(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Volf,

Which week are u in now?

Now i am more energetic, can run around without feeling that sleepy. Only take afternoon naps when i feel super bored at home. And find it harder to sleep early at nite heee... earlier stage got to sleep at 9pm, or even 830pm. Will automatically doze off on sofa. But now can't even sleep at 11pm

Am 12 wks. When 1st preggy - I konked out at 8.30pm. Now, at least can tong till 10-11pm. But still tired leh. Dunno why. Also realised that when I yawn since preggie, the yawn is super tired kind of yawn. Never experienced before. Are you 14 wks already? Heard once you reach 13 or 14 wks, the energy will come back to you.

Volf,

Hmmm, i can't remember when i gain back my energy. Should be somewhere after week 15 since that is when i slowly recovered from MS. I am now in my 19th week
Seems like 2nd trimester is really a breeze... MS die down and also tummy not that heavy. I can't imagine 3rd trimester! New challenges ahead.. hahaa...

Yaya, yawn can be super long and burp super loud hahahahaaha..

volf,

ya early pregnancy tends to be so tired... me also was real sleepy all the time...

hehee... u better treasure these moments u get to sleep till 7am. When u have bb... at first it will be wake up 2 hourly round the clock. Then it will slowly be longer interval.. but babies tends to wake quite early wan... if they sleep early especially. My wakes up latest by 7am.. most of the time.. its 6am. When i first came back from maternity leave, he wakes up as early as 5am in the morning at times... but i was quite happy to be able to play with him though... cos working whole day.. i miss him a lot.

i used to sleep till 7 am... else i cant get up wan... then when bb comes.. i slowly got used to waking up early.. dun get used also bo bian hehee ... the crying racket will surely wake u up.

Sigh. Guess have to get used to it sooner or later. Cant rely on hubby to get up to feed I think..or maybe he might be so excited to wake up to feed bb..hheehhe.

hey mums-to-be,
is drinking raw beetroot "safe" in pregnancy?

I used to like the combination of apple, beetroot and carrot ... and just popped out today to get one cup from the coffee shop nearby. I'm finding the taste very raw now !!!
Maybe next time I sld tell the juicer not to use so much beetroot in the drink ...

K Ong,

U drink beetroot raw??
What i want to know is can we use beetroot to boil soups? My mum used to use beetroot in soups. And only my mum and I drink that in the family. As the colour of soup turns out to be red, so the sight of it can put pple off haha.. so my hubby dun dare to drink too.

KK: hahaaa, yes yes, i used to drink that combination all the time before pregancy - A(apple)B(beetroot)C(carrot)

Just a bit paraniod now ... cuz i'm not sure if the stallkeeper throughly washed the beetroot before cutting it up. It taste more "raw" than normal ...

what sort of soup is that ? Can you remember what goes into the soup ? Beetroot is high in Iron and Magnesium, so it's good for our body. I googled, and apparentl Catherine Zeta-Jones had this drink throuhout her pregancy !
haahaa

K Ong,

Using beetroot to boil soup can be wonderful
Just with pork ribs.. easy to cook
And i heard it is very healthy! Depends on the beetroot. At times the soup can be super tasty. Other times it can taste a bit bland. But it still taste good

Ohhhh, what if u make ur own beetroot juice? heeee... Yah, i agree. Sometimes stallkeepers may not be attentive and they dun wash everything clean. I understand ur concern

If this catherine (sorry.. i dunno who she is.. heeeee) had this drink during her pregnancy, then there shouldn't be anything wrong

If alright, then i can buy and boil beetroot soup liao. One problem is my hubby dun drink leh
Then i drink myself

i admire you ladies. I cant stomach beetroot even though I know it's gd. Just dun like the taste. I usually drink carrot - orange. Heard some pp say bb can get jaundice cos of this??

KK: wow, sounds easy ... heehe, i may go try it out too.
so it's just sliced beetroot and pork ribs ?

Yar, nowadays i make sure i eat hot food, stay away from those "economy rice" stalls, cuz not sure how long the food is out there for.

Caterhine Zeta-Jones, the actress !

Volf,

I dunno how true it is. Anything yellow or orange can cause jaundice. I only heard that payayas can cause jaundice. But whether that is considered old wives tales, i am not that sure heee..

Oranges are rich in vit C. Take everything in moderation and we will be fine! We can't possibly swallow carrots everyday rite? :p

K Ong,

Hmm, maybe my mum's method is very simple. U can try adding other ingredients like carrots? It might make the soup even sweeter

Yup. Just pork ribs and beetroot. And anything else u wish

Initially i thought only market sells beetroot. But now i see beetroot in ntuc. Very happy

There is also another type of veg called "fo shou gua". Good for soups also
Simple too, boil with pork ribs can already. And confirm tasty

Yah, one thing about outside food is that we may get stomach upset. That day i ate lor mee from a food court and came home vomit and diarrhoea
Luckily for a while only. I ate the fishcake a bit funny already. Didn't know it may really be food poisoning.

Volf: i think that is if you take a LOT of carrots ! haaahaaa
But i think Kk is right, just do things in moderation ... carrots are high in betacarrotine too, so good for us ...

KK : yar, it's so worrying right? that you are not sure how "clean" these stall keepers are ... *sigh* Do take care, perhaps stay away from foods that are not cooked immediately prior to serving.

OK, am going off to go grocery shopping to buy ingredients for soup now !
have a good evening all !

K Ong,

I can't resist putting carrots into my soups. Especially potato and corn soup. Last time i eat the carrots as well. But after hearing that carrots may contain too much vit A which is no good for bb, i dun take the carrots anymore. But i still use them in my soups

Oh ya, one thing for sure not to take sugarcane juice. Cos sugarcane really dirty based on how they place in their stalls. Anyway sugarcane is basically not too good for normal aduit bodies too. Can only drink in moderation.

Wow, u still have energy to cook soup after grocery marketing??

Enjoy your dinner

yes yes - Please DONT take sugarcane juice mummies! I ended up in hospital with very bad food poisoning before I got preggie. Sugarcane absorb ALL kinds of rubbish fr the hawker floor. So pls refrain from this drink anywhere!

anybody know is it serious to vomit a few times aday n ur tummy will feel pain while puking? not sure if this is part of MS...but these few days really v bad...eat liao vomit..including those vitamins/DHA etc..

angeline,

u saw gynae for it? i think if u vomit too many times a day, u can end up with dehydration. i also hate to eat those vit pills. told my gynae never mind lah, dont give me that cos i know the look of it makes me want to vomit. am only taking folic acid.

Yeh! it's friday!!! end of the week....seriously looking forward to a nice weekend

Hi to all MTB,,

Tdy i am finally 25years old liao... Happy birthday to those birthday gal this month..
hopping to see my bb agan during next tue scan.hope to see the gender as well. i can feel my bb movement aready.. so any gals here feel that too??

Angeline: my experience with bad bad MS was to puke whatever i ate or drank (Even plain water) and then puke the bile too (some yellowish bitter substance). Mine went on the whole day, till my hubby decided to send me to the GP to get a anti-nausea jab, cuz i cldn't even keep the pill down.

Then at my recent visit to the gynae, she noticed that i was a bit dehydrated, and put me on a drip.

I think the main thing is to try to hydrate yourself for a day, if that does not work, then u cld see a gp to ascertain if you need to be put on a drip.

Take care !!

mother of a princess...

think i can feel movement at times only ... not as frequent as last time.. prob still early
aiya i wish i can fly down to a scan machine next week and know my bb gender... sian ... that will be such a good news for christmas.

Happy birthday
you are so young.. i envy u leh... i wish i had gone for so-iui and conceive earlier.. but well.. cant turn back clock...

u know i am looking forward so much to my bb being born soon.. then i will plan for bb3 in 1 year. So fun to have kids around...

k ong,

so r u feeling better now ?

my ms seems to get much better these days.. i dun feel that tired and giddy anymore. just bloatedness at times after meal...

Poohy,

i also wish to scan fast fast and c my bb gender leh... so fast you ant to plan for bb3 aready ah...pei fu...pei fu...leh...

you know i married at the age of 20 then try for 3 years then found out that something was wrong with either my hubby or myself then decided to see my gyna do a lot of test inculed my hubby sa test as well end up i am the one gaving promblem...so sad...but now i am a happy mummy aready.. my bb gal take watever thing n ut at the ear there n say hello... cute...

Poohy: thanks for asking ... am slightly better, ie still vomit in the morning, but afternoons are *cross fingers* normal. By dinner time, i'm very hungry but real scared to eat too much, so eat slowly and small meals. Yah, i get really bloated after eating just a little bit of food. Sigh.

And my last check up on Mon, i'm still at 12 weeks ... so i dont expect my MS to disappear so soon ... as long as I have "well-windows" where i can eat a bit, i'm thankful !

Hi mother of a princess,
Happy Bday to u too
My bday this wkend too
hehe Hmm so far i hvnt drink any black chicken soup. Hmm heard 1st tri, try not to drink bu soup. Only after 1st tri, can start to drink.
Anyone drink cordyceps soup? i so miss it leh. When is the time where i can drink this soup?

Hi Angeline,
Yes i do feel pain after each vomit provided if i vomit very hard at times.

nowadays i drink 1.6litres of water per day. last time used to drink green tea daily but since pregnant stop it cos too liang.

I m into my 11 weeks and usually my nauseous & MS wil begin in the evening.

Hi mother of a princess, happy 25th bday! u must be a young and pretty mother
**envy** hope u enjoy yourself today!

i do drink black chicken soup once this week. cooked by my mother. i suppose can take in moderation.

hmmm... am 12 weeks this week and MS seem to start coming ...strange ...

okie looking forward to 10 mins time... going to knock off... going shopping at causeway point later

Hi mother of a princess, happy 25th bday! u must be a young and pretty mother
**envy** hope u enjoy yourself today!

i do drink black chicken soup once this week. cooked by my mother. i suppose can take in moderation.

hmmm... am 12 weeks this week and MS seem to start coming ...strange ...

okie looking forward to 10 mins time... going to knock off... going shopping at causeway point later

allo gals, it's TGIF

Hi mother of a princess, Happy B'day to u. Hv a great wkend ahead

Well, check with u gals who is ard wk 15, do u experience on/ off cramp at the belly button level. Not sure whether is bb really moving cos dun think we can feel that now, rite.
I am also waiting to see the little one nxt friday..It's a long wait manz

Happy Birthday Mother of a Princess!

Happy Birthday Kite & Lilfeets!!

Angeline - when my ms was real bad, I wld merlion everything out for a gd 15min. Sometimes puke until the bile comes out. If you really cant stomach anything, maybe shd see your gynae. He shd give you some anti-ms medicine - repository through yr anus.

Hey I've got gd news to share. If you remember my bleeding problem & the polyp .. well, I went for my check-up today, and doc said bb is doing v well, polyp has shrunk a lil & pose no danger... and bb is normal ^ healthy! Did the NT scan and bb is very low risk. So no nd for any other tests leow. Now, only wait for detailed scan end Dec
And guess wat ... I also know know the sex of my bb .....and it's likely to be a boy boy..hheehee...Thank you all for your prayers....

I was so happy, I went to buy my 1st maternity clothes AND do some xmas shopping!!!

I wonder how KK did at her check-up today.. KK - hope you did ok ...

Hi Volf!

I have great news to share too!!

My detailed scan went smoothly and every part of the bb is growing well

And if u all remember my blood test on DS, my gynae tell me he will amend the blood test result slip as when the test was taken, i was indeed in my week 15 instead of week 16. Today detailed scan has really confirmed my real conception date and thus, the number of weeks bb is in
So there is now no worry on DS liao! My EDD is confirmed to be 1 May, which is one day after my birthday heeee...

My bb now weighs 296g and it's a bb girl!! 90% confirmed

Wanted to do some shopping today but still end up dunno how to buy.. haha... any advice on milk bottles?? Should i get avent bottles? Or other brands? And what are the other more essential things i can start buying first?

BB is active during the scan. She moves around but too bad, no funny actions hahaa... but she is also cooperative today. We spent around 1/2 hour scanning. There will be another detailed scan a mth later as for today scan i am only in week 19. Next scan will be able to see more things and that will be week 23

Hi Dor,

i also felt slight cramps or sudden stretching at times. I guess it is the stretching of uterus. Not to worry
I guess those are not movements. I have yet to feel any movement despite it is wk 19 now. Looking forward to it

Volf,

My detailed scan today also included measurement of the NT thing. Every measurement was normal. Was really relieved and happy

hi gals who suffer from bloatedness n indigestion

I was pretty affected by bloatedness n indigestion day n night for few weeks. Eating bird nest helps to alleviate at least 50 percent of the discomfort!!!!!

hi mother of a princess

The black chicken soup which you boil to become a small bowl is pretty heaty. Some people may get sore throat,headache etc. the next day. It depends on ya body. Make sure you drink lotsa water after the soup.

If I drink the normal black chicken soup with herbs, it will not be as heaty.

hey lilfeets!
We share the same birthdate
!

hi KK - So happy for you! Glad yr bb gal is normal & healthy! My doc said the NT scan for my bb boy is so low risk that no nd to do other tests leow...unless I want to. Ya, there will be a monthly detailed scan to see how our bbs are forming...

I asked my doc when when we shld start antenatal class, and he said later at abt wk 28..so we dun forget the steps..guess that will be end mar for me.

Morning Volf,

I read from some mtbs that when the time comes, we would most likely forget all the steps as we are too nervous haha..

Week 28... that would mean mid feb for me. But i do have a busy work schedule, wonder how my weekends will go when school reopens. So i got to see how first.

Where are u signing up for the class?

The gynae mentioned that i have gained 4 kg so far. The way he said it is like a bit too much haha.. but then he ended by saying "But not to worry, u dun look fat and ugly" Haha.. Really funny.

Last nite was horrible. I kept burping and then it seems like indigestion or too much acid in the body. When i burped, the whole throat has the burning effect. Couldn't sleep the whole nite. Even hubby fell sick so also can't sleep well. And i woke up so many times and felt hungry at 4 am

Got to catch some nap later.

morning mommies!

hi volf, hi kk..

congratulations! so happy to hear the gd news too..
glad that both bbs are healthy and doing well. volf congrats on the boy. kk congrats on the little princess.. you know what, i wish mine was a girl too! hee heee.. but i guess a healthy baby regardless of the gender is more impt yah?

Morning miz_hopeful!

When i got married, i dreamt of having a bb girl because i find them so sweet and can doll up
And girls are more obedient and close to mothers' hearts. Can go shopping together too
Can share experiences and have fun together

After i preggie, i say boy might be good because it will make my in laws happy as my hubby is the only son in the family and similarly, his greandparents will also be very happy as the boy will be the first great grandson. Although boys can be naughty, but they are very active and are a happy lot

Was really funny. After i get to know that the bb is a girl, it seems that i have been seeing lots of bb boys on the streets. I tell my hubby i saliva when i see pple having bb boys heeee..

kk,

i reali have no idea about milk bottles either.. but it seems that the avent brand rather popular with the other mommies from other threads.

i was reading the dec 2005 mommies and those who just gave birth seem to go for this brand. they were talking about how much more convenient it is to get the whole set which includes the BM storage bottles, sterilizer and milk warmer. apparently the milk storage bottles can be used as bb's bottles for direct feeding too so no need to buy extra bottles.

maybe you might want to ask them? they have first hand experience.

hi again kk,

it's really funny rite.. I myself have been seeing such pretty bb girl dresses everywhere.. been dreaming of bb gal since forever. hee..

always tot 1st child if girl very good, cos closer bonding with mommy.. like me and my own mom. but hubby said that boys can help protect the little sisters when boys go after them..

i think i'll love them whether boy or girl la..

Miz Hopeful,

My brother's thinking is the opposite of ur hubby's haha.. he say if it's good to have first as a girl, then the girls can help take care of the sons that come later heee... Anyway, i have one niece, followed by a nephew and then followed by a niece. Pretty perfect for my brother and SIL

Miz Hopeful,

I have checked out other threads on milk bottles. It seems like because avent comes as whole set, that's why cannot mix and match easily. Once use avent, must always be avent.

Quite a number mentioned that NUK is not bad. Teat softer than avent, better for newborns.

Initially i intend to get avent as it comes as whole set. Looks very convenient. But it seems to come with inflexibility now.

Later may drop by kiddy palace to take a look

oh yah.. read about NUK too.. after you go and see let us know yah? maybe if got good offers this holiday season can buy something.. bonus coming in on Monday! yeayyyyy!!

Miz hopeful,

Ya!! I just checked my electronic payslip heeeee... super rich this holiday
Meeee too, bonus and pay coming in on monday

perhaps i didn't mention explicitly la.. just kept mentioning i was on holiday.. that's why everyday so free

yes, i'm teaching too.. glad its the holiday

kk - I prob sign up for the antenatal class at the hospital I will be delivering at. Either TMC or MAH. Havent decided leh. Will see which my gynae is more familiar with I guess. I refuse to stay in Mt E where he is cos its v v ex.

Bots - think I will get Nuk. Heard v gd reviews
Maybe next yr sale then get otherwise I will be hoarding a lot of bb stuff.

KK - you seem to like Kiddy Palace a lot ..heehee. Heard its ex there? Isit?

Miz Hopeful,

Heeee... everyday free? Recently then i start enjoying the hols. But still got SOW yet to finish. Waiting for colleagues' inputs for collation. It is really stressful as we are starting on the modular system for science..

Volf,

I will be at delivering at TMC. So i attend the class, most likely will be at TMC

Oh, i live in sengkang and there is kiddy palace at compasspoint. More convenient for us heee.. and we seldom shop in the city as lazy to travel far :p As for price, not so sure. I find kids' clothes there very sweet

re: bottle

nuk not bad.. my boy is using it from birth
And recently they got this wide neck premium series.... think maybe worth trying... wide neck is easier to fill the milk powder... else easy to spill out. dun buy too much ..cos different bb different preferences