(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hi Lyn
me got update: it's a Boy boy!

wah i don even save $300 a month, let alone $3k! bleak future...

antenal class $189 incl daddy also hor

Morning ladies

I booked my confinement lady as soon as I found out I was preggy. My mum and MIL stated upfront they will not help out nor look after baby.
This is quite unusual hor? Initially i was a bit disappointed that mum din want to help me out during my confinement, but on second tot, this might be a blessing, as a confinement lady can really give full support, whereas my mum cannot.

I am not keen on the idea of a live in maid, esp since only the maid and baby will be left at home. Hence, I have also visited a few infant care centers, and have decided on one between my house and work place. You will need to book a place in advance, esp with the more popular centers.

lyn,
u not extreme lah..I also intend to have baby sleep with me even during the first month....

cannot remeber the updates....nevermind, the mummies will update you if they see the chart still reflect old data..hehe...

wow, what biz u in??

Hi tinklebell,
I got critical illness and healthshield already. I bought cos so many people buying. I dun really believe in insurance now :p. My cousin is fighting against cancer, her insurance is not enough to cover and got lots of clauses... Luckily her family is quite well to do. I rather invest in my health now than on insurance..
It was in the papers that no matter how much insurance, there will not be enough coverage. Gotta read the small small words carefully.

Hi josephine,
I updated in my list already

Hi Amy,
Yap... take it as a blessing in disguise... I think my mum only say say that she dun wan to look after my baby. If I get my MIL, maybe she will be offended... Sometimes I really think women say say only... So dun be sad...
Maybe they just say say...

amy,
actually it's not weird that our mum or mil dun wanna do confinement for us loh....some mothers dun know how to cook confinement food, so even if they wanna help, also cannot...

both my mum and mil also not doing confinement for me coz both working....

lyn, ya lor, gotta read the words carefully. the insurance is like for standby lor... knowing that there is little monetary help is better than none. was just talking to my sil on fri... she told me that she wants to upgrade her insurance plan bec her insurance agent somehow has convinced her to....it seems that nowadays, we want to stay in the best hospitals, see the best docs etc etc... on the other hand, there is always a restructured hospital with subsidised treatment. if u want to stay in better class, then just have to be prepared to pay more. but sometimes, we just got to be a bit more realistic. my mother also had cancer but she didnt spend a bomb on treatment bec she did it in TTSH and SGH. total cost less than $20k. i also know of an uncle who had cancer at same time as my mother and had spent $800k on treatment at mt e!! if we had gone to mt e, then we would be bankrupt by now

okasan,
I think the normal practice or tradition is the baby sleep with confinement lady at night. And only bring the baby to the mum for breast feeding. Are you getting a confinement lady? My mum is urging me to find one. My mum said she can cook for me, but she no confidence in bathing my baby. I told her, then I get my MIL to come and bath my baby.. hahaha... I think I will think about the details during confinement when it gets nearer...
I am in network marketing biz related to holistic living. Now I am looking into venturing into another related biz to complement.

tinklebell,
Yalor... hee... I am one of those who will want the best of everything... :p Which type of cancer did your mum had? And what stage? My cousin had breast cancer at stage 2 and became stage 4 during treatment.

lyn,
ya, I know some mothers let baby sleep with confinement lady/mum/MIL at night...but I dun like the idea....would rather have baby beside me....but my friends around me who are mothers, they also sleep with their baby in the first month.....so it's not really unusual....

I'm the exact opposite, my MIL don't mind coming and do confinement for me, but i still thinking very hard. We don't stay with them, so it's also funny for her to come and stay with us. And i'm afraid i clash with MIL on how to take care bb... sigh. But to get CL is so ex!

Wow thread running real fast. Already 1 page liao.

Hi B2B3M4,
wow u actually got a free tricycle? how u manage to get it?

Hi Celeste,
ya Avent said to reduce colic n i quite like e hardy bottles. But the Avent silicon teats i touch like abit hard, scare bb dun like. If really dun like, wil switch to Pigeon teats.
For taking care of bb, my parents gg to shift nearby my hse n help cos existing flat for them is too big, so thot of selling existing one.

Hi tinklebell,
Hmm cos my mum very free n plus 1st grandchild. She actually volunteer to help me out. Dun feel depressed, its really not easier to handle once got kids. maybe u can employ a maid. Think i shld enjoy the moment now, wait til bb comes out, cant relax that much liao.

Hi Josephine,
Congrats on ur baby boy

Hey me been eating those small mandarin oranges since i bot fr chinatown but stopped last 2 days cos oranges said to cause phelgm on bb. better dun eat too much. maybe limit urself 1 orange per day.

Hi volf,
me too want to close to my bb. Actually i got a few frens who leave their bb from mon - fri. Then wkend then bring back bb which i dun really like cos i want c my bb daily. Then my fren warned me w bb, hv to wake up many times every nite n next time got panda eyes.

wow seems like confinement lady very ex. Hmm as for confinement food. My mum said she wil prepare pig legs w wine and red date drink. She said cant drink plain water.

Btw i got a colleague who engaged a malaysian confinement lady. She let her bb slp with CL. But then my fren advised CL not to close & lock e door w bb inside but CL attitude went to close n lock the door despite my fren told her many times. In e end, my fren very frustrated w the CL and send her off. CL ended up talking bad words behind my back to another fren who recommend.

Dun think i can stand this kind of ppl, somemore so ex. Luckily my mum willing to take care during the confinement period.

josephine,
your worry is valid loh....imagine your mum/mil will be "fighting" with you to hug baby, to sleep with baby, etc...

at least if it's confinement lady, you can juz tell her what you wanna and there's no hard feelings (one employer and one employee), but mum/mil quite difficult to tell them coz they are our elders afterall....if tell them this cannot, that cannot, they will feel that we are rude, dun respect them, etc, etc, etc.....

but with mum/mil's help, really can save money loh...also, with them around, you can sleep at ease coz they are someone you know...if it's confinement lady, dun know if the lady can be trusted or not when you are sleeping, etc...

aiya, either confinement lady or mum/mil, both got pros & cons

364120.gif

kite,
I also dun wanna be weekend parents....the thought of going back to work after 3 mth already made me heartpain liao...imagine only get to see baby during weekend...no way loh!

it's best to bond with baby when young...to see them grow...baby grows real fast....I think it's worth sacrificing some sleep for baby's sake loh....

I got one friend, even worst case. her sil never care abt her kids..just dump them at her house (she stay with her mum) everyday, even weekends...even milk and diaper also dun bother to buy loh....I wonder why in the first place her sil wanna give birth...somemore she gave birth to 3 kids, all 3 kids are dumped at my friend's house...

sometimes, it's really luck loh...lucky enough, you find yourself a good confinement lady.....on malaysia confinement lady, heard they are cheaper and they are more willingly to do more things...but not easy to find one good one unless got people recommend...

volf20,
agree with u....i tot of being SAHM or doing those freelance work at home also...but there isnt much of such jobs to go around...*sigh*....but i might consider being a SAHM for 1 or 2 yrs when i have my 2nd child
...cos i like u, also wish to be there for the bb during the early yrs ;)

tinklebell,
haha.....u in the financial planning line? :D
Me also feel that its best to save for our own retirement....I hoping to retire around age 50-55 also...by tat time my kids shld have graduated or near graduation. But need to plan lor...so now me and hb got life insurance as savings and on top of that we do some small investments in equities and save some $ as well
But realise that when bb comes we wont be able to save as much cos need to spend a lot of bb expenses alone...*sigh*...wat to do...$ no enuff...haha

okasan,
same here, i tink i will wanna have bb by my side...unless like need to let my body rest then prob will let confinement lady help in nite feeds...depends on situation bah...hope bb can bond with mi and hb more than others...

yeah. tinkerbell.. i know what u mean.. the cost of living in spore is so ex.. yeah.. the thot of retirement is almost impossible if we need to save that kind of $.. dun forget that our bb by time may be in univ by then.. how to retire early?? no choice, juz take 1 step at a time.. even for this bb, we got to spend so much liao..

josephine, congras to ur bb boy.. is it what u hope for?

hi lyn, dun worry abt being extreme.. do what u want to give to ur bb.. hmm.. i also got think of sleeping with bb.. haha.. i hope i will be able to wake up from the bb crying.. haha..

celeste, no lah.. i not in financial planning. just that i'm a treasury accountant lah. count and count ...somehow dont seem to be able to reach there. haha!

peng, agreed, cost of living is v high. education cost is also rising. i just heard that a singapore medical deg will cost $400k by the time it's our children's time to go uni. aiyo!!!! think next time i can only retire comfortably in some ulu island.

tinklebell,
hehe....no wonder u r gd at numbers...:p
actually every week SundayTimes, they got a section on financial planning one....i sometimes will read on the topics....the other time saw that in 10 yrs time....local uni education for a kid will be $125k...which means 2 kids will be $250k...*faint*...then i told hb...imagine must save for their tertiary and must save for our own retirement....haha

Re: Confinement lady
Its good to have some interaction w the lady b4 engaging her. some of them will believe in certain practices, better to trash it out 1st. if not in agreement, better not engage, otherwise, can cause more agony during your confinement.

Re: Live in maid
benefits: can have more interaction with BB while the maid settle the household chores. can work out cheaper than to get a baby sitter + part time help. BUt definitely need someone to oversee, agree it is not safe to leave them alone, esp for Indonesia maid. as for part time help, u can actually leave them to do the hosuework while u r out. just need to be there for the 1st time, usually reliable n work very fast. do not need as much monitoring as live in maid.
But do get a maid earlier to work out your expectations. otherwise can be very frustrating trying to juggle maid + a NB baby.

Re: co-sleeping w bb
I slept with my daughter on the same bed til she's one. we do enjoy a certain bond which hubby dun enjoy. but can be frustrating sometimes bcos she only insist on having me at nite, even when i'm bathing (got to rush thru my shower) Oso easier to breastfeed. dun need to wake up in the middle of the night to make milk. just turn around n she can drink. but must be careful when they can turn, she fell off the bed once.

cost of living also very much depend on the comfort level we wanna lah....some family can survive with $2000, while some families still in debt although the income is $5000....

we also try to save money and do some investments...but realise with baby, really little spare money left...unless both hubby and myself got higher pay...sometimes, I wonder why inflation rate is never the same as our pay rise rate?...so unfair...hehe...

okasan,
agree with u
I read in New Paper before...got a family with 5 kids...survived on a hsehold income of 2.5k per mth only
...it all depends on whether we are willing to give up on some luxury items or not

haha.....our pay like never rise according to expenditure rise hor :p

ya lor... agreed... depends on how u spend. last time my dad sal also ard $2k plus can support 2 children and my mum leh.

hmmm... how come salary never seem to increase one har? strange hor.

ya lor still 12%, unless u earn more than 4.5k. The max cpf is pegged at 4.5k wef 1.1.2006 (was $5k in 2005). so technically, it's $60 pay cut for those who used to earn more than 5k lor.

These few days i find my hands n feets quite swollen..can feel the tension when u bend ur feets or bend ur hands.. any of u experiencing that now? not sure if its normal..hmmm is it due to water retention?

Wah thread runs so fast!

Tinklebell, okasan, Celeste Blur, Kite - Am so glad you gals feel the same abt being close to our bbs..at first, I thot only I was getting a bit paranoid compared my SIL. For her case, I also wonder why bother to give birth in the 1st plc. My MIL also rather upset with her for not taking more effort to be close to her 1st born. Sometimes, I think my MIL is the mother to SIL kid. So terrible.

hello kite
ya i am eating lotsa of the small oranges, eat now, in Jun bb will still have phelgm? so far away.. another sinful confession, yesterday went to have Buffet @ raffles hotel!! sigh, only limit myself to 2 oysters as not good for bb... and foie gras too. First time try, quite nice! but only can have a small piece (smaller than 1 cent coin)...

okasan: ya at least CL you are the boss, you tell her what you want/don want. With mum and MIl difficult to tell them off, like don respect them like that

Peng: No i was hopping for bb GIRL. in fact Josephine is the name we wanted to give her.. my real name is Jo! hee

ya getting CL is based on luck one.. like choosing maid.. But this one month very impt must be more careful. Better to get thru friends, not from websites..

okasan,
Oh I see... hee... then I am normal to let my baby sleep with me in the first month

I think as mothers, gotta sacrifice our sleep and energy for the baby

tinklebell,
Wow.. Your mum is so good... Got any "mi jue" in her health maintenance? 9 years already should have recovered rite?
My uncle in KL just went for surgery for colon cancer two weeks ago... Cancer is getting so common now.

Peng,
haha.. I also worry whether I can wake up when baby cries... Think my hubby will have to shake me to wake me up.. lol...

tinklebell,
aiyo....last time max ceiling is 5k izzit? Me never keep track of this cos i dont earn so much yet...haha :p

volf20,
haizz....now this is wat i wish i can do lah...but when bb pops donno whether still can be determined enuff to keep to the way that i want anot

yeah lor.. so sad to c everything go up except our salary.. my colleagues told me when she gave birth last time, stroller is abt $60.. but recently she went to buy for her niece.. she is so shocked to see the strollers selling at $300-1000..

lyn, yeah.. hopefully our maternal instinct will make us wake up haha..

angeline, think u have to start doing some slight exercise.. for ur feet, lift it up whenver possible, then flex your feet towards and backwards from u.. for your hands, rotate your hands clockwise and anti-clockwise.. got somemore that i have learned in the lessons but hee hee.. forget liao.. go bk and ask husband..

josephine.. oic.. nvm.. it's god's will.. juz hope all our bb will be fine regardless of genders.

lyn, i wont call it mi jue lah.. just that she takes lots of fruit juice such as wheat grass, green barley, tomato and carrots. sometimes she even grows wheat grass herself for consumption. Also, if they got strong religious faith, i think it helps too.

Celeste, the cap was previously $6k then reduced to $5.5k and all the way to $4.5k gradually.

peng,
stroller costing $300-$1000! *faint* I got a hand-me-down from SIL....haha..although bo brand but can use for time-being can liowz...if not gd enuff then will go and buy another one ;)

Angeline,
me dont have any water retention yet...but sometimes will get a bit of body aching here and there

tinklebell,
will u be driving to tmc on friday? Me thinking of parking at the nearby shophse the hdb carpark...the tmc carpark so exp...$2/hr *sigh*

celeste, yes, will be driving there. i thought of parking opp at the kopishop carpark but must go across the overhead bridge right?

lyn,
mothers are wei da coz they sacrifice for their kid's sake mah....lost sleep still ok, better than lose the bonding with our kids....

Angeline,
do you eat salty food? heard salty food can cause water retention...but my gynae got told me before that sometimes, water retention happen regardless of diet, etc....maybe can try soaking your leg in warm water to soothen them?

Okasan - heehee... you know I got craving this morn for mandarin oranges cos Jo was talking so much abt it....

So, I hunted ard the office & pp desks for oranges... finally couldnt find any and had to call boss's PA forit..Tks gdness she had... and I satisfied my craving leow... now I want MORE!! hahah

<font color="0000ff">re: water retention</font>
found one article....

During pregnancy, the body produces approximately 50% more blood and body fluids to meet the needs of the developing baby. Swelling is a normal part of pregnancy that is caused by this additional blood and fluids. Normal swelling, which is also called edema, is experienced in the hands, face, legs, ankles, and feet.

This extra retention of fluid is needed to soften up the body which enables it to expand as the baby develops. Extra fluid also helps prepare the pelvic joints and tissues for opening up to allow the baby to be born. The extra fluids account for approximately 25% of the weight women gain during pregnancy.

Swelling may be experienced at any point during pregnancy, but it tends to be noticed around the fifth month; and can increase while you are in the third trimester. The following factors may also affect swelling:

- Summertime heat
- Standing for longer periods of time
- "Long" days of activity
- Diets low in potassium
- Higher levels of caffeine consumption
- Higher levels of sodium intake

Slight swelling is expected during pregnancy, however if you experience sudden swelling in your hands and your face, it could be a sign of preeclampsia. It is important to contact your physician about any sudden swelling.
Swelling may be reduced by eating foods that are high in potassium such as bananas and avoiding caffeine. Here are some other helpful hints for managing swelling during your pregnancy:

- Avoid standing for long periods
- Minimize outdoor time when it is hot
- Rest with your feet elevated
- Wear comfortable shoes, avoiding high heels if possible
- Wear supportive tights or stockings
- Avoid clothes that are tight around your wrists or ankles
- Have your legs massaged
- Remove your rings before your fingers swell up
- Drink water which helps flush the body and reduce water retention
- Minimize sodium (salt) intake, avoid adding additional salt to meals

tinklebell,
is there a kopishop carpark there? I only know there's the old shophouses behind got one carpark...its at the junction of balestier and thomson road...then cross the traffic light and its tmc liowz

volf20,
u make mi feel like eating mandarin oranges again...my home fridge only left with one...haha

hahhahaha. You know I think in the Apr / Mar thread, the ladies were talking so much abt pizza that they ended up eating lots of pizza... at least we are eating more healthy food

mandarin orange is so juicy and sweet, esp when eaten cold...of course crave for it...haha...lucky I never buy any..coz I know it's hard to resist when you can lay your hand on one..haha...

celeste, oic... i think it's the same carpark we talking abt. no o/h bridge? in that case, if not raining, maybe i will park there.

I'm a Jun 06 MTB too. Been reading this thread on and off whenever I have time. Nice to see so many Jun 06 MTB here!

Hi Lyn,
Can you pls update my info?
EDD : 25 Jun 06
Gynae : Dr Selina Chua
Hospital : Mt E