(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hidora, what's the bean sprout pillow for? I saw it in a shop at Suntec Kids Mall. The babysafe mattress cost $169, i think. my sis in law said it's good, prevent SID. she had one custom made, direct from the distributor.

matched_gal,
actually no hand-me-downs u get to shop for bb clothings more lehz...hehe :p

okipoki,
looks like a lot of us waiting for the taka bb fair...its supposed to be on 1st week of march rite?

starfish,
If she still not stable i think better dont ask also...wait till she's better

Amy,
I am washing them first becos i wanna soak some of the clothes and also check how many pieces of clothings can be used so that when i start buying the clothes n stuffs i wont buy extras lor

tinklebell,
hehe...if everything goes well, i will wanna plan my 2nd one 2 yrs down the road

volf20,
u bought the Graco stroller at Robinsons one? But the infant car seat can only sit until the bb is 9mths old
Thats y i did not consider....cos was looking arnd at car seats now
Intending to get one that can last up till 13kg (which is prob around 3-4 yrs old?)

hidora,
I am washing the bb clothes using Dynamo now first...cos wanna make sure its clean clean...haha....then nearer to delivery date i will do one simple wash again using those bb clothes detergent ;)

Hi trinklebell,

I saw contacts for the beansprout pillow from another forum... cost $7 and the lady will sew your baby name on top too. =) But I'm not too sure if the measurment is too short as I seem some mummies commenting that length of 30cm is not enough. Do you think 30cm is too small?

Hi Amy,

Beansprout pillows I heard is to put over babies so they wun get scared easily.

I just called up Babysafe.. If we can get 5 of each item, we will be entitled to a 20% (max) discount.

I'm keen in having the pillow for newborn to 6 mths as it prevents flat head. It cost $15 now without discount. And as I'm not getting a cot, I'll be getting the playpen mattress instead. it cost $89 for the 26" X 38" X 1" ( 66cm x 96cm x 2.5cm) measurment. And $99 28" X 41" X 1" ( 70cm x 104cm x 2.5cm) measurment.

Do check out the website. www.babysafe.com.sg

Their number is 6356 1258

volf20,
I saw the BabySafe mattress at Robinsons....think it is selling for donno $149 or $159
but i think kinda exp *faint*

hidora,
Actually I read before that newborns dont require pillows lehz....juz fold the cloth nappy into those rectangular shaped like pillow and put below the newborns head can liowz

hidora,
wow, u're a young mother (as compared to me, hehe ;)

eh, better go c dentist leh. I went to c my dentist during end of first trimester cos heard fr one of my galfrens she say her 3rd trimester alot of 'teeth(ing)' problems eg. tooth decay, gumbleed, etc. Sorry, i dun mean to scare u. But I occasionally got gumbleed and i brush twice a day now...

Hi Celeste,

The babysafe pillow is different wor.. Not sure whether it works lah. You know how people say putting babies in sarong will give them a nice round head? Where as sleeping on flat surface will give them a flat head. This pillow is actually curved in so that when bb sleeps on it, the head will not be flat.

Hi matched-gal,

I know I know! I already got decays and went to see the dentist over it. Then the dentist said I better hope my wisdom tooth wun give me any problems during my pregnancy. >_<

re babysafe mattress:
anyone noes wat's the difference betw this mattress vs the ordinary ones?? This one come in wat size? Tot if buy bedcot usually have 'packaged' deal together wif mattress &amp; pillows, no ah? ;p

Hi matched_gal,

Dunno leh, haha, but I was searching through the forum and everyone say it's good. Ahahah... kiasu mummy, want the best for bb. ;p

Let me go call them up again and get a price list for items that we will be interested in.

Hidora, babysafe is also the sole distributor for mustella. any mummies interested in mustella products? maybe we can also get a discount from them along side our mattresses purchase?

hidora,
oh i c... hmmm, then better take gd care of teeth liaoz... I also quite worried abt my teeth. Got two wisdom tooth extracted - now left two ah... and got some milk teeth left too, haha ;p

Hidora, my mattress for standard cot - 28" X 52" X 3" (70cm X 133cm X 7.5cm) cost $169. I am also interested in some mustella baby products.
Maybe you can ask them for good discounts?

hidora,
I saw the babysafe newborn pillow at robinsons that time....hmmzz, maybe they really got a special design that will ensure that bb's head is round and nice? Hehe, anyone current moms already got proven results? :D Hehe, if really gd i might consider getting it also ;)

matched_gal,
I also kiasu...already fixed appt with dentist on sunday before CNY ;) Will go dentist this coming sunday...hopefully teeth is in gd condition...haha

hidora/celeste,
yah, if babysafe mattress/pillow good, then me also will consider getting ah...

celeste,
hehe, me oreadi go and c dentist when i wk 15... ;p Dat time quite uncomfy for me ah, cos i got some MS, so during the scaling/washing for my teeth - haiyah, my episode not worth mentioning here, haha...

Ok here's the price list for some of the items that I find may be useful to us.

1) Newborn Pillow for 0 6 mths
Specially molded to prevent flat head syndrome
$15

2) Infant Sleep Positioner for 0 - 6 months
For positioning baby safely while sleeping
$32.90

3) Baby cot mattress
28" X 52" X 3" (70cm X 133cm X 7.5cm) ($169)
28" X 48" X 3" (70cm X 122cm X 7.5cm) ($159)
24" X 48" X 3" (60cm X 122cm X 7.5cm) ($149)

4) Playpen mattress
26" X 38" X 1" ( 66cm x 96cm x 2.5cm) ($89)
28" X 41" X 1" ( 70cm x 104cm x 2.5cm) ($99)

5) Car/Booster Seat Cushion
Fits most of the car/booster seat, stroller or pram. Provides extra support, comfort and hygiene for the child's bottom.
$29.90

6) Diaper Bag Collection
Stylish Backpack, Bottle Bag &amp; Diapering Accessories Kit.
$39.90

7) Plush Stroller Seat Cushion
Generously padded for ultimate comfort in stroller or pram. The 'wings' provide the much needed support when child doses off.
$29.90

We will have to get five of each items (meaning same measurments) before we can be entitled to 20% discount. And 20% is the max they will give.

The lady actually suggested that it's easier for us to get their items during Robinson sales. kiddy Palace only gives 10% discount. We see how the order goes. =)
For one thing, I'm staying et the end of Pasir Ris. So if the goods are delivered to my hse, all of you would have to come collect from me here.. Hehe, after which you can go Downtown East thou.

Hi hidora,

You compared prices and found ESH is more expensive compared to Mt E ah??

so how you find Dr Heng so far?

Matt

Hi Matt,

Pai say, it's GlenE not Mt E.. Hehe.. erm, slightly more expensive I would say. Then for the ward charges too. But I'm not sure of what's hidden, what's not.

Oh ya, there's a nursery charge for babies of about $300 for normal delivery, and $370 for caesarian, regardless of the ward we chose.

I like Dr Heng a lot! Friendly and approachable. But not sure how she will be like during delivery, thou I have seen really good comments about her in the forum. How about you and your wife? Pleased with Dr Heng?

Hidora, seems like there is a low chance that we will get 5 items of each in our June MTB thread. what about opening a thread in Marketplace?

re: beansprout pillow

Yes, I think 30cm is indeed too short. Have to be around 45cm at least in my opinion.

The beansprout pillow is for us to put on baby's stomach so that the beansprout (actually is the balck colour shell) can be spreaded on 2 sides of baby and give some 'weight' so that when baby is frightened, he/she will feel safer with some weight on top of him/her. Also, it is also safer later on when baby can turn coz baby can still breathe if pillow accidently cover the face.

Actually $7 is quite cheap leh. My aunt asked from the stallholder selling beansprout in market. Then she had to bring the big bag home to sun till very dry. Then I remembered my aunt and parents sat on the floor for hours to pick out the roots and the dried beansprout (coz only need the shell). A lot of hard work to make yourself one. So I also tell my daughter her beansprout pillow is 'ai xin' pillow! haha!

Hi Amy,

Can I dun be the coordinator? Haha.. esp by posting it in the marketplace. I do not know the rest of the forum members well, so it could be quite troublesome if we go into some money dispute. =p

Hi Starfish,

Ya, that's why I'm not sure to get it or not.. But $7 is actually not bad, considering that the lady sew our babies name onto the pillow. Maybe I should ask her whether can she do a longer pillow. Her width is about 12cm, is that too small either? I know if we make ourselves, the price is less than 50cents. But it's really alot of work. >_<

Hidora, no worries. let's wait to see when the next Robinson sale is. hopefully we can catch the 20% prior to our EDD. else, i don't mind coordinating this in the Marketplace. we'll play by ear.

Oh oh, I just called up the lady who do the beansprout pillow.

She has a bigger measurment pillow which goes by 45cm x 15 cm. And she's charging it at $12 per piece, plus embroidary, plus postage included. Extra casing for the pillow is at $5. We can choose two colours for the casing. Example blue and green, etc.

She said that if we can have a bigger order like more than 20 orders, she will give us discount like maybe $10 per pillow. Haha, this one I can coordinate cos all she needs is our home addresses, and she will send it to us. So no meeting up point, whatsoever. The money will be transfer to her bank a/c directly.

I have seen good comments about the pillows she made. But not very nice for me to post that thread here. If anyone wants to read that thread, let me know, and I will pm you the URL. =)

Hi Hidora - thanks for checking the px for Babysafe. Saw the Newborn Pillow for 0 6 mths at Robinsons. You mean the lady will give only 20% off? Isnt that the same px if you buy at Robinson sale then? Can they do better? Am interested.

hi hidora
i'm interested in the bean sprout pillow! could you pls pls be our co-od?

June mummies! let's meet up for tea then go taka sale together in Mar?

ya after comparing prices, bb hypermart/kingdom all year discount cannot compare to robinson member sale (20% + 5%). But bb hypermart/kingdom more range i think.

Hidora - think the lady who does the beansprout pillow (Celyn) charges the Apr or Mar thread $8 with embroidery leh... the co-ordinator for that thread told me... but when I posted long time ago on this thread, no one responded

Hidora,

Am interested in the playpen mattress but need to measure the mattress size. Will let u know

Also on the beanspout pillow... Can PM me ?

Joesephine, is robinson member sale really (20% + 5%)? please keep us posted when the sale is on...

hi hidora, i'm also interested in the bean sprout pillow purchase. i think the lady is fr bayb supplies forum. i have seen that thread too... only thing is i dont have a name for my bb yet.

Hi volf,

Yup yup, it's celyn. I guess the one that cost less is the smaller pillow? She has two pillows. One is the 30cm x 12 cm, the other is the 45cm x 15 cm. The one I'm getting is the 45cm one as 30cm is too short, like what starfish said. Unless hor, she's selling the 45cm one for $8... >_<

And yes, what you and Josephine said is true. If we have robinson card, it's actually cheaper to get it there. And no leh, she said 20% is the max. Very niao..

I have posted a thread in marketplace. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/368796.html?1139210993

Pls have a look there. =)

Hi Josephine,
then will be a big group of preggies shopping together... this is going to be fun! hehehehe

Hi hi

Why dun we start a list here to help Hidora ...just add your name, email add, and the no. of pillows you want to order. Also the color of the casing &amp; name of bb to be embroidered. If not decided, just start tbc.

Beansprout Pillow

1) Mspiggy
2) Tinklebell
3) Okipoki
4) Josephine Tan

hihi all

Thanks for the well wishes. We're indeed very blessed.

Just spent like $1K buying a cot, mattress, bedsheets for two cots, bab monitor, 2 mobiles and a bottle warmer - electric from BB Hypermart. Baby stuff are so expensive! Hubby so heart pain cause we're trying to save as much as possible for the hospital bill. No choice, have to be fair so we bought both of everything. We also bought two bumbo seats cause hubby said must be fair too. We alos bought two night lights to be placed at each cot. 2 pkts of cloth diapers, bath basin, baby changing mats etc. The only big ticket item we lack now is the breastpumpwhihc i will only buy much much later. I will only shop for baby clothes either in shanghai next week or after I come back from holiday in singapore. We also orderd like a carton of new born diapers of pampers. Got it for good price.

I have a headache for chinese names cause hubby and I do not have any idea. *sigh* need help so desperately. Wanted to have name before birth so we can register there and then in hospital. Can't calculate names cause those Shi Fu wants time and date of birth which is difficult for us before we birth... unless I do c-sec.. Which is a possibility unless my second baby turns soon and my placenta moves up.

Hi Josephine,

Count me in for the shopping! Hahahaa.... By then we would be close to our 7th mth.. All round and preggy. It will be such a fun sight! =p

Hi Lilfeets - Congrats! Do you know if your twins are identical or fraternal?

Pampers - how much did you get them for?

Hi June MTB,

I am from July thread... was wondering anyone has unwanted SPRING MATERNITY receipt?? I am short of about $60 to get the privilege card....

Anyone wish to give away can sms me 97458917

Hi lilfeets,

All those items must have costed you a bomb... buying for one baby is already alot, not to mention two. Somemore different sexes, cos everything must buy 2 sets. But, there's the joy of having twins too lah. =)

Hmm, search the chinese dictionary.. haha, that's what I have been doing.

Hi Matt,

Ya, I saw that link! that's why I settled on ESH.. Haha. That explains why I was a bit shocked to know that it's not really that cheap. ;p

I'm seeing her at Bedok. You leh? I think I'm taking the 2-bedder. How abt you?

hi amy
ya if you have robinson card, then usual 20% storewide (happens quite often) will have additional 5% rebate on GST if you sign with the OCBC Robinson card.

ok once the date of taka fair is out i will organise an outing ya. Please inform me once anyone has news of fair. In the meantime, we should control and not buy so many things now! compare prices first. Since we giving birth in June, it's really ideal as there the great singapore sale that usually starts last week of May, so many discounts!

Hidora,

I reckon there are many hidden costs around. Just enjoy the delivery and dun think so much la. Most likely going for 4 bedder, maybe got chance of upgrade.

We are seeing at ESH on Thursday but we are seeing her this Saturday instead as I am busy at work over the next few days.

Are you going for pre-natal class at ESH?

hi hidora,

me too..

Beansprout Pillow

1) Mspiggy
2) Tinklebell
3) Okipoki
4) Josephine Tan
5) Angeline

do u prefer us to do all these at the thread tt u hav started? btw,how do we start the "PM" thingy?

Hi Matt,

With regards to the upgrading from 4-bedder to 2-bedder, I have actually called them earlier on. They said they will charge by 2-bedder if we upgrade to 4-bedder even if it's due to them not having enough wards. Did they tell you otherwise?

I dun think I'm gng for the pre-natal class. After comparing the classes at TMC and ESH, I feel that TMC's classes are more informative. But I'm also not taking up the TMC pre natal class lah, since it's not cheap. =p Gonna sought help from my confinement lady instead.