(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hi kite

think mrs wong only teaches on wed and sat.. but lucky for me, she happens to teach on sun just for my session.. whew.. u might want to cfm with parentcraft..

amy, if your bb is too big, not advisable to take durians cos it might be hard for u to have natural birth.. durians are very big and tend to give bigger bbs..

tinkerbell, according to mrs wong, it is true that bird nest produces fair and nice skinned bb.. it dun cause asthma as long as u take good bird nest.. the asthma is actually caused by the impurities in the bird nest.. err.. actually not too sure how to choose good bird nest.. try to buy from reputable ones and choose one of the best grades types.. try not to go for those bottled cheap types cos there are more sugar water than bird nest..

Kite: I have a copy of the taka maternity checklist, quite detailed.
You can get one from the cashier near the baby's dept.

Re washing powder, I bought pigeon ABD. I heard Kodomo is also good, smells nice, but might not be able to remove milk stain. Napisan is best for removing milk stain.

Attached is a copy of some tips on what to buy.
mime_msword.gif
mummy tips
MUMMY TIPS.doc (45.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Amy,
Did you buy the Avent IQ24 steriliser(digital) type or the normal one? Wondering how much is the IQ24 one.

tinklebell,
I do take birds nest...but onie occasionally...like once or twice a mth...tink that is not too much...shld not be a problem bah

okasan,
i think can take bird's nest bah...but dont take too much....i know of a fren whom take the birdsnest like once every 3 days or so....the bb got skin allergy

Anyway, the hospital pharmacy also sells milk powder... last min also can buy lor... no hurry... last time hospital used similac... but we ended up using enfalac bec no more similac in the pharmacy , hee hee ..good thing my boy boy not so sharp to recognise the difference.. he was pepetually hungry so any brand also he could take.... only ard 3rd day then my breast milk came... and was really engorged (argghhhh.... super painful experience!!!!)

Peng, hee hee...luckily I am not a fan of durian. And yes... I am controlling my diet now. Will also continue to exercise regularly, to prepare myself for a natural delivery.

amy,
what kind of exercise you do? I'm only making a point to do slow walking whenever I can...but no idea what else I can do beside swimming....

okasan,
true also...then try taking more fruits bah...i try to take more fruits as compared to b4 i am preggie...

Celeste, yes I bought the IQ digital steriliser. I think I paid $178 before the 20% discount at Metro.

Also, you will be able to get a good price on the Avent bottle warmer at the Taka Baby Fair. It cost $52 at the fair, outside selling about $70. I managed to grab one from taka at the baby fair price.

Wow this thread runs very fast within 15mins.

Hi Tinklebell,
Heard Mustella bb bathing accesspries very good but more ex rite? johnson johnson gd enuff?
So far as volf recommended the Dragon brand bird nest, i bought 5 superior bottles cos no time to boil. So far since Dec i bought, i hv only consume 1 bottle for 2 wks in Dec cos scare too liang for bb. think i wil consume another bottle next mth. the rest wil take after give birth.

Hi Okasan,
Me too trying to control mandarin oranges as oranges are my fav esp those very small sour ones. I hv secretly been eating for a few days but feel guilty now cos bb might hv phlegm if eat too much.
u okie? how many wks u in? me last 16 wks stil feel nauseous n vomitting. on n off.

hi starfish,
me too i intend to ask MC for my detailed scan next mth. So which mean u already hv the MC from ur gynac liao? or u wil appear MC from ur office n then ask a MC fr ur gynac on that day?

Hi peng,
thanks. do if i book the classes, i must request for Mrs Wong rite? or by default she wil be on wed and sat.. only 1 class on 1 day rite?
Btw the bird nest i bought is named as Dragon brand superior quality cost $65. so far oni consume 1 bottle in dec, dare not consume e next one.

peng, ya lor, actually i am quite skeptical of those bottled ones. i think they also contain preservatives. better ask old folks to get it for us. so ex also lah... cant afford to take it too often too.

aiyo... on durians...better dont take too much lah... my first pregnancy i took a lot and put on a lot of weight
had a hard time losing the extra fats.

Hi tinklebell,
is it true every mummies wil get breast engorgement? in tis case, cant BF rite? cos i intend to BF.

Hi Amy,
is it essential to buy bottle warmer? in bag form?

okasan, i swim 3 times a week. However, recently, been getting quite bad rashes from the chlorine in the pool.

Will also be heading the gym near my workplace for the threadmill walk as well as bicycle.

After attending Mrs Wong's antenatal class, I am also doing some streching exercises at home.

Amy,
the IQ steriliser fits all bottles? Cos I might start buying these big items first....so must make sure the steriliser can fit all types of milk bottles ;)
btw, bottle warmer is for wat?

kite,
I also try to control eating mandarin oranges..one way is to get your hubby to share with you, then you dun need to worry abt eating too much...

I'm in my week 18..actually my MS already gone when I'm in wk 14..but dun know why today feel nausea again..weird...

as for mrs wong class, it's on wed and sat, for all the classes..meaning afternoon or evening, will be by her...when you book, just double check with the lady that the particular class you select is by mrs wong will do...

Re jamu massage, hee hee... me very KS, booked a Malay jamu for 7 days + 3 (if required). Also booked a confinement nanny for 6 weeks.
Now can set my mind at ease that i'll be well cared for after delivery.

hi okasan,
thanks for e info. actually i like those very small oranges which is very sour. This kind is also called "mandarin oranges". i was eating those for e past few days bought from chinatown.

Amy,
din know can do threadmill and bicyle...I'll check with my gynae if I can do these as well...coz I used to go gym, but stop when pregnant...if can do, then it's great to go back to gym again

wow, you book jamu massage so fast!! cool! where you get contact for jamu massage?

kite,
really do not need many bottles. a small one for around 120ml n one big one at 250ml will be enough.
Whether to rent one or buy one, really depends. if buy now, clash with sales n bb fair, can get lots of freebies n great discounts. but sometimes, mothers may not used it bcos they have problem breastfeeding (its really not easy) n it can become a waste.

Re: car seat
Think the best car seat should be Safe and sound. it can take infants from 0 to 2 yrs b4 putting them on booster seat. but they can be quite bulky. so if your car is small like a 2 door or Nissan March, may have problem fitting it in.

Re: Things to prepare ofr newborn (NB)
3-4 sets long sleeves button/tie up shirts
3-4 sets long pants
4 wrap around blanket (hooded/non hooded)
10 small towels / bibs for milk feeding n blurping
2 larger towels for bathing
3-4 short sleeve / romper
1 bath tub
1 Pampers Premium NB
1 small 1 big milk bottle (+ teats)
1 Drapolene nappy rash cream
1 bag cotton wool (cut into neat squares for nappy changing times n eyes n face cleaning)
1 sterilizer
1 baby shower gel
1 small basin for wiping n cleaning up baby
a file to keep all the documents
1 nail clipper

For mummies,
Breast paps
sanitary pads
nursing bra / tops
dry shampoo
Nipple cream

Optional
baby cot
warmer
change of bed sheets
changing mat
breast pump
car seat
stroller
milk formula
baby detergent for laundry and bottles
baby sling
Diaper bag
pacifier
musical mobile
floor mattress if co-sleeping with bb

Celeste, the Avent sterilser can fit the Avent breast pump as well as Avent milk bottles and can store up to 3 hours after sterilisation.

Of cos, before sterilising, must wash bottles, so I got the pigeon nipple, veg, and bottle detergent.

The bottle warmer is for heating up milk or food from the fridge. It will automatically heat up to the correct temp for baby (takes about 3 - 5 mins, I think, depending on size of bottle). Fits all Avent bottles.

Hi Amy,
Thanks for the useful attachment. Like you, i might be buying all Avent brand but this brand seems not cheap. The steriliser u bought is steam kind? comes in oni 1 size rite? can put estimate alot of stuffs n how many bottles? How much is the food warmer?

kite,
ya, I know what you mean by those mini mandarin oranges...I also love those...I'm worry abt the coming new year...scare will overeat coz the new year goodies are just too hard to resist..haha...

Bras:
btw i bought 2 triumph with no underwired bras last sat though each cost average abt $20+. I hv tried on the triumph nursing bra but dun think i wil buy now, wil buy later, not cheap $35 if i remember.

Teats:
When bb arrives, do u use teats for newborn or slow flowing types? cos the big bottles i bought come w slow flowing teats. any difference?

Kite, yes, the steriliser is steam based, only one size. I think can put two small and one big bottle plus breast pump. Not sure, have yet to try...

But the steriliser comes with free 2 small bottles, 1 big bottle, and 1 drinking mug. All bottles comes with teats.

amy,
scroll thru the list u have attached. pls do not use cotton buds. baby ears or nose need not be cleaned. just wiped the external will do. my girl is already 1 n a half n the Pigeon cotton buds i bought for her since birth has never been used.

Kite,
u actually do not need a whole set of bath accessories. the basic will do, shower gel n nappy cream. pls do not use baby powder. it can get into their nose n eyes n cause allergic reactions. Personally i find J&amp;J shower gel good. no reactions from my daughter.
warmer is not nec. it is used to warmed up refrigerated breast milk. can be warmed up by putting bottled milk in a cup of hot water. only problem is that it can take v long n can be very frustrating when bb is crying out loud for milk.

bottle warmer can be optional...you can put the bottle into hot water to warm the milk...but never use microwave to warm the milk coz microwave will not warm the milk evenly, so may scald the baby if some part of the milk is too hot...

kite,
dun buy nursing bra now...too early!! buy nursing bra when you at 7-8mth...coz by then, our breast will be more or less fix at the size...if buy now, chances are that you cannot wear when nursing...

B2B3M4, oops... i got the cotton buds lo... hee hee.... will see how, else, i can use them.

For bathing needs, initially, i wanted to get the mustella relaxing bath milk and the foam shampoo, but now, i might just get the Lactard wash for baby as well as the mustella nappy cream.
And yes, powder should not be used.

Amy,
thanx for the info
But I still donno if i wanna get Avent bottles or not....cos it means the Avent steriliser can only go with Avent bottles and pump? I am thinking of getting the Medela pump...hmmzz....and i heard bout Dr. Browns and Nuk bottles...heard they r quite gd too...*sigh*...really at a loss

celeste,
you can get pigeon steriliser then...coz pigeon one does not come with the holder, so can throw anything inside to sterilise...in that case, you dun need to restrict yourself to one brand loh...

Celeste, you might like to consider the pigeon steriliser, as I heard it is bigger and can contain Avent bottles and other bottles as well. Furthermore, it's cheaper and you might get a good price at the Taka BB Fair.
Maybe you can ask the salesperson for more details.

okasan, great minds think alike. Hee hee..

Re taka bb fair, i heard it's in March, but i am not really certain myself.

agree abt the Pigeon Rapid sterilizer. Fast, good n reasonably cheap. n it fits everything including my Medela pump accessories. dun get those sophisticated kind, cos' if u plan to BF for 6 months n have a maid. easier to teach them these idiot proof appliances.

Celest,
dun get too bothered by the bottles. some bb gotten used to a particular brand of teat while hospitalised. your whole set will be wasted.

amy,
ya, I also heard the fair will be in march...but that's all I know too...I'll keep a look out...meanwhile, it's a good time to start jotting down the prices of the items I wanna get...so when the fair comes, can buy all those that's really good deals...

B2B3M4,
hmmzz...okies..thanx...cos i juz heard tat some bottles helps in reducing colic? donno how true it is also

okasan,
me also using mustella stretch mark cream now...but a bit sticky...hehe....my tube half finished liowz...might have to get another tube

wowo thread moves so fast..

amy, u so active.. do so much of exercise.. gosh... i am lazy mom.. hee hee..

any1 knows what to eat for liang.. cos i love durians.. so can be heaty, want to eat something liang to balance it.. aiya i am also trying to control from eating durians juz in case bb gets too big or i will be too fat.. but haha. i am trying to control..

oh dear.. i am eating bird nest like once or twice a wk.. err.. considered as too much?? hmm.. got to tell hb to stop.. cos he keeps asking me to eat..

peng,
I heard some ppl say can drink chrysanthenum tea but i dont dare to drink even though i am having a sore throat now....only trying to drink more water and drink fruit juices....

peng,
watermelon not bad....or after you eat durian, drink a bit of salt water loh...quite effective leh...

celeste,
my tube also half finished liao....u apply twice a day or once only? din find it sticky leh...thought it's just nice, not oily...

counting down to knock off!!
363661.gif

celeste,
cannot drink chrysanthenum meh? I always drink leh...my mum say just dun drink herbal drinks that you have no idea what herbs are used....some herbs are too cooling for us...

Celeste Blur - The avent steriliser can take other types of bots. I tried it. The only diffce btw avent &amp; pigeon is that the latter does not hv indiv. holders for bottles. You can arrange the bots as you like. For avent, there is a removable bot tray for easy stacking of the bots. Perhaps you shd go see the various sterilisers yrself- clearer
All are gd. Maybe after looking will u be able to decide which one you prefer. I bot the avent digital one even though I dun think I will be using the avent bots. It can fit the wide neck nuk bots and any normal necked bots...and has that removable tray..

Ladies - According to the salesgal, the Taka Baby Fair will be in 1st wk Mar... so look out for it. Will be buying all my stuff there then...ie. nipple pads, bb wipes, bb accessories, clothes etc....salesgal told me they will bring more brands in incldg Mustela..no Nuk brand though.Taka does not carry Nuk.