(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi Tinklebell,

Yah, my first bb...

Me and hubby always go for trips in dec as i am in teaching and dec is really a breakaway for me. Now really miss travelling overseas

Actually we did plan for australia or HK trip this dec. But my mum didn't allow me to fly
So i have to drop the idea and go for cruise instead.

kk,

think i cant recommend u anything .. cos i always do nothing on the cruise. All I did is go and eat the free food and then go sleep or go to the deck to look at the sea... totally relaxing and do nothing
ya agree the weekend cruise is both exp and short... i would have always prefered to take the 4d3n cruise as its slightly more exp than the weekend cruise and more days .. and it goes some where.. so u can at least embark on board and go do some shopping... but if leave is a problem then weekend cruise is great... most people are there to gamble in the casino...

i had never been to australia... wat's nice and scenic there ? I tend to be a person who go for scenary more than shopping... I think we can cope with free n easy trips since it will be totally our call...

Hello ladies

There's so much I missed out in this thread the last week or so, and can't help feeling excited and envious about what you all are going through now. But I tell myself my turn will come...

It has been confirmed that my pregnancy is failing since last week. I am supposed to be in my week 11 this week. My HCG level has reduced drastically and the scan still did not show up anything. I have been preparing myself for the natural miscarriage or bleeding anytime this week, but till now I am still not, so may see the doc tomorrow for a D&C.

I am not giving up hope. I intend to build up my body system the next few months before i try for another IVF. I heard about the JE sinseh so thought of going there. Can anyone help me by providing me with his address and some general information of what would he do to help one get pregnant? Is he costly?

The next is anyone knows which doc/ hospital in Singapore is good for IVF? I am of course looking for a relatively affordable IVF as I understand that some who are clearly more expensive than others. Do they only see patients Mon-Sat 5 1/2 days? I was with the JB doc for my last IVF, but not sure if I should still stay with him as I cannot utilise my medisave for CPF if so. His operating hours are quite good, clinic open even on Sat and Sun. The only grouse is the jam at the causeway. There are quite some considerations for me so your information would help greatly in helping me make a decision.

Million thanks. And have a great journey to be a wonderful mum!

wow! envy envy u all poohy... i would love to go for these long holidays ... maybe australia , got a bit scared of long haul flights after my Europe trip. felt castrophobic. ur bb can sit still in long haul flights? mine definitely cannot. brought him to Taiwan only few hrs and he insisted he wanted to run ard or sit on the floor!

Hi Poohy,

Oh, i didn't know there is a longer 4D3N cruise. We are only offered all the 3D2N with land package. But we dun intend to land, so we chose to sail to nowhere.

I have gone to gold coast and sydney 5 yrs back with my uni mates after our graduation
For honeymoon, me and hubby went to melbourne. Last year, we went to Perth. It was simply great!! U love self drive, must give it a try at great ocean road when u go melbourne. It is really scenic!! I can still vividly remember what i see and how i feel when i was there
Imagine the cold winds blowing on u and the shiver haha.. it is great.

In perth, southwest route is great. Places like busselton jetty, pemberton are quiet and scenic. Pace in perth and southwest is very much slower. Pple work there slowly. We can wait up to half an hour for our fish and chips! haha...

Yah, me and hubby prefer scenic too, rather than shopping.

alyy,

sorry to hear abt the bad news... thankfully u had not lose hope but are all ready to try again... that's really great.

IVF done by private gynae are more exp compared to kkh. KKIVF centre from kk hospital offers IVF programme... i think the cost is abt $7k ? .. of course u would know it also depends on the amount of FSH stimulation jabs u require. But i think the kkh seems one of the most affordable leh... i may be wrong.... I think they do operate 5.5day week. Dr SF Loh in kkivf seems to be a popular choice and i know quite a number of ladies in the IVF support group in this forum consult him on their ivf procedure. I am not expert in TCM but i heard in the ivf support group that other than the JE sinseh, there is this sinseh in Marine Parade that seems to be quite good... why dun u go to the IVF/ICSI support group on this forum to check for more information... they will be able to give u the details of the sinseh. I had not keep tracked of the cost for a while as my encounter with kkivf was sometime last year...

tinklebell,

errr i also dunno whether my bb can tahan long haul flight cos i never bring him on any flight before... hehee... i just trying to go... may not succeed... cos both me and hb are v busy with our project these few months... so gotta see how...

kk,

wow sounds really great! thanx for your recommendation.. now i got some idea what to plan...

Hi poohy

I have just posted my query on the ivf support site as well. hope to get some news from there.

Thanks all for your encouragement. i'm hoping for the best!

I would love to have one boy and a girl this time round. Then family completed. hehehehe..... Keeping fingers crossed. I mean, will still love them if they are of the same sex but i will be so jealous if they were all girls. I like being the only female at home! =P

So exciting.... I can't wait to see my babies again. As I don't have MS these days, I can't tell how my babies are progressing so am abit concerned but seeing he doctor every week really wipes out my financial resources. Maternity clothes are also so expensive and all. Not to mention that will need to start savig up money to buy bird nest soon and I checked prices - they are really expensive for those "Dong Yan".

I dare not weigh myself these days but with the buldging tummy, I know i'm heavier. That is also why I am unconfrotable why Dr Fong don't take my weight in the first tri. what happens if I overeat? His claims is that weight flatuates very much depending on MS but isn't that all the more important to weight the mummy so that if she is puking out all the food and losing alot of weight, something can be doen to help? Or is that thinking wrong? I don't know.. He's a good doctor and all but just the little things bugs me. On the other hand, don't want to miss the big picture for the little stuff. I will have a good chat with him this week for the scan and then decide if I am swtiching gyne. Let you ladies know how it goes soon.

Alvy - there's no cheap gyne for IVF. The injections are very expensive and eventhe cheaper gyne charges will still come up to about $9-$12K in all from scans to injections etc. Again, the more skillful the gyne, the more expensive the charges. It's said that Prof Chris Chen has the highest chances for IVF in Singapore but his prices are really expensive cause I saw him only twice back then and we spent more than $1K for just two consultations and one scan only. imagine if you keep this up every few days for IVF etc. next in line is CARE at Paragon. Their prices aren;t cheap as well. It's also alot on luck. Some mummies I spoke to in the other forums got preggie again after trying naturally cause the checmical effects from the medication spills over. Again, luck plays a role here. Hard to point you to a gyne in that state and also depends on your medical history and all.

Hi kk - Wow. Enjoy yr cruise! You can enjoy Bingo games or aqua -aerobics at the pool. Otherwise, just R&R on the deck lor. So fun. Hv a gd time!

Alyy - Sorry to hear abt your case. Wishing you all the very best! My gynae happens to be a fertility expert. He is at Mt E, & his name is Suresh Nair. Tel: 6887 4264. You might wanna check him out. I like him cos he is very gentle, patient and detailed. Explains all details to you without you even asking. Am not too sure if he does IVF.. but he shd be cos he is a fertility expert.

alyy,

hope u will succeed soon.. the key is never give up
nothing beats a persistent heart.

actually my own gynae is a reproductive endocrinologist/fertility specialist who performs ivf procedure too. But as he has already gone into private practice... the cost of the puregon jabs will definitely be more exp.. i think kkh still offers one of the lowest cost for the stimulation jabs etc... Dr SF Loh and Sheila Loh in kkh are also very well knowned in this area as u will be able to see from the IVF/ICSI support group thread... so if cost is a concern, i think its best to go to kkivf. The most expensive gynae may not mean the best... lots of people succeeded with so-iui and ivf/icsi under the kkh gynaes too. with much lower cost...
From what I know the entire cost of ivf in kkh shd be ard $7k and u will be able to claim medisave as its done in singapore

tinklebell,

thanx... ya lor he really chubby and heavy weight these days.. hehee
let us see your blog leh when u r done... i wanna see your bb leh! Must be so lively and talkative now that already 3 years old liao
Can even help u when your 2nd bb is borned...

I'm a May first-time MTB, but have been also coming to the Jun thread to read your interesting threads ;p

I'm already about 2 wks into my second trimester, but haven't gained weight yet
So much so that my colleagues had been comparing me with other pregnant colleagues, and been giving sarcastic remarks such as "has your hubby been giving you enough $? You not enuff $ to buy food izit?" *sighz*... duno if i'm too sensitive, maybe i shd juz ignore their remarks... my appetite hasn't been good as well... i feel hungrie, but duno what to eat... everything luks kinda "bland" to my tastebuds... heh - i've been taking frequent small meals tho... Didn't experience much MS in the beginning, but MS started for me in the past 3-4weeks... not feeling well hence...

Need some advice from those who are second/third-time moms - if there any around here?
Wondering whether delivered in a different hospital than where your gynae is situated? Not sure whether the gynae would arrive late (or even after you've given birth????) if the hospital is different? Heard if it's the same hospital, at least during "break" time, the gynae would pop in to take a look and give instructions... but if different hospital, not sure when the gynae arrives... Any thoughts, anyone?

matched_gal,

i think gynae needs to travel to the delivery suite of your hospital ... so if he is not in the same building.. u gotta of course factor in the time to travel. I also heard that if gynae is in the same hospital... he/she will pop by during break time to take a look at u... but even if he/she is not in the same hospital... i think he/she will still come by at reasonable interval to check... my gynae is in private practice in tanglin shopping centre... when i was delivering my first bb... he also need to travel.. so he will tell the midwives at the delivery suite that he needs x minute to travel.. so must informed him x minute ahead... so when they check your dilation, they wont wait till the last min to page for him.

hi alyy,

sorrie to hear the sad news... if you are looking for affordable ivf treatment, kkivf would be the cheapest. i did my ivf there under SF Loh and it cost me $7k out of which i managed to claim $5.6k from Medisave. as for chinese physician, you can check out the marine parade sinseh mentioned in the IVF support thread. he's not bad

matched_gal,

i delivered in tmc previously. The midwives are ok.. basically they just check the cervix for dilation regularly and if u r abt to be able to push, they will call gynae and put u in position for pushing. Once gynae arrive, everything is ready for the delivery. They also monitor the ctg reading to make sure bb is not in distress in your gynae's absence... if yes, they may do first hand response by giving u oxygen etc and at the same time definitely page for your gynae's attention immediately. Sometimes gynae will give them instructions over the phone before he arrived, so they will just execute it ...

hi matched_gal,

i'm 12 wks now and my appetite has gone down quite alot these few days compared to my 1st 11 wks. like you, food does not appeal to me now and i have actually lost the weight i gained earlier on..
so sad that i dun derive any pleasure in eating anymore *sobsob*

Poohy, ya, my son is sooo talkative can talk non stop from morning to nite! u just told us that he wants a mei mei and not di di bec mei mei will play with barbie dolls and not his power ranger toys! i think he is beginning to feel threatened that the bb will take away our attention fr him.

matchedgirl, during delivery, gynae will just pop by and dont do really much. only towards the end he will arrive to deliver bb and/or do the episoptomy (if needed). There are other docs in the hospital so if your gynae cannot arrive in time, not to worry. most of the time, the midwives are trained to do the normal delivery procedure. if there are further complications, they will call your gynae or other available gynaes around.

cookiemz, matched_gal,

dun be too upset abt the weight loss. Most important thing is bb is gaining weight
maybe all that u eat gone to bb. Just make sure your nutrient and vitamin intake is enough that shd be sufficient.

hi ryue,

you done your NT scan right? is full bladder required for the scan? did your gynae give you pics to keep after the scan? i'm going for my scan tomolo and kind of excited at seeing bb again.. but had nightmares last night, dreaming that my bb shrunk in size.. haha

Seems like i am putting on a lot of weight compared to the rest. 2kgs in 9.5 weeks! and my hair has become more fuzzy. my clothes feel tight now. Sian... dont feel like wearing maternity so early. I really hope i dont end up like an elephant in my first preg. from 47kg, i balooned to 67kg!!!! and even my gynae commented that i have grown fr a small petite girl into a big elephant. *Hiaz*

tinklebell...

hehee your son must be so cute ... i think next time my boy too will be so talkative... my boy still cant feel the threat... cos he still dun understand abt having a sibling at 8 mths old...

did u managed to slim back to your pre pregnancy weight after delivering your son ? Did u eat alot that's why the weight gain ? I also gain abt 1-2 kg till now liao .. so sad cos i eat a lot of carbo.... now my weight is ard 46-7kg liao... after i deliver my son.. my weight went back to 45kg... then i got so happy with my weight that i started eating much more again ... hehee.. me too very scared of gaining too much weight cos later difficult to shed even with bfg...

cookiemz,

u doing your scan at TPS kkh ? Me too... mine's on friday... The last time i did nt scan at TPS, they give me a few printout ... i got one of my bb sitting... can see in this link

http://poohybaby.blogspot.com/2004_10_01_poohybaby_archive.html

hi poohy & tinkerbell,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience/inputs. Was thinking of delivering at Mt A [cos it's near to my house, and heard also that the service & staff there are good, plus their antenatal classes also received thumbs-up from many], but my gynae is at Mt E, so was wondering whether i should change gynae (to a Mt A one) or change delivery hospital(!)... However, headache for either decision, since i'm quite comfy wif my gynae already & read rather gd reviews about Mt A too. Well, guess i've to make a decision soon. Thanks for your assurances again

hi cookiemz,

Yah, can identify with you. The last time i went to my gynae, she said my baby's still ok in terms of growth & weight - that was before i lost my appetite. Right now, i've to wait 3 more weeks to find out howz my baby growing... and appetite is no good. Can't identify what my craving is s'more(!)... haha... I guess what the others say is right - we juz have to make sure we eat healthy & eat frequently
Maybe we can eat somethings which are brings out our appetite (eg i tried minestrone/ vegetable soup). That worked for a while ;)

Poohy, sad to say, after birth of my first bb, i gained 3 permanent KGs! from 47kg to 50kg! i gained a lot of weight in the 3rd trimester bec of water retention. had a near case of pre-eclampsia. my legs balooned to double their sizes, same for my fingers. 2 days after delivery, i lost 10kg almost instantaneously and the swelling disappeared. the other 10kgs were hard to lose. after 1 mth only managed to lose another 3kg. It took me another 5 mths to get to 50kg! I dont really eat a lot but think i have fat genes! *Hiaz*

alyy,
hugs hugs, i just went thro the D&C 2 days back.
I will rest rest for 6 mths then try again. :D

I had a recommendation of chinese sin seh at Yio chu Kang. are u interested? But I never go there myself.

hi poohy,

yup, NT scan at TPS to be done by Tony Tan. yours too? if scan is okay, i dun think i will do the blood test for DS. i was reading your blog abt the wait for the scan.. 2hours?!? wah.. the pic of your bb sitting is cute.. can see the legs quite clearly.

hi matched_gal,

last week my bb size was okay and i thought everything was well, then suddenly my appetite went off. even my favourite laksa also dun taste as good.. hehe.. now i only feel like eating ice cream, vegetarian food and bread with lots of butter.
~

tinklebell,

u better take good care of yourself... pre-ecclampsia is really go joke.. maybe ask gynae whether got risk of recurrence or anything u can do to try to alleviate the swelling and such symptoms... for me the water retention and major leg swelling came after i delivered my bb... my leg become elephant... only go back in size after 2 weeks... so terrible... u must have felt so terrible walking ard ..

cookiemz,

ya mine will be done by Dr Tony Tan too
so happy to be able to see bb again and hope can get such a sitting position photo again..share your scan pic with us when u r back

Hi poohy, thanks for your concern. it was really so bad that at one stage i could sit for long. sitting worses the condition. so i had to lie in bed with my leg elevated. at one stage, it my leg pain was so bad that i had to limp while walking and had to go for a leg scan to rule out deep vein thrombosis. Hiaz, my first preg was haywire ... every trimester is a problem. Seems like this swelling prob runs with women in my dad's side. think it will come again. anyway, i just take one step at a time, pray hard and leave everything to God to take care.

thanks for good advice.

Icy, pls take care of yourself ok? Was your D&C induced, as in you went to the doc to have D&C without bleeding b4hand, or after when natural mc occurs? I'm still unsure what to do yet - to wait for bleeding to come b4 then D&C (was done this way for my last D&C) or to see a doc for one straightaway w/o bleeding since it's already wk 11 with no development?

I'm still waiting for the information of JE sinseh. Can anyone tell me the address of this sinseh? Thanks heap!

Cookiemz/ poohy, sorry wat is NT scan? dont remember doing it for my No1. is it same as detailed scan? I have decided to skip the triple blood test.

tinklebell,

both nt scan (nuchal transparency) and triple test mainly screen for down syndrome ... maybe some other things but mainly DS. NT scan is a scan done in the first trimester to measure the neck thickness and nuchal bone ... triple test is blood test to measure the amt of some protein produced by the feotus or maternal body... this is done in trimester 2. Maybe at that time u have your first son, the nt scan still not prevalent

dear Alyy,
Hi.. am really sorry to hear. i admire your perserverance. anyway, you shouldnt worry. my colleague whom also m/c got pregnant after 2 months. she said easier to conceive cause the womb is clean. agree that you shld beef up your body. i was seeing the JE sinseh for 6 months before i conceived. i read in the Ying Chuan Forum thread (Matters of Heart) on some not very positive comments abt her. But I personally find her ok. She helped some of my friends conceived too. so it all depends on your faith.

Yes, IVF at KKH is cheapest in Spore so far. Only abt 7K i think. You can try.. its better than going to JB.
May God be with you and hope you'd conceive soon

Jurong East Sinseh Contact (anyway, the physician is a lady)
Blk 202 Jurong East Street 21,
#01-117
Singapore 600202
Tel: 6897 5655

dear icy
im really sorry to hear too.
im sure you'd be able to conceive soon. dont think you'd have to wait that long. my colleague got hers pretty soon, we were almost shocked. dont give up hope! good luck.

dear cookiemz,
hihi!! nope, you dont have fill up your bladder before the NT scan. goodie luck!
sorry to hear abt your appetite though. its very poor thing to feel 'xian' abt food. give yourself some time.. im sure your appetite will get better. my gynae told me that it usually gets better by week 14. hang in there, dear.

dear kk,
i love australia too! i think the pple there are very blessed.. all the sun, sea, scenary..but i am bored of australia after a while..ive been to almost all states, including Tasmania. actually, NZ is better when it comes to scenary, but its a really dead plc though.

dear tinklebell, poohy
thanks for sharing your insight on gynaes during delivery. i know my gynae only spend 30 mins in the delivery room (cause its a 1/2hr wait for me each time at the clinic when he needs to go deliver), but not sure if he goes check on the patient every now and then. i hope he does.

Hi Ryue,

Yes, and whenever we ask the tour agency which is better - tasmania or NZ.. they too say NZ is nicer in scenery

Hi Cookiemz,

Dun worry. Ur appetite will come back automatically by early 2nd trimester. Mine only came back in week 15. And we can eat better and better towards 3rd trimester. Anything that is not nice will even taste like heaven. This is what my colleague experiencing now haha..

hi cookiemz

hehe, at least u noe wat u like. I've no idea what to go for. Nowadayz eat very boring stuff like bread+minestrone soup, chicken rice, rice crackers. I'm beginning to get tired of all these too ;p

hi poohy,

I also didn't have the NT Scan & i juz went last week leh. Maybe my gynae never specify. She only mentioned about the neck thickness is normal during my earlier visit.

By the way, do any of you know how accurate is the triple test? Tinkerbell, why have you decided not to go for it?

Actually, i think any doctor can do the non-complicated deliveries in hospital as long as u are trained in it. I know in KKH, if u are under their subsidied clinic, their MOs will do the episoptomy and deliveries. Midwife's role is crucial bec they will teach and encourage u how to breathe and push. Another thing ...anaesthetists... if u are using epidural, the anesthetists will adminster... i got a really bad experience for that during my delivery. This time round, i think i am a bit smarter...will check around who are the better anesthetists around and choose my own if possible. Really envy those who can go without epidural... i cant ... sometimes i just have a small cut on my skin i feel like fainting already.

matched_gal, i decided not to go for it bec i feel that no matter what the result, i will keep my bb... it's not easy to have a bb and its my own flesh and blood no matter what.

hi tinkerbell,

oh yah, i recall my gynae dunneed to go for triple test if keeping the baby no matter what the result. Hmmm, i'm still tinking whether to go for it a not... yikes, so many decisions to make. Probably have to discuss wif my husband.

By the way, for anaesthetist, we dun get to choose, rite? One of my frens was saying it depends whoz "on duty" when you happen to be in labour. She also had a bad experience. Said she got backpain for a long time cos of the epi dosage (duno how true that is tho)...

matched_gal, after my v bad experience during my first child birth, i think i must stress that my gynae that i need to be selective of the anesthetist .... i prefer a male anesthetist bec they are stronger and can hold u in position while they adminster the needle. During my first delivery, the anes took 6 tries and all failed and she had to call for help! that was the worst part of my delivery!!!

tinkerbell,

Yikes(!!). Sounds bad.
And i tot my fren's experience was bad enuff. She also said hers didn't hold her firmly enough, and being her first birth experience, she didn't know she must lie still. So she kenna scolded.

matched_gal, if possible dont use epi but i v coward one ... i know myself best ... i am not brave at all and will most likely faint halfway thru the delivery if i dont. I was lucky i didnt get back pains or severe headaches after that although was told to watch out for that since my epi wasnt administered properly for 6 times!

hi Tinklebell

I hope you are feeling better. Have read about pre-emclampsia but not met anyone who had it before. Must be painful! Better rest more and keep those feet raised.

Alvy

Be strong. I only conceived after I had a laptoscophy to clean out my insides. What Ryue said may be true. Good that you are taking some time off to receover so that your womb will be stronger.

I saw the JE sinseh and she does say the same things to every person to my friends and I. However, alot of people rush to see her and she only sees like 100 people a day. We had to queue for a number at 6am and only saw her at 3pm in the afternoon. Some where already queing since 5am before the shop opens. I guess no harm trying.

You can try the IVF thread for more info on IVF. Saw quite a bit there when I was researching on that back then.

kk, seeing u plan for hol make me crave for one too.... NZ or Tasmania should be nice ...heheh ... hopefully in second trimester can plan for that! keep my fingers crossed.

tinklebell - i am so scared of normal bloo ddrawing already so your story really makes me uneasy. if you do find one, please please share with us. =P

volf: argh, i spoke too soon, severe vommiting hit me today again
5 times this morning at work ! it's really draining ... sigh ...

Does anyone experience severe vomiting too? What do you normally do ? I feel bad taking MC cuz my dept is really stretched at the moment, dont even consider taking leave to rest at home

Tinkerbell: Thanks! well, do let me know what you want to get, i dont mind buying for you if I do go to the shop.

K Ong

Did your gyne give you tablet for severe MS? Heard some gynes do give it and someladies claims it helps. My colleague took mints all day long to change the taste in her mouth so she won't throw up. I usually feel better after peppermint tea but I only take a few sips and not drink it all day long. Hope it helps.