(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

poohy, i hate to clean his toys too... used to be more diligent ... now only vacuum them once a fortnight
i got 2 boxes of it... everytime he flips the boxes over, i get a headache!

Tinklebell - it' so sweet yr hubby & boy crazy over the same thing. Very gd they bond so well

KK - actually I agree abt the sissy bit. Somehow kana influenced by the sisters I think.

For me, any sex also can lah. Normal healthy most import. Though my FIL doesnt say it, we knw he prefers boys .. esp 1st kid.. aiya dun care lah..

kk,

my hb also only son leh.. and he got 2 elder sisters. Lucky he not sissy... my brother also only got me as elder sister... lucky he also not sissy... being only boy really have a higher tendency to be over pampered hor.. i think so too.. especially in the older days..

tinklebell,

so funny.. i can imagine it must be really nitemare

ya, boys are generally naughtier and girls easier to handle. imitate ...that is how children learn... that is why if they have older sisters, they tend to be more sissy... but not everyone like that lah.

KK, thanks, was so dehydrated that the gynae put me on a drip on MOn... took 4 hours for 2 litres of fluid to be pumped into me !
Also been on a few MCs the past month, so feel quite bad abt work ... but have told the Boss and she seems pretty ok with my pregnancy ...

Tinklebell,

It is good to see ur hubby and son bond so well with each other! I can also see my brother bond very well with my nephew. So somehow my nephew more pampered compared to his sisters. He now gives my mum so many headaches.

Oh no, what if mine is a bb boy and he crazy over soccer like my hubby??? I already cannot tahan my hubby watching SCV 22 and 23 everyday. i always ask him what is so fun watching so many men chasing after one ball. isn't every game the same?? Then he complain say i watch tv8 everyday
He say all lousy shows.. heeee...

kk, poohy, it's a good thing they have something common to do in the nights while i catch up on my sleep... by 1030, i'll be in dreamland.

kk, soccer? somehow the daddies always have influence over what the boys like. i can imagine if u have a son, your son will have early soccer training...who knows maybe next time, he will be a national player

My hubby wants a daughter but I told him girls are expensive cause they have a wide variety of clothes/shoes/accessories etc. Biys are simpler. I am selfish, want a boy then I can be the ony queen at home. kekekeke..... Since twins, praying for one boy and one girl. Mission accomplished liao. =)

We will be using diapers I guess. Infant care is not going to manage cloth diapers.

Tinklebell,

HAHAHA.. that's very funny! I would make sure his studies come first. Come to think of it, which singapore soccer player is really successful?
They always come back as losers, sad to say.

Hmmmmm, what if bb girl is also influenced by the dad to play soccer?

lilfeets, wow if u have 1 girl and 1 boy, would be perfect
hee hee

kk, if it's bb girl, ban her from watching soccer with daddy

kk,

my hb dun like soccer.. so hope my son wont be influenced in that direction.. i dun understand why my brother loves to watch those soccer matches... like v bo liao to see people chasing after 1 ball ...

my hb is into internet gaming, xbox, playstation, gameboy advanced... so i think it wont be too difficult for my boy to have a common interest with his dad.. most boys loves gaming! I dun really like it.. i play only to keep my hb company so next time i can be relieved liao haha. having a boy is so nice... he can keep his daddy company with common interest... then i can do my things at nite... which is watch soap opera on tv or sleep

Poohy,

Haha, u are like me.. chasing after soap operas.. even if the storyline is the same for every opera. Sometimes we can even predict the ending haha..

My hubby also into games. i guess those are the things boys really like. But i do have one female ex colleague who is into soccer! And she can sms my hubby on soccer results!

Hmm, when guys are soccer fanatics, can't stop them. My HOD also crazy over soccer. He brings his newpaper everywhere he go. Pple bringing newpaper around must be those who are crazy over socer, chasing after the latest soccer updates, like my hubby.

poohy, wow your hubby also a computer freak..kekeke
luckily mine also likes to yak in his car forumns .... other than that, he knows nuts abt computers .... i know of a girlfren ..her hubby an IT guy, loves computer, can surf til 4am at nite... so much that the clicking of the mouse gives her nightmare. one day, she was so frus she threatened to destroy his laptop if he still continues the habit.

lilfeets,

actually me v selfish also leh... i also hope to have all boys then i am the only queen at home hahahaha
*daydream all my boys and hubby serving me ..
but then i think gals tend to be more close to parents leh especially in the latter part of life... tendency lah... so i just feel at least one gal would be good... between me and my brother... i am always bringing my mum around everywhere i go and my brother is hardly at home. My hb also with me most of the time and not so much with his parents... while his sister spend all her time with his parents just like i do with mine...

poohy, u are wrong, i always end up serving the boys! both big and small!! until i wonder if i am their maid! how to be the queen of the house like that??? sometimes it gets on my nerves so much that i have to yell at both of them not to mess up the house! i tell my hubby better to have boys lah... next time wont be as "ku-ming" as me
imagine, nowadays not easy to be a woman leh ... must work, must support parents, go home must do housework, look after the kids ... argghhhh!!!

kk,

ya i am never tired of soap opera wan lah.. hehee can watch and chase serials day and nite ... dun need to sleep wan..

tinklebell..

this is another thing i dun understand... like yours, my hb also into car forum. I dunno wat he do inside... like v bo liao... everyday keep reading the car forum .. hehee.. maybe like us ..they are chatting inside. Me and hb are both IT graduates in the IT industry.... but i switch off from computer stuff outside work.. i dun like to play games and i dun dwell much into pc stuff unlike my hb... but i think all these are better than watchin soccer... then i wont be able to watch my tv serials liao...

Tinklebell,

I think that hubby of ur girlfriend has zhi ye bing. At times i also work like mad at home, until my hubby threatened to reformat the pc hard-disk
Because he know i dunno how to put everything back in place

Poohy,

Girls still good hor.. accompany parents around. They always say boys once they get married they run away with wives heeee...

Poohy,

I agree with tinklebell. Most likely i end up serving the old and young boys in the family.

If i have daughter, my hubby will end up serving both of us hahahahaa...

Me too! When i was in IT 5 yrs back, i won't think much of my work after i knocked off. When i came home, it will just be TV, meals and sleep. I wouldn't go and indulge myself in computer stuff anymore. I dun even check my personal emails after work. I just develop a phobia for computers after work. It is this phobia that makes me quit after 2.5 yrs haha..

tinklebell..

think u too soft hearted liao.. hehe that's why end up serving them
Me very very bad. I dun do anything much at all .... My hb washes all the clothes (washing machine) , wash toilets, clean the floor weekly, clean the fans, wash my boy's milk bottle, wash my boy's laundry, change bedsheets... i am only in charge of taking care of my boy at home... changing him if needed, feeding him. I do help out with my hb at times if i feel like it. Last time, I used to do ironing... but nowadays my iron spoilt... my mum helps with that. That's why i wanna be the only gal at home mah... then next time i trained all my boys to do housework together with daddy while mummy laze on the sofa watching tv lol

kk, nowadays, u have personal computers and internet in your school is it?

once i am home, mountains of housework to do, how to surf the net??

anyone has a part time maid to do housework? thinking of getting one.

tinklebell,

Yup, now we have personal computers and internet. Else it would be very difficult to work. And we are highly dependent on them. We also have our own intranet which we access other admin functions. But it is still not too bad compared to the time i was in IT. i dun face the computer everyday. Occasional switch between facing computer and facing classroom is good for us too, so we not too obssessed with either.

When i am back from work now, seldom surf too. Most of the time continue to set worksheets, test papers, etc. Only get to check personal emails, or more appropriate, junk mails.

Hey, one girl provided this website in another thread. Looks useful.

http://www.a-team.com.sg/service.html

poohy, ***envy u*** how u manage to train him up??? when i ask him to do ironing, he tells me "dont like to iron". only thing he helps is to vacuum the floor BUT only once a week. other days, he tells me dont need to sweep one lah! Arggghhh !!! i cannot tahan dirty floors and toilets! donno how the men can live with that! his mum is a SAHM so have spoilt him rotten by doing all the chores for him. doesnt even have to do a single bit of housework from birth til he got married! i even have to make a drink for him every morning bec he says his mother will do that for him!!! argghhhh!!!!

Like poohy, my hubby also does all the housework. Haha.. at first i still mop the floor, especially when i am on school holidays. And my mood can be super good at times to help out with lots of housework. But gradually i became lazier and ended up my hubby do all the housework until now. So his sunday is always devoted to mopping and ironing and weekdays devoted to laundry.

Heee, i am the one who can tahan with toilets, but my hubby can't. Before he bathe, he will scrup the toilet floors. So much so that i feel he is getting too paranoid over the cleanliness of the toilet floors!

But poohy, i am wondering how we can train kids to do housework. My students, boys or girls, give me the impression they dun do any housework at all at home! Not even when their parents are working. They can even fail home economics without shedding any tear. They take it as a natural process to fail such a subject haha.

Tinklebell,

Dun u find ur hubby doing more housework when u were pregnant??

My friend told me that being pregnant is good because hubby become more caring and do all the housework. Somehow they care more in the process heeeee...

That's what i feel too. My hubby wakes up earlier than before to prepare breakfast for me.

kk, tinklebell

i also dunno how to train kids leh.. cos my boy 8months only .. not trainable to do housework yet..
maybe next time he pity his daddy so poor thing do all the housework.. he may help out

your hb really like mine... he is the only boy and youngest child at home and never used to do any housework untill he married me ... poor thing hor. hehee... and i think i really worst of it all.. cos i complained that the house is messy and he will have to clean it up .. cos he cant stand me nagging abt it... and then he gotta vacuum floor and change bedsheet only when i am nt ard.. cos i hate the dust and the noise from the vacuum cleaner... think my hb really spoilt me liao... but i dun used to do anything before i got married too...

tinklebell.. hehee maybe u gotta start training up hb liao!

kk , how is teacher's life these days. somehow i have reached a stage in life where i am hoping for a career switch - either to teaching or nursing. 3 yrs ago, i even went to get the forms for enrolment. wanted to do something more meaningful than my current accounting job. but i put the application on hold.

this year, i thought of switching to nursing but my hubby says i am not cut out for nursing bec he used to work in the hospitals and thinks that the nurses' job is not easy. they do a lot of dirty work wh he thinks i may not be used to. but i think it's really a meaningful job.

really hope to do something i like one of these days.

Poohy,

Me also can't stand the noise from vacuum cleaner. But too bad lah, because most of them we are at home together, so i have to bear with the noise. Unless i go shopping and he stay home heeee... which i dun do lor.

He is also the one who change bedsheets. I can tahan with anything. But when time is up for change of bedsheets, he will automatically complain of the dust and the uncomfort, so he will change :p

tinklebell..

hehe tough for your case liao.. hmm u wanna be a nurse... one of my SIL is a nurse... gotta study some courses and get bonded. Tough job... cos gotta go for shift schedule.. is it suitable when u have such young kids at home ?

kk,

my hb together with all the time too.. but on weekends, after breakfast and lunch, i will go nap at my mum's house nearby with my son. He will then seize the time to go back and do those housework before coming to fetch me...

Tinklebell,

Nursing is a real noble job!! I dun think i will ever be in nursing. I am so scared to come into contact with medicine. That's why taking biology in A level never cross my mind! And that took away all hopes of taking medicine in uni studies.

Teaching is real tough. Must have the passion for it and believe in what we are doing. Now teaching is not just merely teaching. It also involves lots of students' projects, competitions and also training. And not forgetting doing our own research and presenting at clusters. Sigh, looking back, i dunno how i manage to survive this one year.

It also took me some time to decide to switch to teaching. It has always been my dream since when i was a little girl
But then no courage to take it up. Dreams are always dreams. Reality is reality. Hmmm, until now i dun find my decision wrong. I still enjoy teaching
The switch from IT is right as i really dun intend to stay in IT any longer at the point of quitting.

Poohy,

So good.. ur mum stay near u. How i wish i stay near my mum too! I live in sengkang and my mum at paya lebar. So most of the time i prefer my hubby to accompany there and stay for dinner. And we only do it on saturdays. So now my mum will boil tonics for me on saturdays and i only get to "bu" once per week.

Tinklebell,

I was sharing at another thread with other teacher mums. One mentioned got to wake up at 430 am in the morning to bring her kid over to her parents before going to work. So it is really not easy

I wonder whether i should leave the kid with my mil for 5 full days and nites or bring the kid back at nites to take care. Now i already need to wake up at 530am. Cannot imagine.

kk,

ya hor.. u gotta wake real early to bring your bb to your parent's house... tough! But if u put bb at parent's house 5 full days.. your contact with bb will be only limited to 2 days... can affect bonding leh... and miss out alot of the nite parenting..

kk, i have a teacher fren who also puts her kid with her mother for 5 days bec the couple both teachers and need to leave home ard 5 plus every morning.

if u can, get your mother to stay with u or vice versa lor. i dont know abt other pp but i personally cannot bear to be away from my kid... i need to see him everyday.... if not, i'll miss him terribly.

Poohy,

Yah that's rite!

Hmmm, i guess i just got to be more hardworking then. In laws stay in sengkang too. So probably can take LRT (one LRT stop away) to bring bb there early morning then from there, take a bus to school. Hmmm, but still gotta wake up early heee..

Tinklebell,

That's mummy's nature heee.. we wanna see our kids everyday. Oh no no, get my mil to stay with us? I dun wanna extra trouble haha... i rather seek the harder way out by waking up early and travelling.

Now i already cannot imagine what will happen during confinement when my mil will be with us for the month.

i used to leave home ard 630am to catch the co bus and i thought it was v early already... always so grumpy bec i cant wake up... now i drive to work so i leave ard 7am... more humanly hr

ok lah finally can think of ONE thing my hubby helps out every morning. he takes care of my son, feed, change him and bring him to school

Tinklebell,

Finally managed to add one more mark to ur hubby's performance haha..

Hmm, who knows, maybe next time it is still my hubby who takes the extra effort to bring the bb over to in laws place. Anyway he starts work later than me.

kk, u quite hardworking. my teacher fren stays just next block to her mum but still puts bb with mother 5 days a week.

tinklebell,

U know why? I guess ur friend worried to wake up middle of the nite to take care of bb. Teachers know best. If we dun get a decent amount of sleep, we will really walk like zombie the next day. And we dun even have the energy to discipline the kids. They will climb all over us. And if we dun get regular sleep, we tend to fall sick easily due to pressure.

tinklebell,

Heeee... me in sec school. All sec schools morning session. Stretch till 4 or 5 pm for all remedials to be over. If CCA is on, i would have to stay till 7pm.

Primary school.. depends.. there are still afternoon sessions. But i still prefer teaching in morning sessions. More afreshed. Most of the afternoons i walk around like zombie already because weather real hot.

kk, i kind of lost touch with the school systems already ... didnt realise all sec schools are single session now. **suah koo**
that's true... morning we are usually more refreshed.

tinklebell,

I didn't know before i started teaching too heeee... me and my NIE classmates were still discussing whether there are any schools with 2 sessions. I basically hated afternoon lessons. So whenever i need to give remedial lessons starting 245pm, i will drag myself to the classrooms.

hi tinklebell - you are not alone. I also used to do all hsework at home till me got preggie. Hubby used to leave everything to me cos am more fussy abt cleanliness. Now, no choice, he automatically cleans the hse and does the laundry! I told him I like being preggie cos he gets to help out
His mom used to pick up after him. Maid also helped out.. so that explains his behavior when just got married.

kk - I dunno how you gals can wake up so early. For me, waking up at 7am is like torture already.. ;)

Volf,

Ya, hubbies do change when wives are pregnant. They automatically do housework :p

Recently i have been sleeping till 10 am leh! I dunno how i am going to survive when school reopens

ya. Now, I am not allowed to even throw the clothes into the washing machine. Not than am complaining
But seriously, the ms and all had me totally wiped out. Always tired. Cant even do a single thing.