(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

I did thought of joining the classes initially..but advice from friends is that when actual contraction comes..you will forget what you have learnt..after much consideration I decided not to sign up..

I am currently reading up books on pregnancy and giving birth..

hi volf,
nope. FOC.
I called to make appointment and asked for the different timings. Then my hubby n i just gathered at the reception counter at 2pm on a sat which i guess only available on sat.

I was wondering to attend the antenatal classes. which mth is best to join and wil gynac advise you or we automatically go by ourselves to sign up?

Hi okipoki,

nowdays my legs very very dry n sometimes abit flaking. but me too lazy to apply any moisturiser leh.

nowadays weather very cold. i wil wear pyjamas w a sweater over n then bottom i wil wear my hubby's track pants. LOL like a clown walking up n down inside my hse.

Matched_gal,
to play safe, u better test before u apply the cream if u hav sensitive skin. cos during pregnancy, we tend to hav weak skin...easy to get rashes.

I will be gg for Mt.A tour this sat.
I have also enroled in the antenatal class this Feb. How abt u?

spicegal,
I doubt the dark line 'linea negra' will disappear aft deliver cos my friend aft her daughter 2yrs old still can see.

Kite - OIC. Was it useful? For antenatal class, my gynae recommended we go in Mar.. 2 mths before we pop. Any earlier - we are likely to forget. In any case, the hubbies are most important to help us remember the breathing techniques, and how to massage us...etc.

hi matched_gal,
i remembered last sat when i went for my 4th appt w gynac at 6th flr, it was very peaceful n quiet.

However, my hubby n i need to do blood test on that day and we proceed to 4th level to the laboratory for the blood test n thing was in a mess but no reno (probably sat no reno). i can see those gynac clinics located at level 4, their patients sitting outside. everything else is normal to me just except lvl 4.

hi volf,
actually to us its quite useful cos that time we stil blur blur. So good as in we can visualise how does each individual delivery suites look like (different suites how big n etc). And they wil introduce what are the facilities they offer.

then 2 wks after the hospital tour, TMC called me up to ask me n hubby join a free tea session on what packages/services/courses TMC offers that comes w free refreshments. The speakers did presentation slides and did answer some of our qs.

sugarbun,
eh, i also register for Feb class @ Mt A leh... on Saturday afternoon. Same as ur timing? ;) I din register for the hospital tour dis saturday tho (wanted to, but no time)... Can update me when u've gone? Thank you!

kite,
oh, maybe only level 4 reno... i deciding betw TMC & Mt A... they're quite close to each other... but seems like both got reno... hmmm.. Maybe i shd call up to ask when the reno is expected to end.

Hi all...

Hope evryone is doing fine and well..

Hey I finally felt my gal moving and kiking these few days.. am in my 18plus to 19 weeks now.. its really miracle.. its like a bubble popping or bouncing frm inside on and off.. and sometimes if you lie flat and put hand on the lower tummy.. you can feel it too..

My hubby at fird dun believe me.. cos he say only 18 weeks where can feel.. then this morning bb was veri active.. so i ask him to put his hand on my tummy and wait awhile.. he finally feel it.. and was so happy too.. hahaha

hello Celeste,

I'm in my 20th week... Just two wks ago, also felt baby moving, and in the following 2 weeks, the "kicks" getting stronger & more obvious. Sometimes, can see right-side of tummy more "bloated" than left, and sometimes vice versa... Hmmm, wonder if it's baby hiding at a certain corner, haha...

Hi matched_gal,
same timing as u, sat afternoon. But i rmb the first class will be on weekday (tue?), did the lady tell u?

Will update u after the tour.

sugarbun,

my first class i fixed on a friday instead of the tuesday... Was given two choices, so i took the later one...

btw, u decided ur delivery hosp oreadi? Or go for tour then decide? Duno how the payment for the class will be made if hvn't decide hor...

okie, thank you in advance for the update!!

Hi matched_gal,
Think I will decide the hospital soon...now still trap btw Mt.A & Glen. Prob will join the Glen hospital tour too before decision. Maybe i can ask the question rgd the payment this sat if i remember cos now memory getting poor.

sugarbun,

i c... Gleneagles quite a nice hosp too, i heard fr my colleague who delivered there abt 4 mths back...

my memory getting bad these dayz too... can't remember stuff to bring, esp when rushing in the morning, hehe...

hi Celeste,
wow so cute can feel bb's movement liao. i cant wait to feel mine. stil got 3 more wks to go b4 18 wks. hehe

hi Celeste & matched gal
wow your bb can move at 18 weeks liao. Mine still not moving, everyday i lay there hoping my tummy will move.. me 18weeks too.

josephine,
dun worrie, it will come. I was also quite worried, dinno how to identify movement. Then one fine day suddenly have one strong flutter(!) - very distinct. Wait a few more days till 19 or 20 weeks sure got kicks
Until then s'times u want to sleep also cannot ah... ;p

Dear matched gal
thanks for your reassurance.
My friend's bb only started kicking @ 6mths!
thing is, i still not accepted the fact/ready to be a mommy, so hoping that if bb move i will bond with him/her more. and feel more "maternal" ..

hi josephine,

hehe... I also mentally not prepared ah... In fact, this pregnancy was an 'accident', and i had only discovered it during my 8th week
So dat time worried not enuff nutrition/precaution... But so far so good lah...

Actually u can bond wif ur baby by talking to him/her. I read up in a website, placing your hand to your tummy (where baby is) can help to reassure him/her... Maybe you like to try & talk to your baby at the same time

Matched gal
i think it's ME mentally not prepared. Don feel like talking to bb. dunno what to talk to him/her about. Of course i love my child. But just cannot accept the impact of a kid in our lives. My friends don't have kids yet, i think when i have a kid, they will not hang out with us anymore.

hi josephine,

Tink it's an acceptance period all of us go thru'. I've to give up lots of my personal interests & nowadays don't spend as much time wif my frens anymore... Even lunch partners sometimes i paiseh to have lunch wif.. Cos i'll be on the lookout for maternity clothes, whereas my colleagues will be interested/busy chatting about other stuff... sighz(!)...

Never mind! You can still chat with us here
Maybe can spend more time wif ur hubby during this period & bond together as a family too...

Morning Mummies!

Another cold morning again.

Btw today Straits Times "Urban" talk about Wong Li Lin expecting her 2nd son whom wil be delivering next mth. And other articles on pregnancy and eating Placenta will make them younger. I cant imagine eating own placenta......hehe
Happy Reading!

hi matched gal
thanks for the advice. My hubby is absolutely head over heels in love with our baby, which is good. he's the one reading, fussing, and getting ready to be daddy, which is good. at least the emotional support is there.

kite: morning! Eeeks eating our placenta is a really horrible thought!

Hi Josephine,

Think on the bright side. My pregnancy also "accident" one. We actually plan 1 to 2 yrs after wedding. But who knows within 10mths of wedding, i got pregnancy. at first, i also feel abit lost n scare, dunno wat to do as not prepared. But now i m very happy i m pregnancy w my dear bb. Cos i knew that soon or later we wil be hving bb and y not to get pregnant as early as possible.
by the time, ur frens wil be envy ur bb so big liao. While we r young, stil hv e strength to take care as compared to older not much energy left liao.
Think positively okie

kite,

Was also tinking along the same lines...also planned for 1-2yrs after marriage to have first kid, hehe...
But this month is my 1yr wedding anniversary & already i'm 5 months' pregnant ah... ;p At least u got to enjoy ur 'er ren shi jie' longer than me, haha...

hi matched_gal,

Happy 1st Wedding Anniversary to you. hehe

My 1st wedding anniversary was last mth. lol. hehe

kite,

hahaha, thanks... time seems to fly huh... I feel like lots have happened since i've gotten married... now my hubby 'hiam' our house too small oreadi, cos he says once bb out, he got no study room... but too bad, can't move house rite now, haha ;p

matched_gal,
hehe ya. its just like yesterday hehe. very wonderful moments rite??? For us, quite okie, we got a study room n letting the guest room to bcome bb's room. So hv u started decorating bb's room? me very lazy leh, hvnt start anything yet.

btw any recommendation on where to buy nice cheap dresses? i got a few dresses but wish to buy a few more. I also realised panties not enuff to wear liao lol. what kind of panties u bought?

hmm so hv u joined e prenatal classes? i hv yet to decide whether to join n dunno which mth is e best n correct time to sign up. wondering gynac wil recommend to sign up or we hv to sign up by ourselves?

kite,

i also feeling very lazy ah... used to be an avid gym go-er... now ask me to exercise is like asking Mr Sun to come out these dayz, haha

bb room i hvn't done anything... tink later sure last minute rush... hehehe... My hubby also lazy... tink the rain these dayz also make us abit more xian... can't go out and look ard for tings, hehe...

cheap dresses... i hvn't found any yet. Only found expensive ones, haha... At m)phosis... Actually tink they can only last me a few months. Duno how 'big' i will turn into during 3rd trimester... But anyways, i bot one m)phosis dress... Went to THIS FASHION to look ard and tempted to buy their halterneck babydoll dress, but difficult to wash lah - so many beads. Plus, duno if quality good leh...

so nowadayz, i've also been cracking my head about wat to wear every morning to work... the weather has not helped me cos some of my clothes hvn't dried yet ah...

panties... i've been wearing those loose cottony ones (had them b4 i were pregnant & only wore them at home). Also tried on the low-cut ones... less 'stress' on the tummy. But duno whether gd a not leh. Those that are selling in the maternity boutiques usually 'cover up' half / whole tummy... very expensive too... yikes... Actually hush puppies ones are rather comfy, hehehe...

yap, i signed up for antenatal class next month liaoz. U better sign up early, else got no more vacancies ah... It's up to you whether or not whether want to join (but for me n hubby, we're really 'greenhorns' when comes to taking care of bb, so we tot better join) - dun tink gynae will sign up for u leh...

matched_gal,

me too, for bb room, think when near bb delivery, wil then think of what is neccessary cos now not sure what to buy first.

i thot of gg metro for cheap dresses but not sure got nice ones anot. already got a few but seems scare cant wear liao til 3rd tri. then got 2 dresses, more for 3rd tri, cant wear now.

for work, i stil wearing like office-wear like. be it cardigarn + bottom or shirt + bottom. my colleague can see my top is getting tight. i dunno when wil i be starting to outgrown my existing officewear or start to wear maternity tops. i hv no idea. u, started wearing maternity tops?

i think low cut ones shall be good, maybe wil buy more of this from truimph. ya those maternity ones very ex but comfortable.

ur antenatal classes at TMC? how much n how many sessions? not sure useful anot?

tinklebell,

hi there tinkerbell

Thanks! And definitely looking forward to more noise ard the house, haha ;p

kite,
yah, maybe can try metro too - i hvn't tried there (far fr my ofc leh)... Maybe wkend muz go hv a luk, hehe, i running out of clothes...

until now, i've bot about 5 maternity tops (2 of which are "casual" types - meaning, only can wear on friday when dress-down). Have also bot maternity pants & skirt. The skirt i bot fr JB, RM99, not dat cheap, wanted to leave for CNY, but end up nothing to wear today, so started wearing today oreadi ;p Quite comfy ;)

Till last month, i was still wearing some of my 'old' clothing (those i wore when i was 'heavier' - the stomach area looser, hehe)... But now feeling tight & uncomfy, so started wearing maternity liaoz...

Signed up for the Mt A antenatal class (Tink it's around $150 if not delivering same hospital & $126 if same hospital - if i dun remember wrongly)... altogether 5 lessons (each lesson 2 hrs, 1 wk 1 lesson)... Heard TMC classes on Sundays also have, but too late, i signed up for Mt A's oreadi, hehe
Can visit website to call them if u interested
I have Mt A's number: 63476333

hello kite
i'm thinking of signing up TMC antenatal - want to sign up together.

going for hospital tour on 23 jan.

i also quite vexed about no clothes to wear, but also don't want to spend so much on clothes that wear for 9mths only. Better co-od all the mat clothes that i already have carefully and only buy only those that i need /not those i want.

i bought a second hand pants from the motherhood thread, only $15 but i will not buy second hand again. It is impt to try for fitting. pants are nice, but wrong fit, sigh, will pass to my friend...

matched_gal,

how many wks are u now? i m 15wks
so far stil can squeeze into a few of my old clothings. if not, wil wear a spag top inside w a cardigarn over.

so what are u planning to wear for cny? i planning to wear a flare dress w or w/o a short cardigarn depends on e weather. or if i manage to get some nice dresses within these 2 wks, then wil wear e new one.

on my last appt, gynac said actually i dun look very preggie, just that my stomach looks fat. hmm my weight taken on last sat appt was 45.7kg.

Thanks for e info. Still considering whether to sign up for e class.

Hi Josephine,
Hmm me stil deciding whether to attend. cant confirm.

me too dun intend to buy alot. so far i hv 2 maternity office pants, 2 office skirts (starting wearing since 6 wks) cos existing pants n skirts cant wear. Then bought 2 dresses which i think can wear during end 2nd tri to all e way. 1 demin capri from spring. 1 white embriodary stretchable pants. 2 halter neck tops for 3rd tri. thats all. dresses n tops hvnt start wearing. only start wear bottoms. very little.

then wkends i wil always either wear the spring demin capri w a spag top or my existing batik wrap skirts (cos can adjust the tightness i want)

just want to share that i think Tom & Stefanie's maternity range is quite nice and cheap. They have their "Stefanie" brand as well as Moms r Rus brand. I just bought 2 dresses @ $39 each during lunch! so happy! CNY settle, now just need to buy cardigans..

josephine,
wah, where's dis tom & stephanie's? And Mums r'us? Sounds like a gd buy leh

kite,
me 20wks liaoz... wah, u v light leh... *envy*
Me before preggie was ard 48-49kg... now oreadi 53.5kg(!!) yikes...

CNY i'm planning to wear a bright-blue baby-doll low-cut top fr m)phosis wif maybe black skirt / pants bottom. I'm saving my dress for a wedding at the end of Feb, so can't wear leh (cos it's my relative whoz getting married, hehe)... So i'm only left wif one pc of CNY / new clothing (and it's not maternity wear, haha)... sighz... need to buy more liaoz...

i oreadi hv cardigan... but nowadayz i use shawl in the ofc... some colleagues saw me fr behind dinno i'm preggie cos shawl cover my tummy liaoz... hehe, but infront quite obvious, although colleagues hv been commenting my tummy's quite small as compared to another colleague whoz about 4mths+ preggie... ;p Well, as long as my baby gaining weight, i'm happy liaoz

hi matched gal
Tom & stephanie @ Bukit Batok. they carry their own "stefanie" as well as "mom-r-us" brand. Retail therapy is good for me
kao_babydust2.gif

think i will take stock of the clothes i have so far, and limit my purchases.. getting too tempted too easily

josephine,
wah, veri far leh... tink i can't go there liaoz... too far ah... i work ard central... haiz, then i'll hv to miss out on the offer..

for me, seems like i'm quite hard to satisfy... always spend long hours trying out, but at last didn't buy... Other than the "non-maternity" shops i went to, went Spring, Cloud9, but till now, only picked a few pcs fr Spring... Maybe i'm not used to seeing myself in maternity wear dat's y... ;p I also stop myself fr spending too much... I tell myself oni can wear fr a few months' more anyway, whereas my hubby kept stressing next time for consequent pregnancies still can wear ;p I said maybe dat time i xian oreadi, want new clothings, haha

Matched gal
Spring currently having sale, have you checked it out.
I think there are other Tom & stefanie around, not sure where though. my friend said Woodlands have..

hi okipoki

the triple test cost $300.00 includin the consultancy too. I hv yet to sign up the package. the nurse said they will only take in when detailed scan result is out... in case there is any abnormalities, they will recommend MTB to go govt hospital which has higher subsidy rather than spendin more $$ in pte hospital.

allo sugarbun
i m fine
my ger ger has been active, been moving ard when i was in wk17 already. now her movement is more active...keke. U goin Mt A visit this sat.. let me know more abt it okie cos I hv yet to arrange. I know they are hving some construction extension on-going. Do we need to book the room or wat? Any idea??

yah..

Spring having sale...just received their email..
its 10% for non members.. on 13th AND 20th Jan onli.. 12pm to 3pm..

Hi Josephine,
Really? i didnt know Tom & Stephanie at BB carries maternity wear. Probably i will pop by. What kind of dresses u bought from there? $39 quite reasonable. Can last til 3rd tri?

really? spring got sales ah, its been a mth since i went there.

Hi matched_gal,
wow u are 5 mths liao, me next wk then 4 mths, so i guess so not obvious when u were in ur 4th mth?

No need to envy cos me petite so match my weight has to match my size else look like a watermelon. hehe

i dont know mine considered small or big but colleagues starting to suspect liao hehe. yup most important is bb healthy. btw urs is bb girl or boy?

for maternity clothes, i tried not to buy alot. oni buy when i need it. cos if buy too much, dunno can fit well anot cos dunno how big my tummy wil grow til. hehe

Hello Kite
I was pleasantly surprised too by the dresses i found. One is a tube, but not the super body hugging type, like top is tube, but bottom is like baby doll dress. It's polyester i think, very comfy, and soft. i bought L size, my current weight is 54kg. The other dress is pink, like baby doll dress, and plunging v neck. i think inside need to wear a camisole or tube. Will buy cardis to match this weekend!
kao_love.gif

why you still never tell your colleagues you pregnant, now already 4mths! i purposely wore mat dress for xmas party last month, to announce that i'm preganant. No point let tons of people guessing around. And i was putting on weight, so look "motherly" better than look fat right?

Hi Josephine,

wow such a good buy ah. hmm i wil check it out soon.
Hopefully got my size? either S or M cos i m petite?

eh actually i m working in a office with mostly guy environment. how to tell wor. But if they ask, then i wil tell them. else i wont announce. i oni tell close ones. how many wks r u in? know gender liao? u started wearing mat tops? me oni wear mat bottoms but not tops.