(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi all mummies
367416.gif

went for detail scan yest at TMC...whole day waiting! Reach at abt 2pm, then go sign up for FBI, make pymt, fill up forms, take goodie bag. Then went for my detail scan, luckily no pple q for the detail scan...so mine quite fast. Then later nurse told me to go for lunch 1st cos my doc went for lunch too...And i came back, wow...so many pple waiting outside...arrgh...long wait. Finally go see her, 10 min come out liao...

BB boy is now 507g...me 21w + 5d yesterday. BB is abv avg...doc says. His foot is 40mm. Haahaa but my doc said that how come i put on 3 kg in a mth cos avg is 2kg in a mth. Last appmt i weigh 47kg now i weigh 50.1kg ... No wonder the nurse asked me to weigh myself again when i hv already done so..make me so scared. Doc asked me to cut down on new yr cookies...but i never eat a lot leh (or maybe i don't know..kee kee)

After see doc, went to 3rd flr ParentCraft to pay for antenatal class. Finally leave TMC at about 5pm

Hi i-Panda,

WOW, ur bb boy is really big!!! Mine was only 295 g at week 19!!

Looks like ur gynae is weight conscious like mine. He has been commenting my weight on every visit hahaha.. but i dun think i have been gaining much leh. But then on the last visit, he say can continue eating for CNY heeee...

kk,
My friends going to psycho my Hubby when we meet for CNY gathering, telling him the pros of a baby boy. I should have taken a pic of his expression that day. He even told me to sms the news to my in-laws, coz he "bo-mood" liao. He felt like he has been calling the wrong name for the last 5 months, now we have to re-think a new name coz we only thought of a gal's name. Tsk..tsk

kite,
Yes, its my 1st baby, after years of marriage...

lilfeets,
Congrats on your twins, and you got the best of both world, a gal and boy!

KK,

i also don't know the weight i have gained gone where cos pple have been commenting that my tummy looks small... but as long as doc say baby is growing well..its ok.

tinklebell,
ya...me waiting for the march bb fair to come
367465.gif

hello ladies

lilfeets,
congrats!!! that's my dream to have a boy and a gal as twin!

wish i can talk to u earlier, i've just paid my deposit for the KKH class yesterday

will see how it goes....

i-Panda77,

your baby is indeed above avg, mine was only 319g at week 20. I was kinda worried coz i have already put on 5.5kg so far, and the baby only weighs a fraction of my weight gain.
367471.gif

hi sugarbun,
me starting on fri too (next friday). Taking halfday leave to go cos my workplace not v near Mt A, and usually my/hubby work ends quite late leh... my class starts at 6:30pm, same as u?

oh yah, dey didn't call me ah... i called them instead (on weds) ;p Just to confirm... ;)

hi kk,
hehehe, u also taucheah ;p I also ate some mandarin oranges when my MIL not looking :D

yeah, me too... i wun deny i was a tad bit disappointed on knowing bb was a gal [cos husband's side is first grandchild - seems like kenna 'stressed' to wanting boy], but after tinking thru', each life is still a 'gift' to us - i shouldn't b worried about wat others tink
Moreover, the baby gals i've seen around are so cute
Hubby is happy baby is a girl too

Hee hee... seems like modern day daddies also "zhong-nan-qing-nu" hor...which i find it v strange... my hubby also like that. he was hoping my first born to be a boy... thankfully he turned out to be a boy. he was so happy he called his mother immediately and smsed all his frens. he also dont mind second one to be a boy... hee hee ... but good thing i have a princess... cant imagine all the boys bullying the poor mummy at home. at least a girl will likely to grow up closer to me... and at least i will have a shopping companion in time to come

Mspiggy - it's not all bad. Just the portions where themid wife takes the class. the physio , dietician and pharmacist are all good. Just the midwife likes to ask stupid questions, like telling you you must bathe everyday etc. Also, her pronunciation is terrible beyond belief. it depends again if you get the same women i had. Otherwise, it's quite alright. I heard TMC's Mrs Wong is very very good.

i-panda - your baby is really big. At 19 weeks ++, my biggest twin baby is only 350g. They have long femur so i guess I will have tall children. then again, hubby and I are rather tall so that's the least of our concerns.

All - thanks for the well-wishes. We're really glad to have a boy and a girl. Fair to both hubby and me so we can have the gender we wanted and experience both bringing up a girl and boy cause they react differently.

oh yah, wanted to ask u gals...

did anyone suffer from 'nosebleeds'? Mine is not exactly nosebleed, but there's some blood in my mucus when i blow my nose leh...
Had this 'problem' on & off ever since i got preggie - forgot to ask gynae y...

tinkerbell,

actually my hubby dun mind ger-ger, but my ILs & the older generation seem to hint their preference towards boy leh.. too bad for them lah, haha ;p

hi lilfeets,
hope it's not the same midwife for me. yes i heard from my friend that mrs wong from TMC is very good. she teaches lots of things that not found in books.

hi matched gal,
i didnt have "nosebleed" but i read that it's quite common for preggies due to our increased in blood level.

my gynae told me it's a boy during my 16 wk checkup but i think i will wait for the detailed scan next week for the final result. maybe it's the finger! hehehehee

my hubby is very excited that it's a boy but i prefer a girl... so that i can doll her up and shop for her. :D

hi misspiggy,

oh i c... hmmm... hope it goes away soon... am trying to drink lots of water now - tink i may b too heaty dat's y kenna "nose bleed"...

hi lilfeets,

BabyCare Festival 2006
Public - Free Admission
Expo Hall 5B
10-Mar-06 to 12-Mar-06
Start Time: 11:00; End Time : 21:00

there shld be a Taka BB Fair in March (but not confirm)

367491.gif

Hi Matched gal,

Cannot eat mandarin oranges meh? My colleague ate a lot leh hahaha.. but i dun favour mandarin oranges so i haven't touched any yet. Moreover now slight cough with phlegm, so i better dun eat for the time being :p

My colleague suffers from nose bleeds pretty often. Too heaty liao. Recently she ate too much bak kwa also. Everytime she eats, next day her nose bleeds. Not to worry lah, not a big problem :p

To mums who can't feel bb kick,

try putting a small speaker connected to discman, on your tummy. Let the baby listen to music...& see if got any reaction.

Hahaa...this is what i do lor...i very kiasu let my baby listen to music
367498.gif
. Heard fr my friend that if you let your baby listen to music now, next time (when baby pop out) when they cry let them listen to the same music...it will help to calm them down.. don't know true or not but no harm trying

367499.gif

i_panda:
wow ur detailed scan very fast, 10mins come out liao. i wondering how long will my detailed scan take. hehe.

Gillan:
Good wat 1st child boy. as long bb healthy is most important.

matched_gal/tinklebell:
hehe actually initally i also feel stressed cos hubby prefer a boy to be sporty like him. But even if its a gal, my hubby said he also love as the bb is his own child. Actually i hvnt gone through the detailed scan yet but might be a gal gal. Now we are already prepare bb wil be a girl. hehe even confirm name her "Chloe". Anyway hving a boy/girl, its determined by hubby's sperm (x and Y chorosome) lol. hehe

Even on CNY, my MIL's mum (hubby's grandma) said bb to be a boy. I cant be bother cos bb is mine. And hubby n i very neutral liao. luckily its only grandma, not Granny. hehe
367501.gif

hi kk,
yah, heard too much mandarin oranges can cause phelm - but tink may b old wives' tales. Anyway, i took a few during CNY ;p

ur colleague also hv "nosebleed"? Hmmm, then i tink maybe we two too heaty liaoz... taucheah too much goodies =P

kite,

no lah...detail scan much longer. 10min is for the routine checkup by my gynae. My detail scan is done by another gynae.
367507.gif

i_panda:
yes my colleague also told me during pregnancy, let bb listen to classical music, then when bb comes out n cry, play classical music n bb wil stop crying. right now i m listening to classical music at work which my fren lends it to me.
367512.gif

i_panda:
oic i didnt know detailed scan is done by another gynac. not sure mine wil be same or different gynac?

matched_gal:
dun care abt them. only grandma (consider outsider liao), not granny. My hubby's grandma very traditional one. hehe Those old ppl's thinking is like tat one.

But my own Ah Ma very good, dote on me alot. I asked her she likes boy or girl? My ah ma said "boy or girl she also like". my ah ma very cute one. 80 yrs old. hehe
367519.gif

i_panda, mrs wong at TMC mentioned we should not place ear phones on our tummy, as the volume might be too loud for baby, and this might cause baby to be born slightly deaf. Maybe a better option is to listen to music on speakers with baby. That way, can sing to baby too.

The other night, I bought some nursery rhymes and sang to baby with my hubby, and baby was so excited, kicked non stop the whole night.

Will do this again tonight....

kite, yes, mrs wong mentioned baby likes classical music best. maybe you can try baby mozart or baby bach. very nice... i listen to that daily, also, you can tune in to 92.4 symphony.

there is a mozart 250 years celebration on at the Singapore Concert Hall this weekend. maybe can go for that, let baby listen to some 'live' music?

hi kite,
hehe, my ahma not ard liao... else i tink she'd say the same... hehe, ur ahma sounds quite cute

hi ipanda/amy/kite,
wow, seems u all started on 'taijiao' oreadi... me oni listen to music in the car... maybe muz start buying CDs to listen oreadi...

Amy:
me let bb listen daily esp when i play the classic melodies at office, very soothing while doing my work. maybe at home wil tune in 92.4 hehe. wow u really very ON leh, let bb listen live music. ticket must be not cheap ah.
367525.gif

Wow - seems like everyone knows the sex of your baby already! Congrats congrats! Me will only be able to confirm on the 17 Feb..haiz....

Lilfeets - There will be a Taka Baby Fair in the 1st wk of Mar. Also a BabyCare Festival 2006 - Free Admission
Expo Hall 5B
10-Mar-06 to 12-Mar-06
11:00 - 21:00

i will try to listen to 92.4FM before i go to bed... beside that i also not sure what other thing to do?

colleagues recommends reading to baby... what type of storybooks? or just nursery rhymes?

matched_gal:
sorry to hear that. Ya my ah ma cute, i wil visit her on n off one n give her $ and she very happy whenever i go visit her. As for my hubby's grandma, she always complain my hubby never go n visit her til CNY.
Thats the difference between girl and boy. hehe

as for the classical music, its my fren who is kind enough to lend me, say very gd for bb.

Aiyo Amy - u so cute one..sing nursery rhymes to bb!! Actually I still feel rather silly saying hello to bb - er - my tumm leh... how to get over that??!! I also try to get hubby to say hello to bb but hubby also feel rather weirded out....

kite, the tickets start from $46 to $11. Hee hee... you can purchase the cheapest ticket, as long as you are in the concert hall, no matter where you sit, the music should be just as good.

on the 3rd day of CNY, i went to watch Geisha. baby kicking throughout, cos the movie was quite loud.

i also realised baby likes the sound of 'live' guitar, once when i was at cell, baby started to kick when my cell group leader played his guitar.

of cos, not every kick means baby is excited, delighted. the best way is to feel your tummy, on top of your navel, if it is soft, baby is happy. if it is hard and tensed, better stop the simulation.

Volf:
me stil hvnt confirm my bb's gender. 50-50 only but instinct is gal. hehe. wil know next monday.
Taka baby fair or babycare festival better?

mspiggy:
me too do nothing except listen to classical music. storybook...me do encourage but i think i m too lazy. listen to music can rest n relax til slp.
367540.gif

hello ipanda
no, me not wif TMC leh... hehe, tink maybe can find bb music CDs in those mother/baby care shops also izit? Muz sound v cute, hehe...

i wonder when we listen to loud sounds (eg i was downstairs enjoying the lion dance), whether bb will be 'irritated' leh... My bb kicked me while i was trying to take a pic of the 'lions' via my handphone(!)... haha... prob she's heard the loud drum beats ;p

Amy:
me too. 3rd day of CNY, i went to watch fearless w hubby. Think movie's kong fu sound too loud, i feel bb's movement quite strong.
367543.gif

volf, mrs wong encourages us to speak to baby everyday, as if we are speaking to an adult, not in baby language. she even gave us a demo of what daddy can say to baby, call baby by name, share with baby what happened during the day, and also, be frank with baby, if daddy's day no good, must say no good.

hee hee.. my hubby will talk to baby every night, and play with baby (some games mrs wong taught us), read baby a short story from our lady bird story book, or sing 3-4 nursery rhymes.

sometimes when we are tired, we will explain to baby.
and without fail, we pray with baby.

if you do this at home, in the privacy of your bedroom, should be ok.

hi amy,
oh i c... if soft then baby not irritated... next time i muz make an attempt to find out, hehe...

btw, any of u noe wat's the best way to 'stoke' ur tummy / baby in tummy?

Hi Kite - So fun. Hv a gd time at the detailed scan next Mon
Me still cant confirm sex of bb leh. In the vaery early stage, doc said bb cld be boy cos we saw something that looked like his wee-wee. Then, at the last scan in Jan, he said that I might be having a princess! Aiyo! When I told hubby that, he was shocked cos all along he kept thinking that he will hv a playmate soon... and even started thinking of boy names!! We wanted to name the baby Zachary (Remembered by the Lord), or Luke (Gift from God), or Issac or Ethan.. now, we stopped thinking abt the baby names leow cos dunno if gal or boy ... haiz... problem man. If gal, I like Megan (Greek for Precious) or Victoria (Victorious). See how lah...

Hv you all started thinking abt bb names yet?

hi kite,
haha, yah, dat's the diffce betw boy & ger... generally, gers are closer to family...
Of course, there are a few exceptions also ah...

matched gal, when stroking baby in the tummy, stroke from bottom up, if clockwise or anticlockwise or top to bottom, will induce labour early.

alternatively, can play two games with baby, one is butterfly, fly from bottom up, one is right, left, top, bottom, pat you hands on 4 sides of tummy lightly, it's like peek a boo with baby...
mrs wong taught us these.

to feel baby, you need to stroke from bottom up, untill the end of your navel, you will feel it's like a hill, if it's soft, baby is happy.

volf, my baby's name is Jake (short for Jacob, Hebrew, the conqueror), middle name, Benjamin (Hebrew, son of the right hand).

We do not intend to give him a Chinese name, though we know our parents might scream at us.

hi all !
wow seems like a heap of discussion going on here !
am back from Doc, doc thinks it's stress causing my migrane cuz i have 2 ulcers in my mouth too ... so will be resting and sleeping more this weekend :)

Doc also commented my tum is quite big for 5 mths ! and I tot i was pretty small ! She said the uterus sld be just under the belly button at this stage. btw this is my fam doc, so not a gynae.

Kite: sorry to hear abt the accident, do take care and not stress !

On the first day of CNY, there was a near miss when a car travelling perpendicular to us beat the red light and almost crashed into my bro's car. I was seated on the right hand side and the other car was so close to me I cld see the guy and his race even !!! It really was a miracle my bro managed to speed up and avoided a collision. strangely, after that i was rather disturbed (the thought of having almost been hit by a car) and was even thinking of what if he had hit us, wld i have died ?? Was a bit stressed for a while, but i guess this is life, all very fragile, so make the best of it while we can

Anyhows, on to happier thoughts, i'm going for my detailed scan on Mon, very excited cuz I miss seeing the bb !

Kite: yar, it's really like a thump thump feeling right?

ok i better go rest now.
take care all and have a good weekend !!!

PS, my items from US have arrived ! how do i post pics to this forum ??

volf:
ya so happy can see bb again, its been a month liao....hmm seems ur bb playing w u n ur hubby, keeping u all guessing n in suspense. so cute. ask ur bb to be guai guai n let u all know his/her gender on ur next appt. or maybe his wee wee hidden or blocked? since its girl, did u see any lines? hmm but wat is ur instinct? Megan sounds nice too. Chloe means blooming in Greek

matched_gal:
ya there pros n cons. boy boy can look after n protect e hse while ger ger more sincere. cos my hubby always tell his ah ma, busy w work. even i busy w work, wil go n visit my ah ma. lol

amy:
the bb game so cute....my hubby too dun intend to give bb chinese name but i told him better give, wait attend chinese lesson, no chinese name like very funny leh. parents sure scream too.

Hi kite,

Hee, me and hubby opposite to ur hubby.. we very particular over chinese names and can do without an english name.

My hubby even take a chinese dictionary and run through every page leh!! Can u imagine??? I didn't believe it until one nite i saw him flipping EVERY page! I asked him what he is doing and he say he is looking at EVERY single chinese character in the dictionary to check out the meaning *faint*

Hi Amy,

I still dun quite understand the steps u described heeeee... i try to slowly comprehend later...