(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

<font color="0000ff">re: long hair</font>

I'll also keep my long hair...coz can tied...just wanna ask around to see if anyone same as me loh....coz I always see preggy women cut short their hair...but I cannot tahan how I look in short hair

<font color="0000ff">re: playpen / cot</font>

me too..getting mattress for baby when older..think safer also...some of my friends actually switch to sleeping on the floor instead of their bed when their babies get older loh...so I see no point in buying a cot that can convert to junior bed...coz unlikely I'll let baby sleep there coz scare he will drop onto the floor

lyn,
for me, funny thing is from morning wake up until around 10am i sure feel sleepyz one, after that then my brain will finally start waking up...haha
For the Mphosis babydoll dresses, are they able to last till 3rd trim?

tinklebell,
heehee, ur boi dont like to be in a confined area :p, guess I will see how first, might end up getting both playpen and bb cot...haha

okasan,
Went metro yesterday but saw many ppl queueing up, so ended up didnt try the bras, maybe i try to go during weekday nites

Celeste,
I dunno if those dresses can last till 3rd trimester. Maybe they wun... I dunno how big I am going to be till the time comes. kekeke... I went to the maternity shops and tried some dresses, they look so big if I am going to get something that can last till 3rd trimester. I do not really like to wear very loose clothing. They dun look good on me. The maternity tops that I have now looks nice on me now, but I dun think they can last till the final trimester if I am growing too big. Now, I am buying the smallest size maternity wear. If the cutting it's big, I cannot fit in even the smallest size. I am hoping not to grow too big.. hahaha.. like my friend... She's giving birth this month. I saw her last week and she's just wearing her hubby's polo tee.

Tinklebell,
Did you put your baby on the mattress on the floor since birth? I am also considering getting a good mattress for baby and put on the floor, instead of getting a cot.

lyn, no, i only start putting him on mattress when he was ard 4-5 mths old....after he fell off from my bed at nite at ard 4 mth plus. he used to sleep on the same bed as me after 3 mths or so.

tinklebell,
Do you think it's easier for baby to sleep in between mum and dad? I also thought of doing that after reading that it's easier to breastfeed baby at nite if baby sleep togather with me...

lyn,

for bb to sleep between mum and dad... gotta consider a few things ... in attachment parenting, that is advocated and it give mummy and bb easy access to each other to breastfeed on demand.

However, need to consider the size of your bed, and your sleeping habit.
Newborn are fragile and if u or hb are v deep sleeper, then may accidentally suffocate or injure bb.... MAY happen... though most of the time when we become parents, having a newborn next to us, we tend to be extra careful even when sleeping

Another thing is, some school of thought say it may cultivate overdependence.... dunno how true.

We took a mixture.... by placing our bb in the cot right next to us beside the bed till now. The bed and the cot is physically only separated by the cot's wooden rail
If u want, at first u can even lowered the cot to the same level as your bed and lowered/removed the side rail near the bed. So that the cot become an extension of the bed lor
Bb can even see us when he turn.... when my bb do not wanna sleep in the middle of the night after feeds or if he wake up ... then i place him in between us to sleep so that its safer and we can still watch over him easily without even sitting up... We do not want that to become a habit though, so we put him in the cot most of the time right next to us. So it still give access to the bb and vice versa.

My gynae told me his eldest son in primary school right now still refuse to sleep alone.... only wanna sleep with him and his wife. I hope my boy has the right mix of attachment and independence leh.... but i also am a supporter of most of the attachment parenting concept (like feed on demand, carrying the bb as and when he demand etc this is opposed to things like controlled crying method)... but modified it to suit our parenting goals.

re: putting bb on mattress since birth

frankly I wanted to do that for my 2nd bb... cos glenn doman recommend that we let our newborn bb sleep on a crawling track on tummy right from birth. This way, by 1 month the bb would be able to crawl quite a distance liao.... part of the brain development program.... my concern is i am worried that when i still have my stitches and pain in the teething first 2 weeks, it may be painful to keep benting down to carry/attend to the bb every 2 hour or less.... so maybe a mattress in subsequent month when we become more mobile would be great too

lyn,
Ya, agreed....when i go those maternity shops, they always ask mi to get something looser if I want the clothes to fit until i give birth, so its like when I wear them now it looks a bit funny...haha

Hi poohy,
Thank you for the advice. I did consider the "danger" of baby sleeping in between us also. Actually I also dunno which type of parenting I will choose. kekeke... I havent read up on that.
What is a crawling track? It's very tempting to get a mattress for baby
. I still dunno how to get that arrangement comfortably. I wanna get a good mattress for my baby. I haven't seen a good mattress that is the size for a baby cot. I dun wanna end up with my baby not wanting to sleep on her own bed, and wanna sleep on my bed instead. That's what happened to my friend's kid cos she did not get a very good mattress for her kid and end up the kid wanna sleep with her cos her bed is more comfy.

Hi Celeste,
Now very difficult to buy clothes that will fit us nicely hor? I bought an adjustable pants. I got the smallest size available and there's still space for growth. I am still not used to very loose clothing when I go out... At home, still ok...

lyn,
ya....i think we juz have to get used to the maternity clothes.....but i think u probably is quite small-built? Cos for my case, the clothes i get from the maternity shops are around M-L sizes...hehe
As for mattress, have u heard of BabySafe? Saw it at Robinsons before, heard its quite gd but i tink it costs arnd $150 for a mattress?

tinklebell,
i juz got the call from the clinic assistant....there's no morning scan for 27th Jan, she make the appt for me at 3.30pm....haha

okasan, actually i am refering to milk bottle sterilzer machines, not milk bottles hee hee.. dun noe whether can use old ones for that..

i am thinking of getting 1 cot n 1 playpen for the bb.. 1 cot to be slept in my rm and then 1 playpen for the nanny/ mil..

tinkerbell, as for me, likely in m 2nd n 3mth mths of my confinement, i wld go to my MIL during the daytime so that there will be some1 that can take care of my bb and meals in the day while hb is wking. hee hee..

Oh yes, I will certainly bathe and wash my hair during confinement.. can't imagine not doing it haha.. but wonder whether can tong not to wash for 1-2 wks.. but I one day oso can't tahan.. so probably won't achieve it. hee hee..

Any of you feeling itchy around tummy area these few days? I'm kinda worried, cos i tried not to scratch, but it's really bcoming unbearable

re: bb sleep on mattress

for me, I'll rather place bb in the playpen's bassinet for a few months first...coz the height is just nice for us to carry baby, change diaper etc...if place on mattress, will have to squat down, troublesome...esp for the first few weeks with the wound still fresh....

for those babydolls sell at normal boutiques, me can't wear coz the chest area too tight for me...so I went striaght to maternity clothes....

btw, when considering clothes..do also remeber that beside our tummy that will expand, the chest will expand too...so most normal clothings may not suit us anymore when we reach 3rd tri....think maternity clothes still the best...just need to get used to it...when I first wear maternity clothes, also weird weird...but now so used to it liao

Hi Okasan,

I had this bbdoll tops problem too. I have a few bbdoll tops bought before pregnancy. Tummy area fits but chest area doesn't, so got to buy bbdolls under maternity wear category.

Hi Matched gal,

Why not apply olive oil or some anti stretch mark cream around tummy area? This is what the info i gathered from other threads. I myself feel itchy too, and sometimes cannot resist scratching haha.. luckily no stretch marks so far. Perhaps tummy growing slowly...

Hi K Ong,

Yup, the detailed scan around 20th week is for abnormalities too. Abnormalities will show in DS cases. If results from detailed scan are good, very high chance that the bb turns out to be fine. Detailed scan also to show whether organs are developing properly

And of course, detailed scan to confirm the gender of bb

Hi Celeste Blur,

Heee, i am still wearing my normal bras.. bigger sized than before. I only wear my nursing bras when i wanna go strapless. i bought the nursing bras that time because i needed some strapless bras and haven't bought them and happened to drop by perfect mum so grabbed three. They were on promotion too. They are really comfy with the underwires

hi okasan,

tks for the advise.. great, i can re-use.. but i still need to buy 1 more cos need to put 1 more at MIL/ nanny.. sigh.. exp..

matched gal, yeah, kk is right.. need to apply more anti stretch cream cos your tummy is stretching..

medusa, congras to your bb boy.. really got a hao zi.. 1 girl and i boy..

lyn,

ya bb safe is a good mattress to get!
It has mattress of various size and definitely have the size that fit a baby cot or even playpen
but maybe can get a bigger mattress cos that will give bb more room to move around when they sleep...

<font color="0077aa">kk,</font>
ya, I got a few loose dresses which I thought can wear through my 2nd tri...coz the tummy area very loose one....but I was wrong...although there's plenty of space for my tummy in these dresses, the chest area is simply too tight for comfort....

anyway, maternity clothes can also wear after delivery since we don't get back to shape so fast, esp at chest area if we are breastfedding

<font color="0077aa">re:stretch marks</font>
din know cannot scratch when itchy leh...I just scratch whenever the itch comes....but lucky no stretch marks on tummy yet....I already start using stretch marks cream coz my friend told me good to use it early to prevent stretch mark from appearing...the cream will give the skin more elasticity hence "preparing" the skin for the expansion...anyone using stretch mark cream already? what brand do you use?

Hi Okasan,

I always woke up recently in the middle of the nite to run for the toilet. I guess bb getting bigger and feel higher urge to let go water heeee... my work makes me too tired liao, after i woke up go toilet, i can still go to bed and sleep like pig.

Today is public holiday. Do take a good break

Hi Okasan,

I bought a few dresses for CNY from spring and cloud9 last month. I took out and tried 2 days ago. Tummy area ok, but need to adjust the shoulder straps to release more space for the chest area. Hopefully can still wear when CNY is here!! If last minute cannot wear, then i go without new clothes for CNY liao!!

Cannot scratch tummy area and chest area as they may leave unsightly scars behind, even after pregnancy. But i ta boleh tahan lah, so i also scratch hahahaa...

Yah lor, i also heard the cream must start to apply early, else no use liao. Since i never apply early, i might as well drop the idea of using. My tummy not really itchy now, compared to earlier months. Only chest area continues to itch. But everytime after bathing it is ok liao
I think sometimes the sweat, dirt etc also cause itchiness. So have to maintain cleanliness at all times

Good morning(!) Yawnz...

kk,
(hey, u're in dis thread too, hehe
i also applied olive oil, but still itchy leh... Tinking of putting powder, but duno whether if powder will cause dryness... hmmm... My chest also itchy, but not as itchy as my tummy leh. Sometimes got red-red spots when i scratch, so i c oreadi dare not scratch liaoz... hehe..

Tink i'm gonna ask my gynae if got any medicine can apply to stop the itchiness...

Okasan,
I woke up at 2am last nite (to go toilet) ah... and cudn't sleep till i gulped down a glass of hot milk at 5am
Veri jialat recently. Last time can sleep thru' the nite straight, but last 2 weeks not sleeping veri well... Tink abit stressed @ work also... haiz...

I also bot a few babydoll tops &amp; dresses (last month m)phosis got sales in Isetan), want to keep for CNY, and hope chest doesn't expand till can't wear then...

Hi Matched gal,

Heee, i kaypo so pop in this thread too :p

Me opposite.. chest area more itchy than tummy area. Ya, when i scratched my chest area, also red red patches.. but after bathing in the evening then not so bad liao.. so i dun really bother about it for the time being :p

Do u itch frequently??

Sigh, when i think about my work, i can't sleep too, after i have woken up for toilet break. Luckily not every nite feel stressed, if not chiam :p

How's all ur CNY shopping? So many things to buy... not only bb stuff, but also need to shop for new year goodies. But really feel excited that festive season is coming

hi kk,

Itching everyday for the last 3 days. Last time didn't itch dat much... Tink maybe i reach 20th week dats y... I juz read the parenting.ivillage.com website &amp; it says will itch more dis week cos of stretching...

After bathing not too bad... It's always in the middle of the nite / early morning, or before i bathe when it's itching most... oh dear...

Have you started ur CNY shopping? I haven't, hehe... Dun tink i've enuff to wear for CNY actually, how many pieces of 'clothings' u've stored up for CNY?

hi hi.. u gals are so early.. oaskan, i also like u sometimes.. after toilet, dun feel like sleeping already.. but will juz lie down on the bed to have some rest.. yeah.. toilet breaks are getting more and more often..

hmm.. but i am getting more and more worried.. very scared that bb will play with the cord and stillborn.. choy choy.. but i juz can't stop that fear.. sigh.. bb hasnt started kicked me yet, so i really dun noe whether he is ok inside.. haha i told my hb how i wish he is a gynae so that we have the scanning machine and can see bb anytime whenever we want, instead of waiting once a mth... so long..

yes, kk.. started some CNY shopping, but haven't bought much... juz take it slowly.. do u gals find yourself more tired these days?? i dun noe why these days i am quite tired.. it's like shopping for a day, the next day i need total bed rest.. very jialet

Gers,

Me too feeling itchy on chest and tummy area. Couldnt sleep thru' the whole nite these few days. The chest area tend to itch in the middle of the nite and I do have some red patches. I tried to endure the itch but sometime really cant help to scratch it.

Anyway, I have already start using the stretchmark cream. Am applying the clarins body treatment oil &amp; mothercare stretchmark cream.

I went to cloud9 @ Suntec yesterday but couldnt find anything I like. But seem like u gers managed to find alot of nice stuffs. Did u gers went to the Suntec outlet or UOB oulet ? So far I only got some babydoll dresses (not meant for maternity type) for CNY.

hi okipoki

i always call up cloud9 1st b4 goin down, askin them whether there is any new arrival so as not to waste my trip..keke..

i do racki shops at far east plaza too.. think the young crowds must b wonderin why this pregnant lady comes here and shop..keke. can find good and cheap buy. LOL. i buy watever that fit me at the moment.

U are also under Henry Cheng rite.. finally i hv someone same gynae w me. How many wk r u in already? Me now at wk 20... times really flies

yest i was down w fever 38 degree, runny nose and throat sort, really unbearable. no choice hv to take medicines from GP though i remind the GP many times i m pregnant n GP said its safe. But i feel guilty feeding my bb w medications
now i m feeling better liao. GP said its the cold virus since weather very cold now. Remember u all must take care too.

Btw these 2 days since i m taking medicines from GP, i didnt take any supplements for bb. Is this okie? cos i dun want to mix both supplements n medicines together. pls. advise.

hi lyn,
wow the nursing bra u bought very cheap leh. i shall go n take a look. under bonds brand rite?

hi okasan,
my hair was long w highlights. then recently i trim it shorter (stil long hair) cos cant bear to cut it short. btw my hairstylist commented since i got pregnant, my hair bcome thicker n more.
yes we r similar. sometimes i wake up for toiletbreaks at nite n then i cant go back to slp anymore. making me even more tired on the next day of work.

i hvnt started using any anti stretch mark cream cos never see any leh. btw i can see 1 dark line from my lower abdomen to my pelvic area there. wat is that ah?

hi tinklebell,
sure no problem. take ur time

hi medusa,
wow! congrats on ur bb boy. Perfect item! so did u plan for your 2nd baby boy?

Hi kk,
my nipples always feeling very itchy one, i sometimes keep scratching leh.
i do not hv any stretch mark. do i stil hv to use the cream?

btw do u all hv intercourse w ur hubby since after 3rd mths? hmm me wanted to ask gynac but paiseh leh lol. is it safe to do? haha

hi kite

it's safe to hv intercourse after the 1st tri la. but of cos cant b so rough as before wor.. later bb wonderin what's the thing that keeps poking. hahaha. u can chk w ur gynae to reassure.. no need to b paiseh la.

Hi Dor,

Me too getting those I can fit now. So far havent wonder into Far East yet, maybe will drop by over the weekend to have a look.

Yesh, I am with Henry Cheng &amp; should be in my week 16 when seeing him this Saturday. Btw, any idea how much he charge for the blood/triple test ? SO have u sign up the package with him yet ?

Kite,

My nipple also itch &amp; my friend recommended me to apply johnson baby oil. I suppose is safe to have intercourse with your hubby but do check with ur gynae for advise.

hi Dor &amp; Okipoki,
hehe. i was wondering when hubby shoot inside, my bb wil wonder what is all this mess. can shoot rite? wont harm bb hor cos bb is protected by waterbag lol haha

Last sat when i visited my gynac, wanted to ask but paiseh. in the end, the session seems very short, like nothing n qs to ask. aiya.

really? johnson bb oil helps? maybe i shld try. but i m afraid if absorb inside nipples like no so gd? thats y i always just leave it alone.

Hi Matched gal,

Ya, it is pretty itchy in the late evening before bath heeee...

I stored around 4 dresses for CNY

Have been doing some shopping for CNY every weekend. haven't been doing much spring cleaning yet. Oh No! Seems like so much things to do yet so little time. Simply no time during weekdays.

Hi Kite,

It is ok to have sexual intercourse in the 2nd trimester. Whenever i go for my gynae appt, he will end the session by telling me what to do and what not to do. He always say exercise - swimming, brisk walking and riding on stationary bike. And he also say eat anything i wanna to. Lastly, he say can still continue sexual intercourse heeee... this is still what he told me on my appt last weekend

But for me, i have refrained from it since pregnant. My tummy getting bigger liao, find it so inconvenienet and "strange". Hubby somemore getting fatter hahahahaaha... can't imagine he lies on me, i keep thinking he will squash my tummy flat :p

Hi Kite,

If u wanna use the cream, have to start early, else pointless to use at later stage liao. Like now, i haven't been using it before so i won't start on it liao lor.

Hmmm, i remember when i took GP medicine when i was sick, i still took my vitamins heee.. i didn't know can mix or not. But since vitamins is a routine, i just take lor, together with GP medicine.

Hi Okipoki,

For my cloud9 dresses, i got all from suntec. I didn't pop by other branches as there aren't many outlets too.

<font color="0000ff">re: stretch mark cream,</font>

for those who has not use and dun wanna stretch marks appearing...good to use now...coz my friend also thought the same that since no stretch mark so dun apply till later stage...then during her 3rd tri, one morning, she suddenly realise all the marks appearing...by then, apply the cream also no use liao....

<font color="0000ff">peng,</font>
it's natural to worry about baby esp when we can't see them. But dun get yourself too worried...a lot of time, we worry for nothing....might as well think positive and enjoy the pregnancy....Positive thinking is healthier for you and baby...

<font color="0000ff">kite,</font>
you really should ask your gynae abt intercourse. coz different pregnant women, different case loh...normally, in low risk pregnancy, gynae will give green light loh....

don't be paisay abt it...remeber that the gynae alsready seasoned liao...they are so used to answering all these questions....

lastly, if unsure, then don't do loh...

<font color="0000ff">kk,</font>
only after I saw the comment from matched_gal that you are also in this thread, then I realise you are actually May MTB...no wonder you in your 6mth....me so sotong....

Hi kite,

Erhmm not too sure but my friend is already a mother of 1 kid (abt a year old) &amp; she said can apply on the nipple.

Good Morning...v cold morning v nice to sleep.

kite,

hope u are better today. I've found the receipt. You've got mail.

Good morning gals!

Hi Celeste blur,
Ok thank you
Maybe I will go to Robinsons and have a look this weekend. My hubby got a letter for discounts for bed, bedlinen, etc...

I was 47kg before pregnancy. kekeke... I slimmed down from 54kg.I am not very tall.

Hi matched_gal,
I had itch near my surgery site last week and I scratched. Now I had scars already

Hi Okasan, kk,
Just to check with you gals, what's your breasts size now? I noticed my breasts have grown, but I am still wearing A cup on bigger cutting bra, or B cup on smaller cutting bra. I have not grown very fast in this pregnancy.

Hi Okasan,
I am becoming a light sleeper nowadays. Sometimes I will wake up early in the morning and cannot get back to sleep nicely.
I am using olive oil. I use it like once a week... kekeke... most of the time, lazy to apply.

hi ladies!
Just went cloud 9 Suntec yest found nice dresses for CNY.

Itchy problem: i bought 2 creams, one for stretch marks (avent) and the other for nipple (Mothercare), get itchy quite often too, and not too nice to scratch during work.. i think no marks yet but still diligently put stretchmark cream to minimise stretchmarks in the future.

my bras are getting too tight too, where can i buy bra extensions?