(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Okasan:
hey we will be doing the detailed scan on the same day and same place TMC! Who is ur gynac? i will be at level 6. u? my appt will be in the afternoon. how many wks u now? me 18 wks, so next wk 19.
i hvnt ask my gynac to give me MC. will do that on that day. But one thing i wanted to take 1 whole day off (though my detailed scan starts in e afternoon). Scare my gynac wont give me MC for 1 whole day if i request? paiseh if i ask?
366315.gif

hi All !
I'm 20 weeks, going to do my detailed scan next week too ! so excited !!
I borrowed a stethoscope from a friend and tried to listen to bb movement, but only cld hear my tummy growling (hunger!) and perhaps only one "thump" from baby last night.

*grin*

kite: am sure your gynae will give u mc for the whole day, dont worry just ask for it !

in my case, i feel a bit "bad" to take mc cuz only got one colleague covering me at work, and he quite "bitchy" one ... so am taking half day off to do the detailed scan.

k ong:
ok i will ask for 1 day MC, hopefully she wil give me. Cos the day before (this sunday), we will be praying cos my parents in laws are hokkien, so this sunday hv to stay up til 12am to pray. so next mon i thought of taking 1 whole day MC.

hmmm ...today the thread seems quite quiet hor
366337.gif
.... prob many are on leave ... envy envy
i feel so sleepy today... all the merry making ....v tiring.

kite,
u also at tmc! cool! mine is in the morning...I already got one day mc from my gynae liao....me wk 20 now...by next mon, still week 20

tinklebell,
for me, it's real busy day today...been working non-stop, even forget it's lunch time....

ya, a lot of people take leave till next mon then come back...so can enjoy long long break....

<font color="0000ff">ladies,
there's a babycare festival 2006 coming soon.

Details below:</font>

BabyCare Festival 2006 - Free Admission
Expo Hall 5B
10-Mar-06 to 12-Mar-06
11:00 - 21:00

okasan:
aiya u in e morning so dun think we can bump into each other liao hehe. r u gan zhong abt the detailed scan? i just hope bb is doing fine n well...gender wise wil be secondary. seems like alot of ppl doing detailed scan after 20wks. for me, doing at 19wks, okie rite?

kite,
coz detail scan is normally done in week 20-22..that's why most people in wk 20 when they do the scan..but wk19 is also ok lah...since your gynae din say anything...

me not kan cheong coz so far gynae says baby ok during all the visits....so nothing much to worry....just excited to see baby again and this time can see baby longer and clearer.....

wow!!! looks interesting. was thinking of buying the medela traveller pump. costs ard $600 plus (compared to $280 plus for the dual pump) ..... the good thing is that it comes with a power pack so u dont need batteries and can pump anywhere. donno worth getting or not leh.

Motherhood Chic - Worried about Breastfeeding?

Just as each pregnancy is a personal experience, so too is breastfeeding. In fact, I find there are typically 3 groups of moms:

1. Those who love it from the very first latch, never have a minute's pain and were practically born to nurse;

2. Those who have a hard time with sore nipples/milk supply/latching and find it hard to imagine that they'll ever love it; and

3. Those who decide that they are just NOT going to do it at all - it's not for them.

I DEFINITELY believe that "Breast is Best", but I know that it doesn't work for everyone.

For those of you who decide to give it a try (which I hope you do!), make sure to give yourself a chance to "settle-in". Although breastfeeding is a NATURAL process, it may take longer than you think to get used to it.

And speaking of Natural...

As "natural" as nursing is, I know that I had TONS of questions. For example, I wanted to know if I had to prepare my nipples. I also wanted to know WHAT it would feel like and if it would hurt? And most importantly, I wanted to know HOW to actually feed.

Here's a list of TIPS that I would've loved when I was preparing for my job as "Dairy Queen"!

5 Basic Breastfeeding TIPS for Mom:

1. When your breasts get engorged for the FIRST time (hello milk supply!!), apply a cool compress, like frozen vegetables. You can also try washed cold cabbage leaves (but don't leave them on too long they can drain your milk).

2. Drink LOTS of fluid. I know you've heard this before, but your hydration level REALLY affects your milk output. So aim for at least 8-10 glasses of water a day.

3. Keep AWAY from spicy or garlicky foods, especially at the beginning. I slowly started introducing more foods at around 4 months and found it worked well

4. DON'T wash your nipples with soap - warm water is good enough

5. If your nipples get IRRITATED and SORE, squeeze some breast milk on to them and rub it in.

6. RELAX! Stressing out WILL affect your milk supply, so do your best to "go with the flow"!

What to WATCH for in Baby:

1. Make sure your baby is latching on correctly from the VERY BEGINNING - this will ensure good eating and prevent sore nipples. Just in case you don't already know, a good latch means a wide-open mouth like a yawn over your areola.

2. Expect to feed A LOT. New babies eat at least 8 times in a 24-hour period. And don't worry if your feeds feel like they're REALLY long in the beginning, they DO get a lot shorter as your baby becomes more efficient at feeding!

3. When your baby is born his/her stomach is the size of a walnut, so don't panic if you feel he/she is not drinking a lot. Aim for small, frequent feeds (this info REALLY helped me out!). If you're at all concerned, don't be shy to ask your doctor!

4. Make sure your baby has LOTS of wet diapers to keep hydrated. A baby should wet at least 6 diapers per day.

Breastfeeding is a wonderful gift for both you and your baby - don't be scared!

Afternoon Ladies!

So sian, has been doing assignments for the past few days... and still doing now..

Oh ya, I know that in the post of last week or before, many of you were talking about cordyceps, "cong cao". I read that some of you say it's good for pregnant woman? Any of you drinking it now?

happy new year all mummies!!
ipanda77! great that you are also in the same class, then we can meet up soon! heard that this mrs wong was zoe tay's personal coach during her pregnancy. Mrs Wong grew up in Chinese medicine environment, but went to study western med so she knows both East and west stuff that we need to ask! friends all full of praise for her!
don worry i get the abdomen pains every morning when i wake up and climb out of bed..

kite: i love prata too! current fav at NUS "cheese prata shop"

angeline: have you went for the hospital tour? or can get a copy of the hospital charges from the TMC counter. They have very clear tables on the rates, and estimated cash outflow and how much to pay by Medisave. I'm surprised need to pay deposit to gynae too? tot you sign up package already then don need further cash outflow?

Any of you can advice what juice is good for mummy? i drink orange juice everyday, then my colleague say too cooling.. Starfruit le/

i'm still getting cramps every morning, it's really irritating! anyone knows how to prevent cramps? i'm already eating calcium/magnesium tablets, supposed to reduce cramps! i think it's my high cholestral, thus blood flow slowly, so cramp easily esp after one night of sleeping (never move)

thanks okasan for the baby fair update. let's meet up for taka fair!

hi tikberbell.. me too also thinking of getting medela PIS.. not sure worth it or not.. but heard that maybe we may think 2 pumps (1 electric and 1 manual).. so dun noe shd invest so much in PIS..

hmm.. got any bulk purchase discounts kind? if not we can buy in group..

kite, think shd be fine to scan in wk 19 cos i oso did my detailed scan at wk 19.. gynae said ok leh..

panda77, think it's fine to have the cramps.. me too have it whenever i stand up suddenly..

kite and kk, hmm.. yest when i went to metro, the sales girl told me that pigeon and avent can't accept each other bottles, so i thot they got standard slots.. I would go and ask more then..

Yeah.. Peg perego stroller is real nice.. still thinking abt it.. shd be going to bb kingdom this wkend to see whether they got more ranges..

hmm..maybe shd wait for march sales to c got promo b4 really purchase the peg perego stroller.. but wonder really need to have so high end types..

Josephine,

my friend also recommend Mrs Wong....So she is real good!! Will be going for my detail scan tomoro 2pm
366365.gif
...before that have to go sign up for FBI..then have to go pay for the Antenatal class too....$$$

366366.gif
so i am not the only one having abdomen pain...phew!

tinklebell,
for a pump that cost $600..think it may be better to buy only after u deliver. coz by then, u are more or less sure whether u will bf or not. coz sometimes, mothers cannot bf due to reasons like no milk, etc although they very much want to bf loh....

that's my thoughts

i_panda,
mrs wong is good...I saw her giving a baby massage demo during the first mum congress...she really makes the demo interesting and humorous loh....I'm attending her antenatal class in mar too....

will also be applying FBI, pay for the class when I go for my detail scan next week...haha....like that can save the trip to go down tmc...

is it more beneficial to get FBI? what benefits are there for FBI?

1) 10% off antenal - $18.90 (10% of $189)
2) Hopital charges - if we book 4 bedder, and get upgraded anyways (therefore pay 4bedder fee, but stay 2bedder) then no cost savings from FBI.

3) stem cord?

peng, i also think it's good to have 2 types of pump. i have the Avent pump. not bad just that i want to spend less time pumping so thinking of getting a dual one. most pp i know tell me they take ard 10 mins total pumping time, compared to my past records of 40mins for both sides. V tiring... if only i had known abt the dual pump last time then i wont have given up bf'g so quickly.

okasan, yap, u have a valid point lor. Hee hee ... i told myself this time i must read up more on bf'g and have determination to continue

Josephine, if you are delivering at TMC, definitely getting the card. If u are a Citibank card holder, got 10% off the card. The card is good for 2 years. On your questions on the benefits, off hand, i can rem a few:

1) 10% off antenal eg scanning
2) Hopital charges- not sure; different bedder diff discounts
3) stem cord? No, only Cordlife. $50 per year, max 9 years (only for 1 child even if u have 2 within 2 years of the card's validity)

For me, i got it bec of the Cordlife discount... i thought not bad lor since i pay less than $100 and get $450 discount... hee hee

okasan:
for me dunno y, sometimes i wil like worry whether bb is doing fine n well.

hidora:
me hvnt started drinking cordyceps but planning to take after 5mths....yes chinese physician advisd that its good for bb. Black bean soup also good. my mum has been boiling this wkly for me. my colleague said good for bb's eyes...(the black eyeball), not sure how true...but my mum said its good for health.

Josephine:
i hv yet to try the prata at NUS (the one besides a pet shop). Huh? can take those prata in cheese? eh me trying to avoid at times....
Starfruit is very liang, better dun take. its better to eat fruits.

peng:
Thot i m the only one who doing detailed scan at 19wks...Most of the time when i wake up in the morning, i wil feel slight abdoment pain. guess its e stretching of uterus.
oh really? Avent n pigeon steriliser cant accept both bottles? do keep me posted else i will be buying Avent one.

Ya for pumps, intend to buy after i give birth cos dunno got milk supply anot. else can rent from TMC n try first.

tinklebell:
the dual pump u mentioned is electric or manual? based on ur experience, manual or electric is better? avent oni has manual pump rite?
366402.gif

kite, the medela pump is it? i one i was thinking of getting is electric one.

i have the avent manual pump. not sure of whether they have electric one.

frankly speaking, i prefer the electric pump. i used to have one no brand one (it's a UK brand not widely sold here and i got it from a bb fair)...just fix to the breast then it will automatically suck and release. only thing is that sometimes the motor goes cranky... aiya maybe bec it's cheap one lor. the manual one is handy, easy to carry ard and doesnt have any sound when u pump (not so paiseh esp if u pump in toilet). only disadvantages are that the hand hurts and it takes longer to pump!!!

hi ladies - anyone still hvnt felt bb move? Am in wk 20 and still cant feel the fluttering feeling u gals described leh.... only when I press tumm that I wld sometimes feel slight 'tap-tap' movt. Am rather worried. Detailed scan only on 17 Feb - so far away...

Happy New Year

josephine,

didn koe tt we can hav the copy of hospital chrges from them..will get it at mth end..i was oso surprised when the nurse tell me got to pay $500!my gynae dun hav the practise of having pkgs...so we pay each time we visit him lor..
i heard starfruit quite "liang"..
FBI-- 1 bedder $100disc// 2 bedder $80disc.

Hi volf,

Try pressing your tummy at night? Give the press a slight pressure, so that you can feel that you are pressing against your uterus. The tap-tap could be your heartbeat? If you place your hand on your tummy long enuff, you can feel your heartbeat transmitting to you. And if you happen to feel a tap out of no where in between your heartbeat, that should be your bb moving.

Move around the tummy if you cant feel any sudden tapping for a long time. Your uterus is near your navel now. So try around that area.

Good luck =)

hi josephone

Really got free upgrades from 4 bedder to 2 bedder? I know my sis was upgraded at TMC too since she was with this gynae Dr Lawrence.

My mum also told me starfruit juice is very very cooling, that was why I often used as a fast remedy for my sore throat. Me dunno why cooked and drank two full bowls of green beans soup and a few sips of starfruit juice on Mon, though I know I was not supposed to. Maybe too frustrated with my internal heatness then I went to drink. After that, I felt cramp and sharp pain for few hours. Too cooling.

I think you dun drink orange juice too often too. That may be one of the underlying reasons for ya cramp.

Hi volf
No worry abt the baby movements. I felt nothing at week 20 too. Only somewhere week 21 then you may be able to differentiate. Some people oso feel it at their 6th mth.

hi hidora
I am taking the cordyceps too. But I hate to double boil with pork or chicken so I jus boil with wild ginseng.

hi pebbles
when i went for TMC hospital tour, they said they only have 1 room with 4 beds, the rest of the rooms are 2-bedder. So if we book the 4 bedder, high chance they run out of 4 bedder, so will upgrade us. Not to their benefit but good for us. And i think Dr Lawrence Ang also helps to get the free upgrade, he seems quite popular with the nurses hee hee. That day one nurse said "oh dr ang, he's so sweet!"

Volf, i also never feel bb also, but during scans doc says he's very active so should be ok. My tummy fats too much la

Juice! ladies pls advice what juice/beverage should i take during lunch/dinner. Spare me soya bean have that every day already! And i can't take milk (lactose intolerant)

does any of you have maids? please advise what is the process (who to call, how to select, how much it cost), i may have to engage one afterall as MIL requested.

Hi Hidora, Pebbles &amp; Josephine - thanks! Will try the method again and perhaps wait out. Told hubby that our bb is a sleepy one... cos by 8.30-9pm, there is almost no movts felts... think bb konk out leow.

Josephine - how abt take water or carrot juice or apple juice? Heard pp say not to take too much carrot juice cos can cause jaundice in bb.. just take in moderation lor.

Maids - am also getting one in Apr... think just call any recommended maid agency. You hv to decide if you want a filopino or Indonesian maid 1st. Some pp advise me to get a maid not too old and not too young ie. 17yrs. Those too young will not know what to do at all... Filopinos are gd for taking care of children I heard ...but you hv to give them 1 day off...am looking for burmese or Indon maid now. Cos I dun trust filopino... hv the impression that they seduce husbands, are very vain etc or bring men back. Someone in this thread (tinklebell?) also advised not to get filopino maids that hv long hair, long painted nails etc... cos shows they are very vain...

Cost - think maid levy is abt $280..then + another $300 + ....filopino more ex.

hi Good morning!

Volf, no no .... errr...maybe u got the wrong person ..not me lah
my ex-maid was filip... she was ok lah... like to dress up nice nice only lor... and she is in her late 30s so have a lot of white hair so she dyed her hair. they like to keep a nice appearance ... so also willing to buy products for skin peeling. other than that, she was quite good at taking care of children. The only thing i dont like abt hiring indon is that most do not eat pork so it's a bit cumbersome catering to their diet. i know some families actually force their indon to take that but it's a religious thing so my family wont force them to eat. i have yet to know of anyone who has hired a burmese. btw, what is the rate for hiring burmese?

tinklebell - oops.. sorry my memory failed me
Burmese - I need to check and get back to you... very few agencies do burmese maid leh

volf20

i thot the maid levy for parents who have child under certain age is only $200? Me trying to find the article but can't find...
366787.gif
366788.gif

volf, no worries

i_panda77, yap, i also recall that if u have kids below 12, then it's $200. so those pregnant mums still have to pay $295.

u must satisfy 1 of the 3 conditions to qualify for the $200 concession:

Condition A:
(i) the employer or spouse has a child who is a Singapore Citizen below 12 years old, and is living with him/her; or
(ii) the employer or spouse has a grandchild who is a Singapore Citizen below 12 years old, and is living with him/her; or

Condition B:
the employer or co-residing spouse is a Singapore Citizen who is aged 65 years old and above; or

Condition C:
(i) the employer or spouse has a parent, parent-in-law, grandparent or grandparent-in-law who is a Singapore Citizen aged 65 years old or above, and is living with him/her at the same registered address as in NRIC; or
(ii) the employer is a Singapore Citizen and has a parent, parent-in-law, grandparent or grandparent-in-law who is a Singapore Permanent Resident aged 65 years old or above, and is living with him/her at the same registered address as in NRIC.

U can look under MOM website.

Hey Tinklebell - Is there any particular maid agency you wld recommend? I heard some agencies are rather notorius.....

Morning ladies

Josephine,
I normally take orange mix with carrot juice, sometimes will take pear juice. Starfruit too cooling for us.

tinklebell &amp; volf20,

thanks for the info
366800.gif
...cos that day my MIL was asking if i apply for maid got lesser levy or not... i think she is tinkin of putting the existing maid under my name...cheaper

josephine,

try taking tomato juice...heard my friend said if you eat tomato...bb come out the cheek red red one...very cute. for me i don't eat tomato, so i drink the juice lor
366803.gif

panda,
i can't take tomato juice... dont like the unique taste. but i love tomato cooked with soup.

ladies, i've signed up for KKH anaental class...starting 11 Feb. anyone going for it?

panda,
yeah mix with other fruits definitely taste better

i quite like grape with apple juice too. but i heard we should not take too much grapes, is it true?

volf, i got mine thru direct hire... my ex maid was my auntie's maid's SIL. cant rem the agency name though. but not bad lor cos she even came to our house for us to sign the docs. no need to go down. i'll find out for u.

Dear mummies
okie i take tomato plus orange, mask the tomato taste hee hee. What about sugar cane?

any further maid advice? so vexed - don't like the idea of new person in the house.