(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

celeste,
i see..u already start your studies...no wonder...but think will be quite tiring loh....doing part-time studies before having kids are already tiring, let alone with babies....

tinklebell and amy,
I think can put the maid at parents/in-laws place but u cannot ask them to do the hsehold chores there rite? As long as u dont ask them to do another hsehold's chores then i think it should be fine

my parents and pil also working..having think of who will look after baby too....maid is out for me coz dun like stranger at home

celeste, i told my ex-maid that she was expected to help out in 2 households before i employ her... so she joins us with her eyes open. anyway, we treated her v well... dont think she minds. sometimes, we give her slightly more extra allowance as a perk.

okasan,
ya lor...this one is actually additional...i am in the IT line, now doing another acca one as additional (cos thinking of going into those accting/financial IT Co. doing those products)....but i dont wish to give up halfway unless i really have no choice...will see how first

so u havent book infantcare yet also ah? I havent go and see if can reserve places yet anot

okasan,
i also havent book any confinement yet! Haha! We sama pattern :p

tinklebell,
yeah...actually i heard most maids dont mind if u tell them b4hand and of cos give them some sort of "pocket $"

celeste, u want to go to accounting line? after so many years, i'm getting a bit tired of it. in fact last year, i wanted to switch to nursing but found out was preg so put off the idea liao. hubby also not very much for it

celeste,
I dun even decide if I should put baby at infant care loh..so haven't go recce the infant care centres yet....

maybe we both IT line, so same pattern...haha...

celeste, yes, i also tot if i leave maid/baby at mil place, but don't ask her to do household work, should be ok. but now, must ask mil whether place maid/baby at her house for 3-4 days a week ok anot. again, like i mentioned, even if she promise me, what if back out?

re nanny, i have the same worries as you - cannot find someone good, and who lives nearby with good reputation. my mil also cannot recommend, cos she does not really mix around the neighbourhood. further, we live in an estate with all terrace houses, more difficult to find people who are willing to work as nannies.

also, hb will install cctv at home, so can monitor maid. hope this helps too.

tinklebell,
i not planning to go into fully accounting field...i wanna do those IT cum accounts/financial kind of IT products....so its like wanna get knowledge of both areas lor

I also very bored with IT line...been in this line for almost 6 yrs! So sianz.....haha

okasan,
haha....han-nor....i think later we sure become kan chiong spider liowz...cos everything havent book *rofl*

Amy,
u doesn't seem to have much choice but to leave baby alone with maid loh...maybe u can try to get maid that are older and experience in childcare....those young ones are often not experience in taking care of babies loh....

okasan, infant care centres are limited in terms of outlets and vacancies. i have visited a few before i made a booking. if you change your mind, and if you give them one month notice, you can get your refund, only penalty is the registration fee.

re confinement, also need to book early, cos the good ones are always taken way in advance. i booked mine as soon as i found out i am preggy.

seems like many mummies in the same shoes as me, no help from parents nor pil. stressful hor?

celeste,
I also bored with IT liao...thinking of setting up my own business...haha...ya, when near due date, we sure like ants on hot pan.....

okasan, i think it's a job with love... something which i wish to do. if given the choice, i dont think i want to be an accountant lor... last time no $ to study so not much choices.

celesteblur:
glad to hear u feel much better
At least ur hubby cares abt for ur bb. bb is part of u too mah, so u shld feel happy too
hehe as for going to n back from work, since pregnant, my hubby dont allow me take mrt/bus to n from work. So everyday he very siong, send me to work n after work, hv to send me home first then rush bk to office. Even i told him i can take mrt but he insist to send me home.

Okasan/Tinklebell:
seems like the info i got earlier for leg cramps is correct. but i hv been taking milk daily but only 1 glass per day. Probably its bcos of our body weight gained therefore leg support not good enuff, so cause legs cramp.

okasan, good idea, maybe now the only choice is to get a good and trusted maid. maybe will speak with mil again. also, maybe i can follow tinklebell's suggestion, inform the maid in advance she will be helping out at two places, so my mil can also use the maid and stop using her part time maid. then got excuse for maid and baby to be at her place.

amy,
actually no help from parents or pil also good in a way...heard of many stories where conflicts arise when it comes to taking care of baby loh....

ya, infant care are limited, that's why I'm not very keen to opt for this option coz too troublesome to bring baby to and fro....

as for confinement ladies, I'm not too worry coz my mum got plenty of contacts for confinement ladies...sure can find one good one

Amy,
I also trying to ask my mom to recce around see got any trustworthy nannies anot...cos its more convenient than infant care centres *sigh*
As for cctv, i wouldn't recommend installing one...imagine if u r the maid....it sort of feels like ur privacy is intruded and if ur maid wanna try something funny she can go elsewhere in a corner of the hse whereby there arent any cameras to do something funny. Unless u are toking bout pin-hole cameras which I think if the maid finds out I think it may turn out even worst....haizz..me sounds like a worrier hor...worry bout this n tat...kinda pessimistic sort

Btw, infant care centres all want u to place deposit one ah? Cannot juz make a reservation w/o placing deposit?

okasan,
setting up own biz crossed my mind b4...but income not stable and donno wat biz to do...and need lotsa contacts (which i lack)...haha

tinklebell,
ya, nursing is one job that really need a lot of love.....

amy,
ya, tell your mil that she can save money liao, no need to engage part-time maid....so it's killing 2 birds with one stone loh...

tis wkend i thinking of gg to Taka, bb hypermart n bb kingdom to c look c look bb stuffs....
hmm what shld i look for? n what things is worth to buy there besides playpen n etc? any advise? n which place shld i focus n go first?

celeste, yes, infant care centres need to place deposit. you will need time shopping around for one, cos many factors to consider.

re cctv, ya lor, i also against the idea. my hb said give and take, if i want a maid, must install. further, will cost us few thousand dollars to install for the whole house.

will talk to mil tn... maybe ask hb to talk to her, easier.

tinklebell,
yes! I always think ppl whom be nurses are really very "wei-da"...cos it needs lotsa patience and care n concern for those patients....i dont think i can ever fit the bill..haha

kite,
just saw taka website, the sale is till 2 mar, so got plenty of time...

beside, taka baby fair is in mar, so can go stock up baby's stuff then....

kite, at hypermart, look out for strollers and car seats. at kingdom, play pens and cots. kingdom sells mid range products, and hypermart sells more upmarket products. good range and variety.
for taka, why don't you wait till bb fair, will be cheaper then, unless they have 20% off on the products now. enjoy your shopping...

okasan:
hmm ya probably pop by hypermart n kingdom first to see playpen, then go taka see sterilizer. hmm compare taka & hypermart/kingdom, which side sell e cheaper steriliser ?

kite,
hypermart n kingdom - dun buy the accessories coz price not any cheaper...abt the same price as kiddy palace or even slightly more expensive...buy stroller and playpen/cot there coz more choices....

taka should be selling more expensive BUT if there's sale, then it's different story liao....during sale, big dept like taka, robinson, etc can often give very good deals!!

okasan:
alrite wil go hypermart n kingdom first. then go taka to browse n to take the bb's stuff list if still available.

hi kite,
u got the 'bb stuff list' of things to share?
I hvn't compiled a list yet leh, but got a few items in mind - like sterilizer, bottles, clothes, napkins, etc. Btw, u buying nappy-wipers for bb? I duno which brand good - what if bb got sensitive skin?

matched_gal:
i dont hv the stuff list to share much. Havent go down to Taka. If i go down, wil try to take a copy.
eh nappy-wipers? i dun even know which brand is gd. actually alot of things i hvnt do much research n dunno what to buy....blur

u? so far wat hv u bought? care to share?

Matched gal, kite, if possible, do not use nappy wipes, cos baby might be sensitive to the wipes. if at home, can use boiled warm water to clean baby's bottom. if travelling, can get pigeon, cos less fragrance.

kite,
taka there got 'list'? Sorrie ah, i also v blur leh...

so far, i hvn't bot anyting except bb clothes ah... and only 1-2 pcs... haiz... jialat liaoz... But i planning to buy cot/bassinet/playpen soon. About the mattress, dun even noe whether i shd buy 1 or 2 sets leh... hmmm...

amy:
thanks for the advise. so no need to buy ah. so any advise what i need to buy at this moment? so far i oni bought 3 avent 260ml milk bottles, pacifier, milk powder holder n brush. gg to buy playpen, carseat n some bb clothings next....wat's more shall i buy leh?

matched_gal:
actually i didnt know i read from another forum that Taka got this list of bb stuffs but some can follow while some cant. u can go down n take if u passby.

Okasan,
We've bot the same playpen.. with a removeable cradle leg for rocking. I've chosen the blue checkers instead of the colorful one. Wat abt u?

celeste,
Cant take the pic leh cos they hv yet to deliver my playpen and stroller.

Hi gals.

Re: Legs cramp

Talking abt the leg cramp, it happened on my left caft. Okipoki, same as u, the cramp came when i stretch my legs. I am now wearing long stockings that cover until knee cap, the cramp doesn't happened again!
Perhaps u gals can try it out. Also pls raised both legs wth pillow.

sugarbun, okipoki:
me too whenever i wake up in the middle of the nite, n when i stretch my body as well as my leg, then i wil get cramp. i try not to stretch too hard then wont get cramp. if stretch too hard, strange leh, i wil then get leg cramps.

sugarbun,
i saved the ticket picture using .jpg extension n then upload the picture. not sure how jeslynster upload hers. Since upload the pic here, so i guess its not real time

373121.gif

Good Morning mummies!!

Re: taka fair
Is it really worth going? Are the items cheaper than elsewhere?

Last night, my hubby says my legs show signs of water retention already.... hiaz.... i woke up this morning and do notice that it was indeed smaller than last night... hope it doesnt become elephant leg
seems like from now on, i have to sleep with raised legs.

As for my left calf, i massaged with some hot rub last night. It seems to be better now.

Morning ladies !!

Kite - nowadays, i will try not to stretch my legs and instead I did stretching on other part.

Sugarbun - Guess having cramp on the calf is the norm for preggy mum. U mean the stocking really help ?? I did raise my legs with pillow but still it dont seem to help much.