(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hey KK, congrats!!!! am v glad your tests turned out well
so, it's a bb girl ...got lots of nice clothes u can buy.

re: bottle
my nieces and nephews all use nuk. i think i will use that for this bb. the shape of the teats supposed to simulate that of the nipple. it's quite unique.

Just went for my oscar test this morning at tmc... appointment was at 900am. i went earlier thinking that i could finish the test asap and go back to sleep bec didnt sleep well last nite. supposed to be a 20 - 30 min thing but i was there from 845 to 1230! it took me 5 scans before the i could take a proper scan of my bb. first 3 times, it was lying upside down... 4 time, i couldnt hold my bladder any longer so gotta let go and that affected the position of the bb. **hiaz*** was so tired after that
sad to say, still couldnt determine the gender of my bb.

kk

congrats on having a girl girl.... can start burning pocket liao

tinklebell...

wah u really waited v long leh... so when can u know the result of the oscar ?

Hi Tinklebell,

I have to control my shopping, having lots of hands-me-down from my SIL. So may not need any clothes for newborn
I guess i will start to get crazy over the clothes as the bb gets older

Oh, oscar test require scanning of bb? I thought it is just some blood test. I felt really sleepy after my detailed scan. Lying on the bed can be really tiring for a 30 min scan. But it is great that we are able to see the bb more clearly via a big TV screen

Poohy,

Hmm, looks like NUK is really a very popular and well-accepted brand. OK, shall take a look at NUK bottles when i dropped by kiddy palace. In fact i have not taken a close look at other bottles other than avent.

hi there ppl..iam in my 13 weeks now ....and iam in the 2 yr nursing course ...its pretty tough and stressful ....i got infected with a fever after feeding my patient ( he sneeze at me ..leh ) ....luckily nothing happen to my baby ...my hubby was so worried abt it .....well...i just hope that everyone of u r doing fine ...hey mother of princess we r of the same age to...( hheeheheh) ......

Hi kk & volf,
Congrats and glad to know both of your bb's gender. Its really a miracle! Me too very excited to know my bb's gender. Wondering if next monday which i wil be doing my NT scan, wil i get to know my bb gender? me also abit gan zhong leh.

hi miz_hopeful,
I bought some clothings and a pregnancy diary from Spring. Bought the demin capri same as yours, a blue dress (50% discount) and 2 short cardigarns (pink & white) and the diary book. Total: $170. Hehe going start record and paste scans & photos.

anyone know where to buy nice baby posters? Wanted to paste some posters inside my room and later stage gg to decorate bb's room. hehe

Morning Kite!

Which week are u in when u go for ur NT scan? Gender can be known as early as week 15
provided the bb cooperates

My bb legs are always not opened wide. Hopefully it won't turn out to be a boy during the next appointment haha! During the last appointment, the gynae didn't get to see any little protrusion during the scan. So it is 90% girl.

Me dropping by suntec city spring later. Wanted to get something decent to wear to my friend's wedding dinner end of the mth. I saw this tube pink dress in the website. But cost around $100.. hmmmmm... still thinking hard see what i can get there. And can do some shopping at mothercare as well. I have to get some maternity dresses in addition to the current 3 i am having now. Else when school reopens, i really got nothing to wear to work liao.

Oh ladies by the way, last nite 12++ pm, while i was lying down on the sofa, somehow i feel some water current movement from left to right in my tummy. The feeling is a bit strange. And it repeats 3 times. i wonder whether they are bb movements. They are just very soft touches. And i dun think i feel hungry at that moment, so it can't be hunger pangs. If is really bb movements, i am really happy
and wonder what's the bb doing at such a time like tat. It is so late.

Kite,

Did ur gynae give u one starter pack of enfamum? My gynae just gave me on friday and there are nice stick-ons inside the bag
And also a lovely stick-on for car window

Oh, i saw some nice posters at mothercare plaza sing i think on my last visit there. I am trying to get 2-3 nice ones too. When me and hubby dropped by OG bugis after our gynae appt, my hubby browsed through some posters and wanted to buy. But suddenly he asked me "why all the bb ang moh har?" HAHA!

hi kk,
i wil be in my 12 weeks next mon when i go for my NT scan. Is NT scan using V-probe or from the tummy? very gan zhong & worried leh, dunno y.

Nope my gynac didnt give me enfamum. She gave me Neurogain and folic acid only. perhaps later part?

Spring at suntec got alot of nice clothings, u can drop by n take a look

wondering where u all bought your baby car seats from? hubby n i been shopping these days and take a look. wondering what kind of features shall we look out for and which is better?

Hi Kite!

i didn't have NT scan that time. I think it is via ultrasound. Dun think V probe lor. Perhaps Volf can advise on this

For my detailed scan, there was also measurement on something similar and its normal ultrasound. Just that the system is more powerful, can zoom in and out very easily.

Enfamum is the milk powder. The samples are actually provided by enfamum company. U can ask and see can get the goodie bag or not on ur next visit

I went to spring before, but didn't buy anything that time. Ya, find the clothes very sweet
But price not cheap

Btw, ur demin capri refers to pants rite?

Kite,

OK, thanks

It fits ok on u?

Today may try on some pants. Too big for me when i tried on pants during my 1st trimester.

morning mommies

hi kite,

the NT scan is via ultrasound.

glad u managed to find nice buys from Spring. a reasonable amount too. I only bought 2 tees and the denim capri and it totalled to almost $140. i think i'm going shopping again soon too. need to get clothes for work and some warmer ones for a trip up cameron highland this thursday.

hi kk,

i'm rather free this holiday cos initially was supposed have a mountain expedition up mount kinabalu with my NPCC cadets. but since i found out about the pregnancy, i've been excused. so very free at home. going out everyday. of course got those SOWs to do la.. but i'm lazy. shall do that later nearer dateline. wanna reali enjoy my hols
so you teach science? what other subjects do you teach?

i'm also looking at car seats. not to buy in a hurry though. jus to do some research.

do you all know if car seats are universally made for all types of cars? are there any restriction if it's for a 2-door car?

i have a feeling its gonna be a big hassle to put the little one at the back rite? cos the car's so low and such limited room for movements.. can't imagine myself climbing in and out of the back seat..

anyone has had prior experience? advise?

Hi poohy, i think the results are know quite quickly bec it involves mathematical measurements and the computer software is there to help in the computation of the ratio. once the blood test result is out, the computer should be able to churn out the results. Actually it is not v much diff from the NT test. Just that the blood test also measures the pregnancy associated plasma protein A concentration. I thought they needed a new machine to do that but the staff there told me it is nothing more than a new software. only good thing is that with PAPP-A measurement, accuracy is 90%. From the NT scan, it looks ok so now, only pray that the blood test is ok.

kk,

that's the baby's movements u felt!!! Exactly how i feel when i first sensed my son's movements in my tummy
great feeling rite ? it always brings a smile to my face.... but as mine progressed it became quite painful... cos my son move v v vigorously last time and i got v v early and frequent braxton hicks contraction... hope not for this time..

re: carseats,

i dun think all car seats can fit all kind of cars leh... not sure abt the specifics though. My son uses the maxi-cosi infant carseat (from birth to 1 year i think) previously... recently we just upgraded him to maxi-cosi priori xp which is bigger and will see him through much more years. The infant carseat will be left for my newborn next
u all can drop by bb hyperstore to view the carseat... i like the maxi cosi brand the best... but its one of the most expensive..

tinklebell, ic.. .. ya hope to hear good news that everything is great

over the weekend.... we being so busy going around car showrooms...viewing the mpvs... i think picnic is still our top choice. But after viewing the renault grand scenic... i really love its great extra features.. european cars are much nicer in turns of features and design. But my godsister said the third rom feels as squeezed as the honda stream.. so we will prob have to give it a miss...sigh.. prob picnic will be able to offer us the flexibility and space. Anyway i may shelved the plan to get the picnic in the next 3 months... maybe can wait for its next generation... the design may looks much more sporty..

Evening Ladies!

Spent a bomb today on maternity and bb stuff. Spent around $180 for only 2 dresses at Spring Maternity. New arrivals so no discount. So sad *sob* But at least i gotten something nice to wear to my friend's wedding dinner

Spent another $80 at Cloud9, just beside spring maternity. Also bought a dress there.

My hubby quite right lor. Since i am seldom in pants and more comfortable in dresses, he encourages me to get more dresses. With a cardigan, i can wear them to work too.

Went Kiddy palace. Intended to get some more formal dresses for work. But end up didn't buy any. Think will buy next week or so when i drop by again. But spend around $80 on bb stuff. Bought NUK bottles. Premium choice series. 2 big and 2 small. Really expensive! Then also bought those little little things like bibs, talcum powder holder, etc. Most for the fun of it.. heeeee.. find them cute so buy.

Didn't know we can spend the entire sunday shopping for bb stuff. We seldom shop till so late. Normally get tired easily from window shopping.

Oh ya, we need some advice on playpen and pram. Any advice where to get them and how to purchase
one?

Tinklebell,

Dun worry. All will be fine

Poohy,

I hope my bb girl will be nice to mummy hahaa.. dun kick too hard :p

I only felt them last nite, after 12 midnight. Didn't get to feel any today. Maybe too hectic shopping around haha... i hope to feel more soon in time to come

Miz hopeful,

Cameron? Great place!! Enjoy yourself! Me and hubby went there before we got married
Cool and nice weather

U are with the uniformed group? I am with chinese orchestra. Practice ends late november. Another round of practice will start end dec when all the staff and dept meetings start.

Oh, i teach science and upper sec Physics. What about u?? Science too??

hi tinklebell,k ong, volf20....

hihi...didnt log in for 3 days n got so many postings liao...anyway,my vomitting not tt frequent now..hopefuli it will get lesser n better..but still will feel uncomfortable sometimes...

hey,u all can feel ur bb movement liao...envy..me now onli week15 so cant feel anything yet..onli can c my figure geting bigger n more flabby..esp my hips..me look so fat now..

morning ladies

wow! kk, sounds like you had a a very fun and fruitful shopping trip.. and the fact that you can feel the baby is so wonderful. i can't wait but i guess still too early for me la..

me going to cameron with a close gf who also happens to be a MTB and our hubbies. just want to get away fr sg for a while and relax la..

and yes, i'm with UG - npcc. usually during holidays no training sessions. only camps. LOTS of camps. this time round happen to be mt kinabalu. my holidays are always filled with camps and more camps. this year, got a lucky break becos of the pregnancy

My CS1 is maths and CS2 is english. same lar, i haf those staff and dept meetings that last week of dec. can't say i'm looking fwd to them.

Hi miz_hopeful,

ya compared to other shops, Spring got nicer clothes than the rest
Love its carrier also.

Me too now doing research on which baby car seat to buy.

hi Kite - I did my NT scan at week 12. If you are lucky, you may be able to see your bb sex. I asked the gynae to check...& she managed to show me the cross-section of the bb brain, face, spine, and then she pointed out his lil wee-wee
Talk to your baby .. hopefully bb listens to mummy..

hi volf,
so cute. next mon wil be doing my NT scan, very kan zhong. hope i can calm n relax myself. eh but one thing during my 9 weeks+, my gynac gave a casual remark saying that "fat boy" during the scan. hmm but i never ask. eh cos i treat it as a casual remark. hmmm....wondering did my gynac see something?

btw i hv pain on my upper left abdomen last nite and i m quite worried. Not sure wat causes it as i hv laksa and strawberries yest n did some laundry washing (machine wash) as hubby went down carpark to wash car so i decide to help out abit rather than sitting down there. thought of gg down to gynac for a check earlier cos me worried? though now pain gone. wat do u think?

hi Kite - I was v inquisitive during the scan. Never knew how to see whr the ambilical cord is etc... so I was asking doc whr this and whr that... also asked abt sex of bb.. and she did say that its not 100% but v likely... esp.. when we saw our bb's wee - wee sticking out very much..hahha. Ask yr doc if the bb is of normal size, weight & height.. I always ask that.... me worry if bb is too big ..hhahha.. scared of child-birth pain.

Hey is yr pain just momentary or for a long period. I do encounter short bouts of pain - usually on my right below the belly button. Sometimes I think it is the bb kicking...if not too long, dun think its any prob. Ask yr doc on MOn... shd be ok.. dun help hubby wash car.. not supposed to stretch or tire ourselves too much

hey gals - Wanted to ask you...if I shld go with my dept for a retreat at Phuket next Feb. I will be in 2nd tri and 21 wks then.... they will prob play team building games etc... and I will prob not join them in the rowdy games if I go. Any cause for concern?

Hi volf,
since yours is a boy, cant be wrong one plus the wee sticking out, so cute. hehe i was wondering whether my gynac hinted something to me when she said "fat boy" at my bb during the 9wk+ scan.

yest was my 1st time encountered pain on my upper left abdomen and last for abt 1 hr and so. Quite painful during 1hr and after that okie liao but while slping slight little pain. This morning pain was gone but i stil worried loh n i also thot of visiting the gynac for a checkup today if possible and also as an excuse to see my bb. cant wait to see my bb next mon.

Usually he does all the hsework. eh i never help my hubby wash car. it was yest when he was downstairs at carpark, i was at hm n doing nothing n so i thot of helping out to put the laundry into the washing machine. i think i better avoid all these. me itchy hand. cos cant stand messiness.

anyone experience brownish discharge in 12th week? i was standing up yesterday,and noticed this mucus coming out from down under. i wiped myself with tissue and found some brownish discharge. also experienced it again later in the day. But today, i seem ok ...
not sure if it's something i should be concerned. I read that only if it's red in colour, then you sld see a gynae immediately.

hi K ong,
do u encountered any pain on ur abdomen?
probably u can ask ur gynac? i just called up my gynac clinic n told her assistant. her assistant said if i m worried, can come down n let my gynac for a check. but my pain is gone now. not sure want to go down anot.

Hi volf,
if i were you, i wont go. somemore at the beach is most of the time under hot sun and play water activities. Unless if u really want to go, u can bring magazines or books and relax there, enjoy e sea n breeze.

hi Kite - Ya, some of my frens worried abt me... suggested me not to go leh. Maybe I shd just stay at home and rest ...

hi all...

I am new to this place here.. today is my first time logging in..

wow.. spent hours reading all your previous discussion and really find it interesting..

Am in my 15 weeks now.. but i lost 1kg in total... cos got bad MS initially.. but its gone now.. hope to gain some weight .. hehe...

when did you gals start getting your first maternity clothings? I haven got any yet .. haha..

Got some questions here.. i really crave for many food which my MIL forbid me from taking.. eg.. rojak / oranges.. is it tru we cant take those junk food? and what about softdrinks? hehe

Hello gals...
*wave* *wave*
Wow... so many posts to catch up after going to Penang for a few days... Yesterday morning then come back... and then went to Orchard for shopping already. I got 3 baby doll tops, and 2 pairs of jeans. Perhaps still can wear for another month or two

kk,
My friends told me if I want my baby to sleep at 11pm next time, I gotta sleep at 11pm now. Cos their babies now sleep at 2-3am cos they used to sleep so late during preggie. Do you usually sleep late at nite? That's why at 12++am your baby is still active...

K_Ong,
It's better to call gynae and report the brown discharge. Why not give your gynae a call first?
Take care...

Nowadays I feel my tummy very tight. Do you gals feel the same?

Hi Hi!

On leave today... it's my son's 3rd bday today so went down to his school to celebrate for him as well as brought him to watch Chicken Little.

kk, u seemed to have enjoyed your shopping trip har? wonder when i can wear my maternity clothes. they all look so BIG at the moment.

poohy, ya lor, i think u can still hold on to your car purchase. next year, there will be more coes released and heard rumours that coe prices will still drop. i'm sure u can get a good offer. our wish price since feb last yr an now is a difference of ard $15k... 'sim-tia". anyway, thankfully it didnt give us any prob so far.

angeline, haha.. i am also growing on the waistline... now i think i look like a fat ugly ah soh

volf, if i were u i rather stay at home and relax... bec i simply dont like the sun.

celeste, hi! welcome
hope u enjoy yakking with us
heh heh heh , i am a junkie... i keep having craving for junk food... have been eating a lot of things pp say not supposed to eat ... somehow i just gave in to all my cravings today...just had a craving for bak kua... had 1 big cup of coke, pop corns, 2 bowls of miso soup for lunch... after that followed by half a bak kua...sooo full after that... i suppose u can still eat rojak but in moderation lah. but i suppose if i cont to have such cravings, sure end up looking like Ms piggy

lyn, u went penang for holiday?

Hi tinklebell.. how many weeks are you now?

any remedy for constipation cos i never pooh for 2 days liao... kinda worry leh...

and also i felt bloated very frequently so i will pour lots of "yu yee" oil on my stomach.. then i felt very comfy... dun know can ornot hor...

anyone got any special milk to recommend? am drinking an mum now.. but my family doctor told me there is this milk call "complan" is quite good too.. but i cant fnd leh.. hehe

celeste, i am 12 weeks plus coming to 13 weeks.

i used to have constipation problem so i take almost 5 servings of fruits everyday where possible. it helps but gotta take consistently.

cant help u with any milk recommendation bec i hate to drink milk.

hi celeste..
welcome to the group..

i am 13 weeks plus coming to 14 weeks. and just like you i also suffered rather bad MS so much so that i lost about 1 kg too. glad it's all behind me now.

with regards to food, i've been eating as per normal. no 'pantang' at all! of course all try to eat in moderation. so far, bb is ok. even checked with gynae, she said we can still eat as per normal as long as in healthy proportions. i also had craving for rojak and even travelled all the way down to clementi for the famous rojak there, pineapple and all. went twice!. yummy!
so go ahead la.. better eat rather than make ourselves miserable rite?
just be conscious of the frequency and the servings.

Hi Celeste,

I once saw complan at carrefour plaza sing. U can take a look there. It is a full nutrition beverage that can be taken by preggies

U can buy in small packets and try first. If good, then buy whole box
Might be cheaper i guess to buy in boxes

i smelt the vanilla flavour complan today when my students bought one packet for their science experiment (to test nutritional value of complan heee) and i couldn't take it. The smell pretty strong. It is due to the vanilla. I think there is also chocolate flavour.

I wanted to try that time but didn't dare as it is a new product and moreover i was in my 1st trimester then. Do try and let me know how it tastes like

Me also drinking anmum-1 now

Hi Lyn,

Haha.. first trimester i slept at around 830pm. Latest 9pm. Second trimester i dun seem to get to sleep early. i can stay awake till 1 am. But i always try to sleep by 11pm because my hubby will force me to :p

hi kite..

i think it's prob just your uterus expanding.. if feel ok, then just rest at home. if the pain persists then perhaps a check with your gynae would be advisable.

you gals are very lucky. i've still been doing all sorts of housework at home. mopping, vacuuming you name it. during the 1st trimester, even spring cleaned the house for house warming party about a month back. very tiring.. i do so much work until my mother nagged at me.. hehe..

i just can't stand sticky/dusty floors and seeing things lying around la... hubby will try help but somehow not the same la. i prefer doing the work myself. good exercise also

Hi Celeste,

Take food in moderation like what miz_hopeful has said. U are now in ur 15 weeks, should be pretty safe

I tend to watch my diet more carefully in 1st trimester e.g. no oranges, no pineapples, etc. But now i tend to eat more. By the way, i am in my 20th week this week.

We can eat oranges. If u worried, can drink orange juice. Not a problem
Can provide u with lots of vitamins and maybe can solve ur constipation problem?

Rojak shouldn't be a problem to me. Maybe u worried about the cucumbers and pineapples, ya? Just dun eat too much lor. U can still eat the you tiao in the rojak rite?

Hi K Ong,

It is better to ask ur gynae about it. I was having brown discharge in my 1st trimester and my gynae on the spot removed a blood clot for me. It was not red discharge but it can be pretty worrying. Especially if u were to experience cramps.

Hi Lyn,

I think it is ok to feel the tightening in the tummy as uterus expanding and stretching and also tummy getting heavier with bb growing.

I experience more tightening now in my 2nd trimester. As long as it is not PAIN, then it should be OK

Hi celeste,
Welcome to the thread...

When is your EDD, who is your gynae and where will you be delivering?
hmm... I also have a little bit of cravings. I love to eat grapes and apples now
. Sometimes when I am hungry I just feel like eating fresh vege salads, something light... And I started my love for bread and biscuits again...
It's better to avoid junk food. I read somewhere that the more junk food we eat, the more we will crave for it. I avoid softdrinks now cos too much sugar...

Hi tinklebell,
Wow... Chicken little is very nice hor? I like the song very much... kekeke...

Hi celeste,
I take a fibre drink to help in my constipation
So I poo poo daily
I dun drink milk, so can't help you much with that... I drink soya bean milk.

Hi miz hopeful...
Wah.. Rojak used to be my favourite too. I can eat rojak daily one leh... but now cut down a lot already
Strangely, I dun have cravings for rojak...
I am also doing all sorts of housework. Sweep, mop, wipe, wash and hang and iron clothes, wash toilets, wash dishes, vacuum carpet, etc... This Christmas gonna have a party at my home... I am feeling a bit sian.. cos have to clean up the house before guests come and the next day
. Cos gonna have kids also.

Hi kk...
Try to sleep early... kekeke... me too trying very hard. Cos I am used to sleeping at 1am. Sometimes forgot that I need to sleep early... need some reminder also.. kekeke...
I keep having pain at my ectopic site on and off... But still bearable
. Just makes me wonder how come like that... Now my tummy very tight and getting rounder, but I still did not put on a lot of weight.

Hi Lyn,

Oh, actually i am not at all a late owl. When i work, i normally sleep by latest 10pm because i got to wake up at 530am the next morning. But now it is school holidays and in 2nd trimester, so rather relaxed and dun seem to get tired easily so sleep later than normal days :p

I drink soya bean milk everyday too! And nutrisoy soya bean milk also comes with brown rice. Nice and nutritious

I read from other postings that grapes are high in sugar content. I dunno how true it is. Seems like their gynaes advise them not to eat grapes. i am not eating any grapes now. I dun seem to love grapes too heeee...

i just came back from gynac. Bcos of the pain i encountered last nite, i went today for a checkup n did NT scan instead of waiting for next monday cos me very worried.

The pain doesnt bother my bb, gynac said maybe its due to my indigestion n wind inside my stomach. hehe my bb was so active inside bouncing up n down so cute. Each time my gynac scanned, bb wil bounce up n down and i can see the food my bb is eating.

Also my gynac showed me the placenta too and did the NT scan as well and bb is low risk....hehe feel very glad. right now i m 11 & 3/4 weeks and bb measured at 5cm.

Next mth early jan then do the blood test.

btw so during 4th mth we can get to know e gender? usually how to determine from the scan? can see 1 wee wee for boy? girl leh? how u all see?

lyn, yes chicken little is not bad...havent watched movies for ages
now better enjoy all the limited freedom i have before no2 comes along.

Hi kk,
I try to drink soya milk without preservatives and additives
. Yes, grapes is high in sugar content. My gynae adviced me not to take too. hee... I just love grapes now to resist :p I think the sugar content in grapes is fructose, shouldn't be as bad as the hidden sugars in ice-cream, breads, cakes, etc

Hi kite,
How to see the food baby is eating? I am seeing my gynae this Saturday
. Think should be normal check-up, cos gynae never mentioned any special scan or test on the last visit

hi lyn,

gynac just told me the pieces of stuffs around bb is the food i intake this afternoon (lunch). mine is just normal scan today and NT scan.

Do u know ur gender liao? for me no preference as long bb is healthy. Next mth then i wil get to know.

gynac told me if that thing is down its ger. if that thing is up, its a boy. those who know ur gender, u saw the thing down or up? hehe quite interesting leh