(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

K Ong & Kite - congrats on your baby girls ! Cant wait for mine tomorrow - my gut tells me it's a boy. Btw did anyone have to do a test for gestational diabetes - is it a compulsory test ? I'm thinking of giving it a miss even though my gynae asked me to do but i think he's just being cautious since i have no diabetes.

volf, josephine, i_panda:
eh too bad my slot is on 18 Mar but at 7pm, not 430pm one. Cant see u all 3. too bad.

k_ong,
btw how long was ur detailed scan? i find mine too short, abt slighly more than 1/2 an hour only.

joy:
enjoy ur detailed scan

Congrats kite and k ong, bb girl... can dress her up... how fun!

Weight gain: my total weight gain is 6 kg in week 23. Hmm... will we gain more during the final trimester? Scary... hope i will not gain more than 10 kg in total.

Robinson sale: any idea when Robinson will have their storewide 20%?

kite,
more or less already confirmed loh cos thats the only name hubby likes.
I will only be going for my detailed scan this coming friday.. so excited !!

Joy, in my view, the gestational diabetes test is quite important. It is not related to the normal diabetes. Gestational diabetes is developed in pregnancy only. Did you ask your gynae why he/she recommended you the test?

Even though I do not have diabetes, I will be doing the test on my next gynae visit, as my baby is bigger than average.

369337.gif
me thinking of getting this, hopefully the taka bb fair or the expo fair will have... anyone know how much is it selling outside?

Re: AVENT Express 6 Bottle Electric Steam Steriliser

The safe, fast, easy way to sterilise breast and bottle feeding equipment

The AVENT Express uses the hospital method to sterilise your baby feeding items in approximately 8 minutes.

Just add 90ml of water and switch on. The intensive heat of the steam rapidly kills all the harmful bacteria that can cause tummy upsets in your precious newborn. And there's no on-going cost for sterilising solution, and no nasty after-taste or smell.

The AVENT Express has been specially designed to hold our award winning ISIS breast pump and anti-colic bottles. Their unique teats allow you to combine breast and bottle feeding with ease, whether you use bottles for expressed breast milk or formula.
FAST - sterilises in approximately 8 minutes
LARGE - takes 6 AVENT bottles
INNER RACK - transforms into dishwasher basket for small items

369338.jpg

Kite : haahaa, she was sleeping facing down sommore ... so difficult to see ! And one hand was like covering her ear. not guai at all ! kicks only at 5pm and 11pm at night ... In fact Gynae said i sld feel the kicks stronger when bb grows bigger, cuz apparently now my placenta is just under my tummy/skin, so there's a 5cm between baby and me ...

My next appoint is on 10th March, will be 25 weeks by then !
Am actually travelling to Shanghai next week ! So excited, but will def have to curb my eating ... haahaa, was planning to feast BIG time there ...
Oh well ...

mine was less than 1/2 hr !!! I got in at 330 and was out by 4pm ... But got 3 pics of the bby, and all the measurements printed out on a sheet of paper.

I think Chloe is such a pretty name !

Volf: Perhaps that is why u cant feel it yet, cuz there's an extra cushion of the tummy as well as the placenta (depending on it's position at this point in time) :)

besides suntec, where is spring located? i like a particular dress, but dun have my size in suntec.. not sure where else have it.. tks alot

i_panda: i bought the Avent IQ Express, paid about $180, but i had a 20% discount from metro. maybe you can wait for taka fair, as taka carries Avent as well. if the price is not good, you can wait for 20% metro or robinson sale.

I'm going for my detailed scan this thurs... getting excited now! :D

what shd we expect from the detailed scan? gynae will check the heart/fingers/toes etc????

K Ong: i felt baby kicking for the first time in week 16. butterfly kicks. in week 20, quite regular, but now in week 23, his kicks are getting stronger... my hubby can hear his movements and kicks...
how amazing!

My next appt is 17th Feb, 25 weeks.
looking forward to seeing baby again...

peng: check out this website: http://www.springmaternity.com/v8/home.asp

if you have DBS ladies card, you get 10% off. also with spring card.

K Ong - ya, maybe that's why I cant feel bb leh. Haiz. Hey, heard bb stuff in Shanghai are cheap. So u can go load up on bb stuff...
Food there is cheap and gd too. Enjoy man....

I_panda - I bot the Avent IQ Express too. U shd wait for the Taka sale .. I got it for $143 at Taka during the Taka DBS Blackcard sale end last yr... they will carry it again at the BB fair in 1st wk mar. Also get foc advent bots, trainer cup etc...

Hi all..

Have not been login in for quite a while.. hope everyone is doing fine here..

For me my MS came back.. am 21 weeks plus now.. but still vomit every evening... its real disaster... have gained only 3.5kg.. but bb is quite active though..

Went for detailed scan last week and doctor asked me to monitor the number of kicks .. must at least have 10kicks within 12hrs..

Did all your gynae asked you all to monitor that too?

Hidora,
I have email you my EDD and address and contact number too.. please check to see if you have receive it.. thanks for cordinating though..

Angeline,
how is everything with you? hehe.. me still hoping to bump into you one day at our void deck.. hahaha...

okipoki:
my hubby also like this name but i was the one who want to look around first then confirm. hehe.

k_ong:
wow enjoy ur shanghai trip next wk. my next appt wil be 6 Mar. hehe me too i got 4 pics of bb including close up face, whole profile, the girl gential n her feet.

Hey Kite - can you then tell if your bb looks like u or hubby? Heard fr frens that if you do a 3D scan of bb, and put his / her live pic next to each other, you can see immediately that they are similar.

mspiggy, trust you will enjoy your scan. gynae will be checking baby brain, heart chambers, kidneys, lungs, count fingers, toes, etc. very fun... the whole scan will take about 30 mins +/-, depending on baby's cooperation. my baby very active, hence we took a longer time.

Spring Receipt - anybody interested in spring receipt? i have $110 worth, purchased made on 4th Feb.

hello ladies,

To those who have emailed me, I got no time to check! Still rushing my assignment.. boo hoo...

Will get back to you when I'm free at nite. =)

hi volf:
from the normal scan, i cant see look like my hubby or me. gynac only comment my bb's nose look like mine high high one but i dun find my nose that high. lol. hmm i dun think my gynac got 3D scan but i didnt ask her too. maybe next appt shall ask her.
Oh ya gynac also conclude that my bb is in medium size group which is good. if too big, scare need c-sect cos me petite size. i wish my bb like my hubby tall tall, dun like me cos me not tall. hehe...cos medium size shld be fine.

morning gals

josephine_tan,
if u want to apply for FBI and pay for antenatal class on the same day u wont be eligible for the discount. Thats what i wanna do when i went for my detailed scan. I went to apply for my FBI and although my detailed scan is eligible for the discount....but when i went to pay for antenatal class....the system did not reflect any discount...so the lady i tink she was Mrs Wong...told me to send in a cheque 2 weeks later cos actual membership will only take place like 2 weeks later
then i will be eligible for the discount ;)

josephine:
oh ya if u hvnt gone through ur detailed scan, u can use the FBI card to enjoy 10% discount as well. too bad i applied after the detailed scan.

i_panda77,
u can consider getting the Avent IQ Express at Robinsons....i got mine at $159 and if got ocbc robinson's card got another 5% discount and it comes with 3 packs of 80's Avent wet wipes free ;)

tinklebell: i paid $688 for airticket, and going to get hotel on my own. Will just go walk walk ard on our own, sld be fine :)

Amy: wow ! can hear ?! So amazing ! I wish, i cld differentiate which are kicks and which are "gas" produced ... heeheee, cuz am farting quite a bit now ... *sheepish grin*

Gynae said it wld feel like bubbles, but i think it's more of a "thump"...

Volf: Hehee, yar, hope can get some good and nice stuff for baby, now that i know it's a girl !

Celest: Poor thing, do take care ! At least u are putting on some weight.
No, Gynae didn't say anything abt counting the kicks, but i know it's recommendated for late in pregnancy when u are supposed to monitor bb's movements.

I'd like to offer to compile the pricing of the cots/bottles/milks, maybe will do it later this week, cuz quite busy at work these few days :)

aiyo my detailed scan this thur, have not applied for FBI card yet. Better call TMC today...

what can we ask during the detailed scan?

i'm thinking of renting the Avent new electric pump, have not called them for rates yet.

why all of you getting stem cord? very long term investment le...

josephine:
this thur, before ur detailed scan, u can go n apply the FBI card. After that, they will give u a temp letter n the receipt as a proof. Then u can double confirm whether can the letter/receipt be used to deduct for ur detailed scan.

since i got the FBI card now, i think i wil put my bb's cordblood w Cordlife cos can enjoy benefits. As for whichever bed u want stay in, can further enjoy discount too.
369421.gif

Josephine, for me, i opt for the cord blood thing just to be on the safe side bec our families have history of cancer. stem cell transplant can be used for some forms of cancers.... it's like insurance.

hihi celeste,

i am fine..jus bored at home as i am now on no-pay leave..my tummy quite big so v easy for u to recognise me.heheh

My bb seems to be very active. Even just now after lunch, she keeps kicking me. Plus now i m 19wks. Hmm wondering if bb very active inside tummy, will she be the same active after born? hehe me curious....i think she is active like my hubby cos me not active one.
369436.gif

tinklebell:
me too hubby strongly opt for cord blood thing for future use if anything happens in e future. touch wood. me support him.

amy & volf20
369498.gif
, is this the one u all bought? Is it better than the AVENT Express 6 Bottle Electric Steam Steriliser? Actually my mother told me not to buy cos she said she is not going to use & got no place to put it (she used the hot water to rinse the bottles, that's all)..But me thinking of getting one leh...save time & trouble for her..

369499.jpg

Avent iQ24 Electronic Steam Steriliser
The Avent iQ24 Steriliser takes steam sterilisation to a new level

The AVENT iQ24 Steriliser works in rapid time and keeps the contents sterile for longer, giving you more time to get on with your day.

Simply load, add water, press the button and let the Avent iQ24 Steriliser do the rest!

Mode 1 keeps contents sterile up to 6 hours if unopened
Mode 2 keeps contents sterile up to 24 hours
Sterilises up to 6 bottles in 6 minutes
Special rack for the ISIS Breast Pump
Easy to use, electronic display and audible signal

i Panda - yes this is the one I bot. I prefer using a steam steriliser vs boiling bots... v leh che, and you nd to take note that your bots (plastic or glass) and teats dun melt. Latex teats will melt. ALso, you wld nd to buy sterilising tablets if boiling.

Actually the elec steam steriliser is exactly the same at the IQ one except that the later has s digital reader that sounds if your water level is too low and when sterilisation of the bots is complete after 6mins..

amy
369502.gif

i also have spring receipt worth $175.76, purchase made on 17/12/05. Still valid (expire on 17/2/06). Anybody wants?

Celeste blur,

i applied the FBI card & pay for my antenatal class on the same day leh. Firstly, i went to apply for FBI then they give me a letter or receipt (i can't remember) & said tt i can show this letter for disc. My detail scan is not eligible for disc as my gynae not in the list. When i went to pay for antenatal class, i didn't even show the lady the letter. she just asked me whether i got join FBI or not, then i said yes. She straight away give me disc (or maybe she saw me carrying the FBI goodie bag)...

i_panda: yes, the IQ is the digital reader, will tell you if water level too high/low, and will indicate time left that bottles are kept sterilised. If the price diff is not much (abt $20, might be more during sale), maybe getting the IQ one is more handy.

i_panda: re the Spring receipt, for us June MTB, we will not need this if we have the DBS Ladies card, cos the 10% promotion will be till July. We won't need maternity clothes after that!

Thinking of going for a short getaway in late March, before baby comes out, maybe no time for hubby and i.

Am considering Bintan, cos will be more relaxing than Bangkok or HKG. Any suggestions?

Amy:
I went Phuket in Sept. I quite like it as it was a very relaxing short trip. Can see many new hotels being rebuilt after the Tsunami but shopping area is like not affected at all. You can consider.

i_panda,
Hmmzz...how come the lady doing urs so gd. I also applied for the FBI on the same day and went to pay for antenatal class...but the lady Mrs Wong (i think she is the lecturer for the class too).....keyed in my details to the computer and said inside never reflect any discount so told me to send in the cheque with the discounted price 2 weeks later instead

Amy,
I am thinking of going Taiwan for 5 days but wonder if there will be lotsa walking arnd involved...

Celeste: ya.. me too, worried about excessive walking, and lack of water and toilet facilities. I was in Taiwan 2 years ago, lots of walking, and the night market is really packed. Same with Bangkok, might not be suitable for us preggy mummies. Phuket or a similar type of getaway might be a better option hor?

Amy,
hmmzz..really ah...then i guess prob can't go Taiwan liowz

Same as BKK and HKG...sure a lot of ppl and walking one...*sigh*
Phuket is a nice place, but i juz went there last year July thats y i dont think i will wanna go back there again so soon...kind of boring

Actually i thought of Langkawi also...so might stick to that

Hidora: one of the May mummies posted this :

Prolecta with DHA for mothers???$50??? Wow...i have been complaining to my frends that i have been paying $38 per month for the Prolecta(60softgels-taken twice a day).wow tot i am paying for a premium product so tot of changing to Neurogain which is cheaper about $30 per box.
I oso got it from my gynae.Thomson Medical.

Hers is also 60 softgels ...
so much cheaper than mine !!!! *whine*

Celeste, now is a nice time to go to taiwan. i went there in may last year- was v hot. A lot of walking to do bec if u are just going to Taipei, it's basically shopping shopping and more shopping.

Will u be going to other parts of taiwan? the middle part, hualien is nice but dangerous.

Celeste/Amy: I think Taiwan sld be pretty ok right ?? As long as u take the necessary precatuions, ie, dont drink tap water, wash hands before eating ... etc ...

Yah, i agree HKG and BKK may be too crowded ...
But again, depends on you la, if you think u can tahan the crowds and not be affected, i think walking is quite good for us too ...

tinklebell,
If i wanna go Hualian means have to go for 7 days...cos i check those tour package itinerary if 5 days only within Taipei itself....but donno if both me and hb can squeeze out a 7 days trip anot

And ya, i checked that the weather now quite gd, arnd air-con temperature thats y quite tempted to go...hehe :p

K_Ong,
I thinking of joining tour package, like that prob dont have to walk too much? I know if go F&E sure end up walking a lot one...haha
And walking is gd for us, but not too much walking as in walk whole day w/o resting is no gd.