(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hi girls - am trying to eat more protein to try and help baby put on more weight so had steamed fish and egg for dinner tonight. now i feel like throwing up cos so bland. Btw Anmum is it low fat ? I stopped taking it and switched to Marigold High/Low fresh milk instead. Any of you guys tried Diamond water ? I installed it recently and I find myself drinking more water - it's more tasty and also going toilet more regularly.

tinklebell, wow, the Korea package sounds interesting. can you send me the itinerary? my email address is [email protected]

Joy, i am on the 90 days trial for diamond water. i too enjoy the taste, however, the system is a bit pricy $1,600, and will need to fork out another $100 +++ for maintenance yearly.

Kite, is Anmum delicious? what flavour do you like? i am drinking Magnolia Hi Calcium Low Fat milk.

k ong, just checked with my tailor, she charges $30 for tailoring a blouse, and to make one, will need 1.75 m of cloth. if can get the cloth below $20, then the blouse will cost abt $50. will check out the price of cloth at Spotlight and Arab Street. i am thinking of tailoring some egyptian cotton work blouse, maternity style, as well as some baby doll tops.

joy:
from the Anmum tin, it does mentioned its lower in fat. i heard of diamond water. may i know how does it filter the tap water to hv purified water? using Ultraviolet or???

amy:
Anmum not bad, so far i tried the vanilla flavour, never try the chocolate one. quite like vanilla. i realised Anmum is not as heaty as other milk powder.

dunno y since preggies, my legs have been so itchy, been scratching until got red patches/scars...oops i shall stop scratching instead. mum said i took too much prawns during CNY liao. maybe prawns quite DU, crabs as well.
370317.gif

Amy: that sounds reasonable

where is ya tailor located ??

Anmum is very yummy ! i have tried both flavours, both are nice

kite,
It is normal. This is pregnancy rashes which called PUPPS. I had this when I was 36wks pregnant. Once u give birth, it will be ok. At the meantime, u may want to ease the itch by applying "snake powder" or bathe with J&J top to toe wash or other shower cream that is more mild.
My gynae told me these,other than that he give me cream which I find it not useful. He give me a medicine to make me drowsy at night so that I can sleep thru as my itchy is quite serious.

Good Morning!

Amy, you've got mail.

re: milk
looks like a lot of u mummies here drink milk regularly. hiaz, i have phobia of milk since 5 plus. i just cant take milk by itself

gd morning gals

Geez.....weight gain...i havent weighed myself since 20 weeks...at 20 weeks still put on 2.5kg....donno now wat weight liowz..mabbe shld go n weigh tonite...*sigh*

matched_gal,
normally i also take the mrt to work and hb will drop me off at the mrt station cos my workplace is not in the same direction as his. And I only need to take 4 mrt stops away so I juz take mrt myself
As for getting home from work, hb if working late will not fetch me and i will take train back myself, but most of the times he working late so most of the time i take train home myself too...haha...i guess bo pianz

Amy,
So it means u have to drive everytime to put the bb off at infant care? For me, cos we only have one car so its like hb normally driving it as he works further away so it will mean if i put my bb at infant care i will have to take public transport go fetch my bb and squeeze the bus/train back home again....kinda like a rush...haizz..also donno how, will see how things work out

volf20,
congrats on ur boy

as for the amniotic fluid....how do they check one? Ur bb's size is gd.....so don't worry too much, i believe everything will work out fine one...meantime take a gd rest *hugz*

lyn,
I tink they repeat the Get Real show the next morning around 10.30am

Btw, it was interesting.....she said there was one guy "look at her face, then her tummy (3 times)" but still never give up the seat to her...haha...but there was a nice uncle tat gave up his seat to her
Then there was another young couple (diana was standing rite in front of them and they sort of pretend not to see her, left her standing) *sighz* Seems like most ppl dont give up seat to preggies?

And she looked so cute with the tummy, fake mole and dowdy spectables n dressing...haha

haiz... work matters v jialat y'day... alot of politics hv to face for the next few mths... can't wait till my maternity leave's here

kite/okasan,
hehe, thanks for updating on the FBI card. Seems like if i dun take the TMC delivery package, it wudn't b that worth it... ;)

k ong/pebbles/okasan,
i also hv not bot anything yet ah... tink dis wkend hubby no time to bring me to hypermart liaoz... *sad*... hv to wait till next wkend...

angeline/tinkerbell,
i dare not weigh myself now (esp when i went for 3 times yusheng in the past wk oreadi)... o no...

hi tinkerbell, i have already pm u.. hope u have rec my msg.. tks alot

volf20, juz read of your case.. sorry to hear that.. but dun worry, ur bb boy is a smart boy, will know how to protect himself.. hope everything is fine for u.. take this time to have more rest and log in n chat with us..

celeste, hmm.. how come that time when i watched it at 8.30pm, it's abt all toilets. it looks so gross that i din continue with it and din c diana ser testing the communters..

err.. what's the normal wt gain? my gynae told me it's ok to gain 2kg for a mth, so wks out to be 1kg every 2 wks.. err.. so far, i always hit the max of it.. haha.. so abt 7kg for 21+ wks..

peng,
haha...cos the testing of the mrt commuters is after that, tink it was aired around 8.40pm or what...cos that episode is on courtesy

Btw, u got a travel voucher for sale? May I know which travel agent is that and any terms n conditions?

celeste,
hehe, at least got people give up seat for u... u gained 2.5kg at 20wks oni? Me oreadi gained 5kg ah... Now i coming to 25th week liaoz... tink i oreadi gained 8kg ... tink i sure kenna 'scolding'... ;p

aiya! i missed the show...what a waste. but it's true that pp nowadays do not give up seats to pregnant women. sometimes i can understand that after a tired day at work, a seat on board public transport is a luxury. perhaps MRT and the bus companies can consider adding more seats to their fleet? or adding more frequent trips? it's quite a torture taking public transport esp during peak hrs. I used to work in Shenton way. From my home to office, the journey by bus was 1hr 15 mins. Most pp take it fr our town all the way to Shenton Way. It's really tough not having a seat bec by end of the trip, you'll be too tired to start work. Sometimes i would walk few bus stops earlier to catch an emptier bus. The seat is really v precious
so i can understand why sometimes pp dont give it up... hee hee... I really would appreciate the day when the transport cos are able to provide buses at peak hrs without the squeezy standing crowd. I really dont mind paying a little more for the extra comfort.

matched_gal,
So far only got 2 person offered seats to me b4...Once was together with my hb on the mrt cos we went to river angpao and we parked our car at bugis as we thought very difficult to find carpark at marina there....then got a auntie gave up a seat to me. Another time was on my way to work a nice young lady gave up her seat to me
Thats all...imagine i take the mrt every weekday but so far only offered seats twice...haha
ya...at 20 wks its 2.5kg...now 21wk+ liowz...donno wats my weight...havent weigh but can see my tummy getting bigger...haha...bb very active also...once late morning bb wakes up n starts moving n kicking around till nite time resting only occasionally...*faint*

tinklebell,
Sometimes can understand...true that most ppl are also tired after work so its like they prefer to have to seat to sleep on the bus....but its like preggies (especially later stage) will definitely be more tired than them...Like now earlier stage ppl dont offer seats to me i can understand cos i can still stand all these as tummy not that huge yet...but later stage i really hope ppl will offer seats to me

u know wat my hb suggested, he said maybe shld write in to smrt and suggest that they specially reserve a seat for elderly/preggies/woman with young children...all other ppl cannot sit...but i told him it wont be viable cos other commuters will definitely complain that if nobody taking that seat they shld be allowed to sit since they r paying the same fares...so i guess it all goes back to ground zero....haha

celeste,
wah, ur bb v active leh
Mine kicks me / duno wat she doing inside, from 4am to ard 6am, then quiet. Then when i reach ofc, can feel her moving again... Actually i'm v curious wat they are doing inside... hope can see detailed movement during scan... hehe... I read up the website, it says bb can start blinking at 25wks, so excited now

matched_gal,
Ya lor...yesterday at 10pm i can still feel it moving around then i keep telling bb "so late still dont want to sleep ah..", then hb say bb want to play...*faint*
But actually i can only feel the movements and kicks when i am sitting down or lying down...when i am walking around doing things dont really feel it yet

wow....hehe, u coming 25 weeks rite? Means ur bb going to start blinking liowz...so cute :p

celeste,
the movements get more distinct as we progress in pregnancy week. Once i complained abt bb kick so hard, my mom said, aiyoh, now oni 6mths u complaining already, wait till 7-8months c how u tahan the strong kicks ah... hahaha...

Kite - re diamond water, it's a 6 filter system which includes carbon etc and it's quite fast. They gave me a water dispenser so I just press and drink which is v convenient. I'm on trial and we like the taste. Even my dog seems to be drinking it more and her fur is softer and shinier ! You can just give it a try - it's free anyway for 90 days.

kite, maybe i'll give Anmum a try. at least can replace this with a hot cup of tea/coffee every morning, can cut down on my caffine intake. sometimes i have 3-4 cups of caffine a day, feel so guilty.

Re itch - i had a series of bad rashes last week. gyane asked me to apply SARNA Lotion, which i got from Guardian pharmacy. it is made of menthol and is good for dry itching skin. after applying, sit in front of a fan or air con, wow... very cooling.

K ong, my tailor is located at Tanjong Pagar, at the old market opp Amara Hotel, her name is Sharon, and the shop is Sharon Tailor.
Let me know if you are interested in getting her to make your tops. can pass you her no.

tinklebell, thanks for the itinerary. Will review it later. Re milk, if you cannot take milk, try soy milk, in cartons, not those from market. Mrs Wong said the carton ones have more calcium. i like Vita soy milk, the sugar free one. can drink as much as you like without worrying abt sugar intake. goes great with coffee and tea too!

Celeste blur, wow... envy you. your weight gain is minimal. maybe can beat Wong Li Lin's record! I gained abt 6 kg in week 24. I think next week gynae will 'scold' me.

Re logistics and infant care, we too, have only one car. we are contemplating whether i should get my own to pick/drop baby. alternatively, i can borrow from my father in law. he stays few houses down the same street, about 3 mins walk. but if i use his car, will have to be home by 5.15 pm everyday, as he needs to play golf.
bit inconvenient, but better than buying another car hor?

These few days, baby also kicking more vigourously. last nite, hubby and i very tired, just abt bedtime, felt baby turning in my tummy, hubby and i used sign language, so baby cannot hear our voices.... tot he will sleep, but no... still kicking in various timings of the night...

good morning ladies

went for my detailed scan yesterday... everything is normal. baby confirm is a boy, weighing 412g at 20wk. I've gained 3 kg so far, most weight are on me

Lyn,
Can you pls help to update? Baby gender is boy. Thanks!

Celeste, wow u only gain 2.5kg? so good! how come u pp dont gain much weight? i dont really eat a lot but gain so much wt
***sobs***

Amy, i take soy milk occassionally. sometimes my mum makes her own... i like the home made ones bec it's not too sweet.
Previously, we wanted to put my gal in infantcare to give my mother some freedom but she doesnt quite take to the idea bec she feels that infants are quite vulnerable and they tend to catch those viruses easily. I'm terrified of things like chicken pox and hand-foot-mouth
Logistics is also a prob bec i start work at 745 and normally will leave home ard 7am. most infant cares are opened only at 7 so it's too rush and i dont think my hub can cope with 2 kids in the morning. so i have no choice but to get a maid even though i dont really like the idea of having one.

kite/amy,
speaking of itching... my lower tummy has been itching v much (for the last 3 days), esp during the wee hrs of the morning. Tried Prickly Heat powder and it managed to stop the itching temporarily. But worried powder may dry my skin, so duno wat else to use - maybe can try the SARNA lotion. Stretchmark cream doesn't seem to stop the itching leh...

i tried to tell myself cannot scratch - wait after got scars
But i can't help it most of the times... Too sleepy to put powder s'times in the middle of the nite... sighz...

matched_gal,
hehe...ur mom jin cute hor...but i tink by 7-8 mths we prob get used to the kicks liowz

Amy,
My weight gain 2.5kg is at 20 weeks...now i donno liowz...haha...and i juz hope i can stick to total weight gain of within 10kg throughout whole pregnancy bah

I won't be getting a car just for the purpose of ferrying my bb to/fro infant care cos its juz not quite worth it...would rather take/call for a cab

mspiggy,
congrats on ur boi
Wow u gain 3kg so far....very little also...
and bb is quite gd size

matched gal, for tummy itch, i think better not put SARNA. johnson baby oil helps. the tummy itch is due to stretched skin, while the arms, legs itch is due to dry skin, so can use SARNA there. i also apply clarins oil on tummy, mixed with water for consistency in application. quite useful to prevent itch.

tinklebell, wow, so nice, your mum offered to look after baby. for my PIL, last nite during dinner, i told them i already registered baby at an infant care centre, and that i would like to bring them there for a visit, just in case of emergency, they can help me pick up baby... immediately, my FIL face turned... hmmm...

tinklebell,
i think i didnt gain that much becos i was "meaty" to begin with....cos i read before that if the lady is oledi "meaty" to begin with, then the weight gain wont be so much becos she already have stored fats in the body

matched_gal,
have u tried olive oil or switch other brands of stretchmark cream?

tinklebell, hubby just rang. said he can only take leave the week beginning 26th Feb. The rest of the weeks after are taken. Hmmm... dunno whether can still go Korea in end Feb. maybe need to switch destination lo...

also, last nite, hubby spoke the truth - said he prefer me not to take flights due to cabin pressure... hmm... but will still go to Korea with me if that is what i really want. then he went on... baby is so precious... he will not advise anyone to travel while pregnant. maybe will reconsider our destination.

okasan, managed to dig out my bb hypermart receipt. the malay sales gal is Lizah. do look her up when you drop by this weekend.
happy shopping...

Amy, same here lor... my hub doesnt encourage me to travel... but he knows that knowing me, i will be thinking and thinking of the place non stop if i dont go.... i read this article and if we are healthy with not much prob, there shouldnt be a prob air travelling. And i really hope to recharge myself before i give birth bec it's gonna be a long long tiring journey after bb is born.

http://www.babycenter.com/expert/pregnancy/pregnancytravel/7240.html

Morning Mummies:
Usually last time i used to take mrt/bus, i always give up my seat to pregnant ladies.
Hmm so far i havent take mrt/bus by myself since hubby fetch me to n from work. Havent really experience or test out whether ppl wil give up seat for me.

370512.gif

May:
Thanks for the info. 1 of my frens told me she also took soya bean milk during pregnancy n her bb very fair. how often u drink soya bean milk? bot fr outside?

Tinklebell:
i also dun like milk but no choice hv to take at least 1/2 to 1 glass. Every day i wil take 3/4 of milk together w my supplements.

Celeste:
hmm i watched e show til 8.40pm then i switched cos i thot it was another program, didnt watch on.

matched_gal/celeste:
every morning ard 6am, newspaper guy wil deliver straits times to our door n my dog wil bark loud loud like alarm clock. urrghhh. then tis morning, when she barks again at same timing, my bb kicked me. I think bb feels annoyed cos guess she is slping n disturbed by my dog's bark. lol. after that stopped kicking liao.

Joy:
will they hardsell after e 90days? wow ur dog so fortunate drink diamond water hehe. i oni give my dog plain water to drink. ask u, do u stil carry n play w ur dog? me stil play w her but i dun carry her recently cos MIL not so gd to let dog touch my tummy. u?

Amy:
ya better cut down on caffine, drink more milk. hmm i rarely take caffine. hmm like johnson baby oil not bad ah. got 1 mummy told me gd for itchy nipples. what kind of soy milk in carton u referring? hey i wish my bb wil kick me harder, hehe pain anot? often? me oni 19wks, coming 20wks (5mths!)
370513.gif

celeste and ms piggy, i so envy.. u too gain so little.. gosh.. compared to me, think i have been a glutton. gain so much.. fainz...

congras ms piggy on ur boi boi

celeste, i have this "voucher" which is more like a credit with agent cos I cancel my aust tix.. so I am left with $871 after all the heavy penalty for cancelling tix (sob sob...). Cos of my pregnancy, my agent allows me to buy any tix or package from any agency so that I can get rid of this "credit" easily.. So if u need to book any agency, all u need to inform me. I will get my agent to contact u and he will help u to book the tour and u settle with him on the balance of the monies.. my agent is JAC Travel Agency, they do more of airtix and hotel selling.. if u need more info, can pm me.. tks

kite, i was referring to soy milk in cartons sold on supermarket shelves. i dunno what brands they have out there, but some has hi cal, low sugar.

just washed baby's mittens and booties... very cute... realised i have quite alot of them... about 20 sets...

Kite, re diamond water, i hope they wont hard sell. They said absolutely no obligation. My dog is big - she is a golden retriever so dont carry her but yes still play with her. She keeps me company at home and cheers me up. I think she also knows that I'm pregnant and nowadays very careful around me, dont jump on me anymore !

Am also trying Mammil milk which was given free by gynae. Tastes ok to me.

celeste,
tried olive oil, but skin sensitive. End up the SM cream i'm using now is recommended by gynae, initially no more itching, now started again [maybe if i didn't put, even worse(!)] ;p

amy,
okies, then i dun use SARNA on my tummy liaoz, hehe...

kite,
eh, ur bb v responsive leh, hehe
We 'tested' bb response y'day (me & hubby), by lightly 'poking' my tummy when she active that time - apparently wherever we poke, bot 'kick' appear there the next moment, haha...

Hi Ms Piggy - Congrats on having a boy! U hv put on v lil given that the weight of yr boy & placenta n waterbag will prob add up to a kg ...

Just wondering - how many meals do u ladies take daily? I can eat 3 main meals + 2 tea times .. usually take fruit or nuts during tea time. Sometimes a curry puff...

Amy - tatz a lot of mittens & booties you hv ..hahhah

Hi volf20,

I take normal 3 full meals now... during 1st trimster I had MS since intake very little.

I hope I will not gain too much else become obese, me already on the BIG side to begin with. hehe

ya I also took v lil small meals during 1st tri ..otherwise will puke out... havent tried curry and prata since too cos I puked badly when I took that then...

My doc told me to put on a min of 1 kg a mth ..otherwise bb will not grow well... for meals, I take quite a bit if veg and meat / fish. Very lil rice....think that helps keep the weight in check.

Thread is moving so fast, see until My eyes blur.

I've been having sharp pain at the right side of my tummy, anyone encountering the same thing? It's like I'm sleeping at night, then suddenly got sharp pain that woke me up. Hopefully it's nothing serious.

Afternoon gers,

Hows lunch ? I had fish soup.. darenot eat too heavy cos later will be going for my detailed scan.

Re: MRT,
I think in Japan the train do reserved certain seats meant for preggy mum, old ppl & children (if I dont rem wrongly). I am always on the East/West line maybe the ppl are much nicer to let out their seat.

Re: Weight
This morning I just weight myself, I have already gained 5kgs... Wow !!

Re: Itch
My gynae recommend me to use cetaphil soap/lotion for shower.. So far it really works for me

Re: Milk
So far I only drink HL milk every morning.

Volf,
do take care !!

Amy: thanks ! yes pls, do u know if she is open at night after work ? abt 7 plus ?

volf: yah, 3 meals a day with tea breaks too :)
my tea breaks normally consist of biscuits and *horror of horrors* chocolates! heeheee, no wonder i am putting on weight ...
plus supper sometimes ...

Panda: oh is that so ? do u know why ? the calcium will react with milk ???

K Ong, tried to PM you, but you do not accept PM. Do you have an email address? Can send you Sharon's no.

all mtbs/mummies,
btw, any of u gals feel bloated at times? Like today i suddenly feel bloated...after eating my lunch (normal portion) tummy feel like want to burst like tat?

Amy,
actually similar case here...its me that is keen on the travelling and not hb...cos he worried if overseas anything happen *touch wood* then donno wat to do...*sigh*...but i really wish to go for one more trip before i pop cos i know its going to be a long time before i can go on another one

kite,
I guessed mabbe the section came on juz after u switched channels? Hehe :p

peng,
so it means if i wanna book a package with another agency, this agency can help me book it?

Okies, will check with my hb and let u know soon....cos tomolos might be going down chinatown to take a look at which places i can go

matched_gal,
hmmzz, mabbe ur next appt u check with ur gynae see got any other creams that u can use also?

Oink,
welcome

tinklebell,
me already a small king-kong before pregnancy.....