(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

harlow ladies

so many of you ladies are only 40+ kg! it's amazing! the last i was 48kg was wayyyy back when i was in my first year uni.. ha ha!

i actually lost some weight during my first trimester you know. not much la. about 1 kg. now 55kg i think. might have gained a bit more cos have been eating more since my MS has gone away. glad. glad. glad. now can once again enjoy the pleasures of eating

to those ladies who still suffer from MS, hang in there.. it'll pass soon

re: stretch mark cream
i bought the Mustela cream from kiddy palace. been using it for past 3 days. no stretch marks yet but skin around tummy seems a bit itchy sometimes so decided to just buy it for preventive measures.

re: maternity wear
bought a pair of denim crop pants from spring for $69.90 and two maternity cotton tee. very comfy. am getting a lot of wear from them cos its the holidays now so only need casual wear. will buy more formal wear later when school's about to reopen. saw some nice pants at mothercare.

hi tinklebell,
cos i was down and away fm work for almost 3 wks so i hv to tell my immediate bosses.. and my dept colleagues got to know cos they hv to stand in my work for me.. when i'm bk.. i was looking quite bad.. a few closer colleagues came to ask me so i told them.. the culture here is still alright.. not many 38s ard so quite ok for me..

in fact u'll feel happier after u tell them cos u dun hv to hide hide anymore esp. when u are hvg MS.. that's worse.

hi dor,
me planning to sign up with 'birth and beyond' at tanglin shopping centre.. they hv various exercise.. i thk $200 for package of 10 sessions, u can select the different classes of you choice to go (for eg. yoga this wk and aquaexercise next wke..etc)

tinklebell,

my pregnancy are considered closely spaced... so i also was in dillema how to break the news to boss and how it will impact my performance etc. I finally did by sending him an email last week to tell him and to assure him i will try my best not to impact work... my bosses are v understanding and are christians... and i had worked with them for 6 years... so i think prob they wont really be that displeased abt it... afterall.. sooner or later we will need to expand our family and have children.. its a natural process mah... But these days most of us just have 2-4 children... so how many years will there be impact... i feel a good company should not be so narrow minded... In my current early pregnancy, one company even insisted on interviewing me when i told them i am pregnant... but after some thoughts i din go ... becos i feel the change of environment will give me extra stress... and due to some other pull reasons in my company...

Volf20 - You can buy it at mUMS AND bABES. THEY COME in different materials as well.

Itchy breast -

Do you ladies have itchy breast? I find my nipples and aerola really itchy.

KK - Yeap. I find I can't manage the food I use to love. I like seaweed before I got pregnant. Now , even a little shredof it on my Jap rice and I want to throw up. I guess Babies want to eat other things.I don't eat beef before but now, like beef. weird eh?

duffy, i am lucky i dont really have MS or long MCs this pregnacy. so no one suspect anything. i wanted very much to tell my colleagues and boss and to share the joy with them but just dont know how to put it across to them.

as for my family, i didnt tell them but my grandma suspected and asked me if i was preg..she super duper sharp cos i was only like 6 weeks pregnant... of course i wont hide the news from her. after that, all my relatives knew abt it.

poohy, i sort of hinted to my boss earlier this year cos he asked me why i need an mpv when i have only 1 kid. so i told him that i am gonna have 4 kids and the mpv is a motivation to have more :p. he only has 1 kid and he keeps telling me this is one big regret he has in life. so i suppose he wont be too shocked with my news.... just that i donno how to put it across to him.

Lilfeets,

I still love seaweeds!! At one time i used to eat anything except chinese food. Anything western and japanese is really nice. i am glad i am able to get back to my normal diet now

tinklebell,

u want 4 kids ah ??? me also wanted 4 kids if i can ... but after 1 ... and so many things i wanted to do for him... i sorta feel if i have 4, surely wont have that same level of resources and time... so compromise to want 2-3 kids... prefer 3 but ... dunno leh... i gotta consider the impact after this one first.. take a step as it comes..

me too considering buying mpv... but worried it will become white elephant most of the time .. with me and hb in it only... which one u wanna buy ? We wanted the toyota wish but feels its a bit small and its parallel import leh... so we are now considering buying the picnic (though i think wish got nicer exterior look)... prob will buy in the early part of next year as we are monitoring car prices to drop again early next year afer cny...

Hi miz_hopeful,
me looking for demin capri leh. shall pop in spring to take a look and also looking for causal tee as well. Hmm the tees can be wear til 9mths? how abt e demin?

Hi lilfeets,
me too a few occasions, my nipples feel very itchy and i feel scratching (abit disgusting) hehe not sure any thing can stop it? anyone can advise?

I still LOURVE the jap miso soup /dish served in paper over a fire.. So far, I seem to like all soups - western, jap, chinese. Still cant stomach any chilli, spicy stuff - which is a pity since I loved curries and chilli. Slurp.

In fact I still like the usual foods I ate before preggie. Except I dun care for coffee now - strange cos am a kopi queen before.

Hi Volf,

How are u these few days?

Wow, ur diet becomes so much healthier than before. No spicy stuff, no chilli and no coffee
Unlike me, oily and spicy stuff attracted me in my 1st tri despite not being a good spicy eater before pregnancy.

There was one time when i had no appetite for chinese soups. Anything under chinese category will make me feel like a merlion soon after i ate them. So much happier now that i can consume back as per normal and boil my own soups now almost everyday

Hii KK - Am better. No more bleeding. JUst staying at home as advised by doc till Fri check-up. Feeling optimistic abt it

Ya - diet super healthy now...not by choice lah..but cos I puke v badly each time I take those oily spicy foods. BB super healthy eater..hahha. Gd that you are out of 1st trim and enjoying yr meals. Actually I think the June MTBs are the 'last' batch' of mums to be able to enjoy the xmas festivities and food. Imagine yourself to be a Jul MTB.. you wld be puking yr face silly.. and tired and all. At least for us, most are moving away fr MS already ..

hi kite

go check out the denim capri at Spring then. they are really rather nice and comfy. i'm wearing them everywhere now
and yes, both the capri and tees can be worn till 9 months i think. the capris have those wide elastic bands around the tummy which can be worn below belly as you grow bigger. they look something like this:

343798.jpg

the tees oso not the type that's tight and fitting. it flares out a little at and has allowance for tummy to grow. looks like a wrap around with slight gathers at the side. but actually a one piece tee. the details of the gathers makes it not so plain i feel.

lilfeets, kite

i sometimes experience the itchiness around the breast area too. in fact on tummy too.

i read somewhere that it's because of the stretching of our skin as our tummy and breasts grow bigger over the course of our pregnancy.

i massage in the mustella stretch cream around the affected area and it does seem to help a little.

volf,

glad to hear that you're feeling better.
and it's great that you're eating healthy. i haven't really taken care of my diet at all. worse during my 1st trimester. don feel like eating at all.

i'm a coffee addict and believe it or not i still drink coffee and a lot of other unhealty drinks. drank so much of those sweet carbonated drinks in 1st tri cos found that it helped to reduce my nausea. bad. bad.

now trying to make up for it by eating healthy. hope my baby will be strong enough and clever enough to absorb only what's good and filter out the bad.

hey kite, guess what..

found a pic on website that looks like the t-shirts i bought.

i bought this in black and white from Spring. i wear them with the denim capris

343803.jpg

Actually my gynae said its ok if you drink 1 cup of coffee a day. Just that I sort of 'lost' interest in coffee - maybe pyschologically cos I worry it wld affect the bb. Also drank some coke in early 1st trim cos it helped control the nauseas. Now, am taking prune juice instead. Colleagues saw me drink 2 cans of lime & gave me a gd scolding
Told me can put on a lot of weight and get pregnancy related diabetes n no gd for bb. So I got scared & stopped

Hi poohy, we drive the toyota wish. reason why we bought that over the picnic is bec
1) it looks nicer
2) fuel economical (the fc is around 12-13km/l) this fc is even better when compared to our previous 1.5l saloon car. so in terms of fuel, we save a bit.
3) it's 1.8ltrs compared to at least 2.0ltrs for picnic wh means we save on road tax, insurance etc.

The usefulness comes in during weekends when we can bring our parents, grandparents all out in just one car. also, we managed to pack a lot of barang barang in our recent trip to the chalet.

now, i heard fr my hubby there is a new facelifted version which is cheaper and nicer. so far, we dont have much complaints abt the car. but yes, it's only available fr the Parallel importers. the worry abt buying from PI is the warranty coverage for 1st 3 years. if PI goes bust, so does your warranty. look around first. there are a lot of PIs in the market. go for one which is reputable. after the warranty coverage is up, the worry is the available spare parts. we were quite confident it wouldnt be a problem judging from the number of wishes on the road these days.

Look around first. there are also other mpvs wh are quite nice like the mazda 5, hyundai trajet etc. i am sure u will be able to find one u like.

And yes, i simply love children and i wish to have at least 3 or 4 if i can afford and cope. Take one step at a time lah

Hi miz_hopeful, u have a kopi addict fren here to join u. me cant live without kopi. used to drink ard 2-3 cups a day but now, i have since cut it to max 1.

hi miz_hopeful,
thanks for the pics. yes i m looking for this kind of demin capri for so long time n causal tees! Wondering got my size anot? very nice n simple leh which i like. hehe

tinklebell,

i like the wish a lot too due to the reasons u stated.... we had considered it for 1 year liao... but still din buy becos of the PI issues which u had also stated. I dun feel comfortable with PI at all.... and besides the picnic has dropped its price to an extremely affordable level. I heard rumours that Borneo motors may be bringing in 2litre toyata wish next year... but i dun think i will buy a 2litre wish even if its from BM... cos the attractiveness of wish is the fuel efficiency and 1.8l capacity... lower taxes mah. Ya we are still looking around... but i only like toyota cars... so its either wish or picnic. Most likely picnic cos we fear the last row in wish will be too squeeze for adults ...is it ? My cousin bought a wish last year and i sat at the last row.. seems ok for the short distance ride but i dunno how it will figure out for a long distance ride... there are complaints that the last row is squeezed leh... and i gathered for that small amount of price difference.. picnic seems to be more comfy.... anyway we are still considering... cos my hb said that it will not be worth it to drive the car for less than 10 years this time becos of the new tax structure. so whatever we buy will likely stick to us more than 5 years i think...hopefully 10 years..

at times when i think of the pain from stitches, breaking of waterbag and cervic check... i got a bit scared.. but looking at my son... i wish i can have more children too... hehee.. hopefully i can successfully have 3 children. My mum is against it cos most of the people in her side of the family had only 2 children... but i feel having more children lessen the burden on each child in future... when anything happen to us, they will have more people to discuss and share with... wont be so lonely...

hi miz_hopeful,
u mentioned the demin capri costs $69.90 got discount? how abt the tees? how much ah? i forgotten. got discount too?

poohy, the last row is ok for me and my family cos we are quite short :p but my parents in laws are quite big sized and their heads will hit the ceiling so we never make them sit at the back. only once a while we make use of the back seat so it's not really a worry for us. yes, i also heard abt the 2ltr wish thing. And yes, we do intend to drive the car for a long long time. not worth to change. we learnt our lesson from our previous transactions.

i feel that the choice of no of kids is yours and your hubby's. my mother is also against me having too many. she says too troublesome and too much worry abt their education in the future. and she says that bringing children into this world is only bringing agony to them bec they have to study hard for best education, slog like mad to earn more money etc etc. **hiaz** but of course i dont agree with her but i keep my mouth shut.

tinklebell,

hehee.. ya its totally our choice to have kids... that's why even though my mum wasnt really supportive at first, we go ahead and had another one so soon... but i gotta say she love my son too much that's why she feels that having one such child is enough liao.... she takes care of my boy singlehandedly and next year, my 2nd bb to add to her load... so whatever i do, i need to consider her ability too... dun wanna make it too tiring for her... though we can easily afford childcare services while i am working, i cant bear to think of anyone else taking care of my children except my mum... she is so experienced and meticulous... and dote on my son so much... besides, i know she meant well..
Its not that she think its agony for the children... she actually dun want me to go through too much suffering to carry them, give birth to them, take care of them, work so hard all my life ... the more children, the bigger the burden on the parents mah... so her intention is always for me...
all mothers are so great... always thinking first and foremost of their children.

I read from other postings that if tummy and breast area feel itchy, dun go and scratch it, else if there are really stretch marks, it will be real ugly.

But sometimes i just cannot tahan and go on to scratch

kk,

if really itchy, why dun u apply some stretchmark cream ? I think it helps leh... cos i suspect its itchy becos the skin are stretched ... my tummy was itchy and then i go and apply some stretchmark cream and it no longer itch.

i read in the papers this morning that this loan shark pushed a 4 week pregnant lady down the stair case and caused her to miscarry. how unfortunate! feels so sad for her.

Tinklebell - I read that too. Feel so sorry for the mum & dad! The loan shark is really too much - ought to feel guilty for the rest of his life. Terrible.

hi kk,

think its the same case 4 me..got to try again aft our 1st trimester..btw,when will our 1st trimester ends?

Angeline,

Sorry... try what ah? Heeee... i can't remember our "conversation" liao.

12th week is the last week of 1st trimester. But then there is no guarantee MS will subside. My MS dragged till week 15. Horrible. In fact it was worse at week 12 to week 15.

kk,

i mean drinking milk anumum etc..12th week? i got a fren who say its not true leh..they say its actuali 14th week...

hi tinklebell,

so glad to hear that there's someone out there who still drinks coffee.
I have a close gf who was also a total coffee junkie but stopped totally when she found out she was pregnant.

hi kite

i don't know what size you wear, but Spring carries the denim capris in S, M and L. I got the one in M and it's still rather roomy.

i felt that the tees were a little ex at $35.90 each but since i really like the cut and fit i bought two of them.

no discounts for the purchases. but if you do spend $200 in a month you can get a VIP card which will then entitle you to a 10% discount for future purchases.

hi Miz_hopeful - I read that you can safely have a cup a day. Not too much of an effect but if you have a few a day, then it's not good. Of course if you are able to abstain, that's great but it can be tough esp when you're tired or a seasoned coffee drinker who needs a fix.

Hmm.. I started Anmum 1 at 10 weeks. Still drinking it now. Help me not to feel hungry in the morning.

I put lotion on the breast but it is stil itchy and I have to really stop myself from scratching.

Told hubby we should not expect our kids to care for us financially in the future. It's tough enough that they mange their own families ans still support us is too much to ask. Children are not cash cows that we have for them to up keep us in future. They didn't get asked to be in this world and its our responsibility as parent to take are of them, educate them and provide for them cause we made that choice. In short, they really don't owe us a farthing. Then again, that's my view.

kk,

me oso dun koe leh...my fren say trimester 1 ends on 14th week..she didn oso say y...hmmm,maybe can chk wif gynae at d next appt..

Ladies, can i check with u something.. sometime back, someone once told me that u can claim $450 off your antenatal charges from the govt. is it true? i did a web search but cant seem to find anything abt this.

hi tinklebell. i hope this is what you're looking for:

-------------------------------------------------
Medisave Maternity Package
The Medisave Maternity Package has also been put in place to further help couples with delivery expenses as well as pre-delivery medical expenses (such as consultations, ultrasound). Under the Medisave Maternity Package, couples will be able to withdraw $450 more from Medisave than they can today, for the delivery and pre-delivery medical expenses of a woman's first four living children born on or after 1 August 2004. The Medisave Maternity Package will also be extended for the delivery and pre-delivery medical expenses of the woman's fifth and subsequent living child if the parents have a combined Medisave balance of at least $15,000* at the time of delivery.

* The minimum balance of $15,000 is necessary to prevent premature depletion of the parents' Medisave and to ensure that individual has sufficient Medisave for hospitalisation needs especially during old age.

-------------------------------------------------
you may want to visit this link to read up more on the medisave maternity package:

http://www.moh.gov.sg/corp/about/faqs/policy/details.do?cid=cat_faqs_pol_mpschemes&id=27262977

lilfeets,

same here... me too dun expect our children to take care of us... that's why after much thoughts we only wana have maximum 3 children... else later not enough cash for our old age and we will become a burden. The reason we want more children to share the burden is not financial... its for emotional support. I feel that being a single child or 2 is too lonely... especially when major crisis hit... nothing beats having emotional support around...

tinklebell,

ya true... i claim medisave for my antenatal fees for my son early this year. Keep all the receipts and when you admit to the hospital for delivery, they will collect these for u and file medisave claim for u accordingly.

i went for my appt with gynae yesterday... he is going away on saturday so i gotta bring forward my appt... the scan shows bb to be at 13w2d.

But 1 month ago, the scan shows bb to be at 10-11week (abt 10w5d)... and 2 weeks ago, my nt scan shows bb to be at 12w4d.

the scan yesterday shows bb only grow by 5day in a period of 12 days..... i find it v puzzling... just sent an email to my gynae to chk liao... a bit worried bb growth may be slow or something.... i know the scan are just statistical gauge, but previously my son never had such discrepancies... and the growth is only faster but never so much slower leh.

we tried to scan for gender but my doc said bb too active so cant see... and besides too small still... sian
I was hoping so much to know the gender then can start buying things muahahaha

miz_hopeful, the demin capri looks nice hor. doesnt look too pregnant.

strangely today, my morning sickness sypmtoms seemed to have started. didnt feel so nausea the fast 12 weeks... first time today ...**hiaz** do u feel hungry often? i have been feeling extremely hungry these days. can gobble down large chunks of meat! the other day i ate so much beef and 1 big crab (on separate occassions lah).... never acted like this before.