(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hi lilfeets,

didn't know that we have to book confinement nanny so soon. i better go look for one too. is yours from M'sia? or local? did you interview the nanny before confirming her?

Afternoon Ladies...

Hungry.... dunno what to eat... feel like eatting japanese food... maybe I should go down to causeway pt but 'm lazy....

Argh... dilemma....

phoohy..

why must it be c-sec for twins? I see no worries about natural....C-sec is harder to receover from as it's an extensive surgery. Honestly, No one in their right mind should consider this unless babies are in distress or other medical reasons.

The exercise I was referring to is perimium exercise to lessen the possibiity of needing a "cut" when you deliver. I don't agree that all twins are small. They generally are due to space constrains etc but I know of some who are about 3kgs each at birth.

Quite excited in all. Probably want an epidural when I deliver. Don't feel the need to have to suffer so badly esp since it's going to be long. Want to save up energy to pugh babies rather than enduring the pain.

cookiemz - mine is from malaysia but she's a PR here. recommendation from a friend. she's fully booked till august/sept next year already. I spoke with her on the phone etc. I trust my friend's judgement cause she has used her before and said he food is quite delicious. Also, most importantly, she has done twins and even triplets before so that is important for me.

Hi Ryue

You're so funny. Childbirth is a messy and gory procedure with lots of blood and all. If you watched video on live birth, it can turn some people off. In general, should be ok. I mean, we pray for the best but be prepared for other emergencies that may/may not happen lor.

Yeah. I thought not painful but when I come out from the op room, I was in so much pain though so drowsy, I had to ask for painkille.r Morphine is such a gift in moments like this!

ladies - I don't recommend PEM agency for confinement nannies. Lotsa of bad comments on the nanies hired from them and they charge alot. Think there's two other agencies - A-team and I-care.

lilfeets,

ya me too feels that shd go natural as much as possible. I also think having twins dun necessarily means c-section. But most people has this perception... prob becos... both twins may not be in head down position at birth... so they fear they may end up having to deliver one naturally and emergency c-sec for the other. The case that ryue mentioned abt gynae having the hand inside to turn the bb is actually quite dangerous and not that well practiced these days cos .. there is fear of the umblical cord getting tangled at bb's neck...

yeah i know abt the perineum exercise... i had wanted to do it during my first pregnancy.. but no guts.. cos the moment i think of putting my fingers inside and then stretching ... i feel scared already.. hehehee

as for the use of epidural/pain control.. its really up to individual ... i always feel that the pain of delivering the child is not as great as the aftermath pain during delivery.. from my experience lah.... i dun mind going through natural delivery without epidural becos .. its hopefully drug free and also becos i feel that we will be labouring through this stressful period of contractions/pushing through the birth canal together with our unborn baby.... its like working in a team... .. during delivery, the bb actually go through an equally traumatic period ... pain or not i dunno leh... but i am sure it was traumatic to be suddenly deprived of the warm amniotic fluid they were in for 9 months and being pushed through a narrow birth canal... out to the world to breathe through the lung for their first time... the thought labouring with my bb ... give me the strength to go through the contraction pain...

heheh think u read wrongly.. actually i din say all twins are small... i was saying generally they are not as big as singleton who can go up to 4kg or more at times.. so they can still be big .. but generally not as big

ryue,

hehe nevermind thanx

poohy

I'm hoping for natural birth with epi but will take each step as it comes. I believe that if God blessed me with two babies, he will see me through everything. We can only do so much. I realised lately that no matter how much I worry about whether baby will grow up correct size, turn at the right time etc, it's already out of my hands but in God's. So.. take it as it comes and pray. In the event of a breech at delivery, If the gyne has no choice but to use his hands to turn the baby, then he has to do it regardless of any so-called dangers cause it's more dangerous if the baby doe snot get out in time.

I took Bio Psy in my degree and learnt that all child birth procedures comes with alot of risk. From the moment you are pregnant till end of delivery.. a million thngs can go wrong or right. hence, pray hard lor.

Thanks for the clarification. I know people kept telling me that twins willbe small etc and I get really upset. As a christian, I take that sortof comment as a :cruse" and I reject that. Not referring to you of course =P I trust that God will guide my babies development. Having gone through so much for my babies, they are so precious to me. Made me realise that life is so very fragile.

sorry for rattling.

lilfeets,

for the case of a breech baby... actually its seldom really no choice have to use hands to turn the bb.. that's why its seldom practice mah..
No point risking the life of the baby... The safer option is to have a c-section for the breach bb .... though depending on circumstances.. even a breech baby can be delivered vaginally without intervention.. which happened to my mum.. she delivered my younger brother who is a breeched baby within 15min of reaching the hospital... my brother's bum come out first..

me too is a christian who put my faith in God... I too trust God in everything I do including the pregnancy.. my baby's development, coping with miscarriage. When I was carrying my son previously... I bleed like I did when I had my miscarriage with lots of blood clot... at abt week5-6... At that time I cried in despair but know that only God can turn the situation around and save my boy... I called all my best friends to pray for me while i rushed to emergency. In any case, I always think its His hands at work when my gynae happened to pass by the crowded A&E at kkh that fateful day. I think I would have to wait for hours judging from the crowd there that day if not for him passing by and attending to me immediately. To this day, I am still amazed at how much grace God had shown me that my boy is alive with me jumping and smiling.

But at times, its only human to worry... i had read quite a few experiences of other mummies suffering injuries during natural childbirth resulting in permanent disabilities of some sort or other... cant help but worry a little... but like you, I wanna place my cares with the Lord so that I can break out of the bondage.

I had never regarded a small baby as a curse or negative thing whatsoever it is. In fact throughout my pregnancy, I never wished for a big baby. I always controlled my diet such that I do not over eat so that my baby's weight remains at average and not dangerously small or large for its gestational age. Being smaller does not means underdeveloped at all
My son is 2.6 kg at 37th week and considered small to most people's standard (I know of even twins' size who are much bigger than him) but perfectly healthy at birth.... and even though i only breastfeed him for 1 mth, he hardly fall sick. So try not to associate a small baby to an unhealthy one... unless its exceptionally small and fall below the accepted weight of its gestational age.. it can otherwise still be as healthy as a 4kg baby

btw, not sure whether u had read the book "Supernatural Childbirth". If you put your faith in God, the book actually speaks abt the childbirth God has always intended it to be... painless without pain control. That's where I got my inspiration to go for drug free delivery... throughout the delivery, I kept praying and trusting God that I can go through anything becos he will give me the strength...

lilfeets,

heheh sorry me rattling on and on too... cos i am feeling quite bored tired over here.... din sleep well these few nites becos of some muscle cramps at my neck and my son's recent nite wakings

poohy

maybe I had phase it inappropriately. what i meant by that is I'm tried of people telling me that my babies "WILL be" small so very poor thing etc etc. I know they meant well but I have faith in the Lord that my babies will be of a healthy weight. hence, I see that as a "cruse" in a Christian way, not the typical "Cruse" of the chinese way. Believe that whatever people of God says carries forth his power hence I try to watch what I say to others. Think it's important to eep like-minded friends by one's side to support one's views and belief. it's like smoking. I fyou are trying to quit, one needs to disassociate oneself from the influence of one's somking friends and caltivate new ones who believe in not smoking. =)

My family typically have Big babies. I'm about 3.4kg at birth and my my brother is slightly lesser. We're quite big built but not bulky. I don't mind it as long as my babies are safe and healthy. That all that matters i think.

You know, your posting gives me hope that he is indeed Emmanuel. =) Sometimes, I worry so much i lost faith. have to constantly remind myself I am not of this world but only in this world.

In any case, I'm avoiding c-section at all cost unless as a last resort necessary. the expenses and healing time will be far too much. Wish to be able to nurse my twins immediately after birth so c-sec is out of the question as this will affect my ability to breatfeed my twins.

Plan to breast feed them for at least 9 month , even after going back to work after 3 months. Will need determination to pull through that. Personally, I feel that 3 months breastfeeding is not enough so want to do my best. of course there's nothing wrong wiht mom feeding formula. It's just my personal preference cause I wasn't breastfed so want to have that for my kids.

lilfeets,

hm my brother and me were both small babies... to me my son's weight is a good weight and hope my coming baby also not too big... i dun really want my bb weight to exceeed 3 kg... i am not big size so having big babies carry a risk that i may have to go c-section.. so me too avoiding c-sec at all cost

hey but i think its possible to breastfeed baby immediately after c-sec... ever heard people do that before..

ya we are only in this world as pilgrims
having your babies in your tummy right now is enough testimony of His goodness liao... I thank God every day when I carried my son... knowing that there is a huge subchorionic blood clot growing side by side as him and much bigger than him in size.. and yet by grace, he is still surviving and doing so well.

me too was never breastfed before. My mum's family do not do breastfeeding in the past.. so all my cousins and siblings not breastfed. I also tried to breastfeed my son for a while though my doc advises against it at that time.. as I had to do exclusive pumping... I feel that the time i constantly need to pump milk for my son kept me away from him ... and the engorgement pain and stress makes me feel v stressed and unable to lift up my spirit.. at that time I finally decide not to continue as I guess having a happy mother who can take care of him fully is better than one who is constantly having to cope with the engorgement pain/lumps and spending a lot of time pumping milk...
But once again, by grace, my son was as healthy as any other bb....
So I just thought maybe u dun give yourself too much stress to want to bfg .. set short short target and push through each target ... then u will find those initial teething months much less stressful

poohy

yes. I have heard that before too but if you are in alot of pain from c-sec, you may find it hard to breastfeed two babies.

true... good advise. My friends all had no prob breastfeeding so am praying for the same favour , if not more.

hi KK - Maybe you shld wait for Star Cruise Promos. I paid abt $900 for both myself & hubby the last time we went on 3D2N Balcony Class. They also gave additional $150 dining vouchers for exclusive restaurants onboard. Really quite worth it, esp if you dun like eating at the usual plcs... and the food at these exclusive rest are really qlty type
Otherwise, can still stay in other rm types & enjoy the sea breeze anywhr on the deck.. v v nice.

Confinement - Wah you ladies are really advanced in yr planning! I prob will get a fulltime live-in maid to help with the hsehold chores. Mom or MIL to help with baby etc. AM lucky cos both Mom or MIL are willing to help, and am gd with either of them

Poohy / Lilfeets - Personally I think God will give us the babies we can handle ..including the size of the babe, the pain we will go through, etc
He nevers allow us more pain than we can handle
You will do fine. Such is the ability to even bear a kid as I've realised that it is such a priviledge! Not everyone gets to enjoy this.

On a lighter note, 'Massage ladies' - Hey, anyone booked any Malay 'wrapping-ladies' to help loose weight? Any recommendations?
Am rather vain, so will definitely want to lose the additional pounds ..heehee

Hi, i am currently about 8 weeks pregnant. From the V scan, it shown that foetus is only 6 weeks.... So, at the moment still can't confirm the EDD. will see gynae again in 2 weeks time. When i woke up this morning, i had some yellowish discharge & discomfort at the vaginal area ... a bit worried now cos it could be infection. Anyone has this problem before?

volf...

totally agreed with u
big, small or watever, indeed God knows best and will give us what we are able to bear with
its indeed our privilege!

re: malay massage

i din book the last round leh cos ... i think by bfg and taking care of bb alone is already enough to lose weight liao hehehee... anyway i lose all my pregnancy weight plus 2 kg more by the time i went back to work... i prob wont book this round also... maybe i will try the osim uzap haha

adeline,

do u have any itch or foul smell from the discharge ? If yes, its prob infection so maybe u wanna see a gynae
what kind of discomfort did u feel ?

re: nt scan

hey any of u going for nuchal transparency scan from wk11-14 ? My gynae actually told me a triple blood test is enough for me as i dun have risk factor ... but i did the nt scan on my own for my first child. I read that the nt scan actually is more accurate than the blood test leh... I prob will do it at kkh tps next week or the week after next
though my gynae said dun need but i think still wanna do it just to have a more accurate picture leh...and can take the opportunity to have a very nice clear scan of my bb .. cos the machine used supposed to be better

hi poohy,

i'm doing my NT scan next week at TPS. think u have to quickly call for an appt... my doc said quite diff to get appt and mine was booked a month in advance.

sweetdream,

ya good .. think u better see your gynae to make sure... then dun need to worry too much. The last time I got slight burning feeling and pain at this area when i pee.. was after i gave birth when i kena the urinary tract infection
I took lots of pure cranberry juice to help the condition... cos din wanna take antibiotic when i was breastfeeding...

cookiemz,

really ah ... ya hor the last time i also book damn early... better get my hubby to call now... hehehe

volf - I agree. =)

massage lady... Hmm.. I thought about it but then find it hard to have tummy all bound up. Heard some are really not that good also.

Sweetdream - yeah. You better go have a test. GP will do. It's only a urine test to check UTI. I prefer taking cranberry supplements cause less the sugar and the tarty taste. the ones supermarket sells are added with sugar. Taking too much sugar not very good. But if you have a foul discharge, it may be an infection so see gyne then.
hmm... thinking of changing gyne.My gyne seems very eas going.. i very kan cheong...... he didn't do any test and his v-scan, I can see very clearly my babie. Heard about all those really nice scan - what 3 D scan and all.

What is triple test and NT scan? Are they painful?

hi sweetdream

i think you might have yeast infection. Dun worry since u gonna see ur gynae soon. They will treat u accordingly. Do take care ;)

re: 3d scan

i read somewhere that 3d scan may expose your bb too much much ultrasonic wave.. dunno how to put it .. but seems like not v good... but it would be nice to see 3d picture hor... heard even got 4d scan... my hb dun wanna me to do 3d scans even though i had wanna try the last round cos scared exposed bb to the huge amount of ultrasonic wave may have some effects which we wont know yet... eg. like the effect of handphone etc...

re: nt scan, triple test

both these tests are actually for the purpose of testing for down syndrome or maybe some other abnormalities in the bb. From what I read the first trimest nuchal transparency scan .. measures through normal ultrasound scan... the nose bridge and neck thickness of the bb which is 80-85% accurate to detect down syndrome. The triple test is done at trimester 2 .. its a blood test to test for certain protein which may indicate the risk of down syndrome. These are all risk indicators ... measured in terms of ratio and not 100% accurate. Only amniocentesis is accurate in determining down syndrome and other birth abnormalities ..

Hello Ladies,

Me back from lunch and shopping... Bought a pair of support bra from Mothercare, cos my wire bra is chocking me... The ladies there said that it's not good to wear wire bra as it restricts breathing and growth of breast or something like that.. Also a box of briefs cos my butt is getting bigger from all the eating and sitting...

And oh oh, my best buy today is a pair of Crocs slippers! It's so comfy! I feel like I'm walking on spring. If any of you get sore feet easily now, maybe you should go try out Crocs.

Hi Poohy,

U mean there are guided tours if i land in malaysian ports? Those cruises are actually cheaper than cruise to nowhere. Initially i was thinking if they throw us there in malaysia for half a day, what we gotta do??

My gynae did not mention any NT scan. I only went for triple test. Results will only be out next week
Hubby called this morning and only informed of other blood test results. They are normal! Phew!

i m back. today whole day at mum's house. she cooked fish soup w spinach w guo ji zi for lunch and maize soup w carrots & guo ji zi for dinner, yummy. really miss her food.

Btw my diarrhoea is gone, but got abit of slight gastric. I used to have gastric when i overeat cos i m a big eater known to everyone. Like today i cant resist my mum's cooking so got abit of gastric pain.

Btw ask u all. During pregnancy, touch wood, do u all fall sick n etc? i mean during these period, really hv to take cre of ourselves hor....cos i abit guilty taking yest GP's medication for my diarrhoea n stomachache leh. after taking once n feel alrite, i stopped immediately.

kite,

glad to hear u r feeling better... i think it depends on weather and our own immunity. I did fall v sick twice during my previous pregnancy. The strange thing is.. its a very long time since I last had such high fever and then during that pregnancy period.. i actually can kena such high fever twice. I too dun wanna take medication but bo bian... cos if i dun take the temperature just keep on rising till i shivering. and to a certain degree of temperature, it will starts to affect the baby's brain development.. so weighing the gravity, i took the antibiotic which is supposed to be safe after all my research hehehe

Hi all the mummies,
Just went to the gynae yesterday and had some bad news. All along I had spottings, yesterday the scan show my sac growing and the yolk sac and foetal pole is very blurrish. The sac is not growing as much as it should have been for 8 weeks.

I will go thro D&C on monday, will try another scan before that to see if any miracle happens.

*sigh* I could accept this better now, as compared to the first time I heard about my bb not stable. Cos I already try my very best for the past 4 weeks. I am glad I got a very understanding mil and mum to tell me about their similar experience and my hb who is very supportive of me.
So i going to build up my body first before we try TTC again, meanwhile I will quit my job follow my hb overseas to work.
All the best to your all mummies, must take care!

hi poohy,
thanks. now i m totally fine liao. i guess hv to take extra care during this period. really? anyway i asked the GP many times wil it affect my bb, he said no worries. me tend to worry too much.

hi icy,
sorry to hear that, u must take good care of urself okie. hugz sayang.

Hi Icy,
Sorry to hear about your bad news. I totally understand how you feel as I had gone thru the same thing last year. As long as we stay positive, another beautiful baby will be on your way. All the best in your future endeavours.

I went for scan yesterday. My last scan was when I was 7.7 weeks then yesterday it was 3 weeks later, they tell me I'm 10.2 weeks. I tot I should be at least 11 weeks. Then Doc say I need to come back again 2 weeks later to check the thickness of the baby's neck. Does anyone of you know why need to know the thickness of the baby's neck?

Poohmum

Hi i am new here.

can anyone advise on how you actually choose your gnae?

Lilfeets and volf20: think we have the same EDD. but i have yet to decide who to be my gnae.

Hello gals...
I have been very busy.. How are you gals today? Hope you have a great weekend!

Hi Poohmum,
I think that's scan for possibility of down syndrome.

Hi icy,
Hugs hugs... Do take good care of your health after the D&C. It's very important. It's a good idea to build up your health first before TTC again.
Hope you will fulfill your wish soon

Hi lyn,
Is it for down syndrome? I dun think so cos that appt is set for 23rd Dec.
I also blurr. But anyway happy to go bak for scanning cos can see little one again.

Poohmum

poohmum...

scanning for thickness of neck and the presence of the nasal bone is called the nuchal transparency scan which is 80-85% accurate for testing possibility of down syndrome
its supposed to be more accurate than triple test... but all these tests together can only give u gauge.

Hi Kite,

Dun worry about falling sick. I think during this period, our immune system can be weaker than before. And moreover there are lots of food we have to avoid, feeling nauseous and not eating much may lead to falling ill too. As long as we seek treatment from GP, should be ok lah

Hi Icy,

Sorry to hear that. Do think positive and all the best!!

Long time no post as been busy recently.. Wife just went for checkup last Thursday. Baby is 12 weeks old and EDD is changed to Jun 1st instead. Given Multi Vitamin, Calcium and Cod Liver pills..

Matt

Icy, all the best to you.

kite, dun worry too much abt meds- they're usually careful with prescription in 1st place. I've been popping panadol these few days cos headache, bohbian.

hidora, I like Marks & Spencers bras- the non-underwired, non-padded types are abit pricey but very comfortable. I'm waiting for Plaza Sing maternity shops to have nursing bras on sale- last pregnancy, caught really gd deal for nursing bras but bought only 2 or 3 pieces... ended up by the end of weaning, they fall to pieces from too much wear & tear!

3D scans- I'm keen to try one at suitable point, last pregnancy didn't want to fork out the expense. But I've seen some samples at the clinic I go, quite clear, will be more accurate for detecting cleft lip etc *touchwood*.

poohy- how old is ur #1? A son?
Mine is a gal, 13mths
. How r u coping? Am not coping very well... more tired this time round, no energy to bring #1 to all the places I want.

medusa,

ya my first one is a boy
He is now 7.5 mth old .... hmm so far ok ... recently he suddenly started to wake up at 1-2am for nite feeds again.. maybe becos he is having flu... so i gotta wake up also... 2nd pregnancy is so different from first... u cant rest as and when u r tired ... gotta take care of the bb... though hb or others can help.. but i dun want it to affect my interaction with my son, so i tried to do everything as per normal. And u r rite, more tired this round cos last time I got no symptoms watsoever but this round, nauseous, bloatedness, giddiness and recently bad cramps on my left lower abdomen. My gynae told me that 2nd pregnancy normally more painful in terms of the cramps... guess those mummies who are having their first pregnancies shd cherish this special time... cos 2nd and subsequent ones... is so different..

btw me too gender neutral but i like another boy cos i hope to have my last as a gal... but i dun mind a gal too cos i find them sweeter and more gentle

btw, can see my son's photo at http://poohybaby.blogspot.com

your gal also so sweet.. i do read your other thread at times too ...

dear icy,
very sorry to hear. i am sure you would be able to conceive again. good luck & god bless...

dear lilfeets,
read from the thread that you are thinking about changing gynae. I asked my gynae about 3D scan machine and why he didnt invest in one when I saw him on last Friday. he said not worth as the difference in the scan outcomes not that great. he didnt comment abt the effects of ultrasound though. you might want to contemplate using my gynae. hee!! i really find him very good. he is very "kia su" and i like it - Dr LC Foong, Gleneagles
Did you see the JE chinese sinseh before? She was the one whom recommended him to me.

dear lilfeets & poohy
thanks for your sharing on childbirth - natural vs c-sect. very inspirational. makes me feel like changing my mind abt c-sect.

dear lindy,
welcome to the thread. you can actually refer to the previous archives to check the list of gynaes that MTBs from this thread are using. it also depends on where you stay, budget etc etc.. good luck!!

i went for NT scan last Friday. My gynae gave me assessment that my baby is low risk for DS. phew..
he measured the back of baby's neck and nose. i did it on my week 12. the next detailed scan would be at week 22. I have to do it at NUH. its where they can see the baby's organs clearly and detect all forms of birth abnormalities. i am already feeling nervous abt the scan and cant wait for week 22. My week 22 will be during CNY period. Counting down now..

Hi ladies - for those still having very bad MS, maybe can try eating 1/2 a meal at each main meal time. I tried it and it works. Helps to keep the tumm partially full at all times. Having said that, I still hv MS every now and then... but its better

I'll be going for the NT scan 2nd wk Dec, and am rather worried. Not under high risk per age, but still scared. Can you see your baby's gender then too? I will be 12 wks then.

Just watched a documentary on conception - child birth on Discovery Channel just now. Was rather scary cos they showed exactly the pain and trauma of real-life women giving birth. I ended up teary-eyed, and rather anxious (faster heartbeat), and hubby was like screamish when he saw the baby come out....;( But gd exposure - for those not seen such documentaries ..hhahah. Those with cable can check for the timings. I think it is called 'Anatomical Travelogues'.

Hello gals,

I have been rather busy lately, so will update the list again when I got the time ok? I still gotta change to another computer for the list :p.

I am wondering can you gals see a difference in your body posture already? I can still wear my normal clothes cos they were loose before. I do notice my bottom is more protruded backwards and my tummy starting to show... I think it's pretty fast. And my breasts is like so big when I wear tight fitting clothes... Do you gals notice the same? I am only 10+ weeks...

dear volf
hi, luckily i didnt watch the documentary, or otherwise i will freak out. hee!! anyway, im sure its good to know what will go on that day also.

dont worry if you are not under high risk age for DS. my gynae said 35% of DS due to age - which i thought was quite high. if you 30 and below, shld be quite safe. can only see baby's gender at 16 to 18 weeks. my bb turned to look at us during the NT scan (front view). hee.. so cute. i more nervous about the detailed scan at 22 weeks. that one can see all types of other birth defects & baby's organs

dear lyn,
every part of my body grew except my breasts. sob sob. i was so concerned i asked my gynae last friday, but he assured me that my breasts will grow, at latest week 20. hahahha.. i cant fit into my clothes already. im 12 weeks. i went shopping for maternity clothes yesterday, but quite dissapointed at what i saw, so didnt buy any. will still try to squeeze into my work clothes next week.

Hi Lyn,

Am 9wks, and the portion just below my navel does protrude a lil. I can still wear my normal clothes, but when I sit, the 'fats' sort of ooze out.Eek. My breasts are much bigger than before, and I think I gotta buy new bras cos the existing ones are sort of choking me leow. I try not to wear the tight tops now cos I find they constrict my breathing .. and also cos they look damn big.. V pai seh.

Documentary - yah shld watched.They give gd accounts by weeks on what will happen to yr baby & you, all the way to giving birth. 3 life-cases were featured. My hubby said he will faint if in the rm .. hahha