(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

poohy,
hehe...cos i wanna get over the "tough" period once and for all...haha...

joy,
congrats on having a boi

okipoki,
i've been weighing the pros n cons....cos there's no infant care within walking distance to my hse...then have to rush back n fetch bb everyday....and still have to handle hsehold chores etc...tats y tot of having a maid...then wont have such a heavy burden

so still contemplating between these few choices...will make a choice soon....cos i noe maid must train one...*sigh*

Thanks everyone for your advice. I think I should try to eat more protein, but I love carbo too much ! There wasnt a chart for the weight but he did say it is normal but I read some of your bb's weight at 20w and they range from 340-400. Guess I shouldnt worry too much. Blame it on my hubby who's not very tall !

Btw am thinking of getting the pigeon sterliser. It's on sale at $87 at Kiddy Palace. Thought since it doesnt come with holder that it would be the most versatile as I'm plannning on using nuk and avent bottles. What do you gals think ?

Thanks mummies, i felt better after turning on my classical music.

okipoki:
me too wil order 2 pillows. For me, i feel very tired in 1st tri but not now in 2nd tri. gg toilet also lesser.

wow now its like my whole department already know i m pregnant. lol quite a no. of ppl came n ask me when me gg to due.
i asked how come u know, they said so obvious liao hehe

Tinklebell:
ur boy so cute.
handsome in his winter wear.

joy:
congrats on ur boy!

K_ong:
yaloh sometimes dunno how to say, though they meant good but stil feel abit irritated maybe we are sensitive during this period.

joy $87 is fairly reasonable. i have been using pigeon sterilzer (the older model) for my boy and it's quite sturdy.... so far so good ... no complaints. H/e, i noted that the older model comes with the socket not suitable for singapore sockets so we had to buy an adaptor...not sure if the new model is also the same.

k ong,
eh, yah, i also get ard 6hrs sleep oni... not oni r my eyebags showing, i'm getting more temperamental these dayz
haiz...
i wear maternity clothes, but still no1 gives up seat leh...

HEE HEE .... seems like your bbs quite naughty hor... so fast start to train the mummies up for less sleep. once bb is out... 6 hrs of sleep is actually quite a luxury liao.... hope i didnt frighten anyone

matched_gal,
today i was very happy...got a lady realise i was preggie and gave up her seat to me although i said nmind...she insisted...cos i only left with 2 more mrt stops...haha.....2nd time got ppl wanna give up seat to me liowz maybe cos i was wearing maternity top liowz :p

tinklebell,
wow....still can get 6 hrs of sleep? My fren was telling me still need to give nite feeds even though her bb arnd 3 mths liowz...need to wake up once at nite...imagine the panda eyes when at work

almost forgot...gals....please watch ChannelNewsAsia GET REAL at 8.30pm tonite....diana ser going to dress as a preggie lady to test mrt commuters

matched_gal: haaha, me too ! i get cross ever so often ... :p i guess it's ok ... will be nicer to hubby after bby is born :p
pregnancy is my excuse !

anyone getting confinement nanny ?

i was thinking no need ... till my sis spoke to me and said she wld recommend that i get one since it's my first born ...

ahh, decisions decisions ...
not only is $ a factor, i'm not sure i want a strange to be carrying my baby, let alone sleep with us !!!

Hi Celeste Blur,

I am lucky to have pple offer their seats most of the time when i am on trains and buses. Feel pretty paiseh heee... sometimes if i travel short distances, then i remain standing. Feel so shy to accept their offers sometimes :p

Hi Matched gal,

If tummy not big enough, pple would think wearing maternity clothes is a fashion hahaa.. that's what happen to me. In dec, i came back to school in my maternity top, and my colleague ask me whether it is fashion :p

tinkerbell,
arh, dun scare me ah... can't imagine life wifout enuff rest... was tinking actually... my bb's due during the world cup - i can ask her daddy to feed her when he's watching soccer (that is, if he's concentrating), haha...

celeste,
wah, lucky u leh... got many times my hubby work late n i've to take mrt - end up i stand all the way. Can't stand the 'crowded' stations - feel quite uncomfy esp when everybody squeeze ard my tummy... hmmm...

k ong,
yah, my hubby v cham recently cos my temper gone fr bad to worse ah... i oreadi warned him say after giving birth maybe it's gonna be lagi worse, cos of 'hormones'... jialat...

kk,
u may b rite there... maybe dey tink my maternity top doesn't really luk like maternity dat's y... got colleague ask me whether it's really maternity top that i'm wearing... hmmm... nowadayz maybe babydoll tops are in fashion, hehe...

celeste,
i hope i can reach home in time to watch ah... ;p Should suggest diana ser to wear 'babydoll' top... hahaha...

Celeste Blur, me too, mum and MIL not interested in looking after baby. quite upset at first. well, think abt it, better be indepedent, so decided to place baby at infant care, although it's far away from my place, and out of the way, unless i drive to drop off and pick up every day.

I have a weekend maid coming in to help with cleaning. it's just me and hubby and we are working, so nothing much to clean at home. this arrangement worked out fine.
dun trust full time maid, also, hubby wants privacy.

Also got confinement nanny, heard many horror stories of how mum and MIL offer to help, but dun help fully, halfway, end up gotta do housework and look after baby during confinement. further, again, mum and MIL said no to confinement.

tinklebell, wow... your boy so cute... how blessed! now you got a gal gal... one boy one gal... my dream combination.

kite,
u mean u never tell your colleagues u preggy?? I tell everyone in my dept when I knew I'm preggy...coz then they will be more understanding if u not feeling well, etc.....

anyway, we now at 5mth, so should be obvious liao...so not surprise if people see u, they know u preggy

re: giving up seat
maybe I look very preggy, most of the time, got people give up their seats...only once, when I walk towards an empty seat, one lady took it before me, then she just look at me and my tummy and dun even feel paiseh....

re: maternity clothes
some of my mum's friends also commented that nowaday, the maternity clothes all very nice loh...they said last time, maternity clothes look like pyjamas....

Good Morning everyone
370130.gif

my office accounting system still as slow as yesterday...jia lat .... havent even closed for the mth of Jan

Went for detailed scan yesterday - confirmed I am having a boy boy!! My instincts were right. The doc made a wrong reading the last time...

Anyway, nd your prayers ... doc said my amniotic fluid level is very low. Suspected leakage. So, am on full bedrest till end Mar. Its quite scary cos it cld affect the devt of bb's lungs. Initially before the detailed scan, we were so scared cos it cld mean still birth, or deformities in bb, or xxx???!! Strange thing was that I went to see my gynae one wk earlier cos I was bleeding from down there ... and though I thot it was my polyp problem, I thot better to go see him... end up not only got polyp problem, fluid also low. Damn horrifying. HUbby was so stressed out. We spent the entire day at the hospital going for a gamut of tests ... please pray for me....thankfully, boy boy is growing well, and normal ...he weighs 408g at 20wks. Thank God. I put on 4 kg only and of which that 408g is him ....

The sonographer tried to scan his hands and legs and couldnt really see cos he was all curled up with his limbs covering his face .... gynae said it was becos there is insufficient water for him to move ard...so maybe that's why I couldnt feel bb at all! Also, placenta was up there covering him...sob

Dunoo why my pregnancy so warped with trouble one.. I just want a healthy normal bb...

volf,
congrats on ur boyboy
ur boyboy even heavier than my gerger leh - mine was only 364g at 20wks, and i oreadi gained 5kg at dat time... yikes ;p

hugz! muz get enuff rest for coming weeks... will pray for you! Keep strong!!

Hello! Good morning gals! Hope you gals had a good nite's sleep. Weekend is here again!

Hi Celeste Blur,
Do you know if they will repeat the Get Real show? I have missed that show... I am curious to find out what's the results... haha...

Hi K Ong,
I will not be getting a confinement lady. Are you getting one? I am not comfortable in someone else staying with me. I think it's not necessary to get one.
I will be breast feeding, so baby will be sleeping with me and I will have to do the nite feeds.
As for housework chores, I will get my hubby to do. Just need to sweep and mop the floor, and do the laundry. If cannot cope, will bring the clothes out to the commercial laundry.
Then for the cooking, if my mum nor MIL not cooking for me, I will order food delivery. So that's about it...
As for looking after baby, I will do it myself.
I will be talking to my MIL this Sunday about it, see if she is willing to help out
My mum wanna go travelling so she's afraid she get stuck with looking after my baby. So let her be...

Regarding people giving up seats. I do realise, usually it's the working class women who will offer seats to pregnant women
. If the seats are mostly occupied by students, or men, especially middle aged men, I think can forget about it. Some young working class men do give up their seats too, but not many. There are also people who "fight" for seats with pregnant women, and most of the times they are foreigners.

hello lyn

is there food delivery for confinement? I'm interested too leh... though MIL offered to help, but duno whether she will come everyday...

Hi matched_gal,
Yes, there are food delivery for confinement food
I have seen pamphlets before, but forgot from where already. I gotta search.. kekeke... but I do know they exist...

lyn,
wow, i didn't even noe got confinement food 'catering' these dayz... really convenient ah
okies, i'll try to find out too... in any case, if u find out, can let me noe the contact? Thank you!!

There are also home collection laundry services available. I received pamphlets before... kekeke...

So laundry and food settled, not much things to do already rite?

Food can get from Neo Garden. There are some others... let me "dig" them out first...

lyn,
my laundry/ironing/cleaning, i'm planning to get some help fr part-time helper leh... hvn't 'tried' them out tho... Tink my hubby may be too tired to help wif housework when bb arrives... hmmm, anyway, c how it goes...

okies, thanks in advance for 'digging' out the food delivery contact - do take ur time.

hi matched gal,
i have contact regarding confinement catering, i can fwd the email to you. what's your email address?

Hi Volf - dont worry, just hang in there and we are all rooting for you. Congrats on having a boy ! Your baby is a good size - all will be fine. Get lots of rest and think positive.

Btw did you do an amnio test ? One of my friends did the amnio and her fluid leaked after that and she was also ordered bedrest for 3 weeks. But she has since delivered a healthy baby boy !

misspiggy,
arh, paiseh... so sorry leh... duno how to "accept" PM leh...
[actually i also duno how to PM people ah...]

thanks for the website
btw, for the confinement food delivery is by "package"? Meaning, can't order per meal or per day?

joy - no i din do the amnio test. not so sure why it leaked. just pray for the best..tks all for yr concern... am praying that the membrane will seal itself and fluid level goes up..

hi volf20

Many prayers for you and ya bundle of joy!!!! What causes the leakage? Are you the "red walking ang bao lady" who collected the fish oil from me @ WDL mrt? Take good care of yaself meanwhile.

hi lyn

You are absolutely right. Even at 3.15pm, the time when I normally take train home, no one would ever bother to give seat to me even though I am e only one standing, obviously looking a preggie. Most of them are students, housewives and middle-aged. Hopefully we can teach our kids to be more considerate in future.

Hi Volf,

Take care and be strong. Will keep you in my prayers. Also, I believed your baby is growing up big and strong. Cos at wk 20, he's already 400+gm.. My boy was only 324 gm at wk 20. All the weight goes to me! =)

Hi kite~, you wanted 2 pillows? Can send me email again? Haha, I'm gng by the real name instead of nick, so kinda confused here. Dunno which is your name.. pai say.. also, let me know the casing colour for the second pillow? =)

Hi K Ong,

Confinement lady is important cos she can help you to cope for the first one mth where it's gonna be straining. My fren was glad that she got a confinement lady, cos at least got someone to help her, teach her on baby things, and cook nice food for her.

Otherwise, if you are keen in getting confinement food instead, here are some sites. I read from another forum that Natal Essentials is not bad. Food is nice.

Confinement Food Delivery*

Natal Essentials Tel: 6284 7688 Email: [email protected]
http://www.confinement.com.sg

New Baby Pte Ltd Tel: 6345 2229 Email: [email protected]
http://www.newbaby.com.sg

First Delight Catering Tel:6348 2528
http://www.firstdelight.com.sg

hey volf20

I have jus read articles on low amniotic fluid. Take care of ya diet and health meanwhile to prevent unnecessary infections.

volf,
congrats for having a prince. Hope you will get well soon. Your boy will be healthy...he's bigger than my boy..my boy is only 390g at wk21

matched_gal,
there are quite a few caterer that do confinement food...in fact, if you have TMC FBI card, there's also discount if u order from one of the caterer for confinement food

Hidora: thanks for your views and the websites! will have to consider ... my MIL will be coming down from KL to stay with my parents. (My mum and dad also offered to help with the baby) so i'm hoping it's ok ... since my mum wld be quite "experienced" as my sis has 2 kids already :p
Furthermore, my grandma also offered to stay over to help cook ... so i think the hse wld be full of ppl, dont really want another person ard ...

Volf: Poor girl ! Do take care and rest more.
Dont get so stressed abt it, at least your boy is growing well :) I think 40o plus is slightly over the average size of a baby at 20 weeks
Keep it up and get well soon !

okipoki,
yesterday i told hubby and my mum i think i want to go to Korea...and i could see their expressions change

Their concern: it is cold n slippery on the ski resorts. I've been to a mountain top at Mt Titlis before and it wasnt cold or slippery if u wear proper shoes. seems like track shoes are ok. in fact i kenna sun burnt!!! not sure if those in korea are. maybe you'd like to enlighten me on that.

volf,
take care and make sure u really rest hor. but i must say that you boy boy is quite big. mine was only 331g at 20 weeks.

k ong,
u got experienced mum & grandma to help u...envy envy....my mum also experience in doing confinement coz she helped do a few confinement for her friends' daughters...but she got her own business to take care, cannot do for me....

as long as someone experience is around to help out, no need to waste money to engage CL

tinklebell,
ya, the roads may be slippery if the snow hardened to ice, that is if there's snowing.....the last time I went there, most of the roads are just cement pavement without snow....only when I go to ski resort, then got a lot of snow everywhere....

but the worries of your hubby and mum is also valid lah...

Volf:
congrats on ur bb boy!
Dont worry i m sure at this stage, ur bb will be well n healthy. stil got a few more mths left, hang on n pray for u.

Hidora:
ok check ur email, just sent to u

okasan, thanks for your advice. i'll be going in mid to end march which is end of winter. the agency told me the temp hovers at around 10 to 15 deg. not sure if by then the ice would still be there or not leh
i didnt manage to contact my korean friend. i was hoping she would enlighten me on that too.

pregnant v troublesome hor ... so much considerations... maybe i will consider changmai or hong kong lor.