(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

wah, envy all of u leh, can go for holiday. Rite now, i've to tink of whether got enuff $$ now dat a baby is on the way. ;p Also, my hubby juz changed a new job, so hard to take leave to go vacation...

Tinkerbell,
You're lucky u dun hv backpain
Two of my galfrens had backpain for a few months to a year(!). My gynae ask me not to take epi since i so fearful of getting "side-effects", but i tink i sure ask for epi one. Dis is my first one s'more. I also very scared of pain - but not really scared of taking blood / injections tho...

K Ong, i think the only thing to do now is to get a good rest.... dont worry too much abt your colleagues... your own health more impt. See a doc. They will prescribe u Maxalon or some anti vomitting medicine.

Practically everything in the maternity shop i also like. *heheh* Nevermind ... just enjoy your trip and shopping.

Lilfeets: thanks for the tips. I got two types of tablets from my GP which Gynae said is ok to take. This week was actually getting better already, onlu puke in the mornings. But today got really bad, and have been puking 5 times

I took the medication just before lunch and it seems to be keeping the food down but I still feel like i cld puke it all out ...
Dunno if it's all in the mind ...
OK i'll try peppermint and mints :) thanks sweetie !

Just a question. I know there are discussion for baby milk bottles but hubby and I are stumped on which one to get. There's the anti-colic one - BBfree, Dr Brown (we find that they have alotof parts to wash and can be quite expensive) and also the normal ones. Any experience mummies care to commend and give me some advise. We're planning to buy little bits at a time so as not to blow our account.

Also, which size to get. Was advised to get both 4 ounce and 8 ounces bottle.

Yes match_gal, i was lucky...i miraculously escaped from the terrible back and head aches. But got one permanent damage ... my 2 big toes until today still got no feeling. Think the nerves damaged already.... but it doesnt bother me v much lah.

K Ong

no worries. I used to get motion sick all teh time and a friend from US said that if I can change the taste in my mouth, I can prevent throwing up. I tried that and it worked for me. Apparently, when we feel like vomitting, there's this salty slight taste in the mouth which then encourages us to throw up. So , if we get rid of the taste, can "con" the brian / body. May not work for all though. Please do watch the sweets. Too much sugar not good for mummy or baby =P Avoid Sugar free sweets too cause heard they contain some chemicals which may not be too good as well. Take in moderation. =P good luck.

tinklebell: i know, but i was already on 2 days mc last week for equally severe vomiting ... so trying to tahan today ...
am leaving for KL on fri, so that will be a good break for me :)
I tried Maxalon before, and it gives me a heaache ! So am taking Navidoxine now.

Lilfeets: hmmm ok ok , will go research more abt this :)

Lilfeets, will u be expressing the breast milk in the bottles? if u are, suggest u dont get one that is made of too thick material. my son used to use Avent but it took too long to heat up the breast milk so we switched to pigeon anti-colic one. There are many brands in the market. depends on your budget and what u are looking for. i personally prefer a simple bottle with not too many parts to wash.

Lilfeets, yes after the delivery, i shivered for a while... my gynae said it is the side effect of epi... only for around 10 mins or less if i remembered correctly.

tinklebell

Thanks. I was thinking of the same thing case Dr Brown's bottles are very expensive and have lots of parts to wash. Was wondering if there are cheaper but equally good anti-colic options for bottles. Will be buying a medala breast pump but heard that the pump can't use anyother bottles save its brand.Also, headache cause not all steriliser can fit the medela bottles. Any advise?

Hmmm ...i think i am the lucky few who dont suffer from MS ... only last week vomitted a few times bec of bad cough ... cough until i throw up!
No wonder i gain weight so fast ....*hiaz* But i read somewhere that MS means u have appropriate hormonal level ...which is a good sign.

K Ong - Hang in there. I do get severe vomitting whereby I can continue vomitting, and vomitting, and vomitting continuously for 15min. It's horrid cos of the smell, and also cos you end up puking yr bile out. Hope yours not as jia lat. Today - I puked 3 times in office. I take Primperan tablets given by my doc. Quite useful earlier except I dun use them now. I try to 'tong'. You shd stay at home to rest. The company will not thank you for your sacrifice you know?! Your health and bb's is most import.

Lilfeets, Is it? i also thought of buying medala breast pump but only can use their brand of bottles??? let me think ....i know .... u can transfer the milk to another bottle after pumping. then u dont have to restrict yourself to their brand of bottles. never used that before so i doono if it is good or not.

Lilfeets - My fren told me she's been using Medela pump as it can fit all types of bots. She used Pigeon & Nuk bots with it. It's the Avent brand that can fit only its only brand. Medela is highly recommended by most hospitals.

U mean Medala bottles are so big that u cannot fit into a sterilizer??? thought sterilizers normally quite big. For me, i remove the plastic thing that hold the bottle individually so that it can hold bottles of all sizes.

tinklebell - ahhhh.. that's the trick. I went to mums & babes and she said that the medela bottles is a wide nexck bottles so can't use the avent steriliser etc.

Also saw from another thread that medela pumps cannot fit all bottles size so have to transfer. Bit confused now.

Volf20 - I think the medela pump can't fit avent bottles. I check with the sales staff again on the Nuk bottles when I go back over the weekend or so.

Do you know if NUK bottles are any good for colic etc? Also, where to buy them?

Tinklebell /K Ong- yeah. My gyne also said that if you have MS, means body is making enough hormones for the pregnancy. I was worried cause MS disappeared after two weeks! he look worried when I mentioned that too but babies seem fine at the last scan two weeks agao.... Will see how it goes tomorrow.

Not sure if Nuk bots are gd for colic. They can be found in most dept stores like Robinsons. Just heard that the Nuk brand is gd for bots & steriliser. Avent steriliser can only use Avent bots. Same for pump. Maybe can let us know after u confirm?
Tks.

har??? really??? i never had MS since my first pregnancy ...jia lat!! my donno if there is something wrong with my hormone level!

tinklebell- nah.. don't think there's something wrong withyou. he said that it's just rare lor. Lucky ones who don't have MS.

volf20 - Will sure do. I'm definately confused now.

B2B3M4 (b2b3m4)
Username: b2b3m4

Post Number: 66
Posted on Monday, September 27, 2004 - 9:41 am:

If u have planned to get Medela pump, u shouldn't have bought Avent bottles. Avent's has a wide mouth, wld not be able to fit into medela pump. Medela pump can take all normal bottles, including those glass milk bottles from hospital.
Of course u can transfer the milk from medela to Avent, except its more troublesome

re: bottles and pumps and steriliser

i am using medela dual pump. Fits perfectly into any standard neck bottles like pigeon, nuk. I personally use both nuk and avent. Initially use avent to store all the breastmilk expressed out. The pump itself do not needs to be sterilised... only the bottle and parts which shd fit any steriliser. I am not using steriliser... me using those food steamer
Nuk is anti-colic bottle... nuby is good too.... in fact i had tried nuby, nuk, avent bottles... dun buy too much... cos it may not suit your bb and then u will find yourself buying more hehee... that's wat happen to me with my fussy little boy. now i still got so much bottles can use for my number 2 ...
btw, even nuk now has a premium range of wide neck bottles liao hor...

dear tinklebell
thanks for sharing your insight on anaesthetists. i never know that could be a problem. i feel so painful for you. i'd make sure my gynae doesnt recommend a female one to me. but im sure he'd use someone at gleneagles - i plan to deliver there.

you all very advanced leh.. the thing abt the choice of the milk bottles have not crossed my mind yet.. heehee.. but thanks for all the insight.. anyway, what is anti-colic? what does colic means?

ally,
I dunno if evaculation and D&C is the same thing, yah mine was in a way induce. I had spotting then, then after medication I got the bleeding. I left the choice to my hb, and we decide not to wait for natural mc.

Just make sure you dun get any infections.

ryue,
thanks.. yes definately will try again after i get my health back.

i just went for my 2nd appointment this morning, very happy to see my bb. BB now is 9 weeks and can see bb's shape and see heart beating, so amazing and can see bb's both hands and feet, so cute. luckily today i never tear, only tear on my 1st appointment hehe. Was smiling all the way.

My 3rd appt will be 3 and 1/2 weeks later next mth Dec. I will be doing the NT scan and double tests (not triple tests cos gynac said 1 of the tests is not neccessary). Double test include hemoglobin, MCV and MCH. what are these tests? are they called triple tests? Its actually called Thalaessemia Screening. These tests need to involve my hubby too, hv to take his blood.

For the NT scan, need to draw out something from the bb rite, issit painful?

Gynac also gave me anti-vomitting tablets in case i need it. Wil take when neccessary. Also she gave me a sample of NeuroGain to try first cos scare i wil vomit out. she advised me to try 1 week before my 2nd tri.

After that, went Suntec Perfect mum and bought a tube top and a white embriodary pant, both costs $80 after 15% discount.

Hi Poohy & all 2nd time moms,

How many bots shld we buy & what size?

Kite - I think I read that NT scan is non-invasive. It is an ultrasound scan. To measure the neck width of bb. Its the amniocentesis that nds to draw amniotic fluid fr the sac. That one I read can be rather painful. Confirmations from other mummies who hv gone through it?

Hi Kite,

I can imagine how u were feeling when u see ur bb heeee... next appt will be much more interesting. Can see the bb growing bigger and features more defined

NT scan.. why need to draw something from bb?? I thought only measure the neck, etc that's all? It is just like normal scan, just that different measurements are taken.

Neurogain is ok, taste like normal fish oil lor. Just that if u feel nauseous and wanna vomit, the taste in ur mouth will be awful!! For me, i just tahan heee...

volf,

ya u r rite abt the NT scan...
Its the amniocentesis that's invasive.

in my opinion, at the very beginning, u prob need abt 1-2 125ml/4oz small bottle. For the first 4 months of my bb's life, he only took 30-90ml... in the first 1 month, he took 30 ml only each feed. I only started using the bigger bottle recently....but generally i cant see why u would need the bigger bottle in the first 1 month... havent really heard any bb taking more than 4oz in the first 1 mth leh...

previously when i was first time mummy, i bought 1 big bottle, 2 small bottle for feeding. But if you are breastfeeding, and wanna express the bm, then may need more bottles for storage purposes in the fridge... i used to use those avent 125ml bottles to store all the expressed bm, but i know some mummies buy cheaper standard size bottles and just use those to store which i think is a great idea too... cos u need quite a number of bottles to store the bm. Each time u express, u need to store it in a separate bottle if bb din drink it... imagine.. at first u will either direct latch/expressed 2hourly throughout the day and nite.

when u start to have much more ebm for storage, then u will have to buy milk storage bag for freezing...

kk,

neurogain got taste meh ? I been taking it for my last pregnancy and this one... never taste anything.. i just pop in, gulp it down with some water without ever tasting it... cos i also scared got any fishy taste hehee..

Thanks Poohy! Now I know what to get for bb. AM trying to write a list of things to buy so I dun overbuy. Maybe will go get bb stuff during xmas sale or next yr.
So exciting. btw - do bb need to drink water in addition to milk?

kk,

ohh now i know wat u mean ... no wonder got taste. hehee... thank God i never vomit.. else i think vomit even more with those kind of fishy oil smell..

volf,

ya lor dun buy too much... when bb is borned, u will have a great time bringing bb around to buy things.... the bulk of my things are bought when my bb was borned... so fun going around every week shopping
btw, i think before our due date, there will prob be a takashimaya baby fair.. there is one held every year and last year it was held before singapore sale i think... in any case, buy things during such fair or GSS, sure got great discount wan...

I only started buying the bb wear and stuff when i am in my 28th-30th week onwards... before that din buy anything...

re: breast pump

btw, for breast pump hor.. i heard some other mummies experience is they dun buy first cos dunno how long they will be able to breastfeed... so scared later wasted. Or they just buy manual pump.

for me, i bought the medela dual electric pump before i gave birth cos i sorta din really wanna latch my bb on too much... cos i am worried later bb dun wanna take bottle, it will cause problem to my mum who will be the caregiver... and also becos i want my hb to be able to participate in feeding bb together with me right from the start. In any case, my bb din really wanna latch on and me din have the heart to... so i did exclusive pumping.

though many people recommended that medela breastpump is good, i think its not bad, but the suction somehow seems to cause some mummies' nipples to be quite pained and for me it causes some bleeding at times... the most irritating thing is its so noisy... imagine when u pump in the middle of the nite 2 hourly, like cutting grass hehee
Maybe another brand u all can consider or evaluate (cos they can lend u to express and try first before deciding to buy) is the ameda lacactline pump. I heard its as good as the medela pump in style and yet much cheaper. Best is not noisy
just for your info lah... anyway i may wanna buy this pump for my 2nd bb too... dun really like medela pump anymore hehee.. still can remember the pain leh... or maybe it just happen to me..

volf, i'll be looking forward to any xmas sales! yipeee! BB will get hand me downs fr his elder bro and cousins.

Right now, i am trying v hard to get back my maternity clothes which i have lent others... so far no luck and worse still, some pp whom i have lent my clothes to are still wearing them after birth...*hiaz* Hope i dont need to buy too many esp office wear wh is super expensive!

Also, cracking my head whether to get a maid and trouble my mother to look after BB or to look for an infant care... hiaz... anyone thought abt being a SAHM after birth? i always hoped to but ... it's a v hard decision to make.

tinklebell,

ya lor to be a sahm is a tough decision... financially may be tough on hb. Who is looking after your son now ? your mum ? Me too feels worried... cos my mum look after my boy alone now.. and when my bb is borned next year, my mum agrees to look after him too... but the age gap between the 2 is only 14-15months.. so it will be v tough on my mum... i wanna hire a maid for her but she dun want to have outsiders around. i dun really bear to put my son in the infant care.. cos no one can replace a dotting parent or grandparent's care.

poohy, my son is in child care half day and being looked after by mother for another half day. used to have a maid but she has since gone back home after her contract expired. headache trying to think of what future arrangement i can have. like yours, my mother also doesnt like to have maid around but without, i think she may not cope and she is getting older by the year. was thinking of putting my son in full day care and no 2 with mum... but she couldnt really cope with my bb 1 last time.
I'd love to spend more time with my kids. The kind of love u get from them is really endearing. Only prob i forsee is less savings for our future and giving less or no allowances to my parents (which may not be a good thing). was thinking of doing some small biz to sustain. lots of thoughts cross my mind but i have not made my decision.

tinklebell,

share your thoughts abt abt the time spent with our children... its so heartwarming... especially when we see them laugh or smile at us... i always feel very touched and happy when my son stretched out his son wanting me to carry him. He only just started learning how to stretch out his hands when he want people to carry him.. and i love the feeling... makes all the nite wakings to feed him and take care of him so worth it. Me too will send my son for some enrichment class soon... good for him to socialise more. My mum too keeps having joint problems etc these days... that's why i worried cos my son is quite heavy... anyway just gotta take things as it comes... really cant think of any solution... stopping work is a bit out of qn... especially when my salary is considered v substantial.... bo bian... me also wanna continue to give allowances to my mum ... for starting biz... think u gotta survey the market and make sure ... not easy too ...

Kite - Thalaessemia Screening is to screen for a genetic blood disorder. If you and your hubby are both carriers, then your baby will have a 50% chance of getting Thalaessemia Major. Children with this blood disorder will not live past the age of 21. That's why it's important to screen for pre-marital tests to know befor eyou start trying for a baby unless you are prepared to either abort or take a chance. my hubby is a carrier and I tested before we got married. Thank God not a carrier so not too worried. At most my babies will carry the gene only. Hope this helps.

ryue - yeah. Since we're giving birth in june, should wait for GSS to buy our baby stuff. Hopefully can get better deals yeah?

Poohy - thanks for the info on milk bottles. Do you think if I start off with 4 bottles of 4oz and 4 bottles of 8 ounce , it will be enough for my twins at first?

I think the reason why your medela oump is so noisy is because you chose the dual pump. My colleague used the PIS and it was much quieter andmore efficient but it is very costly. Also, with the PIS and some other models, you can adjust the pressure on the expression so your nipples won't feel so painful. In any case, I was told my the LC that it'snormal for nipples to crack or even bleed the initial 2-3 months as you are getting used to the constant sucking fromyour baby or the pump since you have not exposed your nipples to such treatment before. I'm getting the PIS advance for myself.

ladies -

What is neurogain? I only take fish oil supplements. Is that the same?

A bit excited cause I'll be going for my scan tonight. Hope babies are doing well.

tinklebell - I went to over 10 agencies and interview over 12 maids already. gave up and decided to place my babie sin fant care. It's tough cause even experience maids have prob adapting and taking are of one child so my twins , I can't imagine what she will do when I am not at home. Can't afford to stay at home cause epenses too much and as babies grow, will need more $$ for giving them other classes. cna you imagine if you kids want to learn piano or something. Buying a paino alone will set us back by at leats $2K not to mention the classes - about $100 per hour. *faint* think if you have a maid, musthave someone else to supervise her lor. Either MIL or your mum. I don't have that so infant care if the only choice for me.

Bad news.. my clinic called this morning, wanting to bring my appt forward to next tuesday. There is a problem in my triple test results. One of the test turn out to be positive indicating DS.

Now i am teribly worried.. what should i do???

Hi Lilfeets, actually, i think infant care is a good solution... i am just worried about the falling sick bit. i heard that children in infant or child care fall sick easily bec they catch the bugs from the others there. where u living? i'm living in Bukit Panjang ... have yet to scout around for a good infant care. I'd prefer not to have a maid if possible too. Actually my ex maid was quite ok in her work and looking after my son except that my mum doesnt like her and that after a while, she gets lazy and starts getting up even later than me! I wake up at 6am and she at 7am!!! Looks like i am the maid ..haha ... but still, despite that, i think i must give credit to her for looking after my son well.

lilfeet,

ya i know... but the PIS is too costly and impractical for me cos i dun intend to breastfeed long long mah...
The ameda lacactline is more practical cos i only intend to breastfeed 1-2 months and its almost as good as the PIS at a cheaper rate. Already my hb say i v extravagant to buy so many electric pump just to breastfeed 1-2 months heheee... anyway this is the luxury of working mummy... if i am sahm... think i will use manual pump instead haha... ya i know the initial months will cracked nipples etc.. but i think the pump plays an important role too according to the experiences of my other thread mummies..

i think 4 small and 4 big bottles shd be sufficient .... dun really need that much unless u dun wanna keep sterilising
my son till now still use the small bottle most of the times.. anyway the number of bottles depends on whether total breastfeeding, direct latch or expressed... etc. these things can only determined as the bb comes and grow... cos their pattern changes often..

re: maid, infant care and classes

ya these days lots of expenses for bringing up bb.. hehee... i spent thousands just on flashcards and right brain training stuff.. and then need to bring them for various enrichment classes...gymboree, kindermusik, BJG, suzuki violin...etc... that's why i cant stop working and cannot have 4 babies as planned liao... at most 3 babies...

Hi kk, sayang sayang ... be brave... i know no amount of words we say can keep u from worrying. look on the bright side. only 1 test is positive. Pray hard... may be a false alarm.

kk,

normally if test positive, gynae may offered the option of amniocentesis which is the only way to confirmed whether really DS or not. Most of the time the triple test is not that accurate... did u do an NT scan in trimester 1 ? that scan would be more accurate for screening DS.

as amniocentesis carry a risk... u gotta ask yourself what u will do if unfortunately bb is indeed DS... if u will keep bb no matter wat, then actually no point going for amniocentesis...

will pray that its going to turn out ok for u...

Hi Poohy,

There is no NT scan in trimester 1. I dunno why also. I was only asked to do the triple test in my last appt which is around week 15.4.

Really dunno... if u ask me now.. i wouldn't bear to go for abortion after seeing the cute little one on ultrasound scan.

Kk

Not to worry too much. Think there are other test - aminocentrisiss or something. it's invasive though. I saw a thread where some mummies have this but the amino test is most accurate. Only worry after your amino test comes back bad. I know it is very difficult but you have to be calm for your baby's sake. Just go to hear the other test he suggest and pray. My neightbour had that too and her amino test came back good. Hope this give syou hope. Good Luck!

tinklebell - I rather expose my kids to all these lil sniffles so his imune system can get the antibodies needed. Hopefully this will make him stronger in the long run. In any case, when he goes to school when older, same issues. Hence, Infant care does not bother me. need to do your research on the centre. i called up all 75 centre in Singapore and shortlist from there. In fact, taking tomorrow off to visit the ones I have shortlisted.

poohy - yeah. I want to breastfeed for at least 9 months min so that's why I feel investing in PIS is worthwhile. I told my hubby that since I'm breatsfeeding for twins, I want a good pump. i can't imagine pumping manual.. hands will cramp man! hahahaha...

yeah. I want tolatch for 3months striahgt if possibel to establish breast milk flow and feeding schedule. As I work, plan to discuss with hubby if we can use formula for nite feed so baby sleeps lobger then we can have more rest since twins will needs both of us every night to manage. Think that will work? Any formula to recommend for infants?

Hahhaa.. I saw afew infant care that has gymboree and kinder music incorporated in their day care with no extra charges but then again, these infant care charges are already quite high . Most charge around $1300 to $1500 before subsidy already so I guess it's included. I like that cause I don't have to run so many places to bring them to class so can spend more time bonding with my babies since alreayd working Mon - fri.

You know. Even though at 9 weeks, my nipples seem to be cracking/peeling. I'm using the purelan cream now already.

Hi Lilfeets,

Hmmm, like what poohy say, if no matter what happens we wanna keep the bb, then no need to take amnio test. Taking amnio test is a painful process and the results take some time to be out. After waiting, what if results turn out bad? Am i going to abort? etc...

I know sometimes, triple blood test can be a false alarm at times... but... sigh...

I read there is another test called the maternal serum dunno wat test. Anybody any idea what it is?

hi lilfeets

I seem to hv the same problem as u now that my nipples is awlfully painful. Can I noe where can I get the purelan cream? thks

kk

not to scare you or sound mean but you need to also think about how the child will manage when you are no longer in the world if he/she has DS. I know it is unthinkable to sacrifice a life but have a think. You may love your baby to bits but will the world do the same? Also, special education in schools are terribly expensive and the waiting list is extremely long. there aren't many special school as well. Are you able to cope with this emotionally, financially? can you stay at home to coach your child if you cannot get into special school caus enormal school kids can be pretty mean. I taught in a normal school with a deslexsic child and it really hurts to see him lagging behind. his self esteem really suffers.

I am not asking you to do the extreme but just some things you might want to consider more. My ex-boss has a child with special needs and his medical and school bills are so high but fortunately, she makes alot of money. I told my hubby how many people are that lucky to have that kind of care? She has two maids to take care of him. It's not impossible but rather, how much of this can you manage as well as your child.

I have often thought to myself about this issue but as a Christian, I know I cannot take a life that God has given to me. You need to evaluate this with you hubby and yourself on all these.

It's still too early to worry yet or think of such drastic measure . Wait for Amino test results before considering other options. If nothing else, you still have time to work things out and find out more reasearch on DS and make a better informed decision for consideration.

We're behind you and praying for your baby to be fine! Have faith.