(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hidora,
I'm getting the elec. one cos i'm afraid that the teats will melt too if using the microwave sterilizer.

Okasan,
I'm due on 8 Jun 06 at TMC. Gynae is Lawrence Ang @ Sun Plaza. Wow... u've gotten the price from the difference brand. Avent sterilizer really that ex. har. Wait for the bb fair to get good deals then.. hee

ya i heard milk doesnt make baby fairer. in fact one of my fren's always drink alot of milk but her bb is very dark. Think oni bird nest can help bb fairer but bird nest not advised to take that much.

Me gg to PIL's house soon to pray at 12midnite.
368435.gif

Jeslynster:
for me i hv bought the Avent milk bottles. For steriliser, still deciding between Avent or Pigeon. Probably getting Pigeon one cos cheaper.

jeslynster,
we actually discuss steriliser much earlier on here....

I just note down when I go robinson or seiyu loh...coz good to know the original price, then when there's sale, you will know how good the deal is loh....

your EDD is 8 Jun, so u know your baby gender liao right?

we actually have a list of MTBs due in Jun...can get Lyn to update your details into the list as well

okasan,
I shall check the earlier thread regarding the sterilizer. I shall wait for the bb fair to come to get good deals for bb accessories. Mine is a bb boy... just got to know when i went for detail scan last week.

Okasan/Kite,
Look through the list of MTBs due in Jun... seem to hv more bb boy than gals. Did both ur gynae told u the gender of ur bb??

Hi Lyn,
can u update my detail into the list? Tks.

Hi okasan,

Yup yup, milk is one of the main culprit! Without milk, I already put on 3 kg in a mth.. If drinking milk, I think it will be worse.

Hi jeslynster,

Congrats on having a prince. Yea, seems that the % of bb boys are higher now. Well, guess in the future, girls will be in high demand. =p

Hello! Good Morning!!

The thread moved quite fast over the weekend... was just reading thru as i ate my breakfast at work.... so cold this morning.

Hi jeslynster, welcome
is it your first bb?

re: stroller
we have been using lucky bb stroller for my son for 3 year plus.... so far so good and it's quite light. we bought it for abt $160 plus but worth it bec it lasted thru so many years and now we can use it for no 2.

It's true that newborns dont really like to sit on strollers. i remembered i brought my son out after he was 1 mth old in a stroller thinking that i dont need to carry him... but he cried and cried non stop and i had to carry him and push the stroller at the same time!! after that, i restorted to using the MIM baby sling. he took to that quite well. only prob is that it's cumbersome to adjust the correct position and heavy for the shoulders. actually, no hurry in buying the stroller bec sometimes friends or relatives may also want to get it for u as a gift.

Morning gals

Been a long break for me...finally back to the forum :p

BB has been quite active past few days, moving/kicking a lot in the morning and nite...hehe :p

Spent yesterday taking out the hand-me-downs clothes to soak and wash one round first :p...some of the white clothes got slight tinge of yellowish color but after soaking the yellow color came off...which is great...can save quite a fair bit of $

lyn,
My gender is confirmed a gerger

Hello Celeste, no time no see
u must have had a v good long week last week

Congrats on your little princess

Josephine, we will be opting for the cord blood thing. Have to call the company to inform... but i havent done that yet.

tinklebell,
hehe...nice knowing u

Haizzz....last week no gd.....flu virus came back....spent quite a few days just resting at home...so boring....

Hehe, urs also a princess ah...so can start shopping for some clothes for her liowz :p

gals,
I went Robinsons on Saturday.....saw the Graco stroller got 2 versions...the one on offer is $349 if i didnt remember wrongly...original price is $449. It comes with a detachable infant care seat that can sit up to 9 mths

Celeste, hee hee ...nice meeting u... aiyo... u were down with flu last week. hope you are feeling better now. my son too was down with flu since thurs.

wow Graco stroller is quite ex. but i heard it is lightweight and lasting.

yawn ..... so cold in the morning makes me want to sleep... waiting for stock market to pick up momentum... this few weeks quite exciting lor. long time never dabble with that already.

Wow cant catch up with the thread with so many posting over the weekend..

I havent been looking in getting the stroller & breast pump yet. Guess I am really taking my own sweet time...

Btw, any MTB turning 30 this year ?? Arhh just out of curiousity... Hehe !!

Lyn:
Pls help me to update that I'll be having a boy and have decided to deliver in TMC after reading May's messages

May:
Thanks for the useful info!

Celeste Blur:
Wow, you washing the hand-me-downs already! For me, my aunt passed me a big bag of baby clothings when I gave birth to my 1st child. Then when my cousin gave birth 2 years ago, I passed all to her. Before I got chance to ask the clothings back from her for my boy, found out that she's also preggie! EDD in Sept lor. So now dunno if she'll give back. (and she nvr show any signs of passing them back to me)Thinking of asking her to pass some back at least if not have to buy all new ones then very siong!

tinklebell,
ya.....recently seems like a lot of ppl down with flu
cos i tink weather very unpredictable so its easy to get sick

Ya, graco stroller looks gd.....the nicer version not on sale costs $559!! so exp *faint*...haha
u also play with stocks ah...hehe...mi now sitting on those stocks tat I have in hand...was eyeing RafflesHolding previously but seems that it started running up liowz....haizz..never reach my $0.60 target so i never buy :p

okipoki,
I also havent got my stroller or breast pump...pump i prob going to buy during the Taka Bb fair cos i got $130 in vouchers
As for stroller got a hand-me-down with a brand called "Haenim" donno from where one...haha...but will make do with it time-being, then when bb is like 3-4 mths might get another one ;)
Me turning 27 this year! :D

okipoki, me hit the big 30 last yr
before that was facing the before 30s blues
**sobs** u 30 this yr?

celeste, sometimes i play with stocks lah...not often.

hello celeste,
welcome back!!
envy u and starfish leh... got hand-me-downs... for me, i dun hv... so hv to spend $$ on bb clothings... tink 1st 3 mths bb dun go outdoors v often rite? So dun hv to buy so 'nice' ones? Tink i'll luk for cottony clothings more comfy, hehe ;p

hi hidora,
yah, muz b the CNY goodies ah... i din eat so much y'day, and dis morning got no 'nosebleed', hahaha ;p

hi okipoki,
i'm turning 31 by this yearend ;)

starfish,
Becos some of the hand-me-downs i wanna soak first and wanna check how many pieces are "usable" lor
Then can let my mom know as she will be helping me buy the new-born home clothes....;)...so start sorting since i have some time during weekends ;) But of cos when nearer to due date might do a simple wash again :D
Maybe u try sounding ur cousin out? Hehe, ask her can pass half of the clothes back boh....;)

tinklebell,
Me now also not everyday login to check liowz...its more like buying for mid-long term investment purposes....haha

celesteblur,
me too likely will be getting those stuffs during those bb fairs.

tinklebell, matched gal, celesteblur,
yah... hitting 30 this year !!
me also 1st time mummy !!

volf20,
No matter which hospital u stay. Got to bring own pyjamas cos u will only be wearing a suit (those kind where u wear when going for x-ray- tie at the back one) when u are in delivery ward. After that the nurse will help u to change to ur own pyjamas.

*NOTE: Sorry to add into the list. Must bring Marriage Cert also. So that u can register ur baby's birth cert.

Kite,
Lochia no pain no cramp one. Just normal flow.
After birth one month, doc will do a scan or pap smear test to see if there is any blood clot inside.

Here's my Birth Story:

14 Jan 2006
3.50am - Felt the contraction
4.30am - Contraction is every 15 mins. Wake hubby up.
6.00am - Had my last breakfast.
7.30am - Reach TMC. Had 2cm dilation. Nurse insert Enema.Poo immediately after 5mins. Pushed into Delivery Ward. Asked to wait for dilation.
10.30am - Doc arrive to break water bag. Still 2cm dilation.
2pm - Doc check still 2cm. Pain is more severe. Asked for Epidural.
6pm - Doc check 5cm. Vomit due to epidural side effect. Estimate will deliver at 10pm-12pm.
10pm - Still 5cm. Vomit due to side effect. Now got the urge of pushing. Doc say baby is trying to force herself into engagement.He say think got prob. Will need to observe until 1-3am.

15 Jan 2006
1am - Now 8cm. More severe pain. Vomit again. Already taken 3 dosage of Epidural. Doc say baby is pushing in a wrong direction. Might need to op if she doesn't turn by 3am.
3am - Still 8cm. Vomit again. Doc say cannot wait already. Will need to arrange C-sect. Hubby was so worried that his tears nearly flow down. I tried to be strong and console him. Actually I am very scared also.
3.15am - Pushed into Operating Theater. Was given a gas to smell and sleep thru.
3.43am - Baby Jamie was born.

She is 3.565kg, 52cm in length.

Here's her photo.. she is in her 3rd week now.

368552.jpg

May,

Thanks for sharing Jamie's birth story, really a lot of help to me, especially 1st time mother like me.

Lyn,
Please help to update my info :
EDD: 16th June 2006
Thanks a lot!

Good morning mummies

Stroller: went to BB Hypermart over the weekend, bought the Quiny Zapp to go with my Maxi Cosi Priori carseat. Both in blue. Also got a Preg Prego Diaper Bag (as Zapp does not come with any compartment).

Now i have two strollers, Quiny (for holding the infant carseat), as well as Maclaren (when baby outgrows the infant carseat). Greedy me...

Celeste: wah... you washing baby clothes already? Does the milk smell go away? What detergent did you use? i have some hand me downs, but sorted them accordingly. Still, i can't resist buying new clothes whenever there is a sale, for 6 - 9 months.

BTW, mothercare now selling baby swim diapers for 3 - 6 mths at half price, only $12. just got one last week.

Okipoki: me turning 30 this year! I ate durians during the first trimester, but luckily not much. Now gotta refrain from durians, in case baby grow too big.

volf: is there a sale on babysafe mattress at Robinson as well? maybe i will check this out tonight. heard this brand is good, and you can even custom make and order direct from manufacturer. Any mummies interested in this? Maybe we can organise a bulk purchase and get a good discount?

May: thanks for sharing. you are really strong, even consoled your hubby.
baby jamie is so lovely. is the c-section painful?

are you breast feeding now? is confinement tough? what abt the after birth healing process? sorry for asking so many questions...

Hmm...any mummies know how we can speed up the dilation process once we go into labour, so as to prevent an emergency c-section?

May:
Your ger is soooo cute! Got a lot of hair also
Actually my birthday also on 15 Jan

Celeste Blur:
I intend to ask her share share lor, wat to do, our timing so qiao! But she's now still not very stable and having MS. So intend to wait till she's feeling better lor

okipoki:
Think if you can take the 'heat', can start already. But dun eat too much if not heard that baby will be very big. As for me I started eating durian about 5th month during my last pregnancy. For this one, I have not started coz still not fully recovered from my cough yet.

May, your girl is sooo cute! cant wait to see mine too.

Ladies, u thought of your bb's name already? i know some pp use the "you long zi" to name the chinese characters. dont think we will use that.

Celeste, i had my first when i was 27 too.

matchgal, dont worry, 31 still not too late... but next few years u must "jia you"..hee hee
after my no2, i dont think pp will ask me when i will have no3. will have no3 if i can afford lor.

May,
ur jamie is so cute!!!!

tinkerbell,
yah, i heard >36yrs old mummies hv to go thru' some extra tests & all dat ah... tink i hv 1 kiddo first - and c whether i can cope - before deciding whether want 2 or 3... but hubby now oreadi talking about "number 3" leh... jialat ;p

hi May
thanks for sharing your labour story. Why did it take such a long time? i've been asking around. Perhaps don go to hospital so early. What they teach at antenal class quite useful. Time the contractions first - when really in labour mode, then check in, if not, will feel more tense waiting in the observation room?

Would you recommend your confinement lady? where did you get her from? any other confinement agency/ladies to recommend?

matchgal, ya >36 years old have to undergo amnio. but i think it is optional. heard it is q painful. also, there are increased risks. but on the other hand, there are a lot of mummies of there who have given birth to healthy babies even though they are >36.

okipoki,
sure we can eat durian, I hav been eaten durian puff for a few time. Got to control scared that BB is too big.

Amy,
I m interested in the babysafe mattress as well. I went to Robinsons last sat, dun think Robinsons has further discount on that (no 20% discount).

Matched_gal,
Will see you on fri

Hi Hidora / Okasan - I got the Graco stroller with removable car infant sys for $349. It weighs abt 7kg, a bit heavier than the Combi and Lucky baby ones.. but I cld still handle it myself.. very easy to open and close....I like it very much cos v v sturdy...

ya, Tinklebell - Me ks lor.. thats why I ran out to buy the stroller... I prefer to have all the stuff for bb ready before I pop...cos I dreamt last wk that bb came out earlier... hehee

ACtually ladies - If you buy a cheaper stroller like Combi or Lucky Baby, you will still incur abt the same cost as that for Graco IF you intend to get a infant child seat. They all add up to abt the same... so, u hv to decide if you want to get combination type ie. difft brand stroller and infant car seat or same brand. ALternatively, you may wish to get a gd car seat that lasts from infant to 4yrs...the gd ones are really ex at abt $300+++.

RE: C-sect
Actually I would advise u to talk to gynae in advance to see if u can go for normal birth. I wanted to save money so endure. Who knows in the end also have to operate.
It is painful when u wake up. First week is more painful lor.. difficult to get up from bed. Especially first 2 days, try not to sleep and lie on bed too much. Sit up so that u won't feel giddy.

RE: Breastfeeding
I only breastfeed for the first week. Cos I was very weak after C-sect, my mum wanted to brew tonic for me. Afraid that ginger and wine will cause baby to have breastfeed jaundice. So I stop breastfeeding lor.

RE: Confinement
Didn't really stick strictly to what eldery say. Had confinement food lor. But I bathe on day 4 onwards already. For washing hair, once a week lor. Very sick of confinement food and cannot go out. Although I sneak out twice for a short shopping trip lor.

RE:Baby's name
I got my girl's chinese name from You Long Zi also. Cost: $100. calculate her BA ZI and tell us briefly abt her future. Was given 12 character of the 2nd name and 12 chracter of the 3rd name. Then u can mix and match to see what name u like lor. He will recommend some names but u dun like can do it urself.

RE: Confinement lady
My mum did my confinement for me so cannot intro.

RE: Labour Hour
During my last check up, Gynae say dilate 2cm already. Which is a Wed, so when I got contraction pain on Sat, I thot it is time already and went to hospital who knows not yet. In the delivery ward of TMC, it is quite relax. They put Doppler to see heartbeat of baby and CTG to see contraction pain. Then u just lie on bed to wait lor. Not really tense lar..got TV to watch and hubby will be beside u.

Amy - Not too sure if there was a bbsafe Mattress at Robinsons. I intend to get my cot from Kaki Bukit cos its so much cheaper, and is nicely finished with 4 adjustable levels. Also comes with bb mattress, bumper set, and matching bedding.... will just buy one more nice bedding set fr Aussino. Waiting to confirm sex of bb on 17 Feb, then I will zoom to Aussino to get it. They sell very nice ones for abt $69.

Volf - yes, there is babysafe mattress at Robinsons. My sis-in-law got hers there, and told me to wait for 20%. i already got my cot from kaki bukit, i think we are referring to the same cot - white, 4 levels adjustment.
i did not want the mattress and beddings, so they deducted about $70 off the cot price. Paid $250 + $30 delivery for just the cot.

Okies, might check out Aussino for the cot bumper and beddings. Tot should get the mattress first, in case beddings do not fit.

May: did you deliver on your EDD? how come your gynae broke your waterbag? well, at least it's good to know that the environment in the delivery ward is relaxing.

BTW - pardon my ignorance, but what is You Long Zi?

oh ya... i just remembered i saw something in Robinsons which i think i would like to buy. it's a photoframe with 2 sides. on one side, u could imprint your bb's first footprint on the clay. it looks quite cute...costs ard $40 plus. i know a lot of hospitals have packages for bb photos wh is quite ex. i thought this diy set was quite cute.

Amy..
So we are dragon mom... I had a few durians over the weekend & now then worried whether we can eat or not.

Starfish,
Think I will refrain from eating too much cos I think durian consider "sweet" as well.. Dont want to "kena" diabetes.

May,
Ur Jamie is really cute...

Gers,
I heard "you long zi" have limited names leh & not as good as it used to be. Was wondering is there others "si fu" out there for giving good names...

Amy,
My EDD is on 17 Jan. I give birth on 15 Jan.. only 2 days earlier. Gynae broke my waterbag so that the contraction will come faster and dilation will be faster too.

You Long Zi is the name of a Feng Shui Master. He can give some names to ur baby according to the BA ZI or "Chinese 8 character" of ur baby.

Hi Josephine, I'm gng for Cordlife. =)

Hi Celeste, congrats on your princess! My bag of hand me down is still in the cupboard.. Do you use normal detegent or the Komodo kind?

Hi Okipoki, I must be the youngest then... Me and bb are both doggies, and I'm turning 24 this year.

Hi Matched_gal, I dun dare to touch any CNY goodies already... My wisdom tooth threatens to come out yesterday.. Was hving toothache for the whole day.. scare scare!

Hi May, your bb ger is adorable! And thanks for all the advice! I didnt know must bring the marriage cert. But if during then, we still have not decide on the bb's name, then we will have to go down to the hospital again?

Hi Tinklebell, we have only settle on the english name.. Think gonna ask my MIL what are some nice chars for boys since she's a teacher.

Hi Amy, how much does the Babysafe mattress cost? Is it really good since I see a lot of mummies talking about it.

Hi Volf, we were thinking of getting those car seat that can last from infant till 4 yrs old, and getting a seperate stroller. So that's why not intending to get something so exp. But I think I will go down and take a look at the Graco one. =)

Oh ya, any mummies getting bean sprout pillow?

hidora, i want to get bean sprout pillow... i used to have 1 hand me down but i have given it back and i find it useful. but fr where? u got lobang?