(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

any idea where we can shop for nice diaper bag? is diaper bag neccessary?
370230.gif

matched_gal,

I have the FBI card n they told me mainly used in TMC only like got discount buying things from pharmacy, heath screen, parentcraft, delivery n many more.

fbi also got discount for retail shop like mothercare, etc...but the card is $128.to fully utilise the card benefits, best to deliver at tmc...then can enjoy more discounts to offset the $128

Volf, sorry to hear of your low fluid level. Will keep you in prayers. Put your trust in the Lord, have faith that all will turn out well.
He has brought you and baby this far, and baby is really healthy - good weight too!

Yesterday I told my hubby the mummies in my forum are talking abt Korea, and Bintan is so boring... and my hubby said ok, let's go to Korea. Now, I am having second doubts, will it be really cold in Korea in end March?

Okasan - diaper bags, coach has nice diaper bags.
i got mine from bb hypermart, pre prego - they have many designs and colors, goes well with my pram.

Amy, i was told fr mid march onwards is not so cold. >10deg. but the $499 package by focal is only for 2 dates - 6th and 13th March. actually i would actually prefer to go on the week of 20th onwards bec that is after mid march. but most tours after that do not inc ski resort. on the other hand, i would really love to go to the ski resort so that is why i am still having second thoughts whether it's worth going or not.... hmmmmm.....

volf,

rest more... that may help to increase the fluid level. There are mummies in this forum with this low fluid level too... and managed to deliver when bb full term... so have faith... just dun be too stressed...

tinklebell,

i find the ski resort ski area quite slippery leh in korea... i was at the resort where they filmed the winter sonata.. so nice i miss it so much
But if no snow on the pavement, then wont be so slippery lor

if u hv citibank credit card, u will just need to pay only $98 for the card, instead of $128. we used the creditcard. so consider this card is quite worth...

tinklebell, hmm... i prefer to skip the ski resort, since i cannot ski with a big tummy.
too tempting...

maybe i will check out what's on the itinerary in late March.
alternatively, i am also thinking of Perth in late March...

poohy, slippery is it? btw, when did u go korea? is there any other things indoors to do at the ski resort? donno whether is will snow in march of not.... quite unlikely but nowadays the weather is so hay-wire so nobody really can predict

Hi June mtbs, any of you have not found a confinement lady yet ? I orginally engaged one (she came highly recommended from a friend who is very fussy) but have now decided to back out. I feel bad and want to help her since she had to turn away alot of people because of me. Let me know if anyone is keen. Thanks

amy,
how much is the diaper bag u bought? is it useful? I'm wondering if I should just use a normal bag instead..hehe....

kite,
me also using citibank to get fbi at $98...but for someone who dun deliver at tmc, it's really not worth even if it's $98 coz majority of the discounts is at tmc...

Okasan, i paid less than $100 for the diaper bag. has compartments for bottles, diapers, mummy's wallet, includes a changing mat, goes well with my pram (available in various colors), can hang on the pram handle, fits most pram. I need a diaper bag cos the pram i am getting (Quinny Zapp) does not have any storage compartments. Also, i figured i will need to tag along all these stuff when i bring baby out. so better get a diaper bag.

amy,
thanks for the info...I'll look out for diaper bags when I go baby hypermart this weekend...am planning to shop for stroller this weekend there

btw, is baby hybermart better or baby kingdom better?

Okasan

BB Hypermart is more upmarket than baby kingdom. I got my strollers and car seat from hypermart, but got my cot from kingdom. i suggest you compare prices before making your purchase, since they are just next door.

For hypermart, you can make your selection, pay a deposit of $50 to secure your items, but dun collect your stuff. if you change your mind anytime from now till delivery, you just have to amend your items, with no extra charges. look out for a malay gal, forgot her name, mid length hair, she is very honest, will tell you the truth based on customer feedback. also very patient. dun go for the Chinese guy, heard him upselling some expensive products to another customer.

tinklebell,

i went in mid november few years back and it was just snowing lightly. nothing much to do indoor at the ski resort leh ..except sit ard and look at the scenery outside... its just so beautiful.. i miss korea so much.

Okasan: yah, that's what i tot ... cuz they kept assuring me i dont need CL, but was chatting with my sis yesterday and she mentioned that maybe i sld look for one ... cuz my mum is helping her now (sis just gave birth to a cute bb girl end Jan!) and she thinks may be a bit tiring on mum ...

oh well ... i was looking fwd to "saving" the $ on CL, and maybe splurge it on food, bby and myself ... guess have to start saving now !!!

BTW, how much do you all reckon u;ll be spending on bb essentials ? Ie, cot, pram, car seat, bottles ?? I have not bought anything yet !!!

Okasan:
yup the FBI card is worth it since most likely i will be choosing TMC 1 bedded ward to deliver cos hubby wanted 1 bedded.

Mummies:
anyone already book ur massage lady? me yet to decide on one. any good recommendations which shows effects?

btw for confinement, my mum will be doing for me. She did it for my 2 cousins as well, so got experience on cooking confinement food n etc. can save quite a sum of $.

K Ong, I spent $300 on bottles, steriliser, breast pump, food warmer. Another $300 for baby cot without mattress and beddings. Guess mattress and beddings will come to another $300. And $1K for two prams, one infant car seat, and a diaper bag. As for clothes, i have some hand me downs, but bought 3 mths onwards clothes, maybe spent about $200 so far.

Another $3000 for confinement, and $700 for jamu massage.
Also bought baby toys, a swing, baby books, cot mobile, CDs, stuff toy, about $500.

poohy,amy, i just called the travel agent, price increase liao! now $599
child pr $589
for 13th March departure...aiyo ... pr diff so much all bec it's school holidays!! the tour leader said the roads are ok in march - not slippery and i dont have to go to the ski slope if i dont want to. can choose to stay in hotel and there are facilties there to keep u occupied or can go to coffee house to see pp ski. he said he brought a few pregnant ladies there before and no problem. hmmmm ...... now i have to urge to go again

tinklebell... wow... so tempting. yes, 13th March departure is school holidays. if we go after that, might be cheaper. will go check the packages online later.
hee hee.. spending a day in the hotel, or even watch ppl ski can be quite fun... but hubby will be bored...
maybe can send him for a ski class, see how he perform.

amy,
u mean at baby kingdom, we cannot collect our stuff at a later date? btw, can we bargain at these shops? or the price are fixed?

poohy,
me too..I miss korea..went there in jan 2 years back....love the winter scenery.....

k ong,
i see...so your sis just gave birth...then u better ask your mum if she wanna do and if she's ok, not tired to do for you...if she prefer u look for CL, then no choice loh...some money just cannot be saved

Okasan, i am not sure whether you can collect your stuff at a later date at bb kingdom. cos when we said we wanted the cot, the lady asked for full payment. you can try to ask for deferred payment, but must check with them, if you change you mind, and your new purchases cost less than what you booked, will they ask you to top up. at bb hypermart, you do not have to top up if your final purchase is less than your initial booking.

Re further discounts, at bb hypermart, usually, they have 20% to 30%. the 30% is for old stock items. i booked an old stock car seat at 30%, but later changed to a new stock car seat (2006 series) which was not available at my time of booking, and they gave me the same 30% discount.

Then I added a Quinny Zapp, they selling at 20%, i told the Malay girl Mothercare selling at 30%, and she gave me the Mothercare price for the new series (2006). So, i think there is some room for negotiations.

Amy, u want to go together?? **hee hee** maybe our hubbies can go skiing and we can have a cuppa in the coffee house
let me know if u have any good travel lobang.

tinklebell, hee hee... i dun mind. i will check airfares.com.sg later. will keep you posted.

Tks Poohy, Amy and all. Doc told me to lie in bed most of the time to help membrane seal itself. My bed is now elevated at the feet area following doc's instruction. Was surfing just now to read on amnio fluid. The more I read, the more worried I get. In the end, I decided to stop surfing and pray. Told God am leaving it in his hands as long as I follow instructions to bedrest. There's nothing else I can do. Told bb to produce more fluid too cos I read it is actually bb's urine in there ...

Wow Amy - seems like u hv bot most stuff for yr baby. I've only bot the pram and infant car seat, and a few bb clothes, and 4 Nuk bots, and avent steam steriliser. Hvent gotten the nappies, powder, creams, and more bb clothes.

May not be able to go for the bb fair leow since kana bedrest.. and I dun wanna risk it...so will hv to wait it out till later in Apr.....now am reading up and looking for bb names .. soemthing that means Precious, or Courageous or Strong cos bb is God's Precious gift to me & hb, and bb has been and has to be courageous and strong to survive with lil fluid now....

Volf, yes, leave baby in God's hand, and all will be fine.
if you need to check prices for any items at the bb fair, let me know. i can check the prices for you and get the stuff for you if you like.

I am waiting for the Robinsons sale to get the baby mattress and toiletries. Heard it's not good to use powder for newborns, so not getting that.

Meanwhile, take this time to rest well, and start thinking of the wonderful things you can do with baby when baby pops out.

Joy: OK ! missseow @ yahoo.com

Amy: Wow ! that's a lot of $$$

Tinklebell: sld be ok, just be careful when u walk, think the cold weather will do us some good, since our confimentme period is hot hot hot July weather ! haahaa, Shanghai next week will be cold too, 1 - 10 degresss ... brrrr...

Volf: Rest well ! We can keep u company online

Looks like I am the only one who has not bought much.
I only got one lucky baby stroller, a few hand-me-down clothings, someone gave me a playpen with matress and that is it! Me already spent 5 digits figure having this baby so am trying to save.

amy,
how come your confinement so ex? $3K a lot leh....

phew! u are quite well-prep liao...me also haven't buy anything....

just got the hand-me-downs clothes from a relative and to my surprise, most of the clothes given to me are new...was so delighted...think my baby boy very lucky

pebbles,
u r not alone...I also have not yet buy anything for baby

amy,
thanks for your info...I'll try bargaining to get lower price then...this weekend going hypermart/kingdom, am looking forward...hopefully can make some purchases

hey gals,

do u all feel really tired eating all the supplements we are given ??

i have to take ProLacta twice a day, neogobion in the day, folic acid in the day, and calcium in the night.

wah, so troublesome to remember. ..

Wow Amy! u got a big budget! actually, i havent spent anything much.... most are hand me downs fr my no 1 and nieces. ***save money***

only other thing i need to get is an electric b-pump. havent decided whether to get confinement or not. talking abt that, i also havent called my ex maid to ask if she is coming or not.... aiyo .... seems like i'm a last min person....
i'll most prob order confinement food fr the caterers if not getting confinement nanny.

K Ong, hee hee.... not to mention my own maternity clothes budget.
i realised the maternity clothes in the market are way too pricy. I am checking with my tailor how much it cost to make my own maternity tops. Might work out to be cheaper, plus you can design your own top. Will keep you all posted...

tinklebell, if you do want to enlist a confinement nanny, must do so early. The good ones are always booked way in advance.

my confinement nanny is recommended by a colleague, from Kuantan. She charges $1,800 a month, and I am asking her to stay for 6 weeks, $2,700, plus one hong bao prior to start work, one at the end of her work period, plus transport home. So, $3K in total.

k ong, i have to eat 3 supplements a day, all in the morning - fish oil, multivitamin, and calcium.
sometimes, even lazy to open the bottles...

Amy: yah ! i feel it's so ex and limited selection too !!! i only bought one maternity skirt so far in singapore. the other clothes i buy a larger size to fit me ...
ordered 4 pcs of items from US, 2 are too big, so need to get it altered. i really like the selection overseas ...
yes, let us know if your tailor is reasonable !

amy, oic, u are getting confinement nanny for 6 weeks...no wonder... but that's quite a hefty sum to pay hor... but i guess if it's your first kid, it's good to have some kind of help like that... if not can go cranky.

tinklebell, ya lor, i more kiasu. cos no one to help out, better have confinement nanny stay longer, so i can learn from her after my one month confinement period.

pebbles: dunno ... the gynae told me to take neogobion (multi vit) in the morning and calcium at night ... maybe so that i wont "overdose" on the supplements !!!
haahaaa

sometimes, so lazy to take ...
*sigh*

Amy:
me too everyday before i go to work, i will take 3 kinds of supplements w a glass of Anmum. Iron which contains folic acid, calciums and Neurogain given by my gynac.

Anyone of u here besides drink Anmum, drink other brands like EnfaMama? any comments?

tinkerbell, may i check whether u interested to buy the travel voucher from me? cos my hb really dun want me to travel anywhere.. sigh..

kite, i have tried enfamama, err.. i still prefer the tast of anmum.. taste better.

err.. think i eat more supplements leh.. i eat 1 calicum, 1 fish oil and 1 multivitamin in the am usually with my anmum.. then at nite 1 more calcium and 1 more fish oil.. cost of supplements real ex..

wow.. amy.. ur pocket is so deep.. bought so much liao.. me still slowly shopping and haven't bought anything yet..

went to see my gynae jus now..was scolded badly by him coz of my wieght gain..at my last aapt which is 2 weeks ago,he said i abit gain too much..jus now he scolded me for not cutting down n not listening to his advise...he say i gain 1.5kg in 2weeks...preferably,he say shd be 2kg a mth..oso,he say my diet is too sweet n salty stuff so tts y cause my watery discharge n vaginal itchness..hb been angry wif me oso..now feel so upset n down..now cant eat rice,carbo stuff,sweet n salty stuff etc...dun koe wat i can eat..

peng:
after i tried enfamama, i got constipation but when i switched back to Anmum, i removed my bowels either daily or alternate days. wow how much u take calcium n fish oil twice per day esp at nite?

Angeline:
perhaps u can drink more plain water. how much water r u drinking per day? i find i drink too little, only 1.2litres per day.

peng,
u mentioned before that the voucher can be used for purchase in any agency right? if that's the case, i dont mind buying fr u. but let me confirm with my hubby where exactly do we want to go. can u PM me your contact and the details of the voucher?

angeline,
i think i am going to kenna suaning fr my gynae this time. i just stepped on the weighing scale and it shows 7kg wt gain. from the 4kg 2 weeks ago, i gained another 3kg!!!!! i almost fainted when i saw the scale. i stepped up and down a few times and it shows the same thing
**sob sob**
looks like i may break my previous 20kg record this time... ****faint****

Amy,
I called another agency. They have 5 day Korea tour starting on 22/3 (Wed).. via korea air. Night flight. this one is over the weekend and end march may not be so cold. prob have to take only 2 days leave (or 3 if u want to rest one day after arrival). $588+212 per pax. But no ski resort. i have the itenery. if u want i can email to u.