah? hehe maybe tonite i m gg to isetan scotts, wil test n try out both Prescriptives and Origins Quick Hide concealer lol
btw how much is Prescriptives Traceless concealer?

MOAP, i got the healing balm salve that cost $11 for 20 ml. i think more impt, should get the spray, cos very handy, can spray after every pee... keep the area clean.