(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

k ong:
thanks for ur concern, i feel much better after hving my lunch. Ya even we do drive very safely but doesnt mean other drivers will. Just hope everyone on the road wil be safely drivers.

wow ur detailed scan same day as me. I think there is another mummy who is same day as us. total 3 of us hving detailed scan!

ya thump thump feeling like something punching but light one.
367558.gif

hi amy,
wow, thanks for the info!!
looks like mrs wong's class is rather beneficial leh... hmmm, i hope the Mt A's class is as gd...

hi sugarbun,
we're in the same class for the first class
) c u then! Hehe... hubby & me didn't want to rush (and we usually finish work after 7), so end up hv to take half day ah...

Just woke up from my nap... aiyo, whole nite cannot sleep, dunno why, body aching like mad... guess must be due to my constipation. >_<

Anyway, congrats to those who have know your baby gender! Happy shopping for clothes! Hehe, lilfeets is the best, can buy 2 set of clothes at one time.

I'm gng for a checkup tmr, hopefully can know the gender. Then detailed scan is on 9th Feb. Actually, the last time I went, my gynae already told me the gender, but she said it's only 75%... Erm... hopefully tmr she can give me a 100% one.

hidora:
so far my gynac always say 50% even on my 14 wks last appt. i cant believe 50% boy 50% girl. heehee
so urs is 75% boy or girl?
367571.gif

kk,

We would not give our baby an english name too as we feel we can do without it, when the baby grows up, he can decide on whatever Eng name he fancies.
In fact, we have to give our baby the name that is passed from some family generation which sounded yucky to me, so will have to renegotiate with my FIL. They are still very traditional people, telling us that if our baby is a gal, we can give whatever name we like, but now since its a boy, we have to follow tradition and name accordingly to the FAMILY TREE, dicated by the ancestors who are no longer alive..sigh (in my opinion)

Hi Hidora,

Try cranberry juice.. it helps to relieve constipation
At least it has worked for me

Hi Gillan,

Ya rite.. and if have english and chinese names, we have to decide which comes first so that can put into birth cert. Now class lists in schools are based on the first alphabet in names in birth certs, no longer based on surnames.

Chinese names already driving us crazy hahaha.. cannot imagine english names.. i have nightmares with english names like marcus and daniel for boys, jolene and joscelin for girls.. etc etc.. because these are the naughty ones in my class!!

Oh, ya, i heard my father say about that (passing from one generation to the next) when my brothers having their kids but my dad was not persistent in it because by the time it comes to my nephews, they have to have a "da" (big) in the middle. Imagine that! What character can we match with da? Da Ming? Da Xiong? HAHA! So my brothers never follow for their kids lor.

For my in laws, they dun follow such tradition... so no problem for us

wow Gillian, u have a "jia pu"?
Hee hee... if it's a boy, u only need to think of the last word ... actually easier... no need to crack brain so hard ...hee hee
For my girl, i'm still searching for a nice name for her

kk,

Mine is "Cao" for the middle name ok...as in Cao2 Cao4, lagi worse, it will be Cao something...sounds like smelly something if u ask me. aiyo...dunno is it becoz Hubby's ancestors have writers' block when it came to this generation.
367597.gif

hehe kite,

tmr when 100% then I tell.. or at least give me 90% lah... scare later baby decided to play trick on us, then become the 25% sex. ;pbpbpbpb the last time I checked was near to 16 weeks, so maybe that's why gynae didnt give me 50%... must go pray pray tonite that bb be in a good position tmr. Leg open wide wide.. ahahaha

kk,

hehe, so funny to have the char "da" in the name.. like no matter how you match, it also wun sound nice one. Cranberry juice ah? Isn't it very sour? Thought we can't drink too sour during this period?

and I was the one flipping the chi dictionary.. my hb say I siao... heheh..

Gillan,

me too, prob won't be giving english name to baby..he can decide what name to call when he is big enough. As for Chinese name, will prob ask expert to 'suan' after birth.... hubby said chinese name very important, will affect bb's life.. hubby's family a bit traditional so i also follow lor..since its for bb good.

That day i was watching "Fearless" by Jet Li, then baby start kicking me...hubby then joked said name baby 'Huang Fei Hong'...hubby surname is Huang... hahaaaa
367600.gif

Wow, the threads is running fast.. having a hard time catching up.

I guess by next week most of us should know the gender of our BB so next will be names liao !! Thats the different stage of pregnancy I guess....

Hey I realised that when some of u watching "fearless" the BB will start kicking.. Me too encountered the movement of BB while watching the show... Oohh !!

tinkerbell, i-panda77,
Hubby's family has the "jia pu" but I was sharing with my friend earlier, I think I will go hysterical and burst into tears if I cannot choose the name for my baby whom I'll be carrying for 9months and let the ancestors decide instead. Although it seems easy job, just think of the last character, but with a difficult middle name like CAO, how to? Huuby's surname is Lee, maybe shall call Bruce Lee aka Lee Cao Long?

Wow u gers really have to "jia pu" to name the bb ar.. Luckily I dont have such else I will be having headache...

wow, seems like the topic has moved to names...

actually my hubby side also got 'jiapu', but we hv ger-ger dis round, so we trying to tink of name ourself...

btw, anybody know how to 'translate' chinese name to dialect? Last time (during my mother's time), heard when they bring to make birthcert, the person will tell them what the dialect name is ... but now dun hv such thing rite? We've to come up wif the dialect translation ourselves? How ah?

wow thot i m the only one wearing this movie Fearless cos initially i thot many kong fu kicks better dun watch but quite alrite. there are some scenes where i closed my eyes. then i told my hubby "bb kicking leh"

so far i never heard of wat jiapu from my PIL leh. hehe so okie to give name ourselves. but i intend to hire someone for my bb's chinese name as i think that chinese name meaning very important.
367616.gif

i_panda:
ur icon so cute....lol
like very impatient waiting to knock off from work...just like me...hehe

i wanted to watch king kong but mummies here advised not to so i didnt watch. i ended up watch harry potter hehe. i find the Fearless as compared to harry potter, the sound system too loud for me. hmm intend to watch Zodiac cartoon. hehe

Gillian, i know what u mean. my son and nephews all have the middle character "wei1" as " wei1 meng3"... i find it v strong sounding...dont really like it. in the end i managed to find a softer word to match... we call our son wei1 en1. at least it doesnt sound too strong... not easy...happy finding your kid's name

Did not log in since last week. Have been busy and was on mc on Wed as down with flu. Already stayed away from the goodies but still gana!

Went for detailed scan last Friday and confirmed having bb boy. My husband was sooooo happy that he was still smiling to himself while we were walking out of TMC! I'm happy too as now 1 gal 1 boy then can close shop liao!

Told my in-laws the gender of bb during CNY. Nvr expected my mum-in-law's reaction to be immediately asked my daughter : Now you are going to have a baby brother, ask your mummy to give you another baby sister lah! *faint faint faint!*

hello to all mummies

hi lyn, I've went to TMC for my detail scan this morning and mine is a baby boy
can help me to update the list and mine will be at Mt A. Thanks a lot !!

Really happy that its a boy so that my husband can have a playmate soon...

Hi Hidora,

I always buy the tropica/florida brand from ntuc.. grapefruit with cranberry in it.. in fact it is slight bitter, not sour at all heee... u can try
I realise i can't take orange and apple juice as they make my heartpain worse or start heartburn when i dun have it
Perhaps too acidic for me

Hi matched gal,

I see my students all dun have dialect and hanyu pinyin leh. All only one name that's all and this name sound exactly the same as how we are going to pronounce in chinese.

hi kk,

ooo... florida brand. I like their grapefruit juice, very nice! Ok, later I go grab the one with cranberry. Ya, if I eat too sour, I will start to have heart burn... and talking about sour, I miss hving mee siam, but dun dare to touch now.

btw, do you see any of your students having the dialect surname but hving the hanyu pinyin as the name? for example instead of tan wai leng/ chen wei ling, they use tan wei ling?

hi panda,

That avent breast pump is really exp. I showed my hb the price, and his eyes nearly pop out. It's close to $800, even more exp than Medela PIS. But looking at the video clip, it seems that the pump is really smart leh..

I got the avent manual one thou... maybe if I'm gng back to work then start thinking abt elec pump.

hi starfish &amp; luvflower,

congrats on having a prince! =)

Hi Ladies, don't know if you gals still remember me. Have been too busy and tired to come in. What with getting my current kid adjusted to childcare etc etc...

Anyway, went to detailed scan yesterday and we're having a boy again. So, here's to saving money!!

Hi Hidora,

Ya, i have students surname "Chen" in Chinese but their surnames reflected is Tan. "Li" can be reflected as Lee. But the one/two characters that follow resembles the chinese hanyu pinyu. Strange ya? I dunno why there is such configuration. Perhaps we will be asked what we wanna put in the child's birth cert? Not too sure...

Breast pumps are really expensive ya? I think i will first rent from TMC and see how it goes.. as i am only bf for 3 mths. When i go back to work, i will stop bf liao.

hi panda,

ya, but if you are gng to bf for a long long time, then perhaps invest in a good elec pump is good. considering one can of milk powder is $25, then one mth abt 4 can, so if you can bf for more than 8 mths, then worth it lor.. hehe.. think i read this theory from some mummy..

hi kk,

cos hor, most prob the student's parent like us... my hb surname in dialect is zee, very unique but then the hanyu pinyin is xu, which becomes common.. My hb is not keen on adopting the hanyu pinyin for his surname, so most prob we will end up with a dialect surname and maybe hanyu pinyin for the chinese name. Else, gotta think of how to translate the chi name to dialect too.

anyway, if you dun intend to bf long, why dun you get the avent manual? I heard from my fren it's really good. Dun get the pigeon brand, cant pump anything out. It's abt $70 during 20% sales. I read from somewhere that the hospital pump is quite worn, in the sense that the funnel is yellow and stuff like that. Think that was KKH? Maybe you have to chk the condition of the rent out pump before renting.

Hi emily,

Congrats on hving a prince too! =)

hi lilfeets
wahahaha... a boy &amp; a girl.. that's a perfect match. Congrats and sure u wont mix up who is 'lao da' or 'lao er'...keke

allo i_panda
ur bb is really very big.. i thot my ger is big @ 375g in wk21...

happy mummies! Tmr is Ren Ri, going parents in law's hse n lao yu sheng. hehe but think will eat 1 mouth as Yi Shi Yi Shi. cant eat much cos raw one.
367839.gif

Went for appointment this morning. Disappointed leh, no scan
Can't see bb
Only listen to heartbeat. Gynae just pressed on tummy to check and say bb head at top, legs at bottom heeee... obviously still somersaulting inside.

Next appointment is 3 weeks later with scan. Can see bb then
Looks like appointment frequency is getting higher liao.

Hi Kite,

We going to my mum's place tonite to lao yu sheng too. My mum using cooked fish, so should be ok? My gynae say ok to eat yu sheng during my last visit

Hi Hidora,

But if use avent manual pump, does it only fit avent bottles?? That's my only concern...

Ya, that's why i was thinking.. if dun bf for long, not worth investing in such an expensive pump.

Hi Emily &amp; Luvflower,
U guys went for your detailed scan thurs &amp; fri both having a boy? Me too, me too! Were yours done at TMC? My appointment was at 10am plus yesterday (Fri).

Looks like everyone I visited over CNY were right in guessing that mine is a boy.

Anyway, thank God that the baby is alright, no abnormalities spotted.

Emily, are u delivering at Mt A?

Lyn,
Appreciate your faithfully updating our table. Thanks!

<font color="0000ff">matched_gal,</font>
me also have blood clog in my nose...but onli a bit...

<font color="0000ff">i_panda77,</font>
think it's not advisable to put music so close to tummy loh...first, it may be too loud for baby...secondly, our baby inside our womb also has a certain pattern, when to sleep and when to wake up...by putting music close to tummy, it's like waking a baby from sleeping to play with him....so it can be negative effect on baby esp when the mother unknowingly disrupt the natural pattern....

<font color="0000ff">volf,</font>
I finally recognise my baby's movements liao...so happy....now I always look forward to baby's next kics/puches....

<font color="0000ff">re: tummy size</font>

our tummy tends to draw lotsa attention...thus inviting many commments....just ignore the comments abt the tummy size....afterall, it's more important that the baby is growing fine rather than our tummy is growing...

I do have 2 friends who are due on the same mth..one with big tummy and one with small tummy...in the end, the big tummy one give birth to a much smaller baby....so the weight gain all goes to her instead of the baby....

my gynae also told me that it's ok if the tummy is small now...afterall, baby will gain weight faster at 3rd tri rather than 2nd tri....he even joked to me that at 2nd tri, people comment tummy small...but at 3rd tri, people will say tummy too big....

I just went for my my scan today.. Gynae said 110% is a boy! Yeah yeah! Heng ah, luckily that 75% she said last time was not the finger. =p No abnormalities too. Thanks the Lord for it!

Then the nurse told me next appointment must tell her the hospital ward perferences already.. Hmm still deciding between 1 or 2 bedder. How about you all? Decided on it already?

Hi kk,

erm, I'm not sure whether it can fit other bottles leh. But the pump already comes with 2 bottles. And if you are expressing your milk and storing it, you can transfer your milk from the storage bag into any bottle easily. I think it works the same way for manual or elec pump. Also, I think renting a pump will be more exp?

Hi okasan, matched gal,

I also have blood clog in my nose.. >_<

Was talking to my gynae today, she said that fish oil is better than bird's nest or cordyceps as it is proven. She say she dun believe in all those chinese medicine.. Erm erm.. but I think if I got spare cash, I dun mind buying bird's nest, cos it's yummy! ;p

Hi Hidora,

Congrats on having a prince!!

At first i opt for 2-bedder.. but TMC 2-bedder doesn't allow hubbies to stay overnight. So we change to 1-bedder as i wanna hubby to stay overnight with me as i dunno whether i can get used to it without my hubby around with me at nite.

Haha, my mum bought me the bird nest and i can still boil 2-3 times before i go for delivery liao. I only take bird nest once every fortnight.

Hi kk,

ya, ESH also dun allow hubbies to stay over night in the 2-bedder ward. But the price difference between the 1-bedder and 2-bedder quite alot of difference leh.. so still considering...

For ESH, normal delivery (2 days/2 nights stay) will be $1780 for 1-bedder, and $1300 for 2-bedder.

Then for caesarian (3 days/3 nights) will be $2980 for 1-bedder, $2180 for 2-bedder..

Exp hor? Is TMC charging abt the same?

Oh oh,

We have settled on the English name for our boy. He will be named Isaiah. =D Glad that our bb is a boy since from the 1st tri, hb has only liked one name and that's Isaiah. If bb ger, must find all over again.

My fren said it looks malay and sounded like a ger name. Got meh? I thought Isaiah sounded manly? =p Nvm, we like can already. =)

hidora,
congrats for having a prince

as for 1 or 2 bedder, you can actually opt for 2-bedder then on the day of delivery, you can ask the hospital to upgrade you to 1-bedder loh if you change your mind...so u can have more time to decide which ward u wanna....

for me, I also have not decide to take 1 or 2 bedder loh....

hidora,
I have checked the price list given to me by my gynae.

Here's the price at TMC:

Normal Delivery (2 days)
1-bedded => $1728
2-bedded => $1228
4-bedded => $928

Caesarean (2 days)
1-bedded => $2378
2-bedded => $1808
4-bedded => $1488

Caesarean (3 days)
1-bedded => $2748
2-bedded => $2048
4-bedded => $1778

Note that at TMC, we can pay for 4-bedded ward fees but yet still stay at 2-bedded ward as TMC has insufficent 4-bedded ward loh....

Saw u all comparing prices. Hope this helps.
I deliver on 15 Jan 2006 at TMC. Admitted on 14 Jan, wanted to try Normal Delivery but after 24hrs gynae say must do C-sect. I chose 4 bedded in the beginning but was given 2 bedded. Charged at 4 bedded price.

Days of Stay: 4D3N
Total Price: About 7.1K
Cash : About 3.4K
CPF : About 3.7K

hidora:
Congrats on ur bb boy! Hmm ur gynac mentioned fish oil is better than those chinese medicine? example of fish oil from which source? supplement or fish?

Hi May,
check with you something since u juz gave birth at TMC....is it true that we do not need to bring any baby stuff coz TMC will provide baby's clothings and recieving blanket on the day of discharge?

Hi Okasan,

Thanks! =D

Ya, I heard that if you choose 4-bedder in TMC, and if they chg you to 2-bedder, there wun be extra charges. Er.. think I should go ask whether ESH got this kind of lobang.

I thought ESH is cheap leh.... Why the wards all more expensive one? Alamak, kenna cheated! >_<

Hi kite,

Thanks! =D

Erm, it's the fish oil supplement that we are taking now. Those Neurogain kind. For me, I'm taking what my gynae is selling, think the brand is Prolacta with DHA for Mother? Dunno lah, the nurses never give me the box, just put the capsules in a bag. @_@ My gynae said it's proven that taking fish oil will make baby smarter. But for bird's nest, she heard that it's for complexion. Then again she said that her mother took bird's nest didnt help in giving her good complexion. ;p