(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi Poohy,

Have the measurements been consistent all this while? And just curious to know, are the measurements consistent with the day u conceive (if u still remember)?

Hi Tinklebell,

Oh, take care ya! I remember my MS started late. I thought i would escape big MS. But who knows, it came around week 12 to week 15. And those were my worst weeks. Although can go to work as per normal, but i suffer more headaches and also feel nauseous more often, and i also started to vomit, though not often, within that period

kk,

based on my LMP of 25Aug2005, bb should be in week 14-15 now. This consistent with all the other scan except this last one i did yesterday. Its pushed back to early wk13. that's why i am abit worried.... I emailed my gynae.. now waiting for his response..

Poohy,

I read that if our menses cycle has always been irregular or if there is late ovulation, the LMP may not be accurate. Is that true?

Based on all my scans, it seems like my LMP is not accurate. EDD has been delayed by one week based on all the scans.

For my 1st measurement, i am in week 7. 9 days later i am still in week 7. Subsequently, one month later, week 11 and then week 15. So i wonder what's wrong with the first measurement, which supposed to show a week 6.

kk,

my first few measurement also shows bb at least 2 weeks later than my EDD. Then last month, finally the EDD was shifted to reflect that my bb is wk10-11 which shd be consistent with my ovulation date being 1 week later than normal 14 days.

The problem is... 1 month ago's scan shows wk10-11, 2 weeks later shows 12-13w and then suddenly another 2 weeks later, bb like stop growing for more than 7 days. cos its only abt 13 week... i thought at this stage, bb's growth shd have stabilised. Normally I have seen cases for bb's EDD being pushed forward, but seldom see it pushed backwardsleh... funny rite.

I guess I must be lucky. I have always been on time so I know exactly the date of conception. That always helps to make calculation for EDD as well as size of baby.

Am also waiting to know gender so can start buying stuff. Am going shanghai to buy baby stuff cause heard its cheaper there sicne we're travelling there next year for holiday. last holiday as a two-some so extra special =)

Poohy - yeah. that's why I told hubby must have two kids instead of one cause very lonely and will be spoilt! They need to learn that they can't get their way and learn to live with others in a nice manner. God is so good. gave us twins so problem solved liao. kekeke

Poohy,

Oh i got it now. So u have late ovulation by 1 week that means? Yah, if results have been consistent, this latest scan should have reflected week 14 and not week 13 right?

Oh, by the way, just to clarify whether my calculation is correct. If we say ovulation date is normal 14 days, it means day 1 is menses day 1 rite? if ovulation is 1 week delayed, it means ovulation will take place 7 days after the normal 14 days?

lilfeets,

ya great to have twins ... can close shop
But I want to have more kids.. so even twins also not enough ... prob at least 3 kids. I wanted 4 like tinklebell.. but gotta take a step as it comes.. Its only me and my brother for my family .. and i always feel its not enough...
My hubby got 2 other siblings... so he also supportive of having more children...

for my son last time, we knew exactly when ovulation took place etc.. cos i did so-iui mah. This round, actually I also know almost exactly when the conception took place.. cos we only BD once that cycle! hehee... that's why i know there's a discrepancy in the gestational age from the scan.

kk

ya ya ur calculation is correct! when people calculate based on LMP normally its based on ovulating 14 days later from the cycle's day 1 (menses day 1).

Thats' y using LMP is only accurate if u ovulate at the normal around cd14.

For my son... I ovulated at day10 becos of the injectibles! Even earlier.. so if calculate LMP sure wrong

U all very lucky. I have 2 conception dates, one week after another. Sometimes i am confused which is which
So now based on my scans, i am pretty sure that the second conception date should be the right one.. heeeee...

kk,

ya i think the 2nd one shd be rite... cos normally after a while, the gestational age will stablised.

Poohy,

I guess i also ovulate 1 week after the normal 14th day.

Because when i take my LMP or take my 1st conception day (which is 14 days later) for calculation, my calculation of size of bb is always 1 week in advance compared to the scans. That's how i started to wonder that my second conception day might be the right one. And everything fits nicely when i do my calculations now
There is no discrepancy

Poohy,

Hmmm, i still find my first measurement very very weird. It should show me week 6 but show me week 7 instead. Guess like what u said, gestational age stabilise with time

poohy, like u i am also curious abt the gender of my bb. i hope i can find out this sat when i'm doing the oscar test. it's good to know bec u know what to prepare and with christmas round the corner, i would love to go shopping for bb clothes and items

yah same with me, when i scanned 2 weeks ago, supposed to be 11 weeks ... when i scanned on Mon, it's 12 weeks !!! But this is all based on size of the baby during the scan right ?

And i dont think my MS is going away anytime soon ... so sad ... got phobia of puking on MRT and in the office ...

Tinklebell,

Do u still need to do lots of shopping as u have ur no. 1 already? There must have been some hands-me-down already, from no. 1 to no. 2

Hope i know the gender tomorrow. My mum just called and said if the bb dun let us know their gender, most likely it's a girl. This is what happens to most of her friends' daughters heee...

hello ladies - am going for my NT scan tmr. Do you think the doc will be able to tell the gender of my bb then? He might use 3D scan. I will be 12wk1day.

K Ong,

See whether the rest of ur measurements are consistent
My measurements have been very consistent so far

It takes some time for MS to go away. Just hang on here!

volf,

12 week like to early to tell hor... dunno leh .. maybe your doc's machine real powerful

kk,

for my son i think the conception date is abt day 10 on the day of iui..

tinklebell,

wat's oscar test about ?? Can find out gender wan ah... i wanna do also!!!
heheee where are u doing it ... how much will it cost ?

Hi KK dear - Will pray for you. Hang in there. Am also rather worried for the entire 2 wks abt my check-up too...if you remember my problem ...sigh... But there's nothing we can do now. Try to make yourself happy this afternoon? Go for pedicure or eat something u like?
Am praying very hard that we will be ok & our bbs will be healthy & normal.

Hope you get gd news

kk, all the son's old clothes are given away already... they have been recycled thru many of my nieces and nephews ... donno where they are now... not sure if i can get back. if it's a girl, then i will have to shop for more pink clothes and beddings.... i love bb girls in pink ...so sweet
Actually, i do hope for more hand me downs bec bb grow so fast ... within few mths they outgrow the clothes.

Volf,

Yah rite! Hope we both share good news with each other tomorrow
My appt is in the afternoon.. longgg way to go. What abt urs? Morning?

poohy, oscar is a test for down syndrome...supposedly more accurate that NT test. it involves a blood test and a scan... so hopefully during the scan bb will cooperate and open the legs

btw, how much did you ladies pay for NT test? the oscar will cost $298. not sure if it is considered cheap or ex amongst all the downs test. all i know is that 298 is not v cheap lor

tinklebell - So nice to be able to shop for your bb gal! Am sure there are so many more things to buy for a gal!! So sweetttt..... my SIL is expecting a gal. Think she was hoping for a boy so can recycle my nephew's clothes. Now that its a gal, wldnt be surprised if she dresses the gal in the boy's old clothes... to save $$$. Wah - if it were me, I will make my gal be the prettiest, sweetest gal on earth!! hahha

Tinklebell,

U and poohy must be dreaming over a bb girl ya? Haha..

i do have many hands-me-down for newborns. Still kept safely at my mum's place. Haven't washed yet. And a lot of nappies too. But wonder will use them eventually as my colleagues who had given birth say they used cloth nappies and eventually gave up due to the washing as their bb pee every 1 hour or so. So they switched to diapers instead. Even their mums can't take it.

I have yet to do any shopping. Guess i would get the essentials first. Big items shall put aside for the time being. Slowly buy over time. Hmmm, guess that is where my year end bonus will go to this year.

Volf,

For newborns, the clothes roughly look the same. Pretty neutral. So buy white is able to cover both bb boy and girl

If mine is a girl, subsequently, will definitely dress her in pink. So Sweet!!

kk, no lah, any gender is fine with me ...i thought another boy will be good bec my son will have a good companion.... but my son doesnt think so. he wants a mei mei bec he says that "mei mei plays with barbie dolls and will not snatch his power ranger toys"... haha!

kk - Yes, let's update each other with gd news! My appt is at 1045am. By the time am done with the scan etc, will be abt 1pm I think. I am looking forward to going shopping after the check-up,...nd to buy my 1st maternity wear!! & xmas shopping. That is if it's gd news... otherwise, lol. If gd news for you, do go out and give yrself a treat ya!!?

Tinklebell - am not sure the cost of the NT scan. But I think will not be cheap. ALready done the bloodtests including haemoglobin etc... result was gd.

Volf,

My appt at 2pm. Wonder what time my detailed scan will end. Hopefully everything go smoothly!

My ex colleagues, which are still my hubby's present colleagues, are holding a gathering - bbq cum buffet session tomorrow nite. So hope we both can go with a joyous mood.

talking abt nappies....
u know what one one my colleagues do??? she recycled her mummy poko diapers.. ok how she does that. after the diaper is soiled, she removes it, wash the whole thing, dry it and insert nappy into the diaper. then she lets her son wear it like a diaper and told me she saves a lot of money. errrr ... i'm not sure if i want to try that... but it seems like quite an invention!

kk - same here. If bb gal, I will sure dress her up like a princess ...pink!! I meant my SIL will dress her gal in boy clothes when older..eek.

Tinklebell,

I was wondering what am i going to do when mine is a bb boy. I dunno anything about boys' clothes and also know nuts about the toys they play. My nephew drives me crazy when he go to toys r us. By the way, my nephew is strange. He doesn't talk to girls. When he knows i am bringing him out and buying toys for him, he will talk to me. But anytime else i drop by, he will ignore me and seems like i am talking to a piece of wall most of the time haha... but he likes my hubby though. always talk to him and play with him like crazy!

So if i have a boy, he will be a good companion for my hubby

tinklebell - isnt the recycling diapers thing a bit unhygenic? So scary.. I know some pp buy a diaper liner to line to the diaper. Once soiled, they throw away the liner..if diaper dirty, then they throw diaper. If the latter, I think I dun mind lah... except nd to check the cost of the liner right!?

tinklebell,

oh ic... my nt scan cost $157 at kkh... so not sure whether oscar test how much..

kk,

no lah actually i am fine with whatever gender though ideally i hope to have another boy so that he can play with my bb boy now .. haha.. and then finally another gal
My SIL said her scan indicated she may be expecting 2 gals.. so i was just thinking if mine also gal.... next year june, my boy will have 3 little sisters to bully him hehe

Tinklebell,

Haha.. so what did u use previously? Diapers or cloth ones?

Volf,

Can't be. I dun think ur SIL will bear to dress her girl in boy clothes hahahaa... not me definitely!

I can imagine my girl in pink. In fact my whole house is in pink as i love pink. I love to dress in pink too. So the only fellow left out is my hubby hahaha..

Hey - I think having a boy is less maintenance. You buy less things (cos boys clothes not as cute and sweet as gals).. then when they grow up, also nd less things. Am I right?

tinklebell, volf,

if mine is a gal, definitely starts another round of shopping spree from mothercare, gap, gymboree and oldnavy.
hehee.... the bb gal dress so cute.. i definitely buy like crazy. Already my boy has much much more clothes than he need liao and none are hands-me-down. Strange enough, no one gave us any hands me down leh... my other cousins all had v young children or more to come...
I think i spent thousands on my boy's clothes so far... my hb v scared of me looking at those online shopping site like gap and oldnavy.

kk, boys clothes very standard one. blue color cant go wrong. T-shirt and shorts or bermudas. my son hates us to dress him up nicely, hates to tuck in his shirt. so, most important thing is comfort. he goes crazy not only at toys r us, also kiddy palace and wherever there are toys (esp power rangers!!) my dad had spoilt him rotten to the core... keeps buying him toys though i told him to stop that. somehow, that's ah-gong's way of showing him affection ... seems like v hard for me to interfere. my little boy's third bday is coming on monday.... i can imagine the no of power rangers he will get on his bday... poor mummy will have a hard time clearing all the toys!

Volf,

That's what i think too. Spend less on boys. But then i would feel boys would be underprivileged haha..

When i went to chinatown market that day, I was looking at some CNY clothes for girls. So cute!!

kk - I wldnt be surprised if she does. She is very thrifty, and I think she only owns a pair of track shoes herself. Me, I am like Imelda Marcos next to her.

Tinklebell,

My nephew crazy over ultraman! My hubby happens to like ultraman too. So both of them really play together.

And it is amazing how fast the kids update themselves on latest trends on toys. Sometimes i get to know what's new in the market from my nieces and nephew. Guess they glued to tv more often than i do haha..

volf, that's precisely wat i thought... not v hygienic leh. but my colleague says the concept is the same as using nappies.
oh ya, i forget to add that she also puts a nappy liner inside (on top of the nappy).

kk, i have always used diapers... i cannot imagine having to keep washing nappies!!!

tinklebell,

ya lor cleaning those toys is a headache! I am so lazy hardly clean my boy's toys hehee except maybe the first time when he plays. Most of the time.. his daddy will clean his toys when he do weekly vacuum and mopping the floor.

kk,

i think even if my boy wanna bully the 3 little sisters, they can just gang up against him... power in numbers mah

another reason i want my last to be gal becos... boys need to go for NS, so they will graduate from uni later... so by the time my boys graduate from uni... the gal also abt the same time graduate mah
If last one boy, gotta delay by another 2 years...

tinklebell,

my mum told me abt the lining a nappy liner in the diaper too... but i dun really find the idea v appealing leh... hehee... cant imagine washing so much nappies too.

anyway i also think boys lower maintenance... gals tends to like to doll themselves more when grow up... sure spend more.

hahaha... kk, not just power rangers and ultraman, now my hubby and son super crazy over Star Wars! both of them watch star wars almost everyday!!!! until i am so sick of the music. they keep singing the theme song ...errrr .... cant appreciate. both of them went to see the exhibition at science centre... good thing the entrance fee is quite high and he doesnt encourage me to go.

Poohy,

Haha, u know how bad my students are. They tell me my first child better to be a boy. So that subsequently girls will be ok. If first one is a girl and then a string of girls, followed by a last boy, the boy will be a sissy hahahaa!

Hmmm, i do have a few boyfriends who are last among their sibling girls and they do act really gentle. Reason being they are over pampered at home. And most of them are only sons.

Luckily my hubby is not like tat! He has one elder sister.