(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kite,

i didn reali monitor leh..but i didn take coke or sugary stuff..if ouside,only steal a few slips from my hb's drink..maybe i hav to bring a btl of water whenever i go out liao..i oso got skin itchiness since pregnancy..sometimes even aft bathing oso itchy..anyway,my skin now got a few 'scratch marks' liao.. :p

peng,

same here..haha 7kg..my gynae say hav to ctrl now else during later stage v hard to ctrl n ur n bb's weight will increase v easily..tts y he v strict wif me..coz it will cause diff labour n may end up wif c-sect..

celeste,

u onli gain so little weight..u mus b v petite...v hard to recognise u leh at our void decks..wat u eat har?i onli eat lch n dnr..i dun snacks..normal portion..oso dun koe y my weight gain so much..still puzzled.my gynae say i can onli drink milk once a day..else too much

tinklebell,

tink i oso same as u..total weight gain till now is abt 7kg.b4 preggie,i put on weight v easily n oso bcoz i got heavier bone weight..

anyway,i oso on the 'big side' b4 preggie..hmmm..63kg..now 70kg liao..

celest,
i normally feel very bloated after dinner... hence i tend to take gasy drinks which is not healthy at all.

angeline,
my pre-preg weight still heavier than yours! i was at 65kg *sob*

Angeline_Goh,
I think u thought I am the other Celeste izzit? Haha, there are 2 Celeste in June thread wor...me is the Blur Celeste....hehe :p
Btw, I i am heavy before preggie...think is 55 or 56kg also....*sigh*

mspiggy,
I also donno y today feel bloated....and tummy like stretching....kinda uncomfy

Angeline, 2 weeks ago i only gained 4 kg, now 7kg!! that is why i am SHOCKED!!!! i suspected my scale got some prob so i tried a few times show same wt increase. actually if it is 7kg increase gradually i dont think i will be shocked but it's 3KG OVER 2 WEEKS!!!! must have eaten too much bah kua.

hey celeste,
you're not that big lah! my gynae did say if realli bloated can take those gasy drinks without flavour. Think it's called tonic water??

Yea, tonic water, nice!!

But can get soda water without flavouring.. Just check to see which one contains less chemical.

Oh ya, I've just measured my butt, I'm hving a 40 inch butt now!! Try beating it.. Sigh, already got big butt, now butt even bigger. =|

mspiggy,
bloated drink gassy drinks will help? Won't it make the stomach feel more bloated since there's gas in the drinks? Pardon my ignorance.....

Hmmzz, tonic water? Will take a look at supermarkets ;)

yawn yawn yawn ...aiyo ...i feel so tired
my office accounting system is down again and i cant do my work!!! today already the 10th and the accounts not closed yet

counting down to knocking off time
yeh! weekend is coming!!!! this weekend got more gatherings... sat FIL's RC dinner, sun gathering for my mum's side at my uncle's home ...eat and eat again .... ****FAINT****

hi celeste,
gasy drinks makes me burp... feel good after burping :D It works for me.

hi hidora,
i havent tried tonic water or soda drinks w/o flavourings. i usually go for coke or MUG rootbeer... i'm such a bad mum! hehehe

Hi celeste,

drinking gassy drink will help you to burp everything out. very shiok one.

Check out club soda too. I remember one of them having less ingredients. Take the one with less ingredients. Else, you can take pierrier mineral water, those from delifrance kind. also gassy.

mspiggy,

Neither did I. Still got cokes at home from CNY. So if I need any gassy drink, it's coke.

I used to drink tonic, soda water when I was staying with housemates.. Cos it's no flavour. So they wun take and drink! Ahaha. If I got coke then, everyone will be asking for it too.. ;p

celeste, yes, my agency can help u to book.. it will be great if u can inform me soon.. cos my stupid hb really dun want me to go anywhere!! I juz bug him to let me go to korea.. he simply refuses.. sigh..

err.. celeste, could it cos ur tummy feel scratched? that's why bloated.. for me, after every meal, my tummy is stretched so much that i feel bloated n painful, so i apply stretchcream after each meal.. juz put stretchcream in office n car n home so that u can use it anytime u like.

haha.. hidora, mis piggy, welcome to coke world. haha.. me have been drinking alot of coke..

angeline, really?? can't put on too much wt.. everytime i ask my gynae, she says i am fine and ask me to put on more wt.. she says that i m still skinny... huh?? But i am soon reaching 50kg.. sigh.. never hit that no in my life..

i m confused.. some of my colleagues say that i look very big for my tummy, but some said not.. today one of my colleagues told me to eat more cos she said from the back, i dun look pregnant, still got waist.. but i was like "what!", gain 7kg, still not enough.. sigh.. so many comments..

celeste_blur,

haha..guess i reali mistake u liao.didn realise there r 2 celeste..

tinklebell,

guess what..my box of bak kwa is sitting inside the fridge..n all those CNY goodies at the table..sooooo tempting..but must REN! coz going back to c gynae on 25th..hope didn gain much weight..

peng..

wah,u reali vv petite leh..no wonder ur gynae nv say anything.. hmmm..now v jealous now..mus ctrl my diet so tt my gal will not b born chubby..haha

anyway,hav u all booked any malay massage yet?do we need to book now? or can wait till later? any recommendations? care to share how much ur package is?

oso,spent the whole afternoon searching for bb names at the babycentre website..got so many names to choose from.dun koe which to choose now..headache!!

Angeline, last time i booked my malay massage only during confinement period. i didnt book in advance. is it necessary to book in advance? anyway, the massage was more for relaxing the muscles. i dont see much help in it improving my body size
besides, the malay lady usually will give u some suspicious looking pills ( she told me it's jamu pills) to eat... supposed to help lose wt but i ate one and kenna bad diarrhoea. After that, my hub banned me fr taking it!

mspiggy n hidora,
hmmzz, okies...next time i will try gassy drinks
...hehe...got excuse to take soft drinks? *hiak hiak*

peng,
i think i can confirm with u next week...cos this weekend shld be going around to travel agencies to gather info on which places i can go

ya ya....my tummy feels like stretching...mabbe the skin is stretching
...but not everyday...happens only occasionally....*sigh*

Angeline_Goh,
hehe...its okies....a case of mistaken identity :p
I havent book my malay massage yet...hmmzz, when shld we book?

peng!!!

Just how petite are you?! My lightest weight (with the help of slimming pills) is only 50. I have never seen a 4 in my life... No wonder your gynae say you can eat more.. so jealous!

angeline,

I think we are in the same fate. Now dun dare to eat too much. My baby is not very big as compared to some of the mummies here. Was wondering should I eat more, but hb say good, he doesnt want a big baby cos hard for me to delivery.

My bak kwa is also in the fridge.. dun dare to eat scare later really become round round. So depressed that my inches are all gng up. >_<

Do you gals have ayellowish discharge? I saw gp twice and she gave me pessary but it did not seem to help. Just called my gynae in the morning but dunno the nurse got pass the message to him a not. I actually have been having the discharge for few months.

hi peng,

me oso like coke so much, but cut down to 1-2 times a week. Me very particular with the quality of coke

pebbles - tat sounds like slight vaginal infection. I had that earlier. But becos no pain or itchiness when pee-ing.. doc said it was ok. Check with yr doc again. Found it cleared up after I took cranberry juice..

Hi Matched gal,

U haven't had ur detailed scan yet?

Yah lor, dunno what bb ger doing in tummy. I also feel her movements from 4 am onwards if i happen to be a light sleeper at nite. Sometimes too stressed at work, so will wake up middle of the nite and think about work after coming back from toilet. When awake, will feel her movements

Mine also stop moving around 6+ am then wake up again at 7+ or 8+ am
Afternoon she will sleep a bit, then wake up evening time to move again. At nite 9+ she will definitely move again heeee...

Now in my 7th mth, i dun find the kicks painful. In fact the more the merrier hahaaha.. i simply enjoy her kicking, punching, etc. Sometimes just feel weird, it is like the whole tummy being uplifted hahaha.. but that is not equaivalent to pain.

Now toilet frequency has increased for me. Wake up in the middle of the nite 2-3 times to go toilet. Daytime also need to go toilet pretty often liao.

pebbles,
i also have yellowish discharge! But I asked gynae b4, he told me as long as no itch or pain its okies. So I juz leave it as it is.

hi celest, volf20

My gynae told me that it is yeast infection through my lab report and it has to be treated or else if the water bag burst, infection will affect the baby.

k ong,

i oso not sure
370734.gif
....the nurse told me one...that's why folic acid must take in the morning &amp; calcium at night
370735.gif

pebbles,
yesh, is an infection... u should get ur gynae to prescribe some cream or some tablets for you soon. I read that it will affect the baby.

lyn,

need ur assistance to update my EDD again.. it has been changed to 29/06/06 after my detailed scan today. thanks

would like to join in for the chat. wonder when you all feel the first baby movement. am in my 20th week but still can't feel anything, though detailed scan 2 days ago showed bb to be fine. btw my EDD is 30 June.

I am an "intruder" here.

Gina, I also cannot feel anything at all. I am one week later than you, EDD 6 July. I heard can feel tickings from wk 16 onwards but so far I dun feel anything.
Now having a cold, maybe will go to gynae and do scan together.

hello kk

i didn't do the detailed scan - skipping it since it's optional ;)

i've been waking up at 4+am nowadayz ah... haiz... then can't sleep liaoz... got many "earthquake-like movements" inside of me nonstop till 6+am. Then ard 8 or 9+, the movements will start again. After lunch, ard 3-4+, when i have my meetings, she will start moving again. Then at nite, before i sleep - it starts again. Yikes, i was tinking, if so active, next time when out that time, i'll have no end to pacifying her ah... ;p

s'times her kicks (or i don't know what she's doing inside) can be felt very hard - not painful, but it's sort of like a 'gulp(!)' kind of feeling for me - abit scary &amp; yet feel like laffing. Duno how to describe. Feels like an organ moving tremendously 360deg inside me. Hmmm....

I was very disappointed wif her y'day... Went for my scan and she was acting 'guai-guai'. No movement except very slight. Was telling my hubby, usually so much movement inside me and i want to find out what she's doing inside, but whenever i bring her to the scans, she's very quiet &amp; asleep - as if pretending ... haha... Maybe she scared of my gynae ;p

Till now, i wake up once to go toilet every nite (4+am), then after dat can't sleep oreadi
Daytime still ok, maybe busy wif work recently dat's y ah... If i have too much water inside me, bb's movement will feel very obvious - she prompting me to go toilet liaoz ;)

Btw, do u hv trouble sleeping on the left-side? I normally try sleeping left-side, can't fall asleep s'times, until i rollover on my back/right-side. Know left-side is supposed to be the best position, and back is no good for uterus, but can't help it ah...

may i join here too? my EDD is 26 June 05, n in weeks 20+ now. but I haven't feel any movement at all, and a lot of ppl say my tunny is so small.. i've been eating (or more like, gorging) myself till so full everyday, but my weight is very very slow to increase. strange.. coz b4 pregnant, i was v easy to gain weight..

<font color="0000ff">gina,</font>

I start to recognise baby's movements in my wk 20...normally, for 1st time mum, it's normally to feel the moevements later...for experienced mums, they can feel baby's movements as early as wk 16...so u dun need to worry as long as the scan show baby is fine....

beside, u may have feel baby's movements, but u dun know or recognise...which is what happen to my case...I only recognise in wk 20, now that I think back, I should have feel the movements in wk 19, except that I din know it's baby's movements

<font color="0000ff">mum2b,</font>
Welcome~!

dun worry abt what people say abt your tummy being small...my gynae say it's norm for people to say tummy slow coz our tummy will only start to expand faster in 3rd tri

<font color="0000ff">mum2b &amp; gina,</font>

maybe you two would like to furnish more details like who's your gynae, which hospital u r delivering and the gender of your baby??

lyn can update the info into the table she created for june mtbs

<font color="0000ff">matched_gal,</font>
my baby boy also like your girl...everytime do scanning, he's asleep or doing small small movements.....wish to see him kickings and punchings...haha...

I used to have problem sleeping on my left...until one day, when I force myself to sleep on the left, then the "stretching feel at the tummy" disappearing...after that, can sleep comfortably on my left liao

tinklebell,

i oso looking for 1 tt dun need to eat those pills...coz dun koe the origin mah..jus massage n bind will do..

hidora,

hey,at least ur gynae nv scold u..mine did leh..hb say 1st time he c gynae so angry..i was like tinking onli 1/2kg more than average mah.. haha

pebbles,

mine not yellowish discharge leh..mine is whitish n quite alot..gynae say due to my diet..need to avoid sweet n salty things..he oso wana put the pessary thing inside but i say dun wan..then he gave me a cream to apply coz i got itchiness at the v area.he oso took some sample for testing oso..dun koe result yet..he say probably fungus

hi hi... mom2B and decimal point.. welcome to the group.. yeah.. our june group is expanding now.. keep it up gals..

hmm.. my discharge sometimes is colourless.... dr said it's the male hormones again.. hmm... my body undergoes alot of changes tks to my bb.. hee hee.. for those who have yellowish discharge, better to chk cos having infection is quite messy... i had it once too.. if u feel painful when u pee, it's likely vigiral discharge.

celeste blur, not a prob.. u cfm whether u want the tix, then tell me.. tks alot..

matched gal, i oso have difficulty to sleep on my left side cos of my back plus i feel the whole bb + water bag moves to the left side, like very werid.. i prefer lying on the back cos my back is very painful, though i noe it's not good..

hey all moms, pls try to make sure that ur bb moves at least 10 times a day.. juz heard from a friend that her bb din move for a day, so she quickly rushes to hospital.. True enough, the bb is entangled by the cord, so got to do immediate c-section.. oso heard lots of stories of still born cos of the cord.. so make sure that ur bb moves.. juz to note.. cos i am oso very worried abt this.. keep telling bb not to play with the cord, i hope he listens to me..

Hi cn i join in too.
My etd is on 04/06/06, already 20+weeks, like to ask when do you all starts looking for BB things? BB's bed is it necessary to buy nw?
I hvnt feel my BB "kick-boxing" for abt 2days, is it normal? This few days when im sleeping both my legs is like aching, cn't hardly slp, keeps turning here n there. Hmmmm...

RE: VAGINAL DISCHARGE
370829.gif

Is it my imagination, or do I have a lot more vaginal discharge now?
It's not your imagination. During pregnancy, it's quite common to experience increased vaginal discharge. Most causes are fairly benign and normal. What you are noticing is probably simply leukorrhea a mild-smelling milky fluid or discharge, caused by an increased blood flow to the area around the vagina. It's probably not that different from the discharge that you experienced before you were pregnant there's just a lot more of it.

For some women the discharge increases as you approach labour and can be quite heavy. In fact, an increase and thickening in your discharge toward the end of pregnancy may be a sign that you are approaching labour. You'll also notice a lot of mucous when the mucous plug a thick seal of mucous on the cervix loosens, shortly before labour begins.

How should I deal with it?
Remember that this is just one of the temporary changes pregnancy brings, and observe normal sanitary procedures. Keep the genital area clean, wear cotton underwear, avoid tight or nylon pants, perfumes and deodorant soaps. If you need to absorb the flow, use pantyliners, not tampons.

And don't douche doctors and midwives discourage douching during pregnancy, because in rare cases it can introduce air into your circulatory system through the vagina, which can cause serious complications.

Is vaginal discharge ever a sign of something serious?
If your discharge changes, pay attention. If it is foul-smelling, thick, yellow, green, or causes itching or burning, it could be a sign of thrush or other infection. Contact your doctor or midwife, as you'll want to treat it before you deliver your baby.

You should also contact your doctor if you notice a brownish discharge, with no bleeding.

How can I prevent getting a vaginal infection?
There's no sure way, but there are some tactics you can try:

Wash your hands thoroughly before and after having contact with your vagina, and wipe from front to back after going to the loo.

Try eating a pot of live yoghurt daily; it contains lactobacillus acidophilus, which fights infection.

Cut down on refined sugar in your diet.

okasan,
hehehe, our bb-s are v "camera-shy"... dun dare to move when taking (ultrascan) pics ;p

peng,
my back not painful, but b4 preggie i was already used to sleeping on my back / rollover in whatever direction i want. Now got to constantly remind myself "left-side", but after rolling over on left-side, s'times can't sleep ah...

bb hv to move 10x a day? But fr which month/week onwards? I tink movement only has to be monitored 7th month onwards rite? Yah, the cord v dangerous... hmmmm...

k ong,
was it u who asked me abt Mt A's antenatal class? Was there for my first lesson last evening. First lesson was on nutrition for mothers - more like a "lecture"-like class. Interesting things to note were the recommended weight-gain for mothers &amp; how much 'extra' to eat for bb ;p Also, they had a section on confinement foods - dat one quite interesting also (but short section only, pity). Tink it was cordlife (or was it stemcord?) who came in the last part of the presentation &amp; they gave a talk on the uses, etc. Rather informative too...

i'm actually looking forward to the next 2 classes (where it's more on hands-on exercises)... hehehe... ;)

Hi peng, ya, when should we monitor the movement? I'm also afraid that baby plays with the cord. So ever since second tri, my daily prayer will include: "Pls look after our bb so that he doesnt play with his umbillical cord and endangers himself in any ways." =)

I'm also used to sleeping on my back. And I had a hard time adjusting to the left/right side. My gynae said if you can't sleep on your side, pop a pillow below one side of your back. So that when you sleep, one side of your back is being lifted up. Try to at least have some degree of difference so that your uterus would not be on the blood vessel. It's rather hard to sleep like that at first, but you will get used to it. =) Else, get the side support pillow from either mothercare ($36), or motherworld @ tampines (not sure if they have other branches ($33). The pillow comes in the shape of a wedge, so you can put the whole thing underneath your back, and sleep. Confirm will lift up one side of your back.

Hi okasan, matched_gal, my baby is always moving during the ultrasound scan. But when I go for my detail scan, he was sleeping with his arms over his face! Then dun even want to move, and the sonographer had to shake my stomach. But after shaking, he seemed more annoyed and covered his face even more.. Haha... So during the 3D scan, I cant see the feature of bb at all. Guess he wants to keep us in suspense till birth.

Hi mum2b, gina, ger11, welcome. =)

Hi ger11, I'm already looking at bb's stuff. And I believed most of the mummies in this thread are doing so too. You can start taking note of the things you want, then wait for sales eg Robinson sales to get it at a cheaper price. As for bed, maybe you can start deciding whether you want to use a cot or a play pen.

hi okasan, peng, hidora,
thanks for the warm welcome

lyn,
could u add me in your list? delivery most probably in Mt.A and i'm having a baby girl

gynae: dr douglas ong

btw when should we really decide which hospital to chose n then make downpayment? has anybody visited/joined maternity tour at mt.e and mt.a? can share what's your assessment like?

i feel that i'm v prone to UTI, twice already my gynae give me meds. anybody with this problems also?

Gina:
i began to feel my bb's movement during 18 wks, m 19 wks gg 20 wks.
dont worry soon or later u wil feel it. perhaps maybe i m considered thin b4 pregnant so i can feel it. So far my weight increased to 4kg (43 to 47kg).

Matched_gal:
hehe ur girl seems shy n guai. mine very active. during detailed scan, very nati, keep kicking me when gynac checking her heart, organs n etc. sometimes gynac has to shake to ask me bb to stop moving lol. when she kicks, i can feel it leh, so many times kicking during e detailed scan. very fun.
370968.gif

Hi Gina,

I felt my first movement towards end of 19th week. But then not very obvious movement and it comes and goes. BB becomes more "agressive" at later stage :p

Hi Kite,

Wow! Envy u!! Now i am already 58 kg going to 59 kg
And i have been eating non stop since last week. Start to tempt over cakes, pastries and other food. Eat more than 3 meals a day for the recent weekends.

U are lucky! The bb so active during ur detailed scan. For mine, i only happen to feel my bb movement that weekend late at nite after detailed scan. SIGH! BB was seen moving during detailed scan but no kicks were felt.

Hi Matched gal,

Ur bb kicks around the same time as mine!! hahaa... during meetings or workshops, the bb will kick non-stop leh, maybe she is complaining that we are too noisy. And i am so glad recently she is very sensitive to noises outside. Whenever there is loud music, she will react. Today i accompanied my group of students to take part in a competition at parkway parade. When the music blasts loud, she will start kicking heeee... and yesterday on the cab, when my hubby's HP rings, she also reacted heeee.. very fun

And ya, when i was supposed to go to the loo, she will react more vigorously too :p

i dun have problem sleeping on my sides now. Earlier stage yes, because my breasts felt very sore. The soreness only went away about 1 mth ago. So now i can sleep soundly on both sides. I dun need to sleep on my back liao. Unless i too deep into my sleep until sleep on back i also dunno heeeee...

Hi Angeline,
Try to eat more vegetables and fruits
I dunno if fruit juice will help in your weight control, but I find fruit juice can help me. I drink fresh fruit juice almost every morning when I wakes up - carrot and green apple, sometimes add celery, lemon or any other fruits I have in my fridge. At one point, my gynae said that I increased too much weight when I stopped the juices.

Hi joy,
Do you wanna join the list of MTB?
I am also using filtered water, but it's Kinertec V6. I am not expecting myself to have water retention in this pregnancy
So far so good. I drink more than 3L of water daily. Sometimes, at nite, I will wake up to drink water, and dun have water retention which is very common. It's cheaper and better and easy self maintainance... It's also 6 filters. The main difference is the water energy is higher for Kinertec. And the anti bacterial stage is the last stage. So no need to worry having bacteria in the other 5 filters and then going into us when we drink.

Hi Amy,
Wow, you are very well prepared

Hi Pebbles,
Calcium and iron cannot go togather.

Re: Seats on public transport.
There are seats reserved for preggies, elders, disabled on the train and buses, but people just do not care. In other countries in Europe and Japan, preggies and elders can actually walk to the reserved seat to ask the person to get up and let them sit... hahaha... I wonder if can do that in Singapore.

Hi mspiggy,
Congratulations on your baby boy!
My baby is 100g lighter than yours at 20 weeks
I gained 4.5kg at week 20... alamak...

Welcome all!!! If you would like to join in the list, do provide me your EDD, gynae, hospital, and baby's gender

Hi Gina, ger11,
Can tell me your gynae, hospital and baby's gender? I will post the updated list tomolo

Hi hi everyone!

Mum2B and decimalpoint,
Seems like we have the same worries. Besides haven't felt bb movement, I also gain weight very slowly. So far only gained 2.2 kg in my 5th month. 52kg now. Doc said the 2.2 kgs all go to bb, which I am quite glad anyway. I rather try to eat healthier food than just eat to gain weight ;p but the truth is, work is so hectic, I'll be happy just to have the lunch and tea break I'm entitled to.

Hi okasan,
Thanks for your reassuring words . I felt some tiny rumble in my belly not too long ago when I got up to work cos can't sleep at night. Just a tiny little rumble so maybe not the movement I have hoped for. But then it could be too... am actually waiting for those 'earthquakes' or kicks people say they feel. Colleagues say maybe my bb very guai guai so don't wanna kick mummy. so I have to tell bb it's ok to kick mummy so that mummy will stop worrying

Hi lyn
my gynae is Dr Judy Wong from KKH and I'm expecting a boy boy. EDD 30 June.

Hi hidora,
My bb also like yours, likes to move during scans. Oh when is robinsons having a sale? Seems like a popular store for mummies here. Have to start shopping for bb stuff b4 we get too heavy

Hey kk
You make bb's kickings sound so fun. looking forward to my bb's karate stunts. Doc says should feel movement by wk 22, or else have to go and see her

btw everyone, there's a BabyCare Festival at the Expo frm 10 to 12 March as well as a motherhood exhibition, also at the expo frm 31 May to 4 une. Start preparing for all your bb shopping!
kao_smile2.gif

went baby hypermart and baby kingdom...all I can say is the 2 stores sell different things, so no point comparing the prices between the 2 shops....

for eg. for stroller, hybermart carry brands like pego, maclaren..while kingdom carry brands like lucky baby and combi....

as for the prices, I would say it's not attractive at all...thought will be cheaper there but not true loh...but there are more models there, so can have more choices....

I bought a stroller and a playpen for my baby...as for accessories like steriliser, stroller accessories, don't buy there! more expensive loh...even kiddy palace sell cheaper...

after that, went parkway parade, bought pyjamas for my hospital stay and also some clothes for baby

gina,
initially, the baby's movements are light loh coz they are still small mah...but as you approach 3rd tri, baby becomes bigger, less space in the womb, then u will start to feel those "earthquakes" that you are hoping to feel....

those tiny rumbles could be your baby's movements....

Hi okasan,

didnt login for a few days, the thread moves quite fast har... just wanna find out from u the baby hyoermart and baby kingdom address. Thinking of buying some bb stuffs from there... heard that their price for stroller and playpen are cheaper.