(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi Poohy - when do we start attending the antenatal classes? 5mths or earlier? Also, is there an est. period where the gynae will have to discuss your birth plan with you? ie use of edipidural etc.

Hi poohy,
thanks for your explaination. u sounds so expert. Btw what do u mean by contractions? sorry i m quite blur cos tis is my 1st time.

volf,

for my previous birth hor.. my gynae din discuss any birth plan with me at all!!! hehee.. nearing my delivery date, he just told me ..so we try natural first ok... which is also what i want... and on the day i delivered my son, he just told the nurses i can opt for epidural if i want... which i din. The rest just happen as it comes... he broke my waterbag cos the ctg monitoring in the afternoon at his clinic show my son's heartbeat dropped... and then did not administer oxytocin for me cos my labour was fast.. and when its time to push, he just told me that he wont do episiotomy unless bo bian.. so in the end really din do. Which is also exactly what i want so i din raise any objections.

as to when to start antenatal class, think normally by 5th month.. but some people attend later ... that's last time i attended.. u can see some people almost nearing their term liao...

kite,

me not expert at all.. also blur like sotong. just that after my previous delivery, i did some readup lor... but most of the research i forgot liao hehehe... cos for me i wont use pain control... i like it to be as natural as possible. contractions is the process of your uterus's muscle trying to push your bb out lor... becos it squeezes your uterus muscle, there will be some pain depending on your pain threshold. We actually experience contractions in our uterus all the time... just that during labour, it will become much more intense. Sometimes near the 2nd to 3rd trimester, u will start feeling false contractions... those are tightening of your tummy area (will become very very tight and very very hard at the tummy) without pain... birth contractions feels like this... but comes with pain

Hi Ladies... it's a cool sleepy morning so much that i am dozing off any moment now though i am at work. have been some time since i last come to this thread. Just went to see my gynae last night... finally managed to see my BB... at 9 weeks .... could see the hands and leg ... somehow, i feel so happy and excited although this is my no 2.

Anyone got your maternity clothes already? somehow i feel that the selection here is limited and quite expensive! Few weeks ago, i went to KL and managed to stock up 9 pieces (heh heh a bit KS lah) and guess how much i paid for all (some of them are nice evening wear somemore) .... after conversion, $145 for 9 pieces!!!! compared to wat i spent last week at Maternity House (5 pcs for $320), i think it's definitely worth it! V tempted to go back there to buy.

hi poohy - thks! I might ask my gynae when I go see him on 9 Dec then. Will be doing my NT scan then
Hey thanks for the info on birth contractions! Was wondering how we wld know that we are in labour .... my fren even had the time and coolness to go wash her hair after her waterbag burst in office. Afterwhich, she just hopped into a cab to TMC to give birth
Solid ya?!

hey folks - I hve yellowish discharge fr my vagina daily.. and it can get quite smelly at the end of the day if I dun change my pantiliners. No pain when peeing though, nor cramps. Am I having yeast infection? Been like that since I took Crinone (a progesterone cream inserted through the vagina to stabilise the baby & foetal pole). Took that in 4-6 wks of pregnancy.

volf,

ya your fren steady...
My waterbag din break on my own... I did ctg and my bb in distress.. so my gynae did cervic check and i was 2cm dilated... u know i bleed quite a lot after he do the cervic chk... then i went home to pack and bath too... before i go tmc. This time round, i hope my waterbag break on its own... cos its quite painful for my gynae to break for me leh... imagine he need to insert his equipment all the way in and then punctured a hole on the waterbag... i think its more painful than my cervic chk

Kite

can I recommend you this book "What to expect when you are expecting". It's a great book for first time mom like you. It has a detailed step by step listing of all terms and what to expect and growth rate etc for the baby as well as alternative diets etc. That should solve your questions. It's not too expensive and can be bought at most bookstores. I bought mine at popular.

pethidine - can't be given too close to delivery or baby will be droopy.

All pain killers are optional - from laughing gas to hypnotic birth , epidural etc. It depends on how much you are willing to take and are comfortable with. Do your reading, speak with your gyne. They usually have certain views so imporatnt to choose a gyne that shares your birth plan.

Hi poohy,
wow ur 1st delivery, u never use any epidural, ur pain threshold really high ah. but do u really feel e pain w/o any pain control?

Hi Lilfeets,
thanks wil pop by popular bookstores. Does it have explaination on the pain control which i m keen to know?
how much does e book cost?

poohy,

My gyna only gave me folic acid and multi-vitamin leh. Tonite i will ask him abt this but everytime went in then scan baby i see liao so happy then forgot to ask everything. Could you explian what neurogain is good for??

Hi poohy,

What is actually prostin (speed up dilation)? did u use that?
And how about enema? what is that?
Afer birth giving, usually gynac will twitch up rite, painful?

sorry for so many qs.

kite,

i had been having painful braxton hicks contractions during all my 3rd trimester ... by my 37th week, my labour was more or less induced by breaking of waterbag becos my bb heartrate drop during ctg though i already 2cm dilated by then. Anyway the most pain come after rupturing of waterbag... hmm the pain comes with each contraction and is v intense... u really feel like whole tummy squeezed and backache cos bb moving downwards. For me the really intense pain lasted 2 hours plus ... hehee.. each time the pain comes with the contraction, i will hold on to the bedside rail shaking... but i was persistent to hold on thru and yet keep my muscle as relaxed as possible to help my cervix dilate as fast as possible. In any case, I did succeed with not using epidural or pethidine and to share with u... i feel a tremendous sense of achievement at the moment i give birth to my son. All the pain just vanished and the great sense of achievement overwhelms my feeling...

i had never used the prostin before i think its a gel used to help your cervix dilation during induction of labour.

enema is the procedure of pumping some liquid into your anus to clear your bowels. Its a routine done in the hospital when u check into the labour ward.

oh after u give birth vaginally, it depends on whether you got tear or episiotomy. If you have, then gynae gotta stitch that up so of course will be painful lah.. unless u r on some pain control... for me at that time. it was rather painful with each stitch my gynae made but the relief of giving birth to your bb will help u through it ... wont last long anyway. But if you got no tear or episiotomy.. then no need stitch lor

mother of a princess,

i think neurogain is fish oil good for providing those dha and other nutrients for brain development

kite,

braxton hicks contraction are false contraction feeling like the tightening of your tummy. It is experienced in pregnancy normally 2nd-3rd trimester... but it does not increase in intensity/frequency and is not regular unlike true labour contraction.

ctg is a machine used to monitor the heart rate of bb and contraction frequency/intensity. Its normally used nearing your full term and during labour to monitor bb well being.

dear poohy
wow. its nice to have an expert on the thread. i had no clue what is CTG as well.
So, is there a CTG machine at our gynae's clinic or must go hospital?

but i know enema. i used that quite often during young. i have bad constipation problems during then. its quite gross but very effective.

hey, i have a concern. if we deliver natural, will it happen whereby the baby's head will get stuck in the birth canal? i still cant imagine the baby's head going thru down under. its so big, right.. what if it gets stuck and the baby lack oxygen or what if we keep pushing but it just doesnt come out or what if no energy to push..i know there's some kind of vacuum technology, but what if it doesnt work.. so many concerns...I WISH MEN HAD WOMBS, NOT WOMEN!!

ryue,

actually me not expert really... i am sure the rest of the mummies especially those 2nd time mummies will be able to tell u all the same thing

not sure if every gynae's clinic have a CTG machine cos my gynae's clinic have lah. The hospital delivery suites also have. The moment u admit and are done with those enema stuff, they will put u on ctg for monitoring liao... and throughout your delivery it will be on you... to make sure gynae can monitor your contractions and baby's heart rate.. i mean if bb heart rate fall .. it may mean bb in distress...

me too ... damn worried if bb cannot pass through the birth canal... but i guess most of us would do fine.. unless we had a very narrow pelvic or bb exceptionally large for our size. In such cases, prob c-section will be recommended lor... If you push and push cant come out... then gynae may perform episiotomy or use forcep/vacuum to help deliver the bb.... anytime bb is in distress .. your gynae will be there to assist either with forcep/vaccuum or emergency c-section depending on situation...

hmm i too wished men can have a taste of this whole thing... but after delivering my son... i feel so much achievement that i feel its such a privilege given to us. No men can experience this. And we are labouring to bring our bb to the world... isnt that the most wonderful thing we can ever do. compared to this, i feel like i had not done anything as touching to me in my life... that's the greatness of all mothers mah... enduring the worst pain to the point of even endangering our own lives for our children...

dear poohy,
which gynae are u seeing? i dont think my gynae has the machine leh, but i'd ask.

i found out my gynae only need to be at the delivery room for 30 minutes. you mean he/she would be there for you the entire time of your labour?

dear lilfeets
oh yes, Dr LC Foong is quite expensive. His package is S$750 from Week 22 and 1K for delivery - if natural i suppose. His consultation fees 50 bucks and scan is 60 bucks.
i hope you dont have to take any blood on your nxt appt with Dr Fong Yang.

ryue,

my gynae is Dr CT Yeong ..formerly he was an RE in KKIVF and now in private practice liao. Er no lah the gynae wont be in the labour room with u all the while... he will come in and check on u ... do whatever necessary like breaking of waterbag.. setting of drip etc... then off... on and off he will drop by to take a look at u and maybe to check your dilation. When u r abt 8cm dilated, the midwives will page for the gynae and he will be there to deliver the bb, placenta and stitching

kite

yes. It not only cover pain relief .. it's very comprehensive..including all the various check you should be getting.

Can't remember the price

Kite

All your questions can be answered in detail in the book i recommend. It might be eaiser for you to et the book and read first as it has alot of simple explanations and after that , you will be able to catch up on the various medical terms the mummies use. Hope this helps.

Hi Ryue

Thanks for the info. That is high but i guess his skills are worth it. i mean cost is a factor but it's ok if the gyne is giving you all that you need and that he's experienced enough. I just feel that I am paying more for Dr Fong for Basic items.

Nah. No more blood taking till 20th Week I think. I am worried cause by then, triple test and all will require lots of blood and our last session, he only managed to get only 1cc of blood out from that very painful experience on my palm.

poophy - I don't think most gyne have the CTG machine. Usually only needed for constant monitoring during labour. Al hospital should have them. Think there are two types of such machines.

I don;t think we should be worrying too much. Women are mostly born with larger hips to accommodate the baby and the virgina will stretch (dilation) to allow the baby to pass through in general. Only very rare circumstance does the baby head not get through but usually gyne will pick that up when doing the scans close to the delivery since they will be measuring the head circumference and all. So... c-sec probably for such cases if you can't get pass the canel.

honestly, enemas are terrible aren't they? Yuckie.... I guess that is still better than to bring your baby out in the world cover with defecation right? =P

ladies - any one managed to find those disinfection salts to out in the bath for us to soak our perinium after the episiotomy? been asking around pharmacy but they don't seem to carry that. I heard only Mt Elizabeth provide that for mummies after birth. Seems popular in US though but locally, seems rare.

kk,

me too down with sore throat... and flu! gotta wear mask at home .. cos my bb also down with flu.. dun wanna re-infect him ... anyway i am not sure abt strepsil but my GP always give me those purple color throat soothing lozenges for sore throat...

lilfeets,

i know of at least 2 mummies in one single thread i frequent when i was carrying my son which narrow pelvic bone was not picked up during normal scan. It may not always be able to be picked up during normal scan... thus they were asked to go for emergency c-section ... i think the best bet before delivery that your child will most likely be able to go through the birth canal successfully is when the bb engaged its head. That's why the last time i tried to do some exercises to help my bb engage.. hehee.. cos i wanna make sure he can be borned vaginally... anyway he din engage right till the last scan i did on the day he was borned.... but still managed to go through... think its God's grace and thankfully i prob dun have the narrow pelvic bone problem... on top of that he was not big in size too

me now not worried liao.. cos after one delivery, it more or less give me more confidence in meeting the challenges...

lilfeet, ryue,

throughout my first pregnancy... i never buy a single pregnancy book .. or read one.. hehee all the information u need is available on www.babycenter.com or anywhere on the internet by just a simple keyword search... so can save the money or borrow from library if u really need to read the books

tinkerbell: which shop in KL is that ?
I'm going this weekend :)

Lyn: my due date is now 11 June, can update when free ?? thanks !

Just got my third scan on Sat - 11 weeks already !
can see the shape of feteus and his/her hands and feet facing upwards, very cute! 4 cm long. can't imagine a living thing inside of me ! Must be more conscious of the things that i do now ... like walking slower and taking things slowly !

I'm going for the neck test thingy in 2 weeks... does anyone know if it's pain ??

k ong,

the neck test is nt scan ... it does not hurt at all cos its just like normal ultrasound scan. But u must psycho your bb to be cooperative and be in the right position for the doc to measure the nose and neck thingy... hehee... me going this friday.... also must pray for bb cooperation...

Poophy

Hmm.. that's interesting.. My gyne said usually can be detected unbless the baby has grown so much , which is highly possible inthe last trimester. Never heard of the exercise.. Can you share? How do you widen the cervix or help your bay to "engage"? I heard of raspberry tes but this is very interesting indeed and good news too.

I prefer the book cause it has also a section for hubbies and all. Prefer to have something I can refer to. Also, the book has space for you to take notes down to track your progress so I like that too. To each his preferences I guess. It's not that expensive anyways and is great referencing material. I mark all the important pages for myself. besides, I like the way it track from conception to bith and after bith in chronological order. I'm pretty systematic so prefer books.

Hi K Ong - Wow! must be exciting. I'm only 9 week but can't see much yet. Didn't know that NT is done at 13 weeks. thought it was usually done at 20 weeks.

poohy: all the best for Fri ! do tell us all abt it !!!

lilfeets: haahaa, yup, at 9 weeks, still looks like a bean or a shrimp :) heeheee
it's amazing how fast bb grows, mine was less than 2 cm at 9 weeks, and now 4 cm ! I think the other blood test is done at 20 weeks, they will draw some blood or issit fluid out of the mummy to test for some sort of abnormality. er, sorry i'm not good with medical terms ...

re: nt scan

ya it can only be done in trimester one from week 11-14. Beyond that may not be accurate i heard. The scan done in week 20-25 is the first detailed scan. This scan is done to determine the bb's organs, heart, brain are in order, and most people shd be able to see bb's gender by then. The triple blood test done in trimester 2 is mainly for screening of down syndrome... same like the nt scan. but the nt scan is more accurate for this.

for the triple test, it will only be abt 3 tube of blood... 1 jab to extract the blood only cos the syringe will have a bigger capacity

re: pregnancy info on web or book

indeed to each his preferences. For me, i read widely online becos i am basically a technical person ... spend most of my time in front of the computer doing my work .. so i surf and read up at the same time hehee. My hb is a technical person too... he also do his own reading up on baby development etc too... i log all my bb's progress in online too in my blog hehee.. my baby's first scan, things that happen in each checkup when i get to see him, the day i know his gender, the day i buy him his first soft toy, the day i buy him his first shirt... its so fun looking back now...

re: exercises for helping bb engage

indeed there are exercises to do which will encourage or make it conducive for your bb to turn head down and to engage. I used to reference it a lot before my delivery ... cos wanna go all natural mah... dun have the link with me ... but can just do simple search on the net to find out the specific exercise.... someone in my apr/may/jun 2005 thread also did posted the document on the exercises before.. so can also look up the archive.

k ong..

yeah... hope bb cooperate and it is not going to take too long.. hehee.. the last nt scan i did with my first son, he wasnt in the exactly right position and i gotta go out walk run to make him turn.

dear k ong, poohy
my NT scan was a little uncomfortable though. At first when he was doing the scan, my baby was sleeping, so it was ok. Halfway thru, my baby woke up and he gotto go "run" after it with the scanner cause my baby was "bouncing", turning his/her head and all.. obviously my baby is camera shy. so my gynae had to press on my abdomen really hard to catch the correct view

Ryue, Poohy

The NT scan sounds really exciting! I can't wait. Havent seen my bb for 2 wks already and am missing him / her leow.

Hey - does anyone have any instinct on the sex of yr bb? Apparently some ladies do 'feel' correctly the bb sex. Or any other methods or 'tell-'tale' signs? Is it true that the 'uglier' the mummy is ie. get pug nose etc, the more likely it is a boy?

ryue,

wah must be real uncomfortable hor... hehee your bb so shy..
my boy last time not shy at all... he even pee once when we were doing the scan... my gynae was point out the stream on the scan machine telling us our bb is peeing... will never forget that scene ..so funny

volf,

i dunno exactly what position leh... cant remember liao... think my boy was sitting down position in the womb and not his face not in the right position to measure the nasal bone... so i gotta go back in 1 month's time to follow up on that nt scan.. I really hope not this time cos i gotta take leave to go kkh tps for the nt scan .... wont wanna keep taking leave ... my 2 pregnancy is quite close .. so i am trying to minimise leave taking and mc taking to make sure my work not impacted...

volf,

all my pregnancy symptoms is direct opposite of the previous one... so i have people telling me i shd be expecting a gal this round. I prefer another boy before having a gal as the last but well the preference not strong lah..as long as bb lively and healthy i am happy ..
But gal later bully her gorgor.. hehee

u leh any 6th sense or watever ?

Hahah. So funny. I think logically, my bb is a boy cos I know for a fact that he / she was conceived AFTER I ovulated. Apparently, the male sperm swims faster than the female one. Me got no physical symptons like pug nose etc... but just feel or think it is a boy. Hubby even started calling bb a boy leow... scarly is a girl.. then become tom-boy.Hahha
But like you, am happy with either sex - as long as bb is normal and healthy.

volf ..

hehee.. ya ya ... last time mine was conceived after i ovulated cos i did so-iui .. so i also sorta guess shd be a boy. But this round is natural so harder to guess... that's why i think maybe its a gal

ryue/pooh: thanks for sharing !

what symptoms are you mummies experiencing these few weeks?

1) MS: My MS is getting better, I still puke my breakfast out each morning (abt 845am - almost same timing every day)

2) Bloating/Gas: Getting real bad now ... esp after dinner! Last night i had pasta and I felt totally like crap !

3) Sudden hunger pangs: Wld suddenly feel very hungry ... and eat abt 10 pcs of cookies at one go ! Is this normal ??

K Ong - My ms also getting better. Thk God! Somedays I puke, somedays I dun. I watch wat I eat cos I realised (for me), I puke after eating certain stuff like oily spicy food. Processed foods also the same - merlion out. Maybe you shd try to stay away fr pasta for a while? Harder to digest mah. No hunger pangs like yrs.Yr bb must be v hungry.heehee

did any 1 of u encounter difficulty in cuming to this website?hmm,or maybe its my own computer problem..whenever i post a message,it always goes to a page tt says 'This function is disabled while inmaintenance mode....etc'
anyway,its ok now...

Poohy, I also use www.babycentre.com .. i find it v useful and comprehensive. have been using it since my first bb was conceived.

I also down with flu... have been sick for 3 whole weeks! Cough until my tummy hurts!

KOng, the maternity shop is in Sungei Wang. Apparently, the shop assistant told me there are 2 maternity shops in the building (though i couldnt find the other one). quite hard to find. I lost the receipt if not can give u the address. Worth looking for it bec the pieces i find are very trendy and cheap. But not so much of office wear. For most of the range there, if u buy more than 2 pcs, u get 50% off all 3! I know they close ard 9pm so be there early. Hee ... a pity i dont know u personally if not will like to "dong pang" u to buy some more.

Hee... u also can eat 10 cookies at one go... thought i was the only greedy one. Thank God i never had MS! So far gained 2kgs at 9 weeks already leh...cham!

Angeline, so far so good for my access to this website. no probs encountered

tinklebell,

ya the babycentre is v comprehensive and provide weekly updates on bb development... i am still using it now for my first son... how old is your first bb now ?

did u take any medicine for your flu ?

angeline,

i think chin leng mentioned they will be intermitent access interruption to this site these few days cos they are doing some maintenance... so its not your pc problem.. its the site undergoing maintenance and u just happen to access at that time

Glad to hear that some of ur MS is improving
How fortunate! My MS only die down when i was after week 14.

My sore throat is gone, but then sneeze a few times this morning liao. Hope i won't be down with flu!! The weather has been changing abruptly these few days. Raining often too. Take care!

Yes, sometimes the web is down on its own. Have experiened it before.

Oh by the way poohy, i have booked the cruise to nowhere heee... but pretty expensive. Me and hubby decided to stay in balcony room and each pax got to pay around $900. Will be departing next fri evening

Poohy, My first bb is coming to 3yrs in Dec. Yours? i didnt take any med at first for fear it would harm the bb. After consultant with a few drs, i take piriton at night for flu and Benylin Expectorant for cough. Rub some Vicks Vapor Rub.

U mention u are an IT person ..check with u...how do u create a blog...think of creating one for my pregnancy.

kk,

wow.. u finally booked your cruise... its going to be so relaxing
Me also planning to bring my bb to australia, new york or italy if me and hb are able to take time off our work next few months...

kk, wow...cruise will be nice..ur first bb is it? i kind of regretted never go for more holidays before birth of my first son. some pamper ourselves more. do enjoy yourselves before before delivery. after that all the hard work taking care of bb.

Hi Poohy,

Wow, are u able to cope with the travelling with a little one in ur tummy and ur child as well?

Nah, dun remind me of australia again! Can't go anywhere far this dec and i miss australia!

Hmmm, but the cruise seems pretty short. More days would be good haha! Any recommendations on what are the few interesting things to do on the cruise?