(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

peng,
drink less coke....maybe take a few slip to satisfy your cravings....think it's not that bad to baby lah...I only know coke is not good coz of caffine...

Kite:
Actually hor, other than plan the bb to be boy boy this time, I also plan it such that the confinement will gana the least number of public holidays. Coz last time my confinement included 5 days worth of public holidays (mid Nov to Jan)so was determined not to let it happen again! haha!

So this time we will all only gana National Day!!

kite,
u so funny...your preggy is accident?

starfish,
u mean by calculating ovulation, can predict baby gender? interesting....

starfish,
ya, when I was looking at the calendar, I also realise we have most benefits coz less holidays during our maternity leave...haha...

u really plan well this time...but hor, I prefer dec for confinement, not so hot..jun very hot!!

okasan:
Suppose to be if fertilisation takes place at the time you ovulate then chances of getting boy higher coz male sperm swims faster. sounds scientific enough, so we tried lah haha!

starfish:
u so funny. lol....ya very worth for us June mummies cos least holidays
cos usually july - sep boring mths...wow u count ur ovulation date n hit jackpot, usually ppl use the ovulation kit. next time i must count liao, must learn from you. cos tis pregnancy we blur blur, accident one.

Okasan:
lol yes my tis preggie is accident one! i stil remember that time hubby told me "aiya wont so lucky one, got bb then say." Scar-li i miss my period n got pregnant! Urs planned?

okasan:
yap! tatz what some ppl ard me say too. But I really felt very cheated the last round leh. Some more last time only 2 months confinement. So still decided on June anyway. Maybe I may regret. :p

Kite,

I have no advice from gynae regarding the jabs yet. Will let u know if he mention

Hi Okasan,

I think i gained 10 kg liao heeeee... i am now in my 28th week. Funny lah, i dun seem to eat as much as my colleague but how come i gain weight so fast too?
Let's see three weeks later, how much i will gain. Maybe CNY cookies really make us fat?? But i dun eat too much of that too!

Hi Peng,

Try to cut down on coke liao. Coke does a lot of harm on our bodies, so it might be true that coke weaken bb's bones. Now i dun have any gasy drinks at home so that i won't be tempted to drink them heee..

Kite:
Was told that it is between the 14th to 16th day, counting from the 1st day of our mense. But this method only works for ladies with regular and fixed mense cycle.

starfish:
mine is regular. Eh how u count the exact cycle? how abt urs, regular n cycle leh? jackpot at 14th day ah?

k Ong,

Hey, at least yours and hers are $50 &amp; $38 for 60 cap. Mine is $30 for 30 caps! Lol....ESH ah... really, I got nothing to say... >_<

To mummies who have emailed me, I'm gonna chk the mails now. Will update in the thread.

I am from the June 06 thread &amp; am consolidating the next bulk purchase for Neurogain Pb fish oil plus. For me, gynae recommends taking the capsules from 3rd month. It costs about $31 (30 capsules) to buy from the gynaes and pharmacies.
I have contacts to get at $26.50 each for a minimum of 5 bottles.

Pls kindly email [email protected] by 15/2/06. Thank you

Anyway, for those who are clueless abt Neurogain PB plus fish oil, these are the info.

Product Details
DHA &amp; AA: EFA`s with a structural &amp; functional outcome.

Everybody needs DHA &amp; AA. DHA &amp; AA are particularly important early in life to meet structural requirements for brain &amp; eye development, growth and immune functions. DHA &amp; AA enter into the composition of biomembranes and play an important role in the proper functioning of the membranes and receptor-neurotransmitter functions.

Our ability to synthesize DHA &amp; AA from precursors ALA &amp; LA is limited. We rely more on dietary sources of DHA &amp; AA rather than conversion from precursors. It means, the less we get DHA &amp; AA from our diet, the less we have in our body. At times of high requirements, like during pregnancy &amp; lactation, such a dietary intake should not be neglected in order to minimize the risk of deprivation. DHA &amp; AA can be found in fish &amp; eggs.

A healthy &amp; balanced diet is particularly important during pregnancy &amp; lactation to minimize the risk of fetal dietary deprivation. Conditions like closely spaced pregnancies, multiple pregnancies, unhealthy maternal diet, lifestyle should require extra attention.

?Maternal DHA consumption during pregnancy and lactation continues to be studied intensively as a means to improve pregnancy outcomes as well as to optimize perinatal brain and retinal development.?

What is NeuroGain PB PLUS
NeuroGain PB PLUS is a special formulation of conditionally Essential Fatty Acids for Pregnant &amp; Breast-feeding women. NeuroGain PB PLUS is rich in DHA, low in EPA with AA &amp; OA to help Pregnant &amp; Breast-feeding women meet important pre &amp; peri natal nutritional requirements. NeuroGain PB PLUS provides a balanced intake of omega 3 Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA), omega 6 Arachidonic Acid (AA) and omega 9 Oleic Acid (OA) fatty acids.

Who needs NeuroGain PB PLUS

Pregnent &amp; breast-feeding

History of low birth weight, pre-term births

Frequent, multiple pregnancies

Allergy to fish &amp; eggs

Poor, unbalanced maternal diet

What is the ratio of DHA : EPA in NeuroGain PLUS ?
The NeuroGain PLUS "DHA oil" is specially concentrated in DHA and diluted in EPA to mimic natural levels of DHA &amp; EPA in the human milk in line with WHO recommendations for DHA supplementation at an early stage of life.

Early in life, high EPA levels may lead to: increased blood loss at the time of delivery , depressed AA status and affected growth.

Ingredient
DHA-rich edible fish oil, AA, OA, EPA and Vitamin E as antioxidant in a soft bovine gelatin capsule (gelatin, glycerine, water)

The DHA: EPA ratio in this formulation is higher than 10:1.

Direction

Dosage : Take 1 capsule daily with meals or as directed by your physician.

kite,
my pregnancy is not accident, but neither do we really plan like what starfish did...we just let nature takes it's own course loh....got baby, then prepare for baby, no baby, then continue to enjoy couple life loh...haha...

starfish,
you really hit jackpot...coz the way you count ovulation hor is not accurate leh....some ladies have regular menses but ovulate more than 14 days later....thought u use the ovulation kit or take the temperature one...u really lucky!!!

okasan,
yuppies....might consider resorts..am actually thinking of Langkawi also..heard that its a nice place there

hehe, i like korea too but dont really like the food there....:p

tinklebell,
now even if direct flight to paris, needs 15hrs? Cannot imagine last time having to transit...sure faint...haha....if i have the time n $ and freedom i wanna go tour europe for 1 whole mth and visit all the places...hehe...but its almost impossible unless i retire liowz *rofl*
Korea is nice! I went there for skiing before in yr 2002 (the winter sonata craze :p) went for 7 days trip n stayed 2 nites at skii resort. But now Korea is not as cold as in Dec/Jan, so it might be a gd idea for u to bring ur boi along too
...but i didnt go Jeju island that time...heard that its nice
...and i dont think its recommended to go korea f&amp;e cos of language barrier ;)

kite,
me depends on mood...if wanna shopping one, then i will choose those city areas...if wanna relax n have fun, i will choose mixture lor...in fact i so siao that i went Gold Coast 3 times b4...haha..bo liowz rite? :p

celeste,
langkawi not bad..me also wanna go but keep putting the trip off...I been to redang...beautiful place! but hor, the bus journey very tiring, think preggy women cannot take bus, muz take plane, make life easier

been to jeju during my korean trip...beautiful..agree with u, f&amp;e not advisable at korea coz language barrier...even the resturant menu also in korea...and most korean speak little english...but some of them can understand and speak in mandarin loh....

Hi Good Morning!!

Celeste, probably we will try Korea. I saw some itenaries for mid March, still skiing. I guess if i ever go there, i'll prob just sit there and play snow with my boy boy. He loves snow. We brought him to snow city and he kept asking us to bring him back there again. I saw in classified ads this morning, cost only $499 wh is cheaper than going to HK. Prob Korea is not a bad idea. The $499 itenery is not so packed so it's kind of good for us also. So now, it's either HK or Korea. I hope to go Korea instead bec i have been to HK a few times already. My mother says Jeju is quite boring leh but i also heard opposite comments fr pp who have gone there. U still going Taiwan? aiya, last chance to travel before u pop... go as far as u can... next time prob no chance until your kids are much older and u have to pay for 3 or 4 persons.

sigh.. i also want to go to travel.. but my stupid hb dun allow me to go..

Tinkerbell, i also that $499 package.. very cheap.. yes korea is very nice, but food abit suck.. so abit of prob for preggy moms.. language wise, okasan is right.. some of them noe chinese and even cantonese.. i am trying hard to persuade my hb to go..

celeste, yes, if want to europe, must go for a mth.. the last time i did it, it's really very shiok.. i toured europe last yr.. this yr, my target is to tour US for a mth.. but stupid me, got preggy b4 i could do it.. sigh.. now i have been banned from travelling.. xian ah..

good morning ladies,
have anyone of you bought breastpump? i have this supplier contact for Ameda breastpump... any heard of this brand?

peng, so your hubby bar u from travelling? ***sob sob**** hee...after going to europe, i don't think i can tahan those long hual flights anymore
too tiring... so going to US never crossed my mind. Ur $800 voucher was fr which agency? go somewhere near lor...then not so tiring. Talking abt Korea makes me "xing yang yang" already... later i think i will call the agency to ask. Yap the food in Korea sucks....i heard it's steamboat, BBQ and kim chi most of the time... hmmmm... may be a prob for my boy boy. I think i will pack some maggie mee to eat if i ever go.

Hidora: but yours is taken once a day right ? maybe diff dosage ?

Anyhows, will source ard to see if can get cheaper and let u know

tinkerbell.. my agency is JAC.. but cos of my condition, they r very nice. they allow me to book from any travel agency as long as i like it.. so if u want, u can use my voucher to book from any agency.. the thing is that i will get my agent to help u to book for the tour from ur agency of ur choice..

yes food is a trouble there.. dun eat kim chi i guess cos it's preserved food. not good fo rus.

ya, now is a good time to travel coz we are in our 2nd tri, no MS and not too heavy yet...

after delivery, dun know when can go overseas liao....

okasan:
redang beautiful hor. after watching the Xia Ri Mo Mo cha by sammi, i immediately wanted to go there. Went there snorkelling that time w hubby, so shiok but long bus journey + ferry ride, sianz...last time stil young stil can afford energy to go snorkel. nowadays seldom go resort snorkel liao...
369757.gif

mummies:
since i know that my bb is a girl, i wish to have a fair skin princess. Hehe that time at TMC, i saw a newborn bb girl, wow very white n fair like snowwhite, so pretty.....besides taking bird nest or milk, what other stuffs can make bb skin fairer?

kite,
dun think there's any scientific proven food that make baby skin fairer lah...beside, it's in the genes....

my friend drink a lot of soya bean when preggy, her son also tan one....another of my friend srink coffee coz of craving, her baby is fair fair....so where's the logic?? haha.....

ya, rendang nice but tiring journey there...that's why if ever I'm going there agin, I'll take plane instead....

okasan,
but is langkawi affected by the tsunami? Not so sure bout it....

and yeah, i think preggie sure cannot tahanz long bus rides...juz asked my colleague who went taiwan...she said if go taiwan unless its taipei only...if hualian, hsinchu etc long bus rides

so i guess taiwan is out for me *cry*
Left Langkawi only? *sigh*

tinklebell,
if u boy likes snow...can go there and play snow with ur boi...make those snowman...sure fun one

As for Jeju i think maybe its boring but heard its got nice scenery...:D

peng,
so enviess!! u got to go Europe for 1 mth....so nice....me that time honeymoon actually wish to go Europe but dont have that much leave as i juz changed job...ended up going to Aussie for 10 days only
so sad...

ur hb barr u from travelling to US...then choose nearby places?

mspiggy,
havent bought pump yet...tink that will be somewhere in march b4 i get one

Have any of you enquired or been to antenatal classes by parentlink or 4 trimesters? Any comments on these please?
Thx

fondue,
me having the class at TMC...din check with parentlink or 4 trimesters coz prefer to have it at hospital....esp since we can also get to know the hospital (facilities, policies) better during the classes

okasan, May:
ya just now ask my colleague, say fairer bb usually depends on genes. hmm i seldom drink soya bean milk, but no harm trying. I really wish my bb wil be fair. Hubby is very tanned me average fair only, not say very...

Peng:
wow so nice to go Europe for 1 mth, shiok manz. must be a beautiful place. Tat time honeymoon also intend go but wrong season as i got married in dec 04 which is winter. so end up went NZ for 2 weeks honeymoon
369792.gif

okasan,
arh, can't take strepsils? how abt ordinary mints? And sweets (eg Halls Vit C)? Jialat, i've been popping them in my mouth to keep me awake @ work leh...

hidora,

you've got
369798.gif
. Just sent you my order for the beansprout pillow. As for the wordings, can i let u know later? Btw, how many orders so far?

okasan,
really ah....*sigh*...where can i go? *cry*
as for lozenges think i better go GP or gynae to take...better to be safe bah...

gers,

really ar, cant take those mints sweet ar. I have been eating "Vicks Vapodrops" whenever I cough.

Me too intend to go for a short trip maybe to BKK but my mum dont encourage leh. My honeymoon I went to US, I strongly dont encourage preggy mum to take such a long haul flight tho' transit is available. Very tiring one !! Korea is a nice place, was there 6 years ago.. Jeju very nice !!

Gers,

Valentines' Day is around the corner. How do u celebrate and did u get anything for your hubby ??
Hee... care to share share ??

matched_gal, okipoki,
dun take sweets that are for diabetic...it contain artificial sugar that's not good for baby...as for what sweet can eat or cannot eat, I really cannot tell...must read the ingredient then compare the list loh...u all got any pregnancy books? these books should have a section that list out the chemicals that we should avoid loh....

okipoki,
BKK also very crowded lehz...and also make sure u eat at those better restaurants if u go...cos the food hygiene standard like not very gd there...

okipoki,
So far nothing suggested by hb....so sad....last yr Valentine's Day u noe where he brought me? To hawker centre to makan...haha...cos that is the place with the least ppl during Valentine's Day....no flowers also (becos i told him flowers on VDay so exp not worth it also)...haha

Kite &amp; okasan:
Think I jackpot on the 15th day. The way I calculate not correct huh? I'm really lucky then! I have been monitoring for a few months before we tried. A colleague told me when we ovulate, the discharge we produce will increase and be clear. So, I combine both pieces of info and figured that mine is around that time lor. I'm on a fixed 30-day cycle

Celeste Blur:
My hubby also just make sure we have dinner together. Hawker Centre is the usual place coz of the same reason. Maybe eat zhu2 chao3 lor. My hubby dun believe in flowers somemore. He has never bought me a single stalk of flower since day 1.....